View Full Version : Question Oldest Hibs fan that anyone knows

06-02-2010, 11:18 AM
I have a mate whos Grandad is turning 100 on the 18th of Feb. He still goes to watch the Hibees at ER, does anyone know of an older hibs fan that still attends games???

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
06-02-2010, 11:35 AM
I have a mate whos Grandad is turning 100 on the 18th of Feb. He still goes to watch the Hibees at ER, does anyone know of an older hibs fan that still attends games???

Good on the old boy! Tell your mate to ask the club to send him a card. I'm sure Yogi will get the players to sign it, etc... That is a rare milestone.

Littlest Hobo
06-02-2010, 11:53 AM
My Mr.s, she's six months older than I, and I never let her forget that fact!:devil:

06-02-2010, 01:27 PM
Good on the old boy! Tell your mate to ask the club to send him a card. I'm sure Yogi will get the players to sign it, etc... That is a rare milestone.

Yeah we are trying to see if he is the oldest Hibs fan going to games, the amazing thing is he is originally from Belize, he just loved the way the hibs played,

Baker9
06-02-2010, 01:40 PM

Your mate should consider not telling him if we win the cup.

06-02-2010, 03:38 PM
Your mate should consider not telling him if we win the cup.

If Only
06-02-2010, 04:53 PM
Yeah we are trying to see if he is the oldest Hibs fan going to games, the amazing thing is he is originally from Belize, he just loved the way the hibs played,

Is this auld Sammy your talking about?

06-02-2010, 04:58 PM
Has to be Jonnyboy, surely. :devil:

06-02-2010, 05:04 PM
Has to be Jonnyboy, surely. :devil:Oh dear ...if you wake up the morn wi a horses heid on the pillow beside ye.. ye might regret those words .. :greengrin

hibbybrian
06-02-2010, 05:08 PM
Is this auld Sammy your talking about?

Sammy Martinez was born in 1910 so it's very likely him :thumbsup: - and less o' the auld :grr: he's just very mature :greengrin

06-02-2010, 05:12 PM
Oh dear ...if you wake up the morn wi a horses heid on the pillow beside ye.. ye might regret those words .. :greengrin

06-02-2010, 05:26 PM

06-02-2010, 05:50 PM
Sam is 100 this month and is still looking years younger..... a gentleman and someone im proud to call my friend.

06-02-2010, 07:53 PM

100 years. Jings that's nearly a century.

Good on the guy - great stuff. :agree:

06-02-2010, 08:00 PM

:grr::grr::grr: :greengrin

Oh dear ...if you wake up the morn wi a horses heid on the pillow beside ye.. ye might regret those words .. :greengrin

Any idea how tae get these blood stains oot o' mar carpet K?

06-02-2010, 08:04 PM
Any idea how tae get these blood stains oot o' mar carpet K?

Have a look at this thread (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=155053) J :agree: :greengrin

06-02-2010, 08:18 PM
Have a look at this thread (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=155053) J :agree: :greengrin

Mouse blood???????????

This is a horse ah'm talkin aboot here :greengrin

06-02-2010, 08:19 PM
Mouse blood???????????

Stick a fiver on it and it will soon disappear.

06-02-2010, 08:22 PM
Stick a fiver on it and it will soon disappear.

I'll stick a fiver on its nose but what about the rest of its head?

06-02-2010, 08:24 PM
Mouse blood???????????

It was a big mouse :greengrin

Gerard
06-02-2010, 08:36 PM

I would have thought so as well:wink::greengrin:devil:
G

06-02-2010, 08:38 PM
I would have thought so as well:wink::greengrin:devil:
G

Oi :grr::grr::grr:

06-02-2010, 08:53 PM

I'll stick a fiver on its nose but what about the rest of its head?

Read it a few snippets from Kickback. That should do the trick. If not then sit on it. :wink:

06-02-2010, 09:10 PM
Read it a few snippets from Kickback.

I know kickbacks a zoo, but no animal really deserves to go there.

If not then sit on it. :wink:

Compared to your first suggestion, this is a lot less harsh. :wink:

06-02-2010, 09:26 PM
:hijack:Lets get back to the post, is this Sammy that came over to do the logging during the war and stayed on. Article in the Evening News recently about his life. Think Club could do something to to Honour him and the life he has lived.:thumbsup::not worth:flag:

06-02-2010, 09:45 PM
Thats correct it's sammy his grandson works with me, really hope he gets some recognition will be 100 next week. So do we think he is the oldest man to go to ER?

06-02-2010, 10:24 PM
Thats correct it's sammy his grandson works with me, really hope he gets some recognition will be 100 next week. So do we think he is the oldest man to go to ER?

Stating the obvious here but would contact Hibs. If they need proof of age then Yogi could give Betty a call at the palace. :agree:

06-02-2010, 10:39 PM
Yeah he is going to get in touch with yogi even if he isn't the oldest, it's still a great story .

06-02-2010, 10:45 PM
Yeah he is going to get in touch with yogi even if he isn't the oldest, it's still a great story .

That's good to know. It's a great achievement to reach 100 years old but to still have the energy to go and watch the Hibs is totally remarkable.

Hope Hibs mark this occasion with something special.

Please keep us updated.

Cheers.