View Full Version : PC gone mad - literally

(((Fergus)))
23-01-2010, 05:39 PM
http://www.psni.police.uk/ulster_scots.pdf

LiverpoolHibs
23-01-2010, 06:24 PM
It would be funny if it weren't for the phenomenal amounts of money this absolute nonsense receives. It can even be taught in schools (http://www.ulsterscotsagency.com/weans/index.html).

N.B. The Ulster-Scots term, and this is no joke, for children with special needs in the above curriculum is 'wee daftie bairns'. Seriously.

(((Fergus)))
23-01-2010, 06:26 PM
It would be funny if it weren't for the phenomenal amounts of money this absolute nonsense receives. It can even be taught in schools (http://www.ulsterscotsagency.com/weans/index.html).

N.B. The Ulster-Scots term, and this is no joke, for children with special needs in the above curriculum is 'wee daftie bairns'. Seriously.

Sorry, but that is worth the money on its own :faf:

23-01-2010, 07:00 PM
Get Scots back in Scottish education:thumbsup:

23-01-2010, 07:46 PM
In a nott case, wale 999 ?:confused:

23-01-2010, 08:34 PM

It might be funny if the producers could speak English first. In the Teachers' Guide at that link, the plural of teacher is written repeatedly as teachers'. Morans!

(((Fergus)))
23-01-2010, 09:30 PM
In a nott case, wale 999 ?:confused:

Quite similar to German: Not/nott = emergency ('need') and wählen/wale = dial

23-01-2010, 10:12 PM
Is this one of those social group wind ups that's spilled onto the boards?

The links in the first two posts surely can't be for real!:confused:

(((Fergus)))
23-01-2010, 10:17 PM

The first link is from here which, believe it or not, appears to be the real PSNI website

www.psni.police.uk

LiverpoolHibs
23-01-2010, 10:39 PM

The first link is from here which, believe it or not, appears to be the real PSNI website

[/URL][URL="http://www.psni.police.uk"]www.psni.police.uk (http://www.psni.police.uk)

And the second is from the Board of Ulster-Scots. Or, ahem, the 'Boord o' Ulster-Scotch'.

Irish language groups actually have (as in, 'you don't get any funding if you don't') to cooperate with these dullards. They must spend every single meeting pissing themselves at the absurdity of it.

24-01-2010, 12:41 AM

Here's another one

http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/vli/language/scots/index.htm

24-01-2010, 12:54 AM
Here's another one

Absolutely crazy if you ask me. Even text speak is more understandable and easier to spell than all that baloney. :agree:

24-01-2010, 08:57 AM
Quite similar to German: Not/nott = emergency ('need') and wählen/wale = dial

Ahhh......Thanks. :thumbsup: Even in my best Ian Paisley accent, I couldn't get any meaning out of that one.

24-01-2010, 10:05 AM
Absolutely crazy if you ask me. Even text speak is more understandable and easier to spell than all that baloney. :agree:

Go back a few hundred years and that was the language Scottish people were speaking.

24-01-2010, 12:01 PM
Go back a few hundred years and that was the language Scottish people were speaking.

I'm just stocking up my Tardis and I'll confirm that when I return.

24-01-2010, 12:47 PM

It's an early form of the Anglo/Saxon language (English) which we were speaking long before the English.

(((Fergus)))
24-01-2010, 02:14 PM
Here's another one

Oh FFS no! :bitchy: :faf:

Are there really people out there who can only read the Scottish Parliament website in that language? How the hell do they operate their computers? :confused:

24-01-2010, 11:40 PM
Some dafty

Walcome tae the Scottish Pairlament wabsite

The Scottish Pairlament is here for tae represent aw Scotlan’s folk.

We want tae mak siccar that as mony folk as possible can finn oot aboot the Scottish Pairlament. Information anent whit we can dae tae help ye engaige wi the Pairlament gin ye arenae fluent in English can be haen at Langage assistance providit by the Scottish Pairlament (28.5KB pdf).

This pairt o the wabsite hauds information anent the Scottish Pairlament that we hae producit in Scots. Uise the link aneath tae find oot mair.

Garrin the Scottish Pairlament Wark for You (1.59MB pdf)
Contactin the Scottish Pairlament
Gin ye hae a quaistion anent the Scottish Pairlament or the Memmers o the Scottish Pairlament (MSPs), ye can contact the Public Speirins Service in ony leid by post, email or fax.

Address:
Public Information Service
The Scottish Parliament
Edinburgh
EH99 1SP

Email: [email protected]

Fax: 0131 348 5601

I used Google translate to decipher this message and it returned 'Whomever wrote this has lost touch with reality'.

IF this is a serious page then it reeks of patronism (IMO).

I've read the sentence containing the word siccar 8 or 9 times and I stil have no idea what it means. I even Googled it and still couldn't find it. :confused:

24-01-2010, 11:46 PM
I used Google translate to decipher this message and it returned 'Whomever wrote this has lost touch with reality'.

IF this is a serious page then it reeks of patronism (IMO).

I've read the sentence containing the word siccar 8 or 9 times and I stil have no idea what it means. I even Googled it and still couldn't find it. :confused:

Meaning certainty, or assuredness.

It's all tosh as far as I'm concerned.

(((Fergus)))
25-01-2010, 12:06 AM
"We want tae mak siccar that as mony folk as possible can finn oot aboot the Scottish Pairlament."

"We want to make sure that as many people as possible can find out about the Scottish Pairlament."

"Siccar" is another word that is close to German ("sicher" - safe/secure/sure).

I wonder how many people actually needed this web page. People who can read Scots but cannot read English.

_hucks_
25-01-2010, 04:06 AM
Try this one! http://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

And to think of the speed that crap is usually whipped away from wikipedia, this is astounding.