View Full Version : Some research

10-01-2010, 02:44 PM
Montrose are bottom of Division 3. They haven't won a game yet. Scored 9 goals in 17 games and conceded 29.

Edinburgh City are eighth in the East of Scotland League having won 4 times and lost 6. No draws. They have scored 15 in 10 games and conceded 25.

Mon the City!

10-01-2010, 02:46 PM
I'm considering going to Meadowbank on Wednesday. :agree:

Mon the City!

shamo9
10-01-2010, 02:46 PM
I remember when we beat Montrose 9-0 in the CIS back in 2003. Dobbie scored before I had even taken my seat:thumbsup:

hibeesliam94
10-01-2010, 02:47 PM
Looks like we've got the best tie going:thumbsup::thumbsup:

duncs
10-01-2010, 02:48 PM
Does anyone know how much it is to get in on Wednesday?

graemegyle
10-01-2010, 02:57 PM
Does anyone know how much it is to get in on Wednesday?

V.

EDINBURGH CITY v. MONTROSE
ACTIVE NATION SCOTTISH CUP ROUND 4
- MEADOWBANK STADIUM
ADMISSION £10 ADULTS, £5 CHILDREN - 1 FREE CHILD PER ADULT
RESCHEDULED FOR WEDNESDAY JANUARY 13 - 7:45 P.M. KICK OFF

10-01-2010, 03:04 PM
I'm really surprised at the cost of watching third division football.

For example, £10 to watch Albion Rovers v Montrose makes Hibs prices look like a steal!

10-01-2010, 03:22 PM
I'm really surprised at the cost of watching third division football.

For example, £10 to watch Albion Rovers v Montrose makes Hibs prices look like a steal!

Theres a pretty high chance that Edinburh City don't charge that price week in week out. The SFA set minimum prices for the Scottish Cup. No idea why, probably to ensure a decent split of the gate for each team.

10-01-2010, 03:47 PM
Montrose are bottom of Division 3. They haven't won a game yet. Scored 9 goals in 17 games and conceded 29.

Edinburgh City are eighth in the East of Scotland League having won 4 times and lost 6. No draws. They have scored 15 in 10 games and conceded 25.

So in other words whoever we get, we can expect to cruise through 1-0 at ER.

10-01-2010, 08:47 PM
I remember when we beat Montrose 9-0 in the CIS back in 2003. Dobbie scored before I had even taken my seat:thumbsup:
I remember Montrose putting us out a cup. :boo hoo: Cannae mind what one though. :confused:

10-01-2010, 09:00 PM
I remember when we beat Montrose 9-0 in the CIS back in 2003. Dobbie scored before I had even taken my seat

Overconfidence might be a problem, if we fall into the trap of imagining that we still have that sort of striking ability at the club, er, I mean, at the football club.

10-01-2010, 09:08 PM
I remember Montrose putting us out a cup. :boo hoo: Cannae mind what one though. :confused:

That was the big cup in about 1975 - I think some guy called Les Barr scored from the halfway line over Jim McArthur's head.

10-01-2010, 09:12 PM
V.

EDINBURGH CITY v. MONTROSE
ACTIVE NATION SCOTTISH CUP ROUND 4
- MEADOWBANK STADIUM
ADMISSION £10 ADULTS, £5 CHILDREN - 1 FREE CHILD PER ADULT
RESCHEDULED FOR WEDNESDAY JANUARY 13 - 7:45 P.M. KICK OFF

£10.......no chance I'll be going to watch that standard at that price.

if it had been realistic, I would definitely have gone along with kid but no danger now.

sunshine1875
10-01-2010, 09:15 PM
That was the big cup in about 1975 - I think some guy called Les Barr scored from the halfway line over Jim McArthur's head.

Hibs website states it was the League Cup on 24-09-1975 losing 3-1 at home - our only loss to them.

The only Scottish Cup game was on 28th January 1995, winning two nil away in Montrose.

10-01-2010, 09:20 PM
Hibs website states it was the League Cup on 24-09-1975 losing 3-1 at home - our only loss to them.

The only Scottish Cup game was on 28th January 1995, winning two nil away in Montrose.

Wee cup then....my memory's going, I'm sure they beat us away, must be getting mixed up with East Fife.

10-01-2010, 09:25 PM

Mon the City!

You're really tempting me to get along to a frozen Meadowbank on Wednesday to take in that classic in the making.

Can I pay the £10 to my local jakey then go back indoors instead?

deek68
10-01-2010, 09:39 PM

I'm sure this was a two legged affair - we won 1-0 at home then lost 3-1 away. If i'm right i perhaps need to get out more...

10-01-2010, 09:53 PM
I'm sure this was a two legged affair - we won 1-0 at home then lost 3-1 away. If i'm right i perhaps need to get out more...

If I recall correctly we had the same UEFA cup results against Liverpool in the succeeding weeks so at that time Montrose were as good as Liverpool.

10-01-2010, 10:01 PM
Watch it for free from over/through the fence at Marionville ;)

10-01-2010, 10:08 PM
I'll be going along. As a lad says earlier seems there are a few Hibbies in the City team so it'd be good to see their reaction if they managed to win the game. What a feeling that would be knowing you were going to to play at ER in the Scottish Cup.

Magic :thumbsup:

11-01-2010, 09:00 AM

Aye and ah wiz there, after a draw at ER iirc, murder it was :bitchy:

11-01-2010, 09:24 AM

To be fair, Jim was distracted as he was working on his pie selling sideline at the time, and was furnishing members of the crowd behind the goal with the said refreshments at a very reasonable price when Barr spotted his chance and smashed it goalwards.

He would have still got to it had the fan he was serving not given him a load a of pennies which he obviously had to count before running back to his goalmouth.

It may have put out us out of the League Cup but the silver lining is that it allowed Jim to hone those frugal attitudes and business skills that would lead to the destabilisation and break-up of a promising young Hibs side many years later.

Way to go Jim!

11-01-2010, 09:44 AM
I might go along and see the game. However, I am not sure it will go ahead.