View Full Version : Match Updates <*** Hibs vs Montrose***>

CalgaryHibs
06-02-2010, 11:56 AM
<<Hibs vs Montrose Scottish cup>>

Today Hibs welcome Montrose to Easter Road this should be a easy win for the mighty Green n White!

Any team news yet ???

Whats the weather like today in Leith ?

:hnet::flag:

AugustaHibs
06-02-2010, 11:56 AM
YOU MADE IT!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

CalgaryHibs
06-02-2010, 11:57 AM
Will Smith or Stack be in goals today ?

http://icanhascheezburger.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/128343688002656250hallelujahpra.jpg

Thank **** :thumbsup:

hibees59
06-02-2010, 11:58 AM
Admin, merge the imposter's thread onto this one.:wink:

Thank god for that about to leave for ER , didnt want to leave without CalgaryHibs starting thread, feel better know so off we go c'mon the Cabbage:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

Ah...normal service resumed

Its misty and damp...the pitch (loose term) will be like a ploughed field so we need to be prepared to play a bit ugly and get the first goal early

06-02-2010, 12:00 PM

1two, im not angry......just very disappointed in you :no way:

06-02-2010, 12:00 PM
Mon the hibees:notworthy:

06-02-2010, 12:01 PM
having spent the last 6 hours :rolleyes: setting up my new blackberry, I might try a half time match up date on here...but don't hold your breath...:greengrin

06-02-2010, 12:11 PM

Just delete it :greengrin

CalgaryHibs
06-02-2010, 12:13 PM
Liverpool 0-0 Everton 27 min gone not much happening

gogse
06-02-2010, 12:17 PM

When did we sign Will Smith?

I hear he's a legend :thumbsup:

I'll get my coat.

06-02-2010, 12:18 PM

Blackberry's are fine, but we'll

I'll get my coat.

06-02-2010, 12:19 PM

I'll get my coat.

I hope we've not signed him as he's not good in these winter months, very much a summer, summer, summertime kind of guy

06-02-2010, 12:21 PM
I hope we've not signed him as he's not good in these winter months, very much a summer, summer, summertime kind of guy

i'd be surprised if he has signed, last i heard he was going to miami. :greengrin

CalgaryHibs
06-02-2010, 12:22 PM

I'll get my coat.

============
awrite awrite smart arse, this is an old joke on here:greengrin next time i'll change the wording on this.:greengrin

06-02-2010, 12:24 PM
i'd be surprised if he has signed, last i heard he was going to miami. :greengrin

He may well balanced up the bias towards the Old Firm from referees, he is on good terms with the Men in Black.

Coat on, door open.

06-02-2010, 12:27 PM

1two, im not angry......just very disappointed in you :no way:
Thats worse...

Silver Fox
06-02-2010, 01:25 PM
any team news?

hibeeleicester
06-02-2010, 01:29 PM
Hibernian (from): Smith, McCormack, Murray, Hogg, Hanlon, Miller, Cregg, Zemmama, McBride, Rankin, Stokes, Riordan, Byrne, Stevenson, Gow, Galbraith, Wotherspoon, Nish, Benjelloun, Thicot, Stack.

No line up yet.

No brown, is he cup tied?

CapitalHibs
06-02-2010, 01:33 PM
1. Graeme Smith

2. David Wotherspoon

3. Ian Murray

4. Chris Hogg

5. Paul Hanlon

6. John Rankin

8. Liam Miller

7. Kevin McBride

11. Anthony Stokes

9. Colin Nish

10. Derek Riordan

SUBS
21. Graham Stack (GK)

14. Alan Gow

15. Merouane Zemmama

16. Abdessalam Benjelloun

17. Lewis Stevenson

06-02-2010, 01:34 PM
When was the last time we had a bench as strong as that?!? :thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 01:35 PM
got a feeling Gow will be in for Nish! then again maybe not :)

Borders Hibby
06-02-2010, 01:36 PM
1. Graeme Smith

2. David Wotherspoon

3. Ian Murray

4. Chris Hogg

5. Paul Hanlon

6. John Rankin

8. Liam Miller

7. Kevin McBride

11. Anthony Stokes

9. Colin Nish

10. Derek Riordan

SUBS
21. Graham Stack (GK)

14. Alan Gow

15. Merouane Zemmama

17. Lewis Stevenson

No Galbraith.:grr:

hibeeleicester
06-02-2010, 01:38 PM
Should be no trouble today.:agree:

Hanlon at CH?

