View Full Version : Late arrivals

krobertson12
06-02-2010, 05:16 PM
I just have to say this tonight, since i thought today was a bit ridiculous with people coming in late where we sit.

I can understand if your running a bit late, but today after kick off there was atleast 50 people still coming in looking for seats in and around where we sit. whats worse is alot of them just stand in peoples views and dont seem to notice that they are doing this. Why dont people look to get to the ground earlier than KO? specially with repeat offenders

Think its just got my nerve today because we had a row of 5 or 6 people standing right beside our seats blocking our view and we missed the first goal.

Sorry if this comes across as a pointless moan, but it really does annoy me that people are coming in, in their numbers after KO. and for the record, i have no problem with people leaving early :greengrin

06-02-2010, 05:20 PM
Oh no:boo hoo:

Capt Mainwaring
06-02-2010, 05:21 PM
I agree with you, but to be fair I think there was a lot of delays at the turnstiles - West Stand lower particularly bad. Operators seemed to be having difficulty scanning Cards and tickets and then switching to taking cash.

A minor glitch on an otherwise "job well done" day at the Office.

18Craig75
06-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Maybe if the stewards done their job a bit quicker there wouldn't have been a problem!! A good 100-200 people never got in the terracing until 15mins into the game for no apparent reason! The supervisor on duty was a right twat as well, walking up and down the queue with a smug grin on his face when the first goal went in! :grr:

edit: Should have said, there were 4 other turnstiles that could have been opened to spread the load!!

get a life :dummytit:

krobertson12
I agree with you, but to be fair I think there was a lot of delays at the turnstiles - West Stand lower particularly bad. Operators seemed to be having difficulty scanning Cards and tickets and then switching to taking cash.

A minor glitch on an otherwise "job well done" day at the Office.

if theres been a problem fair enough. maybes its just me, but i try to account for problems that might occur. now what about those repeat offenders!:devil:

krobertson12
06-02-2010, 05:27 PM
get a life :dummytit:

its a valid point though is it not? does it not say in the terms and conditions that you should be in the stadium 15 minutes before KO?

Just a bit frustrating at missing the goal, luckily there were another 4 to cheer (and see).

sixtwo
06-02-2010, 05:30 PM
What a load of pish! If you cant see, stand up, ask them to move or take any other action instead of creating a thread on here and polluting my eyes with your moaning scribes!

Hank Schrader
06-02-2010, 05:36 PM
Honestly, if that's all that grinds your gears then life must be pretty rosy eh?

Should we not just draw up a list of do's and don'ts and have it issued to every supporter on the club database?

krobertson12
06-02-2010, 05:37 PM
What a load of pish! If you cant see, stand up, ask them to move or take any other action instead of creating a thread on here and polluting my eyes with your moaning scribes!

i did stand up, im no that tall. i did ask them to move, to no avail since it was in a moment where hibs were set to score so i was ignored, but they moved on after.

MussyHibby
06-02-2010, 05:44 PM
I just have to say this tonight, since i thought today was a bit ridiculous with people coming in late where we sit.

I can understand if your running a bit late, but today after kick off there was atleast 50 people still coming in looking for seats in and around where we sit. whats worse is alot of them just stand in peoples views and dont seem to notice that they are doing this. Why dont people look to get to the ground earlier than KO? specially with repeat offenders

Think its just got my nerve today because we had a row of 5 or 6 people standing right beside our seats blocking our view and we missed the first goal.

Sorry if this comes across as a pointless moan, but it really does annoy me that people are coming in, in their numbers after KO. and for the record, i have no problem with people leaving early :greengrin

I was there on time but probably guys like me who were to blame. Got my ST but didn't get a top-up or ticket beforehand, paid at the gate then sat where i wanted.....................in the comfy seats FF Upper, brilliant! :wink:

Guys coming in late wondered where to sit?:confused:

06-02-2010, 05:46 PM
There will be trouble if any of those who came in late, left early?

06-02-2010, 05:49 PM
its a valid point though is it not? does it not say in the terms and conditions that you should be in the stadium 15 minutes before KO?
Just a bit frustrating at missing the goal, luckily there were another 4 to cheer (and see).

It also says you shouldn't be pished:party::drunk:

06-02-2010, 05:54 PM
if theres been a problem fair enough. maybes its just me, but i try to account for problems that might occur. now what about those repeat offenders!:devil:

Stop messing about mate! :confused:

If you have something to say about people why not say it to them when they continually arrive late for matches and "deliberately" spoil your view and enjoyment of the match! :cool2:

However, now you have made a point, when you say "repeat offenders", apart from sounding a bit "headmasterly", what precisely do you mean in terms of number of times? :confused:

Oh aye, and where precisely do you sit in the stadium and how long have you sat there as this seems to be a huge problem for you!? :cool2:

If Only
06-02-2010, 05:55 PM

My god what a burden you have to carry. Imagine anyone having the audacity to arrive late ,of course this is intentional. Maybe they where late because they where watching the news on telly and seeing the real atrocities that life throws up. And no it doesnt come across as a pointless moan words cant describe what it comes across as. I suggest you get a life.

