View Full Version : Yams Hearts sign Ryan Stevenson

Hibs07p
01-02-2010, 01:25 PM
Ryan Stevens(son)? Ayr midfielder, according to SSN.

01-02-2010, 01:25 PM
Ryan Stevenson Ayr midfielder, according to SSN.

Not good enough for St. Johnstone

01-02-2010, 01:26 PM
Update on SSN that Hearts are in talks with Ayr United midfielder Ryan Stevenson.

Not wanting to sound too snobish about lower league football as i think there's probably some bargains to be had there but is it fair to say he won't be one of the world cup stars?

persevere1875
01-02-2010, 01:26 PM

:faf: Must be quality

hibbie02
01-02-2010, 01:28 PM
Not good enough for St. Johnstone

Aye but St J beat the Yams, ipso facto he must be superior to what they have already. :greengrin

01-02-2010, 01:29 PM
:faf: Must be quality

I remember us mocking similarly when they signed some nobody called Webster from Arbroath.

Ayr Utd better make sure it's cash up front.

01-02-2010, 01:34 PM
Update on SSN that Hearts are in talks with Ayr United midfielder Ryan Stevenson.

Not wanting to sound too snobish about lower league football as i think there's probably some bargains to be had there but is it fair to say he won't be one of the world cup stars?

He had a bit of ability (right sided attacking mid), was at Chelsea as a kid, but had a stinking attitude and never really cut it at Saints. He got marginalised as Coyle improved the team a few years back and was binned (initially on loan) to Ayr. In fairness he has done pretty well for them at a lower level.

I remember us mocking similarly when they signed some nobody called Webster from Arbroath.

Ayr Utd better make sure it's cash up front.

Webster was a kid when he was signed by the Yams.

Stevenson is 25 (26 in March) and has been binned by more than one club.

Aye but St J beat the Yams, ipso facto he must be superior to what they have already. :greengrin

I should clarify.

Not good enough for St. Johnstone when they were in the First Division.

:eek:

I guess Jefferies must have rated him from when he played in one of those Killie v Ayr cup ties.

01-02-2010, 01:39 PM
My mate's a ST holder at Somerset Park, Stevenson is capable of scoring the odd wonder goal (youtube him and there is an amazing Maradona style one) but bar that he's a bit average.

01-02-2010, 01:45 PM
My mate's a ST holder at Somerset Park, Stevenson is capable of scoring the odd wonder goal (youtube him and there is an amazing Maradona style one) but bar that he's a bit average.

That sounds about right.

ie he has ability, but has never produced on anything like a consistent basis because of (very) poor attitude.

01-02-2010, 01:46 PM
He had a bit of ability (right sided attacking mid), was at Chelsea as a kid, but had a stinking attitude and never really cut it at Saints. He got marginalised as Coyle improved the team a few years back and was binned (initially on loan) to Ayr. In fairness he has done pretty well for them at a lower level.

Webster was a kid when he was signed by the Yams.

Stevenson is 25 (26 in March) and has been binned by more than one club.

I should clarify.

Not good enough for St. Johnstone when they were in the First Division.

:eek:

I guess Jefferies must have rated him from when he played in one of those Killie v Ayr cup ties.

Just to make sure i'm getting this right hearts fans took the piss out of us for appointing a manager from a team near the bottom of the league, they then take the piss out of us for signing players near the bottom of the Premier league?

Can everyone else see the irony of there transfer window movements? :greengrin

The jealousy is definately oozing as I type this :agree:

01-02-2010, 01:50 PM

Whats happened to the world cup stars etc.? Seem to have changed direction by stealth and all the yam muppets lap it up cos this was really the plan all along and Vlad was only joking (honest guv) when he claimed world domination. Now he cant be arsed. Have yams absolutely no self esteem? I think we can work it out.

