View Full Version : Thoughts on Team for Saturday

007 Mickey Weir
03-02-2010, 09:02 PM
Well I'm tired of laughing at the lesser team from our city! Lets talk about how we think Hibs will line up on Sat.

Strong team to start to try and get a couple of early goals. Then take of 3 of the regular players for some fringe guys and rest for the Sheep game. Get McCann some game time. Give Gow his debut.

Smith

Wotherspoon Hogg Bamba Murray

McBride
Miller Rankin
Nish
Stokes Riordan

Brown
Hanlon (Maybe on for Bamba)
McCann (Maybe on for Wotherspoon)
Gow (Maybe on for Nish)
Benji (Maybe on for any of front 2)

03-02-2010, 09:04 PM
Anyone ken what side Hearts are putting out oan Saturday?

Kevvy1875
03-02-2010, 09:07 PM
This is gonna be a walk in the park....however Yogi will be proffesional and put out a full strength XI methinks. Gow might get a debut and perhaps if McCann is ready he may get a run out to see where he is at. Stokes and Riordan will defo start as they will fancy their chances of grabbing a few goals:wink:

03-02-2010, 09:09 PM
Smith

McCann
Hanlon
Bamba
Stevenson

Cregg
McBride

Gow
Zemmama
Riordan
Benji

03-02-2010, 09:13 PM
Smith

McCann
Hanlon
Bamba
Stevenson

Cregg
McBride

Gow
Zemmama
Riordan
Benji

That looks scary :bitchy:

Gow for Nish. No more changes.

HibeeMcGinn1
03-02-2010, 09:16 PM
id like to rest stokes murray miller and smith. with gow hanlon cregg and brown replacing. all 4 are vital players for us and wouldnt want anything happening to them. thoughts?

James.
03-02-2010, 09:16 PM
I'd definately bring Hanlon back in and hand Gow a debut. Push Deeks up front and I'd give Stokes and Murray a rest for the Sheep game.

03-02-2010, 09:17 PM
That looks scary :bitchy:

Gow for Nish. No more changes.

Pish posh.

4-4-2/4-2-4 = 6-0 Hibs minimum

Trust me Montrose are worse than Irvine Meadow, I played them in the cup on Champ Manager 01/02 last night and Calvin Shand scored a hattrick.

fife hfc
03-02-2010, 09:17 PM
I feel with two very difficult games coming up against the Dons and the huns we need to rest key players. their replacements should be strong enough to win and if not are no good to Hibs and should be emptied.

.....................................Smith or Brown....................................
McCann................Bamba..................Hanlo n...............Stevenson
Galbraith or Zemmama.....Rankin..........Cregg................. .Gow
..................................Benji........... .nish.................................

Can put Stokes, miller, deeks on the bench.

03-02-2010, 09:18 PM

They've got a special relationship with the big cup Andy. They'll be sticking out all their top strikers :agree:

HibeeMcGinn1
03-02-2010, 09:26 PM
They've got a special relationship with the big cup Andy. They'll be sticking out all their top strikers :agree:

Gow will be playing for them on Sat surely?

03-02-2010, 09:27 PM
Yogi won't change it IMO.

I'd go for the following:

Smith

McCann Bamba Hanlon Murray

Gow McBride Miller Galbraith

Benji Nish

Bench: Brown, Thicot, Stevenson, Rankin, Stokes, Riordan, Byrne.

Should have more than enough to see off Montrose.

03-02-2010, 09:45 PM
Same team that started on Saturday will do me.:agree:

Franck is God
03-02-2010, 10:10 PM
Honestly a reserve Hibs side should beat Montrose no problem at all.

I would go with

Brown

McCann---McCormack---Hanlon---Stevenson

Cregg-------McBride
Gow

Byrne---------------------Galbraith
Benji

Subs

Hogg
Miller
Rankin
Stokes
Nish

03-02-2010, 10:10 PM
Same team that started on Saturday will do me.:agree:

Same for me. Don't change a winning team. I would just like to see a bit of thought and forward planning to make sure that any players that are near or one booking away from a suspension, have an eye kept on them during the game.

03-02-2010, 11:41 PM
Smith

McCormack
Hogg
Hanlon
Murray

Wotherspoon
McBride
Stevenson
Gailbraith

Gow
Stokes

Subs
Brown
Bamba
Miller
Riordan
Nish

03-02-2010, 11:45 PM

I would go with

Brown

Cregg-------McBride
Gow

Benji

Subs

Hogg
Miller
Rankin
Stokes
Nish

Just as well your not the Hibs manager with that team.:wink:

04-02-2010, 12:43 AM
I feel with two very difficult games coming up against the Dons and the huns we need to rest key players. their replacements should be strong enough to win and if not are no good to Hibs and should be emptied.

.....................................Smith or Brown....................................
McCann................Bamba..................Hanlo n...............Stevenson
Galbraith or Zemmama.....Rankin..........Cregg................. .Gow
..................................Benji........... .nish.................................

Can put Stokes, miller, deeks on the bench.

:agree: agreed - shortly after Montrose we've got Aberdeen (Home) then Huns, St Johnstone and Motherwell (all away) within the space of 11 days.

Given that stretch of fixtures I'd be surprised if Yogi didn't rest a few players at home to Montrose.

I think he'll start with the spine of the team intact though - probably playing Hogg, Bamba, Miller and Stokes at least from the start unless carrying knocks. The rest is anyones guess though - I'd like to see Galbraith get a start as I think he's earned it with some impressive turn outs capped by his winner at Darkheid.

Based on that - here's my starting 11 (assuming Zooma's still injured)

---------------Brown---------------
McCann---Hogg----Bamba-----Murray
-------------McBride----------------
Wotherspoon--Miller---------Galbraith
--------Stokes------Dow

Subs:
Smith, Hanlon, Cregg, Benji, Riordan

04-02-2010, 01:35 AM
:agree: agreed - shortly after Montrose we've got Aberdeen (Home) then Huns, St Johnstone and Motherwell (all away) within the space of 11 days.

Given that stretch of fixtures I'd be surprised if Yogi didn't rest a few players at home to Montrose.

I think he'll start with the spine of the team intact though - probably playing Hogg, Bamba, Miller and Stokes at least from the start unless carrying knocks. The rest is anyones guess though - I'd like to see Galbraith get a start as I think he's earned it with some impressive turn outs capped by his winner at Darkheid.

Based on that - here's my starting 11 (assuming Zooma's still injured)

---------------Brown---------------
McCann---Hogg----Bamba-----Murray
-------------McBride----------------
Wotherspoon--Miller---------Galbraith
--------Stokes------Dow

Subs:
Smith, Hanlon, Cregg, Benji, Riordan

DOW DOW, ANDY ANDY DOW :greengrin

04-02-2010, 02:11 AM
Smith

McCormack
Hogg
Murray
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
McBride
Gow
Rankin

Stokes
Benji

Subs

Brown
Hanlon
McCann
Riordan
Galbraith

Resting Liam Miller and Bamba for midweek, and giving Riordan a wee kick up the boohooky as well.

04-02-2010, 02:17 AM
Yogi hasn't made too many changes to his teams this season so wouldn't expect anything too different this weekend.

04-02-2010, 02:24 AM
I'd like us to be putting out a strong team and getting the job done. I'd drop Riordan and put in Gow because I feel Gow will be eager to impress. Deeks can come on and score a wonder goal if things seem to be going tats up.

Calvin
04-02-2010, 02:40 AM
I'd like to see us put out a 'less strong' team. There's being professional by taking no chances v Montrose, or being professional by making sure the team is best prepared for a tricky run of fixtures.

I think that given the threads going about a few days ago about a reserve team that can compete in the SPL, we should use that reserve team to our advantage.

What's the point of a strong squad where you only start 11 of them!

rainman
04-02-2010, 03:30 AM
Smith

Wotherspoon Hogg Bamba Murray

Zemmama McBride Miller Gow

Nish

Stokes

F*** sake that's some team. :bitchy:

Petrie's Tache
04-02-2010, 05:16 AM
........................Smith..................... .....

Wootherspoon...Bamba..Hanlon....Murray...

........................McBride................... ....

Galbraith..............Miller................Gow.. ..

..............Stokes............Deek.............. ...

That would do for me for Sat.

04-02-2010, 10:01 AM
play yer strongest team,, were up 2-3 zip up by half time
rest yer 3 top players in the 2nd half
did we not have a banana skin against montrose many moons ago
also, we dont want a replay, do we !!!!!:wink::wink::wink:
hb

rightwinger
04-02-2010, 10:25 AM
play yer strongest team,, were up 2-3 zip up by half time
rest yer 3 top players in the 2nd half
did we not have a banana skin against montrose many moons ago
also, we dont want a replay, do we !!!!!:wink::wink::wink:
hb

I'd sort of agree with that. Get the job done by half-time, then hook the big guns off.

Putting out a complete reserve team would be a risk but we have a wealth of fixtures coming up and, frankly, should be able to take care of Montrose.

The problem is when you start resting players, where do you stop? Its when you do that you create the banana skin.

Some should be rested for their own good and because, with the games we have coming up, other players need game time. Of last week's team, I'd rest Murray (irreplaceable), Bamba (needs a rest), McBride (only a month back from 6 weeks out), Miller (irreplaceable), and Stokes (looked a bit jaded last sat). Might not be a bad shout to give another keeper a go too:

-----------------------Stack/Brown

Wotherspoon------Hogg-----Hanlon------Stevenson

-----------------Cregg------Rankin---------------

Zemmama-------------------------------Riordan

----------------Nish----------Benji

A lot different from Sat but hardly a reserve team. Gow shouldn't start because other players have waited patiently and may feel Hughes playing favourites. Benji needs a start because he's been really patient and did well when he came on on sat. Nish needs goals for confidence as does Riordan who's been a bit streaky this season (a few assists for Stokes to be fair).

If that team can't beat Montrose then there's a problem.

04-02-2010, 10:26 AM

I would go with

Brown

Cregg-------McBride
Gow

Benji

Subs

Hogg
Miller
Rankin
Stokes
Nish

i'd love to see that team just to see if we really have strength and depth in the squad.....

no chance of it happening though.

Expecting Rain
04-02-2010, 10:34 AM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Bamba
Hanlon
Murray

Zemmama
McBride
Miller
Gow

Riordan

Stokes

04-02-2010, 10:34 AM
Same for me. Don't change a winning team. I would just like to see a bit of thought and forward planning to make sure that any players that are near or one booking away from a suspension, have an eye kept on them during the game.

SC yellow cards are kept separate; only Hogg got booked against Irvine.

04-02-2010, 11:18 AM
Im sure he will rest a couple and id guess at

Smith
Mcormack
Murray
Hanlon
Stevenson
Zemmamma
Mcbride
Miller
Benji
Riordan
Stokes

subs
Brown
Mccann
Byrne
Galbraith
Cregg

Mccann,galbraith and maybe byrne to come in if all going well.Nish,bambanrankin and hogg to get a rest and miller,mcbride Stokes to be subbed to save for wednesday.Only five subs and not sure if gow was signed in time.maybe miles off but there you go.If deek and stokes are on two goals tey wont be happy to be subbed mind you.

04-02-2010, 11:24 AM
Brown
Wotherspoon
Hogg
Bamba
Murray
Miller
McBride
Rankin
Gow
Stokes
Riordan

4-3-1-2

Subs:
Smith
Thicot
Hanlon
Cregg
Galbraith
Benji
Nish

Not wanting to have a very weakened line-up for Saturday.
We haven't won the cup in 108 years so we can't take any risks.

CapitalHibs
04-02-2010, 05:38 PM
Don't know if posted already but an interesting bit at the end of the article. Looks like Hanlon could be back in Saturday.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1868_5918291,00.html

04-02-2010, 05:48 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Hogg
Hanlon
Murray

Riordan McBride & Miller Gow

Nish Stokes

Gow needs games and ideal time to get him in against Montrose.

Hibs by 4 goals for me.

04-02-2010, 05:49 PM
Maybe Hughes won't play Murray because he only wants to work with players that agree to new contracts.

04-02-2010, 05:58 PM
Don't know if posted already but an interesting bit at the end of the article. Looks like Hanlon could be back in Saturday.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1868_5918291,00.html

"Mark phoned up and had a few choice words," said Hughes, who also saw off competition from Hibs' arch-rivals Hearts."

Get it wrapped right roond ye McGhoo:agree:

Franck is God
04-02-2010, 09:16 PM
i'd love to see that team just to see if we really have strength and depth in the squad.....

no chance of it happening though.[/LEFT]

I doubt it too but I can hope, any player at our club unable to play well enough to beat Montrose is at the wrong club. All the players I picked have first team experience and will have played together in the bounce games we have been playing all season so far.

04-02-2010, 09:27 PM
Surely the best chance of winning a trophy is the Scottish rather than the SPL. For that reason the best team must go out with players being rested once the job is done.

04-02-2010, 09:28 PM
Yogi's thoughts (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8499402.stm)

Bamba in Paris all week => Hanlon will play

Gow will have to force his way in, hinted he will play though

04-02-2010, 09:31 PM

I would go with

Brown

Cregg-------McBride
Gow

Benji

Subs

Hogg
Miller
Rankin
Stokes
Nish

Pretty much that with Thicot instead of McBride. Is Lee Currie still here or on loan somewhere?

Aberdeen is a big game and then 3 in 6 days. Def let Byrne run wild,

Love the Green
04-02-2010, 09:37 PM

Aye back sides

"keep the faith":wink:

04-02-2010, 09:41 PM
Maybe Hughes won't play Murray because he only wants to work with players that agree to new contracts.

Maybe Petrie will order Hughes not to play Murray

04-02-2010, 10:34 PM
Brown
Wotherspoon
Hogg
Bamba
Murray
Miller
McBride
Rankin
Gow
Stokes
Riordan

4-3-1-2

Subs:
Smith
Thicot
Hanlon
Cregg
Galbraith
Benji
Nish

Not wanting to have a very weakened line-up for Saturday.
We haven't won the cup in 108 years so we can't take any risks.

A good team, but you're only allowed to have 5 subs in a cup game.

Pretty much that with Thicot instead of McBride. Is Lee Currie still here or on loan somewhere?

Aberdeen is a big game and then 3 in 6 days. Def let Byrne run wild,

Currie is with Stenhousemuir on loan along with his mate Welsh.

05-02-2010, 12:06 PM
Hibs Line Up To Face Montrose.

28. The Gowser.

05-02-2010, 12:12 PM
BBC have Hibs' squad as....

Hibernian (from): Smith, McCormack, Murray, Hogg, Hanlon, Miller, Cregg, Zemmama, McBride, Rankin, Stokes, Riordan, Byrne, Stevenson, Gow, Galbraith, Wotherspoon, Nish, Benjelloun, Thicot, Stack.

Add in Bamba who'll be rested, Mark Brown isn't quoted there either. Not all of them crowd favourites, not all of them you'd want to play every week, but that's 24 players who make up not too bad a squad....

05-02-2010, 12:15 PM
According to Yogi in his latest BBC interview, it'll be very much business as usual, except that he's allowed Sol a few days off to see his wife and family in Paris.

So I'd expect us to play a full team with Paul Hanlon in for Sol, and provided we can make the game safe and do nothing stupid, he'll take off some of the core players around the 60 minute mark and give three of the fringe players a run.

Smith
Wotherspoon Hogg Hanlon Murray
Miller McBride Rankin
Stokes Nish Riordan

Except he did say something about Alan Gow 'running out at Easter Road on Saturday'. But that could be a slip of the tongue, a bluff, a double bluff, a wind-up, mind-games, just Yogi.....

So MAYBE it could be

Smith
Wotherspoon Hogg Hanlon Murray
Miller McBride Rankin
Gow
Stokes Nish/Riordan

05-02-2010, 12:35 PM
I'd go with.

..................................Smith

McCormack.........Hogg............Bamba..........M urray

.................McBride...................Miller