06-02-2010, 05:59 PM
My god what a burden you have to carry. Imagine anyone having the audacity to arrive late ,of course this is intentional. Maybe they where late because they where watching the news on telly and seeing the real atrocities that life throws up. And no it doesnt come across as a pointless moan words cant describe what it comes across as. I suggest you get a life.

Maybe a big cushion, or some platform shoes would be more use to him?

06-02-2010, 06:22 PM
Can't believe this thread !
Our working lives now are almost totally governed by "PC" ( Political Correctness)

For goodness sake don't let it spread to our leisure time / watching a football
match !!!!!!!!
Will the OP be suggesting "zero tolerence " next

People have been arriving late at football matches for as long as I can remember
:bye::rolleyes:

maturehibby
06-02-2010, 06:36 PM
Down to non top ups seats being re-allocated as the person getting the seat doesnt know where the seat is located - never happens in the League games .
And yes I agree it is annoying as the majority have arrived and are in their seats so wht should they be inconvenienced due to late commers pushing past them after kick off

06-02-2010, 06:41 PM
Folk forget that people with short attention spans deserve to be fans too. For these special people, arriving late & leaving early enables them to enjoy their footie & have a fair shot of remembering where they left the car:dizzy:

06-02-2010, 06:44 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=173499&highlight=uberfan

06-02-2010, 06:44 PM
Probably late because they were at the bookies putting on a bet having been tipped off and led astray into the world of gambling by a main thread on hibs.net.

If they then left early they would be off to collect their winnings before splurging it on alcohol in the pub.

Shocking way to spend a Saturday afternoon and all down to the evil that is spread from this site :)

higgy0418
06-02-2010, 07:21 PM
just like to apologize on behalf of me and my brother as we are one of those regulars that always spoil your view, week in week out.

sometimes it cant be helped though. We work at ocean terminal, start early morning, only take half our break so we can leave 15 minutes early and then drive up easter road, only parking space is always down some little side street miles away, then by the time we get up to the stadium the games kicked off and we're 1 0 up (Or 1 0 down like last week).

Maybe we shouldnt bother if it spoils your view :grr:

erin-go-bragh87
06-02-2010, 07:30 PM

Sorry but if you dont like the thread why bother posting. This is a forum for ANYTHING to do with Hibs! We all like a moan now and then and the op was just doing that. Its pointless to say "stop polluting my eyes" when no-one forced you to comment on this!!

Fantic
06-02-2010, 07:35 PM
Gates should be shut at 3 and no-one should be let out til the final whistle . All this sauntering in and out when you want it is annoying people. :grr:

06-02-2010, 07:37 PM
Gates should be shut at 3 and no-one should be let out til the final whistle . All this sauntering in and out when you want it is annoying people. :grr:

:faf::faf::faf:

06-02-2010, 07:43 PM

:agree: Completely agree.

And there should be no refreshments sold either.
And the toilets should only be opened at half time.

Both the above will stop people getting out of their seats during the match.

06-02-2010, 07:45 PM

Quite right, and as for those who meander up to the catering kiosk during play, surely hanging & flogging is called for?

06-02-2010, 07:53 PM
:agree: Completely agree.

And there should be no refreshments sold either.
And the toilets should only be opened at half time.

Both the above will stop people getting out of their seats during the match.

I actually think they should put locks on the end of each row while the game is on, to stop anyone moving.

06-02-2010, 07:53 PM
Quite right, and as for those who meander up to the catering kiosk during play, surely hanging & flogging is called for?

I think consuming the goods is punishment enough.

06-02-2010, 09:03 PM
I actually think they should put locks on the end of each row while the game is on, to stop anyone moving.

Superglue them to the seats

Riordans Boots
06-02-2010, 11:22 PM
I just have to say this tonight, since i thought today was a ****EN NIGHTMARE :grr: with people coming in late where we sit.

Fixed that for you mate :agree:

I missed the 1st goal as well :grr:and was surrounded by folk faffing wi tickets lookin' for their seats and totally ruining the enjoyment of me scoffin' ma pie :bitchy:

Bohemian_Hibee
06-02-2010, 11:25 PM
Born to Moan.

And I thought it was just Bohs fans! :bitchy:

06-02-2010, 11:28 PM

Sorry if this comes across as a pointless moan, but it really does annoy me that people are coming in, in their numbers after KO. and for the record, i have no problem with people leaving early :greengrinit's an awfy life isn't it :rolleyes:

jakedance
07-02-2010, 06:07 AM
I propose a 3 strikes and you're out system.

The first time a 'supporter' is late they get a stern ticking off.

The second time they get a letter home.

The third time they get a football banning order and their passport taken off them.

Mr Petrie will take registration at 2.50pm and supporters should be in their seats with their proframmes open.

07-02-2010, 07:06 AM

I saw someone talk to his mate during a passage of play. What's the point of paying cash to watch football and then talk to your mate instead? Can't these so-called 'supporters' do their socialising at home or in the pub?

There's probably something in the terms and conditions against it too.

GreenOnions
07-02-2010, 08:30 AM
Looks like all the regular "late arrivers" are at bit peeved that the OP has highlighted how their tardy behaviour can affect others?

I agree with the OP that it is pretty annoying when there is little consideration shown by latecomers to those who arrived on time by making little effort to avoid blocking views etc.

It sounds like small beer but when you take into account that some will arrive late at the start of the game and again after half-time while others will leave their seats early before half-time and early again before full time it does start to test the patience.

Unfortunately - as some have pointed out - that's life! I have chosen a particular seat partly in order to ensure that all the late arrivals and early departures don't affect me. I suggest that the OP does the same.

07-02-2010, 08:41 AM
Sorry mate it was our annual Hibernian FC early leavers Association Meeting yesterday and believe it or not we were running LATE. :greengrin

07-02-2010, 08:41 AM
I saw someone blinking at the game. Can I shoot him? (although I will wait until after the game.)

07-02-2010, 08:46 AM
Down to non top ups seats being re-allocated as the person getting the seat doesnt know where the seat is located - never happens in the League games .
And yes I agree it is annoying as the majority have arrived and are in their seats so wht should they be inconvenienced due to late commers pushing past them after kick off

:agree: far less of a problem normally...but was a shambles in the West Upper North and the stewards are about as much use as a chocolate fire gaurd...:bitchy:

Some just sat where they fancied (after getting 'ticket' at gate - from the mathematically challenged turnstyle operators:grr:) while others insisted on sitting where seat was numbered...cue 20 mins of musical seats as late arrivals found others had sta there as they were apparently un-occupied

07-02-2010, 08:57 AM
PS

Should have said I have had problems with this in the past...and after several matches of a group of 6 arriving late and shuffling along a whole row...less than 5 mins and some were shuffling back out to the bog / for grub...then again an early exit for half time...then late back after half time...then early exit at end (I kid you not) patience ran out :grr: so I expressed my displeasure in no uncertain terms...cue applause from seats all around (why did no one else say any thing before as it was obviously a problem for lots of people:dunno:) Much more considerate after that and often had some good banter.....don't suffer in silence:greengrin

We have to get a balance between our enjoyment and that of others (or our rights and others rights if you like) remember a friend complaining that his new white trainers had been stood on in the crush after the game and people should be more carefull :bitchy: eh nah

07-02-2010, 09:02 AM
PS

Should have said I have had problems with this in the past...and after several matches of a group of 6 arriving late and shuffling along a whole row...less than 5 mins and some were shuffling back out to the bog / for grub...then again an early exit for half time...then late back after half time...then early exit at end (I kid you not) patience ran out :grr: so I expressed my displeasure in no uncertain terms...cue applause from seats all around

When so many moan about the price of watching football these days, you do wonder sometimes why some folks appear to treat the match itself as something of a sideshow / afterthought.

07-02-2010, 03:18 PM
Not read the thread fully so if i'm duplicating whats been said...apologies..

The stewarding was brutal in the FF Upper yesterday, he didn't know the sections and was sending people all over the place...doesnae help that the numbering on the seats is all wrong...

Where I sit the numbers go:

60, 59, 81, 57....

Get it sorted Petrie :grr::greengrin

07-02-2010, 03:25 PM
Well I think it's about time we started naming names of the "fans" who leave early otherwise what's the point. :devil:

I was sitting in the FF upper with about 5 minutes of the match to go when one guy got up and started walking down the stairs. His "uber" Hibs mate who was still sitting in his seat shouted "See you on Monday Kenny"

Kenny - You are the weakest link. :bye:

:take that:asshole::offski:

07-02-2010, 03:30 PM
Sorry mate it was our annual Hibernian FC early leavers Association Meeting yesterday and believe it or not we were running LATE. :greengrin
:faf: Touche!

Well I think it's about time we started naming names of the "fans" who leave early otherwise what's the point. :devil:

I was sitting in the FF upper with about 5 minutes of the match to go when one guy got up and started walking down the stairs. His "uber" Hibs mate who was still sitting in his seat shouted "See you on Monday Kenny"

Kenny - You are the weakest link. :bye:

:take that:asshole::offski:

Good shout. Jimmy always leaves early too. He told me so. In fact, he wasn't even there yesterday. Poor show from an uberfan.

07-02-2010, 03:33 PM
:faf: Touche!

Good shout. Jimmy always leaves early too. He told me so. In fact, he wasn't even there yesterday. Poor show from an uberfan.

Beeeeatch !!

Yes i leave early when i want to. No , i was not there yesterday !
Struggling to juggle things to make Wednesday too. Jobs in Dublin and Liverpool:grr:
Hoping to be there though.

07-02-2010, 03:39 PM
Beeeeatch !!

Yes i leave early when i want to. No , i was not there yesterday !
Struggling to juggle things to make Wednesday too. Jobs in Dublin and Liverpool:grr:
Hoping to be there though.

Part Timer :wink:

HIBERNIALEITH
07-02-2010, 09:38 PM

Totally agree! Tell them to there face......or tell us where you sit and we might tell them for you if you can't find the courage to say anything at the time!