Lmc2105
01-02-2010, 05:37 PM
Scott Severin has signed for Kilmarnock ... and also hearts are close to Securing Ryan Stevenson From Ayr United

01-02-2010, 05:40 PM
Scott Severin has signed for Kilmarnock ... and also hearts are close to Securing Ryan Stevenson From Ayr United

signed for "five figure sum" per RS

welcome to your St. Johnstone reject, guys

01-02-2010, 05:42 PM
signed for "five figure sum" per rs

£129.99?

01-02-2010, 05:44 PM
£129.99?

Can't be too much, because it's obviously not a "Romanov signing", so to speak. Jefferies must be signing him with whatever funds they have on hand without tapping up Romanov.

Hakim Sar
01-02-2010, 07:40 PM
robertson his surname?? only just caught it on the radio

anyone confirm?

01-02-2010, 07:41 PM
I hope Ayr get their money upfront!!!

BH.

01-02-2010, 07:42 PM
robertson his surname?? only just caught it on the radio

anyone confirm?

Ryan Stevenson - I've seen him a couple of times - decent player, whether SPL ''class'' only time, and Chick Young, will tell

the_ginger_hibee
01-02-2010, 07:43 PM
Ryan Stevenson - I've seen him a couple of times - decent player, whether SPL ''class'' only time, and Chick Young, will tell

I'll wait until the Shaun Lawson thesis to decide.

01-02-2010, 07:45 PM
"Best prospect in the lower leagues" says my jambo mate who has obviously never heard of the laddie.

Engels74
01-02-2010, 07:46 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ryan_Stevenson (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ryan_Stevenson)

who's hacked this page already?????:greengrin

'He signed for Hearts on the 1st of February 2010 for an undisclosed five figure sum, with Rocky Balboa going the other way on loan.':thumbsup:

hibeeleicester
01-02-2010, 07:46 PM
Must be a PM wind up!!

heidtheba
01-02-2010, 07:47 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ryan_Stevenson (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ryan_Stevenson)

who's hack this page already?????:greengrin

'He signed for Hearts (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Heart_of_Midlothian_F.C.) on the 1st of February 2010 for an undisclosed five figure sum, with Rocky Balboa (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Rocky_Balboa) going the other way on loan.':thumbsup:

Hehe - was told by my Hearts mate that when Rocky Viconte (sp?) was first read out in the team that some Jambo with a sense of humour yelled out "is that no a chocolate biscuit!"

Engels74
01-02-2010, 07:50 PM
Hehe - was told by my Hearts mate that when Rocky Viconte (sp?) was first read out in the team that some Jambo with a sense of humour yelled out "is that no a chocolate biscuit!"

01-02-2010, 07:51 PM
Ryan Stevenson signs for Hearts - Saints reaction (http://www.weareperth.co.uk/vforum/showthread.php?t=11493&page=33)

1. Good

2. Sucks to be a Jambo

Green_one
01-02-2010, 07:56 PM
Great signing

We can kiss 3rd place goodbye:cool2:

Hope Jambo Jim signs more of these 'gems'

Sounds like Kyle is not going to happen.

Engels74
01-02-2010, 08:00 PM

who's hacked this page already?????:greengrin

'He signed for Hearts on the 1st of February 2010 for an undisclosed five figure sum, with Rocky Balboa going the other way on loan.':thumbsup:

Now been changed to Rocky Visconte!!:greengrin

01-02-2010, 08:03 PM
Has this been confirmed anywhere yet?

couldn't see it on the hearts website but they were reported to be in talks with him at lunch time :confused:

01-02-2010, 08:04 PM
I must admit to feeling a wee bit sorry for Shabby...crying out for a striker for 2 windows ...in fact to be allowed any player of his choice...get Nade (in every sense:wink:)

JJ is in the door 5 minutes and is dragging players though behind him .... big change from the Mad one..assuming fees & players actually get paid

01-02-2010, 08:10 PM
Has this been confirmed anywhere yet?

couldn't see it on the hearts website but they were reported to be in talks with him at lunch time :confused:

They're making bloody hard work of signing an obscure Division 1 player with nobody but St Mirren for competition.

sixtwo
01-02-2010, 08:11 PM
Great signing for them. He already has first division experience. exactly the type of player they'll need next season:thumbsup:

01-02-2010, 08:13 PM
confirmed by Daily Rangers (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/02/01/hearts-land-ayr-striker-ryan-stevenson-86908-22011906/)

Rocky Visconte (not Rocky Balboa or Rocky Robin) going on loan in the opposite direction.

Hearts blatantly taking the piss out of the written press; Visconte was put up for interviews about tomorrow night's league cup game.

Oscar Lomax
01-02-2010, 08:13 PM
The only thing Ryan Stevenson should be used for, is at the end off Blackpool Pier as 'The Tatooed Lady'.....anybody seen the guy? He is tattoed from head to foot......apparently Mixu was interested in signing this guy(that tells you something eh)....Personally I think its laughable that the Yams would dip so far in to the realms off obscurity to sign a ......living canvas?

01-02-2010, 08:15 PM
The only thing Ryan Stevenson should be used for, is at the end off Blackpool Pier as 'The Tatooed Lady'.....anybody seen the guy? He is tattoed from head to foot......apparently Mixu was interested in signing this guy(that tells you something eh)....Personally I think its laughable that the Yams would dip so far in to the realms off obscurity to sign a ......living canvas?

http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00557/Ryan_280x390_557085a.jpg

01-02-2010, 08:21 PM

I take it he can kick the ball quite far?

01-02-2010, 09:43 PM
Heard Billy Dodds bigging the guy up recently and saying he hoped QOTS would be signing him soon - I guess that kinda sums it up really :greengrin

01-02-2010, 09:52 PM
Heard Billy Dodds bigging the guy up recently and saying he hoped QOTS would be signing him soon - I guess that kinda sums it up really :greengrin

Even their fans weren't sure about him, judging by P&B

01-02-2010, 09:59 PM
Even their fans weren't sure about him, judging by P&B

Indeed!

Lad has had a half decent run of games recently I'm told so that must have convinced JJ to buy him

01-02-2010, 10:02 PM
To be fair...Mr ROW-MAN -OFF did sya he was changing the direction of teh club and instead of squandering money on over-rated players they would start signing up all of teh domestic young talent and build a strong team that could all come through together and bring honour and glory to teh heart and (R)sole of the City.

Top marks to the Yam scouting network for managing to pinpoint this amaxing natural talent before anyone else even noticed.

I fully expect this signing to be spreading tar full-time through the night on the M8 in around 18 months.

:bye:

01-02-2010, 10:06 PM
Hearts website is a hoot

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20100201/over-the-moon-but-determined_2241384_1952550

"I am over the moon that I've been able to come to a club this size," he told Hearts News in an exclusive interview here at Tynecastle tonight.

"When I woke up this morning I never imagined I would be coming here. It's a bit surreal. Outside the Old Firm this is definitely the biggest club so I am over the moon that I am going to be here.

"I can't wait to get started but I am just disappointed that I am cup-tied for tomorrow night. I am dying to get my head down and make an impression."

Manager Jim Jefferies has identified him as an attacking player, who will offer great support to the forward at Tynecastle.

Perhaps something of an unknown to Hearts supporters, he's regarded as one of the finest midfielders outside the Clydesdale Bank Premier League.

Of course Ryan is far more modest than that. "I am a central midfielder who likes to get forward and score goals," he explained.

"I like to try and help my team-mates out. I work hard and if I can get forward and score goals which is what I like to do."

The big plus for Ryan was the return of Jim Jefferies to Tynecastle as manager on Friday. Having been identified by the former Kilmarnock boss, Ryan is eager to make his mark, just over ten years after leaving the club's academy set up for Chelsea.

"It was the manager who is here just now who was in charge," Ryan continued. "It is amazing how things work out.

"Obviously Chelsea came calling and I could not turn that down. To come back here, playing in the first team will make me very proud.

"Jim Jefferies showed an interest in me when he was at Kilmarnock. He's obviously one of the best managers in British football.

"Hopefully I can become a regular and push the club on to a top three or four finish.

"It will only help me if I am playing with better players. I know I have my work cut out but I don't just want to be a squad player.

"I want to show people that I am good enough to play in the Hearts team. I know it will be hard but I will work hard very single day to achieve that."

Methinks Ryan is getting a bit mixed up. He was already at Chelsea by the time Jumbo showed up at Killie. In fact, he signed for Saints (having been binned by Chelsea) only a few months after Jefferies went to Killie.

sauzee
01-02-2010, 10:08 PM
came home from work tonight,jj had left a message on ma answer machines asking if a had 34 tattoos and i could return his call:faf::faf:

01-02-2010, 10:08 PM
Hearts website is a hoot

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20100201/over-the-moon-but-determined_2241384_1952550 (http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20100201/over-the-moon-but-determined_2241384_1952550)

Methinks Ryan is getting a bit mixed up. He was already at Chelsea by the time Jumbo showed up at Killie. In fact, he signed for Saints (having been binned by Chelsea) only a few months after Jefferies went to Killie.

They're determination to be regarded as a big club is hilarious :faf:

the_ginger_hibee
01-02-2010, 10:10 PM
Pedantic was right, they are smacked off their tits.

01-02-2010, 10:10 PM
Manager Jim Jefferies has identified him as an attacking player, who will offer great support to the forward at Tynecastle.
What? They actually have one?

the_ginger_hibee
01-02-2010, 10:14 PM
Outside the Old Firm this is definitely the biggest club so I am over the moon that I am going to be here.

Tow the party line son, your learning fast.

01-02-2010, 10:15 PM
Quote:

this is the only support Nade can expect for the rest of the season...

hibee bouncer
01-02-2010, 10:52 PM
They got their world cup star yet??

Or a striker at that?! :notworthy:!

HibeeMcGinn1
01-02-2010, 11:07 PM
Well ive been told that Barcelona offered them Iniesta and Xavi for Black and Steward but they turned it down.

whereswallace?
01-02-2010, 11:16 PM
Whats the general opinion on 14pointsback about their big signing then?

01-02-2010, 11:16 PM
Well they've paid a five figure sum for Stevenson from Ayr

I have it on good authority that the transfer will be funded here

http://www.heartsdirect.co.uk/home.php?cat=222

hibee bouncer
01-02-2010, 11:22 PM
Can't laugh at that manky lot enough! All those years where they were the 'bigger' team in the capital due to us not spending money etc!

Vladimir Romanov.......Hearts legend!

Rod Petrie.....hibs legend!

01-02-2010, 11:25 PM
http://www.heartsdirect.co.uk/images/hearts/T/maroon%20badge%20tee.jpg

Can see who's this kid's BIG hero.... :devil:

01-02-2010, 11:31 PM
http://www.heartsdirect.co.uk/images/hearts/T/maroon%20badge%20tee.jpg

Can see who's this kid's BIG hero.... :devil:

what about the kingston t-shirt!!!:faf::faf::faf::faf:

01-02-2010, 11:32 PM
Can't laugh at that manky lot enough! All those years where they were the 'bigger' team in the capital due to us not spending money etc!

Vladimir Romanov.......hibs legend!

Rod Petrie.....hibs legend!

Sorted that for you. :wink:

01-02-2010, 11:36 PM
Romanov is a Hibbie:thumbsup:

02-02-2010, 12:48 AM
Great quote from 'Jeff' about the signing if Ryan Stevenson:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8492570.stm

"I had to beat off several Premier League clubs for his signature."

Sorry Jeff, but if you got to spend 5 grand on a player, the only person you had to beat off for his signature was Mister Romanov himself.

02-02-2010, 03:00 AM
Well they've paid a five figure sum for Stevenson from Ayr

I have it on good authority that the transfer will be funded here

http://www.heartsdirect.co.uk/home.php?cat=222

When did we start including the decimal points in transfer fees???

kevo1875
02-02-2010, 05:26 AM
an excellent piece of business by jumbo , snatch a player away from one of their closest rivals noses, he could be the difference between finishing 7th instead of 8th :faf:

Davy Mac
02-02-2010, 05:58 AM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8492570.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8492570.stm)

Sorry Jeff, but if you got to spend 5 grand on a player, the only person you had to beat off for his signature was Mister Romanov himself.

The usual ditty rolled I see..........

"Outside the Old Firm, this is definitely the biggest club, so I am over the moon that I am going to be here.

Never quite understood why Hertz continually come out with this stuff :yawn:

down the slope
02-02-2010, 07:08 AM
I see they have re signed Nade for another two years....yes it's true, just when you thought it cold not get any funnier over there they go and do this.

02-02-2010, 07:33 AM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8492570.stm

The actual quote was ""We've had to beat off a number of Premier League clubs to get his services, but there's no huge fee."

0 is a number, isn't it?

02-02-2010, 07:37 AM
What about this for a quote from the new colourful Yam;

"Jim Jefferies showed an interest in me when he was at Kilmarnock. He is obviously one of the best managers in British football."

That's a beaut. :faf::faf::faf:

02-02-2010, 07:54 AM
Watch them try to convince themselves this guy is any good and that they wouldn't have taken Gow anyway...

Mind you, Yams would not recognise a decent striker anyway - it so long since they've seen one in a maroon shirt!

02-02-2010, 07:56 AM
What about this for a quote from the new colourful Yam;

"Jim Jefferies showed an interest in me when he was at Kilmarnock. He is obviously one of the biggest mingers in British football."
sorted the typo there.

02-02-2010, 08:04 AM
sorted the typo there.

Either that, or Stevenson meant "one of the biggest managers" literally.

02-02-2010, 08:56 AM
Like Celtic fans have to be told that every single signing is a "Celtic man", the Yams have to be convinced every single signing sees them as a "big team".

Paranoia is a bitch:agree:

02-02-2010, 09:02 AM
Just how good is it to be a Hibs fan just now,hertz sign the local down and out, we keep on making good signings and steal Gow from under their noses,sorry hertz money doesnt talk,good fitba and a steady club is all you need,Barr whit a tube,money over fitba.

02-02-2010, 10:01 AM

another transfer widow shuts and the big team have done hee haw.

blatantly obvious they need strikers but still they dont get anyone?

gow,kyle, lee miller were all there to be had but they didnt

vlad really doesnt give a dam does he.

:cool2:

Dipped flake
02-02-2010, 11:05 AM
Hearts website is a hoot

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20100201/over-the-moon-but-determined_2241384_1952550 (http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20100201/over-the-moon-but-determined_2241384_1952550)

Sorry but you misread this. He means that he was at the Hearts Academy when Jeffries was manager.

02-02-2010, 06:27 PM

If only Plan F knew.....

02-02-2010, 06:44 PM
Remember the Yams trying to convince everyone that their Spanish non-league waiter, Susan, and centre-half nobody Bouzhid were going to take the SPL by storm.

They weren't wrong.:greengrin

02-02-2010, 07:24 PM
Sorry but you misread this. He means that he was at the Hearts Academy when Jeffries was manager.

Okey-dokey, I thought he was at Killie since he is from that area (Irvine).

03-02-2010, 12:16 AM
I can`t believe nobody has made the connection between Ryan Stevenson and last week`s edition of "Off the Ball". Cosgrove and Cowan were talking about funny or memorable youtube clips, and Cowan mentioned this video of Stevenson scoring an amazing goal for Ayr (it`s not that good actually) and he was banging on about it for ages.

One can only assume that Hearts heard this player being praised to the high heavens on the BBC`s no. 1 football comedy show and thought he would be the perfect player for Scotland`s no. 1 comedy team.