Right who's taking part this year?
Please apend names below:
Me:agree:
05-01-2010, 12:49 PM
Right who's taking part this year?
Please apend names below:
Me:agree:
Also who's willing to organise it this year or help organise it this year?
Names below.
06-01-2010, 06:16 PM
I've done it the past 2 years in a row, and both have been their own successes - the first year, I organised everything myself, completing the challenge in memory of a friend who recently lost her life at the age of 20. Last year was a mass project, and has (probably) raised a lot of money for the cause.
Having started my PhD, being in the midst of planning a wedding, taking a vacation in July, I am going to decline the chance to take part again this year, despite how much fun was had last year. Organising it quite so early this year is probably a good idea though, as for all it was a very positive event, it was a shambles on occassion.
Best of luck.
06-01-2010, 06:38 PM
I'm a maybe - depends on dates.
As always I'll help where I can.
06-01-2010, 08:00 PM
Also who's willing to organise it this year or help organise it this year?
Names below.
Count me in on both fronts :thumbsup:
HibbyScott
07-01-2010, 03:09 AM
I'd be happy to play again. The only problem would be raising a similar level of money this year. Might be difficult to get money out of the same people two years in a row, but count me in anyway
Count me in i will help where i can
07-01-2010, 09:25 AM
Hi guy's, sorry i've not been on since suggesting this again but I only got out of hospital on Tuesday night but at least now... CHEMO'S FINISHED!!!
In answer to Hibbyscotts post, we raised over £10,000 last year so I think to expect people to donate anywhere near that same sort of money would be madness. I think even half of that would be an achievement if truth be told after last years success.
Regarding dates, because of holidays and stuff last year, we obviously completed this a bit later in the year but this year I'd like to try and play it on, or closer to, the "longest day".
If anyone has any questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact me. Most of you who took part last year will have my mobile number and stuff anyway.
Thanks everyone for their interest so far.:agree:
07-01-2010, 10:30 AM
Great news to hear your chemo is finished mate - hopefully it'll give you a break now!
July was far too late last year - at my first attempt, we done it in the 3rd week of June, and had daylight right up until after we'd come off the last course and gotten changed. You'd be best going for something like the 23-28th of June. If we raised at, or over the £10k mark, then we can all be very proud of our achievements indeed! That's a fantastic effort - perhaps we could release a post-event press note, albeit, it will be a little late now! I certainly think a post on the main forum would be well received, as there are a lot of people who supported us, and don't necessarily read this forum. I'll get on that in a sec.
Would you consider the same courses, or perhaps mix it up a little to keep it different from last year? The same courses may not be as willing to help out again this year, having done it last year (particularly those where there are no members). Possibly an idea not to finish with 2 of the longer courses in West Lothian this year also? :wink:
I'm guessing any assistance from the likes of Hibs/those who donated raffle/auction prizes will be quite dampened this year too, so perhaps best setting out a target from the off, and send off emails to local businesses, asking if there's anything they can donate - maybe even get a large-scale sponsor involved, such as The Elements centre at Livingston (new facility and would benefit from further advertisement?).
Anyway, just a few ideas.
sg7nil
07-01-2010, 12:20 PM
Would definitely consider it again this year (dependant on dates fitting in with holidays etc.).. I have the same concerns as some others about raising similar amounts to last year so I believe we should set the target (quite a bit) lower this year.
The courses were OK last year (although a couple of them were possibly a bit long for short hitters like me!).. and I walked all four unlike some :wink:.. so possibly a shorter course.. (Ratho?? - assuming it's West Lothian again) would make the day a bit easier?
I know it all depends on the generosity of the courses giving out tee times, however would it possibly not be easier to stagger the start times so that different fourballs play alternate courses?.. might make it a bit easier to schedule? .. although it would be nice to all finish at the same course.
P.S. I aint paying for the Polo shirts this year though! :wink:
10-01-2010, 01:00 PM
Would definitely consider it again this year (dependant on dates fitting in with holidays etc.).. I have the same concerns as some others about raising similar amounts to last year so I believe we should set the target (quite a bit) lower this year.
The courses were OK last year (although a couple of them were possibly a bit long for short hitters like me!).. and I walked all four unlike some :wink:.. so possibly a shorter course.. (Ratho?? - assuming it's West Lothian again) would make the day a bit easier?
I know it all depends on the generosity of the courses giving out tee times, however would it possibly not be easier to stagger the start times so that different fourballs play alternate courses?.. might make it a bit easier to schedule? .. although it would be nice to all finish at the same course.
P.S. I aint paying for the Polo shirts this year though! :wink:
Funny you should mention Ratho as I met Ronnie before the game yesterday and Ronie had said about flatter, shorter courses and Ratho was one I'd thought about last year and was certainly one that was on the list for approaching this year and maybe finishing up at the small course at Dalmahoy. Obviously it's very dependant on the courses providing us tee times again, but Ronnie has contacts at Dalmahoy and the current captain of my golf club is a past captain of Ratho so I'm fairly hopefull.
As I said previously, I think the target should be much lower this year (maybe half) and I'll probably look to have various "commitees" this time ie a group in charge of finances, a group for arranging fundraisers (Ronnie:wink:), a group for contacting main sponsors (which we never really got round to last year due to time despite that being one thing we mentioned from the start) etc.
Re date's, again, as stated earlier, I'd be looking to do this Mid to late June at the latest rather than late July (last year). If anyone has any dates in particular they can't make, please just post them on this thread and we'll try to accomodate as best we can.
I am a member at turnhouse and my dad is about to come captain at next agm i am sure we could sort something there although is a hilly one. But a couple of the members played 100 holes in a day on it a couple of years back.
12-01-2010, 09:02 PM
I am a member at turnhouse and my dad is about to come captain at next agm i am sure we could sort something there although is a hilly one. But a couple of the members played 100 holes in a day on it a couple of years back.
Oooooh, check you:wink::greengrin
No, in all seriousness, that may come in handy actually. Turnhouse offered us the course last year but pulled it a few weeks before the event due to a "sponsors day". They did however eventually give us a fourball to auction off which was good of them.
I like Turnhouse and don't feel it's too hilly (someone last year suggested Lothianburn and Swanston as they were close to each other and nearly got a swift boot to the chuckies:greengrin!!!) so i'll definately keep your offer in mind Gaz.
Does anyone have any dates that they can't make. I was thinking w/c 21/06. My thinking behind this was that schools break up (in West Lothian) on the 30th so IF Edinburgh is the same, people hopefully won't have to worry too much about childcare and also most people will probably be going on holiday once the schools do break up.
13-01-2010, 08:57 AM
I have pre-booked the Hibs club for a sportsmans Breakfast fund raiser on Sunday 30th May [Monday Holiday :greengrin ] to start the fund raising rolling, further details to follow :wink:
13-01-2010, 09:42 AM
I have pre-booked the Hibs club for a sportsmans Breakfast fund raiser on Sunday 30th May [Monday Holiday :greengrin ] to start the fund raising rolling, further details to follow :wink:
Good stuff Ronnie, if it's anywhere near as good as the last one, it'll be another great day. Looking forward to that one already.
