forthhibby
25-01-2010, 05:41 PM
signed pre contract with yams, just confirmed on radio scotland

spudhib
25-01-2010, 05:42 PM
....for the Yams:confused:way to solve the striker crisis Cszaba:greengrin

EasterRoad4Ever
25-01-2010, 05:43 PM
Real pity. Good player. Wrong team. Will be out of a job within 12 months.

three year deal at the Lost Yambolinos

(per Radio Scotland)
Just the striker they need.:confused:
Q all the GIRFUY comments from Yams. :rolleyes:

Just heard it too. Good luck to him. He was terrible yesterday so they are welcome to him:thumbsup:

25-01-2010, 05:45 PM
Darren Barr = this year's Ian Black

HibbyScott
three year deal at the Lost Yambolinos

(per Radio Scotland)

Where are they picking up the money for signing players still? :bitchy:

As per other comments...good striker right enough :confused: Vlad must have thought that a goal against Rangers was proof that there are strikers already at the club :greengrin

He aint any better than Hogg imo.

25-01-2010, 05:46 PM
Where are they picking up the money for signing players still? :bitchy:

As per other comments...good striker right enough :confused: Vlad must have thought that a goal against Rangers was proof that there are strikers already at the club :greengrin

No money, just wages. They'll pay him 1/3 of whatever Goncalves is on now.

25-01-2010, 05:46 PM
What a muppet

25-01-2010, 05:48 PM
I had never seen a lot of him, and decided to watch him and arfield closely yesterday. I gave up before half time, and switched over to the arsenal game. Both looked very average. I suppose that will be accused of sour grapes over the road.

25-01-2010, 05:49 PM
Hahaha.. :faf:

What a fud of a man..

Far too ugly to be a hibby anyway.. :agree:

http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00557/Darren_280x390_557978a.jpg

Looks like a junior Wookie Pressley..

:jamboak:

I suppose any contract can be cancelled (with penalties).

Whats the deal with a pre-contract any penalty for breach?

Good luck to him! Money mos obviously spoke! Anyways we have to give a little at some point remember Deeks and Stokes turned them down!

Enjoy the jumbos Darren and moreso Edinburgh University Sports Science Complex!!

25-01-2010, 05:50 PM
Just heard it too. Good luck to him. He was terrible yesterday so they are welcome to him:thumbsup:

Exactly,even the facilities at falkirk are far superior to that at hearts.
Hope he doesnt like hanging back for some extra training.
Wrong move darren son :agree:

I suppose any contract can be cancelled (with penalties).

Whats the deal with a pre-contract any penalty for breach?

Depends on what's in the contract.

Storar
disappointed we didn't sign him to be fair but he's obviously an idiot.
Wonder what all the Hearts fans that slagged us off for siging Hughes, McBride and Cregg will have to say about it though.

25-01-2010, 05:51 PM
Meh - he's been mediocre each time I've seen him this season - if you can't shine whilst being surrounded with the dross in the Falkirk defense, you have to question what he'll add to the current Hearts defense, which is pretty resilient as it is already!

They have a perfectly able right-back in young Craig Thompson, who has looked pretty impressive up until he was injured a while back.

We can certainly do better IMO, and I'm just glad he's finally ended all the speculation, as all the "Darren Barr, will he, won't he...", "I can exclusively reveal", "Darren Barr is definitely on his way" threads we've endured on here in recent months have been infuriating!

I think Barr's a good player, although obviously a money grabbing wee *****, and will be playing relegation football again next season. :greengrin

Clearly no ambition.

Always said i rated his side kick Mclean much better.

25-01-2010, 05:53 PM
He was obviously never going to the ugly sisters cos they are not stealing anyone at the moment for some reason. Staying in scotland then it had to be Hearts. Good luck to the laddie as he will need it.
Nothing on Reporting Scotland sports bit. :confused:

25-01-2010, 05:54 PM
I take it Vlad's just signed him 'cos he knew Yogi was interested as well? Obviously Shabby's got nothing to do with it as I'm sure he'd prefer to spend the budget on a striker - he has been greeting about needing one for at least a year now.

Sounds like a Chris Hackett type signing to me.

25-01-2010, 05:55 PM
Not surprised. No matter how much we want to believe they have no cash, they probably still pay players more wages than we do.

Storar
25-01-2010, 05:56 PM
Not surprised. No matter how much we want to believe they have no cash, they probably still pay players more wages than we do.

They definitely do, which is why they're ****ed.

Same thing happened with Chris Hackett and Ian Black and look how they worked out!

25-01-2010, 05:58 PM
Be funny as **** if its been leaked by Eddie May who has got it completely wrong cos he's lost the plot. :greengrin

Edinburgh Green
The only defender I have seen consistently beaten in the air by nish.

Aye and that's how they're £40 million in debt :faf:

25-01-2010, 05:59 PM
They definitely do, which is why they're ****ed.

!

Are they ****ed though? I keep hearing this but they still seem to be going along fine.

I take it Vlad's just signed him 'cos he knew Yogi was interested as well? Obviously Shabby's got nothing to do with it as I'm sure he'd prefer to spend the budget on a striker - he has been greeting about needing one for at least a year now.

Sounds like a Chris Hackett type signing to me.

I rate Barr, think he's a decent player that would have been good for us, however i'm not bothered in the slightest that he's joined hearts, they've already got a good defence so i don't think he'll actually improve them that much.

If they got someone thats going to score goals for them i'd be more concerned.

Monktonhall 7
You couldn't make it up. Unless we are being given the completely wrong picture about the Comedy Club over the road, why would anyone with any self respect get involved volutarily with that mob. Good riddance, move on.

Good. 5'10'' Centre Half's in this day and age, really?

There's a pattern emerging here.

Last year the Yams signed a player on a pre-contract from the relegated ICT. This year they've got another on a pre-contract from a club who's odds-on for the drop.

Maybe they're building a squad for the 1st division.

25-01-2010, 06:01 PM

Off course they pay more than us, Nade, Goncalvez and Kingston probably get paid more between them than Riordan, Miller, Stokes, Zemmama, Nish, Murray, Hogg, Benji, McBride, Bamba and Cregg get between them.

25-01-2010, 06:02 PM
Lets be honest here, Hearts are quite tight at the back anyway, Id see Barr as a straight replacement for Goncalves, but just not as good, there problems lie in attack, they cant hit a coo's erse with a banjo so they go and buy a defender :rolleyes:

This signin will be Romanov's as he would have been aware of Hughe's interest in the player, and cause he's not the full shilling he would just like one over Yogi without thinking where there real problems lie.

Barr is a decent player but will make not one jot of a difference to a striker starved Hearts side.

Hank Schrader
25-01-2010, 06:02 PM
Quite happy to see Hearts signing up average players on pre contract from teams doomed to playing Division One football the next season. Black last January, and now Barr.

Can't say I am that fussed to be honest. :dunno:

25-01-2010, 06:03 PM
Lots of sour grapes on this thread. A lot of back-tracking will be required if he changes his mind or they've got this wrong. :greengrin

25-01-2010, 06:04 PM
Lots of sour grapes on this thread. A lot of back-tracking will be required if he changes his mind or they've got this wrong. :greengrin

25-01-2010, 06:04 PM
Never wanted him in the first place.

The games I've seen him in this season he's been absolutely dire.

25-01-2010, 06:05 PM

I think Barr would have been a good signing for Hibs as i rate him pretty highly..

Defo too ugg tho :greengrin

25-01-2010, 06:06 PM
No from me, imo he aint any better than what he have, and if Bamba is away at the end of the season, we need to sign a big physical type centre half.

25-01-2010, 06:08 PM
No from me, imo he aint any better than what he have, and if Bamba is away at the end of the season, we need to sign a big physical type centre half.

Anderson only signed for six months with Derby.

Hibs' need this week is really a specialist right back, which Barr isn't.

25-01-2010, 06:08 PM
Don't know why everyone's backtracking here. This guy looked the real deal, he's just what we need and to lose out to them is a real kick in the teeth. Gutted.

25-01-2010, 06:09 PM
Quite clear money talks with Mr Barr then. I'm certain Yogi will be dissapointed, he most definately doesn't show much ambition signing for that lot.

He's a decent defender, nothing more. Certanily won't be loosing sleep about missing out on him, that's for sure.

Im away to crock the Hertz bassa on Fifa. Kev McBride, all guns blazing :greengrin

25-01-2010, 06:09 PM

:greengrin Nae loss IMHO.

25-01-2010, 06:10 PM

I've always thought he was (saved for editing) myself :agree:

Interesting to note that Barr's shorter than Andy McNeil :greengrin

25-01-2010, 06:10 PM
What is he thinkin aboot signin for that manky mob?, clearly no ambition but to me the yams will lose Zaluskas and Concalves and possibly Wallace in the next few days.

Bad bad decision son!

Hank Schrader
25-01-2010, 06:11 PM
Don't know why everyone's backtracking here. This guy looked the real deal, he's just what we need and to lose out to them is a real kick in the teeth. Gutted.

No backtracking from me, I've never rated the guy as highly as some do.

Couldnae gie a rats erse if truth be told.

Big Al85
25-01-2010, 06:15 PM
Gutted.

He's a great player and could have done a job for us IMO. :no way:

25-01-2010, 06:16 PM
Money talks, bull**** walks.

A bit disappointed he's signed for them, with our facilities and where Yogi is taking us, added with the situation over at Yamland, money must have been the factor.

Hopefully Yogi's got something else up his sleeve.

mcfly
25-01-2010, 06:17 PM
not gutted if he wants to sign for that mob they are welcome to him

he is over rated and no better than what we have, i'm sure yogi has other players lined up.

will we sign anyone this week?????

Gutted.

Potty78
Hanlon looks a better player imho,a new right back (caddis please)bamba back till at least the summer and murray to sign new contract and i would be happy.:agree:

25-01-2010, 06:19 PM

nowhere near the amount of backtracking that will be required on backtrack, as when it looked like we would get him he was rank rotten over by :greengrin

houston1875
25-01-2010, 06:19 PM
is the boy daft? a no mark player at a no mark club!

25-01-2010, 06:20 PM

Don't see that. Barr is a good, not great, defender.

Losing out on Stokes to them at the start of the season would have been a problem (if Vlad paid any attention to Csaba).

Or, let's compare it with last year. Hibs lost out to Hearts for Ian Black, but then went and signed McBride and Miller in the summer. Would Hibs be better off now if they had upped the ante and got Black, but at the cost of losing one or two of those players later?

