View Full Version : The Best Run Club In Scotland: Hibernian FC

noseyhibby
03-02-2010, 08:55 AM
I just had to say it before nipping off to work. What a joy it is to be a Hibby at this moment in time.
Well done Mr Petrie. You stuck to your guns and laid the foundations for our current success.
A wee trophy would be the icing on the cake.
Yep, I repeat: The best run club in Scotland.
:scarf::scarf::scarf::scarf::scarf::scarf::scarf:: scarf::scarf::scarf:

dirtydirk
03-02-2010, 09:11 AM
We actually at the moment dont have a care in the world. The stadiums good, we have amazing training facilities, the team are performing and the finances are fine when most clubs in scotland are struggling. We are light years ahead of any club in the league in terms of the structure and foundations of our club. Teams like rangers, the sheep, motherwell, dundee utd are only just starting to run their club the way we started doing it 6-7 years ago. Its a great time to be a hibee!

ArmadaleHibs
03-02-2010, 09:12 AM
Well said.

Rod Petrie has had a fair bit of stick on here over the years
but to be fair to him he has stuck by what he believed would
b the best direction for hibs and it's paid off big time.

I'm very proud to be a supporter of the best run and in my opinion
the club with the best fans in Scotland.

Ps. Is anyone looking forward to sing "cheer up Jimmy jeffries"
at PBS on our next visit. I canny wait.

03-02-2010, 09:40 AM
Wee shout for Scott Lindsay too? Guess the tache might have ultimate hold of the purse strings but the signings of Riordan, Stokes, Miller, etc. have all come since he took over as chief exec.

Kaiser_Sauzee
03-02-2010, 09:42 AM
I supported Rod's strategy right from the days when we were selling O'Connor and the likes. I could see his long term vision and knew it would be painful for a couple of years, but we are now seeing the fruit.

Welcome, everyone, to the "Happy Clapper" club. :greengrin

03-02-2010, 09:48 AM
Well done also to Tom Farmer, who helped us is times of troubles, put into place the monies and men to look after his investment. The big difference here is that Hibs are run as a business, unlike some clubs where the chairmen and main shareholders are supporters of their clubs and chuck money at them trying to buy success. Mr Farmer is a strong rugby supporter and only helped us out because of his affinity to the Leith community.

03-02-2010, 10:22 AM
People used to criticise Hibs for a lack of ambition.

Looks pretty good now though, eh? Our manager has huge ambitions for the club - as Yogi frequently says, we're "a million miles" from where he wants us to be. Doesn't that make the next few years sound exciting?

Sandy
03-02-2010, 10:29 AM
Whilst other clubs have to cut back due to overspending in the past, we can now push on and maybe just maybe enjoy some real success :scarf:

03-02-2010, 10:48 AM
I supported Rod's strategy right from the days when we were selling O'Connor and the likes. I could see his long term vision and knew it would be painful for a couple of years, but we are now seeing the fruit.

Welcome, everyone, to the "Happy Clapper" club. :greengrin

Me too, always said we would end up in a good position relative to the rest in the long run, not comfortable at the time but it is just beginning to show.

Of course having a decent manager also helps! When you look at the crowds and how much debt some of the others are in you've got to say this is a great opportunity to push way ahead of some of the them for the forseeable future.

Hearts are where we were just when we starting to take a stance on contracts with Fenwick, O'Neil etc yet they are in twice the debt probably!

03-02-2010, 10:50 AM
Me too, always said we would end up in a good position relative to the rest in the long run, not comfortable at the time but it is just beginning to show.

Of course having a decent manager also helps! When you look at the crowds and how much debt some of the others are in you've got to say this is a great opportunity to push way ahead of some of the them for the forseebale future.

Correct.

Lets push ahead in the next few years.

03-02-2010, 10:51 AM
Wee shout for Scott Lindsay too? Guess the tache might have ultimate hold of the purse strings but the signings of Riordan, Stokes, Miller, etc. have all come since he took over as chief exec.

The board have certainly backed yogi but if he gets us third that will cover the loss of setanta money and i believe there was a big chunk of the fletcher transfer fee still to come which would explain the signings in january and miller and stokes coming aboard.If we get a good cup run(semi/final)then im sure will break even for the season but the way yogi is speaking he wants to build a squad that will do well in europe(group stages europa league)and domestically as well.If we were to make the group stages as we saw with aberdeen then were looking at £2m coming into the coffers and that will further help squad building
For now though lets just enjoy whats on the pitch and the superb running of the club.btw there is still the £2-2.5m we will probably get for bamba in the summer.The future is bright the future is green and white. :thumbsup:

03-02-2010, 11:04 AM

Of course having a decent manager also helps! When you look at the crowds and how much debt some of the others are in you've got to say this is a great opportunity to push way ahead of some of the them for the forseeable future.

Hearts are where we were just when we starting to take a stance on contracts with Fenwick, O'Neil etc yet they are in twice the debt probably!

Yip, it was just really you and me that backed the tache, some people were just far too impatient for me, and couldn't see what was happening in front of their noses.

03-02-2010, 11:14 AM

Yes, but only because they are the BIG team. :wink:

03-02-2010, 11:14 AM
Yip, it was just really you and me that backed the tache, some people were just far too impatient for me, and couldn't see what was happening in front of their noses.

03-02-2010, 11:15 AM

03-02-2010, 11:20 AM

Yep, but when you were trying to persuade me that O'Brien was a player, that was too far. Still, I was willing to go with you and even carried the fight here myself on your behalf.

03-02-2010, 12:14 PM

Yep, but when you were trying to persuade me that O'Brien was a player, that was too far. Still, I was willing to go with you and even carried the fight here myself on your behalf.

:top marks Thought i might have caught someone there.:greengrin

Well done Hibs, you proved me wrong. :top marks:thumbsup::notworthy:

03-02-2010, 12:28 PM
Naw Naw Naw Naw Naw...ye's have this all wrong :blah:

We should be aiming to do more of these, a top ten tips to success, if ye will:

1) We should look to bring in an eastern-european footballing genius, with funds to rival Abramovich - this will help us to purchase fine footballers who will thereafter, help us attain success in the Champions League, "within 5 years"
2) The same master of the beatiful game will also "split the old firm" and "regularly challenge for the league", bagging cups regularly and will not lose out to lower league diddy teams
3) Along the way, we should expect him to bag some "Brazillian World Cup stars" of the finest quality and indeed, we should expect no less and firmly believe this will happen...
4) Again, this man should treat the associated media with the contempt they deserve and moreover, he should conduct all business in full public gaze - calling these people "monkeys" and banning them from your stadium is a pre-requisite and no publicity, is good publicity and the public "piss ripping" which will follow these actions, is in fact good for team morale
5) Obviously, with his plethora of coaching badges and years of experience, this guy should pick the team as he has all the relevant skills and indeed he can also, operate a fax machine - he can attain extra bonus points if he can sack your successful managers along the way into double figures and extra bonus points if he sacks your most successful manager within 5 years, on the eve of a derby defeat to your bitter rivals...
6) He needs to ensure he is caught on YouTube, smacking your player in the boat then laughing about it because this is how you run a professional fitba club
7) He might, of an evening, fancy a wee swarrayy into ballroom dancing and why the hell not? Hell, he'll go on National Telly to do this as you are "up the creek ****ed" and indeed, this is also good for team morale, dont ye know
8) All the while, he will ensure your debt continues to grow because he told you YEARS ago, nobody pays tax on a loss so, it's good to lose - remember this, it's going to underpin everything else
9) When times are quiet, why not get the ugliest people around and use them to ironically advertise the "beautiful" people - and all the joys a season ticket with your beloved club can bring - this is a marketing masterpiece and moreover, a work of art
10) If time permits, promise your 400,000 fans in waiting that you WILL build them a stadium to befit their needs, complete with a full banquetting suite, a hotel, a casino, a small city and indeed your very own, moored and available for private hire, nuclear sub.

ONLY when Hibs do all this, will we have arrived.

Don't argue, this be the word of the almighty. And thanks be to he :devil::devil:

ENDOF :thumbsup:

03-02-2010, 12:42 PM
Naw Naw Naw Naw Naw...ye's have this all wrong :blah:

We should be aiming to do more of these, a top ten tips to success, if ye will:

1) We should look to bring in an eastern-european footballing genius, with funds to rival Abramovich - this will help us to purchase fine footballers who will thereafter, help us attain success in the Champions League, "within 5 years"
2) The same master of the beatiful game will also "split the old firm" and "regularly challenge for the league", bagging cups regularly and will not lose out to lower league diddy teams
3) Along the way, we should expect him to bag some "Brazillian World Cup stars" of the finest quality and indeed, we should expect no less and firmly believe this will happen...
4) Again, this man should treat the associated media with the contempt they deserve and moreover, he should conduct all business in full public gaze - calling these people "monkeys" and banning them from your stadium is a pre-requisite and no publicity, is good publicity and the public "piss ripping" which will follow these actions, is in fact good for team morale
5) Obviously, with his plethora of coaching badges and years of experience, this guy should pick the team as he has all the relevant skills and indeed he can also, operate a fax machine - he can attain extra bonus points if he can sack your successful managers along the way into double figures and extra bonus points if he sacks your most successful manager within 5 years, on the eve of a derby defeat to your bitter rivals...
6) He needs to ensure he is caught on YouTube, smacking your player in the boat then laughing about it because this is how you run a professional fitba club
7) He might, of an evening, fancy a wee swarrayy into ballroom dancing and why the hell not? Hell, he'll go on National Telly to do this as you are "up the creek ****ed" and indeed, this is also good for team morale, dont ye know
8) All the while, he will ensure your debt continues to grow because he told you YEARS ago, nobody pays tax on a loss so, it's good to lose - remember this, it's going to underpin everything else
9) When times are quiet, why not get the ugliest people around and use them to ironically advertise the "beautiful" people - and all the joys a season ticket with your beloved club can bring - this is a marketing masterpiece and moreover, a work of art
10) If time permits, promise your 400,000 fans in waiting that you WILL build them a stadium to befit their needs, complete with a full banquetting suite, a hotel, a casino, a small city and indeed your very own, moored and available for private hire, nuclear sub.

ONLY when Hibs do all this, will we have arrived.

Don't argue, this be the word of the almighty. And thanks be to he :devil::devil:

ENDOF :thumbsup:

03-02-2010, 12:48 PM
There's an argument we are the best run club in the UK. I can't think of many clubs nearly as well run and relatively successful as we are at the moment.

03-02-2010, 12:51 PM
STF deserves the credit .. RP had us on a road to nowhere until, post the SKY deal collapse, STF established the ground rules IMHO. We're in a great place now though - no doubt :agree:

03-02-2010, 12:57 PM
If ever we win that trophy, that must not be named. we'll know that we earned it, not bought it.

27-05-2015, 12:17 PM
The Best Run Club In Scotland.

So, where did it all go wrong as we get ready for another year in the lower league of Scottish football.?

27-05-2015, 12:23 PM
We lost out to the two worst run clubs in scottish football history.

27-05-2015, 12:24 PM

Clydebank and Third Lanark?

27-05-2015, 12:25 PM
I'm waiting on the thread crash --------------------- anytime now.

:duck:

27-05-2015, 12:28 PM

So, where did it all go wrong as we get ready for another year in the lower league of Scottish football.?

Well, five YEARS on and I stand by all I posted in this thread. Everything I said was true of the mad one and not once did I suggest Petrie was the Messiah. That makes me still right 5 years on? :na na:

...As I said back then, Petrie done a lot of the wrong things and he also done the right things at the wrong time. East Mains and the East Stand......both great. Won us **** all tho. :rolleyes:

Anyways, now is not the time to give passing yam trolls amo.

ENDOF

27-05-2015, 12:53 PM
Exactly what was the point in resurrecting this thread?

27-05-2015, 12:55 PM
Clydebank and Third Lanark?

Were they in the SPL 5 years ago.?

27-05-2015, 12:57 PM

So we could all give Petrie an overdue kicking? :confused::greengrin

27-05-2015, 12:59 PM
The OP still holds true .... It was cocking up football matters that screwed us, not so much off the pitch, though failure to sufficiently invest in the playing side cost us big time. As I said many times, the failure of the people running the club to realise that investment on the pitch can lead to financial rewards off it cost us dearly.

27-05-2015, 01:01 PM
Were they in the SPL 5 years ago.?

It was in response to this post:-

27-05-2015, 01:11 PM

Because I don't think we discuss the issue enough on this Board.

27-05-2015, 01:14 PM
I think Hibs lost it after the Training Centre was built, I think we grew the club without growing the staff behind it. Scott Lindsay and Fife Hyland leaving without being replaced was an incredibly bad decision and the club was essentially rudderless until Leeann Dempster came in.

She re-structured and out a backroom team in place that is relative to the size of the club.

That, and appointing Terry ****ing Butcher, IMHO, was where it all went wrong.

27-05-2015, 01:26 PM

Well, that's me caught out with my ill-founded optimism 5 years ago.

It was clearly built on sand - the squad that Yogi bought was hollowed out, he wasn't as good as we hoped he would be, and Petrie sacked him in the usual run up to the AGM.

And then it really fell to pieces.

27-05-2015, 01:44 PM
So we could all give Petrie an overdue kicking? :confused::greengrin

Because I don't think we discuss the issue enough on this Board.

Fair enough, silly me.

27-05-2015, 01:51 PM
It was in response to this post:-

Were they 2 really run worse than Rangers and the yams.

27-05-2015, 01:53 PM

No mate, they just didn't get away with it.

p.s. Just because you're feeling a bit grumpy, there's no need to inflict it on the rest of us

27-05-2015, 01:57 PM

Yep, as they're no longer around.

Yould also add Airdrieonians and Gretna to that list.

And Livi and Dundee, since they've each had more insolvencies than The Hun Twosome.

seanshow
27-05-2015, 02:09 PM

....we reminisce of days gone by for no particular reason.

27-05-2015, 03:20 PM
Much has changed since 2010 but the people backing Petrie remain the same.
:-)

27-05-2015, 03:23 PM
So it's true. If you smoke enough weed you can actually travel back in time.

27-05-2015, 04:31 PM
Much has changed since 2010 but the people backing Petrie remain the same.
:-)

No me. I've since turned on the barsteward.

27-05-2015, 06:18 PM
No me. I've since turned on the barsteward.
So classy!

27-05-2015, 06:21 PM
I think Hibs lost it after the Training Centre was built, I think we grew the club without growing the staff behind it. Scott Lindsay and Fife Hyland leaving without being replaced was an incredibly bad decision and the club was essentially rudderless until Leeann Dempster came in.

She re-structured and out a backroom team in place that is relative to the size of the club.

Pretty much spot on.

27-05-2015, 08:14 PM

I saw a series of seemingly unconnected red flags that made me raise my eyebrows.....

Strangely, the first was when Tony Mowbray strongly supported Zibi in the press and extended his contract.....that one still puzzles me

Fast forward and Mixu signed Joe Keenan, a player who had just been freed by an Australian club because he was not good enough, and here we were embracing him.......

press the button again and Yogi signed some dross, and his post match talks left me thinking I must be on another planet because I simply did not know what he meant half the time.....an example was his ....making Hibs a centre of excellence for goalkeepers etc.......fine for goalies but what about the rest of the positions?

Move on to Pat Fenlon.
A good man who was a wee bit out of his depth.
Hibs fans were looking for an inspirational biggish name manager at this time to raise morale...and we got Pat
Mike Riley was lambasted for suggesting Petrie went for the 'cheaper' option, but he was right

Last ..the Butcher
A man who was described as 'Neanderthal' in his approach when coaching in a Sydney and subsequently sacked was appointed on the basis of purely his reputation at Inverness.
Hopefully the due diligence done by Hibs when now appointing a manager has increased in sophistication somewhat

I don't think there was one particular thing that caused our sudden fall from grace - if I was to suggest one it would be the loss of the so called Golden Generation and our replacing of them with sub standard players - nor do I suggest any one of my red flags on their own was to blame..I think it was a cumulative process.

27-05-2015, 08:21 PM
I saw a series of seemingly unconnected red flags that made me raise my eyebrows.....

Strangely, the first was when Tony Mowbray strongly supported Zibi in the press and extended his contract.....that one still puzzles me

Fast forward and Mixu signed Joe Keenan, a player who had just been freed by an Australian club because he was not good enough, and here we were embracing him.......

press the button again and Yogi signed some dross, and his post match talks left me thinking I must be on another planet because I simply did not know what he meant half the time.....an example was his ....making Hibs a centre of excellence for goalkeepers etc.......fine for goalies but what about the rest of the positions?

Move on to Pat Fenlon.
Hibs fans were looking for an inspirational biggish name manager at this time to raise morale...and we got Pat
Mike Riley was lambasted for suggesting Petrie went for the 'cheaper' option, but he was right

Last ..the Butcher
A man who was described as 'Neanderthal' in his approach when coaching in a Sydney and subsequently sacked was appointed on the basis of purely his reputation at Inverness.
Hopefully the due diligence done by Hibs when now appointing a manager has increased in sophistication somewhat

I don't think there was one particular thing that caused our sudden fall from grace - if I was to suggest one it would be the loss of the so called Golden Generation and our replacing of them with sub standard players - nor do I suggest any one of my red flags on their own was to blame..I think it was a cumulative process.

All under the strong leadership of one Roderick Petrie.

27-05-2015, 08:23 PM

:agree: Look at the Motherwell since she left

27-05-2015, 08:35 PM
All under the strong leadership of one Roderick Petrie.

I actually had something similar as my last line in my epic tome of a post, but deleted it, almost to see if anyone could join the dots.

Yes, Mr P is the common thread.

27-05-2015, 08:46 PM

Move on to Pat Fenlon.

Last ..the Butcher

Not forgetting Colin "bag of sweeties" Calderwood.

27-05-2015, 09:33 PM

Not had a season ticket since that summer. :-(

27-05-2015, 09:57 PM

I'm trying hard to forget him.

27-05-2015, 10:17 PM

I think you are secretly craving further trips to Cowdenbeath Promotion would of Deprived you of that:wink:. Rod will no doubt publish his memoirs one day and it will all come out in the wash where he thinks he went wrong but his determination to try and emulate the success of Mowbry meant he couldn't see he was getting it wrong and step down from appointing the next Manager .dont know if others on the board tried to persuade him and he wouldn't listen
The vision and Transformation of the Club since Leeann came in has been Tangible and forward thinking but happened at the worst possible time is we were already relegated So who knows what may have happened if we has stayed up .
Since Training Centre was built we haven't produced a player that has then been sold for a large fee and the fore it hasn't paid for its self but has taken money away from playing budget ,but it has helped attract players to sign for the Club and now we have the changed Structure and Stubbs and his back room Team this should now change things as Leeann stated right at the outset that one of her main priorities was to sort the Disconnect between the Academy and the First Team but that will take a few years to come to Fruition

27-05-2015, 10:42 PM
So classy!

28-05-2015, 11:33 AM
....and in addition, everything I said (ME) about the sub-mariner was right so GIRFUY all :na na: :na na: :na na: :greengrin

But, in seriousness. Some of us didnt think the ship was right all along. Sorry, but we didnt.

It come down to a matter of priority and its simple as that. We choose how we spend money...we spent some of it wrongly I believe. Had we invested more on the pitch and less of it, infrastructurally we'd have been weaker but momentum would have continued, success would have stood more of a chance and some of the utter pish that was signed (again, often due to the pennypinching) may not have materialised.

Forza is correct tho - this is a series of **** ups that all built on eachother in a negative vicious circle.

However, canny change it now eh.

So, lets hope to fek Leann carries on as she started. I have some faith in her based on her actions so far. I have none in petrie and nothing anyone ever tells me will change that. Sorry, thats MY take on it.

AndyM_1875
28-05-2015, 11:56 AM
Rod is undoubtedly a good club Chairman who knows the ropes at the SFA and can represent the club there in the committees
Rod can go to the SFA when Campbell Ogilvie steps down.

He was however a bloody rotten Chief Executive who tried to combine this job with his duties at Chairman and made an utter Horlicks of it through his failure to delegate and structure the club. The Chief Executive of a club like Hibs needs vision, the ability to delegate and listen to the concerns of supporters and put in place a structure and to run the day to day business of the club as well as holding a good accessible media profile. Rod did none of these.

Our club had stagnated and atrophied since 2007 due to the club's structure being wrong and Rod meddling where he should not have.
So in all these things it is more obvious than ever that we have the right person in Leeann Dempster to lead our club forward. Her changes won't be immediate but we are on the right road now.

28-05-2015, 12:02 PM
It's not immediately clear to me that Rod is doing a great job at the SFA?
They seem to be as badly run as ever since he went there.