14-01-2010, 03:10 PM
would love to take part again boys cracking day last year and buzzing about another sportsmans breakfast last one was a beauty :thumbsup:
16-01-2010, 03:44 PM
So far, we have:
Me
Hibsry
Cocopops
Gaz
Mark (from Sky that played last year)
Tony (as above)
Mike (from HSBC, played last year)
SG7nil
Hibbyscott
I wouldn't want to go with anymore than 12 again this year as clubs might start to thing we're ripping the proverbial asking for 4 courtesy times.
Is everyone ok with w/c 21/06?
Thanks
that week is good with me
17-01-2010, 08:56 AM
So far, we have:
Me
Hibsry
Cocopops
Gaz
Tony (as above)
SG7nil
Hibbyscott
I wouldn't want to go with anymore than 12 again this year as clubs might start to thing we're ripping the proverbial asking for 4 courtesy times.
Thanks
:agree: apart from a Monday :wink:
17-01-2010, 05:28 PM
begining of week would suit me best no later than thurs as got a wedding that weekend :greengrin
17-01-2010, 06:03 PM
:agree: apart from a Monday :wink:
begining of week would suit me best no later than thurs as got a wedding that weekend :greengrin
So at the moment, Tuesday 22nd or Wednesday 23rd with the potential of Thursday at the latest (Colin)
21-01-2010, 09:04 AM
Do we still have any auction prizes left from last years event which never went? [ The rules of golf ] :confused:
Godsahibby
21-01-2010, 09:50 AM
Walking down the 18th at Dalmahoy I didnt think i'd be saying this but I'm in again this year.
W/c 21st of June would be fine for me, preferibly the 21st (22nd is my birthday so would probably be out that night!)
I think it would be better to put a sort of fundraising committe together or at least delagate everyone a role just after last year it was the same people left to do most of it.
I agree that it will be difficult to get money of the same people and companies so need to put our heads together for original fund raising ideas. I think as well the 2 events were not as sucessful as they could have been so really concentrating on the Breakfast this year that Ronnies organised would be the best idea.
Bank holiday the next day is also an added brucie bonus. Even more reasons to get drunk!
Don't know how we are doing for numbers but if we need another player a friend of mine was keen to get involved last year an would probably be again.
Ronne. The rules of golf are still about, I'm sure Houchys got them. Good idea to get it framed in time for the breakfast would probably help it sell.
Colin. You mentioned last year you had a contact at addias, could you work on them early doors.
21-01-2010, 12:55 PM
Do we still have any auction prizes left from last years event which never went? [ The rules of golf ] :confused:
:agree: I still have the rules of golf in my garage.
21-01-2010, 01:24 PM
So far, we have:
Me
Hibsry
Cocopops
Gaz
Tony (as above)
SG7nil
Hibbyscott
Godsahibby
Thanks
Again, can I get confirmation from everyone that they can play w/c 21st as so far, I have only had confirmation from Ronnie, Colin and Gaz. Chris, Ronnie has already said that he can't play on the Monday and Colin would rather play Thursday at the latest so to accomodate you (not meaning it in an arsey way) it will probably need to be the Thursday meaning a whole day to recover from your birthday bash. Is that going to be cool?
I know it's only January, but those of you that took part last year will remember how quickly time flew and I would ideally like to be getting letters/emails off to the golf clubs by the end of January/beginning of Feb as I may need to go in for surgery mid Feb and would like to get most of this out the way before that.
sg7nil
21-01-2010, 02:56 PM
W/C the 21st is currently OK for me, but as my shifts are likely to change I may find it's harder to get the day off nearer the time.
If we can confirm dates I should be able to get my holiday request in early (more chance I can do it then)
What was Chris saying about a bank holiday the next day? When is that due to happen???
21-01-2010, 03:15 PM
W/C the 21st is currently OK for me, but as my shifts are likely to change I may find it's harder to get the day off nearer the time.
If we can confirm dates I should be able to get my holiday request in early (more chance I can do it then)
What was Chris saying about a bank holiday the next day? When is that due to happen???
Ronnie has provisionally booked the Sportsmans Breakfast for Sunday 30th May with the Monday following being a bank holiday.
Godsahibby
21-01-2010, 03:41 PM
Don't worry about me if it can't be the Monday then i'm more than happy to make it the Tuesday or Wednesday.
21-01-2010, 03:58 PM
aye can play thursday or indeed any day exept the fri :greengrin aye mate at adidas could probably hook us up need a covering letter from them saying we can blag on their behalf :thumbsup:
HibbyScott
21-01-2010, 07:49 PM
That week is fine for me Lawrence
21-01-2010, 08:02 PM
That week is the week before my summer hols so might be difficult getting a day off.
That said if you guys can decide on a definite day quickly I'll ask right away.
I can't go to my boss with 2 dates so i will need to be exact.
21-01-2010, 08:43 PM
Ok, from the responses so far, shall we say a provisional date of Thursday 24th June?
21-01-2010, 09:08 PM
Ok, from the responses so far, shall we say a provisional date of Thursday 24th June?:thumbsup:
Godsahibby
22-01-2010, 07:58 AM
I'm happy with that.
22-01-2010, 08:15 AM
So ok, for the 24th thus far are:
Hibsry
Cocopops
Godsahibby
Gaz
Hibbyscott
SG7nil (if we can confim this date sooner rather than later)
Mike E
Tony
Mark
----------------------------
Broxburn would you be ok with the 24th?
Oh, and does anyone have any preferences re courses to approach? I was thinking of the following:
1st
2nd Turnhouse (using Gaz's contacts)
3rd Ratho (My contacts)
4th Dalmahoy (Ronnies contacts)
Bathgate would be my personal choice for the first course like last year as
a) we flew round it and got bacon rolls and coffee after
b) at least 3 of the group are members and 1 an ex member
c) If we're finished at 10:00 -10:30 we can shoot straight along the A89 to Turnhouse
d) it's right round the corner from my house:wink:
Godsahibby
22-01-2010, 08:43 AM
I'd be quite happy with Bathgate and the other 3 mentioned. All quite close to each other which helps.
22-01-2010, 08:52 AM
So ok, for the 24th thus far are:
Hibsry
Cocopops
Godsahibby
Gaz
Hibbyscott
SG7nil (if we can confim this date sooner rather than later)
Mike E
Tony
Mark
----------------------------
Broxburn would you be ok with the 24th?
Oh, and does anyone have any preferences re courses to approach? I was thinking of the following:
1st
2nd Turnhouse (using Gaz's contacts)
3rd Ratho (My contacts)
4th Dalmahoy (Ronnies contacts)
Bathgate would be my personal choice for the first course like last year as
a) we flew round it and got bacon rolls and coffee after
b) at least 3 of the group are members and 1 an ex member
c) If we're finished at 10:00 -10:30 we can shoot straight along the A89 to Turnhouse
d) it's right round the corner from my house:wink:
It would be the small course this time tho :wink:
22-01-2010, 09:08 AM
I'd be quite happy with Bathgate and the other 3 mentioned. All quite close to each other which helps.
Bathgate: 0600, 0610 and 0620 to 1000, 1010 and 1020 then 30 minutes to...
Turnhouse: 1030, 1040 and 1050 to 1430, 1440 and 1450 then 30 mins to...
Ratho: 1500, 1510 and 1520 to 1700, 1710, 1720 then 30 minutes to...
