View Full Version : If you left early today.

30-01-2010, 07:48 PM
Disappointing once again to see supporters streaming out the ground with 5 mins left in a game where the players were bursting their gut to give us a priceless win and on a day when results elsewhere were going our way. I know that we will have the usual, we pay our money and we can leave when we like replies and I had a bus to catch stuff ,but I just don`t get it, not in a game like today.

30-01-2010, 07:48 PM
Disappointing once again to see supporters streaming out the ground with 5 mins left in a game where the players were bursting their gut to give us a priceless win and on a day when results elsewhere were going our way. I know that we will have the usual, we pay our money and we can leave when we like replies and I had a bus to catch stuff ,but I just don`t get it, not in a game like today.

:notworthy: to you uberfan..

30-01-2010, 07:55 PM

I know its personal choice...but I agree with you. My brother is always moaning to get going before the end..never have never will no matter what the score...today he was not there...but he phoned to get up date on the winner..as he knew I would have seen it :greengrin

hibztilltheend
30-01-2010, 07:56 PM
these are the fans who only came today because we beat celtic imo:agree:

30-01-2010, 07:56 PM

30-01-2010, 07:58 PM
:fishin: tut tut.
I'm personally too mean to ever leave before the end. Want my moneys worth no matter how painful, & it does mean you get the joy of the late winners.

Perspective
30-01-2010, 07:59 PM
Totally agree.

If you don't have a genuine reason for leaving early (going to the pub doesn't count) then you are less of a supporter in my eyes.

It's a touchy subject and their ticket costs the same as someone who stays for the duration but IMHO supporting the team means getting behind them until the referee blows the full-time whistle.

30-01-2010, 08:00 PM

Fair point. I can understand leaving early if we are getting absolutely rogered but 1-1 with the team really going for it seems a strange time to leave sharp.

Surely getting an earlier bus or getting into the boozer before it's busy isn't as important as potentially seeing a vital winning goal.

30-01-2010, 08:05 PM
Completely agree.

Paying £22 quid to get in, maybe even add in a child or two, buy food and drink at the games, travel to the game, takes the contribution to the club to quite a high level. They probably do it every couple of weeks with an away trip thrown in.

But oh no, they have the audacity to leave a few minutes early. The shame. The cheek. How Petrie can stand for it I do not know. How they can sleep at night and call themselves Hibs fans is beyond me.

Daily Mail should do a story on it. It's outrageous.

I find it completely embarrassing to be honest grown men trying to come across as better supporters because they stay until the final whistle. Get a life.

30-01-2010, 08:06 PM
I rarely leave early but it doesn't bother me if others do. I just spread out and enjoy the extra elbow room. What does it matter their money is in the bank.

30-01-2010, 08:07 PM

I think you are being a bit harsh. I would rather give a ticking off to the missing 1,500 fans that don't turn up at all, never mind early or late.:hide::hmmm:

30-01-2010, 08:08 PM
what happens if your feeling unwell+dinnae want to spew on the guys in front of ye [like me],btw not a bevvy thing
but im a season ticket holder, AND I WILL leave early when ever i choose
i do like to stay till the end to say thanks to the team,but, but todaythe thought of SOAKING my comrades in spew was not in my thoughts
hb

Riordans Boots
30-01-2010, 08:10 PM
After F/T when we came out, we bumped into 2 lots of friends who had left early and missed the goal :bitchy:

Why do folk do that? :rolleyes:

Completely agree.

Paying £22 quid to get in, maybe even add in a child or two, buy food and drink at the games, travel to the game, takes the contribution to the club to quite a high level. They probably do it every couple of weeks with an away trip thrown in.

But oh no, they have the audacity to leave a few minutes early. The shame. The cheek. How Petrie can stand for it I do not know. How they can sleep at night and call themselves Hibs fans is beyond me.

I find it completely embarrassing to be honest grown men trying to come across as better supporters because they stay until the final whistle. Get a life.

I'm not trying to come across as a better supporter, i'm genuinely interested as to why some people would leave early when it's 1-1. If you walk out sharpish when we are 4-0 down or whatever it makes perfect sense but at 1-1 with a chance of a winner, it seems odd to me you would spend £22 and miss the best part of the game.

Fair point. I can understand leaving early if we are getting absolutely rogered but 1-1 with the team really going for it seems a strange time to leave sharp.

Surely getting an earlier bus or getting into the boozer before it's busy isn't as important as potentially seeing a vital winning goal.:agree:I sometimes sit in the FF upper,and it gets oan ma tits when loads around you leave early:grr: yet,I was in the East today,and surprisingly,quite a few around us toddled off,when all of the play was going on about 20 feet away! young lad was escorting his frail auld fella,fair enough but to see young guys hand in hand with their burds etc,leaving with 9 or ten mins, left,is puzzling:cool2:

what happens if your feeling unwell+dinnae want to spew on the guys in front of ye [like me],btw not a bevvy thing
i do like to stay till the end to say thanks to the team,but, but todaythe thought of SOAKING my comrades in spew was not in my thoughts
hb

Poor excuse..

Not a REAL fan IMO..

Must be looking for the glory after we beat Sellick..

Row H
30-01-2010, 08:13 PM

Nish & Rankin?

NaeTechnoHibby
30-01-2010, 08:14 PM
hb

Hope your feeling better now though :thumbsup:

I have never left a game at ER but I had to have a "sick day" when nearly at Tynie :jamboak:

Sis had to take me home before the match :bitchy:

Not a good feeling :agree:

30-01-2010, 08:15 PM
hbyou'll need to come up wi' a better one than that:wink:

30-01-2010, 08:17 PM
I think you are being a bit harsh. I would rather give a ticking off to the missing 1,500 fans that don't turn up at all, never mind early or late.:hide::hmmm:

I am not saying anyone is a better supporter than anyone else , all I am saying is I don`t understand why , after paying £22 and watching 85 mins of a game that is in the balance you would want to leave without knowing the final result. As as been said many times before its like going to the cinema and walking out 5 mins before the end and having to ask someone else who dunnit.

tony higgins
30-01-2010, 08:17 PM
Biggest booby for me leaving early was a 1986 scottish tie at ER, getting beat 3-1 decided stuff this, heads into the car and off out to the M8, car radio was wonky so did,nt even bother.
Found out the score watching the news late that night.
Strange feeling, happy but cheated, cheated by myself.

Hibernian 4 Celtic 3.

30-01-2010, 08:18 PM
Hope your feeling better now though :thumbsup:

I have never left a game at ER but I had to have a "sick day" when nearly at Tynie :jamboak:

Sis had to take me home before the match :bitchy:

Not a good feeling :agree:

im even better now ive had a few cans :wink::wink::wink:TY
as fer number 10,,,yer response was way under the belt
hope you get my SPRAY through this post
was STONE COLD SOBER b4 the game btw
hb

ZippytheHibee
30-01-2010, 08:19 PM
Real fans stay to the end. End of.

No time for part time supporters at all.

murray26
30-01-2010, 08:21 PM
Fans from all the clubs do it, the of fans are the worse for it, dont understand it myself but each to there own.

30-01-2010, 08:22 PM
you'll need to come up wi' a better one than that:wink:

u wanna try and get some carrots +huey out of yer hair!!!!!!!
mind you,,,,,,,,if you wear an anorak, you would probably have been safe
:wink::wink::wink:
hb

AJHibby
30-01-2010, 08:24 PM
Poor excuse..

Not a REAL fan IMO..

Must be looking for the glory after we beat Sellick..

What is your problem? The OP hasn't said in any way or form that he thinks he is a 'better' fan and has certainly not said that anyone leaving early isn't a 'real' fan.

Why do you leave early?

30-01-2010, 08:36 PM
If you left early then you missed a goal and the great feeling of snatching a win right at the death.

If people want to leave early, then fine, I don't have a problem with it. I've done it rarely but if I missed goals then I'd only have myself to blame and no-one else.

Noboby is trying to be an uber-fan on here, they are just interested as to why some people leave early every single time we are at ER.

