View Full Version : List all the Hibs goalkeepers in History.

31-01-2010, 11:48 PM
Rules :

1. Only one name per poster ! If you want to list 2 or 3 , well , you can't. One only.
2. You can post on the thread before or after your named keeper but only to discuss already named keepers.
3. Start from the present and work our way back.
4. You can point out if someone has a Keeper in the wrong order but you cant say what place he should be in.
5. Keeper must have started at least one match.
6. Keepers who have been on our books twice must still be listed in the correct order.
7. First team keepers only.
8. All Keepers must be listed in order of date they played for the club.

Please keep to the rules. If you dont like them , dont post please.

I'll start.......

Greame Smith:greengrin
Maka (Radge)
Stack (Raw.rr)
szamotulski (hibee rab)
McNeil (Capt Mannering)(rule break there but i'll let it slide as we have moved on)
Ali Brown (Mckenzie 1875) (another wee rule break, sorry)
Zibbi (Hainan Hibs)
Simon Brown (Martin fae Porty)
Anderson (Storar)

31-01-2010, 11:49 PM
Yves Makalamby.

31-01-2010, 11:49 PM
Graham Stack.

Archie70
31-01-2010, 11:50 PM
Never read the RULES!

31-01-2010, 11:53 PM
Mr Stack

Why have we sooooo many keepers i really think brown is a waste of a wage he was going nowhere and we could have got him in the summer if required.

Are Yves and Stack away ?

I hope we keep yves I still think there is a keeper there

HIBERNIAN 1875
31-01-2010, 11:53 PM
Nick Colgan

davym7062
31-01-2010, 11:54 PM
anderson??

Capt Mainwaring
31-01-2010, 11:56 PM
Andy McNeill

31-01-2010, 11:57 PM
So far......

Smith
Maka
Stack
McNeil

Hibee_Rab
31-01-2010, 11:58 PM
So far......

Smith
Maka
Stack
McNeil

Missed out szamotulski:wink: Or does he go after mcneil, is it on when we signed them or when they left?

01-02-2010, 12:00 AM
Missed out szamotulski:wink:

Is that your one and only guess then ?

01-02-2010, 12:01 AM
The legend that is,

Malkowski

Hibee_Rab
01-02-2010, 12:03 AM

Is that your one and only guess then ?

Yeah, and it wasn't a guess cos it was right :greengrin

01-02-2010, 12:05 AM
So ,
Smith
Maka
Stack
szamotulski
McNeil (rule break there but i'll let it slide as we have moved on:greengrin)
Zibi:grr:

MartinfaePorty
01-02-2010, 12:11 AM
Simon Brown

01-02-2010, 12:14 AM
Does Darren Jackson count for when we get that far?

01-02-2010, 12:15 AM
Does Darren Jackson count for when we get that far?

Nice one :thumbsup:

But no !:cool2:

Forgot all about that:greengrin

KanyeWestLower
01-02-2010, 12:16 AM
Alistair Brown

01-02-2010, 12:16 AM
So ,
Smith
Maka
Stack
szamotulski
McNeil (rule break there but i'll let it slide as we have moved on:greengrin)
Zibi:grr:

Simon Brown

:hnet:

01-02-2010, 12:17 AM
Alistair Brown

Did he play a first team game ?

HibbyScott
01-02-2010, 12:20 AM
Did he play a first team game ?

Played Mowbray's first Intertoto tie IIRC?

KanyeWestLower
01-02-2010, 12:20 AM
Yep was subbed on for simon brown, not sure who it was against thu?

01-02-2010, 12:21 AM
Yep was subbed on for simon brown, not sure who it was against thu?

Rules state that he must have started the match to be included.

Is he in the right order ?

MartinfaePorty
01-02-2010, 12:27 AM
Did Ally Brown not play both legs of the Inter-tatty, as we had no one else on the books? He would then be before S Brown.

01-02-2010, 12:33 AM
Did Ally Brown not play both legs of the Inter-tatty, as we had no one else on the books? He would then be before S Brown.

So he would have played before Zibbi too ???

01-02-2010, 12:34 AM
Simon Brown would have been before Zibbi too eh ?

I'll get this sorted !! Honest:greengrin

01-02-2010, 12:35 AM
Smith (Me)
Maka (Radge)
Stack (Raw.rr)
szamotulski (hibee rab)
McNeil (Capt Mannering)(rule break there but i'll let it slide as we have moved on:greengrin)
Zibbi (Hainan Hibs)
Anderson (Storar)

Is that right so far ?