This deal smells of Vlad desperately trying to "get one over" Hibs, rather than actually trying to build a proper balanced squad.

hibbymac
25-01-2010, 06:23 PM
Gutted.

Don't know if it is a cold I have coming on ......sniff sniff.

25-01-2010, 06:23 PM
Part of me hopes that this signals Hughes had lost patience with Barr and has another player if any already lined up. Fwiw Barr is a good player with a good pedigree who is only going to get better. Hearts like it or not have more pulling power and no matter how hard the resident piss takers about Hearts finances on this message board try suggest otherwise that fact still remains sadly.

Lmc2105
25-01-2010, 06:24 PM
what a clown.

just proves that the lad has no ambition
but who cares :greengrin

lets concentrate and bring better and a more better quality to easter road:thumbsup:

they have no striker! and it will stay that way unless they intend to play him upfront

Hibs07p
25-01-2010, 06:24 PM
IMO Hearts getting out the good news to deflect from the bad, which could be anything knowing that lot.

25-01-2010, 06:26 PM
What a crazy decision:bye:

25-01-2010, 06:26 PM
I always thought there was better out there than Darren Barr.

Of course it's annoying to lose out to those halfwits across town but at the end of the day we signed Stokes and Riordan ahead of them, we also brought in McBride and Miller. Thus far they have managed a striker from the German amateurs, a 3rd division Spaniard, a CH who belongs in a zoo, a 13 year old and darren Barr. I think i can see whos signing policy looks in better shape.:greengrin

MontrealHibs
25-01-2010, 06:27 PM
Part of me hopes that this signals Hughes had lost patience with Barr and has another player if any already lined up. Fwiw Barr is a good player with a good pedigree who is only going to get better. Hearts like it or not have more pulling power and not matter how hard the resident piss takers about Hearts finances on this message board try suggest otherwise that fact still remains.

I disagree they have more pulling power, they have a marginally smaller gate but massive outgoings on salaries and interest payments - or am I wrong, do they not have to pay interest to the mad one?

Either way it's a loss. At the end of the day the boy is a Scotland squad member and IMHO Hogg is not at that standard.

houston1875
25-01-2010, 06:28 PM
Part of me hopes that this signals Hughes had lost patience with Barr and has another player if any already lined up. Fwiw Barr is a good player with a good pedigree who is only going to get better. Hearts like it or not have more pulling power and no matter how hard the resident piss takers about Hearts finances on this message board try suggest otherwise that fact still remains sadly.

more pulling power?

25-01-2010, 06:30 PM
Ive never understood the appeal of him, always thought he was overrated.

Would have been a decent squad player but not better than anyone in our current lineup. We need a proper RB, and a CB with height, and he is neither.

Considering some of the signings Yogi has made, Barr would have been... disappointing.

25-01-2010, 06:32 PM
Hearts have managed to sign a good young Scottish player with plenty potential for nothing.....we've definitly missed out.

Regardless of what some think of his ability I reckon he'd have been a good player who we could have made some money on in the future. :agree:

Sometimes think that lot could sign absolutley anyone and folks on here would find reason to point out they are crap! I can imagine the posts if Mad Vlad pulled out some miraculous Robinho coup on loan from Man City, no doubt there would be plenty posts on how he's crap cos he's lazy and small!!

25-01-2010, 06:33 PM
Gutted.

:jamboid:

he's never been remotely close to a great player.

Despite the story that Yogi has been chasing him ot the ends of the earth, it makes you wonder if he really was.

Barr has been terrible this season and conceded numerous penalties with suicidal dives in.

Like BH, I was watching yesterday v Utd to keep a watchiong brief on Barr and Arfield - both were honking.

Almost a final word on Barr....did you see the way big John Daly left him for dead in a straight chase through the middle of the park?

- a 13.5 stone striking veteran of three cruciate injuries and about 10 games under his belt in 3 years.

Nah...I'll place Darren Barr in the 'TF he's no here' bracket.

PS I won't be changing my mind if the Yam story proves to be mince... he's average at best.

Mellow Hibee
25-01-2010, 06:34 PM
Straightforward Vlad decision.

He's available on a free contract and will be worth a few quid in a two years. Regardless of whether he was a defender, striker or goalkeeper he would fit Vlad's "criteria"

Poor old Csaba's criteria of course is to try to strengthen the team. Something Vlad couldn't give a **** about.

25-01-2010, 06:34 PM
I'm glad it's not us.

Scotthibs1875
25-01-2010, 06:35 PM
Why are people saying that they are sigining players from *****y falkirk and inverness when its obvious that were black and barr where their best players? Also we signed cregg and Mcbride from Falkirk and they turned out good.:confused:

Littlest Hobo
They need a striker-they sign a a CH.
We need a Ch- we sign nae ****.:rolleyes:

Me thinks Vlads trying to extract the urine?

Ive never understood the appeal of him, always thought he was overrated.

Would have been a decent squad player but not better than anyone in our current lineup. We need a proper RB, and a CB with height, and he is neither.

Considering some of the signings Yogi has made, Barr would have been... disappointing.

Pretty much sums it up for me also...
As I've said before, JH will have his agenda and if DB is not part of the plan then I have the faith in our management team to go with that..

25-01-2010, 06:48 PM
They need a striker-they sign a a CH.
We need a Ch- we sign nae ****.:rolleyes:

Me thinks Vlads trying to extract the urine?
He's been doing that the last three years.Where you been? :faf:

25-01-2010, 06:48 PM

They don't do cash.

Sent from a public telephone box with pash stains using 5 pences

Hibby_Paul
25-01-2010, 06:49 PM
Disappointed to not sign him, im guessing hearts have either paid him better wages and/or offered better security (3year deal) whereas we would only offer 2.

Also think Vlad probably partly sanctioned it to pi55 us off! If it means they don't get another striker then a good thing as that's their major weak area, whereas they are already strong at back.

Im quite surprised barr chose them as they are a shambles of a club, wages fiascos, no clear 'manager' etc albeit they did finish 3rd. I guess money maybe talks? Hope so and it was nothing else we could have done better at i.e. perhaps Yogi and Hibs should have pushed to get him more last week when there was stories everyday in papers about Yams in talks.

25-01-2010, 06:51 PM
Absolutely gutted, lucky beggars across the city:tee hee:

EskbankHibby
25-01-2010, 06:52 PM
Pretty surprised by this.

Would have liked him at Easter Road as i think he has potential.

Have to say though the boy should be sectioned for choosing to sign for Hearts, why anyone would choose to join up with the circus defies belief.

25-01-2010, 06:53 PM
Still paying money they dont have then. Would have added to the squad but we'll find better!

25-01-2010, 06:54 PM
Typical hearts. Last year they think we're after Ian black so they sign him on a pre contract. We get liam miller instead. I wonder who we Will sign now.

25-01-2010, 06:55 PM
Pretty surprised by this.

Would have liked him at Easter Road as i think he has potential.

Have to say though the boy should be sectioned for choosing to sign for Hearts, why anyone would choose to join up with the circus defies belief.

Money. If they go out of business he'll get another club.

25-01-2010, 06:56 PM
Good signing for Hearts IMO but is he better than Zaliouskas (sp) or Goncalves (sp again!), I'd say no and its odds on that one of both of these will be leaving Hearts fairly shortly.

25-01-2010, 06:59 PM
Has this actually been confirmed anywhere or could it be another 'signing' like the strikers from Plymouth and Charlton? (i forget there names)

Wouldn't surprise me if this falls through when it goes to Vlad to be sanctioned

25-01-2010, 06:59 PM
Decent player

poor decision making :greengrin

25-01-2010, 07:00 PM
Money. When they go out of business he'll get another club.

There you go - sorted.

Message sent from my maws hoose using her 1980's Binatone slimline telephone with call back feature

Hibby_Paul
Has this actually been confirmed anywhere or could it be another 'signing' like the strikers from Plymouth and Charlton? (i forget there names)

Wouldn't surprise me if this falls through when it goes to Vlad to be sanctioned

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8479833.stm

Falkirk and Hearts have both confirmed the story.

Its on their official website.

25-01-2010, 07:03 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8479833.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/8479833.stm)

Cheers mate.

Oh well, shame as i would have liked him at hibs but i'm sure we'll survive without him.

25-01-2010, 07:04 PM
Decent player better than Hogg however no great loss IMO. No doubt means Wallace to Celtic.

Petrie's Tache
25-01-2010, 07:05 PM
Jackie Mac has been released we should just get him for RB.:greengrin

James Connolly
25-01-2010, 07:05 PM
Honestly couldn't give a toss about Darren Barr; I've stated previously that he's no better than we've got already.

Seen him on a good few occassions and he's never stood out for me; the Freaks will be creaming themselves at this...:yawn:

25-01-2010, 07:06 PM
What's HKT up to these days?

25-01-2010, 07:06 PM
Pretty surprised at this tbh !
All and sundry talking about us getting him :grr:

F*** the Hearts :greengrin

I hope we don't panic sign someone now !

25-01-2010, 07:13 PM
I can't see any reason Hearts should sign a CH that's not as good as the two they've got other than they know one of those is leaving.

Let's face it, when it comes to defending they're not exactly deficient. As has been said already, it's the other end of the park that needs strengthening.

25-01-2010, 07:14 PM
Pretty surprised at this tbh !
All and sundry talking about us getting him :grr:

F*** the Hearts :greengrin

I hope we don't panic sign someone now !

And when did RP do that last....:cool2:

25-01-2010, 07:15 PM
Was not that keen on him - due mainly to not having seen him that much when he impressed. (personally I think Hogg is better) I would rather see our youngsters get a chance - I wonder how much Hanlons progression has influenced our priorities :rolleyes: We have the two youngsters Welch & Moyes (who was one of the top 4 players for me in last years U19 champ team) coming back from loan as well to give more competition

I'm sure this meams Concalves is off either now or the summer as Vlads cash in player..can't wait till Shabbys next press when he is asked about his (lack of) involvement in this deal and what a difference it will make to their goal average :faf:

25-01-2010, 07:17 PM
I haven't seen a lot of him to be fair.

HOWEVER, in Yogi I trust - he brought him through at Falkirk, made him captain, obviously rates him highly and wanted to sign him for us.

Reluctant conclusion - a decent signing for Hearts and a bit of a blow for us.

Lets move on - NEXT !

25-01-2010, 07:18 PM
Decent player better than Hogg however no great loss IMO. No doubt means Wallace to Celtic.