HIBERNIALEITH
07-02-2010, 09:50 PM
:agree: far less of a problem normally...but was a shambles in the West Upper North and the stewards are about as much use as a chocolate fire gaurd...:bitchy:

Some just sat where they fancied (after getting 'ticket' at gate - from the mathematically challenged turnstyle operators:grr:) while others insisted on sitting where seat was numbered...cue 20 mins of musical seats as late arrivals found others had sta there as they were apparently un-occupied

Why do people demand to sit in the exact seat that's on the ticket? Surely anyone with a wee bit of sense would just sit in the empty chair(s) closest? There was under 10k there yesterday but people were pulling out the tix and demanding others to move!

07-02-2010, 09:54 PM
Why do people demand to sit in the exact seat that's on the ticket? Surely anyone with a wee bit of sense would just sit in the empty chair(s) closest? There was under 10k there yesterday but people were pulling out the tix and demanding others to move!

:agree: I sat in the nice comfy leather seats in the FF upper. Didn't bother checking what number I had on my ticket as they looked too inviting to pass by. They could do with a wee attached footstool for extra comfort and somewhere to put my half-time cuppa. :greengrin

07-02-2010, 09:56 PM

Why can folk not just sit in the right seat in the first place, then naebody has to be asked to move!

The problem with your method is that the person who comes in and finds their seat occupied, grabs another seat then puts someone else out, and then that person has to go about hoping to find a seat that's going to be empty for the game, and if it's not then someone else has to find a seat.

Not only that, but most tickets that are issued now are associated with a reference number/supporter. If someone's in your seat and behave in a way that gets them thrown out or banned - it's you that cannae go back.

07-02-2010, 10:06 PM
Why can folk not just sit in the right seat in the first place, then naebody has to be asked to move!

The problem with your method is that the person who comes in and finds their seat occupied, grabs another seat then puts someone else out, and then that person has to go about hoping to find a seat that's going to be empty for the game, and if it's not then someone else has to find a seat.

Not only that, but most tickets that are issued now are associated with a reference number/supporter. If someone's in your seat and behave in a way that gets them thrown out or banned - it's you that cannae go back.

Phew. Thank god I got my ticket at the gate as I'm pretty certain that the person sitting in my seat not only came in late but was also singing. :grr:

07-02-2010, 10:14 PM
never mind late........somebody near us farted.:bitchy:

07-02-2010, 10:20 PM
Phew. Thank god I got my ticket at the gate as I'm pretty certain that the person sitting in my seat not only came in late but was also singing. :grr:

Wow, that's lucky.

tony higgins
07-02-2010, 10:22 PM
Think closing all pubs and shops within a fifty mile radius of ER on matchdays might be a good idea.

08-02-2010, 07:31 AM

:faf::faf::faf: A wee bit of sense?? Is that a wee bit more than it takes to sit in the seat your allocated to. Priceless post.

08-02-2010, 08:39 AM
I'm amazed at the amount of folk that are criticising the OP. Why do folk deliberately turn up late? K/O is at 3 - can they not tell the time?

Woud they turn up at the cinema/theatre 15 minutes after the start?

08-02-2010, 09:19 AM
I'm amazed at the amount of folk that are criticising the OP. Why do folk deliberately turn up late? K/O is at 3 - can they not tell the time?

Woud they turn up at the cinema/theatre 15 minutes after the start?

What is the evidence that seems to exist in the minds of some posters that people DELIBERATELY arrive late for matches!? :cool2: :dunno:

I imagine that a lot of people arrive late occasionally for reasons outwith their control and the slow moving turnstile queues over the few games will doubtless have contributed to this in some way! :agree:

Of course people can tell the time and I just don't get this "theory" that people DELIBERATELY choose to arrive after the match has started! :confused:

The people that generally piss people off most are those that have a few beers before the match and then, as a result, have to visit the toilets two or three times during the match as well as go for their h/t food before the first half has finished etc! Especially if they sit in the middle of a row! :confused:

I just don't see it as the huge problem that some people seem to! :cool2:

Riordans Boots
08-02-2010, 09:26 AM
What is the evidence that seems to exist in the minds of some posters that people DELIBERATELY arrive late for matches!? :cool2: :dunno:

I imagine that a lot of people arrive late occasionally for reasons outwith their control and the slow moving turnstile queues over the few games will doubtless have contributed to this in some way! :agree:

Of course people can tell the time and I just don't get this "theory" that people DELIBERATELY choose to arrive after the match has started! :confused:

The people that generally piss people off most are those that have a few beers before the match and then, as a result, have to visit the toilets two or three times during the match as well as go for their h/t food before the first half has finished etc! Especially if they sit in the middle of a row! :confused:

I just don't see it as the huge problem that some people seem to! :cool2:

It's annoying where I sit in the West Lower. The couple next to me arrive late every single week and faf about to their seats holding on to their chips, pizza and coffee - Does ma heid in :grr: And even making a joke to them saying "One day you pair will get here for kick off" doesney sink in :devil: :dizzy:

08-02-2010, 09:34 AM
[/B]

It's annoying where I sit in the West Lower. The couple next to me arrive late every single week and faf about to their seats holding on to their chips, pizza and coffee - Does ma heid in :grr: And even making a joke to them saying "One day you pair will get here for kick off" doesney sink in :devil: :dizzy:

:agree: If it's not deliberate, they can't tell the time. We had to sit in row c of the west lower on Saturday and 3 folk came in at about 310 - instead of trying to find their seats they decided to stand and have a blether and block our view of the pitch.

08-02-2010, 09:44 AM

I'm with you, it all bugs me.

I reckon anyone looking to take a seat past 3.05pm should be escorted back to the concourse before being put on the floor and have seven shades of rafael kicked out of them.

They won't do it again.

08-02-2010, 09:47 AM
I'm with you, it all bugs me.

I reckon anyone looking to take a seat past 3.05pm should be escorted back to the concourse before being put on the floor and have seven shades of rafael kicked out of them.

They won't do it again.

Macar might.:slipper:

08-02-2010, 09:55 AM
PS

Should have said I have had problems with this in the past...and after several matches of a group of 6 arriving late and shuffling along a whole row...less than 5 mins and some were shuffling back out to the bog / for grub...then again an early exit for half time...then late back after half time...then early exit at end (I kid you not) patience ran out :grr: so I expressed my displeasure in no uncertain terms...cue applause from seats all around (why did no one else say any thing before as it was obviously a problem for lots of people:dunno:) Much more considerate after that and often had some good banter.....don't suffer in silence:greengrin

We have to get a balance between our enjoyment and that of others (or our rights and others rights if you like) remember a friend complaining that his new white trainers had been stood on in the crush after the game and people should be more carefull :bitchy: eh nah

I'm amazed at the amount of folk that are criticising the OP. Why do folk deliberately turn up late? K/O is at 3 - can they not tell the time? Would they turn up at the cinema/theatre 15 minutes after the start?

I don't think the OP's being unreasonable. You pay upwards of £20 to see a football match lasting 90 minutes. The KO time is 3.00pm. Arriving late, then up and down to the toilet, up and down to get eats and drinks, up early at half-time, back late after half-time, up and down to the toilet, for eats and drinks, then leaving early - if you're unlucky like the OP was and get stuck behind a party of 6 or 8 carrying on like this, you see almost nothing of the game.

It may well be a problem at cup-ties in particular - I remember a particular family party (dad, mum, mum's sister, two whiney teenager girls and four hyperactive garbage-eating diarrhetic brats) in the West Lower a couple of years ago. Cup tie.

Total pests. People WERE telling them to sit down and so on, but they paid no heed. Then we scored, I bellowed YEEEEEESSSSSS!!!!!!! - and mum's sis startedgoing on that I was frightening the brats and could I PLEASE stop shouting.... (Moi? Shouting? At a game? :rolleyes:)

I think a lot of it's a combination of bad stewarding and sme people just being inconsiderate of others. :grr:

08-02-2010, 10:03 AM
Yep and I reckon we could have a timer chip on the seats to see how long a bum actually stays on a seat.

ST Holders could then have their average recorded on the club database. Anyone sat down for less than 70 mins from 90 loses their seat the following season.

08-02-2010, 10:06 AM
Yep and I reckon we could have a timer chip on the seats to see how long a bum actually stays on a seat.

ST Holders could then have their average recorded on the club database. Anyone sat down for less than 70 mins from 90 loses their seat the following season.

I think waitress service by the pie stand would also be a boon. :agree:

08-02-2010, 10:09 AM

It cant work, the east terrace never sit down.:greengrin

08-02-2010, 10:10 AM

:bitchy: They're slow enough getting pies from behind the counter to the til, never mind getting them to folks' seats. We'd still be in for the Aberdeen match on Wednesday night!

Bit of common sense on all sides, more like. :rolleyes:

Who cares what goes on in amongst the peasant's quarters, I'm on aboot my executive pre-heated seat in the West Upper.

08-02-2010, 10:13 AM
From now on, bring a can of deodorant and a lighter to the games with you..

If folk stand in your way, home-made flame thrower their ass :agree:

08-02-2010, 10:15 AM
From now on, bring a can of deodorant and a lighter to the games with you..

If folk stand in your way, home-made flame thrower their ass :agree:

Yip great idea, but remember not to put it on a bamboo pole, or you could get your flame thrower confiscated.

08-02-2010, 10:31 AM
:agree: If it's not deliberate, they can't tell the time. We had to sit in row c of the west lower on Saturday and 3 folk came in at about 310 - instead of trying to find their seats they decided to stand and have a blether and block our view of the pitch.

That was unreasonable behaviour on their part and a quiet word in their ear was entirely justified. :agree:

I find this usually works for me on the odd occassion I have found the need to speak to someone about blocking my view and, when it hasn't, I have simply called a steward over to deal with it when one guy decided he was a bit of a "hard man" and suggested that I "get a life" and just accept that people will stand around "sorting themselves out" as he put it! :confused:

It's not ideal and it would be better if people just behaved properly but life's often not like that unfortunately! :wink:

Joe Baker II
08-02-2010, 10:39 AM
Ridiculous comments, other than fact may not be peoples fault that they are late, if they have paid their money it is there choice when they arrive - there may be a sort of point if late comers have complimentary tickets.