Dalmahoy: 1730, 1740 and 1750 to 2130, 2140 and 2150
Obviously, these are just approximate times and allowing for 4 hours per round but this will also allow for breaks, bit of food to refuel etc as it will hopefully be light until at least half 10 so we can move the tee off times at Ratho 30 minutes back to sit down and have food at Turnhouse (or Ratho) ahead of the last 2 rounds.
This is all presuming, obviously, that all 4 courses are happy to accomodate us. Bathgate are a given. Hopefully, with Gaz's contacts, we can get Turnhouse ok, same with me for Ratho and Ronnie for Dalmahoy.
just spoke to my dad and has said can you write a letter to them (turnhouse) asking what we need and it will be taken to council but should not be a problem :greengrin
22-01-2010, 10:34 AM
just spoke to my dad and has said can you write a letter to them (turnhouse) asking what we need and it will be taken to council but should not be a problem :greengrin
No problem Gaz. I'll do that mate:agree:.
22-01-2010, 07:33 PM
just realised that the wedding is july so friday also an option if its better for anyone
22-01-2010, 07:52 PM
just realised that the wedding is july so friday also an option if its better for anyone
I think we'll just stick with the Thursday seeing as the concensus is that it suits most people so far but thanks for the update colin.:agree:
22-01-2010, 11:42 PM
Not looking likely for me I'm afraid - gutted :boo hoo:
I'll help where I can.
23-01-2010, 05:12 PM
My mate Stretch wants to join us he will confirm he can get the day off early next week. :wink:
23-01-2010, 07:52 PM
I have 2 that have registered an intrest today so at the moment, that's the 12 filled. The ones from sky plus Mike played last year.
Me
h18sry
Hibbyscott
Duffy
Mark (sky)
Tony (sky)
Cocopops
Godsahibby
Gaz
sg7nil
Stretch
Greg (sky)
Stretch54
24-01-2010, 06:37 AM
I'll confirm for certain tomorrow but cant see any issues with this date. Cheers Stretch :thumbsup:
Big_D
24-01-2010, 07:07 PM
Are you guys talking about 4 rounds in a day ??????
I'm not long back from playing one round and i'm barely alive
HibbyScott
24-01-2010, 09:53 PM
We did it last year too - piece of piss :greengrin
Big_D
25-01-2010, 05:25 AM
Aye for a 21 yo :cool2:
sg7nil
25-01-2010, 09:07 AM
I did it last year (walked all 4 too!) and i'm 48 !
25-01-2010, 09:10 AM
Aye when you have somebody to carry your bags for half the day :wink:
25-01-2010, 09:18 AM
4 rounds over 4 different courses... It's a walk in the park:agree::greengrin
HibbyScott
25-01-2010, 06:20 PM
Aye when you have somebody to carry your bags for half the day :wink:
Walked just as far as you Ronnie :wink:
Stretch54
27-01-2010, 08:30 AM
Thats the days annual leave booked for 24th June. Also taken the Friday off to recover.
09-02-2010, 03:36 PM
Acquired a John Terry signed and framed strip for the Auction which will be held at the sportsmans breakfast [Sun 30th May ] .:greengrin
If anybody else would like to donate to the auction or raffle feel free to contact me or Houchy by pm. :wink:
10-02-2010, 10:45 AM
I have just been donated a signed Famous five print from Tom Wright of old Scotland in pictures on Brunswick Street , Cheers Tom :thumbsup:
06-03-2010, 07:31 AM
Sportsmans Breakfast
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We are holding a Sportsman's Breakfast in the Hibs club, Sunnyside on Sunday 30th May 2010[Monday Holiday for most ], in aid of The Macmillan Nurses as part of our longest day part 2 event
The event will run from 12.30 till 5ish and will consist of 3 speakers Hosted by the very funny Joe Camay http://www.xsp.co.uk/profile.php?artist=Joecamay
aided and assisted by the BBC'S Off the ball spokesman Tam Cowan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tam_Cowan and also former Motherwell and Morton player John Gahagan http://www.johngahagan.co.uk/page2.htm
An auction of football memorabilia and a raffle will be held to help us raise much needed funds for the unseen work that these nurses do
Last year we managed to raise in excess £2500 from this event which helped us reach our target of £10,000.
Tickets priced at only £25.00 are available to pre book from me [by PM] on a first come first served basis, so get your mates together and have a great Sunday afternoon's entertainment helping a great cause at the same time.
09-03-2010, 06:00 PM
Hi folks not been on for a while and need to get my finger ooy my erse as my surgery has hit me waaaaaaay harder than I expected so I've walked aprox 500 yards in the last 3 weeks total and haven't even been able to contact the golf courses yet.
The courses that i'm looking at, as discussed previously would be (depending on them offering us courtesy of the courses), Bathgate, Turnhouse, Ratho and Dalmahoy.
My thoughts for the actual rotation are:
0500-0830 Turnhouse
0930-13:30 Bathgate
1430-1630 Ratho
1730-2130 Dalmahoy
My reasons for this crazy itinerary is that, if like last year, we play Bathgate first at 0500, we'll finish around 0830 or 0900 leading to being stuck in rush hour traffic to Turnhouse whereas by starting at Turnhouse, we're heading away from the traffic.
Could everyone please give their thoughts/preferences on this.
Simon the Caterer at Bathgate is also providing Bacon Rolls and Coffee again post round (or pre round depending on the rotation. He is also donating items for our auction ie meals where him and his staff will come to your house and cook a meal for 4, obviously tidying up afterwards:greengrin
The other alternative would be to just ask Uphall to accomodate us 2nd again like last year then Turnhouse or Ratho (ratho being shorter and flatter than Turnhouse of course) then Dalmahoy to finish up again.
Ronnie, I know you have conections at Dalmahoy, could you ask if they are willing to accomodate us again, I'll obviously ask Bathgate (which is practically a given as 4 of us are members there anyway) and I'll get a letter over to Gaz to present to his dad requesting Turnhouse.
Could people that never played last year please also PM me with address details, phone number and also if you can drive and if so, if you are willing to be a driver for your team (ie you plus one other)
Thanks.
I know it's my fault for not geting onto this sooner but time really does have a habit of creeping up and biting your arse on this. I remember this from last year.
sg7nil
09-03-2010, 09:18 PM
Any of these courses in any order is good for me, but I get your point about Turnhouse first if possible (if we are playing there) as it'd definitely be easier heading against the rush hour traffic.
I am happy to drive again. Last year it was just Chris and I in my car, but as it's an estate I could take up to four folk plus clubs, just let me know.
Stu
P.S. hope your health keeps up!:thumbsup:
HibbyScott
09-03-2010, 10:15 PM
You still got my details Lawrence? I'm willing to drive again this year and that order is fine for me.
Hope your recovery from surgery picks up soon mate
10-03-2010, 08:45 AM
Happy with that:agree: chasing up Dalmahoy as I type:wink:, my big mate Stretch does not drive and lives down Milton road way is that on any of the drivers from down that ways way in?:greengrin
sg7nil
10-03-2010, 09:27 AM
Happy with that:agree: chasing up Dalmahoy as I type:wink:, my big mate Stretch does not drive and lives down Milton road way is that on any of the drivers from down that ways way in?:greengrin
Milton Road isn't exactly on my way from Leith to West Lothian, but last year nearly everyone was from the West of Edinburgh/Lothian.. if required I could birl ropund and pick someone up.. let me know once this is decided.
