View Full Version : Match Updates Hibeernian Versus Royal United Thursday 11th February 8.00pm Kick Off Craigroyston

05-02-2010, 01:01 PM
Hibeernian vs Royal United www.clubwebsite.co.uk/royalunited (http://www.clubwebsite.co.uk/royalunited)
Friendly Match

Game against my Midweek League team.
Thursday 11th February 8.00pm Kick Off Craigroyston High School 3G Pitch
I'll be on the opposing side :wink:

Names for this game Please!
1. Bruce
2. Fenton
3. Danny
4. Nick
5. Dav
6. Jamie
7. Ritchie
8. Archie
9. Mikey
10. Josh
11. Cocopops
12. Peter
13. Gogs
14. Sean

In Hamstring Limbo
Tarq

Maybe
Craig
Ben

Out
Matt
John
Milky
Storar
Teo
Chuckie

05-02-2010, 01:03 PM
Yes indeed - if you're on the left, looks like we'll probably be against each other at some point.

Easy Peasy :devil:

05-02-2010, 01:48 PM
I may put myself down for a half for both teams if you guys are struggling.

05-02-2010, 02:55 PM
Well technically it's RU's home game since yous booked the pitch :wink:

Storar
05-02-2010, 09:14 PM
I'll be able to play if you're needing the numbers for this one.

Gus
05-02-2010, 09:16 PM
In

05-02-2010, 09:30 PM
i should be ok for this one. need to check shifts and my back but i think i could be ok

05-02-2010, 11:22 PM
We need to get as many of the guys that'll be around next season involved in this game!!

The next few months are vital if we are to pull off the transition from SSML to Sunday Amatuer!!

I'm in as fooook!!

06-02-2010, 11:28 AM
Innage as well, though I'll need to look into which buses go there as "The Beers tour of Edinburgh's badlands 2009/2010" continues apace.

Does one have to bring Kevlar/a sateillite telephone to such a location??? :greengrin:devil:

06-02-2010, 11:37 AM
in

06-02-2010, 12:23 PM
can you get a ref since we got a pitch?!

06-02-2010, 06:20 PM
can you get a ref since we got a pitch?!

Haud the bus...

WUT?! :wink:

06-02-2010, 06:29 PM
Haud the bus...

WUT?! :wink:

hahaha!!

Can someone representing Hibeernian other than myself Organise a Ref for Thursday since i representing Royal United organised the pitch! :wink:

06-02-2010, 08:09 PM
hahaha!!

Can someone representing Hibeernian other than myself Organise a Ref for Thursday since i representing Royal United organised the pitch! :wink:
The home team should sort both as always, but if yous cannae get one then we will do it this time.

07-02-2010, 10:55 AM
The home team should sort both as always, but if yous cannae get one then we will do it this time.

Ah, i see, we're usuall just given a ref. we dont know any refs otherwise we would contact one.

if you can get one that'd be mint!

mentalhibee
07-02-2010, 07:15 PM
IN.

07-02-2010, 07:48 PM
Mon lads! Need more than this!

mentalhibee
07-02-2010, 08:00 PM
Aye its Sean.

07-02-2010, 09:32 PM
Mikey's in.

08-02-2010, 02:43 AM
I'm meant to be working until 8, and currently have a back problem sustained at the gym. :boo hoo:

If i can get an earlier finish i'll turn up with my stuff anyway and if we're struggling for numbers/my backs feeling better i'll play.

If we have a squad of 16 including me and someone else asks to play then they can take my place and i'll come watch.

08-02-2010, 08:45 AM
just so you know lads the pitch has been paid for upfront as they need it to confirm so will need to get a minimum of 11 players. If can only muster 10 together ill play for the mighty beers!!

08-02-2010, 10:32 AM
Josh and Jamie are in!

Chuckie
08-02-2010, 11:37 AM
In aboot it like a hairy chemo patient....

Gus
08-02-2010, 11:47 AM
Im out at the mo:boo hoo:due to work

Its miss this or miss saturday's game

I will let you know

08-02-2010, 11:50 AM
Im out at the mo:boo hoo:due to work

Its miss this or miss saturday's game

I will let you know
I've not had any replies to my emails yet, but expecting some this evening. (regarding Saturday)

Your best bet is to be in for the game that is currently the only one that is definately happening. This one.

Gus
08-02-2010, 12:02 PM
I will try & swap it....again

I thought the Rangers game was a league game so wanted to make sure I was available for that

Hard having two jobs mate:wink:

08-02-2010, 12:09 PM
Hard having two jobs mate:wink:
I know :wink:

mentalhibee
08-02-2010, 12:16 PM
I'll hopefully be fit but at the moment my ankles still sore.

08-02-2010, 01:26 PM
Is that goalie fellow - CocoPops or whatever - not "in" as well??

I *****ing hope so, cos if Geoff and him are oot................................... :paranoid::worried:

Mister P
08-02-2010, 02:05 PM
Josh and Jamie are in!
u sure? jamie should be working till 7:30 in the toon like me :confused:

08-02-2010, 02:23 PM
u sure? jamie should be working till 7:30 in the toon like me :confused:

Yes..

I'm sure

craig1875
08-02-2010, 03:22 PM
Most probably out but able to go if someone can give me a lift, from the meadows?

08-02-2010, 03:32 PM
John are you in??

08-02-2010, 04:36 PM
John are you in??

Nah mate...

He came out the closet AGES ago..

Mister P
08-02-2010, 04:48 PM
bolt the lot o ye!!!

i cant play but will try to be there asap after work.

spoke to jamie....hes got it all sorted.

08-02-2010, 05:04 PM
teo you little text ignoring bassa!! Can you play in this game or whaaat!?!??

08-02-2010, 06:19 PM
can play if needed not sure about it after seeing geoff in aciton tho:greengrin

Teo10
08-02-2010, 06:23 PM
teo you little text ignoring bassa!! Can you play in this game or whaaat!?!??

I was waiting to tell you at training tonight as my Iphone is a *****ing gimp that doesn't send texts half the time

That I am unable to play thursday

08-02-2010, 09:30 PM
I'll be playing on thurs

08-02-2010, 09:56 PM
Teo's playing too..

I'm picking the wee princess up and dropping him off :greengrin

08-02-2010, 09:58 PM
in

Dav1986
08-02-2010, 10:53 PM
Am available if needed but might need a lift frm centre of town if I cant get the car...

09-02-2010, 06:06 AM
Am available if needed but might need a lift frm centre of town if I cant get the car...

Good Dav :thumbsup:

09-02-2010, 07:37 AM
I'm still in, but my hamstring is definitely in a "gammy" state after last night.

I was hoping a bath then sleep would have sorted it out, but not the case sadly - it's still ****in' sore and feels heavier/swollen compared to my right one.

I don't want to push it if it hasn't got a lot better by Thursday, for fear of doing something properly bad to it.

Updates will be forthcoming

09-02-2010, 07:43 AM

ill be leaving from dalkeith if thats any help mate???

sauzee=legend
09-02-2010, 09:03 AM
I am out of this game and anything at the weekend. My appendix are agony and been signed off work for a week. But its 2mins from my house this game, so I will try and come down + support the boys. Mon the beers. HOWEVER if my situation changes I will be intouch asap to let u know if I'm fit to play.

09-02-2010, 09:13 AM
I am out of this game and anything at the weekend. My appendix are agony and been signed off work for a week. But its 2mins from my house this game, so I will try and come down + support the boys. Mon the beers. HOWEVER if my situation changes I will be intouch asap to let u know if I'm fit to play.

Nae wonder if you've got 2 of them!! :greengrin

Hope that gets better though - no fun at all.

09-02-2010, 10:16 AM
You manage to get a ref???

09-02-2010, 10:46 AM
You manage to get a ref???
I've had nae getting in touch wih refs, Fenton is trying a few folk he kens..

Gus
09-02-2010, 10:58 AM
Im def out of thursday

Good luck, Dav is in :thumbsup:

09-02-2010, 11:03 AM
Im def out of thursday

Good luck, Dav is in :thumbsup:

thats like replacing Colin Murdoch with Carlos Puyol..... :devil:

Gus
09-02-2010, 11:17 AM
thats like replacing Colin Murdoch with Carlos Puyol..... :devil:

you best start coming training fella, as at the moment there is the following higher up the pecking order:

Archie
Bruce
Tarq
Jamie W
Drysdale
Pete (blonde haired dude)
Gramo
Hucks

:worried::stirrer:

09-02-2010, 11:22 AM
you best start coming training fella, as at the moment there is the following higher up the pecking order:

Archie
Bruce
Tarq
Jamie W
Drysdale
Gramo
Hucks

i know, but theres nowt i can do about it..... if i lose my place to someone who goes to training every week then thats fair enough.... i wont go in a wee huff about it. thats footy you see! :greengrin

i'll just have to win it back when i can attend monday nights again! :cool2:

09-02-2010, 11:26 AM

Archie
Bruce
Tarq
Jamie W
Drysdale
Gramo
Hucks

Groobs :agree:

Gus
09-02-2010, 11:32 AM

i know, but theres nowt i can do about it..... if i lose my place to someone who goes to training every week then thats fair enough.... i wont go in a wee huff about it. thats footy you see! :greengrin

i'll just have to win it back when i can attend monday nights again! :cool2:

I know fella, just a wee joke after your colin murdoch insult, id prefer shelton martism, although with the amount of OG's we score that could be anyone :wink:

09-02-2010, 11:33 AM
I know fella, just a wee joke after your colin murdoch insult, id prefer shelton martism, although with the amount of OG's we score that could be anyone :wink:

murdoch.... insult.... MURDOCH IS A SAINT!! :agree:

09-02-2010, 11:38 AM

There really should be a "White Shelton Martis" award for our team.............................................. :greengrin

09-02-2010, 11:48 AM
There really should be a "White Shelton Martis" award for our team.............................................. :greengrin

What if Teo won it?:confused:

09-02-2010, 11:54 AM
What if Teo won it?:confused:

then we'd rename it the black Paul Tosh award. :agree:

whereswallace?
09-02-2010, 04:29 PM
Is it the astro at the new Craigroyston high school you are playin on? If so then il point out that it is NOT a 3g pitch.

Chuckie
09-02-2010, 05:19 PM
Groobs :agree:

Groob Cancer.

09-02-2010, 05:19 PM
Is it the astro at the new Craigroyston high school you are playin on? If so then il point out that it is NOT a 3g pitch.
What surface is it?

Chuckie
09-02-2010, 05:21 PM
ill be leaving from dalkeith if thats any help mate???

Barry

09-02-2010, 05:32 PM
What surface is it?

Going back a few threads, the email says it's 3G.

09-02-2010, 05:39 PM
Guy said on the phone to my gaffer that it was a 3G surface :dunno:

email is below.

Thursday 11th February 2010 – Astro booking 8-9.30pm

I confirm current availability for a full pitch booking, floodlighting and changing rooms as noted above at a cost of £73.50 payable in advance. Please see terms and conditions noted below.

Should you wish to proceed please make arrangements for the payment to be made and accept our terms and conditions via a return email.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

RE: Full Pitch All Weather Synthetic Pitch Hire
Thursday 11th February 8.00pm – 9.30pm

Further to our recent telephone conversation I write to confirm that the above booking has been made on your behalf. The cost of this is £73.50.

The fee must be paid by 12noon on Wednesday 10th February to allow Thursday night access to school and pitch. You may pay by cash or cheque made payable to CEC (City of Edinburgh Council) at the school’s reception desk. We do not currently accept credit or debit cards.

Reception hours are Monday to Thursday 9.00am – 4.00pm, Fridays until 12noon.

Changing rooms are available and you will be directed to those allocated to you.

As the lead name you will be responsible for:
Ensuring that all players gather within the school and move out of school to the pitch at the same time
Any given keys or equipment are returned on the night
All team / group members behave in a well mannered and appropriate fashion
All team / group members observe all Health & Safety regulations or recommendations of the school
Any reported damage attributed to you, your team or group members will be charged and recovered prior to allowing further play. Please note that repair charges are those as provided by the Facilities Management (MITIE) and include a life cycling factor cost.

When you come to pay your fee someone will be able to show you around the school and point out the facilities that will be available to you and your group members. Please ask for me in the first instance.

If you have any questions please contact me.

Yours sincerely,
Leslie Russell
Business Manager
Craigroyston Community High School
[email protected] ([email protected])

09-02-2010, 05:44 PM
Hmm, the email says nothing of 3G, unless I'm blind.

Either way, a game's a game as long as it's not on Peffermill's church carpet.

09-02-2010, 05:46 PM
aye i know it doesnt say anything of 3g but says synthetic all weather.
not sure what that means. the gaffer went down to see it so ill call him and see what he says.

fingers crossed its not the sh*te sand stuff.

09-02-2010, 05:57 PM
Guys, slight problem. A lot of my mates are playing in the U18 final at Murrayfield on Thursday so I won't be able to make it for 8. Can't miss it I'm afraid.

whereswallace?
09-02-2010, 06:07 PM
What surface is it?

Its a sandy type surface,not too different from what you get at the Pitz,slighty different but same idea.Wouldnt recommend mouldys though.Definately not 3g.Another thing is that there are no nets,we play 7-8 on a thursday and have asked why and they are still awaiting delivery.

09-02-2010, 07:24 PM
If somebody can help me out with a lift, I can bring our nets...

09-02-2010, 08:25 PM
In all seriousness, I'm no playing on that gash

09-02-2010, 09:00 PM
if this is still happening given the surface bruce is in and my mate nick can play center half if needed good player and knows the role

09-02-2010, 09:12 PM
if this is still happening given the surface bruce is in and my mate nick can play center half if needed good player and knows the role
Nick is that future 17 or what ever, he's a right back???

09-02-2010, 09:20 PM
Nick is that future 17 or what ever, he's a right back???

aye he has diversified his portfolio:wink: as bruce always played rightback

09-02-2010, 09:33 PM
aye he has diversified his portfolio:wink: as bruce always played rightback

He's a goon I've tried to get him along before? He played beside me in the original charity team. Good player and nice guy

09-02-2010, 09:39 PM
He's a goon I've tried to get him along before? He played beside me in the original charity team. Good player and nice guyhe is at the moment busy mondays so feels it would be unfair to just expect a game on matches but gus and i mentioned that numbers were short for tomorrow and that with no gus centre half was an issue. Ps not bad player very dubious guy:greengrin

Mister P
09-02-2010, 10:18 PM
Mr Dishon is the kind of guy your mother always told you to keep away from......

09-02-2010, 10:26 PM
Fenton any word of a ref?

I tried all the refs I have again but still cannae get in touch.

09-02-2010, 10:44 PM
Fenton any word of a ref?

I tried all the refs I have again but still cannae get in touch.

I got a ref earlier today, circa 5pm, told Paul, thought he'd have posted up but naw..

Col, if this Nick is interested in coming along on a regular basis get him to Craigroyston on Thursday as I dinnae fancy playing CH :wink:

09-02-2010, 10:55 PM
Cusht.

09-02-2010, 10:56 PM
sorry never had a chance to post earlier on. been busy.

09-02-2010, 11:49 PM
He's a goon I've tried to get him along before? He played beside me in the original charity team. Good player and nice guy

he is at the moment busy mondays so feels it would be unfair to just expect a game on matches but gus and i mentioned that numbers were short for tomorrow and that with no gus centre half was an issue. Ps not bad player very dubious guy:greengrin

Mr Dishon is the kind of guy your mother always told you to keep away from......

Cheers boys! :greengrin

10-02-2010, 07:47 AM
so have we worked out what kind of pitch it is??

just dont fancy turning up with blades if its that carpet stuff.

10-02-2010, 08:08 AM
I'm going to phone up this morning. I have a feeling its similar to the stuff up at craigmount, in which case isn't too bad.

10-02-2010, 08:24 AM
Its Second Generation turf...

dont wear blades

10-02-2010, 08:34 AM
Its Second Generation turf...

dont wear blades

As in old school shan sandy crappy pitz turf :bitchy:

10-02-2010, 08:42 AM
think its like this...

anyone near by to have a peak at it? or pass it en-route to ER tonight?

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_kulnm8Gjhh8/RyBhw3XkxlI/AAAAAAAAEPY/1KJMfea3G14/s400/turf.jpg

10-02-2010, 08:44 AM
the boy at my work stays down that way and he said the pitch at the new craigroyston high is meant to be one of the best in Edinburgh :confused:

10-02-2010, 08:48 AM
the boy at my work stays down that way and he said the pitch at the new craigroyston high is meant to be one of the best in Edinburgh :confused:

strange i would have imagined that it would be 3/4/5g stuff then. I spoke to them this morning and they said it was 2g stuff.

Is he able to go and check it out?

10-02-2010, 08:50 AM
strange i would have imagined that it would be 3/4/5g stuff then. I spoke to them this morning and they said it was 2g stuff.

Is he able to go and check it out?

probably not... he's a fat lazy hun!

10-02-2010, 08:55 AM
if you google map it you get a good picture.

looks like sandy pitz style pitch.

borstalboy
10-02-2010, 09:06 AM
I might be able to check it out tonight on my way home from ER.

10-02-2010, 09:20 AM
I might be able to check it out tonight on my way home from ER.

shut up Janetta!, get some work done!

Ritchie,

I had a look at the sat picture last night and im sure its of the old school which led me to think it might not be the current pitch.
anyway here it is!

10-02-2010, 09:26 AM
Not the best of views/pictures, but here is the google street View image of the pitch.

10-02-2010, 09:59 AM
Paul you need to edit the squad..

Milky, Storar and Tarq are out now are they not?

Bruce and Nick need to be added!

10-02-2010, 10:04 AM
done!

sauzee=legend
10-02-2010, 10:05 AM
I stay close to the pitch and pass it a lot. The pitches look like 3g, never played on them before but know people who have and said the pitches where decent.

10-02-2010, 10:06 AM
I stay close to the pitch and pass it a lot. The pitches look like 3g, never played on them before but know people who have and said the pitches where decent.

I'll presume your working just now?

are you able to pass it and check?

whereswallace?
10-02-2010, 11:05 AM
Iv already told you what kind of pitch it is.seeing as i play there every week i may well know :greengrin

Its their grass pitches that are among the best in edinburgh,like bowling greens!These are located behind the old folks home on the main road and run adjacent to Civil service pitches

10-02-2010, 11:16 AM
Can I take this chance to point out that nobody is guaranteed a certain amount of game time tomorrow or even to get stripped if we have too many players!

Every effort will be made to get as many folk a decent run out as possible but this can't always be the case!

Selection will be based again on training attendance, the practicality of filling the positions on the park and trying to give as much game time to the players that are committed to being involved in the team next season!

There is still a game to be won tomorrow and we're now preparing to move into a affiliated league next season so we have to start looking at how we want the team to take shape for the big KO this coming August also making repeated subs totally disrupts the flow and ruins the game!

So if anyone was coming along on the off chance for a game cos the numbers are short it would now look like the numbers aren't so keep that in mind!

Saying that, hopefully we'll be pumping Pauls mob early doors and then it'll just be a free for all :wink:

10-02-2010, 11:18 AM
Can I take this chance to point out that nobody is guaranteed a certain amount of game time tomorrow or even to get stripped if we have too many players!

Every effort will be made to get as many folk a decent run out as possible but this can't always be the case!

Selection will be based again on training attendance, the practicality of filling the positions on the park and trying to give us much game time to the players that are committed to being involved in the team next season!

There is still a game to be won tomorrow and we're now preparing to move into a affiliated league next season so we have to start looking at how we want the team to take shape for the big KO this coming August also making repeated subs totally disrupts the flow and ruins the game!

So if anyone was coming along on the off chance for a game cos the numbers are short it would now look like the numbers aren't so keep that in mind!

Saying that, hopefully we'll be pumping Pauls mob early doors and then it'll just be a free for all :wink:

ill no bother coming then.:bye:

Teo10
10-02-2010, 11:28 AM
Lads, seeing how the squads quite big, If it's on this sand based astro I may pull out. Have developed quite bad shin splints from playing on this stuff over the years and really not up for playing on it.....

10-02-2010, 11:50 AM
Relegate me to a maybe, the old hammy is getting better, but still isn't perfect.

As long as I feel I can contribute - either from the start or off the bench - I'll be along

Dav1986
10-02-2010, 12:06 PM
Still wanting the hulk along then? ;) if its 2g should be ok for mouldies cos think thats what Meadowmill astro is, looks like nae slide tackling 2moro.... Not that I need 2 right enough Haha

10-02-2010, 01:55 PM
Still wanting the hulk along then? ;) if its 2g should be ok for mouldies cos think thats what Meadowmill astro is, looks like nae slide tackling 2moro.... Not that I need 2 right enough Haha

Aye ya big ginger loon :greengrin

Chuckie
10-02-2010, 02:32 PM
If it's the same surface as the pits I'm oot... I get sare taes and back playing on that stuff...
Still coming likes..

10-02-2010, 02:33 PM
looking forward to the game, should be a good match!! we have 14 at the moment so a decent number.

10-02-2010, 04:44 PM
Relegate me to a maybe, the old hammy is getting better, but still isn't perfect.

As long as I feel I can contribute - either from the start or off the bench - I'll be along

Hoi!!!! :grr::rules:

Get it changed Paul, ya radge!! :greengrin

Wee Ian
10-02-2010, 08:06 PM
Col, if this Nick is interested in coming along on a regular basis get him to Craigroyston on Thursday as I dinnae fancy playing CH :wink:

Easiest position on the park! :Ummm:

borstalboy
10-02-2010, 10:27 PM
MON THE ROYAL!!!! :greengrin

Mister P
10-02-2010, 10:52 PM
can EVERYONE please make sure they bring their signing on forms tomorrow.

these ARE NOT the registration forms for the league next year, they are purely for us to collect contact details from everyone who would like to 'try out' for the team.

Storar
10-02-2010, 11:19 PM
I'm defo out. ****ing ankle :rolleyes:

Teo10
11-02-2010, 08:30 AM
Paul can you out me as an "out"..I've explained why but it has not been changed.... Get on the ball:greengrin

11-02-2010, 09:10 AM
I'm going to have to err on the side of caution on this one.

My hamstring is definitely getting better, but there's still a good amount of swelling just above the back of my knee and I don't fancy tempting fate.

For that reason, I'm OOOT :boo hoo::grr:

11-02-2010, 09:24 AM
Excellent stuff boys..

Chuckie, Teo, Tarquin and Sean all out..

11-02-2010, 09:47 AM
you want me to see if bry wood can play Benton??

he's the left mid from the royal, played for us against steua.

says he's gonna join us next season when we join the league???

11-02-2010, 10:00 AM
If you are struggling guys i'll happily do a half for each?
unless you dont want me to?

I'd try and get Bryan mate. He is a good player looked very composed on the ball.

11-02-2010, 10:26 AM
Bryan Wood is in :thumbsup:

what time are we all meeting at???

11-02-2010, 10:36 AM

Royal are meeting at 7.15 so I'd say roughly that time

---------- Post added at 11:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:34 AM ----------

Fenton, how much is the ref wanting?

if its around £35 then it'll be £55.00 from each team tonight.

11-02-2010, 10:46 AM
See, this is why wannabes shouldn't do the match threads :rolleyes:

I'd have kept the squad up to date, had all the vital info included, location, Meeting & KO time, refs name, cost per player etc etc..

Failed this test miserably Paul :agree: :bye:

Meet for 7! Mind and wrap up warm Ritchie :wink:

Dunno how much the ref is but I expect in the region of £30-£40..

£5 a head for us tonight boys..

No pay no play!

11-02-2010, 10:53 AM

I'd have kept the squad up to date, had all the vital info included, location, Meeting & KO time, refs name, cost per player etc etc..

No pay no play!

given that im on the opposing side i think i've done pretty well...
I was busy pretty much all day yesterday and Tuesday so didnt get a chance til late last night / this morning to update things.

anyway lads,

see you tonight.

11-02-2010, 11:08 AM

No pay no play!

Gus
11-02-2010, 11:30 AM
Good luck tonight chaps

Gutted I have got to miss this

Get a result & play better than Hibs

Everyone fighting for the jersey & their team mates for 90 minutes

Love Gus
xxx

11-02-2010, 11:46 AM
given that im on the opposing side i think i've done pretty well...
I was busy pretty much all day yesterday and Tuesday so didnt get a chance til late last night / this morning to update things.

anyway lads,

see you tonight.

Mate.

11-02-2010, 11:48 AM
danny..... have you got a lift sorted????

11-02-2010, 11:49 AM
Pete Grüber is in

11-02-2010, 11:53 AM
Mate.

yeeeeeesss??? :dunno: :confused:

11-02-2010, 11:55 AM
yeeeeeesss??? :dunno: :confused:

I was jesting you goon

11-02-2010, 12:06 PM
I was jesting you goon

i see!!

identifying sarcasm is a weakness on my part! :chop:.

or is it... :wink:

11-02-2010, 12:32 PM
danny..... have you got a lift sorted????
Nut, but if you (or anybody) can pick me up then we can use the nets.

11-02-2010, 12:40 PM
Nut, but if you (or anybody) can pick me up then we can use the nets.

ill come get you. 6.45pm..... BE READY!! :cool2:

gstarbry1875
11-02-2010, 01:10 PM

I now can't make it lads. I am really sorry! i am having to work late so won't be finished until 8 o clock! Apologies!

Hope you still have a big enough squad! i know i would have been making up the numbers anyway but still feel bad for having to call off!

Good Luck, Ritchie i have text you anyway mate! sorry buddy!

11-02-2010, 01:34 PM
***** it.

My hamstring is getting better by the hour.

I'm back in.

11-02-2010, 01:35 PM
I now can't make it lads. I am really sorry! i am having to work late so won't be finished until 8 o clock! Apologies!

Hope you still have a big enough squad! i know i would have been making up the numbers anyway but still feel bad for having to call off!

Good Luck, Ritchie i have text you anyway mate! sorry buddy!

no problem pal. :cool2:

11-02-2010, 01:49 PM
***** it.

My hamstring is getting better by the hour.

I'm back in.

I've put you into limbo...

craig1875
11-02-2010, 01:49 PM
ill come get you. 6.45pm..... BE READY!! :cool2:

Space in the car for 1 more, from gracemount?:confused: Not playing but want to support the team.

11-02-2010, 01:56 PM
I've put you into limbo...

:faf: :faf: A whole new category and extra colour just for me - excellent :greengrin

Feel free to start Hans Gruber ahead of me at RB, or whoever, but I'll definitely be there to play my part

Which buses go past/near the pitches??

Thanks

11-02-2010, 02:06 PM
:faf: :faf: A whole new category and extra colour just for me - excellent :greengrin

Feel free to start Hans Gruber ahead of me at RB, or whoever, but I'll definitely be there to play my part

Which buses go past/near the pitches??

Thanks

http://lothianbuses.com/routemap.php (http://lothianbuses.com/routemap.php)

the 37/29/27/21 all go along Ferry Road, however im not sure that they all go far enough along. I think the 27 / 21 is your best bet.

11-02-2010, 02:12 PM
Space in the car for 1 more, from gracemount?:confused: Not playing but want to support the team.

dont mean to be a twat but i doubt there will be space.

ill have the strips, the nets, danny, the hulk and chuckie plus our bags in the clio which has a crappy small boot.

last time i had to take the nets, strips and two people (john & danny) it was a tight squeeze so i doubt we'll fit you in.

11-02-2010, 02:18 PM

ill have the strips, the nets, danny, the hulk and chuckie plus our bags in the clio which has a crappy small boot.

last time i had to take the nets, strips and two people (john & danny) it was a tight squeeze so i doubt we'll fit you in.

I thought chuckie was oot :dunno:

11-02-2010, 02:22 PM
I thought chuckie was oot :dunno:

he is.... go read his post again though.......

GOD!!! amatuer match thread-o-rama!! :devil:

11-02-2010, 02:26 PM

Leave it to the pro thread-whackers chaps eh! :cool2:

11-02-2010, 02:29 PM

all this coloured in & out lark is way to fancy. :dummytit: :wink:

you going to be ready aye??

11-02-2010, 02:49 PM

Of course not.

11-02-2010, 02:50 PM
Seeing as we've only got 12 fit (ahem) players, plus Tarq who's in limbo and only 1 recognised striker (ahem Wanny) my mate Gogs is coming along to warm the bench with Ritchie, eh I mean the subs..

He's played for us a few times before, against the Huns twice and Dunfermline once..

11-02-2010, 02:58 PM
Seeing as we've only got 12 fit (ahem) players, plus Tarq who's in limbo and only 1 recognised striker (ahem Wanny) my mate Gogs is coming along to warm the bench with Ritchie, eh I mean the subs..

He's played for us a few times before, against the Huns twice and Dunfermline once..

:panic::Awright!:

11-02-2010, 03:00 PM

Newbie alert! - Danny was taking his time!

its all yours!

brightens up your day though?

Has everyone else confirmed they can still play? namely the below.....
1. Bruce
4. Nick
5. Dav
6. Jamie
8. Archie
9. Mikey
10. Josh
11. Cocopops

Gus
11-02-2010, 03:20 PM

He not a jambo?? :wink: needs must I guess

Usually teams like this you would have 16 lads wanting to play up top

Chuckie - take your stuff mate :agree:

11-02-2010, 03:23 PM
OUR KEEPER JUST CALLED OFF :bitchy::grr::bitchy::grr::bitchy::grr:

Gus
11-02-2010, 03:25 PM
MON THE BEERS

(chris hogg is a legend)

Dav1986
11-02-2010, 03:35 PM
OUR KEEPER JUST CALLED OFF :bitchy::grr::bitchy::grr::bitchy::grr:

Leave internet team hoaxes to the professionals.... ;)

11-02-2010, 03:37 PM

:faf::faf:

11-02-2010, 03:41 PM

:faf: :top marks

Does Tarquin know about this one :wink:

11-02-2010, 03:44 PM

I'm not lying!!

he was due to get back from down sarf in time but he has been delayed and wont get back til about 9

:grr::grr:

craig1875
11-02-2010, 04:12 PM

No probs, a simple no would have been good enough :rolleyes:

Anyone else able to give me a lift from gracemount?

mentalhibee
11-02-2010, 04:45 PM
Im in(never said i was out), foots still a wee bit sore but fancy a game so i'll see how it holds up! Did any1 check the pitch out? Is it trainers or mouldies?

11-02-2010, 04:49 PM
Im in(never said i was out), foots still a wee bit sore but fancy a game so i'll see how it holds up! Did any1 check the pitch out? Is it trainers or mouldies?

Fonz told me last night that you'd told him you were injured and not playing but coming along anyway :confused:

sauzee=legend
11-02-2010, 05:00 PM
C'mon the beers!! I will make my return this monday night. Good luck boys

craig1875
11-02-2010, 05:05 PM
Good luck tonight, can't get a lift so won't be along.

11-02-2010, 05:19 PM
nick bruce and i all good :greengrin

11-02-2010, 05:33 PM
Good luck tonight, can't get a lift so won't be along.

The Humble peasant wagon not to your liking?

I'm just about to leave - oh the joys :rolleyes:

craig1875
11-02-2010, 08:45 PM
The Humble peasant wagon not to your liking?

I'm just about to leave - oh the joys :rolleyes:

Not at those prices! I'm unemployed.

11-02-2010, 10:22 PM
How'd we get oan?

11-02-2010, 10:22 PM
Lost 4-5.

Now I'm liable to say some pretty harsh things during matches either winning or losing, so I better put one thing right.

Royal Utd were not 'sh*te', but they were not a patch on the team we beat on Sunday.

Game of 2 halves, they dominated the 1st and we had the 2nd.

I complain about bad pitches when we win and I will tonight. Rank. It's worse when you lose.

mentalhibee
11-02-2010, 10:58 PM
Good game, some great goals! Shoddy pitch! We should get another friendly on a decent pitch tho!

11-02-2010, 11:19 PM
Lost 4-5.

Now I'm liable to say some pretty harsh things during matches either winning or losing, so I better put one thing right.

Royal Utd were not 'sh*te', but they were not a patch on the team we beat on Sunday.

Game of 2 halves, they dominated the 1st and we had the 2nd.

I complain about bad pitches when we win and I will tonight. Rank. It's worse when you lose.

fair points mate. agree about first half and second half power of the game.

That was the first time this team has been together since 3rd December. Not even had training and that clearly contributed to our dissapointing performance.
we had a centre half and a left mid take turns in goal and that didnt help us either. Missing our two regular strikers and full backs as well as a commading central midfielder.

certainly not our best team or performance tonight. three players got in steaming at 6 this morning (my bro number 10 ginger guy in CM, and the two keepers). We were missing about 5 regulars tonight and gave two debuts tonight.

you guys did well to keep your heads up at 4-1 down and deserved something out the game, certainly in the second half. but thats what friendlies are for, experimenting and getting a run out.

pitch was awful.

thanks once again lads and i enjoyed it. (apologies for scoring the winner :wink:)

---------- Post added at 12:19 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:19 AM ----------

oh, and great goal from Chuckie!!

12-02-2010, 06:13 AM
I enjoyed myself. First time I've play at centre midfeild in a game. I've always wanted to have a shot playing there and I loved it so thanks to everyone for baring with me. Good debut from nick at centre half and another solid game from josh. Danny looked sharp as well.

Paul your number 2 had a couple of bad tackles and he needed to told even if there was malious or not.

12-02-2010, 07:18 AM
I enjoyed myself. First time I've play at centre midfeild in a game. I've always wanted to have a shot playing there and I loved it so thanks to everyone for baring with me. Good debut from nick at centre half and another solid game from josh. Danny looked sharp as well.

Paul your number 2 had a couple of bad tackles and he needed to told even if there was malious or not.

aye fair point arch.

he had just come into the game and obviously wasnt up to speed with the pace of the game, as it is with most subs that come on.

12-02-2010, 07:28 AM
Had good fun that game.

Just a general comment for the Beers tactics. Much like Hibs, we seem a tad unwilling to use the option of the big diagonal switch of play to fully exploit the space in behind the full backs.

I appreciate the desire to keep the ball on the ground but sometimes (like last night where their RB ran like his feet were stuck in a pool of spaghetti :greengrin) getting the ball in behind the full backs as quickly as possible could have reaped muchos rewards.

Anyway, a good game played in the right spirit (more or less)

12-02-2010, 08:31 AM
Good run out last night lads!

In the 1st half, that's easily the worst we've played in over a year! I'll hold my hands up for their 2nd goal like! I only make that kinda mistake once a season, I did it last season through in Stirling an I've done it early doors this year so it won't happen again! Still think it was a foul though :bitchy:

Played much, much better in the 2nd half! Got the ball down loads and passed it comfortably!

Tarquin, I see what your saying but I switched the ball to you quite a few times and you seemed to bother to much about where their player was or ran too far and got ahead of the ball! That pass is much harder to execute successfully as a team so the easier option is to keep it on the deck and play it short and into feet!

All our "New" & old guys played well and everyone got at least 45mins! Good to see the numbers healthy again!

Ref had a few gantin decisions against us like, the handball in their box was a total HOWLER! Plus he was blowing for any slight contact, it's meant to be a contact sport FFS! In saying that, he was ok and a dam site better than other refs we've had!

I thought the surface would have been to our advantage but was wrong! It was horrible! Really, really rank! Ball skiddin and bouncin everywhere, can't tackle on it, either too slippy or killed yer feet! Waste of 70 odd quid for that IMO, we'll never play on such a shoddy surface again!

As Archie pointed out they weren't as much in the "Friendly" mind set as us! Nothing wrong with that at all tbh, thats how we should've been, still a game to be won at the end of the day!

Saying that, the match was played in good spirits and cheers to Paul and his lads for the game!

Anyways, onwards an upwards for the Beers :notworthy:

12-02-2010, 08:31 AM
aye, another thing i noticed (when i was taking them) was throw ins. There was too many times where Royal had too much space leading to time on the ball after a throw in.

I think you sorted this out more in the second half though.

not a criticism just an observation to be mentioned.

12-02-2010, 09:00 AM
It was my fault for the 4th and was a bit slows at reacting but that was my inexperience. But hey ho you learn.

12-02-2010, 09:27 AM
Good run out last night lads!

In the 1st half, that's easily the worst we've played in over a year! I'll hold my hands up for their 2nd goal like! I only make that kinda mistake once a season, I did it last season through in Stirling an I've done it early doors this year so it won't happen again! Still think it was a foul though :bitchy:

Played much, much better in the 2nd half! Got the ball down loads and passed it comfortably!

Tarquin, I see what your saying but I switched the ball to you quite a few times and you seemed to bother to much about where their player was or ran too far and got ahead of the ball! That pass is much harder to execute successfully as a team so the easier option is to keep it on the deck and play it short and into feet!

All our "New" & old guys played well and everyone got at least 45mins! Good to see the numbers healthy again!

Ref had a few gantin decisions against us like, the handball in their box was a total HOWLER! Plus he was blowing for any slight contact, it's meant to be a contact sport FFS! In saying that, he was ok and a dam site better than other refs we've had!

I thought the surface would have been to our advantage but was wrong! It was horrible! Really, really rank! Ball skiddin and bouncin everywhere, can't tackle on it, either too slippy or killed yer feet! Waste of 70 odd quid for that IMO, we'll never play on such a shoddy surface again!

As Archie pointed out they weren't as much in the "Friendly" mind set as us! Nothing wrong with that at all tbh, thats how we should've been, still a game to be won at the end of the day!

Saying that, the match was played in good spirits and cheers to Paul and his lads for the game!

Anyways, onwards an upwards for the Beers :notworthy:

have to agree about the ref. the handball you mention was a stonewaller and the one where our left winger went down in the box. two penalties - guess thats kinda balanced it out, but yeah there was a fould in the build up to our second and one in the build up beers third.

very even game lads and a good run about as fore-mentioned. Would be good to play you again on a better surface as last night's was horrendous! dont think our gaffer was aware it would be that bad!

12-02-2010, 11:35 AM
have to agree about the ref. the handball you mention was a stonewaller and the one where our left winger went down in the box. two penalties - guess thats kinda balanced it out, but yeah there was a fould in the build up to our second and one in the build up beers third.

very even game lads and a good run about as fore-mentioned. Would be good to play you again on a better surface as last night's was horrendous! dont think our gaffer was aware it would be that bad!

No danger. I stood my ground and he ran into me. I've found the footage of the incident from the cameras that were at the game last night. :greengrin

YouTube - WORST DIVE EVER... GILARDINO DIVE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8W00d3yJKl4&feature=related)

borstalboy
12-02-2010, 11:51 AM
Good game guys. I enjoyed the run out as did a few others im sure and was good to see a few goals go in as well.

