View Full Version : Who did we sign too late?

johncrobertson@
08-01-2010, 11:32 PM
Thinking of players who joined Hibs late in their careers, if only we could have signed them earlier!! - examples

Sauzee - if we could have got him a couple of years earlier!!!

David Zitelli - great striker - destroyed Rangers a couple of seasons earlier - sure he was linked with Liverpool

Kevin McAllister - always thought he was a special player before we finally managed to get him

Joe McLaughlin - great centre half - signed him towards the end of his career

John Burridge - what a keeper and a character

08-01-2010, 11:34 PM
Stevie Archibald

Chic charnley

Georgie Best

Butch Wilkins

Murdo

Jim Leighton

08-01-2010, 11:37 PM
Stack-not that he is old but we needed him long before now.

Rasta_Hibs
08-01-2010, 11:48 PM
Russell Latapy

08-01-2010, 11:52 PM
Never thought I'd say this but, (gulp) Joe Harper.

Ehhh, naw, I would never say that.

Retracted!

08-01-2010, 11:56 PM

Retracted!

:faf: That's why I edited my post. My dad would go radge if he knew I'd posted that

"........ruined a good hibs team" :grr: :grr: :grr:

09-01-2010, 12:02 AM
John Hughes, Gary Smith, and Mixu all had many great years before they joined us and would have been true legends had they been with us from the start.

09-01-2010, 12:03 AM
George Best without a doubt. Imagine if we'd had the '68 vintage instead of the '79 vintage Best.

18/03/07
09-01-2010, 12:12 AM
George Mcluskey

09-01-2010, 12:16 AM
Special Brew

09-01-2010, 12:34 AM
Jonatan Johansson:agree:

Hibstrooper
09-01-2010, 12:49 AM
Sauzee - if we could have got him a couple of years earlier!!!

David Zitelli - great striker - destroyed Rangers a couple of seasons earlier - sure he was linked with Liverpool

No danger we could have got either of these players a couple of years earlier - Top European players that the time!

Kevin McAllister - always thought he was a special player before we finally managed to get him

Too young to really remember him at Chelsea but thought he was a fantastic player for us, best winger I can remember from my 20 years of following Hibs!

CapitalHibs
09-01-2010, 02:37 AM
Joe Baker - the second time

Bertie Auld

crewetollhibee
09-01-2010, 03:14 AM
Ally Scott & Graham Fyfe. Sorry, signing Peter Cormack quicker the second time would have been great.

09-01-2010, 08:16 AM

Retracted!

Joke or no that kinda post could get you life ban! :grr:

Of all the names above I agree re Latapy and Sauzee in particular - but what about Dalglish (he played for us in a friendly I recall :greengrin). The other obvious shout is Bestie.

Imagine a midfield wi wee Russell, Le God and Bestie in it - add Stanton and I'm in heaven!

09-01-2010, 08:38 AM

Of all the names above I agree re Latapy and Sauzee in particular - but what about Dalglish (he played for us in a friendly I recall :greengrin). The other obvious shout is Bestie.

Imagine a midfield wi wee Russell, Le God and Bestie in it - add Stanton and I'm in heaven!

With Jarkko Wiss on the bench to fill in as and when required.....:greengrin

09-01-2010, 09:22 AM

No space in there for Matty Jack? Always thought we could use someone in that mould....

Mag7
09-01-2010, 09:28 AM
John Brogan

09-01-2010, 09:31 AM
Joe Ward, by the time we got him, he'd forgotten how to score goals.

09-01-2010, 09:39 AM
Malky Robertson.

Hibs_of_Midlothian
09-01-2010, 01:29 PM
If we had signed George Stewart instead of Jim Black, the Tornadoes would have won far more.