Maybe, bawheid cameron on real radio saying Fox is being linked wi a move back darn sarf

25-01-2010, 07:21 PM
Lets be honest, its a fairly good signing for Hearts. He must of realised no Championship clubs were coming in for him so he has decided to go to the club that are paying the most in wages and that was Hearts.

It's only a good signing in that they are getting an average/good player for nothing. Do I think he is better than what we have at the moment, probably not.

Good luck to him and I look forward to Deeks and Stokes lining up against him next season, we have nothing to fear as we have seen from his Falkirk days.

Mikey_1875
25-01-2010, 07:25 PM
Can't see him causing deek, stokes or nish too many problems. Never has done before and he is too timid to adopt the "rough them up" approach that there defence currently take so might even work out better for us :thumbsup:

25-01-2010, 07:26 PM
What a fudley signing for that manky mob - he's obviously following the money that Vlad doesn't have.
On reflection though, what a shame for the lad - he's made money his god and will almost certainly discover in the near future that his god doesn't exist!

stubru59
25-01-2010, 07:29 PM
Where does that leave all those "in the know" who said he was a stick on to sign for us?

Never believed he was the best we could get for that position - no great loss.

25-01-2010, 07:30 PM
Honestly couldn't care less who those muppets sign.

For the last year we have heard Shabby greet about needing a striker so the first person they go out and sign is a defender who has been struggling with the team bottom of the league.

If it had not been Darren Barr we would have been pissing ourselves at this signing therefore I suggest leaving them to it.

Hank Schrader
25-01-2010, 07:31 PM
Where does that leave all those "in the know" who said he was a stick on to sign for us?

Never believed he was the best we could get for that position - no great loss.

Honestly couldn't care less who those muppets sign.

For the last year we have heard Shabby greet about needing a striker so the first person they go out and sign is a defender who has been struggling with the team bottom of the league.

If it had not been Darren Barr we would have been pissing ourselves at this signing therefore I suggest leaving them to it.

:agree::top marks

Dombie
25-01-2010, 07:41 PM
REMOVED.

Bit harsh. So he didn't sign for us. No big deal IMO. There are other CHs out there that will do a job for us. Never seen anything to suggest Barr was the answer to our problems. If ever this word has a perfect use it's now..... MEH!

Mag7
25-01-2010, 07:42 PM
There can be only two reasons he opted for Hearts ahead of Hibs:

Either silly money (which Hearts don't have) has been offered by that lunatic Romanov in order to make sure that this time they don't lose out to Hibs on a signing.

Or he's a Hearts fan.

Either way, if he's put money or personal allegiance ahead of ambition then he's probably not the kind of player we would have wanted.

25-01-2010, 07:44 PM

Or you could say that we offered Barr the best deal we could and Hearts have beaten it.

This means Hearts are paying another £3,000 plus a week to a player who has looked good occasionally and average regularly.

Very happy for them to keep spending the money. The boy has chosen an inferior stadium, training facility and chances of qualifying for Europe team and gone straight for the ££££s

That's fair enough and I'm pleased that on that basis, he's not signing for Hibs. Remember, we're looking for right player, right price. Based on the above, Barr is neither.

25-01-2010, 07:47 PM
Or you could say that we offered Barr the best deal we could and Hearts have beaten it.

This means Hearts are paying another £3,000 plus a week to a player who has looked good occasionally and average regularly.

Very happy for them to keep spending the money. The boy has chosen an inferior stadium, training facility and chances of qualifying for Europe team and gone straight for the ££££s

That's fair enough and I'm pleased that on that basis, he's not signing for Hibs. Remember, we're looking for right player, right price. Based on the above, Barr is neither.

It's like a record with a scratch. The Yams announce some good news just prior to the ***** hitting the fan.

There is an announcement on their immediate finances due shortly :wink:

Got to keep the faithful on-board for a bit, eh!

Hibby 2005
25-01-2010, 07:53 PM
I think we need a tall CH not another Hogg type so in that respect I think we'll survive without Barr.
Hanlon is there or thereabouts and once Bamba goes in the summer hopefully he'll have had enough experience to step into his shoes.
This could also mean that money saved on the Barr deal is being used to keep Murray.
Lots of positives.

25-01-2010, 07:53 PM
Once I saw that the Yams were wanting to speak to Barr, I had a feeling that this would happen. I don't know where they get the money from, but they were always going to offer more than us.

I suspect Yogi probably thought that Barr might have wanted to show a bit of loyalty to him, however Barr was under no obligation to do that, and had to do what he felt was right for him.

He's definitely better than Bouzid and Zaliukas, but probably not as good as Goncalves. Even still, I will be amazed if the Yams don't make a tidy profit from him in a year's time.

He'll be one that got away, but then so was Ian Black - and look how he turned out.

Good signing for the trumpets,one can only hope that Barr carries the form of this season, rather than last season, into his time with them.

houston1875
25-01-2010, 07:58 PM
Was not that keen on him - due mainly to not having seen him that much when he impressed. (personally I think Hogg is better) I would rather see our youngsters get a chance - I wonder how much Hanlons progression has influenced our priorities :rolleyes: We have the two youngsters Welch & Moyes (who was one of the top 4 players for me in last years U19 champ team) coming back from loan as well to give more competition

I'm sure this meams Concalves is off either now or the summer as Vlads cash in player..can't wait till Shabbys next press when he is asked about his (lack of) involvement in this deal and what a difference it will make to their goal average :faf:

Goncalves to smelltic i hear?

Hibby D
25-01-2010, 07:58 PM

Hells Bells G - a bit ott no? :confused:

The lad might be missing a few brain cells but hardly deserving of that.

25-01-2010, 08:01 PM

£3k basic will be spot on IMHO

Newhaven
25-01-2010, 08:01 PM
There is only one Hibs but there are hundreds of right-backs and centre-halves out there.
John Hughes January 2010 :notworthy:

From what I've seen of Barr in the 2 games against us and the games on tv he's been nothing special. Him and Tynecastle are well suited :bye:

EasterRoad4Ever
25-01-2010, 08:04 PM
There can be only two reasons he opted for Hearts ahead of Hibs:

Either silly money (which Hearts don't have) has been offered by that lunatic Romanov in order to make sure that this time they don't lose out to Hibs on a signing.

Or he's a Hearts fan.

Either way, if he's put money or personal allegiance ahead of ambition then he's probably not the kind of player we would have wanted.

Or maybe the expansive attractive football the Yams are renowned for :confused: Nah, your right. it was the lunatic's money :agree:

Love the Green
25-01-2010, 08:05 PM
Once I saw that the Yams were wanting to speak to Barr, I had a feeling that this would happen. I don't know where they get the money from, but they were always going to offer more than us.

I suspect Yogi probably thought that Barr might have wanted to show a bit of loyalty to him, however Barr was under no obligation to do that, and had to do what he felt was right for him.

He's definitely better than Bouzid and Zaliukas, but probably not as good as Goncalves. Even still, I will be amazed if the Yams don't make a tidy profit from him in a year's time.

He'll be one that got away, but then so was Ian Black - and look how he turned out.

Good signing for the trumpets,one can only hope that Barr carries the form of this season, rather than last season, into his time with them.

:top marksGood post Matty..what always amazes me is every time the dogs seem to be out on their feet they keep boncing back and beat us with 1 upmanship..Happens every season whether it be results on the park or off the park issues...where oh where do they get the ££££££

Never want to get into debt but we need to furnish Yogi with enough cash to make a once in a lifetime signing just to prove we are serious..any signing would be covered by a good cup run and European football..

"keep the faith":wink:

25-01-2010, 08:06 PM
There is only one Hibs but there are hundreds of right-backs and centre-halves out there.

John Hughes January 2010 :notworthy:

From what I've seen of Barr in the 2 games against us and the games on tv he's been nothing special. Him and Tynecastle are well suited :bye:
:agree::thumbsup::bye:

25-01-2010, 08:09 PM

:top marksGood post Matty..what always amazes me is every time the dogs seem to be out on their feet they keep boncing back and beat us with 1 upmanship..Happens every season whether it be results on the park or off the park issues...where oh where do they get the ££££££

Never want to get into debt but we need to furnish Yogi with enough cash to make a once in a lifetime signing just to prove we are serious..any signing would be covered by a good cup run and European football..

Darren Barr is hardly a once in a lifetime signing.

I'd say the Hibs board with Bamba, Riordan, Murray, McBride, Miller, Stokes, Galbraith and Cregg have given us far better quality and more exciting signings than those trumpets. At least 4/5 of those players would stroll into the Hertz team.

25-01-2010, 08:09 PM
**** him......................NEXT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:ass hole:

EasterRoad4Ever
25-01-2010, 08:13 PM
I think you'll find that a pre-contract is only valid if both parties actually EXIST when it come to concluding said contract. These are the thrashings of a dying madman and his pets, and designed to artificially inflate the paper value of the asset before it goes belly up.

Stick to our strategy over last few years and we'll be ok. Let the others worry about whether they will get paid on a week by week basis.

25-01-2010, 08:21 PM
IMO this is good news. It shows exactly what he wants from his career and it is ££££££ not :cup: it's hoofball and not style, it's ugliness and not beauty. As I said last week in thread about how we will sign him, Hogg is better. Have any of you actually watched Barr this season, he has looked a liability in some of the matches and at no point in any games I have seen have I thought that he had the better of the opposition CF.

25-01-2010, 08:23 PM
i think hughes will have someone else in mind TBH

FWIW i think its a good signing for them :agree:

Love the Green
25-01-2010, 08:23 PM

I'd say the Hibs board with Bamba, Riordan, Murray, McBride, Miller, Stokes, Galbraith and Cregg have given us far better quality and more exciting signings than those trumpets. At least 4/5 of those players would stroll into the Hertz team.

No arguements there but please leave out the likes of Cregg and Galbraith until they actually do something.....did not mean Barr was a signing of a lifetime ..only want us to maybe for once sign players other teams might actually be after and they choose us due to the way the club is run and the style we like to play.

25-01-2010, 08:24 PM
I haven't seen a lot of him to be fair.

HOWEVER, in Yogi I trust - he brought him through at Falkirk, made him captain, obviously rates him highly and wanted to sign him for us.

Reluctant conclusion - a decent signing for Hearts and a bit of a blow for us.

Lets move on - NEXT !
Last season was his biggest at Falkirk and they were within a game of being relegated.This season he seems to go missing when playing the big boys.

25-01-2010, 08:32 PM

'Mon the Hibs
25-01-2010, 08:34 PM

Judging from Eddie May' recent comments in the Daily Record, it seems Hughes didn't feel he was worth the money....

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/01/10/eddie-may-hibs-and-aberdeen-s-efforts-to-land-darren-barr-a-disgrace-86908-21955932/

And for those who don't read the paper.... :wink:

"He has already turned down two offers from Hibs - one of which was actually less than we offered him in the summer to sign a new deal here."

Seems Hughes probably rated him amongst what he had at Falkirk, but didn't think he was worth a top earner at Hibs. Probably has eyes for 2 or 3 players and doesn't want to waste the money on him.

Remember, Hughes will know him better than most in the SPL :wink:

Oh... and Eddie also said this.... "Darren is a realistic lad. He won't be greedy." :hmmm:

I havn't seen much of him and only go on what people say on here about him or brief comments in the press. Sounds a decent player, but is he better than what we have :dunno: Is he better than what hearts have... probably not as hearts already have a strong defence.

We managed to have the best defence in the UK after 16 games this season (only 10 goals conceded), whilst Falkirk had shipped 26.

Maybe Hughes thinks there are more worthy players out there :dunno:

25-01-2010, 08:34 PM
No arguements there but please leave out the likes of Cregg and Galbraith until they actually do something.....did not mean Barr was a signing of a lifetime ..only want us to maybe for once sign players other teams might actually be after and they choose us due to the way the club is run and the style we like to play.
believe wink:

fixed :Winkbackatya:

lbouncer
25-01-2010, 08:36 PM
I thought barr was poor against us at easter road a few weeks ago, he made
a really stupid mistake with a slide when he could have just easily kicked it if my mind serves me right

25-01-2010, 08:44 PM
[/B]

fixed :Winkbackatya:

Thought the same for a few weeks, jabis, glad it's no just me who sniffed a Yam.

25-01-2010, 08:45 PM
I am slightly disappointed that he's signed for them, but i think what we really require is a big CH for when Bamba goes. Clearly Barr isn't that. Now that Sol is due home, our 'urgent' need for a new CH has diminished. I hope we can still get a new RB in before next week though!

BH.

25-01-2010, 08:47 PM
As has been said previously, we need a right back first and foremost followed by a commanding CH when Bamba leaves. I'd also like a winger with pace, something we lack at present.

Barr is a decent signing for Hertz and will be on lower wages than Goncalves who will be away soon. It will be interesting to see how this signing looks in the light of Hearts next set of accounts though.

25-01-2010, 08:51 PM
I meant add that i'm just going to log in on KB to troll through all the old posts from the Yams slating us for signing a defender from the bottom team in the SPL...

:-)

BH.

25-01-2010, 08:52 PM
We don`t sign defenders, we just sign strikers and smaller than average mid fielders.

25-01-2010, 09:00 PM
I can't see any reason Hearts should sign a CH that's not as good as the two they've got other than they know one of those is leaving.

Let's face it, when it comes to defending they're not exactly deficient. As has been said already, it's the other end of the park that needs strengthening.

It's called downsizing!!:dummytit:

25-01-2010, 09:10 PM
"Putting aside any strong bias against and any loathing of the Jambos, a move to them might not be such a daft move in Barr's eyes. I think they might very well be a bit more stable than everyone thinks, they're moving up the league and will probably be in Europe next season. Our position, in terms of Europe, is at present debatable as we could easily go either way. Today's match is absolutely crucial in maintaining a hold on a top four place. Barr might see us as the not so attractive option."

"Where you a bit drunk when you wrote that??? "

"Nope, perfectly serious......................and , and it won't be us."

Pissed off at the time being dismissed by a greater mind and a wee bit embarrassed to make a 'told you so post', but " Are you still laughing, bighairyfaeleith???"

And for the record I've said in several posts that I don't rate Barr as he's no better than what we've got at present.

25-01-2010, 09:19 PM
I'm sure this meams Goncalves is off either now or the summer as Vlads cash in player..can't wait till Shabbys next press when he is asked about his (lack of) involvement in this deal and what a difference it will make to their goal average :faf:

But his contract is up this summer, so if they want cash for Goncalves they'll have to part with him this week.

sam armstrong
25-01-2010, 09:33 PM
disappointed we didn't sign him to be fair but he's obviously an idiot.
Wonder what all the Hearts fans that slagged us off for siging Hughes, McBride and Cregg will have to say about it though.

It ended up being all about money, Hibs wouldn't pay and Hearts say they will. Vlad obviously thinks he can sell him on at a profit. Time will tell.

25-01-2010, 09:34 PM
If he had signed for us we would be jumping for joy as such he signed for them. Personally im disappointed, especially when it was reported Falkirk offered him more than us. If we are to grow as a club we need to invest in the team

25-01-2010, 09:37 PM
If he had signed for us we would be jumping for joy as such he signed for them. Personally im disappointed, especially when it was reported Falkirk offered him more than us. If we are to grow as a club we need to invest in the team

I think Hibs will have offered as much as they could have, and I also think that Yogi was reluctant to go higher than what we offered to get Barr.

Yogi will have his thoughts on what Barr is worth, but above that, Yogi is on record as saying he wants players that want to be at Hibs.

If money is the main motivation for Barr, then he probably wasn't right for us anyway.

25-01-2010, 09:37 PM
Oh... and Eddie also said this.... "Darren is a realistic lad. He won't be greedy." :hmmm:

Hughes was quoted as saying Kevin Drinkell (his agent) was being silly with the wage demands.

as others say, nobody will know more about him and what he is capable of doing and earning than Yogi, so no big deal if wants and gets more elsewhere.

I also wouldn't put too much concern over the line that 'Hibs offered him less than we did to stay'.

That was never happening so they probably gave him a crazy offer(for them) as a bargaining tool in any likely negociations.

25-01-2010, 10:01 PM
I think Hibs will have offered as much as they could have, and I also think that Yogi was reluctant to go higher than what we offered to get Barr.

Yogi will have his thoughts on what Barr is worth, but above that, Yogi is on record as saying he wants players that want to be at Hibs.

If money is the main motivation for Barr, then he probably wasn't right for us anyway.

Interesting that the yams have gone for Barr in particular. While he has a certain amount of aggression in his game, it's plain that he's not the tallest centre-half. As a big, physical side you would think they would go for someone more imposing.

25-01-2010, 10:05 PM

What a fud of a man..

he looks like an anorexic steven pressley

25-01-2010, 10:14 PM

What a fud of a man..

this is what Steven pressley looks like underneath all those hideous scars.

mikey987654321
25-01-2010, 10:34 PM
Judging from Eddie May' recent comments in the Daily Record, it seems Hughes didn't feel he was worth the money....

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/01/10/eddie-may-hibs-and-aberdeen-s-efforts-to-land-darren-barr-a-disgrace-86908-21955932/ (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/01/10/eddie-may-hibs-and-aberdeen-s-efforts-to-land-darren-barr-a-disgrace-86908-21955932/)

And for those who don't read the paper.... :wink:

"He has already turned down two offers from Hibs - one of which was actually less than we offered him in the summer to sign a new deal here."

Seems Hughes probably rated him amongst what he had at Falkirk, but didn't think he was worth a top earner at Hibs. Probably has eyes for 2 or 3 players and doesn't want to waste the money on him.

Remember, Hughes will know him better than most in the SPL :wink:

I havn't seen much of him and only go on what people say on here about him or brief comments in the press. Sounds a decent player, but is he better than what we have :dunno: Is he better than what hearts have... probably not as hearts already have a strong defence.

We managed to have the best defence in the UK after 16 games this season (only 10 goals conceded), whilst Falkirk had shipped 26.

Maybe Hughes thinks there are more worthy players out there :dunno:

good point in bold. plus it seems the only clubs that seemed they were interested were Hibs, Aberdeen and Dundee plus hearts.

disapointed we never got someone yogi rated but at the same time for a pre contract ie a free transfer there seems to have been a lack of interest from english teams which had you believed the hype you would have maybe expected :confused:

New Corrie
25-01-2010, 10:34 PM
Are they ****ed though? I keep hearing this but they still seem to be going along fine.

Of course not, we just keep churning out this sheite,,,yams nil, hoofball, pub team, phecked, deluded etc etc Sadly I think that it's us that might be deluded!

25-01-2010, 11:22 PM
Of course not, we just keep churning out this sheite,,,yams nil, hoofball, pub team, phecked, deluded etc etc Sadly I think that it's us that might be deluded!

harsh?
they have crippling debts? YES
they play hoofball? YES
Pub Team? I THINK SO
Deluded? aye, most of them anyway

we have an excellently run football club of which we are all proud, they have a crazy owner, debts that are 3 times their turnover, a manager who shows his erse to any watching chairman, a stand thats been all but built for 2-3 years, a training ground they can only use in the morning. I could go on.

they are light years behind us, in terms of the "standards" of the football club. AND we have Rod Petrie.

all of which gives us every right to gloat at every opportunity, its what rival fans do. Personally I am gutted they got Barr, but my opinion of the manky maroon bassa's remain as it was.:jamboak:

Deluded.......me?.......nah

25-01-2010, 11:26 PM
the LSC are welcome to him, very overated IMO

25-01-2010, 11:35 PM
the LSC are welcome to him, very overated IMO

What does LSC stand for? Saw it on a Aberdeen website referring to Hearts too. Hope I'm not being a dunce:greengrin

25-01-2010, 11:40 PM
I dont think I have ever commented of the threads about him over the last few weeks simply based on fact I have barely seen him play.

I read it shows he has a lack of ambition, I dont think joining us or another SPL would show more ambition. IMO I think Hibs play nice football and is one of the best places to play, top notch facilities and one of the most stable clubs in SPL, Hearts can offer players better wages, that is all I think as a club they have over us and unfortunatly a very large % of players see that as all important.

It would appear on surface given choice of Hibs or Hearts IMO you would at this juncture favour Hibs, all the facilities and stabilty cannot beat cold hard cash. IMO move is wage related.

So lets move on and get somebody in.

hibeeleicester
25-01-2010, 11:44 PM
I dont think I have ever commented of the threads about him over the last few weeks simply based on fact I have barely seen him play.

I read it shows he has a lack of ambition, I dont think joining us or another SPL would show more ambition. IMO I think Hibs play nice football and is one of the best places to play, top notch facilities and one of the most stable clubs in SPL, Hearts can offer players better wages, that is all I think as a club they have over us and unfortunatly a very large % of players see that as all important.

It would appear on surface given choice of Hibs or Hearts IMO you would at this juncture favour Hibs, all the facilities and stabilty cannot beat cold hard cash. IMO move is wage related.

So lets move on and get somebody in.

Or maybe he is a yam and he doesn't care about the money?

25-01-2010, 11:47 PM
Or maybe he is a yam and he doesn't care about the money?

Maybe so, if thats case then of course puts different spin on it, and is he?

hibeeleicester
25-01-2010, 11:50 PM
Born in glasgow, but i may be wrong in saying he was raised in Edinburgh.

26-01-2010, 12:09 AM
Good luck to him, a decent player who could have done a job for us but wanted more bucks than we were willing to offer.

Lets use the wages we would have been paying him to get Ian Murray signed up on a new contract, promote Booth from the u-19's to be his understudy at left back and allow Hanlon to play at centre-half instead of signing someone else for the sake of it.

26-01-2010, 12:47 AM
Good luck to him, a decent player who could have done a job for us but wanted more bucks than we were willing to offer.

Lets use the wages we would have been paying him to get Ian Murray signed up on a new contract, promote Booth from the u-19's to be his understudy at left back and allow Hanlon to play at centre-half instead of signing someone else for the sake of it.

Eh, nah. Bad luck to him and the rest of that dirty mob.

shamo9
26-01-2010, 12:50 AM
I'd rather we sign a really good and pacy right back rather than a centre half pretending to be one. He's decent but I'd be more interested in giving Hanlon time to develop into an accomplished centre half if it was a straight choice between the two.

26-01-2010, 02:18 AM
Absolutely nothing for anybody to get in a tizz about

Average player signing for a below average bunch of mental health patients :bye:

26-01-2010, 03:32 AM
What does LSC stand for? Saw it on a Aberdeen website referring to Hearts too. Hope I'm not being a dunce:greengrin

Lithuinian State Circus :wink:

Sandy
26-01-2010, 05:23 AM
They don't do cash.

Sent from a public telephone box with pash stains using 5 pences

There you go - sorted.

Message sent from my maws hoose using her 1980's Binatone slimline telephone with call back feature

:faf::faf::faf:

For what it's worth I think he will be a good signing for them, our priority was and still is a decent right back.

26-01-2010, 05:48 AM
Obviously he isn't intelligent or he would never have signed for that bunch of no hopers. :jamboclow

26-01-2010, 05:48 AM
Can't blame him for taking the money .
Even though I hate ***** like Robinho, Tevez, Adebayor and especially Margiotta.

Septimus
26-01-2010, 06:20 AM
Clearly no ambition.

Always said i rated his side kick Mclean much better.

Ageed.

26-01-2010, 06:25 AM
eddie may is the only looser here , not hibs. dont think he is better than hogg at the moment.:bye:

euro Hibby
26-01-2010, 06:29 AM
If he had been any good Strap-on would have taken him to Middlesbourgh.

As a player I think he is just OK , good for Hearts since they are lilely to lose

a couple of defenders. We need better than we have got and like a few I don't think Barr is that !

26-01-2010, 06:34 AM
Hearts only signed him to get one over on Hibs, they done with Ian Black last season mikey stewart and hackett, as the saying goes hes made his bed

26-01-2010, 06:49 AM
It's a strange decision by Barr and one that's clearly money motivated. He's a decent prospect, and looked good in a John Hughes side that tried to play football. Part of the reason that he's been poor this season is that Falkirk aren't playing that sort of stuff under May, so as an industrial defender he's looked pretty ordinary.

Which is why you have to question why he's signed for them - to develop better as a footballer he'd have been better in a footballing side rather than the launch-it-at -Nade-and-hope-we-get-a-penalty team that Hertz have become.

26-01-2010, 07:28 AM
I think Barr's a good player, although obviously a money grabbing wee *****, and will be playing relegation football again next season. :greengrin

..........thats always assuming he gets paid. Some interesting times ahead for our big team neebors :wink:

26-01-2010, 07:31 AM
Since our reported interest in Barr some time ago, I started paying particular attention to him in games on T.V.
I have to say though, I never see one game where I thought Darren was anything special, in fact, I saw more and more things that worried me about him coming to us. However, Yogi has so far been pretty good in his judgement on players coming to ER so I kept watching in the hope that I would understand what Yogi knew about him to want to sign him but it just never happened.

Maybe the guy was the victim of playing in a very poor defence, or the fact they needed him to play both centre half and right back and was being mucked about. Whatever it was, he never at any stage impressed me and I have to say, I am not unhappy about him not coming to us. Like others have mentioned, I don't think he is any better than Chris Hogg so don't really see him as somebody who would have improved us.

Maybe now is the time for Yogi to throw down the gauntlet at young Paul Hanlon and tell him to prove to Yogi that he is our answer to the centre half position.

26-01-2010, 07:44 AM
Since our reported interest in Barr some time ago, I started paying particular attention to him in games on T.V.
I have to say though, I never see one game where I thought Darren was anything special, in fact, I saw more and more things that worried me about him coming to us. However, Yogi has so far been pretty good in his judgement on players coming to ER so I kept watching in the hope that I would understand what Yogi knew about him to want to sign him but it just never happened.

Maybe the guy was the victim of playing in a very poor defence, or the fact they needed him to play both centre half and right back and was being mucked about. Whatever it was, he never at any stage impressed me and I have to say, I am not unhappy about him not coming to us. Like others have mentioned, I don't think he is any better than Chris Hogg so don't really see him as somebody who would have improved us.

Maybe now is the time for Yogi to throw down the gauntlet at young Paul Hanlon and tell him to prove to Yogi that he is our answer to the centre half position.

Thats my view also........we have at least 2 promising CH's in Hanlon and McCormick (with at least one more in the U19's. Barr's nothing special - like you I made a point of watching him closely over the last few months and frankly, he shows less potential than either of our 2 boys, not least in terms of his ability to play "our way". I was never that overwhelmed about our apparent interest........and am actually quite pleased an average player has gone to an average side, saving us a wage bill in the process that we can utilise much more effectively elsewhere. :agree:

26-01-2010, 07:59 AM
Hughes was quoted as saying Kevin Drinkell (his agent) was being silly with the wage demands.

as others say, nobody will know more about him and what he is capable of doing and earning than Yogi, so no big deal if wants and gets more elsewhere.

I also wouldn't put too much concern over the line that 'Hibs offered him less than we did to stay'.

That was never happening so they probably gave him a crazy offer(for them) as a bargaining tool in any likely negociations.

Drinkell appears to have done his job with a well known source who is with the players most days suggesting that Barr's basic at Hearts is almost double the known highest wage at ER.

Hibs wouldn't/couldn't go that far and fair enough but I think that in saying we're not bothered about Barr, methinks the Hibbies doth protest too much.

Secretly we're gutted that the **** have signed someone up and coming, close to our manager and linked with us for so long. The Yams have come and nicked the ball off us on this one and we're all feeling it. That much is clear from the plethora of 'never wanted him anyway' posts and the fact that this thread is a five pager.

26-01-2010, 08:10 AM
Drinkell appears to have done his job with a well known source who is with the players most days suggesting that Barr's basic at Hearts is almost double the known highest wage at ER.

Hibs wouldn't/couldn't go that far and fair enough but I think that in saying we're not bothered about Barr, methinks the Hibbies doth protest too much.

Secretly we're gutted that the **** have signed someone up and coming, close to our manager and linked with us for so long. The Yams have come and nicked the ball off us on this one and we're all feeling it. That much is clear from the plethora of 'never wanted him anyway' posts and the fact that this thread is a five pager.

Less of the "we" white man..............I'm not! :wink::greengrin

26-01-2010, 08:13 AM

Out of curiosity what would that mean in £'s?

26-01-2010, 08:16 AM
Out of curiosity what would that mean in £'s?

The figure that's coming out from people I trust is circa £5k a week basic and £3k appearance fee over three years.

The Romanov gamble will be that he makes his money back and profits from selling Barr on in a couple of years. eg Gordon/Berra/Bednar

timebomb
26-01-2010, 08:24 AM
The figure that's coming out from people I trust is circa £5k a week basic and £3k appearance fee over three years.

The Romanov gamble will be that he makes his money back and profits from selling Barr on in a couple of years. eg Gordon/Berra/Bednar

No chance he is on that sort of money. The only two people picking up silly money at Tynecastle now are Goncalves & Kingston. Barr has been signed as a cheaper replcement for Goncalves, who in an ideal situatin will leave Hearts in the next week or if not walk under freedom of contract.

I'd imagine the potential profit they could make on Barr is a reason for signing him but I'd imagine all clubs have that in the back of their mind.

26-01-2010, 08:25 AM
No chance he is on that sort of money. The only two people picking up silly money at Tynecastle now are Goncalves & Kingston. Barr has been signed as a cheaper replcement for Goncalves, who in an ideal situatin will leave Hearts in the next week or if not walk under freedom of contract.

I'd imagine the potential profit they could make on Barr is a reason for signing him but I'd imagine all clubs have that in the back of their mind.

Aye, and you are all proven experts on your own finances right enough!!

26-01-2010, 08:26 AM

Even if he's on no more than £3k basic and little else, he'll still be on a lot more than most at Hibs.

26-01-2010, 08:28 AM

Wrong, even if he is on 1p a season, Nade is also on silly money :faf:

26-01-2010, 08:37 AM
I watched Barr closely in the Utd game at the weekend to see if I had missed something and I thought he had yet another poor game. Ok he might have been affected by the recent signing for a new club but it's not the first time I have failed to be impressed by him. I'm glad we didn't push the boat out for him as he is nothing special. I do wish him well though and hope he can flourish as long as he doesn't have good games against us.:rolleyes:

timebomb
26-01-2010, 09:04 AM
Even if he's on no more than £3k basic and little else, he'll still be on a lot more than most at Hibs.

That surprises me to be honest.

I'd have thought Riordan, Miller and Stokes would have been picking up considerably more than that when you consider where they came from and the sort of salary they would have been picking up at their previous clubs or would I be right in thinking they are the exception to the rule?

1875er
26-01-2010, 09:12 AM

I'd have thought Riordan, Miller and Stokes would have been picking up considerably more than that when you consider where they came from and the sort of salary they would have been picking up at their previous clubs or would I be right in thinking they are the exception to the rule?

Playing for Hibs is reward enough....:wink:

aberhibsfc
26-01-2010, 09:14 AM
Barr = Hearts Git!

He may have been offered more money but how often will he receive it. Hope your mortgage free Barr or your ****ed.

26-01-2010, 09:17 AM

Obviously, only a select few know the exact sums involved but we do know through agents and loose lipped players that the rough average wage for a senior first teamer is £1,800 per week. This is then topped up with various bonuses and clauses but both Miller and Stokes had a lot of money already and need a career rehab which is why they're here. For Derek, it's a labour of love.

So Barr's £3k as a low estimate is still much higher than I'm guessing he'l have been offered by us.

26-01-2010, 09:19 AM

I can honestly say that I am NOT gutted at this. If he had signed for us, fine, I would have trusted Yogi's judgement on Barr given the fact he worked with him at Falkirk and obviously liked him. However, he saw something I didn't see in the laddie and I'm not upset at him going to the Yams at all.

26-01-2010, 09:26 AM
Good luck to Barr if he's bagged a fat contract out of Hearts.

Can't understand that club at all though. Why aren't they prioritising a striker, and why are they still paying more than us, Dons, Arabs etc when they haven't a pot to pish in?

I'm sure Yogi's annoyed at this news, but we haven't missed Ian Black and I don't think we'll miss Barr.

Kaiser_Sauzee
26-01-2010, 09:49 AM

...and that's why they are *****3d and we're not. :agree:

26-01-2010, 09:55 AM
The Yams are strong in defence so can't see how he makes them better?

They are continuing to pay more and they'll continue to miserably underachieve....

Tick tock.

EskbankHibby
26-01-2010, 10:15 AM
Good luck to Barr if he's bagged a fat contract out of Hearts.

Can't understand that club at all though. Why aren't they prioritising a striker, and why are they still paying more than us, Dons, Arabs etc when they haven't a pot to pish in?

I'm sure Yogi's annoyed at this news, but we haven't missed Ian Black and I don't think we'll miss Barr.

Wouldn't worry about that mate, if we are being honest nobody understands what goes on at that shambles of a club.

In the real world Hearts should be in no position to match any offer that Hibs would make for a player Yogi truly wants which suggests two things to me.

Firstly Yogi had a figure in mind (wages/fee) relating to Barr and we stuck to it but the jambos exceeded it, think we have to trust Yogi here as he knows the player very well and his signings for the club thus far have been generally pretty good.

Secondly it suggests that Hearts are still a club run by a madman and followed by lunatics, their need to try and hang onto our coat tails outweighs any financial prudence. It's what got them in this keek in the first place.

A team £40m in debt playing to crowds who average circa 13K should not be paying the sort of wedge to a player that Barr will be on, it's unsustainable.

Then again that is Hearts - unsustainable.

26-01-2010, 10:17 AM
No lose situation for Barr, he gets the big bucks and if they go into extinction he can walk and sign for anyone as a free agent.

I seems to indicate several things:

1. Yams still paying silly money, and playing big team one-upmanship game to delude Gorgie hordes. A real smoke and mirrors job this one.
2. Vlad still calling shots, Casa wanted strikers.
or 3. A major off-load for defenders planned, with new defence of Barr and kids, which might be nice as he hasn't looked great at falkirk this year.

Can't really cry myself to sleep over this one. Barr's decent but nowhere as good as Concalves whom he'll replace, so the net result is a step backwards for them.

Might all be academic come Feb.

26-01-2010, 10:23 AM
It's a strange decision by Barr and one that's clearly money motivated. He's a decent prospect, and looked good in a John Hughes side that tried to play football. Part of the reason that he's been poor this season is that Falkirk aren't playing that sort of stuff under May, so as an industrial defender he's looked pretty ordinary.

Which is why you have to question why he's signed for them - to develop better as a footballer he'd have been better in a footballing side rather than the launch-it-at -Nade-and-hope-we-get-a-penalty team that Hertz have become.
They may have tried to play football but they were almost relegated.I prefer a centre half to defend and he isn't very convincing in that role.If we were to take a defender from Falkirk McLean would be my choice-big,fierce and awkward.

26-01-2010, 10:38 AM
Must have been for the wages they cannae afford tae pay, he may even get some eventually, cannae say I'm that bothered TBH

26-01-2010, 10:39 AM
I watched Barr closely in the Utd game at the weekend to see if I had missed something and I thought he had yet another poor game. Ok he might have been affected by the recent signing for a new club but it's not the first time I have failed to be impressed by him. I'm glad we didn't push the boat out for him as he is nothing special. I do wish him well though and hope he can flourish as long as he doesn't have good games against us.:rolleyes:

I have to say he has not stuck out in a struggling falkirk side and after sundays horsing hertz could well get aplayer from a relegated team who will be thoroughly demoralised.fair enough if he is to rplace congalves but they have plenty cover in defence(well they do play a 9-0-1 formation after all)they need strikers and why they went after barr is anybodys guess and if it was to put one over on us then what a way to run your team and sign a player they dont need.Still gives me a laugh.:faf:

Mickey Edwards
26-01-2010, 10:39 AM
He certainly didn't bust a gut to impress when Falkirk played us at ER earlier this season. If he was busting a gut then he definitely is ordinary. He may improve under Lazslo as he seems to get good organisation from his defensive players. His main attribute apparently is that he is a ball playing defender but he wasn't composed that day and on Sunday was shaky in possession. See the threads on him and Arfield from after that game. No sour grapes. Hanlon is the most accomplished young centre-half in Scotland.....ask the Scotland u-21s or St Johnston.

26-01-2010, 10:59 AM

I dont think any hibs fan is gutted at barr going to hertz because we have seen with our own eyes his performances over recent weeks.He may well turn out to be a good signing for them but as it stands he is not playing well in a team who looked a shambles on sunday.Just as with ian black time will tell and black has fair set the heather on fire,not.Wait a minute he was signed from a relegated side too.Maybe thats the connection.The have still got nade though.:faf:

26-01-2010, 11:30 AM
Lithuinian State Circus :wink:

Haha, cheers:greengrin

26-01-2010, 12:22 PM
Hearts one-up man ship is obvious.
Its all about doing one over on the wee team and keeping the the goons on side as they struggle on, narrowly avoiding extinction.

My predictions for the next few months;

Hibs Favourite to sign Darren Barr on a pre contract
Hearts sign Darren Barr on a pre season Contract. - Keeps the maroon sheep on side by getting one over on hibs and takes the focus away from the fact that they wont be signing a striker this window cos they cant afford one.
Hibs re-sign Murray
Hearts announce signing of lithuanian striker on a free transfer - get the jumbos talking before he fails to score this season.
Hibs announce new east stand to be ready for 2010/11
Hearts announce that a new stand is still on the cards and will be progressed in the near future. Carboard boxes will be on show. - keeps the hordes hopeful that is could still happen.
Hibs qualify for europe whilst hearts fail
Hearts sign another pre-contract player (A lee miller type) and state that lee is the exact type of player they need as the push for europe next season.

Im not bitter, I just hate hearts!:greengrin

26-01-2010, 12:32 PM
Too short to be a centre half, too slow to be a full back. Trust me, Hibs have got out of jail with this Barr episode. This season in particular, he has been atrocious at either position. Watch (if you want) his positioning against Celtic (3-3 game), Rangers at Falkirk, us twice, and you will see a poor player. He is not playing with the best defenders at Falkirk, but is he going to make the jump up in playing alongside quality at Hearts ? The answer my friends is no. Wallace won't be alongside him, Goncalves will be gone too, and Zaliukas and Bouzid are so exposed at times as centre halves it's frightening. We may not have the best defence in the world, but Darren Barr would not have improved it. I would have been very disappointed if he was the top of our transfer target list to be quite frank and have said this from day one. Hogg is decidedly Beckenbauresque in comparison. We need height in the middle of our defence IMO, as we have players that can do the sweeper type role already. We have lost command at set pieces with Jones going and that is what needs addressed (as well as RB)

26-01-2010, 12:36 PM
No better than any of the current defenders we have ...

clearly no ambition imo from Barr :jamboak:

26-01-2010, 12:36 PM
Too short to be a centre half, too slow to be a full back. Trust me, Hibs have got out of jail with this Barr episode. This season in particular, he has been atrocious at either position. Watch (if you want) his positioning against Celtic (3-3 game), Rangers at Falkirk, us twice, and you will see a poor player. He is not playing with the best defenders at Falkirk, but is he going to make the jump up in playing alongside quality at Hearts ? The answer my friends is no. Wallace won't be alongside him, Goncalves will be gone too, and Zaliukas and Bouzid are so exposed at times as centre halves it's frightening. We may not have the best defence in the world, but Darren Barr would not have improved it. I would have been very disappointed if he was the top of our transfer target list to be quite frank and have said this from day one. Hogg is decidedly Beckenbauresque in comparison. We need height in the middle of our defence IMO, as we have players that can do the sweeper type role already. We have lost command at set pieces with Jones going and that is what needs addressed (as well as RB)

Having seen scunnys highlights a couple of times jones has been his usual infurating best.Commanding in the air,solid in the tackle but the defence isnt well organised and he tries to do so much hence the reason they are in a relegation battle.the stats dont lie and with smith looking a cracking keeper i think its just a rb we need with murray at lb

26-01-2010, 12:41 PM
No lose situation for Barr, he gets the big bucks and if they go into extinction he can walk and sign for anyone as a free agent.

I seems to indicate several things:

1. Yams still paying silly money, and playing big team one-upmanship game to delude Gorgie hordes. A real smoke and mirrors job this one.
2. Vlad still calling shots, Casa wanted strikers.
or 3. A major off-load for defenders planned, with new defence of Barr and kids, which might be nice as he hasn't looked great at falkirk this year.

Can't really cry myself to sleep over this one. Barr's decent but nowhere as good as Concalves whom he'll replace, so the net result is a step backwards for them.

Might all be academic come Feb.

Amazingly enough the gorgie hordes havent seen the irony of them signing a defender when its strikers they need.They will soon be back moaning about the lack of strikers but by then the window will be shut and then it will be all about them looking forward to next season.Of course a precontract doesnt mean he has to sign for them so it could be a false on but lets hope he does go to them and we can get the right back we actually need and not a player we dont need.

26-01-2010, 01:09 PM

He's maybe on a higher wage in lieu of a signing on fee?

If there really has been interest from the Championship, and bearing in mind he appears to have no ties to Hertz, I'd imagine they'd have to pay him at least £5k.

26-01-2010, 01:25 PM
In retrospect, anyone who looks like the offspring of Steven Pressley and Mikey Stewart, aborted after three months, was always going to be happier at Tyney.

I'd suspect we offered about 3 grand and the Yams went to 5-6, which is silly, but still means that they are not losing as much on him every week as they would be on Concalves.

In Yamland making slighter smaller losses = savings.

26-01-2010, 01:26 PM
Having seen scunnys highlights a couple of times jones has been his usual infurating best.Commanding in the air,solid in the tackle but the defence isnt well organised and he tries to do so much hence the reason they are in a relegation battle.the stats dont lie and with smith looking a cracking keeper i think its just a rb we need with murray at lb

:agree: Totally agree. To have been a decent signing for us, Barr would need to be appreciably better than Paul Hanlon, Darrne McCormack, and Chris Hogg. On his form this season, it's very hard to argue such a case - impossible, I'd say. Looking to the long-term, it makes much more sense to continue with the players we have (Bamba and Hogg as the men in possession, Hanlon and McCormack pushing them for their places) than sign someone just because he's there for the signing.

And you're right about Jones. For all his virtues, Jones is a bit of a loose cannon in defence. No one (including Jones himself) seems to know where he's going be from one moment to the next. He does a lot of good work, but sometimes he'd be better leaving the other guy to sort things out instead of getting involved (and in the way).

Amazingly enough the gorgie hordes havent seen the irony of them signing a defender when its strikers they need.They will soon be back moaning about the lack of strikers but by then the window will be shut and then it will be all about them looking forward to next season.Of course a precontract doesnt mean he has to sign for them so it could be a false on but lets hope he does go to them and we can get the right back we actually need and not a player we dont need.

Wouldn't it be a hoot if Murky McGhump sneaked in and made him a Sheep?

Is there any confirmation that they may have signed those two Sheep they were rumour-mongering about last night?

26-01-2010, 02:07 PM
:agree: Totally agree. To have been a decent signing for us, Barr would need to be appreciably better than Paul Hanlon, Darrne McCormack, and Chris Hogg. On his form this season, it's very hard to argue such a case - impossible, I'd say. Looking to the long-term, it makes much more sense to continue with the players we have (Bamba and Hogg as the men in possession, Hanlon and McCormack pushing them for their places) than sign someone just because he's there for the signing.

And you're right about Jones. For all his virtues, Jones is a bit of a loose cannon in defence. No one (including Jones himself) seems to know where he's going be from one moment to the next. He does a lot of good work, but sometimes he'd be better leaving the other guy to sort things out instead of getting involved (and in the way).

Wouldn't it be a hoot if Murky McGhump sneaked in and made him a Sheep?

Is there any confirmation that they may have signed those two Sheep they were rumour-mongering about last night?

Was told today they had agreed pre-contract deal with Miller and Kyle. This apparently came from Gary Locke so believe it if you will.

Either one or both, I can't say I am bothered about.

26-01-2010, 02:33 PM

Good post which I agree with :agree:

Have just been speaking with a friend who is on the coaching/training staff at Falkirk
Was chatting to him about Barr and while he didn't know anything "official" (his word) he did pass the following comments.
1. Hadn't heard of any interest from England.
2 Aberdeen was never on.
3 Was offered a rwo year deal at ER but could not get a "guarantee of first team football"
4. Tynecastle - Three year deal with option for a fourth and with there to be a large clear out end of season he was told the No5 jersey was his.

We didn't discuss this further but it sounds quite a reasonable scenario to me ! :greengrin

Think he is a reasonable player but am not losing any sleep over his going to Tynie!

26-01-2010, 02:46 PM

Have just been speaking with a friend who is on the coaching/training staff at Falkirk
Was chatting to him about Barr and while he didn't know anything "official" (his word) he did pass the following comments.
2 Aberdeen was never on.
3 Was offered a rwo year deal at ER but could not get a "guarantee of first team football"4. Tynecastle - Three year deal with option for a fourth and with there to be a large clear out end of season he was told the No5 jersey was his.

We didn't discuss this further but it sounds quite a reasonable scenario to me ! :greengrin

Think he is a reasonable player but am not losing any sleep over his going to Tynie!

Good. Guaranteeing a player a place, regardless of form, is a joke.

Cheers for the info!

26-01-2010, 02:47 PM

2 Aberdeen was never on.
3 Was offered a rwo year deal at ER but could not get a "guarantee of first team football"
4. Tynecastle - Three year deal with option for a fourth and with there to be a large clear out end of season he was told the No5 jersey was his.

Your scenario looks spot on.

Taking money out of it for a minute I haven't seen or heard a single thing that would make me think a championship team were interested.

If you take his reasoning that it was the best step for his career to go forward then by any look at Hibs and Hearts the only outcome any sane person could reach is that Hibs is looking like the best option for the next few years, on and off the park, but only if you are getting a game.

He'd be looking at Bamba and Hogg and the young guys coming through and thinking there was going to be a bit of a fight on his hands at a time when he is looking to push on and maybe get a place in the Scotland squad again.

Hearts have the big Potugese guy leaving and only Zaliukus is any good of the rest of their centre halfs and he's always suspended.

On money again he will be paid money Hearts don't have, more than he'd get here still and if the worst comes to the worst and Hearts do go bust he will find another team no problem.

I'm sure Hearts will see this as a point score against Hibs but really, it indicates how much easier it is to get a game for Hearts just now.

I'm sure Yogi wanted him as a amember of the squad but doubt he could have told the guy he'd be any sort of first choice.

26-01-2010, 02:51 PM
I've heard through the grapevine that Barr has been promised the captaincy.

Source? - Falkirk based Hearts ST holder. They think Stewart is a liability.

26-01-2010, 02:53 PM

Sole captaincy or a 8th share like it is at the moment? :devil:

26-01-2010, 02:59 PM
Your scenario looks spot on.

Taking money out of it for a minute I haven't seen or heard a single thing that would make me think a championship team were interested.

If you take his reasoning that it was the best step for his career to go forward then by any look at Hibs and Hearts the only outcome any sane person could reach is that Hibs is looking like the best option for the next few years, on and off the park, but only if you are getting a game.

He'd be looking at Bamba and Hogg and the young guys coming through and thinking there was going to be a bit of a fight on his hands at a time when he is looking to push on and maybe get a place in the Scotland squad again.

Hearts have the big Potugese guy leaving and only Zaliukus is any good of the rest of their centre halfs and he's always suspended.

On money again he will be paid money Hearts don't have, more than he'd get here still and if the worst comes to the worst and Hearts do go bust he will find another team no problem.

I'm sure Hearts will see this as a point score against Hibs but really, it indicates how much easier it is to get a game for Hearts just now.

I'm sure Yogi wanted him as a amember of the squad but doubt he could have told the guy he'd be any sort of first choice.

Think that your "take" allied to my "gossip" just about sums things up given only Barr knows what actually happened.:wink::greengrin
As I said before - a decent player , wish him well but not upset about his not coming to ER

26-01-2010, 03:10 PM

Plenty of rumours on thebigtimesareback that he'll be off soon as well.

26-01-2010, 03:50 PM
Today all the yams were like giruy and i found it quite amusing saying "congradulations you signed someone fae falkirk". Then they went on to say "He is better than pishy Murray" but i'd take Murray over Barr any day. Have to admit though hope they don't get Mulgrew!

26-01-2010, 03:53 PM

He must read the News then.

26-01-2010, 03:56 PM

2 Aberdeen was never on.

I would be amazed if Hibs were only offering him a 2 year deal. Rod would have IMO wanted him on a 3 year minimum deal to make best use of sell on value.

GoldenMeerkat
26-01-2010, 03:57 PM
I find all these bitter comments smack of sour grapes.....mind you, I always thought he was a giant nipple.

:monkey:

Teo10
26-01-2010, 08:16 PM
Even though I hate ***** like Robinho, Tevez, Adebayor and especially Margiotta.

26-01-2010, 08:23 PM
Would Barr really have that much resale value? He's no more than a good SPL player on the outer fringes of the Scotland squad. He would be 25/26 by the time you would think of selling him. I could see the logic of that if he was 2/3 years younger, but if he was he wouldn't be available for free.

I think the odds are that he would be at Hearts for the full length of that contract. I can't see anyone offering millions for him and it would be difficult for them to move him to another SPL club if he doesn't fit in well.

26-01-2010, 08:25 PM
Pfft, a decent player no doubt, but not worth all the hoo-hah. As far as I'm aware neither of the OF even deigned to sniff around him, and generally, irritating as it is, if a young Scottish player makes an impression at another Scottish club, you can guarantee they would have been sniffing around him.

The only pity is that - who knows - he probably has the potential to be an awful lot more than a decent, young Scottish centre back, but he will soon face the prospect of getting kicked out of Riccarton by the Womens reserve Volleyball team at 2pm every other day, inevitably having to contend with whichever great white hope from Lithland gets imported next (and whilst this procedure is getting less frequent, who is that right back that just got shoe horned into the Derby, was - and has remained to be by most accounts - absolutely pish??) and also the fact that there's always a chance of Mad Vlad abducting him and putting him in a Petting Zoo in the foothills of the Himalayas for "ruining the club" or somesuch.

The best environment for a young Scottish player to flourish??

I think not (these days anyway)

Next up Lee "falldownalot" Miller and Charlie Mulgrew, who would be nothing more than a 6/10 clogger were it not for his dead ball delivery (give me Ian Murray any day of the week)??

Forgive me if I'm not quaking in my boots just yet - we Hobos merely have to content ourself with signing players who have playerd and scored in the Premiership.

26-01-2010, 08:28 PM
Pfft, a decent player no doubt, but not worth all the hoo-hah. As far as I'm aware neither of the OF even deigned to sniff around him, and generally, irritating as it is, if a young Scottish player makes an impression at another Scottish club, you can guarantee they would have been sniffing around him.

The only pity is that - who knows - he probably has the potential to be an awful lot more than a decent, young Scottish centre back, but he will soon face the prospect of getting kicked out of Riccarton by the Womens reserve Volleyball team at 2pm every other day, inevitably having to contend with whichever great white hope from Lithland gets imported next (and whilst this procedure is getting less frequent, who is that right back that just got shoe horned into the Derby, was - and has remained to be by most accounts - absolutely pish??) and also the fact that there's always a chance of Mad Vlad abducting him and putting him in a Petting Zoo in the foothills of the Himalayas for "ruining the club" or somesuch.

The best environment for a young Scottish player to flourish??

I think not (these days anyway)

Next up Lee "falldownalot" Miller and Charlie Mulgrew, who would be nothing more than a 6/10 clogger were it not for his dead ball delivery (give me Ian Murray any day of the week)??

Forgive me if I'm not quaking in my boots just yet - we Hobos merely have to content ourself with signing players who have playerd and scored in the Premiership.

Hearts already have one of those

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42400000/jpg/_42400611_nadegl416.jpg

Storar
26-01-2010, 08:31 PM

The guys a money grabbing dick and you'd think he'd show more loyalty:rolleyes:

26-01-2010, 08:35 PM
Hearts already have one of those

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42400000/jpg/_42400611_nadegl416.jpg

Oh.

You'll forgive that slight oversight on my part.

Though as a technicality, that shirt is hanging off him there, so therefore he must have eaten far fewer small children (or whatever his diet consists of at Tynie) when this photo was taken, such that one might say he was half the man then as he is now, and therefore cannot be counted as one and the same player that currently blunders about, week in, week out providing us all with a masterclass in the art of not scoring.

So there!! :greengrin

27-01-2010, 02:49 AM
Since Hearts are just trying to sign any of our targets...

Maybe we should aim for some sheer dross. :wink:

27-01-2010, 06:53 AM
Maybe we should aim for some sheer dross. :wink:

It seems the process has already been put into place. :greengrin

27-01-2010, 07:13 AM
Yogi said on Radio Scotland last night, that he was very disappointed to lose out on signing Barr.

EskbankHibby
27-01-2010, 07:15 AM
Yogi said on Radio Scotland last night, that he was very disappointed to lose out on signing Barr.

Heard that right enough, usual class from our manager, said he was now looking forward to locking horns with him in a derby (words to that effect), wished him all the best.

Clearly disappointed though.

27-01-2010, 08:19 AM
IMO I think we need not need concern ourselves any more with a Hearts player, give him the treatment when he plays and its not like we lost out on Ronaldo, I will sign off in this thread with

**** Barr
**** Hearts

haagsehibby
27-01-2010, 08:43 AM
According to McGoo. Hearts will be paying Barr more than 3k a week.

http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Mark-McGhee-woe-as-Dons.6016263.jp

27-01-2010, 09:30 AM
According to McGoo. Hearts will be paying Barr more than 3k a week.

http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Mark-McGhee-woe-as-Dons.6016263.jp

Hibs rightly couldn't justify that for a player of his 'quality'.

Are the people running Hearts mental? Stupid quesion I know! :greengrin

Falkirk fan I work with was congratulating us on a lucky escape this morning.

27-01-2010, 10:03 AM
Another overpaid player to add to their debt, which they own so it is not really a debt. :confused:

27-01-2010, 10:14 AM
I think McGoo comes out of this worse than Yogi. Yogi didn't really say all that much about trying to get him but McGoo publicly on tv stated he was going to offer loan deals to Falkirk etc; egg on face.

27-01-2010, 02:04 PM
Just spoke to someone who I trust to know these things at Hearts and the chat was that he will be getting about £12k a week.

Hibs offered less than a third of that and Aberdeen less still.

I don't think Hearts fans should be quite so pleased with this as they have been!

Barr being paid more than Miller, Riordan and Stokes put together probably! Brilliant.

27-01-2010, 02:09 PM
Just spoke to someone who I trust to know these things at Hearts and the chat was that he will be getting about £12k a week.

I don't think Hearts fans should be quite so pleased with this as they have been!

Barr being paid more than Miller, Riordan and Stokes put together probably! Brilliant.

Hearts will be paying the wages but he won't be signed to them :wink:

So when he's sold................

27-01-2010, 02:10 PM

oh ma sides, all I need now is to hear Nade has signed an extension and that will be me dying of a heart attack.

brilliant

27-01-2010, 03:00 PM

Hearts now have in place a £6k basic weekly wage cap for all new singings :agree:

Source : a recent signing :wink:

27-01-2010, 03:04 PM
Hearts now have in place a £6k basic weekly wage cap for all new singings :agree:

Well ask the recent signing if he was on drugs when he agreed a pre contract with that shower.

He was nae great shakes anyway, lot of fuss over an average defender.

IMO ofcourse.

27-01-2010, 03:13 PM

Can't confirm that figure but know from a Hearts "employee" that new contracts being offered are in some cases as much as 50% down on present deals.
This possibly explains the stories of a "clear out" at Tynie in the summer
Find the 12K hard to believe !!

27-01-2010, 03:13 PM

That's not counting the sizeable appearance fee a recent signing is getting though

Dipped flake
27-01-2010, 03:19 PM

Sorry, I've read some rubbish on this thread but that takes the biscuit. Hearts limit for wages is now £4,000 a week and so Barr is on no more than that. Whether £4K a week is too much for him (or any other player in the SPL these days) is a good question but try and keep the digs about Hearts out of the realms of fantasy.
On us signing Barr I would say it's the type of signing that we should be making. A good, fairly young, player with SPL experience. 3 year deal so potential to sell him on in 2 years time if he performs well. I do think his form has faded lately, hopefully now he has his immediate future sorted he can get back to the form that got him into the Scotland squad

27-01-2010, 03:23 PM
Hearts limit for wages is now £4,000 a week and so Barr is on no more than that.

You know that how exactly?

Are you involved in the negotiations or did somebody on Kickback tell you that?

27-01-2010, 03:23 PM
Sorry, I've read some rubbish on this thread but that takes the biscuit. Hearts limit for wages is now £4,000 a week and so Barr is on no more than that. Whether £4K a week is too much for him (or any other player in the SPL these days) is a good question but try and keep the digs about Hearts out of the realms of fantasy.
On us signing Barr I would say it's the type of signing that we should be making. A good, fairly young, player with SPL experience. 3 year deal so potential to sell him on in 2 years time if he performs well. I do think his form has faded lately, hopefully now he has his immediate future sorted he can get back to the form that got him into the Scotland squad

Surely its a striker Hearts are crying out for? Hearts were pretty decent at the back before signin Barr, Altho it will be a straight replacement for Goncalves.

With huddies like Nade, Witenveen and Suso in attack it truly beggars belief that a striker hasnt been signed as yet in the window to replace that guff.

27-01-2010, 04:00 PM

Hey, your club, if you have no idea what's going on that's fine by me.

I know that who I spoke to has the information.

Do you recall when you all thought your debt was going to be less than £20m? Case closed.

27-01-2010, 04:02 PM
Surely its a striker Hearts are crying out for? Hearts were pretty decent at the back before signin Barr, Altho it will be a straight replacement for Goncalves.

With huddies like Nade, Witenveen and Suso in attack it truly beggars belief that a striker hasnt been signed as yet in the window to replace that guff.

As the hertz fans cream themselves over signing a player who is currently playing for the worst team in the spl they have conveniently forgotten about their lack of strikers.Presumably barr is to replace congalves as its hard to see how he would get into their team right now according to the same hertz fans.It beggars belief they have gone after barr when they are crying out for strikers especially as they are getting excited by a signing who wont be there till next season or have they written off this season already.:faf:

27-01-2010, 04:03 PM

have to agree. can we move on from this now?

27-01-2010, 04:13 PM
Hey, your club, if you have no idea what's going on that's fine by me.

I know that who I spoke to has the information.

Do you recall when you all thought your debt was going to be less than £20m? Case closed.

For once I have to agree with a Yam, there's no chance Barr is on £12k a week!

EskbankHibby
27-01-2010, 04:15 PM

It's a Hibs messageboard DF, the digs at Hearts can come in any shape or form i think you will find.

I agree that he is a decent signing for Hearts.

27-01-2010, 04:20 PM
For once I have to agree with a Yam, there's no chance Barr is on £12k a week!

Listen, just reporting on what a coach at Hearts just told me. As McGhee said, it wasn't just £3k they were talking , it was A LOT MORE than that.

There are bigger diddies than that on more money at Hearts, and if anyone tells me they've changed, aye, we'll see! As I said above, they believed their salaries had been drastically cut last year, the accounts didn't seem to agree.

27-01-2010, 04:28 PM
Barr would have gladly signed for £6000 a week surely, why would they pay double that if their was no need. The only answer is that they are totaly incompetant. Seems to be about right. :greengrin

sticky windaes
27-01-2010, 04:41 PM
was looking foward to us getting barr.not because i thought he was any great player (i think he is a decent player) but was hoping he would be playing right back which in turn would have made Witherspoon available to play in midfield where i think he is far more effective in that position. hope this can still happen... if we sign a right back

27-01-2010, 04:48 PM
Barr would have gladly signed for £6000 a week surely, why would they pay double that if their was no need. The only answer is that they are totaly incompetant. Seems to be about right. :greengrin

The place is a nut house and in no stretch of the imagination are they a club going places on or off the park.

If Hibs say had offered £4k with knowing Hughes and the talent at the club and the infrastructure off it I'd think £6k from Hearts would have looked less attractive. Well, that and he wouldn't get a game here!

He's also been pretty clear in his chats with Mr May, if you believe that numpty of course, that he was going to wait until the summer and that he was also keen to play in England.

There may have been no huge interest right now but he was free to wait and see how clubs were placed in the summer.

He's taken a pretty quick decision to go to Hearts, looking at it all, that's not a decision he would have made for a mere £6k a week!

Plus, I was told by someone I trust at Hearts, and there's not many of them!

27-01-2010, 04:51 PM
Time to close this thread!

We were all looking forward to signing Barr but he has gone and signed for Hearts and on more than we offered! Thems the breaks! Let the Jambos have their moment and rib us about this however we could have some fun with them...tba

He is a Jambo now and it is up to him to prove all the doubters he is really that good but personally I always thought he was too small for a CH and definitely too slow for a right back - not in Murphy's class and this is the type of player we should be looking at!

I am also sure Yogi has a surprise or two tucked away up his sleeve and will reveal all before Monday!

Not that I know anything just a feeling!

CapitalHibs
27-01-2010, 04:56 PM
All in all, I'm really glad he's no the one making decisions in our central defence:crazy::crazy:

:lolyam:

Hank Schrader
27-01-2010, 04:57 PM
Let the Jambos have their moment and rib us about this however we could have some fun with them.

I couldnae give two shiny sh*tes about Darren Barr and they can rib us all they like, to me I don't think its much of a loss to be honest.:wink:

Just for any Jambos looking in at this thread I have two names for you;

Anthony Stokes
Liam Miller

Two players your daft manager said he wanted but he didn't get. One a prolific goalscorer at SPL level (something that won't ring many bells just now with you lot) and the other a sublime midfielder who plays classy football and creates chances.

So get it wrapped right roond yi's. I couldnae give a toss about your new signing.