View Full Version : Fog

PONGO
06-02-2010, 10:32 AM
Hows the fog in Leith?
I,am in Tranent and its really bad. Will the game be allowed to go ahead if the fog is bad. I can,t remember a Hibs game being called off because of fog before :confused:

06-02-2010, 10:37 AM
Hows the fog in Leith?
I,am in Tranent and its really bad. Will the game be allowed to go ahead if the fog is bad. I can,t remember a Hibs game being called off because of fog before :confused:

Sorry mate I can't help as I can't see a thing. :wink:

maturehibby
06-02-2010, 10:39 AM
son stays 100 yards from ER and says it is misty but not too bad so will be ok

hibbymac
06-02-2010, 10:40 AM
Hows the fog in Leith?

You sure it's no yer garden shed that's on fire??

06-02-2010, 10:59 AM
Hows the fog in Leith?
Never heard that before :devil:

No fog here in Haddy. Been pishing down though.

06-02-2010, 11:14 AM
When was the last time a game at Easter Road was postponed due to Fog, or abandoned due to Fog?

06-02-2010, 11:16 AM
Never heard that before :devil:

No fog here in Haddy. Been pishing down though.

Me neither. Suspect his glasses are still steamed up from viewing porn sites before going outside. :devil:

06-02-2010, 11:17 AM
When was the last time a game at Easter Road was postponed due to Fog, or abandoned due to Fog?

I remember a game in the 80's being abandoned because of fog, was it against Dundee?

06-02-2010, 11:19 AM
Christ, this is some forum for folk worrying about games being cancelled due to the weather.

Does the fog provide a driving risk for anyone travelling to today's game? Better let L&B finest know :rolleyes:*

*the sarcasm is not aimed at the OP, but more a jibe at the knee-jerk and unnecessary cancellations in recent months.

06-02-2010, 11:20 AM
I was away for most of the 80's so not sure on that one.

I seem to recall a game in the 70's and the game was abandoned v Motherwell I am almost sure.

I have it in my mind that the stadium announcer had to call the Motherwell goalie off the pitch as he hadn't realised the players had been called off!

You used to get a lot of fog down ER way in those days....

spudhib
06-02-2010, 11:22 AM
I remember a game in the 80's being abandoned because of fog, was it against Dundee?

:thumbsup:Remember it well,sat in the old cowshed and couldnae see owt,free entry for the rescheduled game and sure ER was full after about 8000 turned up for the first game,2-0 iirc sure Kano scored both.

06-02-2010, 11:25 AM

And in a move that would cause Petrie palpitations, the gates were opened for the re-arranged game in midweek as the fans were allowed in for free.

Bobo
06-02-2010, 11:25 AM

Yeh, definitely vrs Dundee, possibly 79-80 season?

They let everyone in for free when the game was replayed and there was more than double the original attendance that turned up.

Think we won 2-0 in the replayed match?

06-02-2010, 11:28 AM
I'm still convinced that Clyde have their very own Fog machine which they seem to use whenever they're losing.

Twice, Livingston were up 0-2 at Broadwood in the cup this year and twice the game was abandoned due to fog! Funnily, the game finished after Clyde were 1-0 before Livingston equalised. No fog that night as it looked like they were going to win....

No fog during the 7-1 replay at Almondvale either...evidently it's not a portable fog machine :wink:

06-02-2010, 11:30 AM
Hows the fog in Leith?
Know its going back a bit but remember we were at sellick park , around 1972, we were winning 2-0 and the fog was getting thicker by the minute and those smelly unwashed keek invaded the pitch and the game was held up for 10 min. Once order was restored the game re-started for around 5 min and the ref abandoned game with 5 min remaining due to fog. Drew the replay 1-1 , Schadler scoring. Dirty cheatin' smelly unwashed bigoted bassas

Big_D
06-02-2010, 11:30 AM
Anyone remember the infamous "fog stops play" match at Parkhead ? :grr:

Littlest Hobo
06-02-2010, 11:46 AM
Been raining hard all night, I don't even want to try and imagine what kind of state the pitch is going to be in:rolleyes: It'll be a mud bath oot there :agree:

06-02-2010, 12:44 PM

Somebody gaave me a book about Hibs durung the war years and I'm sure there is a chapter in it about a game being cancelled because of fog but they went ahead with makey-uppy commentary for the wireless so's the German's did not get any intellegance about weather conditions.
:coffee:

06-02-2010, 12:46 PM
Christ, this is some forum for folk worrying about games being cancelled due to the weather.

Does the fog provide a driving risk for anyone travelling to today's game? Better let L&B finest know :rolleyes:*

*the sarcasm is not aimed at the OP, but more a jibe at the knee-jerk and unnecessary cancellations in recent months.

I think its reasonable..in fact can we not have a weather sub-forum :rolleyes:

06-02-2010, 12:59 PM
Know its going back a bit but remember we were at sellick park , around 1972, we were winning 2-0 and the fog was getting thicker by the minute and those smelly unwashed keek invaded the pitch and the game was held up for 10 min. Once order was restored the game re-started for around 5 min and the ref abandoned game with 5 min remaining due to fog. Drew the replay 1-1 , Schadler scoring. Dirty cheatin' smelly unwashed bigoted bassas

What makes it worse was that we could well have won the league had we got the 2 points from that game.

Somebody gaave me a book about Hibs durung the war years and I'm sure there is a chapter in it about a game being cancelled because of fog but they went ahead with makey-uppy commentary for the wireless so's the German's did not get any intellegance about weather conditions.
:coffee:

There was a play on at the Leith Festival a few years back about that one, it was supposed to be an Edinburgh Derby, which Hibs won. Unfortunately there is no official record of it having happened, and I think it was many years later before the clubs allowed live commentary of matches to be broadcast,

06-02-2010, 08:29 PM
Yeh, definitely vrs Dundee, possibly 79-80 season?

They let everyone in for free when the game was replayed and there was more than double the original attendance that turned up.

Think we won 2-0 in the replayed match?

Was later than 80, probably 82-83, think you could be right about the 2-0 though. Couple of things I remember about that game other than it being free to get in; there were a small group of Hearts fans in the Dundee end that night, and I left at half time to go to a gig at The Playhouse.

06-02-2010, 08:33 PM
I was away for most of the 80's so not sure on that one.

I seem to recall a game in the 70's and the game was abandoned v Motherwell I am almost sure.

I have it in my mind that the stadium announcer had to call the Motherwell goalie off the pitch as he hadn't realised the players had been called off!

You used to get a lot of fog down ER way in those days....

The Big hoose:dunno: how long did ye go doon fur:greengrin