Find as well queues at kiosks usually smaller at kick off time so some people go then and therefore miss first few minutes, people where I go seem less smallminded than some of those posting above so it never becomes an issue.

08-02-2010, 10:43 AM
Ridiculous comments, other than fact may not be peoples fault that they are late, if they have paid their money it is there choice when they arrive - there may be a sort of point if late comers have complimentary tickets.

Find as well queues at kiosks usually smaller at kick off time so some people go then and therefore miss first few minutes, people where I go seem less smallminded than some of those posting above so it never becomes an issue.

I don't understand why if you've paid your money you'd want to miss some of the thing you've paid to see - whether it be arriving late, leaving early or going for something to eat during it. And while doing it cause others to miss some of it as well.

It's like folk think they're missing out on something if they don't finish their pint at bang on 3pm or buy their next one at 440. And the food's rubbish and over-priced so why not just wait for an hour or 2 and get something after? Or have something before.

08-02-2010, 10:57 AM
If your ticket has a seat number on it then sit in that seat,drives me nuts when I buy a tic and find some erse is sitting in the seat on the tic.

An Leargaidh
08-02-2010, 11:04 AM
I don't understand why if you've paid your money you'd want to miss some of the thing you've paid to see - whether it be arriving late, leaving early or going for something to eat during it. And while doing it cause others to miss some of it as well.

Danderhall I don't understand either. I have so far been late for two matches at ER. The first one was the first one I ever attended and the second time was when my train was 20 minutes late for an unexplained reason and I had to literally run down from Waverley :hyper: I always have wondered why folk turn up late. I thought maybe it was just me being a stickler but at the Montrose match on Saturday just past people were turning up at 20+ minutes into the first half :confused: Surely they couldn't all be late because of traffic or late trains?

Similarly I don't really understand the folk that pile out before the final whistle. It ususally seems to be about 5 or 6 minutes before the end but some folk head off 10 minutes or so early, sometimes with a quip to their pals, "A'll keep a bar stool warm for ye" etc. :dummytit: How many folk like that missed the second goal against St. Mirren the other week?

I don't think the entry price to a home match is overpriced as such but I certainly wouldn't want to miss even 1 minute of the play. If folk want to waste their money coming late or leaving early that's up to them but it is annoying when you can't see what is happening on the pitch because they are all getting up and shuffling along a row and you can't see the action... :hnetinq:

Cammy :cool2:

08-02-2010, 12:42 PM
Instead of moaning on here, why don't folk just pull up the 'offenders' at the time?

I'd imagine that most reasonable people will respond well to...

'Hoi pal, by you squeezing past me on your way to your seat, you've caused me to have to move my feet and miss 3 seconds off the football. You can forget about going for a piss or a pie unless it's half-time and dinnae even think about leaving until the ref blows the full time whistle and you've stood for 5 minutes to applaud the boys.".

Om the other hand, you might get a slap. Either way, you'll have made your feelings known to the one person that can do anything about it.

08-02-2010, 12:47 PM
If your ticket has a seat number on it then sit in that seat,drives me nuts when I buy a tic and find some erse is sitting in the seat on the tic.

That's some trick. :wink:

legends of 73
08-02-2010, 01:37 PM
That was unreasonable behaviour on their part and a quiet word in their ear was entirely justified. :agree:

I find this usually works for me on the odd occassion I have found the need to speak to someone about blocking my view and, when it hasn't, I have simply called a steward over to deal with it when one guy decided he was a bit of a "hard man" and suggested that I "get a life" and just accept that people will stand around "sorting themselves out" as he put it! :confused:

It's not ideal and it would be better if people just behaved properly but life's often not like that unfortunately! :wink:

someone did say something and the cant turned round and had a go at me :grr::grr: so i told him in no uncertain terms that i never said f@@k all.

mines would have been a little more direct like "f@@king sit down ya d@@k":greengrin:greengrin

08-02-2010, 01:50 PM
Instead of moaning on here, why don't folk just pull up the 'offenders' at the time?

We did say something - see here...

someone did say something and the cant turned round and had a go at me :grr::grr: so i told him in no uncertain terms that i never said f@@k all.

mines would have been a little more direct like "f@@king sit down ya d@@k":greengrin:greengrin

:tee hee: Beer Monster never said nothing but he got the blame and took up the boy's "challenge" for us. :greengrin

krobertson12
08-02-2010, 02:11 PM
As the OP, i feel i should make another comment here :wink:.

Firstly, there is no need to tell me to get a life, i have aired my opinion on a certain factor that annoyed me. i have not shown dis-respect.

secondly i said it was ridiculous for the game at the weekend, i did not say i usually have 6 people blocking my view. its not a common occurance. i added the bit about repeat offenders as a joke, sorry if i have riled up some of the posters over it

thirdly I stated my point, and people have explained why there was problems (ticketing, stewarts etc) which i accept,

and lastly. i have no idea where people have got this idea that some fans do this deliberatly. i never said that. BUT somepeople have a lack of awareness which caused some of the bother not just for me judging from some of the posts

Lets all heal the rift that seems to have opened, and celebrate another scottish cup game, which the jambos dont have. :notworthy:

08-02-2010, 02:31 PM
As the OP, i feel i should make another comment here :wink:.

Firstly, there is no need to tell me to get a life, i have aired my opinion on a certain factor that annoyed me. i have not shown dis-respect.

secondly i said it was ridiculous for the game at the weekend, i did not say i usually have 6 people blocking my view. its not a common occurance. i added the bit about repeat offenders as a joke, sorry if i have riled up some of the posters over it

thirdly I stated my point, and people have explained why there was problems (ticketing, stewarts etc) which i accept,

and lastly. i have no idea where people have got this idea that some fans do this deliberatly. i never said that. BUT somepeople have a lack of awareness which caused some of the bother not just for me judging from some of the posts

Lets all heal the rift that seems to have opened, and celebrate another scottish cup game, which the jambos dont have. :notworthy:

Nah, let's introduce zero tolerance for the perenially tardy. Set fire to them, I say.

Joe Baker II
08-02-2010, 03:19 PM
I don't understand why if you've paid your money you'd want to miss some of the thing you've paid to see.

Just because you do not understand it, does not mean that others do not. If I choose to give Hibs/away club money and I miss 3-4 minutes at most out of 90 I can live with that, from above posts and behaviour of many people where we go at ER, plenty of others can too.

08-02-2010, 03:24 PM
Just because you do not understand it, does not mean that others do not. If I choose to give Hibs/away club money and I miss 3-4 minutes at most out of 90 I can live with that, from above posts and behaviour of many people where we go at ER, plenty of others can too.

I realise that - it does seem ridiculous though. If I go to the football, cinema, theatre, whatever I don't want to miss the start.

I went to see Billy Connolly in October and it was on the ticket that latecomers would not be allowed in after the show started. Presumably to stop latecomers interrupting the show for those that could actually be arsed to turn up on time.

08-02-2010, 03:41 PM

Stand in front of me for 3-4 minutes and make me miss the action and you won't be living with it. :greengrin:wink: :take that

08-02-2010, 03:48 PM

We get points for standing on them, though!

08-02-2010, 05:13 PM
To all you early leavers.

What if there was a public announcement at ER 5/10/15 minutes before the match was ending informing you "That's it folks the team are leaving the pitch now because they a dinner arrangement tonight and need to get home and change"

How would you feel?

:devil:

Joe Baker II
09-02-2010, 01:39 PM
I realise that - it does seem ridiculous though. If I go to the football, cinema, theatre, whatever I don't want to miss the start.

I went to see Billy Connolly in October and it was on the ticket that latecomers would not be allowed in after the show started. Presumably to stop latecomers interrupting the show for those that could actually be arsed to turn up on time.

Not convinced football can be compared to theate/comedy validly + in many of these shows late arrivals are allowed in from my experience. In practice if someone chooses to give football club money whether via season ticket or match for match basis, it is up to them when they choose to attend.

09-02-2010, 02:16 PM
So is this thread about;

early leavers
people who arrive late
people who talk during the game
people who go for a piss during the game
People who dont clap long enough during the game
People who don't wear the correct size scarf on matchday
People who have B O on a saturday

WHAT ?

It sounds like people moaning about nowt if you ask me :greengrin

10-02-2010, 10:04 PM
Were my eyes deceiving me tonight or DID ArabHibee sneak out early ?:cool2:

10-02-2010, 10:07 PM

:bitchy:

Well I hope she's on to explain herself soon.

Disgraceful if true.

10-02-2010, 10:08 PM
I was late because I was in 2 minds about coming to the game tonight. Left work very late. I was still at home at 7.30. I did run from MacDonald Road though.

Next time, should I get a letter from my work or something to explain why I was delayed?

10-02-2010, 10:09 PM
I was late because I was in 2 minds about coming to the game tonight. Left work very late. I was still at home at 7.30. I did run from MacDonald Road though.

Next time, should I get a letter from my work or something to explain why I was delayed?

A letter's not required. Just make your mind up sooner. :agree:

10-02-2010, 10:13 PM
A letter's not required. Just make your mind up sooner. :agree:

Thanks. I'll keep that in mind and try to be more decisive in future.

As we're all in a confrontational mood, does anyone have a view on what shade of green a regulation hibs scarf should be? Mine is a british racing green, but I think the standard colour is pea or mint green.

Would anyone like a square goes over the correct shade?

10-02-2010, 10:14 PM
On Saturday I was at the turnstyle 25 minutes before kick-off and my cup top-up season ticket wasn't recognised. Had to queue at the ticket office to get a substitute paper ticket then wait in a long queue at the turnstyle and got in just in time for the kick off.

Tonight I arrived 20 minutes before kick off - same problem and the same result. Pretty frustrating, to say the least. :grr:

10-02-2010, 10:14 PM
:bitchy:

Well I hope she's on to explain herself soon.

Disgraceful if true.

You'll find 65BD came in late too , upsetting all around him :agree:
Tried to sneak past me.

I'm a super fan me :greengrin
I drove there from Liverpool and i was in my seat by 10 mins before kick off!

Tsk tsk tsk Arab and 65BC:bitchy:

10-02-2010, 10:36 PM
I missed the kick off on BBC Alba tonight as I waslate back from the match. Then the wife stood in front of me blocking my view for the 1st Hibs goal when giving me a cup of coffee and toast tonight. Who is most at fault and deserves a spanking?.

11-02-2010, 10:02 AM
I missed the kick off on BBC Alba tonight as I waslate back from the match. Then the wife stood in front of me blocking my view for the 1st Hibs goal when giving me a cup of coffee and toast tonight. Who is most at fault and deserves a spanking?.

:slipper:

Hope you got the good slippers out.

11-02-2010, 12:50 PM

I left early - Only watched the first half last night. Returning tonight to see the second half onslaught and Hibby goals.

TheMentalHibees
11-02-2010, 01:03 PM
I think everyone should just stay at home, listen to the game on the radio, and watch the highlights on Sportscene the next day. It's the only way that all these problems are going to be resolved. Christ, there's got to be more important things to worry about.

11-02-2010, 01:04 PM

Langfield.

11-02-2010, 01:11 PM

Talking of spanking, i met Macar tonight, he seemed a nice bloke, and does not mind talking about his exploits.:faf:

PS i took the advice of a few folk, and parked on Sleigh drive, and was filling up with petrol at hillend bang on 10pm.:thumbsup: And i stayed till the end.:greengrin

11-02-2010, 01:34 PM
You'll find 65BD came in late too , upsetting all around him :agree:
Tried to sneak past me.

:whistle:

True I was a minute or two late in, and 2nd half as well :embarrass

Stayed till the end though :greengrin

11-02-2010, 01:38 PM
Talking of spanking, i met Macar tonight, he seemed a nice bloke, and does not mind talking about his exploits.:faf:

Bet you'll be avoiding that boozer next time then :greengrin

You didn't shake his hand did you :bitchy:

PS i took the advice of a few folk, and parked on Sleigh drive, and was filling up with petrol at hillend bang on 10pm.:thumbsup: And i stayed till the end.:greengrin

11-02-2010, 01:51 PM
Bet you'll be avoiding that boozer next time then :greengrin

You didn't shake his hand did you :bitchy:

He's not talking to you mate, he's gone right off that idea.:faf:

Rory89
11-02-2010, 02:23 PM
I make sure to always arrive bang on 45 minutes before kick-off. It's nice to have a quiet stadium because it gives me time to set up my picnic, get my pen and Herald out for another riveting crossword, before just having enough time to brush up on my statistics of the match ahead for personal use.

I agree with the OP, it's terrible when all the riff-raff just stumble in like they own the pace whenever they choose.

11-02-2010, 08:12 PM

:wtf:Who told you that? That's a downright lie. And I have witnesses to prove it! :grr:

You have my utmost sympathy. That's how he reels you in, he's all nicey nicey to begin with. Hope you didn't give him your phone number? :cool2:

11-02-2010, 08:14 PM
:wtf:Who told you that? That's a downright lie. And I have witnesses to prove it! :grr:

You have my utmost sympathy. That's how he reels you in, he's all nicey nicey to begin with. Hope you didn't give him your phone number? :cool2:

There was never any chance of that happening. :greengrin

11-02-2010, 08:16 PM

Did you stay until the end ?

11-02-2010, 08:19 PM
There was never any chance of that happening. :greengrin
Good man! :thumbsup:

Did you stay until the end ?

Yes I did. Get yer facts right. I await your grovelling apology.

11-02-2010, 08:25 PM
Yes I did. Get yer facts right. I await your grovelling apology.

And here it is..............

That ******* 65BD told me that you had to rush off early for something very important. He then said , and gestured with his hands , that i should say that i saw you sneaking out.
He has made me bare false witness and for that , dear God , i am very sorry.

What a ****** !
I'm mortified now.
Well , im no really:greengrin

65BD you are a lanky streak o p1sh. I'll get you back you big poof !

11-02-2010, 08:30 PM

That ******* 65BD told me that you had to rush off early for something very important. He then said , and gestured with his hands , that i should say that i saw you sneaking out.

What a ****** !
I'm mortified now.

:faf: Apology accepted. I've said it before and I'll say it again. Never trust a banker. :cool2:

11-02-2010, 08:47 PM

What a ****** !
I'm mortified now.

Right that's you off my 'best friends list' anaw :bye: Canny trust anyone. All you had to do was say sorry it was someone who looked like you.

Thing is I was waiting for my auld man who had gone for a pish then I saw Arab strolling down the stairs and tbh I had forgotten about our conversation. No idea why she changed her mind but in BTG she was defo leaving early. She had a sports bag with her and I did overhear a comment about an interview at the Burke & Hare :agree:

11-02-2010, 09:08 PM
Right that's you off my 'best friends list' anaw :bye: Canny trust anyone. All you had to do was say sorry it was someone who looked like you.

Thing is I was waiting for my auld man who had gone for a pish then I saw Arab strolling down the stairs and tbh I had forgotten about our conversation. No idea why she changed her mind but in BTG she was defo leaving early. She had a sports bag with her and I did overhear a comment about an interview at the Burke & Hare :agree:

Outrageous :faf: