View Full Version : "Mowbray ditches Brown" - Celtic deny story, threaten to sue

Pages : 1 [2]

20-01-2010, 04:37 PM
I think JC accused him of being on the pay of Rangers. AFAIK the court papers have still to be lodged.

Cheers, I knew it was something like that.

20-01-2010, 04:39 PM
Or ..it could be total spin ...cellic make a few noises ..press get noises & expand on story ...cellic stamp their feet & deny all has been said & threaten to skelp press wi rattle ....then admit ..aye he can go at the right price as every player has a price blah de blah de blah ...:blah::blah::blah:

20-01-2010, 04:41 PM
Or ..it could be total spin ...cellic make a few noises ..press get noises & expand on story ...cellic stamp their feet & deny all has been said & threaten to skelp press wi rattle ....then admit ..aye he can go at the right price as every player has a price blah de blah de blah ...:blah::blah::blah:

Most probably.

Green_one
20-01-2010, 04:47 PM
The problems with Scott Brown are

1. The OF take players too early. SB was work in progress. They want them cheap so they jump early. They are not really tested. Whittaker is a prime example of a player who even Hibs supporters had doubts about as a RB.
2. They paid too much for him IMHO. I think he had potential for being worth more but that is no guarantee. Its a gamble. Europe and International experience - almost nil
3. Playing for the OF is different and needs consistancy and dealing with pressure. Some players respond (Caldwell) and others do not.
4. Celtic are NOT good at bringing out the best in players - Riordan, Flood, Killen, Brown, Donati, are just some examples . Several other signings from Hibs, in the more distant past, have crashed and burned a Parkhead - Darren Jackson for example.

Brown needs to get out, hopefully to the likes of Tottenham and get his career started again. I like TM but always thought he had weaknesses and in a big club he would struggle with that - 'we are all pals' act.

EuanH78
20-01-2010, 05:09 PM
No more than anyone else. In fact by your own admission, Celtic get decisions at Parkhead courtesy of referees. So other than against Rangers (but only when the league is close :rolleyes:) you get decisions that the other ten teams don't.

And yet you still think there's a bias against you :hilarious

Sellik fans = paranoid

Don't you understand though? Jack (and all other Celtc supporters) aren't bothered that they get dodgy decisions for them against all the other clubs in the league. They are complaining because they dont get them against Rangers.

The complaint is not about the obvious bias, but its about the bias of the obvious bias being in favor of Rangers. :crazy:

I think you must have been confused because Jack delivered it without even a trace of irony.

Oh yeah, Scott Brown has been pish for Celtc, thanks for the 4.5M. Hopefully when he gets a move to another club with a less rotten core he will be able to thrive again as a player.

20-01-2010, 05:27 PM
The complaint is not about the obvious bias, but its about the bias of the obvious bias being in favor of Rangers. :crazy:

Aye, paranoia like I said :greengrin

And I haven't even mentioned them getting private investigators to follow referees to prove they were Rangers fans :faf:

20-01-2010, 05:43 PM
LTSF. PLEASE! :devil:

20-01-2010, 06:07 PM
Don't you understand though? Jack (and all other Celtc supporters) aren't bothered that they get dodgy decisions for them against all the other clubs in the league. They are complaining because they dont get them against Rangers.

I think you must have been confused because Jack delivered it without even a trace of irony.

Oh yeah, Scott Brown has been pish for Celtc, thanks for the 4.5M. Hopefully when he gets a move to another club with a less rotten core he will be able to thrive again as a player.

Something i brought to his attention last time he was spouting his pish, although again he seems to conveniently ignore it. :confused:

20-01-2010, 06:12 PM
FWIW, I agree with JR that Petrov is much better than Brown.

Brown isn't as good as he's made out to be on here. His lack of goal threat being his biggest weakness IMO.

Perhaps Strachan thought it was a good idea to play Brown in front of the defence because he has plenty energy to close down the spaces & players and likes a challenge. Maybe that's why he stuck him in there because his finishing is dire.

I still think that JR is on crack if he thinks you couldn't sign Alan Thomson for 32 million in today's market. Although you could be right, Driver is worth 6 million and he has an U21 cap. I think Thompson got one token full cap so he might be worth that 32 mil after all! :rolleyes:

20-01-2010, 06:16 PM
I still think that JR is on crack if he thinks you couldn't sign Alan Thomson for 32 million in today's market.

Shirley JR just forgot to hit the shift key when he was typing £ with his boxing gloves? :dunno:

20-01-2010, 06:18 PM
Shirley JR just forgot to hit the shift key when he was typing £ with his boxing gloves? :dunno:

Maybe he couldn't type because of all the crack he took? :dunno:

20-01-2010, 06:24 PM
The whole situation is hilarious. Scenario - Brown to be booted out of Celtic. Article includes quotes, so must be true. Celtic fans, including our resident one, leap to support Celtic's actions and leave Brown without a name.......utter cr@p and a waste of money. Oh dear, Brown and Celtic deny all knowledge of this scoop and Mowbray talks up the huge importance of Brown in his plans. How quickly and without losing face can the mhanks change their minds and insist that, after all, Brown is and always was fantastic and a leading light in their circus........................ I'm lovin' it. :faf::faf::faf:

20-01-2010, 06:25 PM
Maybe he couldn't type because of all the crack he took? :dunno:

Even if he did take crack, a hun took it worse.

Rory89
20-01-2010, 06:38 PM
Just waiting for the full in depth interview with Brown when he leaves Celtic

"What did Mowbray say to you Scott"?

"Don't know".

"Were you disappointed to leave"?

"Don't know".

"Do you feel you have something to prove to Mowbray"?

"Don't know".

"Where you even at Celtic"?

"Don't know".

20-01-2010, 06:52 PM
Just waiting for the full in depth interview with Brown when he leaves Celtic

"What did Mowbray say to you Scott"?

"Don't know".

"Were you disappointed to leave"?

"Don't know".

"Do you feel you have something to prove to Mowbray"?

"Don't know".

"Where you even at Celtic"?

"Don't know".

20-01-2010, 07:17 PM
Can't be bothered reading the whole thread as JR is getting right on my tits turning it into a chip on shoulder, we are the downtrodden, please feel sorry for Celtic thread. But for what it's worth I would be surprised if true aand if it is I hope it's a lesson to ALL other young Scottish players that it is just not worth it to sign for the OF.

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
20-01-2010, 07:20 PM
Can't be bothered reading the whole thread as JR is getting right on my tits turning it into a chip on shoulder, we are the downtrodden, please feel sorry for Celtic thread. But for what it's worth I would be surprised if true aand if it is I hope it's a lesson to ALL other young Scottish players that it is just not worth it to sign for the OF.

I doubt Scotty regrets the 25k a week. For what it's worth, I doubt there will be any shortage of Championship and EPL buyers for Brown, and the timothy's will get back their £4.5m without much problem.

20-01-2010, 07:30 PM
bbc say its all bull and are after the papers

EuanH78
20-01-2010, 08:03 PM
Something i brought to his attention last time he was spouting his pish, although again he seems to conveniently ignore it. :confused:

If he ignores it, it will go away. Then him and his Celtc supporting pals can keep bleating on about hard done by the are. I mean they only get 1 call for every 3 of Rangers dont ya know? It's a conspiracy.

Scary thing is he believes it too. Probably believes that Rangers and Celtic arent two arms of the same corporate organisation as well.

OF supporters = Proper bunch of fannies

new malkyhib
20-01-2010, 08:48 PM
I have a good memory, but I kid you not - there is a website where a guy keeps a list of them all WITH VIDEO EVIDENCE!!

There's also a book called "Celtic's paranoia - all in the mind" which is pretty good. It actually absolves the Referees. bar a few culprits who they maintain were bent, but certainly nails the tabloid press. The critique of which was done by a random Canadian dude!

Does it have the "video evidence" of Scott MacDonald scyhting down Van Zanten of Hibs last year, walking to the ref expecting to get sent off, but mysteriously escaping with a booking?

"Hibs - Celtc's feeder club since 1875".

Celtic - Scottish Football's paranoia kings since 1888 (currently being given a run for their money by Hearts).

hibsdaft
20-01-2010, 09:32 PM
not read this whole thread but i can only conclude that Celtic's transfer market activities this month are more to do with their wage bill than the respective qualities of the players they are getting rid of.

muirhousehibby
20-01-2010, 09:37 PM
broony's biggest problem has been that he does not score enough goals. if you look at midfielders in the EPL, certainly at the bigger clubs. they are good for 10-12 goals a season. I cant see celtic getting 5m for him.

lee bowyer is already on 5 and he was a free
James Milner on 7
David Dunn is on 6
Clint Dempsey is on 7
Matthew Taylor is on 4
Krancjar is on 6

any potential manager down south would see he has not scored many goals in the SPL what chance would he have down there

lol what a load of tripe, its not about how many goals he has scored. its all about what clubs are looking to get out of him playing in his position. Scott Brown has lots to offer in the EPL.

Rino Gattuso has played 360 app at club level but only scored 7 goals. And many teams would jump at the chance of signing him.

20-01-2010, 09:49 PM
The sectarian history of Scottish football and the glory hunting present, means that the OF clubs are judged as a success or failure if they finish above or below each other.

The OF do sign players from other clubs for stock, basically, those talented ones who might challenge the sectarian status quo.

But overall, that's not their real strategy, they want to finish above each other.

Brown was an interesting case, he was regarded, for his fee, as a player who was a first team shoe-in. This was because the other side of the same club, the 'blue' division of the OF, were interested.

Brown, like so many before him, made the mistake of going west rather than south. It just doesn't make sense, as you are not playing football, you are involved in a pantomime.

I feel for Brown, a potentially great young player wasted, but it's always the chance you take signing for the uglies and picking up Daz coupon medals.

This saga, I feel, is only good news for Hibs. It probably means that more young stars will be inclined to stay a season longer and move south, rather than do a shabby Daily Record/Wliie McKay move to the decrepits.

KerPlunk
20-01-2010, 09:50 PM
Aha.............Celtc are getting rid of Scott Brown because he has a new career lined up. :greengrin

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jan/20/massachusetts-election-scott-brown

20-01-2010, 09:57 PM
Did I just see Alan Thompson and £32 million in the same sentence...

think someone's spiked my irn bru :greengrin

20-01-2010, 09:59 PM
It occurs to me that this thread is a bit like that episode of Still Game when the wee Glesga neds attend the opening of a community centre by a Cooncillor.

He says "I'm really proud to be standing here today"

Ned "Naw ye urny"

Cooncillor "My father would be so proud"

Ned "Naw eh widnae"

You get the idea :agree:

Effectively this thread could have been over in just a handful of posts

.netter "Brown not in Celtc plans"

another .netter "aye eh is"

Jack Regan "He's mince anyway"

various .netters "naw eh isnae"

etc etc etc

shagpile
20-01-2010, 10:04 PM
FWIW, I agree with JR that Petrov is much better than Brown.

Brown isn't as good as he's made out to be on here. His lack of goal threat being his biggest weakness IMO.

Perhaps Strachan thought it was a good idea to play Brown in front of the defence because he has plenty energy to close down the spaces & players and likes a challenge. Maybe that's why he stuck him in there because his finishing is dire.

I still think that JR is on crack if he thinks you couldn't sign Alan Thomson for 32 million in today's market. Although you could be right, Driver is worth 6 million and he has an U21 cap. I think Thompson got one token full cap so he might be worth that 32 mil after all! :rolleyes:

I think Brown has suffered because of celtics over enthusiasm with the ever erratic McGeady. He is seen as their attacking spark & Brown has been asked to do more of the spade work which he does as best he can ,but as we know is much better running at defences though , asyou say his finishing is average at best.

Petrov was better for celtic than Brown has been in terms of goal threat, although i think you will find since moving to the much more competetive EPL, his goals have all but dried up. I would be surprised if he has scored more than a dozen goals for Villa in 3[?] years.
Of course it could he is doing for Villa the job Brown is asked to do at celtic, simply because they have two good attacking midfielders in Young & Milner, & Petrov doesn't get too many opportunities to get forward.

20-01-2010, 10:16 PM
Does it mean that Jack has to now retract his post about how Brown isn't a decent midfield player?

Tell Bobby!:devil:

Mikey_1875
20-01-2010, 10:17 PM
As much as I dislike Celtic, I hope they succeed. It's about time that clown was rapped on the knuckles!

Hibhibhooray
20-01-2010, 10:25 PM
Has this been 'leaked' to manufacture a situation which means Brownie has to move on after being slated by the tic fans. This way if he is sold then the fans won't be up in arms cause they have said he was rubbish anyway....

or does Brownie want out of dark heid and rather slap in a transfer request:cool2:, help start a story to help manufacture a move....

No matter what since going to Smeltic Brownie has went backwards in his development:agree:....

kevo1875
20-01-2010, 11:47 PM
No matter what since going to Smeltic Brownie has went backwards in his development:agree:....[/QUOTE]

GreenMachine
21-01-2010, 12:49 AM
Even if he did take crack, a hun took it worse.

:faf: :top marks

21-01-2010, 05:48 AM
i'm not going to go over what I was on about last week, but what I stand by is that, when Rangers and Celtic are tight in theeague, or when Rangers need teh points, teh refs do them serious favours. I also conceded that, normally at celtic park - Celtic DO get teh benefit of teh doubt.

When it comes told firm games - they are hardly ever the victim of big decisions where we are.

I challeged Hibs fans on here and theresident hun via PM to give me a big decision thatw ent against Rangers in a big game - any big game, but mostly OF games. I said that if they came up with one, I'd come up with three that went against Celtic. I got one example (from 1989) and nothin from the hun via PM.

the big difference for me is that when you say to the SFA, the Sottish Sports Media or huns taht foreign refs should be brought in for OF games, they are dead against it, whereas we are all for it.

I want to keep this on topic (despite the efforts of some on here to suit wee agendas)

Wish to **** you would learn to spell the.

Siralbertkidd
21-01-2010, 06:10 AM
How about the argument that you are a tedious tosser who has to comment on every single thread remotely related to Celtic on this site because you have some delusion that Hibs fans care about the opinion of one of the TGFITW when it comes to Celtic players, Hibs players or the price of a pint of milk.

Please stop posting in Celtic related threads so we can all come to the conclusion that Celtic is a club with no principles supported by a bunch of bigoted weegie rats in peace.

Hibs On Tour
21-01-2010, 01:39 PM
Is Mckay still Browns agent.

Nope. Character of dubious repute from this neck of the woods is dealing with that now...

Hibs On Tour
21-01-2010, 01:43 PM

Brown does not have an agent any more.

I refer you to the thread prior to Xmas regarding Mr Broon getting a smack in the chops up the town.

He [apparently] binned Mackay as WM was trying to engineer a move down to Harry Paperbag Redknapp's Spurs and Broony didnae want to leave the Smellies. So, he then bins WM and jumps in bed with a character from through here of unsavoury repute who promises him he can make sure he's OK whenever he goes out up the town and that.

Then, he's up the town [alledgedly nailing said agent's secretary over the bonnet of a car no less] when a couple of lads say they've got him filmed on mobile phone. He goes mental shouting 'do you know who my agent is' when another lad appears [who doesn't get on with said agent] and smacks Broony in the chops to send a message to said agent.

Broony is making some bad calls with his future IMHO...

21-01-2010, 05:34 PM
Real Radio football phone in attempting to get keek smackson on to discuss the Scott Brown story.

Should be interesting....

Hakim Sar
21-01-2010, 05:49 PM
Is keith Jackson a chainsmoking gay?

He was on telly last week and had yellow fingers and looked a bit camp.

Definitly a touch of the dame ednas about him

Hun