View Full Version : Why betting threads on main forum?

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 04:12 PM
I guess I'm aiming this at the admins. Should gambling threads not be consigned to another forum and removed from the main forum? The main forum is supposed to be about everything Hibernian, or the occasional snipe at our Gorgie neighbours. Would I be inaccurate in suspecting that a few sneeky bookies are using Hibs.net to entice my fellow Hibbys to gamble, certainly put temptation in the way of those that are perhaps addicted and/or trying to stop?Hmmmmm.

hibeerobbo
03-02-2010, 04:15 PM
I guess I'm aiming this at the admins. Should gambling threads not be consigned to another forum and removed from the main forum? The main forum is supposed to be about everything Hibernian, or the occasional snipe at our Gorgie neighbours. Would I be inaccurate in suspecting that a few sneeky bookies are using Hibs.net to entice my fellow Hibbys to gamble, certainly put temptation in the way of those that are perhaps addicted and/or trying to stop?Hmmmmm.

Get a grip... I enjoy what teams people are betting on.. It means i can get a few tips... it wouldn't get the same focus if it was on the other boards..

Hibs.net for all hibs fans not recovering gamblers

03-02-2010, 04:16 PM
If you can't bring yourself to not gamble because you've seen a thread on Hibs.net, then you really do have a complete lack of willpower.
The threads are football related, they belong on this forum.

EDIT: While we're at it. Can we have any threads related to where people are drinking before/after the game deleted as they're driving me to drink.

03-02-2010, 04:21 PM
And while we're at it, what about these stories about footballers' lovelives, they're.......................:faf:

03-02-2010, 04:23 PM
If you can't bring yourself to not gamble because you've seen a thread on Hibs.net, then you really do have a complete lack of willpower.

EDIT: While we're at it. Can we have any threads related to where people are drinking before/after the game deleted as they're driving me to drink.

Sorry - I'm off to the pub. :party:

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 04:26 PM
Get a grip... I enjoy what teams people are betting on.. It means i can get a few tips... it wouldn't get the same focus if it was on the other boards..

Hibs.net for all hibs fans not recovering gamblers

For those, like yourself, keen perhaps to gamble and find out the latest odds, are you telling me that you would not bother looking for the latest gambling thread just because it's on on another Hibs.Net forum? Interesting that you say that consigning such threads to another board would not get the same focus. This raises my suspicions even further that bookies are indeed infiltrating our beloved Main Forum to entice a wider audience. Are you by any chance a bookie, a little upset that I might have touched upon a raw nerve? If not, then I'm sure you will appreciate that some of us choose not to gamble and have odds littering the Main Forum. Why don't we invite a few landlords onboard quoting us the latest beer prices. It's blatant advertising and exploitation of a captured audience.

03-02-2010, 04:27 PM
I guess I'm aiming this at the admins. Should gambling threads not be consigned to another forum and removed from the main forum? The main forum is supposed to be about everything Hibernian, or the occasional snipe at our Gorgie neighbours. Would I be inaccurate in suspecting that a few sneeky bookies are using Hibs.net to entice my fellow Hibbys to gamble, certainly put temptation in the way of those that are perhaps addicted and/or trying to stop?Hmmmmm.I think we have enough forums as it is ...:rolleyes:...im sure this has been discussed before but i would suspect a seperate betting forum wouldnt draw in the same amount of punters & we would still end up with countless betting threads on the main forum therefore leaving it as it is would be less of a problem...

03-02-2010, 04:29 PM
I agree with the OP...the constant betting threads yank my chain.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 04:30 PM
I think we have enough forums as it is ...:rolleyes:...im sure this has been discussed before but i would suspect a seperate betting forum wouldnt draw in the same amount of punters & we would still end up with countless betting threads on the main forum therefore leaving it as it is would be less of a problem...

Would you like to bet on this?

03-02-2010, 04:32 PM
Would you like to bet on this?
:wink:Sorry ..i dont gamble ..:wink:

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 04:34 PM

All due respect, I am no gambler and certainly not addicted, But there are people I know that are indeed gamblers and/or recovering gamblers. I suggest re-reading my post. I advocate that betting threads should perhaps be consigned to another Hibs.Net board. Not REMOVED altogether as you imply with your drinking analogy. :cool2:

03-02-2010, 04:41 PM
It just doesn't make any sense tbh.
If we have a gambling forum, I'm sure it's going to offer the same tempation/maybe more than a single weekly thread does. Likewise, if we posted them in another forum like "The Dugout" it's maybe going to tempt posters over there to gamble...

HibeeMcGinn1
03-02-2010, 04:45 PM
dont read it if your not happy

03-02-2010, 04:48 PM
Does it really matter that much if their in the wrong forum?

03-02-2010, 04:48 PM
All due respect, I am no gambler and certainly not addicted, But there are people I know that are indeed gamblers and/or recovering gamblers. I suggest re-reading my post. I advocate that betting threads should perhaps be consigned to another Hibs.Net board. Not REMOVED altogether as you imply with your drinking analogy. :cool2:

It must be terrible for all these GA/AA members or whatever, getting assaulted from all sides with mentions of drink and punting. Must be even worse walking down Easter Road to a game and resisting that magnet drawing them into the bookies and boozer. I suppose they can always ignore a thread titled Bets or ask to be excluded from online bookies. Why not just do it the Chinese government way and ban any sites that don't meet with your approval?

I think you mean irresponsible gamblers in your OP.

brythehibby
03-02-2010, 04:50 PM
dont read it if your not happy

Correct. Why do folk moan about something that THEY choose to read?

If you dont like threads about gambling dont read it. As someone else said i enjoy seeing what others have gone for etc and sharing what bets folk have.

Bohemian_Hibee
03-02-2010, 04:51 PM
Addicted? No way, I bet you I could stop gambling!!!

03-02-2010, 04:52 PM
if it doesnt interest you dont read it.

there are threads i dont read as they dont interest me or appeal to me.

Just ignore it, there are hundreds and thousands of threads for you to read

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 04:52 PM
It just doesn't make any sense tbh.
If we have a gambling forum, I'm sure it's going to offer the same tempation/maybe more than a single weekly thread does. Likewise, if we posted them in another forum like "The Dugout" it's maybe going to tempt posters over there to gamble...

It's not so much the temptation aspect that I'm worried too much about, no disrespect to those addicted. I find betting threads annoying in that they are taking up space on our Main forum when they have little, if anything, directly to do with our beloved Hibernian FC. Gambling is a habit, as is drinking, and indeed smoking, but we don't have threads littering our Main Forum from pub landlords and tobacconists telling us the latest prices.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 04:56 PM
It must be terrible for all these GA/AA members or whatever, getting assaulted from all sides with mentions of drink and punting. Must be even worse walking down Easter Road to a game and resisting that magnet drawing them into the bookies and boozer. I suppose they can always ignore a thread titled Bets or ask to be excluded from online bookies. Why not just do it the Chinese government way and ban any sites that don't meet with your approval?

I think you mean irresponsible gamblers in your OP.

I repeat to you as I did to another poster: Please reread my opening thread. I do not advocate BANNING. This is your interpretation and wording. I simply suggest perhaps consigning gambling threads to another Hibs.Net forum. I don't go into gambling threads, but find them annoyingly taking up valuable space on the Main Forum when they have little if anything directly Hibs-related content in them.

03-02-2010, 04:58 PM
So, essentially you want them removed because you don't like them?
All the betting threads are duly titled so I really don't see why it's a problem for you to just skip over them. There is maybe 1 or 2 threads MAX on each page so I think the argument that they're cluttering the forum in anyway is bollocks simply.
Personally, I'd much rather read the gambling threads than have the apparent 'occasional'(seems to be a lot more frequent than that)jambo GIRUY threads.
Alot of us evidently enjoy reading the betting threads..:agree:

03-02-2010, 04:59 PM
It's not so much the temptation aspect that I'm worried too much about, no disrespect to those addicted. I find betting threads annoying in that they are taking up space on our Main forum when they have little, if anything, directly to do with our beloved Hibernian FC. Gambling is a habit, as is drinking, and indeed smoking, but we don't have threads littering our Main Forum from pub landlords and tobacconists telling us the latest prices.I think you are taking things a little out of context now ..its a football forum ..folk bet on football matches ..that in turn generates discussion ..that is what this forum is for ..:wink:

03-02-2010, 05:01 PM
I repeat to you as I did to another poster: Please reread my opening thread. I do not advocate BANNING. This is your interpretation and wording. I simply suggest perhaps consigning gambling threads to another Hibs.Net forum. I don't go into gambling threads, but find them annoyingly taking up valuable space on the Main Forum when they have little if anything directly Hibs-related content in them.

I thought the main forum was for all things football which I suppose includes betting on football, what does hearts getting beat last night directly have to do with us or John Terry's love life?

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 05:01 PM
Correct. Why do folk moan about something that THEY choose to read?

If you dont like threads about gambling dont read it. As someone else said i enjoy seeing what others have gone for etc and sharing what bets folk have.

I do not read gambling/betting threads. Or should I say, I have gone into them in the past and seen absolutely nothing relating to Hibernian FC in them. The MAIN FORUM is so I'm led to believe supposed to be directly Hibs related, or at least in context, with the occasional Jambos snipe thrown in.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 05:03 PM
I think you are taking things a little out of context now ..its a football forum ..folk bet on football matches ..that in turn generates discussion ..that is what this forum is for ..:wink:

I agree on your point about generating discussion. I appear to have done this quite successfully by starting this thread. I think I'll sneak away for a cuppa before William Hill comes on next to berate me.:wink:

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 05:06 PM
So, essentially you want them removed because you don't like them?
All the betting threads are duly titled so I really don't see why it's a problem for you to just skip over them. There is maybe 1 or 2 threads MAX on each page so I think the argument that they're cluttering the forum in anyway is bollocks simply.
Personally, I'd much rather read the gambling threads than have the apparent 'occasional'(seems to be a lot more frequent than that)jambo GIRUY threads.
Alot of us evidently enjoy reading the betting threads..:agree:

Each to their own.:wink:
I do indeed skip the betting threads but still find them annoyingly there! Ho hum, I'm off to make a cuppa.

HibeeMcGinn1
03-02-2010, 05:08 PM
Dry your eyes. Betting threads have been on the main forum for years.

03-02-2010, 05:14 PM
The main forum is about football and the betting threads are also about football :confused:

They are generally called 'Tonight's bets', 'Weekend Bets' or 'Midweek Bets' so they are easy to avoid.

I don't think we need another forum for 2/3 threads a week.

Graham Law
03-02-2010, 05:15 PM

I very rarely post on Hibs.Net now - but always viewing :hnet: but have to post on this one

This just sums up for me how PC certain people have become in this crazy world.

OP, is it not simple enough for you to just avoid opening the thread if you wish not to view it!

And I was laughing my head of at the thought that you think a bookmaker would come on here in the hope that a bookies thread will entice 10'000 hibs fans to charge down to there local bookies and bet all there wages on Albion Rovers to win the champions league in the next so many years at 100000000000-1 just because wee Jimmy or big John from Hibs.Net says it a banker :faf:

As a previous poster says - It is a topical thread and always has been :agree: And when you are long gone tucked up in your cosy bed with your hot chocolate and water bottle us bevvy drinking drug taking gamblers :faf: are still giving it the large posting- if only i had backed that team and this team on these very threads.

03-02-2010, 05:23 PM
In principle, the argument that "It's always been that way so why change?" is for the dinosaurs.

People should feel free to make suggestions for change without being pilloried.

Hibby D
03-02-2010, 05:38 PM
As this thread is a debate about the rights and wrongs of gambling threads on the MB and not about football, perhaps it should be moved to The Holy Ground :devil:

Wouldn't have happened in my day :greengrin

03-02-2010, 05:39 PM
As this thread is a debate about the rights and wrongs of gambling threads on the MB and not about football, perhaps it should be moved to The Holy Ground :devil:

Wouldn't have happened in my day :greengrin:greengrin

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 05:43 PM
I very rarely post on Hibs.Net now - but always viewing :hnet: but have to post on this one

OP, is it not simple enough for you to just avoid opening the thread if you wish not to view it!

And I was laughing my head of at the thought that you think a bookmaker would come on here in the hope that a bookies thread will entice 10'000 hibs fans to charge down to there local bookies and bet all there wages on Albion Rovers to win the champions league in the next so many years at 100000000000-1 just because wee Jimmy or big John from Hibs.Net says it a banker :faf:

As a previous poster says - It is a topical thread and always has been :agree: And when you are long gone tucked up in your cosy bed with your hot chocolate and water bottle us bevvy drinking drug taking gamblers :faf: are still giving it the large posting- if only i had backed that team and this team on these very threads.

My thread has nothing to do with being PC. I find betting threads annoying as they take up space on the Main Forum when they are not entirely related to Hibernian FC. This is my main point. You imply that I started a thread and then cleared off. Well, I'm back. Yes, thank you, The cup of tea was nice. I might even have a beer later. But I won't start a thread on the latest and cheapest prices for alcohol as it is not worthy of going on the Hibs Main Forum. Maybe on another Hibs.Net board alongside betting threads.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 05:48 PM

What has "been on the Main forum for years" got to do with my opinion that they are non-Hibs directly-related and perhaps should be consigned to another board?
And no smart Alec, cocky remarks such as "dry your eyes".Thank you:cool2:

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 05:51 PM
In principle, the argument that "It's always been that way so why change?" is for the dinosaurs.

People should feel free to make suggestions for change without being pilloried.

Thank you. Nice to hear a bit of common sense.

HibbyScott
03-02-2010, 05:55 PM
The main board is described as "The messageboard for all Hibs fans to chat about Hibs and football in general."

As it is football related betting (you'll notice that around Grand National time, tips appear on the "Other Sports" board) I see no reason that it shouldn't be allowed to be on this board, especially when one the OP's main points about it appears to be that the betting discussion isn't related to Hibs

03-02-2010, 05:55 PM
I'm not sure about it myself to be honest and I am Mr Liberal.

Betting can be highly addictive and damaging for some people.
Due to the high number of events people can bet on now and other forms of gambling such as roulette gambling has the potential to be more addictive than ever.

The days of one £10 accumulator a week are long gone with internet betting countless matches across the world and casino offers and fixed odds betting terminals in bookies.

A separate betting forum seems an idea that should be considered in my opinion.

03-02-2010, 05:57 PM
27 out of the first 35 threads on the main board were not primarily about Hibs. Should they all be moved to another place?

EskbankHibby
03-02-2010, 05:59 PM
My thread has nothing to do with being PC. I find betting threads annoying as they take up space on the Main Forum when they are not entirely related to Hibernian FC. This is my main point. You imply that I started a thread and then cleared off. Well, I'm back. Yes, thank you, The cup of tea was nice. I might even have a beer later. But I won't start a thread on the latest and cheapest prices for alcohol as it is not worthy of going on the Hibs Main Forum. Maybe on another Hibs.Net board alongside betting threads.

Serious questions.

Is there anything that you don't find annoying?

And.

When was the last time you had your Nat King?

03-02-2010, 06:04 PM
Ive seen and read it all now-Deary ****ing dear.

Its not rocket science chaps, If the thread title has no interest to you, dont CHOOSE to read it.

Get a grip FFS man!.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 06:05 PM
Serious questions.

Is there anything that you don't find annoying?

And.

When was the last time you had your Nat King?

This is a sad response EskbankHibby. You come across as the guy in the pub baiting for a response so you can deck someone. Your post adds nothing to the topic. It is personal and completely out of order. Next time, please, try and at least stick to debating the issues.

03-02-2010, 06:07 PM

If you have a problem with the forum, then I suggest you maybe look elsewhere in an attempt to find one that suits your exacting requirements.

If you stumped up a tenner and became a PM, you'd find that there are absolutely no gambling related threads on that forum.

03-02-2010, 06:08 PM

Not the 'PC gone mad' pish again.

the OP has a right to an opinion, which some of us share, that betting threads should be moved to another board. Cue 'have you not had your hole for a while' and 'dry yer eyes' comments:rolleyes:

Pathetic.

03-02-2010, 06:09 PM
If you have a problem with the forum, then I suggest you maybe look elsewhere in an attempt to find one that suits your exacting requirements.

If you stumped up a tenner and became a PM, you'd find that there are absolutely no gambling related threads on that forum.

So suggestions are not welcome?:rolleyes:

03-02-2010, 06:11 PM
With all due respect this is about the most bollox thread I’ve read on .net for yonks!

hibs.net Main Forum
The messageboard for all Hibs fans to chat about Hibs and football in general.

TBH I rearly see a betting thread that isn't football related.

You do realise noseyhibby that’s it not real money??? AFAIAA Its just like a wee bonus [game] for being a private member – you know those folk who contribute real cash to keep the site running and the odd reasonably substantial donation to things Hibernian FC?

I’m sure recovering gamblers have a whole lot more to worry about than .net, as others have said walking along any street ... and from what I’ve seen the odds given on .net are abysmal anyway :rolleyes:

PS I’m surprised you’ve not noticed the regular threads that do discuss pubs and there's also ones about restaurants and take-aways too now and again – should we stop them in case someone is on a diet?

03-02-2010, 06:11 PM
They used to ban swearing here as it is a 'family forum' (is that still the case?)

Doesn't bother me either way but I'd rather my kids were swearing than gambling.

If so why not have a separate forum for betting, which is an adult pursuit?

My only concern is how pervasive gambling is now for kids; adverts, promotions, web banners. It should be specialist subject if it's on a forum that is open to 12 year olds for example.

You wouldn't expect 12 year olds to be able to register for betting tips sites like the online betting guide?

03-02-2010, 06:15 PM
They used to ban swearing here as it is a 'family forum' (is that still the case?)

Doesn't bother me either way but I'd rather my kids were swearing than gambling.

If so why not have a separate forum for betting, which is an adult pursuit?

My only concern is how pervasive gambling is now for kids; adverts, promotions, web banners. It should be specialist subject if it's on a forum that is open to 12 year olds for example.

You wouldn't expect 12 year olds to be able to register for betting tips sites like the online betting guide?

Could be quite educational, maybe stop them making the mistakes many of us did in our youth.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 06:17 PM

If my exacting requirements mean stating an opinion about moving non-directly Hibs related matter to another board, and reduce the potential earning power of potential infiltrating bookies on our Main Forum, then I'm happy with this. And, No, i don't have a problem with the forum, as you say. It's all about opinions and I have stated one. But when a few posters respond with personal insults and add nothing to the topic, I do wonder whether I should have a problem with the forum.

03-02-2010, 06:20 PM
Could be quite educational, maybe stop them making the mistakes many of us did in our youth.

I'm not sure that's all. I participate myself and realise that the threads are football based.

Also there are very few posts if any that illustrate problem gambling but I've had problems myself in the past and realise how damaging it can be.

I'm sure Hibby Andy once suggested a separate betting forum for those that like a bet as a positive move. it's just the idea of censorship that rubs people up the wrong way and fair enough I understand that.

Football bets as discussed here is one of the least addictive forms of betting but it does sometimes lead people onto those roulette machines in bookies which are a different proposition altogether.

I understand the argument that if you cater to addicts then you can't even discuss pubs so fair dos. I do see betting as potentially much more harnful than swearing though.

03-02-2010, 06:24 PM
If my exacting requirements mean stating an opinion about moving non-directly Hibs related matter to another board, and reduce the potential earning power of potential infiltrating bookies on our Main Forum, then I'm happy with this. And, No, i don't have a problem with the forum, as you say. It's all about opinions and I have stated one. But when a few posters respond with personal insults and add nothing to the topic, I do wonder whether I should have a problem with the forum.

Potential infiltrating bookies. If that comment wasn't so wide of the mark it would be funny.

How many gambling threads are on the main page of this board? It's OK, you don't need to check, I'll tell you. One. That's right; one solitary thread, as there would be one solitary thread in a separate forum.

Thanks for the suggestion. It's duly noted and I'll raise it on your behalf at our next AGM.

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 06:28 PM
With all due respect this is about the most bollox thread I’ve read on .net for yonks!

TBH I rearly see a betting thread that isn't football related.

You do realise noseyhibby that’s it not real money??? AFAIAA Its just like a wee bonus [game] for being a private member – you know those folk who contribute real cash to keep the site running and the odd reasonably substantial donation to things Hibernian FC?

I’m sure recovering gamblers have a whole lot more to worry about than .net, as others have said walking along any street ... and from what I’ve seen the odds given on .net are abysmal anyway :rolleyes:

PS I’m surprised you’ve not noticed the regular threads that do discuss pubs and there's also ones about restaurants and take-aways too now and again – should we stop them in case someone is on a diet?

At no point did i talk in terms of "STOPPING" "BLOCKING" or "BANNING" any thread. I am of the opinion that betting threads should be "CONSIGNED" to another Hibs.Net Board.
As for restaurants and pubs, well, now you mention it, I enjoyed a Tennents in Robbies at the weekend and white pudding supper in that wee chippy at the top of Leith Walk. In fact, I was thinking of starting a regular thread mentioning these, but thought the content not directly Hibs-related or even football for that matter, so didn't bother.
On this note I now depart this thread as I am exhausted from repeating myself and having to put up with cocky, personal attacks. Please re-read my original thread and some of those that actually agree with the main thrust of my opening thread.

03-02-2010, 06:32 PM
This is brilliant and sums up Britain today. :cool2:

People cannae be trusted to do what they want without some nanny looking after them every step of the way. Remove all temptation etc. Give them a safety net etc. Don't let them bet, don't let them drink...what nonsense.

There is gambling and alcohol available 24/7 if you want it. More than ever. Can we not just trust people to do what they want?

FWIW I think there is already too much adminning on the main forum. A general wee chat about other games, results, fixed odds is what I would call "pub chat". It doesn't need to be just about Hibs. The common thread is we are (mostly) all Hibbies.

I quite enjoy reading about the odds available for scorers, results etc. and who has won a few quid and who hasn't. But I haven't had a bet since the Grand National last April. And I suspect most on this site are the same.

EskbankHibby
03-02-2010, 06:41 PM
This is a sad response EskbankHibby. You come across as the guy in the pub baiting for a response so you can deck someone. Your post adds nothing to the topic. It is personal and completely out of order. Next time, please, try and at least stick to debating the issues.

Hardly, i couldn't win a fight in a chip shop (copyright - John Hughes).

There are things in life to get annoyed about, correct forums for particular thread topics are not one of them.

You interpreted my attempt to add levity to a frankly pointless thread as a personal insult, that was not my intention so for that sir i apologise.

03-02-2010, 06:43 PM
Who is this bookie on here drumming up business? I think a couple of posters work in bookies and have been helpful a few times regarding rules. Half the big bookies staff don't even like their employers and like to help punters, the other half think they own the shops and are paying out their own money.

03-02-2010, 06:44 PM
I would have thought the irony of the OP posting a thread with no relation to 'The messageboard for all Hibs fans to chat about Hibs and football in general' would have stuck out more.

Nowhere does it mention that you should be making suggestions on the main board in relation to what is posted on the main board. :grr::grr::grr:

Get this to the dug out. :tee hee:

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 06:52 PM
Hardly, i couldn't win a fight in a chip shop (copyright - John Hughes).

There are things in life to get annoyed about, correct forums for particular thread topics are not one of them.

You interpreted my attempt to add levity to a frankly pointless thread as a personal insult, that was not my intention so for that sir i apologise.

Thank you. Your apology is accepted.
I entirely agree with your sentiments also regarding getting annoyed.
To be honest, I'm caught between regretting starting this thread and glad that i did. It's the first time I appear to have touched on a "touchy subject". It's been an eye-opener if nothing else.
Heres to the rest of what could be an incredible season for our beloved club
:party:

03-02-2010, 06:58 PM
Actually, I'd like to correct my previous statement about the number of gambling threads on this messageboard. There is in fact two.

I forgot about the sticky ***Win Hospitality Worth £600 With hibs.net & McEwan Fraser*** (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=172607)

£5 to enter and a £600 prize. All monies go to youth development.

I'll also mention at our AGM that these threads are now frowned upon by some.

03-02-2010, 07:00 PM
Ive seen and read it all now-Deary ****ing dear.

Its not rocket science chaps, If the thread title has no interest to you, dont CHOOSE to read it.

Get a grip FFS man!.

Andy i'm with you on this, i enjoy reading what other folk are betting on, i always have a look before i put my bets on, i reguarly post what bets i've put on. Just good banter, gives us gamblers a chance to look at what other gamblers tips and thoughts are.

Should the weekend betting slip have winning bets only!!! That would be my complaint that to many are not winners. As a Hibby i want us all to win each week!! Too many loosing bets on thread more winners needed:grr:

HAil HAil keep up the good work lads, looking 4ward t saturday's tips:notworthy:

03-02-2010, 07:04 PM
As pointed out earlier by others this forum can be used for posts regarding "football in general" AFAIAA the betting threads are almost exclusively football related, so, nothing further needs added, the threads are in the right place.

03-02-2010, 07:10 PM
Thank you. Your apology is accepted.
I entirely agree with your sentiments also regarding getting annoyed.
To be honest, I'm caught between regretting starting this thread and glad that i did. It's the first time I appear to have touched on a "touchy subject". It's been an eye-opener if nothing else.
Heres to the rest of what could be an incredible season for our beloved club
:party:

You haven't touched on a "touchy subject" at all. What you have done is demonstrate how irritated people get when over zealous rules and controls and placed on things. People get it just about all day, every day. Hibs.net is a wee escape I guess. Like nipping out for a pint dare I say.

And then they see a post that reminds them of the annoying real world!

Hibby D
03-02-2010, 07:19 PM
I would have thought the irony of the OP posting a thread with no relation to 'The messageboard for all Hibs fans to chat about Hibs and football in general' would have stuck out more.

Nowhere does it mention that you should be making suggestions on the main board in relation to what is posted on the main board. :grr::grr::grr:

Get this to the dug out. :tee hee:

See post 31 :na na:

03-02-2010, 07:22 PM
See post 31 :na na:

I literally read up to post #30 then quickly scrolled through the rest skimming to post! I was surprised at the lack of pedant in the 29 posts that followed the OP. :greengrin

miniboco
03-02-2010, 08:42 PM
I just won £80!!!! :thumbsup:

Anyway whats this thread about?
I don't see any odds... :confused:
I just saw the word 'betting', got excited and headed straight in...

My two cents are the o.p has a point in my eyes, but i do think that when it comes to betting threads if you don't want to read them then don't. Simple as.

If someone has a gambling problem (in which case i do feel very sorry for them) then they're going to have to put up with alot worse in life than going onto :hnet:'s main forum and seeing a 'weekend bets' thread, such as walking past bookies on the street, mates talking about gambling, all the adverts on tv, radio etc... so if they can handle that then i think they could handle not opening a thread up...

now if sevilla win tonight and athletico win tomorrow...:devil:

03-02-2010, 10:15 PM
So suggestions are not welcome?:rolleyes:

Of course they are.:greengrin

Private members have direct access to a Suggestion Box. They can get to it through the Private Members button at the top of the forum.
Alternatively all members can use the Contact Us facility at the bottom of the page. :thumbsup:

03-02-2010, 10:36 PM
Everytime I go to see Hibs home or away Im confronted with betting coupons. Think its because the majority of footie fans like a wee punt. Hibs make money on letting the area 2 Ladbrokes, corporate regulars + daytrippers have fun. part of football in the past, present + future so Sod off..!!

03-02-2010, 10:44 PM

Wouldn't have happened in my day :greengrin

Aye but in your day it wouldn't have made it to 31 posts - :wink:

PS. your link doesn't work. :greengrin

04-02-2010, 10:09 AM
im offering 3/1 that this gets to 7 pages. :greengrin