Silver Fox
06-02-2010, 01:41 PM
1. Graeme Smith

2. David Wotherspoon

3. Ian Murray

4. Chris Hogg

5. Paul Hanlon

6. John Rankin

8. Liam Miller

7. Kevin McBride

11. Anthony Stokes

9. Colin Nish

10. Derek Riordan

SUBS
21. Graham Stack (GK)

14. Alan Gow

15. Merouane Zemmama

17. Lewis Stevenson

Thanks, strongest possible line up, that answers that then.

06-02-2010, 01:43 PM
Good starting line up.

Let's tear them a new one:agree:

06-02-2010, 01:43 PM
Pitch update

It looks shocking and is cutting up with warm up

Crowd will struggle to be above 8000

Baker9
06-02-2010, 01:44 PM
got a feeling Gow will be in for Nish! then again maybe not :)

In for Rankin?

CapitalHibs
06-02-2010, 01:46 PM
Pitch update

It looks shocking and is cutting up with warm up

Crowd will struggle to be above 8000

Stack on the bench ahead of Mark Brown? :confused:

Where's Bamba? :confused:

Surprised Rankin starts ahead of Gow - thought Yogi would have wanted to give him a start.

spudhib
In for Rankin?

In for ..........Galbraith:grr:

And the usual greeting from a yet again warm and sultry slave coast, probably caused by the burning gas and oil lines blown up :greengrin

Mon the HIbees.

06-02-2010, 01:50 PM
A bit disappointing not to see Galbraith and Byrne getting a chance from the bench, but you can understand the logic of keeping more senior players happy...

Hopefully, we can get two or three ahead by half time and bring on Gow, Stevenson & Benji - giving a few key men a breather.

My prediction: 5-0

06-02-2010, 01:51 PM
Stack on the bench ahead of Mark Brown? :confused:

Where's Bamba? :confused:

Surprised Rankin starts ahead of Gow - thought Yogi would have wanted to give him a start.

In Paris. Yogi gave him a week off. He's due back on monday.

Stack did nothing wrong when in goals for us, so seems a logical choice for the bench.

Wull
06-02-2010, 01:59 PM
Greatins frae a nice an no too hot Rio,:wink:
Cummon the HIBEES, good lookin team takin nae chances:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 01:59 PM
C'MON HIBS:flag:

06-02-2010, 02:00 PM
HIBEE HIBERNIAN:notworthy:

LET'S GET RIGHT INTAE THUM HIBS:flag:

06-02-2010, 02:00 PM
Is the game on the radio? Anyone got a link?

06-02-2010, 02:01 PM
Shooting up the slope

In Paris. Yogi gave him a week off. He's due back on monday.

Cool, I just wasn't sure if he was suspended or picked up an injury

Stack did nothing wrong when in goals for us, so seems a logical choice for the bench.

Agreed - I just thought he was still injured

:cool2:

Is the game on the radio? Anyone got a link?

Open all mics

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/7742209.stm

It's pish btw.

06-02-2010, 02:03 PM
Mon the boys, get into them from the start. :notworthy:

06-02-2010, 02:05 PM
1-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Nish:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

spudhib
06-02-2010, 02:06 PM
1-0 Nishy:thumbsup:

1-0 after 4 mins nishaldo

followed by a good save by lofty from deeks

Wull
shame Andy Cummon Nishy:thumbsup:

On you go Nish, Preston must be loving it! :greengrin

06-02-2010, 02:07 PM

He was almost greeting "It's all Hibs:boo hoo:" :greengrin

Sounds like Hibs are hammering them (McNeil already having to make a few good saves)

biggie1875
yessssssssssssssssss moan the hibees:thumbsup:

You can hear his teeth grind while talking about our great start. :wink:

06-02-2010, 02:09 PM
Now lets hang on for the other 89 minutes. :agree:

:duck:

06-02-2010, 02:10 PM
Montrose make a change, player has a pulled hamstring.

06-02-2010, 02:12 PM
Big Tam scores on his debut for Ayr against Dundehhh:greengrin

06-02-2010, 02:12 PM
Tam McManus scores on his debut for Ayr.

