View Full Version : Question is Kevin McBride the glue that holds it all together?

Hakim Sar
27-01-2010, 10:17 PM

27-01-2010, 10:18 PM

Yes, captain material too :agree:

27-01-2010, 10:20 PM
Kevin McBride and Liam Miller. :top marks

Mikey_1875
Lynchpin indeed. POTY so far for me.:agree:

davym7062
yep he is. the difference he makes to liam miller says it all:top marks

27-01-2010, 10:21 PM
Makes you wonder whether Falkirk know football at all!!!

However more the case of the club and player fitting perfectly!

Top class player for us!

BH.

Hakim Sar
just a genuinely good player

steady
reliable
intelligent
calm
hogg looks a better defender when he is in the team
rankin plays better when he is in the team

stubru59
Our recent (past tense) dip in form can be attributed to our player of the season not being available.

Thank ..... he's back.

Fantastic signing.

Delboy4
27-01-2010, 10:22 PM
Yes - 100%

We lost our way when he was injured.

Hibby 2005
27-01-2010, 10:22 PM
Get him signed up for another 3 years (depending on his ankle of course!) :greengrin

27-01-2010, 10:23 PM
He's a very good player indeed.

Seems strange that the Falkirk fans were coming on here in the close season to tell us how rubbish he was.

He frees Liam to push forward; we've missed him so much these last few games.

Celtic reject, right? Played OK tonight. :devil:

27-01-2010, 10:23 PM
Aye - he's the key!

Along wi Smith signing - and how good is Hanlon at CH!!

27-01-2010, 10:25 PM
Without a doubt. No coincidence that when Kevin came back in the team we start winning again.

Watched him closely on Saturday against Hamilton. McBride buzzes about the defence mopping up everything in front of them.

Long term deal for Kevin please.

27-01-2010, 10:44 PM
I love Kevin McBride:applause:

27-01-2010, 10:46 PM

Yep been saying that for long enough! Inspired signing.

27-01-2010, 10:53 PM
McBride out ... we look a bit ropey

McBride in .... we look miles better.

Conclusion ...... McBride must be the answer.

Keep it up Kev

27-01-2010, 10:58 PM
Is Zouma becoming too much of a luxury?
Unless he brings in other players rather than hogging the ball then he could end up with less game time.

27-01-2010, 11:00 PM
The understanding Miller and McBride seem to have is what holds us together. You can see Miller looks a bit lost when McBride isnt on the pitch, but when they play together the result is unbelievable.

27-01-2010, 11:00 PM
McBride out ... we look a bit ropey

McBride in .... we look miles better.

Conclusion ...... McBride must be the answer.

Keep it up Kev

I have been a bit doubtful that one player could make such a difference and was worried we were pinning our hopes on him but based on the last 3 games and the games prior to his injury he must be the answer. Miller plays like the SPL equivalent to Fabregas when McBride plays.

I will take all of this back if we lose on Saturday. :agree::greengrin

27-01-2010, 11:04 PM
just a genuinely good player

steady
reliable
intelligent
calm
hogg looks a better defender when he is in the team
rankin plays better when he is in the team

:agree: his influence and protection allow others to concentrate on their game

danger1875
27-01-2010, 11:05 PM

oh yes he is, he just allows miller to get on with hurting teams with his passing.

yogi has been a jedi master in his signings. on a side note well done to another yogi signing in getting his first hibees goal.

27-01-2010, 11:06 PM
I have been a bit doubtful that one player could make such a difference and was worried we were pinning our hopes on him but based on the last 3 games and the games prior to his injury he must be the answer. Miller plays like the SPL equivalent to Fabregas when McBride plays.

I will take all of this back if we lose on Saturday. :agree::greengrin

Since they are a pair has to be the SPL equivalent of Xavi and Iniesta :wink:; two players who control everything :greengrin.

27-01-2010, 11:24 PM
Makes you wonder whether Falkirk know football at all!!!

However more the case of the club and player fitting perfectly!

Top class player for us!

BH.

Clearly a lot of Falkirk fans wouldnae know a decent footballer if one kicked them up their collective erse :greengrin

Perspective
27-01-2010, 11:26 PM
It makes a massive difference having players like Miller and McBride, who are composed and gifted enough to retain the ball at places like Parkhead.

Special mention too for Rankin, who again covered every blade.

27-01-2010, 11:37 PM
Clearly a lot of Falkirk fans wouldnae know a decent footballer if one kicked them up their collective erse :greengrinThink a lot of that was sour grapes, but whae cares, either way their loss has been a :top marks gain for us :agree: :thumbsup:

houston1875
27-01-2010, 11:50 PM
hanlon the night was awesome..as was Miller and Mcbride

plus must get Ian Murray signed up on lengthy 'tract ASAP

27-01-2010, 11:52 PM
Yeah, lets just hope he doesnt go through a sticky patch...

27-01-2010, 11:53 PM
It makes a massive difference having players like Miller and McBride, who are composed and gifted enough to retain the ball at places like Parkhead.

Special mention too for Rankin, who again covered every blade.

:agree: Glad you've mentioned Rankin too. All 3 midfielders were top drawer tonight. McBride is vital to the way we play. Choosing between him and Miller for POS is a tough one.

Ants
27-01-2010, 11:57 PM
Without a doubt. No coincidence that when Kevin came back in the team we start winning again.

Watched him closely on Saturday against Hamilton. McBride buzzes about the defence mopping up everything in front of them.

Long term deal for Kevin please.

Spot on. :top marks
He was very commanding and had a bit of aggression about him, thats what we have been missing.
Freed Miller up, cos he know there was suitable cover....

rossi
27-01-2010, 11:59 PM
Wasn't sour grapes with the Falkirk fans; McBride was their scapegoat. Good friend of mine is a season ticket holder there. Have to remember they were on Yogi's back for most of last season.

27-01-2010, 11:59 PM
Yes. His return co-incides with the end of the slump. Didn't think he was as good as he's been tonight, but he organises us, keeps our shape and frees Miller to play forward.

28-01-2010, 12:20 AM

an excellent signing, anyone know what length of contract he is on?

is McBride to Yogi's team what Kerr was supposed to be for JC's?

but on this sort of form he is in the running for player of the year:top marks

28-01-2010, 12:35 AM
To think last season we had Keenan and Chisolm...

28-01-2010, 12:36 AM

:boo hoo: I miss all that pointing :boo hoo:

28-01-2010, 12:37 AM

Jesus Christ, gaun gies some warning before posting shocks like that, almost passed out with the flashbacks of that:bitchy::greengrin

What a turn around in the midfield:top marks

David_D
28-01-2010, 12:39 AM
Superb Signing. Possible Player of the Season so far :thumbsup:

PC Stamp
28-01-2010, 02:19 AM
an excellent signing, anyone know what length of contract he is on?is McBride to Yogi's team what Kerr was supposed to be for JC's?

but on this sort of form he is in the running for player of the year:top marks

Signed for two years IIRC.

7Hero
28-01-2010, 02:32 AM
i really find it hard to think of an amazing single thing he has done, but when i think of the team performance without him he is without a doubt the player that has made hibs tick this year with, in my order the following :

miller
bamba
stokes
riordan

but player of the year is McBride definitely.

with him back i feel positive about getting 3rd easily..

28-01-2010, 02:33 AM
I can't be bothered to trawl backmy posts ( mainly due to the fact there are a few of them) but in there there is oneabout McBride before he was injured. It went along the lines if I thought we would struggle without him and hoped he would stay injury free. I want Brownie points right now.

28-01-2010, 02:39 AM
think McBribe got dogs abuse at well and falkirk cos they didn't have a good team, and so his unselfish work went unnoticed, he is not a goal scorer, he does the Dirty work, as Cantona said, "he carr'ys the piano"

28-01-2010, 04:38 AM
To all the Falkirk fans that were happy ti see that back o him well all i have to say is

GGTTH!!!!!!

Best hibs player by a miles.

Sure Murray and D are close to himm but we have our star player right there!:notworthy:

28-01-2010, 08:17 AM
Mcbride has been one of the best signings in a long time, we dont lose many games with him playing. The funny thing is that when he was brought in from Falkirk on a free some people were slating him and saying he wasnt good enough:greengrin

28-01-2010, 09:03 AM
McBride also didn't have a Miller to pass to at Falkirk.

1875er
28-01-2010, 09:07 AM
Has been superb signing and for me just pips Miller for POY so far....close call though.
Also clear to see he enjoys a good freindship with Miller off the park from their time at Celtic before which can only help on the park.

Tollhouse Hibee
28-01-2010, 09:34 AM
hanlon the night was awesome..as was Miller and Mcbride

plus must get Ian Murray signed up on lengthy 'tract ASAP

and i think we were better without zouma