Stu
10-03-2010, 10:03 AM
You still got my details Lawrence? I'm willing to drive again this year and that order is fine for me.
Hope your recovery from surgery picks up soon mate
Hi Scott, pretty sure I still have your details from last year mate. If not i'll drop you a PM. Going to contact the golf courses today and try to go with Turnhouse first then back to Bathgate for pre round rolls and coffee before the short trip down the A71/Mid Calder along to Ratho and finishing at Dalmahoy. Thanks for getting back to me guys.:agree:
10-03-2010, 05:36 PM
order is cool houchy hope your doing ok,ronnie your boy stretch can get a run wi me:wink:
10-03-2010, 10:03 PM
order is cool houchy hope your doing ok,ronnie your boy stretch can get a run wi me:wink:
Good stuff Colin will let him know :thumbsup:
12-03-2010, 09:47 AM
The secretary from Ratho seemed ok and but I forgot to put down what date we were looking to play and so to let him know and he'd check their diary. I told him the date and I've not heard back since. I'll leave it now over the weekend and ask again next week.
I was back at the practice ground the other day there and was hitting everthing to 6ft from the 100 yard marker... Unfortunately that was with an 8iron and I was knackered after 100 balls.
At this stage, i'm thinking i'm going to struggle to play all 4 rounds but I'll keep working at my fitness and see where I get but June aint far away.:boo hoo:
sg7nil
12-03-2010, 03:31 PM
The secretary from Ratho seemed ok and but I forgot to put down what date we were looking to play and so to let him know and he'd check their diary. I told him the date and I've not heard back since. I'll leave it now over the weekend and ask again next week.
I was back at the practice ground the other day there and was hitting everthing to 6ft from the 100 yard marker... Unfortunately that was with an 8iron and I was knackered after 100 balls.
At this stage, i'm thinking i'm going to struggle to play all 4 rounds but I'll keep working at my fitness and see where I get but June aint far away.:boo hoo:
You better practice making 6 ft putts then :wink:
12-03-2010, 05:24 PM
Managed to get the 8 iron pushed up to about 120 today (into a stronger wind and colder) so going in the right direction. 18 holes still looks a long way off.
12-03-2010, 06:26 PM
Is there any need of a reserve list for this, or even just an extra driver? Let me know ASAP so I can book a day off. :thumbsup:
12-03-2010, 07:32 PM
I think we'd probably have enough for another 3 teams at the moment (fortunately for us) as last year was very successful, popular and worthwhile.
There are usually call offs (and I may well be one of them this year unfortunately) but as I say I think I have at least 8 people all wanting to play.
I'll certainly register your interest just incase, but I think it's unlikely that we'll have that many call offs to be honest.
The natural question next would be "well, why don't we extend it to 20/24/28 people rather than just 12 and raise more money, but the answer to that is that we are asking these clubs for courtesy of their course during a day and I don't think asking for 3 fourballs is being too greedy, I think 5, 6 or 7 is pushing it.
Thanks for your interest though.
12-03-2010, 08:04 PM
I think we'd probably have enough for another 3 teams at the moment (fortunately for us) as last year was very successful, popular and worthwhile.
There are usually call offs (and I may well be one of them this year unfortunately) but as I say I think I have at least 8 people all wanting to play.
I'll certainly register your interest just incase, but I think it's unlikely that we'll have that many call offs to be honest.
The natural question next would be "well, why don't we extend it to 20/24/28 people rather than just 12 and raise more money, but the answer to that is that we are asking these clubs for courtesy of their course during a day and I don't think asking for 3 fourballs is being too greedy, I think 5, 6 or 7 is pushing it.
Thanks for your interest though.
No probs. :thumbsup:
Might I make a suggestion for next year? I'm a member at Liberton and maybe with a few other folk we could work in tandem at this side of Edinburgh? There's a few courses close to each other and it could even be possible to put it together for this year? :dunno:
13-03-2010, 09:48 AM
No probs. :thumbsup:
Might I make a suggestion for next year? I'm a member at Liberton and maybe with a few other folk we could work in tandem at this side of Edinburgh? There's a few courses close to each other and it could even be possible to put it together for this year? :dunno:
Pretty straight forward to do mate, just get another 3 mates (or 7 for 2 teams) and contact the golf clubs outlining your plans and asking if they can support you by providing you with courtesy times for the day. You register your team name(s) with macmillan (google "Macmillan longest day challenge") and they'll send you out the sponsor packs etc.
I suppose a pitch and putt like liberton might be a good course to play during a rotation of 4.:greengrin:wink::devil:
16-03-2010, 09:31 AM
Received from Ratho this morning:
Lawrence,
Confirming that 1.00pm, 1.06pm and 1.12pm have been booked for you on Thursday 24th June 2010.
I would be grateful if you could advise if you require any food either before or after the round.
Kind Regards
Craig
------------------------------------------------------------------
Great gesture from Ratho park.:top marks:notworthy:
Now assuming Ronnie is getting Dalmahoy, what's peoples thoughts re taking some food on board after the round there.
We could probably get round there in 3.5 hours as it's short and flat so would be looking for the 1st group to finish there at around half 4ish so i'm wondering if we should perhaps just have packed lunches again in between courses as if we settle for a meal, it means taking shoes etc off and after 3 rounds, as most people from last year will tell you, it's not that easy to convince yourself to put them back on again for the 4th.:bitchy:
16-03-2010, 09:50 AM
Lawrence,
Confirming that 1.00pm, 1.06pm and 1.12pm have been booked for you on Thursday 24th June 2010.
I would be grateful if you could advise if you require any food either before or after the round.
Kind Regards
Craig
Now assuming Ronnie is getting Dalmahoy, what's peoples thoughts re taking some food on board after the round there.
We could probably get round there in 3.5 hours as it's short and flat so would be looking for the 1st group to finish there at around half 4ish so i'm wondering if we should perhaps just have packed lunches again in between courses as if we settle for a meal, it means taking shoes etc off and after 3 rounds, as most people from last year will tell you, it's not that easy to convince yourself to put them back on again for the 4th.:bitchy:
Given Ratho have given us 1:00, 1:06 and 1:12, I think to give us time, we may need to push our tee time at Turnhouse to half 4 or alternatively change our course itinerary to:
Bathgate: 05:00
Pumpherston: 09:00
Ratho: 13:00
Dalmahoy: 17:00
The other benefit to that is that, IIRC, Pumpherston again is pretty flat opposed to Turnhouse which has a few, fairly large, hills.
Bathgate, Pumpherston, Ratho, Dalmahoy is also a more natural route.
Again, thoughts please.
Thanks.
16-03-2010, 11:47 AM
Lawrence,
Kind Regards
Craig
Spoke and emailed this morning but the director of golf is at a confrence till Friday, so I expect an answer then :wink:
17-03-2010, 10:53 AM
Just received a fourball from Crieff Golf Club to be auctioned up to the value of £140 :thumbsup::thumbsup:
Has anybody else done anything about raffle or auction prizes :wink: all help gratefully received :greengrin the more donations we receive the more we raise :agree:
17-03-2010, 02:25 PM
I've pinged an email off to Pumpherston today asking if they would support us also. This Leaves things more open as we can (Turnhouse depending) play
Turnhouse,
Pumpherston (which is closer to Ratho than Bathgate is),
Ratho, then (hopefully again)
Dalmahoy.
My concern was that if we played Bathgate (6500 yards and a fairly hilly front 9) 2nd, we'd only have about 30 mins to get to Ratho which could be tight but if we can play Pumpherston (only 6000 yards and flat), we should have about 45 minutes to get there plus (as I say) the fact that it's closer.
19-03-2010, 08:21 AM
I've pinged an email off to Pumpherston today asking if they would support us also. This Leaves things more open as we can (Turnhouse depending) play
Turnhouse,
Pumpherston (which is closer to Ratho than Bathgate is),
Ratho, then (hopefully again)
Dalmahoy.
My concern was that if we played Bathgate (6500 yards and a fairly hilly front 9) 2nd, we'd only have about 30 mins to get to Ratho which could be tight but if we can play Pumpherston (only 6000 yards and flat), we should have about 45 minutes to get there plus (as I say) the fact that it's closer.
Hi Ronnie,
Hope you are well.
I have booked 1730, 1738 and 1746 for you with our compliments.
Good luck with your event and hope the sun shines for you on the day.
Best Wishes,
Alan
19-03-2010, 09:16 AM
Hi Ronnie,
Hope you are well.
I have booked 1730, 1738 and 1746 for you with our compliments.
Good luck with your event and hope the sun shines for you on the day.
Best Wishes,
Alan
Nice one Ronnie, :top marks again mate.
So at the moment we have confirmed:
Bathgate (anytime)
Ratho: 13:00 onwards
Dalmahoy: 17:30 onwards
I think i'm going to have to go back to Ratho, cap in hand asking them if we can push the time back to 1:30 as I think it'll be tight getting from Bathgate to Ratho in 30 minutes whereas Ratho to Dalmahoy should be a piece of P*ss in 30 mins:agree:
Can anyone else see a better way of doing this as I'm struggling to get my head around this one now.
I think (with all due respect) we're going to need to leave out Turnhouse as the logistics just aint going to work due to the distances between the courses unless we were playing it 2nd before going to Ratho but unless we have a course within a couple of miles to play first, it'll take too long to get there in rush hour traffic.
In all honesty, I think we'll need to try to and keep the courses tighter packed like last year ie Bathgate, Uphall or Pumpherston, Ratho, Dalmahoy.
19-03-2010, 03:45 PM
Update:
Ratho have been kind enough to change our tee times to 13:16 through to 13:30 leaving 45 minutes to get from course 2 (whether it's Bathgate or Pumpherson) to Ratho.
So it now stands as:
Bathgate (anytime)
Ratho: 13:16
Dalmahoy: 17:30
21-03-2010, 10:16 AM
Got an email today from turnhouse giving us the tee from 5am so I suggest meeting there around half 4 so that the 1st group can shoot off sharpish before heading to Bathgate or pumpherston. Bathgate will prob give us bacon rolls and coffee but pumpherston is flatter and shorter.
21-03-2010, 10:34 AM
Got an email today from turnhouse giving us the tee from 5am so I suggest meeting there around half 4 so that the 1st group can shoot off sharpish before heading to Bathgate or pumpherston. Bathgate will prob give us bacon rolls and coffee but pumpherston is flatter and shorter.
Can we not subsitute Pumperston for Turnhouse? flatter and closer to Bathgate :wink:
22-03-2010, 08:35 AM
Can we not subsitute Pumperston for Turnhouse? flatter and closer to Bathgate :wink:
The thought had crossed my mind but now that Turnhouse have got back to me, I wouldn't want to say, thanks but no thanks. Also I'm still waiting to here back from Pumpherston.
24-03-2010, 11:15 AM
Don't forget to set up a Justgiving webpage again this year.
We raked in a lot of money via that avenue last year AND it's an easy way to handle all finances/deposits.
24-03-2010, 01:11 PM
Can people let me know how many tickets for the breakfast they need as soon as possible please :agree:
24-03-2010, 02:21 PM
Don't forget to set up a Justgiving webpage again this year.
We raked in a lot of money via that avenue last year AND it's an easy way to handle all finances/deposits.
In the process of doing just that could you all pm me your proper names so I can set the page up for all of us so that all funds that we raise collectively can go through the same page and qualify for gift aid .
http://www.justgiving.com/Hibs-net
Godsahibby
27-03-2010, 02:42 PM
Great news with Garry O donating items for the auction. We must be getting a good colelction of stuff together now. I'm still waiting to hear back from the club so fingers crosses we will get some more.
On another note played my first game of golf today in 6 months, rusty was an understatement, away next weekend up north so that should put me right back in the swing of things.
28-03-2010, 04:00 PM
Great news with Garry O donating items for the auction. We must be getting a good colelction of stuff together now. I'm still waiting to hear back from the club so fingers crosses we will get some more.
On another note played my first game of golf today in 6 months, rusty was an understatement, away next weekend up north so that should put me right back in the swing of things.
If anybody else has received any donations for the auction or raffle could they please let me know so I can add them to the list :wink:
Also what are folks thoughts on advertising the stuff on here for blind bids, bids made on here to me by PM that are carried forward to the breakfast, to try to maximize our audience :aok:
28-03-2010, 04:24 PM
If anybody else has received any donations for the auction or raffle could they please let me know so I can add them to the list :wink:
Also what are folks thoughts on advertising the stuff on here for blind bids, bids made on here to me by PM that are carried forward to the breakfast, to try to maximize our audience :aok:
Sounds like a good plan Ronnie:agree:.
01-04-2010, 12:39 PM
Pumpherston have just contacted me to say that they are taking our proposal to their commitee meeting on Monday.
The next thing is to arrange teams (and allocate drivers) so can anyone that can and is willing to drive please let me know so that I can make sure that there isn't a team without transport.
Thanks
I was going to put Ronnies team out first as they flew round last year.:agree:
Ronnie, who was in your team again mate and I'll keep it the same if you are cool with that.
I was actually going to try to keep the teams very similar to last year as there were some good bonds made between people so Godsahibby, I'll put you with Mark again mate.:agree:
It'll be my team that's most changed as 2 of my team from last year can't play this year (but at least I'll not have douglas taking pictures on every tee on every course for his facebook page!!!:greengrin)
Godsahibby
01-04-2010, 01:50 PM
Just got an email back from Hibs, you can add a signed ball to the auction prizes. I would have liked to get more but they did give us a fair bit last year.
Going to try other places and see what else we can get.
HibbyScott
01-04-2010, 03:02 PM
Pumpherston have just contacted me to say that they are taking our proposal to their commitee meeting on Monday.
The next thing is to arrange teams (and allocate drivers) so can anyone that can and is willing to drive please let me know so that I can make sure that there isn't a team without transport.
Thanks
I was going to put Ronnies team out first as they flew round last year.:agree:
Ronnie, who was in your team again mate and I'll keep it the same if you are cool with that.
I was actually going to try to keep the teams very similar to last year as there were some good bonds made between people so Godsahibby, I'll put you with Mark again mate.:agree:
It'll be my team that's most changed as 2 of my team from last year can't play this year (but at least I'll not have douglas taking pictures on every tee on every course for his facebook page!!!:greengrin)
Was Ronnie, Scott McGrane, Colin and myself in that first group Lawrence
01-04-2010, 03:44 PM
Was Ronnie, Scott McGrane, Colin and myself in that first group Lawrence
With Scott M not making it big Stretch can take his place as Colin will be picking him up on the way in in the morning, if thats cool with you lot :wink:
01-04-2010, 04:52 PM
1st Team
Ronnie (Can Drive)
HibbyScott (Can Drive)
Stretch
Cocopops (Can Drive)
2nd Team
Godsahibby (Can Drive)
Mark Whelan
Tony Wright (Can Drive)
SG7NIL (Can Drive)
3rd Team
Me (Can drive)
Mike Eprile
Gaz (Can Drive)
Duffy
If anybody has any suggestions, please let me know so that I can register the teams with MacMillan
Thanks
01-04-2010, 05:02 PM
Team Stanton
Ronnie (Can Drive)
HibbyScott (Can Drive)
Stretch
Cocopops (Can Drive)
Team Baker
Godsahibby (Can Drive)
Mark Whelan
Tony Wright (Can Drive)
SG7NIL (Can Drive)
Team Sauzee
Me (Can drive)
Mike Eprile
Gaz (Can Drive)
Duffy
If anybody has any suggestions, please let me know so that I can register the teams with MacMillan
Thanks
There you go m8 :wink:
01-04-2010, 05:22 PM
There you go m8 :wink:
I'm happy with that and can't see anyone having a problem with these names.
sg7nil
04-04-2010, 04:09 PM
Happy with that.
Happy to drive too.
11-04-2010, 11:10 AM
Can everyone that's taking part please send me their addresses (so I can register the teams) and Telephone numbers (so I can contact people quickly if need be)
Thanks
Edit: just need Gaz's (assuming everyone else is at the same address as last year?)
Thanks again
sg7nil
11-04-2010, 06:14 PM
Mine is still the same.
11-04-2010, 07:21 PM
the same mate:greengrin
13-04-2010, 04:01 AM
Guys the just giving page has had to be changed the URL is now http://www.justgiving.com/lawrencestewart-hibsnet can you all use this one from now sorry for any inconvenience :greengrin
Godsahibby
14-04-2010, 02:32 PM
More for the auction, My mate has just donated a 4 ball at Dunbar. I've also picked up the signed ball from the Hibs shop.
We must have a fair amount now for the auction now.
15-04-2010, 01:33 PM
Guy's there has been a change to the course order for the longest day, due to the logistics after much thought we have decided to drop Turnhouse [but we thank them for there kind offer], we shall now start as last year at Bathgate we will then proceed to Pumpherston then Ratho Park and ending again at Dalmahoy, we think that this is a far better running order as the travel between courses is being kept to a minimum, and all 4 courses are relatively flat.
Any questions please feel free to ask :greengrin
26-04-2010, 04:23 PM
Hi everyone, that's me back from my "extended" holiday in Fuerteventura due to the volcano in iceland so i'll be able to get all the loose ends tied up this week.
As Ronnie posted, we had a chat while I was over there re the course order so we're now going for:
Bathgate 05:00, 0510, 0520
Pumpherston 0900, 0910, 0920
Ratho 1315 onwards
Dalmahoy 1730 onwards
Teams and stuff as posted previously.
As stated already, it with regret that we can't take Turnhouse up on their very generous offer but logistics just means it's not really possible but I would like to thank Gaz and his dad for their work in getting the course for us anyway.
I hope everyone is happy with the above arrangements but, as always, any questions or suggestions, don't hesitate to contact me.
Houchy.
27-04-2010, 05:40 PM
Well have you ? :devil:
11-05-2010, 10:53 AM
Thats the sponsor forms arrived :thumbsup: anybody wishing to sponsor us can just click on the just giving link below :wink:
13-05-2010, 07:24 AM
Guys only a few weeks to go so can I have confirmed numbers for your guests that are attending, also we are very short on raffle prizes and I do not want to have to spend any more than I have to too get prizes, so can you all check with your mates employers or contacts to see what you can russell up? or look under your beds in your cuboards for unwanted christmas gifts or bottles of spirits that you dont like/want.
23-05-2010, 12:09 PM
Hi guys, I know it's late notice but I've had some people call off from the event leaving me 3 short at the moment. No massive deal as we can just have 3 teams of 3. If I can't fill the spaces I'll drop out as I'm still struggling to get round 18 comfortably at the moment but i'm still hoping to get my fitness better by the time the event comes round. At the moment, i'm just puting it on here to see if there is any interest from other ".netters" and if so, then i'll play to keep the 3 teams of 4, if not, me dropping out and having 2 teams of 4 may be an option along with 3x3's if my fitness is ok.
As I say, i'm just looking to gauge interest from .netters just now.
If anyone who has not already registered an interest would like to play, please send me a PM for further info.
Thanks.
25-05-2010, 10:05 AM
Hi guys, I know it's late notice but I've had some people call off from the event leaving me 3 short at the moment. No massive deal as we can just have 3 teams of 3. If I can't fill the spaces I'll drop out as I'm still struggling to get round 18 comfortably at the moment but i'm still hoping to get my fitness better by the time the event comes round. At the moment, i'm just puting it on here to see if there is any interest from other ".netters" and if so, then i'll play to keep the 3 teams of 4, if not, me dropping out and having 2 teams of 4 may be an option along with 3x3's if my fitness is ok.
If anyone who has not already registered an interest would like to play, please send me a PM for further info.
Thanks.
Come on anyone that's not already signed up... it's only 72 holes:greengrin
28-05-2010, 11:23 AM
Thanks.
Right, I'm going to play so we're looking for 3 more people to join us now to make 3 fourballs or we'll be 3 threeballs (extra bacon rolls after Bathgate that way I suppose:greengrin).
28-05-2010, 11:27 AM
Right, I'm going to play so we're looking for 3 more people to join us now to make 3 fourballs or we'll be 3 threeballs (extra bacon rolls after Bathgate that way I suppose:greengrin).
Not like you to be thinking of my belly :greengrin
Godsahibby
28-05-2010, 01:22 PM
I know just now your are looking for members off.net to play but if you dont get anyone a mate of mine has shown an interest.
28-05-2010, 01:44 PM
I know just now your are looking for members off.net to play but if you dont get anyone a mate of mine has shown an interest.
Anybody will do we have a few from Sky playing this year again :wink:
You got your totals yet Chris?
31-05-2010, 05:56 PM
Cheers Chris, I've had a couple interested from on here (one asked yesterday) and another mate of mine that I play with (Allyn Dick) who plays off +3 said on Friday, that as long as he doesn't have a team match that night, he'll play so we should be sorted. I'll let you know though mate and I'll keep you in mind if anything changes or Al can't play.
01-06-2010, 01:53 PM
1st Team
Ronnie (Can Drive)
HibbyScott (Can Drive)
Stretch
Cocopops (Can Drive)
2nd Team
Godsahibby (Can Drive)
Rob McGraw or Gaz
SG7NIL (Can Drive)
3rd Team
Me (Can drive)
Mike Eprile
Gaz (Can Drive) or Rob
Duffy (Can Drive)
Thanks
Have had to re-arrange the teams slightly as team 2 have had 2 pull outs. Mark has just started a new job and can't get time off and Tony has just been in hospital for minor surgery and can hardly walk. Ronnies mate, stretch, has also had to pull out. I have had 1 addition in Rob McGraw who posts on here so just looking for two more.
