View Full Version : £25 for a restricted view

legends of 73
24-01-2010, 09:15 AM
there have a ****ing laff.

was going to go through on wednesday but not at that price to see 3/4 of the pitch:grr::grr:

24-01-2010, 09:20 AM
Yes, they can GTF.

To sit practically blindfolded in a slum, surrounded by bigoted, unwashed trolls and sniveling glory hunters from Perth and South Dublin while being abused by police and stewards who treat you as if you have explosives strapped to your body is not my idea of fun.

Whatever happened to the simple pastime of watching association football? They should try it in Glasgow sometime.

24-01-2010, 09:24 AM
Ive never been to Celtc park, but i never had any stewarding/view/hun abuse problems at Ibrox when ive been (although we always win or draw when i go to Ibrox so that might have affected my memory of the experience:greengrin). Do people think that CP is worse than Ibrox for an away fan?

24-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Last time I was in the restricted view the only bit I couldn't see was a corner flag. See a hell of a lot less from the East tbh.

24-01-2010, 09:33 AM
Do people think that CP is worse than Ibrox for an away fan?

These days, definitely.

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 10:26 AM

was going to go through on wednesday but not at that price to see 3/4 of the pitch:grr::grr:

That's cheap compaired to what we get charged, £36 for restricted view £38 for normall ticket.

24-01-2010, 10:54 AM
It's amazing that a modern football stadium can have any restricted view seats.

I've not been to Parkhead since it was done up...

Last time I was there was 1993 or something, not sure why, I prefer going to Ibrox, they hate us, we hate them. I like it and when we beat them it's great.

I'm not sure the atmosphere would be as good at Celtic, I will give it a go sometime though...

24-01-2010, 11:02 AM
Ive never been to Celtc park, but i never had any stewarding/view/hun abuse problems at Ibrox when ive been (although we always win or draw when i go to Ibrox so that might have affected my memory of the experience:greengrin). Do people think that CP is worse than Ibrox for an away fan?

Absolutely. Granted, the surrounding area is a dump, and the home stands are mainly full of society's most bigotted and backward orcs one could ever hope to meet, but in terms of stadium architecture and away fan experience, Ibrox is a *****ing cathedral compared to the *****eheap Parkhead, where you're lucky if your seat number actually comes with a seat attached to it, and a lot of seats take in a wonderful view of an iron girder, the likes of which most 21st century football stadiums have done away with long ago!

Celtic Park is in absolute bandit country, unlike Ibrox which is a 15 minute ride on the Underground. The low-level station you get off at is cheekily named "Bellevue", which is a bit like calling Helmand province "a peaceful beach resort", and the walk along London Road to the stadium is like glancing into some horrible, Dickensian nightmare, with rickets a widespread issue for the local populace, vitamin D deficiency absolutely rife whilst full sets of teeth and windows with the glass still in are at an absolute premium, not to say absolutely non-existent.

That, and the police/Parkhead security treat you as if you were all hook-handed clerics waving UVF flags.

An absolute dump.

24-01-2010, 11:05 AM
It's amazing that a modern football stadium can have any restricted view seats.

I've not been to Parkhead since it was done up...

Last time I was there was 1993 or something, not sure why, I prefer going to Ibrox, they hate us, we hate them. I like it and when we beat them it's great.

I'm not sure the atmosphere would be as good at Celtic, I will give it a go sometime though...
Ibrox is far better than Parkhead for atmosphere. Unfortunately for myself though it looks increasingly likely i'll be missing my first game of the season :boo hoo:

The stewarding is also absolutely *****ing shocking. i was thrown out ten minutes into the 4-2 game there last season. Me and a couple mates stood in the restricted section, not blocking anybody's view of the match, singing etc as you do. The steward, a big fat *****er who thinks he's superman when he puts on an orange coat, tells me to escort him out the ground without so much of a warning. I argued my case but to no avail. ******.

As for restricted view, from my experience it's not that bad. Sat there twice and the only part I couldn't see was the corner flag. The East is far worse. I suppose the seats further up the back wouldn't be so great though.

24-01-2010, 11:07 AM

I went to see Morrissey at The Playhouse about 2 years ago.

There were 4 tickets left, and they were all restricted viewing.

It was the best view I ever had at a gig by a country mile. The seat was listed as restricted viewing because, when fully reclined half the stage was obscured by the balcony wall in front.

But the balcony wall was directly in front of my knees. Simply leaning over at an extremely comfortable angle and resting my elbows on the padded top gave me the best view I ever had.

Sometimes things are not what they seem. Mind you sometimes they are, and knowing the SPL, you will probably have a steel girder in your face.

24-01-2010, 11:12 AM
Personally speaking a restricted view wouldn't put me off, I often find that if I go to the East I get a restricted view but the atmosphere is good, I find I can move my head around to see most of what happens.

If I had the cash and lived in Scotland I would go...it could be a good game and there's no other way to see it

Riordans Boots
24-01-2010, 11:21 AM
Yes, they can GTF.

To sit practically blindfolded in a slum, surrounded by bigoted, unwashed trolls and sniveling glory hunters from Perth and South Dublin while being abused by police and stewards who treat you as if you have explosives strapped to your body is not my idea of fun.

Whatever happened to the simple pastime of watching association football? They should try it in Glasgow sometime.

24-01-2010, 11:24 AM
[/B]Absolutely. Granted, the surrounding area is a dump, and the home stands are mainly full of society's most bigotted and backward orcs one could ever hope to meet, but in terms of stadium architecture and away fan experience, Ibrox is a *****ing cathedral compared to the *****eheap Parkhead, where you're lucky if your seat number actually comes with a seat attached to it, and a lot of seats take in a wonderful view of an iron girder, the likes of which most 21st century football stadiums have done away with long ago!

Celtic Park is in absolute bandit country, unlike Ibrox which is a 15 minute ride on the Underground. The low-level station you get off at is cheekily named "Bellevue", which is a bit like calling Helmand province "a peaceful beach resort", and the walk along London Road to the stadium is like glancing into some horrible, Dickensian nightmare, with rickets a widespread issue for the local populace, vitamin D deficiency absolutely rife whilst full sets of teeth and windows with the glass still in are at an absolute premium, not to say absolutely non-existent.

That, and the police/Parkhead security treat you as if you were all hook-handed clerics waving UVF flags.

An absolute dump.

Argylehibby
24-01-2010, 11:26 AM
If any of you who want to go but dont want to pay £25 for a restricted view I have a spare £28 ticket now as I am going to be in London on Business. Send me a PM if you are interested

tony higgins
24-01-2010, 11:29 AM
[/B]Absolutely. Granted, the surrounding area is a dump, and the home stands are mainly full of society's most bigotted and backward orcs one could ever hope to meet, but in terms of stadium architecture and away fan experience, Ibrox is a *****ing cathedral compared to the *****eheap Parkhead, where you're lucky if your seat number actually comes with a seat attached to it, and a lot of seats take in a wonderful view of an iron girder, the likes of which most 21st century football stadiums have done away with long ago!

An absolute dump.

Bellgrove is the station.

Nearer and safer is Dalmarnock from Central low level for the simple reason there,s no locals left btw the station and the ground.

Might shock you to know the private security firm there also work at ER, we,re in a global economy after all.

What, you never noticed their weegie accents.

A female yellow jacket i see working the West Lower lives 3 streets away from me in weegie land.

Biggest danger i ever found was the handful of locals left in the East End have something of hatred of all things green and white, not unlike a few i,ve came across in Leith.

Dickensian, probably but a lot more scary 40 years ago maybe coz there,s nobody left.

24-01-2010, 12:06 PM

An absolute dump.

Have you ever considered a career as a travel agent?:greengrin
Thanks for the tip, I think i'll give it a miss then.

24-01-2010, 12:15 PM
That's cheap compaired to what we get charged, £36 for restricted view £38 for normall ticket.

What do they get charged at Ibrox?

24-01-2010, 12:24 PM
Walking along London Road or the Gallowgate is nae worse or different than walking along Junction Street or doon Leith Walk. Good working class area's with a few dodgy boozers and a few bams. Nae different from most area's/cities. Man up ya wimps. :greengrin :agree:

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 12:35 PM
What do they get charged at Ibrox?

We don't have restricted view as far as I know normal tickets is the same, I wasn't having a go at celtic, I was having a go at clubs who treat fans like s**t and I include rangers in that, what im saying is how any team justify charging one set of fans over £10 a difference for the same competition when at the end of the day the prize is the same 3 points.

24-01-2010, 12:36 PM

But the bigot brothers charge each other the same, I think it helps cover the extra policing costs, that are incurred.

24-01-2010, 12:39 PM
We don't have restricted view as far as I know normal tickets is the same, I wasn't having a go at celtic, I was having a go at clubs who treat fans like s**t and I include rangers in that, what im saying is how any team justify charging one set of fans over £10 a difference for the same competition when at the end of the day the prize is the same 3 points.

Mad Vlad did that a couple of years ago. Charging us good old Hibby's £34 for a seat in that midden they call a football stadium. Mind you I paid up and it was all worth it in the end. People on here were calling Makalamby the new messiah after that game. :greengrin

tony higgins
24-01-2010, 12:41 PM
Walking along London Road or the Gallowgate is nae worse or different than walking along Junction Street or doon Leith Walk. Good working class area's with a few dodgy boozers and a few bams. Nae different from most area's/cities. Man up ya wimps. :greengrin :agree:

Midweek game years ago, go for a couple of pints after the game in London Rd Tavern.
Comes back out, walks back to the Stadium, cuts over the old railway onto Stamford St at Barrowfield, darker than the wrong end of the moon.
Nobody around but a couple of barking dogs.
And out of the corner my eye i see the maddest looking bare chested chap charging towards me carrying a cutlass.
Believe he wished to engage with me about 17th century French foreign policy vis a vis the Stuart regime in Scotland and Ireland.
Thank you, Allah the merciful, for the 61 bus.
Truly not for wimps.

24-01-2010, 12:45 PM
Midweek game years ago, go for a couple of pints after the game in London Rd Tavern.
Comes back out, walks back to the Stadium, cuts over the old railway onto to Stamford St at Barrowfield, darker than the wrong end of the moon.
And out of the corner my eye i see the maddest looking bare chested chap charging towards me carrying a cutlass.
Believe he wished to engage with me about 17th century French foreign policy vis a vis the Stuart regime in Scotland and Ireland.
Truly not for wimps.

24-01-2010, 01:05 PM

I but you's get a good portion of the stdium. Even last season you got more than arsenal

24-01-2010, 01:08 PM
Last time I was in the restricted view the only bit I couldn't see was a corner flag. See a hell of a lot less from the East tbh.

aye, if you sit with your eyes closed.

Sandy
24-01-2010, 01:26 PM
Comes back out, walks back to the Stadium, cuts over the old railway onto Stamford St at Barrowfield, darker than the wrong end of the moon.
Truly not for wimps.

:top marks :faf::faf::faf:

24-01-2010, 01:37 PM

You serious?

Had the misfortune of being placed by the gangway to the small press box for the Dnipro match. You couldn't see a third of the pitch from the 18 yard line to the south stand.

24-01-2010, 01:37 PM

Who sits in the East? Only times I've been there I've been standing and I agree you won't get a great view if you're towards the back and vertically challenged like me.

24-01-2010, 01:40 PM
Who sits in the East? Only times I've been there I've been standing and I agree you won't get a great view if you're towards the back and vertically challenged like me.

Nobody although I was told to sit down by a bunch of neds in front of me who were standing up and blocking my view. They told me to sit down because I was blocking the girl's view behind me. Cheeky sods. :greengrin

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 02:38 PM
I but you's get a good portion of the stdium. Even last season you got more than arsenal

Between 7 and 7and a half thousand from a 60 something thousand park, we give the the whole Broomloan stand which is about 8 thousand from a 50 something thousand stadium.

We are giving them more than they give us and our stadium is smaller:grr:

24-01-2010, 02:42 PM
Between 7 and 7and a half thousand from a 60 something thousand park, we give the the whole Broomloan stand which is about 8 thousand from a 50 something thousand stadium.

A sense of injustice of Celtic proportions. Irony at its best:thumbsup:

24-01-2010, 02:48 PM

Well increase the capacity then. Oh forgot Lloyds are running the show now. :devil:

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 02:57 PM
Well increase the capacity then. Oh forgot Lloyds are running the show now. :devil:

Or decrease there allocation.

Listen even if it was still Murray if charge, we have been told many times about extension to stands ect, I will believe it when I see it happen.

24-01-2010, 04:57 PM
You serious?

Had the misfortune of being placed by the gangway to the small press box for the Dnipro match. You couldn't see a third of the pitch from the 18 yard line to the south stand.

It has to be said the back couple of rows in the central blocks of the East must have truly grim views, because of the gantry. I sit slap bang in the middle of the East in row M, so am beneath the gantry, but if I turn around when walking out the East Stand, the view from the back is very much definitely restricted.

Celtc Park is still an absolute *****eheap. Even the Uber Jock Stein Stand has pillars in it upper tier, and looks like it was knocked together by a group of keen, if not misguided, blind Meccano enthusiasts.

That and the toothless locals making "throwing grenade" gestures into the away corner make for an all around gash away day experience.

"Catholic cousins" my erse!! :greengrin

Best of British to all those heading through on Wednesday.

tony higgins
24-01-2010, 05:20 PM

You could always ban them.

bubblesmorrison
24-01-2010, 05:43 PM

canny wait till they start to build the new stand at e.r and only give you lot half the south stand would charge you a bit more as well :greengrin

24-01-2010, 05:57 PM

I believe (and you'll know better than me) that there's quite a number of restricted view seats in your main stand, because of the pillars holding up the Club Deck. Just out of interest, is there a discount for those seats?

I realise they're for home fans only, it's just out of curiosity.

KdyHby
24-01-2010, 06:07 PM
Best of British to all those heading through on Wednesday.

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 06:49 PM
You could always ban them.

Been done before, as much as I hate to admit it, it took away from the atmosphere, and we would be cutting our noses of to spite our face an they would just ban us.

canny wait till they start to build the new stand at e.r and only give you lot half the south stand would charge you a bit more as well :greengrin

Your team would have to keep playing good football to fill the spaces from the section you take away from us, as I can't see the club being happy to take a loss of cash by reducing our allocation IMO

I believe (and you'll know better than me) that there's quite a number of restricted view seats in your main stand, because of the pillars holding up the Club Deck. Just out of interest, is there a discount for those seats?

I realise they're for home fans only, it's just out of curiosity.

When I mentioned we don't have RV as far as im aware, was meaning in the broomloan rd stand, as for the main stand I would imagine there would be a reduction in the price but couldn't be sure as im a season ticker holder in another section of the ground.

24-01-2010, 06:59 PM
nice nuumber of posts my friend:wink:1875

24-01-2010, 07:37 PM
Been done before, as much as I hate to admit it, it took away from the atmosphere, and we would be cutting our noses of to spite our face an they would just ban us.

When was this and why? :confused:

24-01-2010, 07:43 PM

I remember this. Wasn't it because Rangers were fed up with Celtc fans trashing the place?

I remember being told by a Celtc supporting mate as far back as the early 80's that a lot of Celtc supporters would deliberately smash their seat in the Broomloan Stand just before leavng the ground, though he thought this was unnaceptable behaviour himself.

24-01-2010, 07:49 PM
Your team would have to keep playing good football to fill the spaces from the section you take away from us, as I can't see the club being happy to take a loss of cash by reducing our allocation IMO

Did you miss the part about the East stand being knocked down and rebuilt? The seats we take away from you lot will be filled with those who are normally in the East stand. :greengrin

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 08:10 PM

Celtic fans where banned from Ibrox for 1 game, it was for damage caused to the stadium the few games previous which celtic refused to pay for, it was season 93-94 im sure, the game finished 1-1, collins for celtic and if I remember right it was the first goal scored with Predator boots, we got our goal from Mickhailchenko.

It was a funny atmosphere as there was no noise for a few sec's when they scored then it went to moans and groans, there was no one to vent your frustration at, no one to get it right up them sort of things except there team when we scored.

Here is teams

Rangers:- Scott, McCall, Robertson, Gough, McPherson, Pressley (Mickhailchenko), Steven, Ferguson, McCoist (D Ferguson), Hateley, Durie

Celtic:- Bonner, Smith, Martin, Grant, Mowbray, McNally, McGinlay (McLaughlin), Wdowczyk, Donnelly (Byrne), Falconer, Collins

Rangers scorer:- Mickhailchenko (79)
Celtic scorer:- Collins (29)

Att:- 45,853

24-01-2010, 08:12 PM
First trip to Darkheid....quite excited but also gonna be wary of my surroundings, from what i've heard the stewards/polis are complete kn0bers and the residents of Kerrydale Street are all crystal meth addicts :devil:

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 08:14 PM
I remember this. Wasn't it because Rangers were fed up with Celtc fans trashing the place?

I remember being told by a Celtc supporting mate as far back as the early 80's that a lot of Celtc supporters would deliberately smash their seat in the Broomloan Stand just before leavng the ground, though he thought this was unnaceptable behaviour himself.

Correct mate.

blueisthecolour
24-01-2010, 08:15 PM
Did you miss the part about the East stand being knocked down and rebuilt? The seats we take away from you lot will be filled with those who are normally in the East stand. :greengrin

Yes I did:faf:

tony higgins
24-01-2010, 09:46 PM

And Rangers were going to possibly win the league that day, they did,nt

Truth was they wanted the tickets.

Overall, it isn,t a bad idea.

Would offload a lot of hassle all round.

25-01-2010, 09:14 AM
Last went to darkheid a couple of years ago,will not be going again,paying good money, sitting in the worst area of the ground,could see almost nowt and told to sit down every 30 secs by a complete 1wa1 of a steward,what I dont understand is, its a massive stadium surely they could accomodate the small travelling supports of the other teams by moving them somewhere with a view,its not as if the stadium is a sell out every week for the rest of the games,even when their crowds are up against us they are still a few thou short of a full house?
Mibbe its something all the clubs can look into,put in a complaint or ask for us to be seated somewhere else,is it really too diffcult for cellik to sort out?

25-01-2010, 09:55 AM
You serious?

i've sat (or should i say stood) in the same area of the east for over a decade, right at the half way line mid way up (right under the press box) and you can see 98% of the pitch.

the only obstruction is a couple of columns which you can 'look around' if you need to so i have no complaints about the view from the east.

suppose there may be some areas where the view aint so good.

houston1875
25-01-2010, 12:49 PM
Truly not for wimps.

25-01-2010, 01:26 PM
Was tempted to travel through for this as I'm on holiday from uni at the moment and it seemed like a good opportunity, support the boys etc.
£25 for what sounds like a pretty awful experience however, has put me off. I'd rather spend it in the pub watching the game without a restricted view to be honest, than be robbed of £25 by money grubbing barstewards with little or no regard for visiting fans.

EH6 Hibby
25-01-2010, 01:38 PM
First trip to Darkheid....quite excited but also gonna be wary of my surroundings, from what i've heard the stewards/polis are complete kn0bers and the residents of Kerrydale Street are all crystal meth addicts :devil:

My first trip there too, hope it goes as well as my first trip to Ibrox, when we won 3-0. :thumbsup:

Joe Baker II
25-01-2010, 02:28 PM
Have not been to Parkhead for a while but going this week and my experience is that;

restricted view seats in away end are not that bad - certainly had no problem paying reduced sum for it.

have never had particular problem with Parkhead stewards and have seen much worse stewarding when following Hibs to all the 3 Tayside grounds - though given number of complaints from fans of Hibs and other clubs I am certainly not saying there is no issue here. (though there seem to have been fewer complaints in last year or so).

Suspect some people are searching for an excuse not to go to be honest.

scotiaf
25-01-2010, 02:39 PM
Can you pay at the gate tomo ?

25-01-2010, 02:41 PM
I will be there.:thumbsup:

Joe Baker II
25-01-2010, 02:42 PM

Suspect in the home areas only (suspect we may sell our small allocation although will be last minute), worth asking though.

25-01-2010, 02:45 PM

You can try but it will be shut. :agree:

25-01-2010, 02:48 PM
i've sat (or should i say stood) in the same area of the east for over a decade, right at the half way line mid way up (right under the press box) and you can see 98% of the pitch.

the only obstruction is a couple of columns which you can 'look around' if you need to so i have no complaints about the view from the east.

suppose there may be some areas where the view aint so good.

Think 98% is being a little generous as in the middle of the ground you'll still have 4 posts at least in your way. Yes you can move your head but it's still restricted view. As I said at CP you get restricted view even if you can only miss a corner flag.

I sat for 4 seasons at U69 in the East and hand picked the seat because you had a clear view of both goals. Still a pain in the arse stretching to watch a player take a free kick from the D or a corner from the near side.

I love the east for the atmosphere and if it gets replaced this season I'll be :boo hoo: about not getting another big match in there but I was proper hacked off about that Dnipro game and there is no doubt it's one of the worst views in Scottish fitbaw.

Sitting at the back of the West on the other hand is one of the finest. Could hear a pin drop like but it's a smashing view :greengrin

25-01-2010, 04:06 PM
Ibrox used to be hell. The visiting support was behind the goal below the Huns support. Every incident was greeted with spitting and who knows what from the tier above. The gargoyles were leaning over in the full view of the stewards and police while gobbing and throwing the contents of plastic cups over the Hibs support. PC Plod meanwhile was whistling and looking the other way.

I have only returned to Ibrox for Cup matches since then when the arrangements are different. Even then the visitors get shut in after the match to ensure that the queues have built up at the Underground.

Celtic park used to be good accommodation for visitors or at least I went. The rubbishy seats allocated now are simply not worth the bother of going.

I would say that the current arrangements are better at Ibrox now. Not that I have any intention of going to either venue unless it is a cup match.

Lmc2105
25-01-2010, 04:31 PM
Just spoke to the ticket office (ticketmaster) and they said the remaining tickets have been sent back to celtic?:confused:

has any1 else phoned up?

houston1875
25-01-2010, 04:45 PM
just got ticket's for the .... ...... tramps game! 1-2 to the cabbage and hope to get out in one piece from bandit country!:greengrin

Lmc2105
25-01-2010, 04:50 PM
just got ticket's for the .... ...... tramps game! 1-2 to the cabbage and hope to get out in one piece from bandit country!:greengrin

i just called about 10 15 mins ago and they told me the remaining tickets have been sent back to celtic, would i be better going to the ticket office tomorrow?

houston1875
25-01-2010, 05:00 PM

ginger_eejit
25-01-2010, 10:08 PM
Ibrox used to be hell. The visiting support was behind the goal below the Huns support. Every incident was greeted with spitting and who knows what from the tier above. The gargoyles were leaning over in the full view of the stewards and police while gobbing and throwing the contents of plastic cups over the Hibs support. PC Plod meanwhile was whistling and looking the other way.

I have only returned to Ibrox for Cup matches since then when the arrangements are different. Even then the visitors get shut in after the match to ensure that the queues have built up at the Underground.

Celtic park used to be good accommodation for visitors or at least I went. The rubbishy seats allocated now are simply not worth the bother of going.

I would say that the current arrangements are better at Ibrox now. Not that I have any intention of going to either venue unless it is a cup match.

Castle Greyskull was truly awful when we were stuck in the bottom tier. I remember one time when I was through in the early 90s, I was sitting near the back, and beside me was a guy and his wee daughter, usual torrent of detritus and flem was falling from above, and this boy complained to the stweards and polis who weren't the slightest bit interested. Finally the boys patience snapped, and he lobbed his cup of bovril up over his heid to the tier above. Of course he was immediately huckled oot by 3 of Strathclydes finest.