01-02-2010, 12:40 AM
Ally Brown should be between Andersson and Simon I think

Smith (Me)
Maka (Radge)
Stack (Raw.rr)
szamotulski (hibee rab)
McNeil (Capt Mannering)(rule break there but i'll let it slide as we have moved on)
Zibbi (Hainan Hibs)
Anderson (Storar)

Cheers . Im struggling to list them in order never mind think of the keepers:greengrin

01-02-2010, 12:46 AM
Hyldegaard?

01-02-2010, 12:49 AM
Hyldegaard?

I remember being impressed that we had signed him but did he play ?

Blooby signed him eh ?

'Mon the Hibs
01-02-2010, 12:51 AM
Nick Colgan

01-02-2010, 12:52 AM
I remember being impressed that we had signed him but did he play ?

Blooby signed him eh ?

Yeah him and Andersson signed in the same summer but bar one showing in the sadly missed Festival Cup I don't recall him getting a game.

Before that would be Colgan then, I think?

01-02-2010, 12:54 AM
Nick Colgan

Thats what i was thinking but i'm waiting on Hyldegaard confirmation

01-02-2010, 12:55 AM
Jim Herriot

01-02-2010, 12:55 AM
Soccerbase says no appearance information for Hydlgaard which suggests he didn't play a competitive game. So it's then Colgan and my next guess

Mike Franks!

edit - maybe Caig before Franks.

01-02-2010, 12:56 AM
Yeah him and Andersson signed in the same summer but bar one showing in the sadly missed Festival Cup I don't recall him getting a game.

Before that would be Colgan then, I think?

If he started that match , i will include him.
Who played first him or Anderson ?

01-02-2010, 12:57 AM
Thats the wife ready for me :greengrin
I'm away to my bed.

I'm betting this will be a shambles in the morning :thumbsup:

01-02-2010, 12:58 AM
If he started that match , i will include him.
Who played first him or Anderson ?

Andersson, who it turns out was with us the season before which I can't recall, I could have sworn he was only with us for a year.

01-02-2010, 01:25 AM
Thats the wife ready for me :greengrin
I'm away to my bed.

...is she typing up a speadsheet then..:faf:

bob12345
01-02-2010, 01:52 AM
Guys - we missed David Grof.

Edit - didn't start did he? Only a sub appearance.

Are we onto Ollie Gottskalpson?

Lochin
01-02-2010, 02:19 AM
Forty two posts and no mention of Tommy Younger, a true Hibernian legend. Disgrace!

Ottawa Hibs
01-02-2010, 02:34 AM
John Burridge
Jim Leighton
Roughie
Jim McArthur
Michael McDonald

Newcastlehibby
01-02-2010, 02:48 AM
Willie Wilson

Ottawa Hibs
01-02-2010, 03:22 AM
Dave Huggins

I also seem to remember a goalie called Whyte in the late 70's

aussie_hibee
01-02-2010, 06:55 AM
not sure where we are up to as colgan, franks and caig have been mentioned but if they're right i'll go for bryan gunn..?

01-02-2010, 06:58 AM
Thomson Allan

01-02-2010, 09:22 AM
John Burridge
Jim Leighton
Roughie
Jim McArthur
Michael McDonald

One guess per poster:grr:

If someone can be ersed putting these in order i would be gratefull . I wont be on untill later tonight (hopefully).

johncrobertson@
01-02-2010, 09:27 AM
Chris Reid - Jason Gardiner - Lawrie Leslie

01-02-2010, 09:54 AM
Chris Reid - Jason Gardiner - Lawrie Leslie

johncrobertson@
01-02-2010, 10:27 AM
Sorry mate - it is better to read the rules first!!!!:grr:

01-02-2010, 10:36 AM
Since Roughie's been mentioned, I'll go with Robin Rae.

01-02-2010, 10:49 AM
Guys - we missed David Grof.

Edit - didn't start did he? Only a sub appearance.

Are we onto Ollie Gottskalpson?

Did he not play against Mortin in LC or was he too good for Hibs?

01-02-2010, 10:50 AM

He did start a match IIRC. Did he not **** up a pass back and lost a goal ?

01-02-2010, 10:53 AM
Sounds right

haggisbaws
01-02-2010, 11:13 AM
Gordon Marshall snr.

haggisbaws
01-02-2010, 11:15 AM
Jim Herriot :hmmm:

johncrobertson@
01-02-2010, 11:21 AM
Roddie McKenzie after Herriot?

Green Man
01-02-2010, 11:24 AM
Grof came on as sub against Morton in the LC after McNeil got "injured". Don't know if he started any games.

wazoo1875
01-02-2010, 03:36 PM
Tom Carson :greengrin

01-02-2010, 03:57 PM
Roy Baines.....:cool2:

_hucks_
01-02-2010, 04:41 PM
I think Oli Gottskalksson has been missed, before Nick Colgan

01-02-2010, 05:00 PM
Have we reached Jackie Wren yet?

01-02-2010, 05:05 PM
Budgie

Disc O'Dave
01-02-2010, 05:22 PM
Jim Herriot :hmmm:

As an aisde, I only found out at the weekend, whilst in Thirsk, that the vet Alf Wight, who wrote all the books, chose the pen name James Herriot after he seen the goalie Jim Herriot play for Birmingham.

My eyes were drawn to the mention of "Hibernian" in the Herriot visitor centre.

Another amazingly exciting fact from Disco Dave :nerd:

bournehibby
01-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Ronnie Simpson :greengrin

Emerald
01-02-2010, 05:47 PM
John Leslie :greengrin

01-02-2010, 05:48 PM
jim kerr:thumbsup:

sauzee
01-02-2010, 06:38 PM
ally donaldson,big super mac

01-02-2010, 07:22 PM
Thomson Allan

Aubenas
01-02-2010, 07:52 PM
Jimmy Rollo

sauzee
01-02-2010, 08:14 PM
hugh whyte

Ottawa Hibs
01-02-2010, 08:53 PM
73 posts in and Hibs goalies and no mention of Andy Goram??

01-02-2010, 09:00 PM
73 posts in and Hibs goalies and no mention of Andy Goram??
What one? There's two.

01-02-2010, 09:02 PM
What one? There's two.

bob12345
01-02-2010, 09:30 PM
I think Oli Gottskalksson has been missed, before Nick Colgan

I had him! Earlier on page 2.

bob12345
01-02-2010, 09:32 PM

Was that not as a sub?

01-02-2010, 09:35 PM
Willie Muirhead

Willie Miller

Ottawa Hibs
02-02-2010, 01:00 AM
Didn't Arthur Duncan play in goals a couple of times in the days before we had goalie subs?

02-02-2010, 12:00 PM
Didn't Arthur Duncan play in goals a couple of times in the days before we had goalie subs?
Peter Cormack certainly did.

12AlbionPlace
02-02-2010, 12:18 PM
Has anyone mentioned the legend that is

Tony Caig:boo hoo:

02-02-2010, 12:31 PM
Graham Mitchell used to play in goals before sub goalies...

George Farm.

jakki
02-02-2010, 12:41 PM
Jack Reilly

02-02-2010, 08:20 PM
Willie Adams

02-02-2010, 08:22 PM
Dave Huggins

I also seem to remember a goalie called Whyte in the late 70's

Now serving as a polis in the Met, in fact he seemed to take off there pretty soon after being the patsy sent out to face the Sheep when they won the league in 1980.

Was the guy Whyte, the late Hugh Whyte - also of the Pars?

02-02-2010, 08:24 PM
Peter Cormack certainly did.

I remember Darren Jackson had to go between the sticks. Arthur was definitely the nominated sub goalie, but I can't remember if he ever had to put on the jersey in anger.

02-02-2010, 08:53 PM
Guys , as i'm sitting in a hotel with a p1shy internet connection i can't copy folks post and go back and add to the list ! I'm not sitting writing them all down:greengrin
If someone can be ersed doing it i would be gratefull . I wont be back on broadband untill Friday.
Just list all the ones who have been mentioned and we will sort out the order later.

Cheers in advance

02-02-2010, 09:24 PM
Now, don't say I'm not good to you :cool2: Can you tell I'm bored :greengrin

The author accepts no responsibility for an inaccuracies :wink: I've just copied all mentioned names...

Yves Makalamby
Graham Stack
Nick Colgan
Anderson
Andy McNeill
Szamotulski
Malkowski
Simon Brown
Alistair Brown
Jim Herriot
Mike Franks
Ollie Gottskalpson
Tommy Younger
John Burridge
Jim Leighton
Roughie
Jim McArthur
Michael McDonald
Willie Wilson
bryan gunn
Thomson Allan
Chris Reid
Jason Gardiner
Lawrie Leslie
Robin Rae
Gordon Marshall snr.
Roddie McKenzie
Tom Carson
Roy Baines
Jackie Wren
Budgie
Ronnie Simpson
Jim kerr
Ally Donaldson
Jimmy Rollo
Hugh whyte
Andy Goram
Willie Muirhead
Willie Miller
Arthur Duncan
Peter Cormack
Tony Caig
George Farm.
Jack Reilly
Willie Adams
Whyte?

02-02-2010, 10:19 PM
I remember Darren Jackson had to go between the sticks. Arthur was definitely the nominated sub goalie, but I can't remember if he ever had to put on the jersey in anger.Seem to remember Arthur Duncan going in goals at Ibrox in a League Cup match after Goram ( ? ) got injured in 80s . There was a Yugoslavian goalie in two friendlies against Killie away and Leicester at home in 79-80 but I don`t think he played any competitive match .

02-02-2010, 10:36 PM

02-02-2010, 10:37 PM
[QUOTE=IberianHibernian;2336442]Seem to remember Arthur Duncan going in goals at Ibrox in a League Cup match after Goram ( ? ) got injured in 80s . There was a Yugoslavian goalie in two friendlies against Killie away and Leicester at home in 79-80 but I don`t think he played any competitive match .[/QU

nijinsky(arthur duncan) was away from hibs before goram signed :agree: having said that, i cant remember duncan in goals for us...prob too p@shed:greengrin (me...not him)

jakki
04-02-2010, 12:47 AM
And how many of them played in a World Cup Finals Round? Yes I know the answer but do you? :wink:

Ottawa Hibs
04-02-2010, 12:50 AM
I'll guess 4

Rough
Leighton
Goram
Younger

jakki
04-02-2010, 12:54 AM
Don't know about these but you've definately missed one :thumbsup:

jakki
04-02-2010, 12:59 AM
I'll givv you clue :thumbsup:

My username on the Bounce is Jakki :thumbsup:

Ottawa Hibs
04-02-2010, 01:05 AM
OK - 5

Darren Jackson played twice in 98 world cup:thumbsup:

Younger goalie in '58
Roughie in 78 (Peru:boo hoo: etc etc) and 82
Leighton 86 and 90
Goram was in the squad in 86, as was Gunn. Can't remember if Goram played

jakki
04-02-2010, 01:12 AM
Nope another ex hibs goalie :wink:

jakki
04-02-2010, 01:17 AM
:wink:I'll give you another clue. 1974 World cup Finals

Ottawa Hibs
04-02-2010, 01:30 AM
:dunno::dunno:

So Thomson Allan went and didn't play
Same for Peter Cormack
Don't believe Sloop ever played in goal????

You got me

04-02-2010, 11:49 AM
According to the gospel that is Wiki :rolleyes:, the GK's listed for the 1974 world cup were David Harvey, Jim Stewart and Thomson Allan :confused: Oh and a certain Shades is on there too :thumbsup:

Purple & Green
04-02-2010, 12:16 PM
The list of goalkeepers to have started a competitive game for Hibs in order of first appearance from 1970 onwards is thus:

Gordon Marshall Snr
Roy Baines
Jim Herriot
Bobby Robertson
Jim McArthur
Roddy McKenzie
Hugh Whyte
Mike McDonald
Dave Huggins
Colin Kelly
Ally Donaldson
Robin Rae
Alan Rough
Tom Carson
Andy Goram
Chris Reid
John Burridge
Jim Leighton
Ollie Gottskalksson
Bryan Gunn
Nick Colgan
Mike Franks
Tony Caig
Daniel Andersson
Alistair Brown
Simon Brown
Zibby Malkowski
Andy McNeil
Yves Ma-Kalambay
Gregorz Szamotulski
Graham Stack
Graeme Smith

jakki
04-02-2010, 08:23 PM
According to the gospel that is Wiki :rolleyes:, the GK's listed for the 1974 world cup were David Harvey, Jim Stewart and Thomson Allan :confused: Oh and a certain Shades is on there too :thumbsup:

Suzy, although he was an ex Hibs player, I didn't say that he played for Scotland in the '74 Finals and yes he is Scottish, as his parents and grandparents were.

And what I mean by the Finals, the final 8 teams which Scotland didn't reach in 1974.

04-02-2010, 08:31 PM
Suzy, although he was an ex Hibs player, I didn't say that he played for Scotland in the '74 Finals and yes he is Scottish, as his parents and grandparents were.

And what I mean by the Finals, the final 8 teams which Scotland didn't reach in 1974.
Would you be meaning Jack Reilly who was in Ausie squad in 1974 , maybe played a couple of games for Hibs pre 1970

04-02-2010, 08:35 PM
Andy Goram?

jakki
04-02-2010, 10:09 PM
Would you be meaning Jack Reilly who was in Ausie squad in 1974 , maybe played a couple of games for Hibs pre 1970

We have a winner! I must admit that I was his biggest fan as he gave me compos for most away games but he was rubbish. I couldn't believe my eyes when I switched on the tele and there was "my Jack" in goals in the World Cup Finals!:thumbsup:

04-02-2010, 11:04 PM

I see said the blind man :greengrin Very good. You should make up pub quizzes :wink:

Bahrain Hibee
05-02-2010, 01:53 AM
Got one for you that few will know about .... my wife's grandfather JAMES MATTHEWS played in goals for Hibs during the war years (1942).
I have the Documented proof in the form of a copy of a personal letter to James from the Hibs manager, a certain Mr. William McCartney, to tell Bill where to meet at Waverly station for the journey through to Ibrox.
He must had a good game as the game was a no score draw!

05-02-2010, 02:01 AM
The list of goalkeepers to have started a competitive game for Hibs in order of first appearance from 1970 onwards is thus:

Gordon Marshall Snr
Roy Baines
Jim Herriot
Bobby Robertson
Jim McArthur
Roddy McKenzie
Hugh Whyte
Mike McDonald
Dave Huggins
Colin Kelly
Ally Donaldson
Robin Rae
Alan Rough
Tom Carson
Andy Goram
Chris Reid
John Burridge
Jim Leighton
Ollie Gottskalksson
Bryan Gunn
Nick Colgan
Mike Franks
Tony Caig
Daniel Andersson
Alistair Brown
Simon Brown
Zibby Malkowski
Andy McNeil
Yves Ma-Kalambay
Gregorz Szamotulski
Graham Stack
Graeme Smith
Did Jason Gardiner never get a start?

Bahrain Hibee
05-02-2010, 02:03 AM
I meant to say "to tell James where to meet"!
Bill was his son who was also a fine goalkeeper in his day but never reached the dizzy heights of his dad! :wink:

hibbybrian
05-02-2010, 04:18 AM
Got one for you that few will know about .... my wife's grandfather JAMES MATTHEWS played in goals for Hibs during the war years (1942).
I have the Documented proof in the form of a copy of a personal letter to James from the Hibs manager, a certain Mr. William McCartney, to tell Bill where to meet at Waverly station for the journey through to Ibrox.
He must had a good game as the game was a no score draw!

James Matthews was registered by Hibs on 12th September 1942 and played the same day at Ibrox, as the regular keeper Joseph Crozier was injured. The score however was 1-1 (Venters scored for Rangers and Arthur Milne equalised). James then played the next 10 games before Hibs signed goalkeeper John Brown from Clyde, who took over in goal for the rest of the season.

Results of his games played:

Rangers 1 - 1 Hibernian
Hibernian 5 - 1 Third Lanark
Celtic 0 - 3 Hibernian
Hibernian 2 - 1 Motherwell
Hibernian 4 - 0 Falkirk
Airdrie 0 - 5 Hibernian
Hibernian 0 - 0 Partick Thistle
St. Mirren 1 - 2 Hibernian (Matthews saved a penalty)
Hibernian 2 - 2 Morton
Clyde 7 - 2 Hibernian
Albion Rov 1 - 4 Hibernian

Pretty decent record :thumbsup: apart from the Clyde game which was due to a Hibs collapse losing 3 goals in the first 12 mins of the 2nd half :grr:

delbert
05-02-2010, 04:51 AM
Miroslav Nizetic, played for us early 80's but broke his hand in second game and was let go, also going way back we had Jimmy Kerr, and even further Willie Harper was pretty famous in his day.

Purple & Green
05-02-2010, 07:38 AM
Did Jason Gardiner never get a start?

Not in a competitive game for Hibs, no. He moved onto Stirling Albion in 1999 and made his competitive debut at the age of 25 (if you exclude his solitary under 21 cap)

Bahrain Hibee
07-02-2010, 08:19 PM
Cheers for the great info Hibbybrian!!!!
Where did you get the details from and do you know of any team/match pics that featured James?
Well impressed with the results from his matches in the Hibs goals!! :wink:

HIBERNIALEITH
07-02-2010, 10:27 PM
Willie Miller!!!! Remember him going in goal after the goalie was red-carded.......great save of a penalty!

Pity later on in a game he thought he was bloody playing basketball!!!!