30-01-2010, 08:51 PM
Never one to leave early myself, but I dont tut tut at people who do nip off a few mins early. As a matter of a fact I would like to encourage the fat bloke who sits in front of me in the East to leave before the game kicks off. I cant stand in his seat if he's sitting on it.

Well I could but he'd no be to chuffed. Tell ye what can ye no just stand up.

30-01-2010, 09:00 PM
u wanna try and get some carrots +huey out of yer hair!!!!!!!
mind you,,,,,,,,if you wear an anorak, you would probably have been safe
:wink::wink::wink:
hbnah,yer right.always have my anorak hood up:yawn: but I have no hair.:wink:

EasterRoad4Ever
30-01-2010, 09:02 PM

Injury time winner :top marks Their loss :agree:

30-01-2010, 09:25 PM
i love these threads, i was in easter road at 9am and left bout 7pm. Yup i'm a super uper fan and you 90min fans are kermits.

30-01-2010, 09:36 PM
Daughter left when injury time board came out to avoid the traffic. Ripped it out her when we got home! Hope she has learn her lesson. To be fair she knows nothing about football as she goes out with a hertz fan.

30-01-2010, 09:39 PM
I have no idea why they do it aswell :confused i could feel a goal coming in injury time, we were pushing forward and there were people leaving before injury time was even announced.

Their fault for losing the goal. :bye:

30-01-2010, 09:43 PM
The boys next to us always leave 3 mins from the end - every game, and that's their choice.

Me and AFKA are always there to the bitter end and day's like today make it all worthwhile.

Great finish by the the saints boy too :greengrin

30-01-2010, 11:17 PM
Biggest booby for me leaving early was a 1986 scottish tie at ER, getting beat 3-1 decided stuff this, heads into the car and off out to the M8, car radio was wonky so did,nt even bother.
Found out the score watching the news late that night.
Strange feeling, happy but cheated, cheated by myself.

Hibernian 4 Celtic 3.
no want to rub it in but that was some game[pretty sure we knocked celtic out the league cup as well at easter road that season[pens]
always remmeber benny[brazil] missing what would have been the winning pen] but take a bow pierce oleary:greengrin he couldny have put it any higher over the bar

30-01-2010, 11:18 PM
Real fans stay to the end. End of.

No time for part time supporters at all.

Behave.

30-01-2010, 11:29 PM
whats worse . leaving early or not going:confused:
always stay to the end but all the tens of thousands of cup final fans do my head in[if half of them went to the home games . a whats the point :boo hoo:rant over

30-01-2010, 11:34 PM
The boys next to us always leave 3 mins from the end - every game, and that's their choice.

Me and AFKA are always there to the bitter end and day's like today make it all worthwhile.

Great finish by the the saints boy too :greengrin

As you said, such a great feeling seeing a last minute winner cannot get the same excitement by hearing about the goal on the car radio or hearing the cheers from the bottom of St Clair Street. Also missing out on the tannoy announcer playing Day Dream Believer and everybody signing Cheer up Jim Jefferies:greengrin

Still got to Peebles on time as well.:thumbsup:

30-01-2010, 11:57 PM
What is your problem? The OP hasn't said in any way or form that he thinks he is a 'better' fan and has certainly not said that anyone leaving early isn't a 'real' fan.

Why do you leave early?

Whooooosh

31-01-2010, 08:05 AM
All this part time supporter rubbish makes me laugh because I have left 5 minutes early in many games I have attended but that’s been my choice even when the games have been close.

You don’t need an excuse why we do this it’s a personal choice

The best laugh of the lot is guys on this site with low post counts telling the rest off us that we are part time supporters and I’m not talking about the OP comments

ZippytheHibee
31-01-2010, 08:16 AM
All this part time supporter rubbish makes me laugh because I have left 5 minutes early in many games I have attended but that’s been my choice even when the games have been close.

The best laugh of the lot is guys on this site with low post counts telling the rest off us that we are part time supporters and I’m not talking about the OP comments

I dont have a lot of posts but have been a Season Ticket holder for the last 9 years. I didnt realise it was compusary to be a member of Hibs.net at the same time though. :bitchy:

I stay to the end of games because I am a real fan. If you want to disappear at the end early like a rangers fan then thats up to you I guess.

31-01-2010, 08:47 AM
Completely agree.

:rolleyes: whop do you think is doing that..you must be reading different posts than I am

31-01-2010, 08:54 AM
I dont have a lot of posts but have been a Season Ticket holder for the last 9 years. I didnt realise it was compusary to be a member of Hibs.net at the same time though. :bitchy:

I stay to the end of games because I am a real fan. If you want to disappear at the end early like a rangers fan then thats up to you I guess.

I leave early because I am a family man and have a life outside football opps and I am also a grown up something you clearly aint.

Leave early like a rangers fan :faf::faf::faf: priceless

31-01-2010, 08:57 AM
There seems to be a lot of this kind of thing on here. "Isit in the East so I am a real Hibby". "I stay till the end". "I sing". "I go to away games". " I wear green Y fronts every Saturday" etc etc. It's a wee bit embarrasing really. Folks are different and do different things just live with it and get on with being a Hibby.

31-01-2010, 09:05 AM
While on another but related subject - I don't understand those who head for the over priced bogging excuse for grub 15 minutes before halftime..missing a third of the half...only to stand around during half time break....

Surley if you are that hungry a spot of lunch before hand :dunno:

31-01-2010, 09:09 AM
There seems to be a lot of this kind of thing on here. "Isit in the East so I am a real Hibby". "I stay till the end". "I sing". "I go to away games". " I wear green Y fronts every Saturday" etc etc. It's a wee bit embarrasing really. Folks are different and do different things just live with it and get on with being a Hibby.

your reply gets :top marks from me WH but some people like to think that because they stay to the end they recieve a loyalty badge that makes them real fans and the rest of us must be part timers.

I loved the bit about green Y fronts :faf: classic reply :thumbsup:

31-01-2010, 09:22 AM
If folk want to leave the game early or arrive late then that is up to them and their own personal choice. However what really bugs me is when my view of the game from my aisle side seat is constantly blocked by people on the stairways. :grr:

Jaz
31-01-2010, 09:24 AM

Firstly.....I am genuinely interested to know why someone regularly leaves with 5 mins to go. What's so urgent? Can't you just be 5 mins late for whatever it is? Or rearrange it to start 5 mins later than normal?

Secondly..........loved the "low post count" comment. :faf: Some of my mates who have been going to ER for 30 years don't even have a puter!!!

ZippytheHibee
31-01-2010, 09:55 AM
I leave early because I am a family man and have a life outside football opps and I am also a grown up something you clearly aint.

Leave early like a rangers fan :faf::faf::faf: priceless

Poor post IMO.

The fact remains clear - you leave ER early by 5 mins? What's 5 mins of your life? Why leave so early? Why not get behind the team?

Rangers fans leave Ibrox early, I simply made a comparison.

Bet you sit in the East Stand and dont say a word during the 85 mins you are there.

31-01-2010, 09:58 AM
Poor post IMO.

The fact remains clear - you leave ER early by 5 mins? What's 5 mins of your life? Why leave so early? Why not get behind the team?

Bet you sit in the East Stand and dont say a word during the 85 mins you are there.

You also said that you stay until the end because you're "a real fan". That implies that those who don't aren't real fans.

31-01-2010, 10:10 AM
I'm not usually one for leaving early but have done in the past.

I'm not having a go at people who do leave early regularly but when a game on a knife edge like that and the team is pushing for a winner I couldn't be forced to leave untill the final whistle. Each to their own.

31-01-2010, 10:17 AM
Firstly.....I am genuinely interested to know why someone regularly leaves with 5 mins to go. What's so urgent? Can't you just be 5 mins late for whatever it is? Or rearrange it to start 5 mins later than normal?

Secondly..........loved the "low post count" comment. :faf: Some of my mates who have been going to ER for 30 years don't even have a puter!!!

Plum!

There are many reason Why I leave early

I have left at half time due to being on call at work

I have left early many times due to the train schedule (That 5 minutes adds 40 to my journey home)

I have left early due to family commitments

As I have said I have a life away from football I don't have a loyalty badge like you super douper fans :greengrin

Now you finish your post by call me a plum :faf: :dummytit:

31-01-2010, 10:18 AM
Jamie and Steph from Bolton did, is this the place to name and shame?:wink:

31-01-2010, 10:25 AM
Poor post IMO.

No I don't use abusive language in the East stand But I do shout when I think we are not trying, I jump out out seat when we score, I clap my hands when we do the cleaver passing that we are renowned for- does that make me a loyal fan :confused: or does that 5 minutes at the end make me a part timer :faf:

31-01-2010, 10:27 AM

You may be a real fan, but you are also an idiot.

31-01-2010, 10:34 AM

Behave yourself. Just because someone hasn't made 10,863 posts on here means that they can't give their opinion of people who leave early?

I've never once left a game early, and that includes complete drubbings both home and away. However, I don't judge fans who leave early; it's disappointing sometimes in situations like yesterday when there's a good chance we could grab a late winner, or in other cases equaliser but I understand that people have other commitments, family, work etc., to get back to.

But to suggest that because I have less than 2000 posts on here means that, if I wanted to, I couldn't moan about part time supporters is ludicrous. I accept your points about work and family - as I've mentioned, but your post reads like something I'd expect to see on 14pointsback, not .net. I've never subscribed to the P/T supporter rubbish myself, but I don't see how spending ages on this forum and racking up the posts has any bearing on how much of a fan you are.

31-01-2010, 10:39 AM
i stay to the end of games because im a tight barsteward who is determined to get his moneys worth........yay me!

ZippytheHibee
31-01-2010, 10:42 AM
You may be a real fan, but you are also an idiot.

I will try and hide my disappointment.

31-01-2010, 10:44 AM
I can't believe we are questioning whether someone leaves 5 mins early or not, surely the main point should be that they are there in the first place cheering on the team. I couldn't make it due to starting work early but still listened online to every ball being kicked, or until the connection disappeared :confused::greengrin

31-01-2010, 10:47 AM
I will try and hide my disappointment.

Don't be disappointed on my behalf.

31-01-2010, 10:48 AM
Real fans are still out celebrating 2 very late winners in 4 days not on here arguing about whos got the longest scarf :wink:

31-01-2010, 10:51 AM
Real fans are still out celebrating 2 very late winners in 4 days not on here arguing about whos got the longest scarf :wink:

Gus Fring
31-01-2010, 10:51 AM
I sit in the South and normally make my way down to the front row on about 85 mins so I can be right out the door as soon as the final whistle goes so i dont get caught up in all the away fans.

What does that make me? :confused:

31-01-2010, 10:55 AM

That'll be me.:thumbsup:
Unless Tom Baker is a Hibby........

31-01-2010, 11:15 AM
Oh dear. Another divisive thread. :rolleyes:

FTR, I stay to the end. It's none of my business when or why anyone else chooses to leave.

Eh........unless they're giving me a lift home :wink:

houston1875
31-01-2010, 11:24 AM
While on another but related subject - I don't understand those who head for the over priced bogging excuse for grub 15 minutes before halftime..missing a third of the half...only to stand around during half time break....

Surley if you are that hungry a spot of lunch before hand :dunno:

good shout!!!

Jaz
31-01-2010, 11:28 AM

I have left early many times due to the train schedule (That 5 minutes adds 40 to my journey home)

As I have said I have a life away from football I don't have a loyalty badge like you super douper fans :greengrin

Apologies for the name calling.

31-01-2010, 11:29 AM

Plum!

I live in Aberdeen and have to work every Saturday night. If the game is all but over, I leave before the final whistle to beat the traffic. Yesterday I (thankfully) stayed to the end and my journey home took an hour longer because of it.

Am I a plum?

Leave when you want, sing when you want, sit in whatever stand you want.

31-01-2010, 11:50 AM
Personally I dont mind if anyone leaves early in games, they have paid their money and can do what they want. What I do have a problem with is the people that get up to leave early only to stand around the exits and block my view!

31-01-2010, 11:52 AM

:thumbsup::top marks

hibbiedon
31-01-2010, 11:56 AM

Never understood the guys who always come in late or leave early, i really love going to see hibs and to miss the first 10 minutes or last makes no sense, its a bit like buying a drink and pouring some donwn the sink
http://www.hibs.net/message/images/icons/icon5.gif

31-01-2010, 12:02 PM
Never understood the guys who always come in late or leave early, i really love going to see hibs and to miss the first 10 minutes or last makes no sense, its a bit like buying a drink and pouring some donwn the sink
http://www.hibs.net/message/images/icons/icon5.gif

People coming in late isn't really the same as people leaving early though is it?

TheMentalHibees
31-01-2010, 12:04 PM
I think to get rid of all this confusion, somebody should compile a handbook on how to be a "real fan" and post it on here so we can all improve ourselves :agree: I'm tired of feeling like a cheap imposter of a Hibs fan.

31-01-2010, 12:08 PM
I sometimes leave early, I did so when when we were getting humped against Rangers and sometimes when I've needed to be somewhere directly after the game, so I'm not going to critisise for doing the same..

Yesterday though, we were camped in St Mirren's 18 yard box for the last 15 minutes of the game looking for a winner so an early exit does seem a bit foolhardy.

We've scored a good few late goals this season, Wednesday night for example, so it's always a possbility.

This is a habit that good teams develop. They don't settle for a draw until the final whistle blows.

I like it.

31-01-2010, 12:11 PM
Parkhead was no different, few bodies leaving 5 to go. Why on earth would you do that? If yer getting humped aye, but drawing? Weirdo's. Glad they missed the goal(s)!

31-01-2010, 12:17 PM
I think to get rid of all this confusion, somebody should compile a handbook on how to be a "real fan" and post it on here so we can all improve ourselves :agree: I'm tired of feeling like a cheap imposter of a Hibs fan.

Start a thread then! Go on, you know you want to! :wink:

Too late!!

brythehibby
31-01-2010, 12:27 PM
Personally don't see the problem with anyone leaving/staying/singing/dancing etc.

We all pay our hard earned cash at the end of the day and if someone wants to go so be it. Were all different. Personal choice. I'd rather we have fans leaving 5 mins early than not have them there at all! All this i'm a bigger fan pash is a joke. We all go to support the team. Whatever way you do that is up to you, it's your money!

31-01-2010, 12:28 PM
Personally don't see the problem with anyone leaving/staying/singing/dancing etc.

We all pay our hard earned cash at tge end of the day an if someone wants to go so be it. Were all different. Personal choice. I'd rather we have fans leaving 5 mins early than not have them there at all! All this i'm a bigger fan pash is a joke. We all go to support the team. Whatever way you do that is up to you, it's your money!

I love that phrase. :faf:

brythehibby
31-01-2010, 12:31 PM
I love that phrase. :faf:

So do I, I work hard and earn cash for it :wink:

31-01-2010, 12:31 PM
People coming in late isn't really the same as people leaving early though is it?
Well it is the same in the respect that they're not supporting their team for the time that they are not in the stadium.

31-01-2010, 12:33 PM
Behave yourself. Just because someone hasn't made 10,863 posts on here means that they can't give their opinion of people who leave early?

I've never once left a game early, and that includes complete drubbings both home and away. However, I don't judge fans who leave early; it's disappointing sometimes in situations like yesterday when there's a good chance we could grab a late winner, or in other cases equaliser but I understand that people have other commitments, family, work etc., to get back to.

But to suggest that because I have less than 2000 posts on here means that, if I wanted to, I couldn't moan about part time supporters is ludicrous. I accept your points about work and family - as I've mentioned, but your post reads like something I'd expect to see on 14pointsback, not .net. I've never subscribed to the P/T supporter rubbish myself, but I don't see how spending ages on this forum and racking up the posts has any bearing on how much of a fan you are.

I was talking about the arse who had 14 posts to his name and the point he makes about the real fans rubbish and my point had nothing to do with your post count on this site and if it came accross that way then i'm sorry.

So lets not turn the argument around to post count on Hibs.net, it's about reasons why fans leave early

31-01-2010, 12:52 PM
While it is of course up to the paying customer when they leave a match, I have never understood this bizare tendency.

The way I see it is that the last 5 mins of football matches are very often the most decisive - legs are tiring and teams are inclined to gamble that bit more. I don't know for sure but I'm fairly positive that MUCH more goals are scored in the closing stages of football matches than the rest of the game (any stattos out there that can prove/disprove this?).

So - it's my opinion that the early leavers are shooting themselves in the foot - would they for example go to the cinema and walk out before the grand finale just to beat the crowds??? I don't think so, but that's exactly what they're doing in the context of a football match IMO - their choice and their loss - the ones I feel sorry for are the poor sods (eg kids etc) who get dragged out with them and have to suffer for their poor judgement. :bitchy:

31-01-2010, 01:02 PM
Well it is the same in the respect that they're not supporting their team for the time that they are not in the stadium.

It's not the same. I will state again that I have no issue with people leaving early. It's their perogative.

The difference with people arriving late is that there are probably more valid reasons for this. I don't think people arrive late coz they think they are not going to miss anything by doing so.

31-01-2010, 01:13 PM
On the day that the news broke about the Mercer takeover, me and some of my Alloa Hibs mates got a lift through to the Hibs club. After a few beers we broke into ER and sat on the terrace as we really believed it may be our last visit. It was dark as hell and lots of security about, but being from Alloa that just meant an extra challenge and not a deterrant. Anyway we sat there for a while reminiscing and then left and spent the rest of the night sleeping at Waverly waiting for a train to Falkirk and then a taxi home.
Does this make us Uber fans as we were actually in ER at that time or does it make us Unter fans as we left before Mercer was finally seen off?

andudare2
31-01-2010, 01:21 PM
Completely agree.

spot on mate, as for myself ive been a hibby for nearly fifty years , & no matter what the crowd police think i will continue to leave when it suits me, certainly not them.:grr:

31-01-2010, 01:28 PM
spot on mate, as for myself ive been a hibby for nearly fifty years , & no matter what the crowd police think i will continue to leave when it suits me, certainly not them.:grr:

31-01-2010, 01:36 PM

Both Hainan Hibs, and a few others including yourself make great points on this topic but there will always be a few who will disagree and try for some daft reason tell us that we are not real Hibs fans.

In my opinion anyone who wears our colours is a true fan, disabled people who cant make the game for obvious reasons or people who live on the breadline and cant afford 22 quid to see us play or fans who prefer to spend money on club merchandise because they cant afford to do both.

This rubbish about I'm a better fan than you would be funny because its kids stuff but it's coming from Grown ups FFS :faf:

31-01-2010, 02:15 PM
Me thinks people are taking this thread WAY too seriously.

Some folk have just asked why people leave early without a valid reason.

No need to turn it into an Uberfan argument.

Leaving 5 mins early every week "just coz I want to" isn't really a valid reason, IMO.

31-01-2010, 02:19 PM

Leaving 5 mins early every week "just coz I want to" isn't really a valid reason, IMO.

The main point should be is WHY do you need a valid reason to leave early :confused:

31-01-2010, 02:22 PM

Correct. It is not about being a better fan than anyone else it is just a question of why so many people leave a game they have spent several hours going to and watching, when the result is still in the balance. No one has really explained this weird phenomenon. ( cue another 30 posts saying they don`t have to explain , they can go when they want)

31-01-2010, 02:23 PM
Who cares if they left early. They leave knowing the possibilities and probably have good reason and also the personal choice. They paid their money so the club doesn't lose out so what's the issue?

I never leave early, but it doesn't bother me when people leave - I got to see the goal on wed whilst thousands of fleeing celtic fans rushed out around me with 10 mins to go, it's not just Hibs fans.

Concentrate on your own supporting and let others do it their way.

The main point should be is WHY do you need a valid reason to leave early :confused:

:top marks Exactly, if i want to leave 2 minutes into a game, or 2 minutes from the end, i dont have to have a reason, or justify my decision to anyone.

Cos I have to get up and down like a yo-yo to let them all get passed :grr:

Damned inconsiderate :agree:

31-01-2010, 02:24 PM
One of the many drawbacks with all seated stadiums

31-01-2010, 02:25 PM
One of the many drawbacks with all seated stadiums

And folk going for a pee, getting food etc.

Bring back the terracing:thumbsup:

31-01-2010, 02:29 PM
Maybe some folk left because we were bollocks?

31-01-2010, 02:31 PM

At last we have a decent reason and not just the word' cos

I Hate that myself 65bd when it gets near half time and the pie and bovril gang are up and running 10 minutes before HT

31-01-2010, 03:00 PM
FFS we won yesterday and there's people moaning....jeezo!

If people leave, they leave....if they miss a goal, they miss a goal....

Have only left a game early twice...when we were getting horsed by Motherwell and near the end of the shambles against Barca

Quite enjoyed telling a few early leavers to GIRUY :greengrin

End of the day, it's personal preference...

Glory Glory :flag::flag::flag:

Calvin
31-01-2010, 03:02 PM
I hate leaving early but had to yesterday, as I start work at 6 and if I stay til the final whistle, I can't make it on time. But I was supposed to be starting at 12 so lost out on 6 hours pay to watch 80 minutes of football. Gutted I had to leave early but sometimes circumstances dictate - but maybe I should do it more often - last time I did it was a few years ago when we beat Dunfermline in the last minute!

31-01-2010, 03:02 PM
I left early, but only to get nearer to get a better view of the goal, and get back to the pub first.. :greengrin

31-01-2010, 03:04 PM
I honestly can't believe this bothers people. The only time it pissed me off was the SC final when we lost to Celtic. Hibs fans were moaning for weeks about not being able to get tickets then some were leaving before the end. Otherwise, so ****ing what!

31-01-2010, 03:05 PM

I Hate that myself 65bd when it gets near half time and the pie and bovril gang are up and running 10 minutes before HT

So let me get this right, it's ok for you to leave early and potentially block peoples view etc BUT it's not ok for people to nip away sharpish for their half time pie? :confused:

31-01-2010, 03:08 PM

Have you saw the queues at half time? Thats why I get mine early...as in 45 mins before kick off :thumbsup::thumbsup:

31-01-2010, 03:17 PM
So let me get this right, it's ok for you to leave early and potentially block peoples view etc BUT it's not ok for people to nip away sharpish for their half time pie? :confused:

31-01-2010, 03:21 PM
If folk want to leave the game early or arrive late then that is up to them and their own personal choice. However what really bugs me is when my view of the game from my aisle side seat is constantly blocked by people on the stairways. :grr:

:agree::agree: exactly :grr: Leaving early....weak bladders...early esacape for nosh etc etc...very inconsiderate...but just part of the my rights are paramount and stuff anyone else attitute that pervades now:rolleyes:

31-01-2010, 03:21 PM

Where did I say IT'S NOT OK :confused:

And who mentioned potentially blocking peoples view :confused:

31-01-2010, 03:23 PM
It's those jakies that leave early so they get to the bar first that annoy me :faf::faf::devil:

31-01-2010, 03:25 PM
Where did I say IT'S NOT OK :confused:

Maybe not direct use of the phrase it's not ok but certainly alluding to the fact you have a problem with it. Also i'd assume if you ahve to get up and down like a yo-yo(as was said in the post you quoted)then the people passing you would be blocking your view no?

TBH you have changed your point of view on this thread so many times i'm not sure you even know what you're arguing about anymore.

31-01-2010, 03:34 PM
:agree::agree: exactly :grr: Leaving early....weak bladders...early esacape for nosh etc etc...very inconsiderate...but just part of the my rights are paramount and stuff anyone else attitute that pervades now:rolleyes:

And whatever you do don't nip out for a smoke.

31-01-2010, 03:37 PM

Maybe not direct use of the phrase it's not ok but certainly alluding to the fact you have a problem with it. Also i'd assume if you ahve to get up and down like a yo-yo(as was said in the post you quoted)then the people passing you would be blocking your view no?

TBH you have changed your point of view on this thread so many times i'm not sure you even know what you're arguing about anymore.

I haven't changed my view mate, it's simple if someone wants to leave early its there business no one else's and if someone wants to stand in a line a wait 10-15 minutes for a cold pie again that's there business.

your assuming a lot are you not :confused:

31-01-2010, 03:38 PM
Couple of points

The origional question was WHY do people leave early...other than a few people there have been few answers as to the why?

Yes its the choice of the individual - but there seems no understanding / consideration for the annoyance it causes others.

One reason given was that its to miss the rush...so as has happened at OT..when people leaving cause a new mini rush..others then leave earlier over time to miss this and so on.....Just how early would some leave to to miss this....Half Time :rolleyes:

31-01-2010, 03:45 PM
People who stand up just as we look like we might score should be shot.

31-01-2010, 03:56 PM
:yawn:

Kaiser_Sauzee
31-01-2010, 04:12 PM
hb

Ha ha, a bizarre rant! :greengrin

31-01-2010, 04:13 PM

Some poeple had places to go, buses to catch or whatever :blah:

31-01-2010, 04:14 PM
:top marks Exactly, if i want to leave 2 minutes into a game, or 2 minutes from the end, i dont have to have a reason, or justify my decision to anyone.

Fair enough , but it still doesn`t explain why yoiu would want to miss the climax of a game though. Maybe you can`t.:dunno:

Kaiser_Sauzee

?

I left 5 minutes early, but I'm at every Hibs game I can possibly get to. Pokes a hole in your logic there.

ZippytheHibee
31-01-2010, 04:21 PM

A right bundle of joy you are eh?

31-01-2010, 04:24 PM
Fair enough , but it still doesn`t explain why yoiu would want to miss the climax of a game though. Maybe you can`t.:dunno:

Perhaps football is not the most important thing in some peoples lives.:confused: Fwiw, i have left a few times early, especially when driving. Leaving 3 minutes early for me, can save 1 hour in traveling, i know it sounds daft, but it really does.

31-01-2010, 04:25 PM
A right bundle of joy you are eh?

Whooooosssshhhh:faf:

31-01-2010, 04:34 PM
Whooooosssshhhh:faf:

:faf::faf::faf:

31-01-2010, 04:39 PM
Sometimes it pays to leave early though, like er.., getting off at Haymarket, if you see what I mean ........,

31-01-2010, 04:41 PM

Because people are curious as to why you would leave before the final whistle, especially in a game like yesterday's which was still in the balance as we went into injury time.

31-01-2010, 04:50 PM
Ha ha, a bizarre rant! :greengrin

whits BIZARRE about thinking of this,,,,its no rant either,,,,,jeez,,,,ive paid for my season ticket,, therefore im entitled to go to er
if on the other hand i decide to leave early due to ill health,thats my problem
still feelin squeamish,,,,,,just as squeamish as the arsenal goalie :wink::wink:
hb

31-01-2010, 04:59 PM
Because people are curious as to why you would leave before the final whistle, especially in a game like yesterday's which was still in the balance as we went into injury time.

Check post 53 for your answer :confused:

31-01-2010, 05:11 PM
Check post 53 for your answer :confused:

OK. I've posted it below so everyone else doesn't have to trawl through the thread for it.

That's an awffy lot of reasons you've come up with. Sure they're no just excuses?

31-01-2010, 05:38 PM
OK. I've posted it below so everyone else doesn't have to trawl through the thread for it.

That's an awffy lot of reasons you've come up with. Sure they're no just excuses?

I don't need an excuse to leave early and as Blackpoolhibs says some people have more important things going on in there life.

For me football is a hobby that fits around my family life

When I leave early from a football match it's because I have other things planned that night, unlike some who only have Saturday night TV to entertain them.

31-01-2010, 05:41 PM
I have now considered the various reasons / excuses given for early leaving ... and declare that all but a few are not Hibs Class :agree:

31-01-2010, 05:42 PM
I don't need an excuse to leave early and as Blackpoolhibs says some people have more important things going on in there life.

When I leave early from a football match it's because I have other things planned that night, unlike some who only have Saturday night TV to entertain them.

I think the whole point is if you take the bother of going to a game does it not piss you off if you miss the climax due to a pressing engagement that could surely wait half an hour?

31-01-2010, 05:46 PM
I think the whole point is if you take the bother of going to a game does it not piss you off if you miss the climax due to a pressing engagement that could surely wait half an hour?
Its a bit like reading a book but ripping the last few pages out or going to the cinema and walking out before the end. Dont you want to see or know how it turns out?

31-01-2010, 05:48 PM

You're right, being a recluse I don't get out much. But I have :hnet: to entertain me on a Saturday night, thank you very much. :cool2:

31-01-2010, 05:50 PM

yes it does piss me off but I don't have an option. Sometimes the "pressing engagement" can't wait, that's the point. Folk work on Saturday nights. Not everyone has the weekend to do what they want. I need to be back in Aberdeen for around 7.30pm. If I don't take a flyer (like yesterday) the journey takes up to 3 1/2 hours and makes me late for work. It took me about an hour to get out of Edinburgh last night due to not beating the rush. I got back into Aberdeen about 8.15pm and was late.

Other folk have stated that they have to be at their work for 6pm etc.

FFS if I want to get back to house sharpish to wipe my arse, that's my choice. If you don't like these non-fans leaving early, feel free to stop them on their way out and ask why they do it, just to see if their "excuse" is good enough for you!

31-01-2010, 05:57 PM

Me being 30 minutes late dosen't just effect my night out it effects the people who I have arrange to meet. So why would I want to do that ?

When I pay my money to see a game I choose what game to go and see it's my decision if I want to travel by car or train and it's my decision if I want to leave early or do you disagree ?

31-01-2010, 06:03 PM
yes it does piss me off but I don't have an option. Sometimes the "pressing engagement" can't wait, that's the point. Folk work on Saturday nights. Not everyone has the weekend to do what they want. I need to be back in Aberdeen for around 7.30pm. If I don't take a flyer (like yesterday) the journey takes up to 3 1/2 hours and makes me late for work. It took me about an hour to get out of Edinburgh last night due to not beating the rush. I got back into Aberdeen about 8.15pm and was late.

Other folk have stated that they have to be at their work for 6pm etc.

FFS if I want to get back to house sharpish to wipe my arse, that's my choice. If you don't like these non-fans leaving early, feel free to stop them on their way out and ask why they do it, just to see if their "excuse" is good enough for you!

Aye, but you're the manager so it doesn't really matter if you're late does it? :wink:

31-01-2010, 06:17 PM

:shocked: What can be more important than the Hibs? Sounds like they're 2nd best in your world. Get your priorities sorted :rules:

31-01-2010, 06:23 PM
I leave early all the time !
I stayed to the end yesterday though and i'm glad i did:thumbsup:

I leave when i like , if anybody would like to question me when i am leaving please feel free:agree:

Cannae believe this thread has run to 4 pages !

Hobo plums:greengrin

31-01-2010, 06:27 PM

I leave when i like , if anybody would like to question me when i am leaving please feel free:agree:

:eyes: We know where you sit :agree:

31-01-2010, 06:31 PM
:eyes: We know where you sit :agree:

Feel free to ask me when i'm leaving :agree:

Is it ok to spout obscenities at our players as long as we stay to the end ?
I find these fans more troublesome than the fans who leave early.

Also , i think its only Season Ticket holders who would choose to leave early as they havent actually forked out the cash that day.
This is fine as Season Ticket holders are better fans than most:greengrin

31-01-2010, 06:31 PM
My pal leaves early at just about every match.

In fact every home game against the OF or The Yams is preceded with " if we are 4 - 0 down at half time I'm going to the pub "

I can understand folk leaving early if we are getting humped. But if we are drawing or 1 - 0 down with a few minutes to go I just dont get it.

Anyway I dont have a real problem with it, as a few posters have said its their loss.

The cup tie against Sellic at ER was a classic example when we came back and won 4 - 3 I think Eddie May got the winner but could be wrong. Not to mention a derby at The Pink Bus shelter a good few years ago when we were 2 - 0 down with about 10 mins to go and we scored 2 in the last 10 mins. Joe McBride free kick, can't remember who got the other ... Brilliant.

I think thats probably why I stay ... coz ya never know.

Apart from that semi at Hampden when I left with 10 mins to go ...... Even I couldnt take that. :grr:

31-01-2010, 06:39 PM

After that post, you'd better not post on the Uberfan thread.

Coz you're not.

31-01-2010, 06:41 PM
After that post, you'd better not post on the Uberfan thread.

Coz you're not.

I'm a better fan than you though !:greengrin

31-01-2010, 06:44 PM
I'm a better fan than you though !:greengrin

:blah: Nah, you're no, coz I stay to the end of every match. That's why I'll always be better fan than you. :na na:

31-01-2010, 06:49 PM
some people on here need to get a life like.

i dont give a hoot if people around me leave.... aslong as your still there then why bother about anyone else.

fwiw i left at 89min yesterday to miss the rush.

i missed the goal but it doesnt really bother me one bit.... ill easily see it on the highlights.

mind your own business geeks.:devil:

31-01-2010, 06:59 PM

It's not as if we're in some 60,000 seater stadium is it - and we canny even sell out what we have. They way some folk are carrying on you'd think it took half an hour just to get out the ground.

Imagine what the players must think when they see all you jokers rushing to get away early.

31-01-2010, 07:03 PM

It's not as if we're in some 60,000 seater stadium is it - and we canny even sell out what we have. They way some folk are carrying on you'd think it took half an hour just to get out the ground.

Imagine what the players must think when they see all you jokers rushing to get away early.

its nothing to do with walking out the stand.... its getting the car out the car park and beating the traffic at lochend to jocks lodge.

get a grip, do you think the players look to the stand and watch for people leaving??? nah!

im sure they'll all go back into the changing room in tears right enough... they'll cry themselves to sleep into their big cash stuffed pillows!!:rolleyes:

anyway, is there not a television programme you lot should be watching to find something to complain to offcom about???

31-01-2010, 07:06 PM
its nothing to do with walking out the stand.... its getting the car out the car park and beating the traffic at lochend to jocks lodge.

get a grip, do you think the players look to the stand and watch for people leaving??? nah!

im sure they'll all go back into the changing room in tears right enough... they'll cry themselves to sleep into their big cash stuffed pillows!!:rolleyes:

anyway, is there not a television programme you lot should be watching to find something to complain to offcom about???
You leave early to beat traffic? You live in Dalkieth FFS. If you stayed to the end it would take you what an extra 15-20 mins max to get home!!! Geez.

31-01-2010, 07:08 PM
I left on 90 mins yesterday, heard the cheer when about to go down the stairs.

Do you know what though, I still left the game delighted knowing that we'd one. Did I care that I never seen the goal? No. We got three points, I seen the goal on the highlights (not that the camera man was that great!).

Am I a **** fan? Compared with the die hards who've had a ST for years, buy every bit of merchandise possible etc, yes, I am. Am I happy that I go to the games cos I want to? Yes, I am.

31-01-2010, 07:08 PM
You leave early to beat traffic? You live in Dalkieth FFS. If you stayed to the end it would take you what an extra 15-20 mins max to get home!!! Geez.

and????

seriously.... why is it a problem to YOU that I left early???:confused:

worry about yourself naw??

31-01-2010, 07:09 PM
i love these threads, i was in easter road at 9am and left bout 7pm. Yup i'm a super uper fan and you 90min fans are kermits.

:faf: I am still there, waiting for someone to tell me when is long enough.......... Old fella in front of me said Hibs will never score seconds before the first goal, he and his pal left five minutes before the end saying that he had had better times in the dentist chair!

31-01-2010, 07:10 PM
and????

seriously.... why is it a problem to YOU that I left early???:confused:

worry about yourself naw??
:confused:I have nothing to worry about. You on the other hand?
Do you turn into a Pumpkin if you are not home by half five on a match day or summit?

31-01-2010, 07:14 PM

Aye, that'll be the same way I go. The traffic's hellish isn't it :faf:

I was back in Livingston last night at 5:45 and I did stay till the final whistle. When did you get in?

And your offcom comment :dummytit: Is that the best you can do :faf: :faf: :faf:

31-01-2010, 07:16 PM
:confused:I have nothing to worry about. You on the other hand?
Do you turn into a Pumpkin if you are not home by half five on a match day or summit?

nah, i have a life outwith hibs.

plus the game was gash and i didnt think we'd score even if there was still half an hour to play.

however i was wrong, and im delighted we won.

im not bothered i missed the goal though....

should it no be that the most important thing is i go every week and pay my money...... shouldnt matter when i or anyone else chooses to leave

why dont you start a thread having a go at people that dont go to games????

31-01-2010, 07:17 PM
:blah: Nah, you're no, coz I stay to the end of every match. That's why I'll always be better fan than you. :na na:

We're talking about Hibs games here, no' United games.
:cool2:

31-01-2010, 07:18 PM
nah, i have a life outwith hibs.

plus the game was gash and i didnt think we'd score even if there was still half an hour to play.

however i was wrong, and im delighted we won.

im not bothered i missed the goal though....

should it no be that the most important thing is i go every week and pay my money...... shouldnt matter when i or anyone else chooses to leave

why dont you start a thread having a go at people that dont go to games????
Aye yer right sorry.

31-01-2010, 07:18 PM

I was back in Livingston last night at 5:45 and I did stay till the final whistle. When did you get in?

And your offcom comment :dummytit: Is that the best you can do :faf: :faf: :faf:

good for you uber fan.:thumbsup:

well im really sorry me leaving early bothers you. :faf:

31-01-2010, 07:22 PM
good for you uber fan.:thumbsup:

well im really sorry me leaving early bothers you. :faf:

Why come back with that childish pish rather than just answering the question.

What time did you get home and what was the big rush?

31-01-2010, 07:27 PM
Why come back with that childish pish rather than just answering the question.

What time did you get home and what was the big rush?

this whole thread is childish.

just dont understand the need.

there was no real rush just dont like sitting about in traffic much and didnt think id miss much.

not sure what time i go home tbh.

NaeTechnoHibby
31-01-2010, 07:28 PM

She willnae get tae leave until we do :agree:

Unless extreme exceptional circumstances are validated :thumbsup:

Most of wee FFL lower "clique" stay till then end :agree:

That inlcudes the moaners extrodanaire :rolleyes:

BTW, get yerselves shorter legs, than you dinnae to stand up for passers :thumbsup:

Sorted :agree:

31-01-2010, 07:35 PM
this whole thread is childish.

just dont understand the need.

there was no real rush just dont like sitting about in traffic much and didnt think id miss much.

not sure what time i go home tbh.

So you weren't working. You didn't have a night out and friends to inconvenience and you have no idea what time you got home.

So what it boils down to is you don't like sitting in traffic but aren't really bothered about missing the winning goal because you can see it on telly anyway.

Maybe it's just me but why did you even bother turning up. Some things in life I'll never understand.

31-01-2010, 07:36 PM

i was home for 6, i stayed untill the end, and stopped off at the Gyle on the way home, like someone said you buy the tickets travelled to the game only to leave a few mins early to beat some traffic instead of missing a belter of a finish.

i dont get it at all, at the same time it doesnt bother me

31-01-2010, 07:40 PM

Touche!
FWIW I stay to the end of ANY match I go to. :greengrin

31-01-2010, 07:41 PM
I really don't get this - I have a life outside of Hibs line. Does it really make a massive difference if you leave the ground at 4.48 rather than 4.51?

Yesterday I had to get home to Loanhead pick up the wife and kids and get to Peebles for 6.30. Still managed to do this with plenty of time to spare by watching the entire game and clap the team off the park.

People can leave whenever they like, I really don't have a problem with that, it's their loss when they've sat in the cold for 89 minutes and missed the best part of the game, but I do think some people exagerrate the whole beat the rush thing.

31-01-2010, 07:44 PM
So you weren't working. You didn't have a night out and friends to inconvenience and you have no idea what time you got home.

So what it boils down to is you don't like sitting in traffic but aren't really bothered about missing the winning goal because you can see it on telly anyway.

Maybe it's just me but why did you even bother turning up. Some things in life I'll never understand.

i did have a night out and i had to pick up my girlfriend from town.... but thats irrelevant as i would have left at 89mins even if i didnt have they things on/to do.

i turned up because i wanted to and i left because i wanted to....

i will no doubt leave before the final whistle again this season... doesnt make me any less of a hibee than anybody who stays the full 90 mins.

just dont see why people feel the need to draw attention to it and take the morale high ground.

31-01-2010, 07:46 PM
i did have a night out and i had to pick up my girlfriend from town.... but thats irrelevant as i would have left at 89mins even if i didnt have they things on/to do.

i will no doubt leave before the final whistle again this season... doesnt make me any less of a hibee than anybody who stays the full 90 mins.

just dont see why people feel the need to draw attention to it and take the morale high ground.

Will you leave in the 89th minute of a cup final when we are winning 3-1?

Nah, bet ya won't.

Your points have no validity. I would give up now if I was you.

31-01-2010, 07:58 PM
some people on here need to get a life like.

i dont give a hoot if people around me leave.... aslong as your still there then why bother about anyone else.

i missed the goal but it doesnt really bother me one bit.... ill easily see it on the highlights.

mind your own business geeks.:devil:

:doh:

I live out beyond pencaitland - stayed to the final whistle appladed the players of the pitch and was still back home posting tosh by 5.21pm...and that was with an 11 year old in tow and the car parked beyond the Loch inn..

PS Im in no way saying I am better because I stay to the end...I just think the 'big rush' is a myth

AugustaHibs
31-01-2010, 08:20 PM
8 Pages i think. :devil:

31-01-2010, 08:21 PM

They're winding you up Ritchie:agree:

And you're biting :greengrin

31-01-2010, 08:33 PM
They're winding you up Ritchie:agree:

And you're biting :greengrin

You're at the wind up, telling him that we're at the wind up methinks. :cool2:

31-01-2010, 08:46 PM

:fibber:

31-01-2010, 09:07 PM
Its a bit like reading a book but ripping the last few pages out or going to the cinema and walking out before the end. Dont you want to see or know how it turns out?

Or getting to the tickley bit pulling your trousers up and running home for your tea.

31-01-2010, 09:36 PM
:doh:

I live out beyond pencaitland - stayed to the final whistle appladed the players of the pitch and was still back home posting tosh by 5.21pm...and that was with an 11 year old in tow and the car parked beyond the Loch inn..

PS Im in no way saying I am better because I stay to the end...I just think the 'big rush' is a myth

I can assure you its not for me. If i leave 3 or 4 minutes early when driving back, it saves me nearly an hour on my journey home.

31-01-2010, 09:39 PM
I can exclusively reveal that I closed down Hibs.net at about 4.47pm and decided to nip out to the garden for a smoke (there was still a few minutes to play and being incredibly superstitious, I thought if I left the room we could score).

Does this make me not worthy of a username given that I exited early?

31-01-2010, 09:57 PM
I can assure you its not for me. If i leave 3 or 4 minutes early when driving back, it saves me nearly an hour on my journey home.

I will give you half an hour round the stadium but where is the other half hour hold up on a Saturday evening? Pub doesnt count.

31-01-2010, 09:59 PM
Or getting to the tickley bit pulling your trousers up and running home for your tea.

31-01-2010, 10:04 PM
It is an absoloute disgrace that people leave early. I am proud to say that I did NOT leave early yesterday.

Footnote - I wasn't at the game mind. :greengrin

31-01-2010, 10:05 PM
I will give you half an hour round the stadium but where is the other half hour hold up on a Saturday evening?

We park at the persevere, by the time we get out the ground, our seats are normally the top of the west stand, get through the crowds, and down to the pub, its gone 5 maybe 10 past sometimes. Then you have to crawl along the links, then seafield road, and its normally 6.10-6.15 by the time we get to hillend ski centre. If we leave the ground 4 minutes early, we are down the road quick, and away before 5, and at hillend by quarter past 20 past 5 at the latest.

31-01-2010, 10:12 PM
We park at the persevere, by the time we get out the ground, our seats are normally the top of the west stand, get through the crowds, and down to the pub, its gone 5 maybe 10 past sometimes. Then you have to crawl along the links, then seafield road, and its normally 6.10-6.15 by the time we get to hillend ski centre. If we leave the ground 4 minutes early, we are down the road quick, and away before 5, and at hillend by quarter past 20 past 5 at the latest.

Sheesh, what you on - a pushbike?

I stayed till the end (as per) and was home for 6.30pm via the Chinese takeaway and a 15 minute wait for my tea!

31-01-2010, 10:13 PM

Park down Sleigh Drive then. Go out via Porty and onto the bypass and Sheriffhall. You will be at Hillend by 5.45. I used to be back at West Calder by 6.30 latest after dropping my Daughter at Deans in Livingston Also in the West and always clap the team off the park. :wink:

31-01-2010, 10:14 PM

:confused: How come I stayed till the end, went round the bypass and was in Livingston at 5:45

Think you need a new route away G

31-01-2010, 10:20 PM
:confused: How come I stayed till the end, went round the bypass and was in Livingston at 5:45

I have no idea, there is normally 4 of us in the car, dotted all over the stadium, and honestly thats how long it takes us. I'd welcome another way to do it, as its a bloody pain in the arse crawling along seafield road, the links and such. It can take 20 minutes on its own just to get to seafield road from the persevere after the games finished.

lEXO
31-01-2010, 10:31 PM
I left on 90 minutes.Missed the goal, but thats my loss nobody elses.No different from turning up late and missing the only goal of the game.Does being late make you a lesser fan?Just a thought.

31-01-2010, 10:34 PM
I have no idea, there is normally 4 of us in the car, dotted all over the stadium, and honestly thats how long it takes us. I'd welcome another way to do it, as its a bloody pain in the arse crawling along seafield road, the links and such. It can take 20 minutes on its own just to get to seafield road from the persevere after the games finished.

Park along from the Loch in and go out through craigentiny and even having seen the game out you will be on the by pass by 5.05...unless your passengers come with zimmer frames

31-01-2010, 10:35 PM

We used to have the same problem heading for the by pass from lochend . Now we park at Abbeyhill and exit through the park to Cameron Toll and out through Liberton and Straiton. Save 20mins on our journey to Peebles.

31-01-2010, 10:35 PM

I was parked at Meadowbank and was back in Loanhead for 5.40. Drove through the town via Holyrood Park and Liberton.

31-01-2010, 10:37 PM
Park along from the Loch in and go out through craigentiny and even having seen the game out you will be on the by pass by 5.05...unless your passengers come with zimmer frames

We used to have the same problem heading for the by pass from lochend . Now we park at Abbeyhill and exit through the park to Cameron Toll and out through Liberton and Straiton. Save 20mins on our journey to Peebles.

Will try both these ones in future. :thumbsup: Might even stay till the end too.:devil:

31-01-2010, 10:39 PM

I was parked in Lochend Road at Hawkhill junction. Went Sleigh Drive, Craigentinny Road, take one of the roads on the right onto Porty Road, then Bailyfield, Harry Lauder, Milton Link then nail it up the A1 to Old Craighall, onto bypass A720 and then A71.

Never home any later than 6pm that way - and it's probably 25 mins from the ski slope junction at legal speeds. Was a scoosh last night. Maybe cause so many folk had left early :greengrin

31-01-2010, 10:40 PM
I left on 90 minutes.Missed the goal, but thats my loss nobody elses.No different from turning up late and missing the only goal of the game.Does being late make you a lesser fan?Just a thought.
Aye

31-01-2010, 10:43 PM
Usually I stay till the end .. sometimes I'll leave early if I've somewhere to be.

Leaving 1 minute early CAN save at least 15 minutes on my travel time so I'm not going to lose sleep over missing a last minute winner once every 5 years.
It's not like it's going to put me in a bad mood hearing the crowd cheer as I pass the club shop.

And there are always football highlights on the TV to fall back on.

31-01-2010, 10:44 PM
I was parked in Lochend Road at Hawkhill junction. Went Sleigh Drive, Craigentinny Road, take one of the roads on the right onto Porty Road, then Bailyfield, Harry Lauder, Milton Link then nail it up the A1 to Old Craighall, onto bypass A720 and then A71.

Never home any later than 6pm that way - and it's probably 25 mins from the ski slope junction at legal speeds. Was a scoosh last night. Maybe cause so many folk had left early :greengrin

I never went that way yesterday, i walked along london road, up leith walk then down waverley steps, and let the train take the strain.:wink:

lEXO
31-01-2010, 10:44 PM
Aye
Well that makes my last 30 odd years supporting Hibs pointless then.Hey ho, i,ll get over it.To all the uberfans, we are not worthy.

31-01-2010, 10:45 PM
Well that makes my last 30 odd years supporting Hibs pointless then.Hey ho, i,ll get over it.To all the uberfans, we are not worthy.
Nae excuses from Powderhall.

31-01-2010, 10:47 PM

Zactly the way I go except I usually park on Sleigh Drive. :agree:

31-01-2010, 10:47 PM

:agree::agree: correct ... and a wee 5/10 minute saver...when you get to the slip road from A1 to go under and onto Bypass..the roundabout is not marked for left lane / left turn only...so use left lane and go round the two lane round about and onto bypass in left lane..a lot of drivers who do not know HC forget / don't know that 2 entrances / 2 exits / 2 lanes mean you are entitled to use both...it saves an age.

I can get from ER to Saltoun (18 miles) in 23 mins :greengrin

31-01-2010, 10:50 PM
:agree::agree: correct ... and a wee 5/10 minute saver...when you get to the slip road from A1 to go under and onto Bypass..the roundabout is not marked for left lane / left turn only...so use left lane and go round the two lane round about and onto bypass in left lane..a lot of drivers who do not know HC forget / don't know that 2 entrances / 2 exits / 2 lanes mean you are entitled to use both...it saves an age.

I can get from ER to Saltoun (18 miles) in 23 mins :greengrin
:agree:The other one is using the bus lane (which isnt a bus lane at the weekend) on Porty road. Two lanes turning right onto the Milton link.

lEXO
31-01-2010, 10:54 PM
Nae excuses from Powderhall.
I dinnae need to make excuses.90 minutes up, i decide to leave.My choice.The same as if i want to finish my pint before the game and miss the first couple of minutes.I buy my season ticket and can plank myself on my seat, and leave it when i choose.

31-01-2010, 10:57 PM
I dinnae need to make excuses.90 minutes up, i decide to leave.My choice.The same as if i want to finish my pint before the game and miss the first couple of minutes.I buy my season ticket and can plank myself on my seat, and leave it when i choose.
Fine by me :agree: Dinnae understand it all the same but fine by me. :aok:

31-01-2010, 11:23 PM
Sheesh, what you on - a pushbike?

I stayed till the end (as per) and was home for 6.30pm via the Chinese takeaway and a 15 minute wait for my tea!

:agree: I stayed to the end, clapped the team off the park and waited for the announcer to give us the other results before joining in a couple of renditions of "cheer up Jimmy Jeffries" on my way up the stairs laughing at the hearts result. Even with having to wait 5 minutes at the turnstyles for my brother to get out the stadium after that I was still home in Dunfermline with a freshly cooked Scampi supper for the missus and a sausage supper for myself by 6.30.

31-01-2010, 11:28 PM

Is your Sat Nav directions read by Shabby :greengrin

maturehibby
01-02-2010, 12:03 AM
I stayed to the end but made the mistake of not standing up as the majority of the fans in the lower west were and as a result by the time I got to my feet Gallacher was picking the ball out of the net and the fans all around were going Tonto .
Saw it tonight and it doesnt make me feel any better than seeing it go in the first time .
Only bit of goo that came of it was I was able to give Jack pelters as he ran off the park immediately the fulltime whistle went spewing

01-02-2010, 06:22 PM
Is your Sat Nav directions read by Shabby :greengrin

:faf::faf:

01-02-2010, 06:44 PM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Grant-Stott-That-was-the.6030846.jp (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Grant-Stott-That-was-the.6030846.jp)

Even the celebs can't understand why people leave before the match is finished:

Even with more than five minutes to go, I noticed some Hibs fans leaving early, and just couldn't understand that at all. How can you leave a game hinged at 1-1 with your team really going for it? It's a real bug bear of mine, fans leaving early, and that was clear when all those early-to-bedders missed the winner in the dying seconds with the own goal created by Ian Murray.

Well said Mr Stott! :applause:

01-02-2010, 07:17 PM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Grant-Stott-That-was-the.6030846.jp (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Grant-Stott-That-was-the.6030846.jp)

Even the celebs can't understand why people leave before the match is finished:

Even with more than five minutes to go, I noticed some Hibs fans leaving early, and just couldn't understand that at all. How can you leave a game hinged at 1-1 with your team really going for it? It's a real bug bear of mine, fans leaving early, and that was clear when all those early-to-bedders missed the winner in the dying seconds with the own goal created by Ian Murray.

Well said Mr Stott! :applause:

Grant Stott a celeb :faf: you really should get out more mate

6 pages off I'm a better fan than you. :yawn:

Is this is good as it gets on Hibs.net :rolleyes:

01-02-2010, 07:26 PM
Grant Stott a celeb :faf: you really should get out more mate

6 pages off I'm a better fan than you. :yawn:

Is this is good as it gets on Hibs.net :rolleyes:

As I can't be bothered trawling through the 6 pages again, tell us again the excuse, woops sorry, reason you left early again? :rolleyes:

01-02-2010, 07:31 PM
As I can't be bothered trawling through the 6 pages again, tell us again the excuse, woops sorry, reason you left early again? :rolleyes:

Hopfully he tells you using bold type.

I find that really helpful, good for making his point clear.

01-02-2010, 08:24 PM

They're usually in such a hurry they stand in the aisles and block my view.

I've no idea why folk do it when the score's 1-1 - do they leave the cinema before the baddie gets caught or the goody nails the bird?

Hilarious reading some of the excuses though. :tee hee:

01-02-2010, 09:39 PM
They're usually in such a hurry they stand in the aisles and block my view.

I've no idea why folk do it when the score's 1-1 - do they leave the cinema before the baddie gets caught or the goody nails the bird?

Hilarious reading some of the excuses though. :tee hee:
In the good old days(stop that groaning)you often went into the pictures half way through the big picture and saw the end before the beginning.

02-02-2010, 07:26 AM

To give you super fans something to talk about on Hibs. Net :thumbsup:

02-02-2010, 08:58 PM
I dont know whats funnier. Folk demanding explanations from people for leaving or the folk giving their explanations:faf:

02-02-2010, 09:01 PM
I dont know whats funnier. Folk demanding explanations from people for leaving or the folk giving their explanations:faf:

Take it you got an adaptor then? We were hoping for a couple of day's peace from you. :rolleyes:

02-02-2010, 09:07 PM
Take it you got an adaptor then? We were hoping for a couple of day's peace from you. :rolleyes:

Borrowed one from the job im doing but the guy wants it back on Thursday:faf:

Anyway , dinnae roll you eyes at me :cool2:

Nutter

02-02-2010, 09:29 PM
Borrowed one from the job im doing but the guy wants it back on Thursday:faf:

Anyway , dinnae roll you eyes at me :cool2:

Nutter
:crazy: