View Full Version : Question Why do we kid ourselves on?

03-01-2010, 10:58 PM
I've not long logged on but already I've read numerous posts saying how gash Hertz are and how we should have pumped them.

I'll get shot down no doubt but Hertz are not gash and played well at times today. As we persist in saying they are humpty it simply makes it harder to swallow today's result.

I say again, Hertz are not gash - they are better than many give them credit for

:duck:

Littlest Hobo
03-01-2010, 11:00 PM
Na, their gash mate! :agree::wink::thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 11:02 PM
Quite - well said.

They were never relegation material and we were never championship material. There's not a lot between the non-OF teams and anyone who can put a run together will shoot up the league and similarly (see Dons, Motherwell) the reverse is true.

03-01-2010, 11:03 PM
I've not long logged on but already I've read numerous posts saying how gash Hertz are and how we should have pumped them.

I'll get shot down no doubt but Hertz are not gash and played well at times today. As we persist in saying they are humpty it simply makes it harder to swallow today's result.

I say again, Hertz are not gash - they are better than many give them credit for

John your wasting your time mate..........

That kind of realistic post is ignored in here - save it for the PM's

AK86

slavering shaba definitely deserves credit for getting his journeymen players to play with spirit and organization

They are pish up front. Robust in defence and without stewart would be average in midfield. Hibs are better in every area but could do with two things.
1. A bit more of a physical side to their game. (this would need to come from a personell change as we are too lightweight at the moment.

2. A striker with a bit of pace.

03-01-2010, 11:04 PM

I agree with you Jonnyboy. They are not gash.

They are pash. :agree:

As Speedway would probably say. If Hertz hadn't scored then we most likely would have won the game.

03-01-2010, 11:07 PM

Correct, quite incredible that people on here who should know better were tipping them for relegation. It was never ever going to happen, they still have quite a few big strong half decent players and are well organised.

When did we last score 2 goals against them? Boxing Day 2006?

03-01-2010, 11:07 PM

We did the same the week previously regarding Rangers. Some of us persuaded themselves that this is 'the worst Rangers team in living memory' (well, I can remember worse, and I'm no deid yet - I think) and then when we lost to them they all jumped on the pity-pot and started squealing about how bad this made Hibs.

I'm not sure that there are ANY easy games in the SPL right now (for whatever reason). A wee bit of a reality-check wouldn't do some of us any harm, IMO.

03-01-2010, 11:08 PM
They are pish up front. Robust in defence and without stewart would be average in midfield. Hibs are better in every area but could do with two things.
1. A bit more of a physical side to their game. (this would need to come from a personell change as we are too lightweight at the moment.

I get your point A but ......

Hibs today
Wotherspoon - poor
Hogg - Appalling
Rankin - missing
Zemmama - anonymous

So you see, we have disappointing players too :wink:

The only saving grace is that at least two of our four can do a lot better whilst Nade will always be pash :greengrin

03-01-2010, 11:22 PM

They may not be gash but they're not a good fitba team. Apart from Wallace and Stewart they're just a big, physical team who outmuscled us - again - in midfield (and - again - Nade outmuscled two or three Hibs defenders at a time up front).
I can't recall the boy Kello once looking for a player to throw to, and build an attack from the back - it was the same ponderous wander to the edge of the box and hoof it as hard and high as possible, every time. Utterly brutal to watch. We didn't play well today but in the first half at least we were trying to play what I recognised as fitba.

03-01-2010, 11:23 PM
They may not be gash but they're not a good fitba team. Apart from Wallace and Stewart they're just a big, physical team who outmuscled us - again - in midfield (and - again - Nade outmuscled two or three Hibs defenders at a time up front).
I can't recall the boy Kello once looking for a player to throw to, and build an attack from the back - it was the same ponderous wander to the edge of the box and hoof it as hard and high as possible, every time. Utterly brutal to watch. We didn't play well today but in the first half at least we were trying to play what I recognised as fitba.

Pretty well sums up the SPL

03-01-2010, 11:23 PM

Were you at the game??

HoMoFC were gash, they were over run in the 1st 45 and improved to at least be a match in the 2nd half but we had chances galore to bury them in both halves

If you think they were that great then why not go to Tynie next week...

03-01-2010, 11:26 PM
The problem is that people think were better than what we are...

03-01-2010, 11:26 PM
Were you at the game??

HoMoFC were gash, they were over run in the 1st 45 and improved to at least be a match in the 2nd half but we had chab=nces galore to bury them in both halves

If you think they were that great then why not go to Tynie next week...

Dinnae be cheeky

I never said they were great did I? I said they're better than a lot of posters on here give them credit for. Look back at all the 'we'll hump them 4-0' etc posts over the last few days. My point, which you clearly missed, is that they are not as gash as many of the posters on here seem to think.

03-01-2010, 11:28 PM

Ugly Ugly team though :agree:

03-01-2010, 11:31 PM
The problem is that people think were better than what we are...

:agree: Spot on. We've only played well in patches this season but the media hype about title challenges etc seems to have gone to a lot of folks head.

03-01-2010, 11:33 PM
:agree: Spot on. We've only played well in patches this season but the media hype about title challenges etc seems to have gone to a lot of folks head.

03-01-2010, 11:34 PM
They're on a good run, and did play their system well today.

They don't use passing football, and it's not always pretty to watch, but they're physical and boss teams who command too much time on the ball, which is what we tried in abundance today. Their main problem is consistency. They appear to have found a good run of form at the moment though, and if they keep winning (or drawing), they're going to challenge us for 3rd, without question.

That's both derbies this season, where they have matched us all over the park for 90 minutes, and despite the continued "we have better players" which many of our fans seem to recite daily, we don't have the physical presence to match them.

For all the crap he takes about not scoring goals, Nade is actually a very useful player (not that I'd thank you for him right enough). He has strength in abundance, holds the ball up well, and tormented Hogg all day. He also played a big role in their goal. Wallace was brilliant going forward for them today and I'm glad Driver was injured, or they could have ripped us apart, as McCormack was gash today. Stewart was a pain in the arse all day and along with Jonnson, they stopped us getting forward without much difficulty.

On paper, we SHOULD be the better outfit of the 2 sides, but as is so often said, football isn't played on paper. Hopefully we have a quality to maintain our start to the season and still finish above them come May.

03-01-2010, 11:39 PM
It was always going to be close today. Derbies always are and both teams don't give too many goals away these days. I can't remember the last time we won by more than a couple of goals against them.

But over the course of the season I see us being well ahead of the ****bos simply because we have better players, will score more goals and win more games. I'd hate to see the ****bos every week - they are truly brutal to watch.

Cabbage1875
03-01-2010, 11:40 PM
I tell you, the much maligned Christian Nade did a job for them today, not the donkey many would have you believe!

03-01-2010, 11:49 PM
:

Nade will always be pash :greengrin

Me and my mate were saying today that despite the stick Nade gets- and he does undoubtedly have his faults, he's nowhere near as bad as folk make out. The way he can hold the ball up when surrounded by defenders is probably second to none in the SPL at present and dare I say it we could probably do with a player like that at times.

So I'd probably conclude that saying Nade will always be 'pash' is probably akin to folk saying Hearts are 'gash'. I'm sure most of us realise that neither is strictly accurate.

PC Stamp
03-01-2010, 11:51 PM
I tell you, the much maligned Christian Nade did a job for them today, not the donkey many would have you believe!

Agree. We had no-one who could match him for muscle and his pace was better than many thought. Once or twice he caught passes that looked destined for throw ins by chasing them down. He also held the ball up pretty well and had a decent touch when taking passes in. If he could actually score goals at any reasonable rate he'd be a decent all round player.

Still wouldn't have him in our team mind or indeed any of them other than Lee Wallace or Jose Goncalves who of course was missing today.

AK86
03-01-2010, 11:52 PM

He would be more effective in midfield. holds the ball well and can play people in. Never ever a striker
His challenge on Smith was a booking for sure

03-01-2010, 11:58 PM
He would be more effective in midfield. holds the ball well and can play people in. Never ever a striker
His challenge on Smith was a booking for sure
Not got the legs or engine to play in midfield, but I must admit he did a fine job in dropping off the front line to hold the ball up and wait for support before bringing others in to the play.

As for Hearts, they came to ER with a plan and carried it out for 90 minutes - thought we might have stretched them a bit at 10 a side, but the remaining 10 did their jobs and certainly restricted our chances.

04-01-2010, 12:20 AM
Nade did very well at holding the ball up today and due to his extreme build (I'll be kind to him :greengrin), no-one could get near him to try and take the ball off him. He then brought others into play.

He carries absolutely no goal threat, though.

04-01-2010, 12:23 AM
Nade did very well at holding the ball up today and due to his extreme build (I'll be kind to him :greengrin), no-one could get near him to try and take the ball off him. He then brought others into play.

He carries absolutely no goal threat, though. It was his holding the ball up that led to their goal!

04-01-2010, 01:34 AM
Dinnae be cheeky

I never said they were great did I? I said they're better than a lot of posters on here give them credit for. Look back at all the 'we'll hump them 4-0' etc posts over the last few days. My point, which you clearly missed, is that they are not as gash as many of the posters on here seem to think.

Not many here, including me were saying we were going to overrrun them, my point is that you give them far too much credit, they were honking and if you cant see that then sorry mate......................

:jamboak::jamboak::jamboak::jamboak:

04-01-2010, 09:18 AM
Loads of kudos for starting a post like this JB!

Sometimes feel on this forum that you just can't win? Posters still blinded by monkeyheid syndrome? (no disrespect intended to the great man)

A lot of us here have been watching Hibs for 30 years and over (40 in my case) and have been through the disaster that was the 80's early 90's when Hearts had two runs of 20+ games unbeaten. Hearts beat us in games they should have been hammered and pulled results like a white rabbit out of a magicians hat!

Derbies definitely do not favor the timid! And for me an I'll take a kicking for this also, just like the Derby thread I started, Hibs are timid! We need muscle players to compete and dig in when it aint so good.

Hearts are definitely not gash they play to system that works for their capabilities. Its not nice to watch but it is effective.

04-01-2010, 09:25 AM

Well said John but this is Hibs.net so good luck :greengrin

04-01-2010, 09:35 AM

I think people dwell on their obvious weaknesses (ie no regular goalscorer other than Stewart pen.) and ignore their qualities. They then do the opposite with Hibs, who really need to sign two defenders (particularly a right back) and need more of a physical presence through the team. I think Hibs will finish 3rd because those weaknesses will be somewhat resolved in January, but at present there is not that much between any of the teams outside the OF.

04-01-2010, 09:41 AM
I wish we had their work rate.

They harried us and closed us down all over the park. They just didn't allow us to play, whereas when they had the ball, we largely stood off and let them attack us.

Michael Stewart had a fabulous game and Lee Wallace looked fast, strong and confident.

Both teams could have won yesterday and a point is better for us.

Mag7
04-01-2010, 09:52 AM

Hearts have had lot more 'gash' results than we have in the SPL this season eg Hamilton 2 Hearts 1, Hearts 1 St Johnstone 2, Hearts 0 Falkirk 0, St Mirren 2 Hearts 1....so I think it's fair to claim they are more 'gash' than us.

However, I think a more valid point is that for all their lofty claims of European domination they are nothing more than a mid-table club full of anonymous Europeans and assorted misfits, saddled with debts which will prevent them being anything more than that. In that respect they fall woefully short of where their more deluded followers think they belong.

04-01-2010, 09:52 AM
Hertz are gash and yesterday we were woeful,1 flukey win against Celtic a penalty and 1 shot on goal(which resulted in a goal) in their other games does say they are pish,every team has a fighting spirit,dont you think its a wee bit more than coincidence that hertz players are supposedly playing better due to the fact the window is open? Come the end of january and they lose their 1 good player you should see them back in freefall due to noone coming in for the rest of them.
Just wish we could grow a pair and have a bit more fight in the team.We need a bit of ass kickin muscle on the pitch,Yogi get yir boots back oan

Hibbie0762
04-01-2010, 10:47 AM
Hearts are not wholly gash, but neither are they very good. They were probably never relegation material, but are hardly strong top six contenders as yet. They find themselves in fifth place due to a combination of cancellations of other teams' games and one of those flukey mini-runs which they seem to manage at some point every season - taking 10 points from four games with two penalties (one very soft) and a combined total of about six other shots on target.

Apart from the Yams' goal (which was a decent effort), I can't remember Smith having a shot to save yesterday. But I admit that when they did score, I thought that we were about to be on the end of another of the 1-0 eyebleeders in which the Yams seem to specialise. Just as well that Stokes keeps popping up to do the biz.

It is easy to forget that yesterday was a Derby, and that Derbies are rarely good to watch - when, as yesterday, you have a talented but lightweight Hibs side playing against the cynical, well organised anti-football which Hearts traditionally favour, it is not going to be fearless or free flowing.

Yes, it is thuggish, mind-numbing, boring stuff, but the unwashed Yam Massive don't seem to mind that the best way to view Hertz game is the rolling scores on Sky Sport. I suppose that if you like that sort of thing, that's the sort of thing you like, and the Yams seem to like it just fine. The CyberYams on Sickbag seem happy enough with their Team's efforts, anyway.

Either side could have sneaked it yesterday - arguably Hibs finished the stronger after we equalized - but whatever the result it was never going to be an advertisement for football as part of the entertainment industry.

Ho hum, another Derby, bragging rights shared, and in truth a decent enough point for Hibs, which (with other scores going mostly our way) keeps us well in contention for 3rd and still 9 points ahead of the other lot with a game in hand. As an old lag, I probably would have settled for that beforehand - I have been to far too many Derbies where Hibs have played all the football but come away with nowt.

04-01-2010, 11:16 AM
I disagree. I think they are every bit as poor as we make out. The problem is that we're nowhere as good as many of us seem to think. Against M'well (h and a) and Huns (a) and possibly Dundee United (h) we looked a very decent team. The rest of the time we've been busking it and getting the breaks due to our clinic finishing and a a never say die attitude. Yogi's worked wonders to get us to where we are after 17 games, but he's only started. I think we'll get stronger as the season progresses. We have quality but aren't gelling yet. McBride's return is good news.

04-01-2010, 11:23 AM
Totally agree, Hearts are gash, only one team TRIED to play fitba yesterday and it wasnt them.. IMO

04-01-2010, 11:27 AM
The problem is that people think were better than what we are...I would agree with that :agree: but we should have beat that mob, particularly in the 1st half.

**** the h****s

sixtwo
04-01-2010, 11:30 AM
They are poor but I will accept that they raised their game against us. They have been very lucky for the 3 games prior to the derby and that run of results has increased their confidence.
They will lose 2 of their better players this month. I'm certain that Wallace and Goncalves will depart. I will be surprised if Shabba is not replaced in Feb with the new eastern european director of football.

I still think relegation is a possibility for them!:agree:

04-01-2010, 11:33 AM

:agree: We lack spine! Some spineless/heartless performances recently.

We also need a CH and a RB. The answer to the latter is not Spoon, McCann, McCormack or even Hogg IMHO.

04-01-2010, 11:36 AM
:agree: We lack spine! Some spineless/heartless performances recently.

We also need a CH and a RB. The answer to the latter is not Spoon, McCann, McCormack or even Hogg IMHO.

We need a Rb right away.. W'spoon is wasted at RB and he being mucked around by having him switching positions all the time... Leave him in midfield and let him get on with his game...

04-01-2010, 11:45 AM

Nah Hearts are very gash but so are Hibs.
I saw Hibs twice for the first time in a while in the last week and Hibs are really poor.
Yesterday was like being at an Edinburgh City v Spartans game with some occasional brilliance from the likes of Miller, Zemama and Riordan but there was a lot of total junior standard dross

A lot of bigots too in the away end

Hibbie0762
04-01-2010, 12:00 PM
Never mind us kidding ourselves on, if you want the 110 degree-proof Capstan full-strength delusion experience of how good the Yams think they are, it's worth reading some of the Sickbag threads on yesterday's game. Classic stuff.

I sometimes think that the hard core CyberYams who inhabit Planet Sickbag must co-exist in a parallel dimension. Even allowing for tribal bias, they certainly weren't at the same game as I was yesterday.

04-01-2010, 03:34 PM
It was his holding the ball up that led to their goal!

I was talking about the lack of goals that he personally scores, which is what a striker is primarily judged on.

14 goals in 111 appearances in British football would suggest that he's not quite as prolific as Kris Boyd or Henrik Larsson.

04-01-2010, 04:32 PM

a lot of their own fans say they are awful to watch. cant disagree !:thumbsup:

take stewart and goncalves out the team and they are in bigger trouble

04-01-2010, 04:34 PM
They are poor but I will accept that they raised their game against us. They have been very lucky for the 3 games prior to the derby and that run of results has increased their confidence.
They will lose 2 of their better players this month. I'm certain that Wallace and Goncalves will depart. I will be surprised if Shabba is not replaced in Feb with the new eastern european director of football.

I still think relegation is a possibility for them!:agree:

:thumbsup::thumbsup::top marks

04-01-2010, 04:38 PM
I'm looking forward to February fireworks. I agree that they are poor enough, but essentially far too mind-numbingly boring to get caught up in anything as exciting as a relegation battle.

04-01-2010, 09:28 PM
I'm looking forward to February fireworks. I agree that they are poor enough, but essentially far too mind-numbingly boring to get caught up in anything as exciting as a relegation battle.

Now remember that debt isnae real....it's all hobos pocus :greengrin

If they can hold off with the fireworks until Feb 19th....what a birthday treat that would be :thumbsup:

04-01-2010, 11:53 PM
Not many here, including me were saying we were going to overrrun them, my point is that you give them far too much credit, they were honking and if you cant see that then sorry mate......................

:jamboak::jamboak::jamboak::jamboak:

I beg to differ

Also, I don't think saying they are not gash is giving them too much credit. It's simply acknowledging a fact :wink:

04-01-2010, 11:55 PM
I wish we had their work rate.

They harried us and closed us down all over the park. They just didn't allow us to play, whereas when they had the ball, we largely stood off and let them attack us.

Michael Stewart had a fabulous game and Lee Wallace looked fast, strong and confident.

Both teams could have won yesterday and a point is better for us.

Indeed. A gash team wouldn't have :agree: