View Full Version : NHC Euro 2012 - Scotland, Spain, Czech Republic, Lithuania & Liechtenstein

cwilliamson85
05-02-2010, 09:00 AM
Pot one: Spain (holders), Germany, Netherlands, Italy, England, Croatia, Portugal, France, Russia

Pot two: Greece, Czech Republic, Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Denmark, Slovakia, Romania

Pot three: Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Austria, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Pot four: Slovenia, Latvia, Hungary, Lithuania, Belarus, Belgium, Wales, FYR Macedonia, Cyprus

Pot five: Montenegro, Albania, Estonia, Georgia, Moldova, Iceland, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein

Pot six: Azerbaijan, Luxembourg, Malta, Faroe Islands, Andorra, San Marino

What would be the best draw for Scotland to have a chance of qualifying?

05-02-2010, 09:07 AM
Pot one: Spain (holders), Germany, Netherlands, Italy, England, Croatia, Portugal, France, Russia

Pot two: Greece, Czech Republic, Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Denmark, Slovakia, Romania

Pot three: Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Austria, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Pot four: Slovenia, Latvia, Hungary, Lithuania, Belarus, Belgium, Wales, FYR Macedonia, Cyprus

Pot five: Montenegro, Albania, Estonia, Georgia, Moldova, Iceland, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein

Russia
Switzerland
Scotland
Latvia
Moldova
San Marino

aussie_hibee
05-02-2010, 09:21 AM

05-02-2010, 09:24 AM
Any of -

Pot one: Croatia, Portugal, Russia

Pot two: Greece, Switzerland, Serbia

Pot four:FYR Macedonia, Cyprus

Pot five: Montenegro, Estonia, Moldova, , Armenia, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein

05-02-2010, 09:36 AM
Cannae wait! We'll soon find out where our next adventures to E Europe will take us! :party:

05-02-2010, 10:08 AM

Any idea what time?

JoJo_07
05-02-2010, 10:14 AM
Any idea what time?

Coverage starts (http://www.livesportontv.com/football) 1100.
British Eurosport (11:00-11:45)
Sky Sports News (From 10:45)

RobR
05-02-2010, 10:33 AM
hi (first post.. hello :))

just a thought.. I know this is a very negative way of looking at things, but isn't it almost tempting to want a better team in the first pot..

I think we can give anyone a tough time at hampden with our support and i dont fancy us away to any of those teams so maybe a better team would suit us more as they are less likely to slip up against other teams in the group (helping us finish second)

I know it's very negative, but maybe this is what Scottish football has become

I quite fancy a group of:

Germany
Switzerland
Scotland
Cyprus
Armenia
San Marino

I think Germany would be quite efficient against the other teams and we'd have a chance when they came to our place. Us going to the tourney as best runner up.. I know people want Russia but that is one tough place to go and get a result.. I don't think we'd have a prayer, and we'd have as much chance at home against Germany as Russia IMO.

Just another angle on things.

05-02-2010, 10:33 AM
....and here's who we WILL get!

France (yes, again!)
Czech Republic
Hungary
Kazakhstan *
Azerbaijan *

* Are they even IN Europe?

05-02-2010, 10:43 AM
hi (first post.. hello :))

just a thought.. I know this is a very negative way of looking at things, but isn't it almost tempting to want a better team in the first pot..

I think we can give anyone a tough time at hampden with our support and i dont fancy us away to any of those teams so maybe a better team would suit us more as they are less likely to slip up against other teams in the group (helping us finish second)

I know it's very negative, but maybe this is what Scottish football has become

I quite fancy a group of:

Germany
Switzerland
Scotland
Cyprus
Armenia
San Marino

I think Germany would be quite efficient against the other teams and we'd have a chance when they came to our place. Us going to the tourney as best runner up.. I know people want Russia but that is one tough place to go and get a result.. I don't think we'd have a prayer, and we'd have as much chance at home against Germany as Russia IMO.

Just another angle on things.

Welcome to the board, but Germany and Switzerland (Ottmar Hitzfeld) would qualify here if you ask me. I'd rather have Romania in 'our' group - if we're to have a chance.

05-02-2010, 10:52 AM

from a travellers view :greengrin all easy to get to and a goood chance to qualify :agree:

Posh Swanny
05-02-2010, 10:56 AM
I've been wanting Scotland vs England since I moved up here nearly ten years ago - it would be typical for us to be paired together now you've got someone in charge who knows what he's doing!!! :worried:

05-02-2010, 11:04 AM
I really want England. Not worried about who else we get. But certainly a home and away against the world champions a la 1967 would be barry.

05-02-2010, 11:15 AM

I'd like:

Spain
Denmark
SCOTLAND
Kazakhstan
Albania
Luxembourg

Something a little different - over the past few WC qualifications/European Championships, I'm fed up watching us play the same old countries like the Faroe Islands, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus...

These things are usually somewhat predictable, so I'd like to try the following for England:

ENGLAND
Greece
Israel
FYR Macedonia
Georgia
Andorra

If that draw comes out (+/- 1) I'm going to either email UEFA in protest or pick some numbers for the midweek lottery.

05-02-2010, 01:14 PM
Following on to the ideal draw what would be the nightmare draw for Scotland on Sunday

Would be my nightmare draw :grr:

Hakim Sar
05-02-2010, 01:19 PM
Serbia would be as bad as turkey. They are good and the fans are crazy.

05-02-2010, 01:21 PM
Following on to the ideal draw what would be the nightmare draw for Scotland on Sunday

Would be my nightmare draw :grr:
I think we could maybe get something against England at home. Spain would be a nightmare draw, they would beat us about 4-0 home and away. I just hope Levein does not play 4-5-1 at home.

Russian Hibs Fan
05-02-2010, 02:02 PM
....and here's who we WILL get!

France (yes, again!)
Czech Republic
Hungary
Kazakhstan *
Azerbaijan *

* Are they even IN Europe?

Azerbaijan - yes.

Kazakhstan - some part on the west - yes.

West Upper
05-02-2010, 02:31 PM
I hope we get :

Portugal
Switzerland
Belgium
Liechtenstein
Malta

05-02-2010, 02:39 PM
I have a strange feeling that Wales will be drawn in the same group as Scotland.

05-02-2010, 03:04 PM

Russia
Slovakia
SCOTLAND
Cyprus
Liechtenstein
San Marino

05-02-2010, 03:43 PM

I would like Scotland to get:-

Russia
Romania
Latvia
Kazakhstan
San Marino

Is the draw going to be live on the tv?

James Connolly
05-02-2010, 03:44 PM

Portugal
Greece
Scotland
Cyprus
Liechtenstein
Malta

Probably not qualify, but what's new? Decent venues for the fans though.:thumbsup:

fife hfc
05-02-2010, 03:58 PM
Pot one: Spain (holders), Germany, Netherlands, Italy, England, Croatia,Portugal, France, Russia

Pot three: Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Scotland:greengrin, Northern Ireland, Austria, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Portugal - probably weakest team in Pot one
Czech Rep - struggled in group so not as strong as previously
SCOTLAND - ***** but may stand a chance
Macedonia - they are pish and should have beat them away
Liechtenstein - should be six points
Andorra - as above

05-02-2010, 04:08 PM
So, just to clarify, this will be Scotland's group:

Spain
Czech Republic
Scotland
Slovenia
Montenegro
Azerbaijan

And this will be England's:

England
Slovakia
Austria
Cyprus
Liechtenstein
San Marino

05-02-2010, 05:44 PM

We are Scotland. :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag

05-02-2010, 05:47 PM
oh great another opportunity for the kilted alkies to do the country proud.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
05-02-2010, 07:29 PM
Russia
Switzerland
Scotland
Latvia
Moldova
San Marino

It costs a fortune to get here. Cheapest flights from London are about £450 return. :grr:

Potty78
05-02-2010, 07:47 PM

Croatia,Romania,Cyprus,Estonia and San mirino for me.

jws1875
05-02-2010, 08:53 PM

?

05-02-2010, 08:56 PM
Russia
Slovakia
SCOTLAND
Cyprus
Liechtenstein
San Marino

replace Cyprus with Lithuania, cyprus have improved alot recently.

05-02-2010, 08:58 PM
It costs a fortune to get here. Cheapest flights from London are about £450 return. :grr:

can you not go via bucarest for less?

05-02-2010, 10:48 PM

Another ill informed statement :agree:

05-02-2010, 10:53 PM
Russia
Romania
Scotland
Latvia
Liechtenstein
San Marino

Excited already:thumbsup:

C'mon Scotland:thumbsup:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
06-02-2010, 07:38 AM
can you not go via bucarest for less?

Yes, but overnight trains from there now only run every second day.

06-02-2010, 08:46 AM

Do you do irony?

06-02-2010, 09:01 AM
Another ill informed statement :agree:

Do you do irony?

Oh cmon chaps you should realise I was only fishing :greengrin

06-02-2010, 10:14 AM

Could always go Air Baltic via Riga to save some cash? Or at least you could in 2008...

Are you working over there?

07-02-2010, 09:41 AM
Since it had dropped off the front page, this is worth a bump for anyone who had forgotten it's today :wink:

07-02-2010, 10:08 AM
Give us these English ****ers please.

07-02-2010, 10:51 AM
Give us these English ****ers please.

Thats the last tie I want, Engerland would p*** all over us and the trouble would over shadow the occasion.

07-02-2010, 11:07 AM

Are the host nations not in any of the pots?:confused:

Sloppy
07-02-2010, 11:07 AM
time and channel is the draw?

07-02-2010, 11:38 AM
time and channel is the draw?

Now... Radio 5

07-02-2010, 11:38 AM
Scotland in Group H with Lithuania and Lichtenstein

07-02-2010, 11:39 AM
Group H Scotland, Hertz, Liechtenstein, Czech Republic and Spain :thumbsup:

Green Man
07-02-2010, 11:43 AM
We've got Czech Republic. Bad for our qualification prospects, good for an away day.

07-02-2010, 11:43 AM
Czechs will be a nightmare, even though they're not the force they once were

07-02-2010, 11:46 AM
spain!!! :grr::boo hoo:

07-02-2010, 11:46 AM
Couldn't have been much tougher

07-02-2010, 11:47 AM
Group H Scotland, Hertz, Liechtenstein, Czech Republic and Spain :thumbsup:

It's group I.

Spain FFS!

07-02-2010, 11:47 AM
Group A
Azerbaijan
Kazakhstan
Belgium
Austria
Turkey
Germany

Group B
Andorra
Armenia
Macedonia
Rep of Ireland
Slovakia
Russia

Group C
Faroe Islands
Estonia
Slovenia
N. Ireland
Serbia
Italy

Group D
Luxembourg
Albania
Belarus
Bosnia
Romania
France

Group E
San Marino
Moldova
Hungary
Finland
Sweden
Holland

Group F
Malta
Georgia
Latvia
Israel
Greece
Croatia

Group G
Montenegro
Wales
Bulgaria
Switzerland
England

Group H
Iceland
Cyprus
Norway
Denmark
Portugal

Group I
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Scotland
Czech Rep
Spain

07-02-2010, 11:48 AM
oh dear, that didnt quite go to plan did it :greengrin

07-02-2010, 11:48 AM
Couldn't have been much tougher

Czechs are nowhere near as strong as they were, it would have been a great draw with Portugal instead of Spain, but still a decent chance of 2nd IMO.

07-02-2010, 11:49 AM
Other than being in Group A, that's the toughest draw.

England get their usual pish easy group :grr:

07-02-2010, 11:50 AM
Scotland v HERTZ:faf:

07-02-2010, 11:50 AM
No chance i'm afraid.

whereswallace?
07-02-2010, 11:51 AM
Im quite happy with that draw,we will get a couple of decent trips out of it!! Good chance to grab second spot from that group.

We will have to get 12 points from Vlads mob and Litchenstein and probably a win at home to Czech to have any chance. I think we can forget getting anything from the Spanish

How the baws do England pull that off every time?

Spain:grr:

No doubt a few good trips but for our chances, :boo hoo:.

07-02-2010, 11:52 AM
We will have to get 12 points from Vlads mob and Litchenstein and probably a win at home to Czech to have any chance. I think we can forget getting anything from the Spanish

NI beat Spain in Euro 2008 qualifying

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/5321964.stm

Are the host nations not in any of the pots?:confused:
Good point! where are they? :)

do 2 nations qualify from the wee group? :confused:

07-02-2010, 11:54 AM
Other than being in Group A, that's the toughest draw.

England get their usual pish easy group :grr:

Not as easy as it looks, they got some of the harder teams from pots 3, 4 and 5.

07-02-2010, 11:54 AM

Only if they are best runner up.

I would imagine that in the 6 team groups the results against the lowest team wouldn't count.

I don't think its that bad a draw TBH.

Czech's are nowhere near as good as they used to be.

7Hero
07-02-2010, 11:56 AM
great draw, never been to spain for the footy or the czech republic..

doesnt matter who we get anyway, would rather see us play in some warm / nice places than get humped in some european backwater and watch c***s burn our flags (ukrain - kiev springing to mind)...

were only there for the bevvie anyway...

07-02-2010, 11:56 AM

I would imagine that in the 6 team groups the results against the lowest team wouldn't count.

They've been poor since Nedved (a true world class player) retired. Look at their results in WC qualifying, they were almost as bad as us.

07-02-2010, 11:57 AM

All group winners qualify automatically, plus the best placed runners up (once the results against the bottom team in the six team groups have been taken out)

Remaining eight second place teams play off in seeded knock outs for the other four places.

Ukraine and Poland are already in as hosts

07-02-2010, 11:58 AM

I would imagine that in the 6 team groups the results against the lowest team wouldn't count. :agree:

1 best runner up qualifies automatically next 8 play head to head in a seeded knock out, points against the bottom of the group in 6 team groups are discarded :wink:

07-02-2010, 11:58 AM
Gobbin english *******s again!, has their baw been in the freezer awnight?, un-****in-believable! :grr:

07-02-2010, 12:00 PM
1 best runner up qualifies automatically next 8 play head to head in a seeded knock out, points against the bottom of the group in 6 team groups are discarded :wink:

Think it's a bit piss poor they seed the play off games.

07-02-2010, 12:03 PM
Think it's a bit piss poor they seed the play off games.

It's another attempt to stop wee diddy countries getting through at the expense of ones with bigger TV audiences

07-02-2010, 12:11 PM

It's another attempt to stop wee diddy countries getting through at the expense of ones with bigger TV audiences

Only worked in 1 out of the 4 playoffs for the world cup though, and that was only because sombody cheated:agree:

07-02-2010, 12:15 PM
Delighted we got the Czechs :thumbsup:

and they definitely are beatable these days, so even better.

All top teams are too good, so a trip to Spain aint too bad :thumbsup:

07-02-2010, 12:18 PM
OK, lets get the dates ready then!!! Need to work out schedules etc. Gawd its gonna be busy with us in the Champions League as well eh:greengrin

07-02-2010, 12:21 PM
OK, lets get the dates ready then!!! Need to work out schedules etc. Gawd its gonna be busy with us in the Champions League as well eh:greengrin

And watch the flight prices rocket as usual :greengrin

Spain and Czech Republic will be brilliant trips :thumbsup:

07-02-2010, 12:34 PM
Stadium seats for Liechtenstein

Facts and Figures on the Rheinpark Stadium

Roofed Seats
Total: 6'127
Sector 1 / Main Stand: 2'684 (incl. Media-, Observer- and Wheelchair seats)
Sector 3 / Opposite Stand: 970 (incl. Media seats)
Sector 2 / South Stand: 1'232
Sector 4 / North Stand: 1'241

Which means we should get just over 1230 tickets

DirtyDeeds
07-02-2010, 01:34 PM
That could have gone far worse i reckon. People seem to be basing their opinion on the Czecg side of the last 10 years. Very few are what you'd regard as world class now, Rosicky is top dog but its still dubious as to whether he'll be the same player after all the injuries, hardly been impressive for Arsenal lately.

In case anybody has forgotten, we play them in a friendly next month, could get some kind of idea of how they are shaping up, as well as ourselves.

Good to play in Spain too, hope they keep it in a decent sized stadium as theyre prone to playing away from Barcelona and Madrid unless its a big name. Hopefully it'll be Vicente Calderon or Mestalla, both have mega atmospheres. Passports oot!!!!

Our group is bad but apart from Montonegro, Englands group is quite tough

Ferryhibby
Doesnt matter who we get as usual with us itl come down to the last game or two so it all boils down to the fixtures meeting get the spanish out the way first and have hertz wee team and lichties as the last two home, two reasons if it doesnt come down to the last two and we're out then they could be played at smaller grounds with some more of the 21's being bloodied ready for the world cup qualifiers, and if we've a chance then a full hampden against the lower teams would get a good athmosphere and decent chance of qualifying

hibby4ever
07-02-2010, 02:26 PM
Group I: Spain, Czech Republic, Scotland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein

SO WAT YOU THINK OF SCOTLANDS CHANCES ??

THE REST OF THE GROUPS BELOW:
Group A: Germany, Turkey, Austria, Belgium, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan
Group B: Russia, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland, FYR Macedonia, (http://topics.skysports.com/FYR+Macedonia/?section=football)http://static.lingospot.com/spot/image/spacer.gif Armenia, Andorra
Group C: Italy, Serbia, Northern Ireland, Slovenia, Estonia, Faroe Islands
Group D: France, Romania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Belarus, Albania, Luxembourg
Group E: Holland, Sweden, Finland, Hungary, Moldova, San Marino
Group F: Croatia, Greece, Israel, Latvia, Georgia, Malta
Group G: England, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Wales, Montenegro
Group H: Portugal, Denmark, Norway, Cyprus, Iceland

07-02-2010, 02:28 PM
great draw, never been to spain for the footy or the czech republic..

doesnt matter who we get anyway, would rather see us play in some warm / nice places than get humped in some european backwater and watch c***s burn our flags (ukrain - kiev springing to mind)...

were only there for the bevvie anyway...

ddi you not go over for both friendly's ?

07-02-2010, 02:31 PM
Our group is bad but apart from Montonegro, Englands group is quite tough

Montenegro >>>>>>>>>>>>>> Liechtenstein

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montenegro_national_football_team#Current_squad

Quite a few players with big continental clubs:

Jovetic (Fiorentina)
Vucinic (Roma)
Drincic (Spartak Moscow)
Vukcevic (Sporting Lisbon)

The only reason they are ranked as low is because they are newly independent. They won't achieve as much as (say) Croatia because Montenegro is a relatively small country, but they are presently under-ranked. I also think Wales are a team with a lot of potential (ie Ramsey) and could cause England some problems if they continue to develop over the next 12-18 months.

If England had got a tougher #2 seed than Switzerland (eg1 Serbia, eg2 Greece, eg3 Turkey) that would have been a stinking draw for them.

If we (Scotland) had got an easier #1 seed than Spain (either Portugal or Croatia), the draw couldn't have been handpicked better.

07-02-2010, 02:39 PM
Group I: Spain, Czech Republic, Scotland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein

SO WAT YOU THINK OF SCOTLANDS CHANCES ??

We should make a fair stab at getting into the play-offs. Then it all depends on who we're paired with.

Spain are top quality - we'll do weel to take a point off them at home.

Czech Republic aren't as strong as they were - they'll be our main rivals for second spot, but we've a reasonable chance of sharing the points. A win and a draw means a points tally of 4-1 to us.

Lithuania we should at least win and draw; no reason why we can't win home and away.

Liechtenstein - if we don't take 6 points from those games, we don't deserve to be in the competition.

We should make 15-17 points, and qualify for the play-offs.

I have spoke. :devil:

07-02-2010, 02:53 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montenegro_national_football_team#Current_squad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montenegro_national_football_team#Current_squad)

Jovetic (Fiorentina)
Vucinic (Roma)
Drincic (Spartak Moscow)

The only reason they are ranked as low is because they are newly independent. They won't achieve as much as (say) Croatia because Montenegro is a relatively small country, but they are presently under-ranked. I also think Wales are a team with a lot of potential (ie Ramsey) and could cause England some problems if they continue to develop over the next 12-18 months.

If England had got a tougher #2 seed than Switzerland (eg1 Serbia, eg2 Greece, eg3 Turkey) that would have been a stinking draw for them.

If we (Scotland) had got an easier #1 seed than Spain (either Portugal or Croatia), the draw couldn't have been handpicked better.

Forgot about them, Jovetic, Vucinic and Vukcevic all look great young players, well on FM10 anyway. They will be quite tough actually for England :thumbsup:

Jovetic got 2 against Liverpool in the Champions League

07-02-2010, 03:00 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montenegro_national_football_team#Current_squad

Jovetic (Fiorentina)
Vucinic (Roma)
Drincic (Spartak Moscow)

:agree: Montengro are very under rated.

It's easy to say England get an easy group all the time but they are ranked 1st while we are 3rd so we will obviously get a 'harder' group. You can only really compare Switzerland, Wales and Montenegro with Czech Republic, Lithuania and Liechenstein and I think we have the better deal.

P.S. the second bit was a general comment and wasn't aimed at the person I quoted.

07-02-2010, 03:21 PM
I think it'll be tough, and the that three-way race for third spot between us, the Liths and Lichties could go to the wire.

Speaking of Liths, Fat Jeff Knew.:wink:

07-02-2010, 03:54 PM
Further to the above post, if we had got Russia or Croatia, we would have been in a group without a single team that has qualified for the World Cup.

Compare to the last Euros when we had both teams from the World Cup Final (and a quarter finalist chucked in for luck).

07-02-2010, 04:04 PM
Spain who? Andorra's feeder team, as for the rest cannon fodder we're already there nae worries, As long as we take Deeks Gow Murray Spoony :wink:

Alicky Ranks
07-02-2010, 04:18 PM
Levein should use the games as preparation for the World Cup 2014 qualifying as our chances of qualifying from that group are pretty much non existent. At least there's a trip to Spain though.

07-02-2010, 04:29 PM
Another 5 team group...ach well, Euro 2012 will be pish anyway :greengrin

meeks0-7
07-02-2010, 06:30 PM
What hope have we got? Have you checked out the Levien interview on the BBC website. He apparently think we have drawn the world champions!!!
Even states this twice!:dunno:

07-02-2010, 06:34 PM
What a disapointing draw. Crap trips with only one new country (Lichtenstein). Spain certanties to win and it will be very hard to finish 2nd above the Czechs. I really can't be arsed with another trip to Lithuania! Sick of the place.

Why could we not have drawn Armenia, Kazakstan or the likes! :grr:

07-02-2010, 07:35 PM
What hope have we got? Have you checked out the Levien interview on the BBC website. He apparently think we have drawn the world champions!!!
Even states this twice!:dunno:

They might by then :greengrin

07-02-2010, 07:52 PM
Levein should use the games as preparation for the World Cup 2014 qualifying as our chances of qualifying from that group are pretty much non existent. At least there's a trip to SPAIN though.

Aye and the spanish cops:grr:

07-02-2010, 07:55 PM
Aye and the spanish cops:grr:

They were a nightmare when we played the friendly a few years ago. When the game was abandoned during the heaviest rain storm I have ever experienced, they made us all leave the shelter of the stadium. My kilt never recovered!

HIBERNIAN 1875
07-02-2010, 08:17 PM
We're capable of winning all home games. A point against Spain at Hampden and a low defeat in Spain wouldn't be bad results IMHO.

07-02-2010, 08:59 PM
They were a nightmare when we played the friendly a few years ago. When the game was abandoned during the heaviest rain storm I have ever experienced, they made us all leave the shelter of the stadium. My kilt never recovered!

we left at half time as soon as the lights went out & jumped into a taxi straight away-very lucky indeed

SidBurns
07-02-2010, 09:31 PM
Cracking draw, as someone else has said, couldn't have hand picked it any better Spain aside... FAT JIM KNEW...

07-02-2010, 09:37 PM
Good draw. Czech republic aren't half the side they used to be and I'd even fancy a crack against Spain at Hampden.