The next returning hero? :hmmm:

06-02-2010, 02:15 PM
Ross County now 2 up against Stirling Albion, running away with it.

This "Open All Mics" thing isnae up tae much:boo hoo:

spudhib
06-02-2010, 02:15 PM
Preston talking about cricket scores,jinxing basa:grr:

06-02-2010, 02:18 PM
Preston saying we are keeping possession well, Murray had a shot just go over the bar.

Chic Young just said "Hibs are going to win the cup", Preston almost greeting "They maybe could..:boo hoo:"

SaudiHibby
06-02-2010, 02:18 PM
Mon the cabbage and ribs :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

erin-go-bragh87
06-02-2010, 02:21 PM
Anyone know when the highlights are on??

Preston saying we are keeping possession well, Murray had a shot just go over the bar.

Chic Young just said "Hibs are going to win the cup", Preston almost greeting "They maybe could..:boo hoo:":greengrin

Well, the fact that we are still in the ****ing thing.....:grr:

Despise that man...:wink:

I could see this match ending 1-0. Or 6-0. One of the two. :wink:

06-02-2010, 02:22 PM
Penalty shout for Hibs, ref says no.

Ross County now 3 up...

biggie1875
tonight 1030 a think

spudhib
Anyone know when the highlights are on??

Tonight Sportscene 10.30 BBC1.

erin-go-bragh87
06-02-2010, 02:23 PM

sky + set..

hibsmum
06-02-2010, 02:25 PM
anyone know when the highlights are on??
bbc 1 10.35

06-02-2010, 02:25 PM
2-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Nish again!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 02:26 PM
nish yesssssssssssssssssssssss:thumbsup:

spudhib
2-0 Nishy again.:thumbsup:

SaudiHibby
He's found his level :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::greengrin

MON the Nish!

06-02-2010, 02:27 PM
2-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Nish again!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

easy, easy, easy...

The draw after the Pars/Tic the morra? on the TV?

blindsummit
06-02-2010, 02:27 PM
well done Nishy! I dinnae care what anyone says, I think you do a great job:greengrin:agree::thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 02:28 PM
well done Nishy! I dinnae care what anyone says, I think you do a great job:greengrin:agree::thumbsup:Agree :top marks

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 02:28 PM
easy, easy, easy...

The draw after the Pars/Tic the morra? no the TV?
think they said wed at 1 on sky sports news

06-02-2010, 02:29 PM
easy, easy, easy...

The draw after the Pars/Tic the morra? no the TV?

Draw is on Wednesday:bitchy:

Live on Sky Sports.

Moved to Wednesday according to all knowing Chic Young because the draw would be "over-shadowed" by the Euro Championship draw:bitchy:

Montrose just had a big miss from 6 yards.

06-02-2010, 02:29 PM
Raith 1 nil up against Sheep:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 02:30 PM
killie 1 up against Caley

06-02-2010, 02:30 PM
raith at easter road in the next round would be kinda nice :greengrin

spudhib
06-02-2010, 02:31 PM
Raith 1 nil up against Sheep:thumbsup:

They'll be dancing in the streets of Raith tonight as someone once said.:thumbsup:

1 - 0 Raith v Aberdeen!

Taxi for McGhee !!! ...:faf:

06-02-2010, 02:32 PM
well done Nishy! I dinnae care what anyone says, I think you do a great job:greengrin:agree::thumbsup:

100% agree, wee hat-trick before half time would be good for his confidence...:cool2:

06-02-2010, 02:32 PM
1 - 0 Raith v Aberdeen!

Ya Dancer...:faf:

06-02-2010, 02:33 PM
Killie 1 up ICT

spudhib
06-02-2010, 02:36 PM
Killie 1 up ICT

Make that 2

06-02-2010, 02:37 PM
If the results stay as the are, confirmed in the next round will be: Hibs - Killie - Ayr - Raith - Ross County

joejoefaemexico
06-02-2010, 02:39 PM
at the game, LOVING how vocal the keeper is!

06-02-2010, 02:40 PM
If the results stay as the are, confirmed in the next round will be: Hibs - Killie - Ayr - Raith - Ross County

What about hertz:confused:

06-02-2010, 02:41 PM
What sort of crowd is inside Easter Road today?

06-02-2010, 02:41 PM
Dundee 1 - 1 Ayr

hibsmum
06-02-2010, 02:42 PM
[QUOTE=bighairyfaeleith;2341591]What about hertz:confused:[/QUOTE
Straight to the final :notworthy:

06-02-2010, 02:44 PM
What sort of crowd is inside Easter Road today?

A mixed bunch - motley crew if you like :greengrin

06-02-2010, 02:45 PM

Tam McManus scores on his debut for Ayr.

The next returning hero? :hmmm:

Looks like they are really missing Ryan Stevenson's midfield drive badly.

How many away fans is there? 1500?

Minus the two zero's :wink:

UTD 1 nil up

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 02:48 PM
we should be at least 8 up by now H/T :thumbsup:

blindsummit
06-02-2010, 02:51 PM

you mean some dodgy haircuts, lots of make up and a lot od leather, spandex and latex gear? :greengrin

blindsummit
06-02-2010, 02:52 PM

you mean some dodgy haircuts, lots of make up and a lot od leather, spandex and latex gear?

06-02-2010, 02:52 PM
we should be at least 8 up by now H/T :thumbsup:

Here's hoping we're more clinical in the 2nd half and put them to the sword!

06-02-2010, 02:58 PM
Can you pay at the gate today?

GreenPJ
06-02-2010, 03:01 PM
He's found his level :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::greengrin

So what level is Deeks then.:devil:

06-02-2010, 03:03 PM
Winining in second gear
Deeks not making best of room he's had
Decent but could have finished it of

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:06 PM
come on the hibs more of the same this half but with more goals :notworthy:

06-02-2010, 03:07 PM
McNeil got a good applause when he walked over to the FF stand at the start of the half.

06-02-2010, 03:12 PM
Rankin playing well
We are a bit sloppy and are missing passes

06-02-2010, 03:15 PM
How is it still only 2-0???

Also, Robbie Winters has just scored for Livi... Is this the same Robbie Winters that used to play for Dundee Utd and Aberdeen?

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:16 PM
sounds like we have taken foot off the gas now

06-02-2010, 03:16 PM
How is it still only 2-0???

Also, Robbie Winters has just scored for Livi... Is this the same Robbie Winters that used to play for Dundee Utd and Aberdeen?

Jeezo, he must be about 95 now?

Edit - It is him. Scored 4 in 9 for Livi so far according to Wiki.

06-02-2010, 03:17 PM
Damon Gray scores for Berwick

06-02-2010, 03:20 PM
Zemamma on

06-02-2010, 03:20 PM
Aberdeen putting 4 up front. Mcghoo getting desperate:greengrin

06-02-2010, 03:23 PM
2-0 vs officially "the worst team in Britain" is pretty poor...

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:23 PM
oh Zemamma

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:24 PM
motherwell 1-0 up

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:25 PM
ffs hibs :grr:

jws1875
06-02-2010, 03:25 PM
Nishy misses a sitter

06-02-2010, 03:26 PM
Sitter oif the decad miss by nish

06-02-2010, 03:26 PM
Nish misses a sitter

GTF Nish:grr:

:greengrin:devil:

McNeil sounds like he has made some decent saves.

06-02-2010, 03:27 PM
Deeko screamer:thumbsup:

3-0:thumbsup:

jws1875
3-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

RIORDAN :notworthy:

biggie1875
yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss deek:thumbsup:

Sounds like we should be looking to put in a cheeky wee bid for the Montrose keeper:greengrin

Maka would have saved that. :bitchy:

Lofty GTF!

30 yard0screamer from deeks

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:28 PM
benji and gow on
nish and stokes off

Juice-Terry
06-02-2010, 03:30 PM
Pretty impressive to be able to bring on substitutes like Zemmamma, Benji, and Gow. How many other SPL can bring on three subs of a similar calibre?

'Mon the Cabbage!

SaudiHibby
06-02-2010, 03:31 PM
benji and gow on
nish and stokes off

Should have cashed in on those two in the windae :devil::greengrin

Montrose screamer:boo hoo:

As much as I like Benji, it's clear he's going to be off at the end of the season. Surely Byrne or Galbraith are more worthy of an outing in games like this?

biggie1875
ffs hibs :grr::greengrin sounded lik a gid goal tbh

06-02-2010, 03:32 PM
Its freezing here
Gow looking good first few touches
Sloppy goal again

Nailrod
06-02-2010, 03:32 PM
Would Maka have saved that? When will this Simth guy get a shutout? :grr::wink:

06-02-2010, 03:33 PM
2-0 vs officially "the worst team in Britain" is pretty poor...

With our record in this competition, i would take 1-0! Its all about getting to the next round.

06-02-2010, 03:33 PM
FFS !!!! comeback is on ..come on hibs .....:greengrin

06-02-2010, 03:35 PM
Balls, had a £5 on 3-0 Hibs at 6/1

Also got £5 on "any other score" ie 4 goals or more at 2.2 so need us to score again to get my money back now.:grr:

Edit... Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 4-1

biggie1875
As much as I like Benji, it's clear he's going to be off at the end of the season. Surely Byrne or Galbraith are more worthy of an outing in games like this?
:top marks yesssssssssss hibees

Benjiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii:thumbsup::thumbsup:

4-1:thumbsup:

Benji!!

06-02-2010, 03:37 PM
Ross County in 7th Heaven

7-0:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 03:38 PM
County 8 nil up!:dizzy:

cjhibee1
06-02-2010, 03:38 PM
Ross County in 7th Heaven

7-0:thumbsup:

Make that 8-0:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 03:39 PM
Phew !!!! :pray:....:greengrin

06-02-2010, 03:42 PM
McGhoo has sent on Zander Diamond.

Up front:faf:

06-02-2010, 03:44 PM
:top marks yesssssssssss hibees

:embarrass

County 9 nil up!!!!!!

Yogi is fairly predictable with his subs; its almost always Galbraith or Benji...

06-02-2010, 03:45 PM
5 minutes stoppage time in Sheep game:dizzy:

WarringtonHibee
Sheep have 5 minutes stoppage... :grr:

County 9 - 0 Albion FT

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:46 PM
yes gow:thumbsup:

WarringtonHibee
Gow 5-1 :thumbsup:

Gow :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

5-1:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Creaming myself:thumbsup::thumbsup:

cjhibee1
Gow:thumbsup: 5-1

Debut goal for Gow 5-1 :thumbsup:

Gowser!!!!:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 03:47 PM
Sounds like only a matter of time before the Sheep score:bitchy:

spudhib
Gaun the Gowser:thumbsup::hnet:

Nailrod
Credit to HI commentary team who picked Benji and Gow to score! :thumbsup:

Gowser ....:notworthy::thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 03:48 PM
5-1

why oh why oh why did i have to have cfs

WarringtonHibee
06-02-2010, 03:49 PM
Oh **** off you sheep ****gers

Sheep equalise:grr:

Aberdeen equalise in the 95th minute.:grr:

sheep equalise 5th minute injury time :bitchy::grr:

FT Hibs

5-1:thumbsup:

biggie1875
06-02-2010, 03:50 PM
Aberdeen equalise in the 95th minute.:grr:

spudhib
FT 5-1 Job well done.:agree:

biggie1875
5-1 ft hibees hibees

(((Fergus)))
Sheep equalise followed by suppressed scream from Richard Gordon :greengrin

06-02-2010, 03:51 PM
Sheep equalise followed by suppressed scream from Richard Gordon :greengrin

Heard that, very funny!!!

the_ginger_hibee
06-02-2010, 03:51 PM
Lucky sheep ****ging *******s

06-02-2010, 03:57 PM
Good result, well done to Nish, Benji and Gow!!:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 03:57 PM
Good result, well done to Nish, Benji and Gow!!:thumbsup:

And Riordan!!!

06-02-2010, 04:01 PM
Wasn't at the match today, the BBC say that Andy McNeil was "outstanding"... did he do well?

KerPlunk
06-02-2010, 04:04 PM
Where the **** did 5 mins. injury time come from at Sheep game ? :grr:

Sunny1875
06-02-2010, 04:07 PM

will he be a man in black ?

06-02-2010, 04:10 PM
Wasn't at the match today, the BBC say that Andy McNeil was "outstanding"... did he do well?

:agree: He made a couple of brilliant saves

06-02-2010, 04:29 PM

Apparently he "shut that door" a couple of times.:greengrin

06-02-2010, 04:31 PM
The save mcneil made from nish was outstanding but nish shouldve buried it it. Mcneil looked confident tho and any teams interested in him wouldve been impressed. Anyway, quarter finals here we come!!!!

06-02-2010, 04:31 PM
Just in from the game.

Decent game overall - althought we had parts where we did not keep the tempo up and got sloppy..particularly at 2-0 when we nearly let them back in to it.

Top marks to Rankin Hogg Hanlon and Spoony

Gow looked great for a player not getting his game...why would they loan him :rolleyes: wages? OK his fitness was not tested in the short time he was on but great composure to beat 2 a score from tight angle..also good passing

06-02-2010, 04:32 PM
And Riordan!!!

he's always getting credit:wink:

06-02-2010, 04:40 PM
Couldn't manage the game today and internet wasn't allowing me to listen either, glad we scored a few and good to see Nish get a couple, onwards and upwards.:thumbsup:

06-02-2010, 04:41 PM
Hogg and hanlon were dominated by the big crap guy up front, otherwise, job done. Not brilliantly but done!

jakedance
06-02-2010, 04:43 PM
A few observations -

Among a few good displays I'll pick out Hanlon as man of the match. I thought he had a great game. Composed, good positionally, strong and tidy distribution. He'll make that position his own in time.

Gow showed some good touches, he'll fit in well.

I think Wotherspoon is the best young player I've seen come through at Hibs. Week in week out he's one of the best players om the pitch. Probably should have got a goal today.

Andy McNeill had a good game and showed he should be playing at a higher level. I was pleased for him, he can be proud of his contribution to the game.

Our keeper has a squeeky voice and I like him. Safe as houses.

The guy half way down the East Terracing, probably about seat 35, who was shouting abuse at Colin Nish when we were 2-nil up, thanks to two goals from Nish - naw pal, your the one that's a disgrace.

A good game and a decent Hibs performance. I enjoyed it.

06-02-2010, 04:47 PM
Hibs should realise that a lot of people have money on silly scores in these games. Wasteful gits.

Oh aye, McNeil's save from Deek's volley at the end :top marks

jakedance
06-02-2010, 04:58 PM
....... one more thing. When Stokes went down under McNeill's challenge in the first half it looked an absolute stonewaller from where I was. Can anyone a little closer to the action comment?

06-02-2010, 05:02 PM
....... one more thing. When Stokes went down under McNeill's challenge in the first half it looked an absolute stonewaller from where I was. Can anyone a little closer to the action comment?
It was one of those incidents when it depends which team you support.

06-02-2010, 05:03 PM
A few observations -

Among a few good displays I'll pick out Hanlon as man of the match. I thought he had a great game. Composed, good positionally, strong and tidy distribution. He'll make that position his own in time.

Gow showed some good touches, he'll fit in well.

I think Wotherspoon is the best young player I've seen come through at Hibs. Week in week out he's one of the best players om the pitch. Probably should have got a goal today.

06-02-2010, 05:04 PM
Much more entertaining than the Irvine Meadow game, apart from twenty minutes either side of halftime.
Andy McNeil was excellent, but we also missed a few. Gow & Benji looked as if they could play together, & as already noted, being able to bring them on as subs along with Zemmama shows the depth we have up front. Hard to fit in Byrne & Galbraith; I hope Hughes can keep everyone happy.

06-02-2010, 05:08 PM
Hogg and hanlon were dominated by the big crap guy up front, otherwise, job done. Not brilliantly but done!

Nonsense.

bob12345
06-02-2010, 05:15 PM
Think a pen would have been harsh in Stokes incident. Well over hit and McNeil had just rushed out to make himself big. Really should have buried it anyway, as was the theme of our afternoon.

06-02-2010, 05:20 PM
Nowhere near as convincing as the scoreline suggests, the combination of Hibs treating it like a training match and Montrose going for it made for some uncomfortable viewing at times. There were far too many passes going astray in midfield, going straight to a Montrose player on many occasions. I'm sure the pitch didn't help - what a state it's in!

Well done, job done and into the Quarter Finals we go.

jakedance
06-02-2010, 05:25 PM
Nowhere near as convincing as the scoreline suggests

I think your being a bit harsh. BBC stats say we had 70% possession, 13 shots on target, 11 off target, 10 corners. We dominated that match and Andy McNeill saved Montrose from a proper doing.

06-02-2010, 05:31 PM
Sometimes, us Hibs fans are a ridiculously hard bunch to please. Okay, one or two passes went astray but the law of averages means that will happen, especially if our game pretty much all passing.