Would be good to get a game on a decent surface and with a stronger team.

On another note, if your looking for another player, I'd be interested in playing for the .net team. And im not one of these part-timers that pick and choose there games they want to play. Either way let me know. :thumbsup:

---------- Post added at 12:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:50 PM ----------

No danger. I stood my ground and he ran into me. I've found the footage of the incident from the cameras that were at the game last night. :greengrin

YouTube - WORST DIVE EVER... GILARDINO DIVE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8W00d3yJKl4&feature=related)

We agreed to disagree last night........defo pen :wink:

12-02-2010, 12:06 PM
Good game guys. I enjoyed the run out as did a few others im sure and was good to see a few goals go in as well.

On another note, if your looking for another player, I'd be interested in playing for the .net team. And im not one of these part-timers that pick and choose there games they want to play. Either way let me know. :thumbsup:

---------- Post added at 12:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:50 PM ----------

We agreed to disagree last night........defo pen :wink:

FYI
Janetta is the big bean pole that played up front for us (number 9)

12-02-2010, 12:11 PM
FYI
Janetta is the big bean pole that played up front for us (number 9)

Ha ha! Yeah, good player and decent banter for someone who went to Porty High! :wink:

12-02-2010, 12:43 PM

Did you used to play for Royal/Scottish life?

Sure I recognised you?

If your wanting to play next season and if you're committed etc etc PM me mate :aok:

Chuckie
12-02-2010, 01:15 PM
I have to confess that the last goal of the game scored by the big number 69 was the best goal I have seen in a long time in football...

12-02-2010, 01:19 PM
I have to confess that the last goal of the game scored by the big number 69 was the best goal I have seen in a long time in football...

Would've been far better if he meant it though :agree:

borstalboy
12-02-2010, 01:33 PM

Agreed! :top marks

borstalboy
12-02-2010, 01:36 PM
Did you used to play for Royal/Scottish life?

Sure I recognised you?

If your wanting to play next season and if you're committed etc etc PM me mate :aok:

I used to play for Scottish Widows Amatuers on a Saturday?!? and then went to Dalkeith Juniors before getting injured??! Could it be one of them?

12-02-2010, 02:18 PM
Ha ha! Yeah, good player and decent banter for someone who went to Porty High! :wink:

What's wring with porty ya hollyr... Let's not go there :cool2:

Mister P
12-02-2010, 02:33 PM
jeezus. some of the spelling on here is worse than mine.

Chuckie
12-02-2010, 04:22 PM

Oh Steven..

Dink..
Barry..

Mister P
12-02-2010, 05:33 PM
it was a sweet finish, no arguing wi that. but you wouldnt pull that off sgain in a million years :wink:

12-02-2010, 06:09 PM

it was all about the build up play by that No.6....

23-02-2010, 10:34 PM
Need a quick recap on the squad for this game.

Coco
Bruce
Josh
Dav
Nick
Sean
Archie
Fenton
Danny

Subs:
Groobs
Gogs
Chuckie
Tarqs
Jamie
----------------

I need full names for the people in bold.

Let me know if there's any errors.

Mister P
23-02-2010, 10:48 PM
Nick Dishon.

23-02-2010, 11:34 PM
have you made sure you've got my correct name for all the player records :wink:

its MCBEATH!!!

23-02-2010, 11:38 PM
have you made sure you've got my correct name for all the player records :wink:

its MCBEATH!!!
Nut, McBean.

24-02-2010, 07:37 AM
Bruce Almighty

Bizzle14
24-02-2010, 08:12 AM
As requested!

Need a quick recap on the squad for this game.

Coco Colin Smith
Bruce Bruce Brown
Josh
Dav
Nick Nick Dishon
Sean
Archie
Fenton
Danny

Subs:
Groobs
Gogs
Chuckie
Tarqs
Jamie
----------------

I need full names for the people in bold.

Let me know if there's any errors.

24-02-2010, 12:33 PM
Bruce Almighty

Don't give him ideas! :bitchy::greengrin

24-02-2010, 01:50 PM
As requested!

24-02-2010, 03:55 PM
Do you think we could organise a re-match at some point? i know that our guys would be up for it again as we are always welcoming to friendlies. This time obviously on a better pitch!

24-02-2010, 04:49 PM
Do you think we could organise a re-match at some point? i know that our guys would be up for it again as we are always welcoming to friendlies. This time obviously on a better pitch!
Certainly, can yous do Sundays?

24-02-2010, 05:24 PM
quite possibly, we would need to get the team together before we confirmed it thouh

Mister P
24-02-2010, 05:59 PM
I've just had a voicemail today. a team who are joining the same league as us, have been given my number by the league secretary to see if we can play a friendly in prep for next season.

I txt the guy back to say we're involved in a tourney till june but theres certainly free weekends along the way, as well as midweeks.

i'll keep you all posted:wink:

26-02-2010, 12:17 PM
I've just had a voicemail today. a team who are joining the same league as us, have been given my number by the league secretary to see if we can play a friendly in prep for next season.

I txt the guy back to say we're involved in a tourney till june but theres certainly free weekends along the way, as well as midweeks.

i'll keep you all posted:wink:

Shouldn't you post this in the "Upcoming Games" thread :cool2:

Mister P
26-02-2010, 01:00 PM
nsh, coz its no an upcoming game....yet :-p

26-02-2010, 01:37 PM
nsh, coz its no an upcoming game....yet :-p

hfu kuf xvl kiider dsje :8(0""

Teo10
04-03-2010, 11:50 AM
hfu kuf xvl kiider dsje :8(0""