View Full Version : terribly sad news (The Lurker) Alex Ruthven

Graham Law
04-02-2010, 04:22 PM
Guys,

It pains me to inform you all of this terriblly sad news.

Most on here will know him as the Lurker but to the people closest to him it was Big Alex.

Alex has very suddenly been taken away from his friends and family today and I thought I should let you all know as he was not only a passionate Hibernian fan but a big fan of Hibs.net.

Big Alex you were a gent of a guy and made me feel so welcome when i joined Carricknowe Bowling club.

I cannot believe that only on sunday we were laughing and joking together about how we were going to celebrate Hibs winning the cup this year.

May you rest in peace big man, my thoughts are firmly with your family at this time.

04-02-2010, 04:45 PM
Very sorry to hear this news. I didn't know Alex personally but it's always sad to hear of a good Hibby passing way. My thoughts are with his family and friends. RIP.

04-02-2010, 05:04 PM
I didn't know Alex personally but I would like to send my condolences to family & friends.

Never something you want to hear but from an experience not that long ago I can relate to your sadness GL.

RIP :notworthy:

04-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Such sad news.

RIP Alex.

ruthven_raiders
04-02-2010, 06:21 PM
Such sad news. Farewell old yin' RIP from a fellow Ruthven:boo hoo:

04-02-2010, 06:28 PM
Sorry to hear this ..R.I.P Alec ..

04-02-2010, 06:35 PM
Sorry to hear this Graham - sad sad news.

RIP Alec

Riordans Boots
04-02-2010, 06:36 PM
So sad to hear this and condolences to all Alex's family. God Bless you all.

04-02-2010, 06:41 PM
So sad to hear this. R.I.P.

Petrie's Tache
04-02-2010, 06:48 PM
Deepest symapthies to all family and friends.

RIP Alec I am sure you will be sorley missed.

04-02-2010, 06:52 PM
May you continue to lurk from up there.
R.I.P. Alex.

PC Stamp
04-02-2010, 07:01 PM
Such sad news. RIP Alex and condolences to your nearest & dearest.

04-02-2010, 07:09 PM
Totally shocked about that, I have known Alex for over 20 years from when I was a junior member at Carrick Knowe, he was a gentleman.

RIP big man.

HibbyScott
04-02-2010, 07:11 PM
Sat right in front of Alex for the last few years in the West Lower. A great guy and will be sorely missed by all of those that sat around him. Always enjoyed having a go at my pizza consumption as well as ripping up losing Happy Hibby tickets and putting them in whatever hood was closest to him.

Rest In Peace Alex, and condolences to all his family and those that knew him best.

Jay
04-02-2010, 08:12 PM
Sad news.

RIP Mr Lurker.

04-02-2010, 08:15 PM
Very sad news - RIP Alex

04-02-2010, 08:59 PM
Can't believe this, was reading his 1st private member post only the other day. Tragic.

RIP Alec

04-02-2010, 09:12 PM
So sad, a terrible blow to his friends and family. Condolences to them all and RIP Alex.

jakki
04-02-2010, 09:59 PM
Very sad news. RIP Alex.
Condolencies to his family and friends.

04-02-2010, 10:11 PM
RIP Alec.

04-02-2010, 10:42 PM
RIP Alec. Very sad news indeed.

Sincere condolences to all his friends and family.

BH.

04-02-2010, 10:51 PM
Can't believe this, was reading his 1st private member post only the other day. Tragic.

RIP Alec

RIP Alex.

04-02-2010, 11:49 PM
RIP Alex

HibeeMcGinn1
04-02-2010, 11:54 PM
R.I.P hopefully the hibs will make you proud this year

05-02-2010, 12:09 AM
Sorry to hear that. I assume those are two family members in his avatar photo?

To them, to his other family members and his close friends, my sincere condolences.

05-02-2010, 12:15 AM

RIP AlecTragic indeed, condolences tae Alec's family and friends.

tbfhibs
05-02-2010, 12:25 AM
RIP, Alex terribly sad news.

05-02-2010, 12:44 AM
What a real shame, a we browse through some of his posts and it's plain to see he was simply loving his current Hibbyness:

bought a ticket for the kids campaign, just taken out full membership of dot net and a subsciber to the sponsorship of John Rakin's jersey for the season.

It would be a lovely touch if the wee fellah in the avatar was to get Ranks jersey in his memory...

Petrie's Tache
05-02-2010, 01:40 AM
What a real shame, a we browse through some of his posts and it's plain to see he was simply loving his current Hibbyness:

bought a ticket for the kids campaign, just taken out full membership of dot net and a subsciber to the sponsorship of John Rakin's jersey for the season.

It would be a lovely touch if the wee fellah in the avatar was to get Ranks jersey in his memory...

Excellent shout IMHO

NaeTechnoHibby
05-02-2010, 01:45 AM
RIP Alec.

05-02-2010, 07:52 AM
Tragic news, knew the big guy from the buses that run from the Carrick Knowe areas.

Aubenas
05-02-2010, 08:40 AM
Very sad news; didn't know Alec but any loss to the Hibernian family, and, of course, to his own, is devastating. Hope he's already sharing Hibee memories with heroes of the past. RIP

Graham Law
05-02-2010, 08:42 AM
Sorry to hear that. I assume those are two family members in his avatar photo?

To them, to his other family members and his close friends, my sincere condolences.

The two people in the photo are his wife and grandson. The big man had that photo in his wallet and was always getting it out to show everyone - very proud husband and grandad he was.

:flag: Hi Dave, in the 7 years or so i have been friends with the big man we was always a massive Hibee and followed his beloved Hibs through good managers and bad. But yes its fair to say he had the YOGI bug!

In fact as recent as Saturday he was sitting having a pint with my dad and I at the club and both him and my dad were laughing with each other saying if we didnae win the bloody cup this year then we are never gonna see us win it - how cruel life can be.

If Hibs.net decide to give the Rankin jersey to his grandson i can happily arrange for it to be delivered to his wife - that said, i am sure nobody will think anything less of it if not as i am sure there are many netters wanting Rankins top.

Thanks everybody for your kind words. I am going to try to work out how to print this thread off and hand it to the family in a card from everyone at Hibs.Net

Graham

stu in nottingham
05-02-2010, 08:45 AM
I am so sorry to hear this extremely sad news.

God bless and rest in peace, Alex.

05-02-2010, 09:02 AM
By his very name, he read a lot more than he posted (there's a lesson for us there) and when he did post, I enjoyed reading his views.

RIP.

.Louise.
05-02-2010, 09:09 AM
RIP Alex.

Kaiser_Sauzee
05-02-2010, 11:32 AM
RIP Alex.

Give the boy the jersey. Would be a nice touch.

05-02-2010, 01:05 PM
My condolences to his family and to all his very many friends.

Rattler
06-02-2010, 05:17 PM
Just before I go passing on some bad news to other members of the family, is this the same Alex who is married to Val? (stay/used to stay in Wester Broom?) If so, really sorry to hear it as I've known them for years but not seen them for some time.

RIP Alex - God Bless.

hibby19
07-02-2010, 02:15 PM
Just before I go passing on some bad news to other members of the family, is this the same Alex who is married to Val? (stay/used to stay in Wester Broom?) If so, really sorry to hear it as I've known them for years but not seen them for some time.

RIP Alex - God Bless.

It is indeed.

He was a great man and will be sorely missed by all who knew him. I frequently spoke to him whilst working at carrick knowe BC about the hibs game that day.

RIP Alec

07-02-2010, 04:50 PM
RIP Alex, and sincere condolences to family and friends.

rainman
08-02-2010, 06:52 AM
Sorry to hear this Graham.

Spoke to Alex at the Hibs.net Race Night at Carrick Knowe Bowling club where he threw a lot of money into the night backing horses, raffles etc all for the Hibs.net cause. :thumbsup:

Sandy
08-02-2010, 09:00 AM
RIP Alex, my thoughts and prayers are with your family and friends.