I thought we looked in control throughout, pretty safe at the back and I thought bringing on Gow, Zemamma and Benji was a revelation. I'd like to see them played midweek v Aberdeen.

I've gone hot and cold about Nish recently, but he scored a couple and didn't really need to go into 2nd gear, but he doesn't appear to have much strength. If Nish could hold the ball up a bit more than he does, I think he'd be the full package. Otherwise, I thought we did well. Another good win where we didn't appear to have to work as hard as against Irvine.

On the other team, I was glad to see Chris Hegarty scoring. Used to knock a ball about with him and his older brothers in the summer holidays when I was younger. Nice lads.

06-02-2010, 05:38 PM
Sometimes, us Hibs fans are a ridiculously hard bunch to please. Okay, one or two passes went astray but the law of averages means that will happen, especially if our game pretty much all passing.

I thought we looked in control throughout, pretty safe at the back and I thought bringing on Gow, Zemamma and Benji was a revelation. I'd like to see them played midweek v Aberdeen.

I've gone hot and cold about Nish recently, but he scored a couple and didn't really need to go into 2nd gear, but he doesn't appear to have much strength. If Nish could hold the ball up a bit more than he does, I think he'd be the full package. Otherwise, I thought we did well. Another good win where we didn't appear to have to work as hard as against Irvine.

On the other team, I was glad to see Chris Hegarty scoring. Used to knock a ball about with him and his older brothers in the summer holidays when I was younger. Nice lads.

Good goal . the ref who was un-belielevibly poor through out booked him for his celebration.:bitchy: yes the letter of the law, but it was with and infront of his own fans...was a great goal..and they were the wee team at an SPL ground (no attempt to patronise here)

Glad that the ref got roundly booed for that from the Hibs fans :agree:

06-02-2010, 05:44 PM
Good goal . the ref who was un-belielevibly poor through out booked him for his celebration.:bitchy: yes the letter of the law, but it was with and infront of his own fans...was a great goal..and they were the wee team at an SPL ground (no attempt to patronise here)

Glad that the ref got roundly booed for that from the Hibs fans :agree:

The ref made some strange decisions, but we can't blame him for that. The rules are very clear and leave no room for discussion, it's a bookable offence. I'm not saying it's right, but the ref doesn't have a choice in that matter.

06-02-2010, 05:47 PM
I think your being a bit harsh. BBC stats say we had 70% possession, 13 shots on target, 11 off target, 10 corners. We dominated that match and Andy McNeill saved Montrose from a proper doing.

I'm hard to please :wink:

But, seriously despite what the stats say there were some times where it got a little uncomfortable. It wasn't just one or two passes that went astray, it was lots of them. But like I say, we strolled through it like a training match in the end.

jakedance
06-02-2010, 05:53 PM
I'm hard to please :wink:

But, seriously despite what the stats say there were some times where it got a little uncomfortable. It wasn't just one or two passes that went astray, it was lots of them. But like I say, we strolled through it like a training match in the end.

Fair enough. I'm a glass half full kind of chap. I think Yogi would agree with you, he was going radge at times. I don't think he was happy with the Irvine Meadow game and wanted more goals today.

06-02-2010, 06:02 PM
With games coming up v Dons and Rangers, what a fantastic bench to look to however if we are struggling in games............Gow, Zemamma and Benji ! Any team, SPL or otherwise, would surely be gutted when they see the quality that we can bring on to take points from games. Bamba will be rested, McBride gets more fitness and a wee breather today after being subbed, Riordan gets a goal and confidence, and Gow pushes for a place along with Benji. Galbraith, Cregg, Byrne, McCormack, Thicot all showing glimpses in games that they can come in too. Couldn't win whatever the result today, but the important stuff happens from Wednesday onwards, and 3 points v the Dons is a must to keep the confidence sky high.

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
06-02-2010, 11:49 PM
I've gone hot and cold about Nish recently, but he scored a couple and didn't really need to go into 2nd gear, but he doesn't appear to have much strength. If Nish could hold the ball up a bit more than he does, I think he'd be the full package. .

Nish scored two, but missed two second half sitters from what I recall. He continues to be my least favourite Hibs player.

07-02-2010, 01:00 AM
Its freezing here
Gow looking good first few touches
Sloppy goal again

It's no as cold as here though ya sap :greengrin