View Full Version : Irvine Meadow game

03-01-2010, 04:36 PM
We really need a good performance in that game for at least 3 reasons...

1. To get the confidence back after 2 disappointing performances and results.
2. To give the fans something to get excited about.
3. Its the scottish cup!

The derby is done. Lets look forward.

Hail Hail

hibztilltheend
03-01-2010, 05:58 PM
was very annoyed when the tannoy man said something about the "mighty irvine meadow" coming up next week

03-01-2010, 06:03 PM
was very annoyed when the tannoy man said something about the "mighty irvine meadow" coming up next week

Why?

03-01-2010, 06:10 PM
Got my tickets for it today !:cool2:

Looking forward to it:thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 06:11 PM
I would imagine because its disrespectful. Its the Scottish Cup. We cannot be disrespectful of ANYONE given our atrocious record in the competition

hibztilltheend
03-01-2010, 06:13 PM
Why?

well because thats disrespectful to them and from what i saw today it'll be a close game.

i take it you didn't hear the score from old trafford thoday

03-01-2010, 06:14 PM
I would imagine because its disrespectful. Its the Scottish Cup. We cannot be disrespectful of ANYONE given our atrocious record in the competition

I don't give a flying **** if the anouncer is disrespectful. I expect our players to approach the game with the respect due to Irvine Meadow, but I don't see them taking any cues from the guy that calls out the teams at ER.

03-01-2010, 06:24 PM

Did he?

Then I totlally agree with you - he should be warned as to future conduct. That's the sort of thing I'd expect to hear at Tynie. We should be extending all due respect and courtesy to all our opponents regardless of whatever League they play in.

Supposing we were drawn against a top EPL club in a European tie - we'd take it very ill if they started making funny comments about us during the run-up to the tie.

There would have been people from Irvine at the match today, and everyonbe involved with Hibs - including the plook on the PA - should have been remembering their manners.

03-01-2010, 06:29 PM
I don't give a flying **** if the anouncer is disrespectful. I expect our players to approach the game with the respect due to Irvine Meadow, but I don't see them taking any cues from the guy that calls out the teams at ER.

Perhaps not, but he IS a total d**k. :grr:

03-01-2010, 06:31 PM

He seems to specialise in patronising comments, whether it's with regard to schoolchildren, women footballers or Junior football clubs. The guy's a total embarassment IMHO.

03-01-2010, 06:33 PM
Supposing we were drawn against a top EPL club in a European tie - we'd take it very ill if they started making funny comments about us during the run-up to the tie.

Would we?

Do fans really hold so much stock in the ramblings of the guy employed to read out the Happy Hibby numbers?

I agree that we should extend every respect to Irvine Meadow, but to me that means treating them as we would an SPL club on the match day, and the team approaching the game as they would any other. It doesn't mean that our stadium announcer is banned from saying anything that might be construed as anti-Irvine.

03-01-2010, 06:39 PM
Would we?

Do fans really hold so much stock in the ramblings of the guy employed to read out the Happy Hibby numbers?

I agree that we should extend every respect to Irvine Meadow, but to me that means treating them as we would an SPL club on the match day, and the team approaching the game as they would any other. It doesn't mean that our stadium announcer is banned from saying anything that might be construed as anti-Irvine.

We could ban him for being a k**b, however!

Or am I getting too wound up here?! :greengrin

03-01-2010, 06:42 PM
We could ban him for being a k**b, however!

Or am I getting too wound up here?! :greengrin

TBH I agree that the announcer is useless, however I don't think we should be so precious about 'offending' Irvine Meadow.

copycat
03-01-2010, 07:14 PM
well because thats disrespectful to them and from what i saw today it'll be a close game.

Ha ha ha you really didn't just put Irvine meadow in the same league as Leeds united, wharra ••••

03-01-2010, 07:24 PM
He seems to specialise in patronising comments, whether it's with regard to schoolchildren, women footballers or Junior football clubs. The guy's a total embarassment IMHO.

and he wants to quit yappin once he's put a song on anaw :grr:

03-01-2010, 07:28 PM
and he wants to quit yappin once he's put a song on anaw :grr:

Actually, ***** it, who's for voting Dashing Bob the almighty S in as our new stadium announcer. I'm certain he has the classic combination of delightful chat and banging tunes to keep the Hibee constituency happy.

03-01-2010, 08:46 PM
Did he?

Then I totlally agree with you - he should be warned as to future conduct. That's the sort of thing I'd expect to hear at Tynie. We should be extending all due respect and courtesy to all our opponents regardless of whatever League they play in.

There would have been people from Irvine at the match today, and everyonbe involved with Hibs - including the plook on the PA - should have been remembering their manners.

Agree with you here. Patronising another football club - especially one that's made a little bit of Scottish Cup history - is out of order.

Petrie, have a word.

03-01-2010, 08:52 PM
do we bring our season ticket cards or our cup top up vouchers to this?

03-01-2010, 08:53 PM

I bought a real life "ticket" today
I thought it would have been added to my ST card but i actually got a paper ticket.

So , to answer your question.............ah dinnae ken , ken :greengrin

03-01-2010, 09:10 PM

It probably was a bit disrespectful but I don't think that what happened to Man Utd today bears any relation to next week's match. Whilst Man Utd should have beaten Leeds at Old Trafford, Leeds are, to all intents and purposes, a Championship side, whilst we are playing a Junior side.

We need to give Irvine Meadow respect because, if nothing else, they fully deserve it but I would be very surprised, astonished even, if next week's game turns out to be even remotely close.

03-01-2010, 09:14 PM

If you have a cup top up then any home cup tie for this season was already added to your card before they got sent out to you so you'll just get your card swiped as you would do for a normal league game.

03-01-2010, 09:17 PM
It probably was a bit disrespectful but I don't think that what happened to Man Utd today bears any relation to next week's match. Whilst Man Utd should have beaten Leeds at Old Trafford, Leeds are, to all intents and purposes, a Championship side, whilst we are playing a Junior side.

We need to give Irvine Meadow respect because, if nothing else, they fully deserve it but I would be very surprised, astonished even, if next week's game turns out to be even remotely close.

It's just courtesy. :agree:

As sas says, he's come out with stupid, patronising comments about the women's team, about children, and about visiting teams.

It's rude. It's classless. It's Yammish.

Mr Petrie - please have a word with this guy - or appoint Dashing Bob.

Dashing Bob would be an excellent choice - no one classier than DBS. :devil:

03-01-2010, 09:20 PM
Actually, ***** it, who's for voting Dashing Bob the almighty S in as our new stadium announcer. I'm certain he has the classic combination of delightful chat and banging tunes to keep the Hibee constituency happy.

:bitchy: We'd end up with a half time break longer than the Superbowl!

03-01-2010, 09:27 PM
If you have a cup top up then any home cup tie for this season was already added to your card before they got sent out to you so you'll just get your card swiped as you would do for a normal league game.
In that case does anyone know how i replace a lost season ticket card and how much theyll cost? Lost it during the bedlam in the east after the equaliser :greengrin

03-01-2010, 09:30 PM

Typical commercial radio DJ prat.

03-01-2010, 09:31 PM
:bitchy: We'd end up with a half time break longer than the Superbowl!

Aye, but I suspect Bob would provide an extravaganza of feminine pulchritude, spectacular pyrotechnics, and mind-blowing audio effects worthy of Las Vegas at its most sybaritic ....

(Girls, fireworks, and very loud music.) :devil:

03-01-2010, 09:32 PM
In that case does anyone know how i replace a lost season ticket card and how much theyll cost? Lost it during the bedlam in the east after the equaliser :greengrin

FFS! See bairns nowadays! What were you doing, waving it aboot when we scored? :greengrin

You'll need to contact the ticket office and report it as lost. Think it costs a fiver for a replacement.

03-01-2010, 09:34 PM
FFS! See bairns nowadays! What were you doing, waving it aboot when we scored? :greengrin

You'll need to contact the ticket office and report it as lost. Think it costs a fiver for a replacement.

I lost my bairns gloves when Hibs scored.:greengrin
I also got to know the young man to my left very very very well during that celebration:cool2:

03-01-2010, 09:47 PM
It's cute that people are pretending to be worried about this :hilarious

We beat Brechin 3-0 and didn't leave 1st gear, there is a huge difference between the class of lower league English teams to that in Scotland so to compare it to Man U's result today is daft.

We'll win by 4 or 5 comfortably.

03-01-2010, 09:50 PM

:agree: It does.

03-01-2010, 09:55 PM

We beat Brechin 3-0 and didn't leave 1st gear, there is a huge difference between the class of lower league English teams to that in Scotland so to compare it to Man U's result today is daft.

I'm not worried about the game next week.

I'm annoyed that someone employed by Hibernian has behaved - again - in a manner so classless, rude, and generally Yammish.

That is all. :rolleyes:

03-01-2010, 10:29 PM
Here's a prediction, we will win by at least 15 goals......

:chop:

Perspective
03-01-2010, 11:23 PM
I'd like to see Yogi play what he considers to be his strongest team, especially Stokes to try and keep his scoring streak going.

Turn up, do the job and move on to the next round.

03-01-2010, 11:41 PM
I'd put out a very strong team and try to hammer them. We need a good win after the Rangers and Hearts matches and it could set us up well for the SPL games coming up.

03-01-2010, 11:46 PM
I'd like to see Yogi play what he considers to be his strongest team, especially Stokes to try and keep his scoring streak going.

Turn up, do the job and move on to the next round.
I think the opposite. :greengrin Hughes should use the game to play a few on the periphery of the squad, with first-choice players on the bench to come on if the match is not going to plan.

I would start with a team including Stevenson, Thicot, Cregg and Byrne, with Hanlon getting an opportunity to play in his preferred CH role.

bob12345
03-01-2010, 11:54 PM
How about...

GK: Smith

DL: Stevenson
DC: Murray
DC: Hanlon
DR: Hogg

ML: Galbraith
MC: McBride
MC: Miller
MR: Wotherspoon

FC: Riordan
FC: Stokes

Nish, Cregg and Zemamma earmarked to come on, all being well.

03-01-2010, 11:58 PM
I'd put out a very strong team and try to hammer them. We need a good win after the Rangers and Hearts matches and it could set us up well for the SPL games coming up.

I agree... i fell we need to go ito the utd game knowing what damage we can do especially looking at their form just now compared to when they came to ER . I feel we can take three points from this ?

Perspective
04-01-2010, 12:01 AM
I think the opposite. :greengrin Hughes should use the game to play a few on the periphery of the squad, with first-choice players on the bench to come on if the match is not going to plan.

I would start with a team including Stevenson, Thicot, Cregg and Byrne, with Hanlon getting an opportunity to play in his preferred CH role.

I agree with you about Hanlon and Stevenson, and I'd give Beni a shot up beside Stokes. Possibly Cregg in for Miller to give him a rest but we're not good enough to take any game lightly.

04-01-2010, 12:02 AM
How about...

MC: McBride
MC: Miller

FC: Riordan
FC: Stokes

however in respect to my last post i feel this may be a good time to show us what our 'lesser' players can do and would defo agree with this team. It would be great to see how young DG performs , however i feel i'd like to see PC given another shot, as at the start of the season he was class, fought for the jersey

04-01-2010, 12:03 AM
How about...

MC: McBride Thicot
MC: Miller Cregg

FC: Riordan Byrne
FC: Stokes Nish

I'd go with that GK and back four. :agree: But would make the changes shown further forward.

I wouldn't subject key players like Miller and McBride (still recovering from an ankle injury) to the robust style of junior opposition. I'd have Stokes and Benji on the bench to come on for the last 30 mins, if necessary

That line-up ought to be good enough to see off The Meadow! :thumbsup:

04-01-2010, 08:27 AM
Should we try young Hanlon at CH against Irvine Meadow.

04-01-2010, 08:32 AM
Should we try young Hanlon at CH against Irvine Meadow.
Yes. Great opportunity to try him in his favoured position.

04-01-2010, 10:15 AM

That's true. Leeds would win the SPL this season IMO

:eek:

Anything below the first division in Scotland is comparable to 7th or 8th level in England (ie regional / county leagues)

That said, the announcer was behaving like a twat when he i(mo)ronically called them "mighty".

04-01-2010, 10:18 AM
Would like to see Byrne get a shot alongside Tony 'Goal Machine' Stokes.

04-01-2010, 10:29 AM
think hanlon, byrne and galbraith sould get a start.:agree:

04-01-2010, 10:30 AM

I agree. That isn't taking Meadow lightly - these players are all capable of playing in our first team.

Smith; Wotherspoon, Hanlon, Murray, Stevenson; Zouma, Thicot, Cregg, Riordan; Stokes, Byrne. With Flynn, Hogg, Miller, McBride, Benji, Nish and Rankin on the bench.

Or something similar.

04-01-2010, 10:47 AM
I'm gonna put a tenner on Irvine Meadow after seeing Hibs the past 2 weeks

04-01-2010, 11:24 AM
That's true. Leeds would win the SPL this season IMO

:eek:

Anything below the first division in Scotland is comparable to 7th or 8th level in England (ie regional / county leagues)

That said, the announcer was behaving like a twat when he i(mo)ronically called them "mighty".

Like it! :thumbsup:

04-01-2010, 12:57 PM
Id go for:

Smith

McCann (If fit)___Murray___Hanlon___Booth

Cregg____McBride___Stevenson___Galbraith

_________Benji_______Riordan

- Give Smith some more time to adjust to the surroundings
- Give Murray game time after returning from injury
- Get to see Hanlon at his preferred CB
- Get to see the highly rated Booth
- Give Cregg/Stevenson/Galbraith/Benji some game time
- Give McBride more game time after injury
- Give Riordan a game in his preferred position, and give him an oppurtunity to return to goalscoring form
- A team good enough to go out and score a few...

04-01-2010, 01:21 PM
I personally don't think we should be fielding a weakened team to start the game though it may be the ideal opportunity to give a couple of youngsters a baptism coming off the bench.

We should not take this team lightly as they may be 1st division standard and this is a very important match for us as well as for them.

We would look very silly indeed resting players then losing to a non league side!

04-01-2010, 01:27 PM
I personally don't think we should be fielding a weakened team to start the game though it may be the ideal opportunity to give a couple of youngsters a baptism coming off the bench.

We should not take this team lightly as they may be 1st division standard and this is a very important match for us as well as for them.

We would look very silly indeed resting players then losing to a non league side!

I'm not doubting you, as I don't know, but why do you say they may be 1st division standard? Genuine question.

04-01-2010, 01:30 PM
Does anyone have any idea how many tickets IM have now sold? I had heard around 2,000 or so were gone 2 weeks ago!

04-01-2010, 01:34 PM
Anyone got a Hibs-Meadow scarf? Pretty classy imo but I reckon next week'll be the only time it'll be worn seeing as no sensible Hibs fan would bring blue to a game on a regular basis.. It'll be going up on my wall, unless the unthinkable happens.

04-01-2010, 01:35 PM
Anyone got a Hibs-Meadow scarf? Pretty classy imo but I reckon next week'll be the only time it'll be worn seeing as no sensible Hibs fan would bring blue to a game on a regular basis.. It'll be going up on my wall, unless the unthinkable happens.

Where did you get this?

04-01-2010, 01:36 PM
Where did you get this?

At one of the stalls outside the stadium before kick off, it's not official.

04-01-2010, 01:37 PM
I'll be getting one.

James.
04-01-2010, 01:40 PM
At one of the stalls outside the stadium before kick off, it's not official.

They've been selling them in the town here but fans have been asked not to buy them as no money goes to the club and to buy an official Meadow scarf instead. I will not be bringing mine to the game as I'll be in the East and will be hoping they get pumped.

If the unthinkable does happen I think I may have to relocate as the abuse from friends and colleagues would be unbearable.

04-01-2010, 01:47 PM
They've been selling them in the town here but fans have been asked not to buy them as no money goes to the club and to buy an official Meadow scarf instead. I will not be bringing mine to the game as I'll be in the East and will be hoping they get pumped.

If the unthinkable does happen I think I may have to relocate as the abuse from friends and colleagues would be unbearable.

Perhaps you could change identity under a police protection scheme! :greengrin

04-01-2010, 01:48 PM
I'm not doubting you, as I don't know, but why do you say they may be 1st division standard? Genuine question.

I am only saying that they MAY be 1st division standard because they are pretty much an unknown quantity but are obviously capable of winning against SFL sides. We should be fielding our strongest available team to start the match at least.

Cabbage1875
04-01-2010, 02:03 PM
Is Hanlon dominant enough in the air to cut it at Centre Half?

04-01-2010, 02:04 PM
I am only saying that they MAY be 1st division standard because they are pretty much an unknown quantity but are obviously capable of winning against SFL sides. We should be fielding our strongest available team to start the match at least.

Fair enough. They've beaten three senior sides: Brora, Selkirk and Arbroath. I'd be surprised if they are generally 1st Division standard TBH, but perhaps they can raise their play to a similar level in the Cup, as I believe they have some former Scottish League players in the squad.

I certainly agree we should start with a strong team to ensure no mess-ups, before we bring on a youngster or two

James.
04-01-2010, 02:06 PM
Perhaps you could change identity under a police protection scheme! :greengrin

I'm sure a lot of Hibs players would be doing the same :greengrin But nah we should scud them if we put out a strong team!

04-01-2010, 02:17 PM
Smith

Mccormack Hogg Hanlon Murray

Wspoon Mcbride Cregg Galbraith

Nish Riordan

With Byrne to come on for Deeks if we're winning comfortably, start with Riordan to get him back in amongst the goals hopefully although Yogi might start with Stokes, not wanting to stop his run of goals.

Mcbride with Cregg to give them both a run out, more to get Mcbride ready for the next game and starting with Hanlon in his preferred position so we can see what all the hype is about. :wink:

Who knows, we might even have a new signing to show off. (i'm not in the know, just wishful thinking). :greengrin

04-01-2010, 02:48 PM
Is Hanlon dominant enough in the air to cut it at Centre Half?
He's had at least a couple of MOM performances for the Scotland U-21 side at CB.

04-01-2010, 02:58 PM
He's had at least a couple of MOM performances for the Scotland U-21 side at CB.Think he also did likewise whilst on loan at St Johnstone ..

04-01-2010, 03:08 PM
How many fans are they bringing?

04-01-2010, 03:32 PM
How many fans are they bringing?

I tink I read somewhere that they are bringing a couple of thousand. Only hope that we can provide top class entertainment for them.

04-01-2010, 04:13 PM
Think he also did likewise whilst on loan at St Johnstone ..

He's also had MOM in the bounce games against Newcastle & Sunderland recently.

hibztilltheend
04-01-2010, 04:28 PM
discuss

mine would be...

............................smith................. .........

mccann(if fit)....hogg......hanlon..........murray

wotherspoon....cregg.....mcbride.......galbraith

....................stokes.....nish............... ......

misssed out zouma as i heard he was injured. dunno if truwe tho

flynn
thicot
stevenson
booth
miller
riordan
byrne

Hanny
04-01-2010, 04:31 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Hogg
Murray
Hanlon

Cregg
McBride
Stevenson

Benji
Nish
Byrne

04-01-2010, 04:31 PM
Hibs can't win here. The story is all about the smaller team. Better to concentrate on a clean sheet and respectable "goals for", than to bust a gut going for a cricket score and waste energy, and bring the possibility of bookings and injuries.

That said, it will depend on Irvine. I reckon if they can hold their own for 20 minutes or so, they could make life difficult, as the Hibs fans seem to expect nothing less than a demoliton.

ForeverHibs93
04-01-2010, 04:34 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Hogg
Murray
Hanlon

McBride
Miller
Cregg

Galbraith
Benji
Nish

fife hfc
04-01-2010, 04:45 PM
..............................smith............... ............
Wotherspoon.....Hanlon....Murray......stevenson
Galbraith...........Miller.....Mcbride......Riorda n
..................Benjelloun...Nish............... .......

SUBS - Flynn, Stokes, Cregg, Byrne, Zemmama (if fit) or Booth

04-01-2010, 04:46 PM
I know it would be a bit of a gamble, but I'd try out Booth at LB.

Smith

Wotherspoon Thicot Murray Booth

Byrne McBride Cregg Galbraith

Benji Nish

Subs: Flynn, Stevenson, Hanlon, Rankin, Miller, Riordan, Stokes.

04-01-2010, 04:53 PM
I'm torn between playing our strongest team (just in case...) or a team of fringe players (if they get beat against Irvine Meadow, they don't deserve to be at Hibs - no disrespect to Irvine Meadow).

So i'll go for:

.............................Smith

Wotherspoon.....Thicot......Hanlon........Murray

..........Cregg............Miller..........McBride

.............Byrne......................Galbraith
.............................Nish

Subs.

Flynn
Riordan
Stokes
Hogg
Stevenson

If McBride hadn't been out for 5 weeks or so, I'd have had Cregg in there, but I think McBride needs games, but so does Cregg. Think it's worth having thebig guns on the bench!

Ant & Deeks will be sick as they'll see this as a perfect chance to up the goal rate!!

BH.

04-01-2010, 04:54 PM
Googled Mighty Meadow / Medda and it seems that is their nickname.

Never heard it, and I'm not a fan of the stadium announcer, but maybe he was referring to them as they do themselves, bit like the Blue Brazil ???

04-01-2010, 04:58 PM
_________________Smith

Wotherspoon___Hogg___Hanlon___Murray

Zemmama____McBride___Miller___Galbraith

____________Stokes____Riordan

It might only be Irvine Meadow but its the scottish cup, lets not ****** about and get the job done.

04-01-2010, 05:02 PM
_________________Smith

It might only be Irvine Meadow but its the scottish cup, lets not ****** about and get the job done.

Decent enough side.

Prof. Shaggy
04-01-2010, 05:25 PM
I'd rest both Wotherspoon and Zemmama (one as this is his first season in the first team and the other for recovery purposes). I think Hogg and Murray need as much game-time together as possible and I think the Miller-McBride partnership should be re-established. I might be tempted to experiment a bit further up the park though:-

Smith
Thicot/Hanlon Hogg Murray Hanlon/Stevenson
McBride Miller
Byrne/Galbraith Riordan/Benji/Nish Riordan/Galbraith
Stokes/Nish

Is that even legible?

04-01-2010, 05:36 PM
_________________Smith

:agree: We are Hibernian not Arsenal.

04-01-2010, 05:44 PM
Am I right in thinking it's still only five substitutes allowed to be named in Scottish Cup ties?

And Booth isn't yet a member of Hibs first team squad - :hmmm: although I guess that doesn't prevent Yogi from fielding him on Saturday.

Hanny
04-01-2010, 05:47 PM
_________________Smith

Man Utd showed what can happen when fielding only a marginaly weakened side against a lower league team.

I think we'll see changes from the side that started against Hearts/Huns but it'll still be a strong side from Yogi.

Storar
04-01-2010, 05:48 PM
_________________Smith

swap Hanlon for Bamba and this would be my preferred team in any case regardless of the competition. But with Bamba away Hanlon is more than good enough!

Pete70
04-01-2010, 07:26 PM
I'd rest both Wotherspoon and Zemmama (one as this is his first season in the first team and the other for recovery purposes). I think Hogg and Murray need as much game-time together as possible and I think the Miller-McBride partnership should be re-established. I might be tempted to experiment a bit further up the park though:-

Smith
McBride Miller
Stokes/Nish

Is that even legible?

Don't think so , I'm pretty sure a team should only have 11 players in cup games as well as in the league:greengrin

04-01-2010, 07:40 PM
_________________Smith

That would be my team too but I may be tempted to switch Murray & Hanlon round :agree:

04-01-2010, 07:42 PM

Smith
McBride Miller
Stokes/Nish

Is that even legible?

2 Riordans and 2 Galbraiths would certainly keep their FB's pinned back.:wink:

HibeeUnderwood
04-01-2010, 08:30 PM
I'd go

GK Smith

DR Wotherspoon
DC Hogg
DC Thicot
DL Stevenson

MR Zemmama
MC Cregg
MC McBride
ML Galbraith

FC Benjelloun
FC Byrne

Subs
Flynn
Hanlon
Rankin
Nish
Riordan

This line up gives a few players who've not played as much a chance to play, but a few important players are in there to make sure we get the job done :agree:

Gus Fring
04-01-2010, 11:09 PM
Strongest squad possible for a few reasons

1) Im pretty sure its a rule?
2) Its not fair to Irvine to be cocky enough to start with a weaker squad
3) I might get grief for this but i trust yogi and i'm sure if players were good enough in the bounce games/training they'd be getting a game. Maybe im naive

04-01-2010, 11:25 PM
We're 2/5 to win by 2 goals or more on bet365 :cool2:

04-01-2010, 11:32 PM
Start with our strongest side then if we are walking it bring some of the younger players in (byrne galbraith etc)

04-01-2010, 11:51 PM
Start with our strongest side then if we are walking it bring some of the younger players in (byrne galbraith etc)

05-01-2010, 12:11 PM
I'd go

GK Smith

DR Wotherspoon
DC Hogg
DC Thicot
DL Stevenson

MR Zemmama
MC Cregg
MC McBride
ML Galbraith

FC Benjelloun
FC Byrne

Subs
Flynn
Hanlon
Rankin
Nish
Riordan

This line up gives a few players who've not played as much a chance to play, but a few important players are in there to make sure we get the job done :agree:
:agree: That's the kind of mix I would favour, although I would play Murray and Hanlon at CB.

If you can't give other members of the first-team squad a start in a home tie against a junior side, when can they ever expect to get such an opportunity?

Equally, starting with our first eleven again would place some of our key players at risk of unnecessary injury against a side that have one chance at glory and who are bound to give it their all physically.

Prof. Shaggy
05-01-2010, 04:01 PM
Don't think so , I'm pretty sure a team should only have 11 players in cup games as well as in the league:greengrin

2 Riordans and 2 Galbraiths would certainly keep their FB's pinned back.:wink:

OK that's what I get for a stream of consciousness team selection.
Start again:-

Smith

Thicot Hogg Murray Hanlon

Miller McBride

Byrne Riordan Galbraith

Stokes

killiedow
05-01-2010, 06:16 PM
[QUOTE=whiskyhibby;2296510]Here's a prediction, we will win by at least 15 goals......

:chop:i refer you to my earlier post regarding double figures.

05-01-2010, 06:19 PM
We're 2/5 to win by 2 goals or more on bet365 :cool2:

Seriously?

My wages will be going on that on Saturday :agree:

Thats daylight robbery!.

Infact ill see what winning by 4 goals is.

05-01-2010, 07:07 PM
I hate this competition,.............We're jinxed, i reckon that back in 1902 some jambo adventurer made a deal with a voodoo witch doctor and put a curse on us........ Im nervous about saturday, theres been a few David v Goliath matches in this competition and Goliaths been dumped on his erse a few times