Rob, I've had to put you in team 2 mate to keep at least 2 drivers per team unless you can drive and I can swap you with Gaz seeing as you know me and Mike.
01-06-2010, 01:55 PM
With the event now just over 3 weeks away, can everyone just edit the above post and just confirm that they are still ok to play.
Thanks
sg7nil
02-06-2010, 12:39 PM
With the event now just over 3 weeks away, can everyone just edit the above post and just confirm that they are still ok to play.
Thanks
I can't edit the post, but am still OK to play.
Also.. my work is letting one dress down Friday be in favour of Macmillan.. however the only date that is still available is the 15th October so any money collected will probably not be in in time to be added to my sponsorship!
i am good to play as well
02-06-2010, 09:29 PM
:thumbsup::yawn:
08-06-2010, 08:42 AM
If he's still interested mate, tell him he's in. If he can play, we still need 1 more so if anyone knows of anyone that may be interested, ask them and give me a shout.
thanks
08-06-2010, 01:41 PM
If he's still interested mate, tell him he's in. If he can play, we still need 1 more so if anyone knows of anyone that may be interested, ask them and give me a shout.
thanks
It's cool. I got another one in.
Final Teams:
1st Team
05:00 (or before if everyone is there) at Bathgate
Ronnie (Can Drive)
HibbyScott (Can Drive)
Barry Miller
Cocopops (Can Drive)
2nd Team
05:10 (or before)
Godsahibby (Can Drive)
Chris's mate
Gaz
SG7NIL (Can Drive)
3rd Team
05:20 (or before)
Me (Can drive)
Mike Eprile
Rob
Duffy (Can Drive)
Godsahibby
08-06-2010, 02:29 PM
My mates just confirmed he's in, was waiting on confirmation he can get the day off.
If you want to put him in my team, I've not got the car anymore so will get him to pick me up.
12-06-2010, 05:33 PM
My mates just confirmed he's in, was waiting on confirmation he can get the day off.
If you want to put him in my team, I've not got the car anymore so will get him to pick me up.
Done that mate (see above post:wink:)
14-06-2010, 02:17 PM
Does everyone still have their Macmillan t-shirts from last year?
I know we have some new guys so Chris, what size is you're mate (t-shirt wise)
Also, same question to Gaz. If you can let me know as soon as poss guys so that I can get onto MacMilan to see what I can get.
Thanks guys.
sg7nil
14-06-2010, 04:48 PM
Also, same question to Gaz. If you can let me know as soon as poss guys so that I can get onto MacMilan to see what I can get.
Thanks guys.
Funnily enough, I didn't get one last year for some reason (bigger the better if you can get me one this time around XL or XXL if they have them).:agree:
And I still didn't get paid for all the Hibs ones that I shelled out for (not that I actually expect to see that cash now) :grr:
14-06-2010, 05:06 PM
Thanks guys.
If you want mine from last year for someone else to use, they're welcome to it? I can drop it off (or post it through your door) this weekend, as I'll be back down.
Cheers.
15-06-2010, 07:42 AM
Thanks guys.
I do :wink:
Funnily enough, I didn't get one last year for some reason (bigger the better if you can get me one this time around XL or XXL if they have them).:agree:
And I still didn't get paid for all the Hibs ones that I shelled out for (not that I actually expect to see that cash now) :grr:
I paid :wink:
15-06-2010, 08:23 AM
I do :wink:
I paid :wink:
Me too mate.:agree:
Godsahibby
15-06-2010, 08:27 AM
I've still got my T-shirt.
Paul will probably be a large.
15-06-2010, 09:00 AM
Me too mate.:agree:
No then :confused:
15-06-2010, 09:11 AM
No then :confused:
???:confused:
Edit:
Just saw your post. No, just keep your t-shirt mate and I'll get new ones for the people that need them.
15-06-2010, 09:16 AM
I've still got my T-shirt.
Paul will probably be a large.
Cheers mate. I'll let Fiona know what sizes we need once i find out from Gaz. Stuart, I think they'll only do XL mate but i'll double check.
15-06-2010, 09:17 AM
Have we all got sponsor forms getting filled in? only 9 dayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyssssssssssssssssss ssssssss :greengrin
large for me
i have just been pointing folk to the just giving website to get sponsers
15-06-2010, 11:08 AM
???:confused:
Edit:
Just saw your post. No, just keep your t-shirt mate and I'll get new ones for the people that need them.
Cool - cheers! :thumbsup:
How are you keeping by the way?
15-06-2010, 03:57 PM
Cool - cheers! :thumbsup:
How are you keeping by the way?
I'm doing pretty well just now mate... but my golf's not worth a sook. Probably hitting the ball better than I have done in about 10 years but just can't put a score together. Sooooooo frustrating!!!!!:grr:
15-06-2010, 06:06 PM
Guys can I have all your proper names and handicaps, so I can prepare the score cards in advance :wink:
sg7nil
16-06-2010, 09:39 AM
Guys can I have all your proper names and handicaps, so I can prepare the score cards in advance :wink:
PM sent.
I assume that I'm driving? Last year I drove Chris and I, but it looks like he'll be with his mate this year. I assume threfore that I'll be with Gaz... Gaz, where are you leaving from? Will you need picked up?
i am coming from rosyth i can drive if its easier and pick yuo up
sg7nil
16-06-2010, 12:36 PM
i am coming from rosyth i can drive if its easier and pick yuo up
Since I live in Leith that'd be a bigger detour for you than for me. I can nip across the bridge on my way to West Lothian if you like. (You'll need to provide precise directions though!)
17-06-2010, 07:42 PM
That's the t-shirts ordered for the guys that need one.
20-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Thursday hot hot hot http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/5?&search=edinburgh&itemsPerPage=10®ion=world :flamed:
Godsahibby
20-06-2010, 06:56 PM
Just seen your post.
Chris Strachan, not got an official Handicap. My mate is Paul Mailley and again he's not got a handicap but we play at a similar standard so a fair handicap would be around 14.
21-06-2010, 08:34 AM
I'm off 7 now ronnie:bitchy:
Do you want me to get the cards from Bathgate mate?
22-06-2010, 05:14 PM
colin smith 20:agree: be good to see you boys :thumbsup:
22-06-2010, 05:30 PM
I'm off 7 now ronnie:bitchy:
Do you want me to get the cards from Bathgate mate?
If you could I have the other 3 couses here :wink:
23-06-2010, 10:45 PM
I know you will all be tucked up in your scratchers guys butbest of luck tomorrow. Will be with you in spirit.
Don-hibee
24-06-2010, 07:44 AM
Good Luck guys, H18sry's group just completed the first course, all had a good round :thumbsup:
24-06-2010, 08:23 AM
If Scott cheats by getting someone to caddy for him again, he should be forced to equal his total donations from his own pocket :wink::greengrin
Don-hibee
24-06-2010, 07:02 PM
If Scott cheats by getting someone to caddy for him again, he should be forced to equal his total donations from his own pocket :wink::greengrin
Totally agree with that, they are on the final course :applause:
24-06-2010, 10:44 PM
Hope they are finished or they are gonna be struggling now.
Don-hibee
25-06-2010, 06:30 AM
A very big WELL DONE to you all, Ronnie said you all had a fantastic time, again well done for doing this for such a worthy cause :top marks
sg7nil
25-06-2010, 11:02 AM
Sitting at work today in a bit of pain.. legs feel like lumps of lead and it's hard to lift my arms above shoulder height.
Lawrence asked right afterwards if we would be interested again next year.. bad timing mate.
I think we all drew a few strange looks as we all hirpled down the stairs and out of the bar at Dalmahoy last night, folk were looking to see where the horses were, that from our awkward walking, we looked like we'd been riding all day! :faf:
25-06-2010, 11:37 AM
Sitting at work today in a bit of pain.. legs feel like lumps of lead and it's hard to lift my arms above shoulder height.
Lawrence asked right afterwards if we would be interested again next year.. bad timing mate.
I think we all drew a few strange looks as we all hirpled down the stairs and out of the bar at Dalmahoy last night, folk were looking to see where the horses were, that from our awkward walking, we looked like we'd been riding all day! :faf:
With tongue firmly in cheek:greengrin:agree:. If anyone had asked me at that point, I probably would have smacked them in the gob:greengrin
I'm still at the stage this morning where I'm thinking "no way am I doing that again!!!"... but I probably will. I just felt it came about 4 weeks too early for me fitness wise. It was only about 3 or 4 weeks ago that I couldn't even get round 18 holes, never mind 72. Glad I done it though and although i'm in agony this morning, it's that satisfying type of sore where you know you've done something good (like a massive gym session).
I think if I was doing it again, i'd rather the long course at Dalmahoy again as it was a lot flatter than the wee course (which was an absolute killer on the old legs).
Cracking day though guys and thanks for taking part. :agree:
26-06-2010, 07:57 AM
Congratulations guys :thumbsup:
Anyone fancy a game later :devil:
26-06-2010, 09:12 AM
Bring it on Broxi:casper::greengrin
26-06-2010, 01:23 PM
what times the tee booked for?
I'm up for it :agree:
26-06-2010, 05:14 PM
what times the tee booked for?
I'm up for it :agree:
I've managed to get another 4 courses for 1st July... Gullane #1, Roxburgh, Dalmahoy east and finishing up at Lothianburn... anyone fancy it? :greengrin
30-06-2010, 09:08 AM
Ronnie Young
Bathgate 32 points
Pumpherston 39 points
Ratho 35 points
Dalmahoy 34 points
Colin Smith
Bathgate 28 points
Pumpherstone 45 points
Ratho 34 points
Dalmahoy 31 points
Barry Miller
Bathgate 35 points
Pumpherstone 29 points
Ratho 34 points
Dalmahoy 32 points
Scott L
Bathgate 31 points
Pumpherston no card
Ratho no card
Dalmahoy 15 points
If anybody has there missing cards contact me so I can update these scores :wink:
CHEERS GUYS SOME GOOD GOLF PLAYED AND A CRACKING LAUGH WAS HAD BY ALL :greengrin
Ronnie Young
Bathgate 32 points
Pumpherston 38 points
Ratho 34 points
Dalmahoy 34 points
Colin Smith
Bathgate 28 points
Pumpherstone 45 points:top marks
Ratho 34 points
Dalmahoy 31 points
Barry Miller
Bathgate 35 points
Pumpherstone 29 points
Ratho points missing a card
Dalmahoy 32 points
Scott L
Bathgate 31 points
Pumpherston no card
Ratho no card
Dalmahoy 15 points
If anybody has there missing cards contact me so I can update these scores :wink:
CHEERS GUYS SOME GOOD GOLF PLAYED AND A CRACKING LAUGH WAS HAD BY ALL :greengrin
Thats some real good scoring.
Not sure on our team scores but good day had and good to meet some of you guys :thumbsup:
09-07-2010, 07:53 PM
Ive been on holiday so not managed to calculate ours yet but i'll make a start on Monday.
I really didn't like Pumpherston but my 6 scratch birdies would suggest otherwise :thumbsup:.
I know that Mike, after being scratch 1 under through 6 at Dalmahoy and playing off 25, had a stupid amount of points until the wheels fell off around the 9th and done nothing else for the rest of the round (apart from finding parts of Dalmahoy that even the longest serving members never knew existed and pushing me up the hill at the 17th:greengrin)
sg7nil
12-07-2010, 08:23 AM
What was our team name and ID number on the day as I've still not completed filling out the sponsor form?
15-07-2010, 01:54 PM
What was our team name and ID number on the day as I've still not completed filling out the sponsor form?
Who was your team captain Stuart? All the sponsor forms go directly to your team captain which has a letter with the reference number on it.:agree:
sg7nil
04-08-2010, 01:22 PM
Who was your team captain Stuart? All the sponsor forms go directly to your team captain which has a letter with the reference number on it.:agree:
Chris was captain I believe, so c'mon Godsahibby, gimmie the team number etc!
Oh, I got an email from my work today stating that all the people who do a "day to make a difference" scheme (means you get a day off for a charity activity without having to take a holiday) were all entered into a draw and I won it, meaning Macmillan will be getting a further £500 from Lloyds Banking Group! :thumbsup:
I emailed the letter off to Macmillan cos the money will be paid to them via a different route and they'll have to speak to Lloyds to collect it I think, but I don't care who it says it's from, as long as it gets there somehow.
04-08-2010, 02:52 PM
Oh, I got an email from my work today stating that all the people who do a "day to make a difference" scheme (means you get a day off for a charity activity without having to take a holiday) were all entered into a draw and I won it, meaning Macmillan will be getting a further £500 from Lloyds Banking Group! :thumbsup:
I emailed the letter off to Macmillan cos the money will be paid to them via a different route and they'll have to speak to Lloyds to collect it I think, but I don't care who it says it's from, as long as it gets there somehow.
:thumbsup::thumbsup: well done m8 :thumbsup::thumbsup:
04-08-2010, 04:56 PM
thats amazing mate good stuff :top marks:thumbsup:
Godsahibby
05-08-2010, 08:36 AM
I've got the form in the flat somewhere I will look it out and let you know,
Well done with the extra cash from Lloyds, I tried the same last year with my work and still havent heard anything back about it, it's RBS though so I'm not surprised!
our captains day at turnhouse this year is a yellow ball comp and all money raised is also going to macmillen :thumbsup:
07-08-2010, 01:31 PM
Fantastic mate.:agree::thumbsup:
I've had confirmation from Simon at Bathgate golf club and he's offered hospitality at a Livingston game this season for auction for the cause.
What's peoples thoughts on how to auction this? Hib-bay, silent auction via PM or other method?
07-08-2010, 02:26 PM
Fantastic mate.:agree::thumbsup:
I've had confirmation from Simon at Bathgate golf club and he's offered hospitality at a Livingston game this season for auction for the cause.
What's peoples thoughts on how to auction this? Hib-bay, silent auction via PM or other method?
Try to pick a game where Hibs play on a Sunday, Hib-bay or on the main board sticky :agree:
11-08-2010, 12:56 PM
Try to pick a game where Hibs play on a Sunday, Hib-bay or on the main board sticky :agree:
It's a case of the winning bidder can pick the game buddy.
As my 2nd team is East Fife, i've got a wee bit of an interest in it but i'll stick it on Hib-bay later as I'm just about to leave for a hospital appointment.
23-09-2010, 08:05 AM
The page has been extended untill the 30th October to get all late payers paid up :wink: