View Full Version : How many decades have you been watching Hibs

02-01-2010, 11:21 PM
A scary though occurred to me, that tomorrow will mark the start of my 3rd decade (90's, 00's and 2010's - or whatever we are to call this upcoming decade) watching Hibs!! I am but a young whippersnapper though, so let's see who has the most impressive "Decade count" watching Hibs!!

GGTTH, and please thrash the Jambos tomorrow!!

noseyhibby
02-01-2010, 11:27 PM
5 decades on and off and only 3 league cups to show for it, but if I have to wait another 5 decades to see the boys in green and white lift the Scottish cup then so be it.
Happy new year tae one and A':party:

02-01-2010, 11:29 PM
A scary though occurred to me, that tomorrow will mark the start of my 3rd decade (90's, 00's and 2010's - or whatever we are to call this upcoming decade) watching Hibs!! I am but a young whippersnapper though, so let's see who has the most impressive "Decade count" watching Hibs!!

GGTTH, and please thrash the Jambos tomorrow!!

Cannot believe it's 5 including this one.

Jeez

Hibbie_Cameron
02-01-2010, 11:30 PM
4!!

80's, 90's, 00's, 10's.

Makes you out to older than you actually are:greengrin

02-01-2010, 11:30 PM
Can't include 2010 as we have not played yet :na na:

4 Decades so far.
It will be 5 decades tomorrow if the game is on:shocked:

Cheers for cheering me up ya bassa !:grr:

02-01-2010, 11:33 PM
6 decades - if you actually mean historical decades, as in 60s, 70s etc.

Hadn't realised my name was Jonnyboy, however! :greengrin

47 years in total but dropped out of it a bit in the late 80s / early 90s (probably the most carefree days of my life! :wink:) until my own children got interested and I came back to ER on a regular basis (I've still never really forgiven them :greengrin).

02-01-2010, 11:38 PM
If game is on tomorrow this will be my 7th 1959 first match.

02-01-2010, 11:38 PM
Almost 2 full decades so only 1 whole decade but 3 decades if you count 90, 00s, 10s (from tomorrow). :greengrin

02-01-2010, 11:40 PM
I voted 4.

But...if I'm spared for the game tomorrow, it will be 5. :agree:

AndyB_70
Bloody hell it 4 for me and I'm only 41 :dizzy:

Almost 2 full decades so only 1 whole decade but 3 decades if you count 90, 00s, 10s (from tomorrow). :greengrin

Can you be slightly more specific ?:greengrin

02-01-2010, 11:45 PM
Can you be slightly more specific ?:greengrin

I could look out the thread about our first game with the exact date. I think it was a 3pm KO so could get it down to the minute if you like. :greengrin

02-01-2010, 11:46 PM
The coming decade might be my eighth. :rolleyes:

I was 3 when my dad took me to my first game, so that would have been 1949 or 1950, but definitely 50's,60's,70's,80's,90's,noughties and now 10's.

02-01-2010, 11:47 PM
Not able to go tomorrow (family reasons ) but God willing if i get to go again it will be my 7th decade starting in 1951 so cant vote as it does not go back far enough and Im not Johnny:thumbsup::notworthy:

02-01-2010, 11:49 PM

:confused: :dizzy:

Archie70
41 year old seen them in 70s 80s 90s 00s and now my fifth decade. What a depressing post (for making me feel old, not watching Hibs)! My dad since 50s and his mate since 40s possibly even 30s. Its for folk like that I wish we'd win that damn cup!

First game was 6.9.69 v Partick and we won 5.1 so tomorrow will be 6th decade!

My first game was in '94 so that's me into my third decade.

03-01-2010, 12:00 AM
Not able to go tomorrow (family reasons ) but God willing if i get to go again it will be my 7th decade starting in 1951 so cant vote as it does not go back far enough and Im not Johnny:thumbsup::notworthy:

Lol, the generic term "JohnnyBoy" can be selected by an auld .net codger!! :greengrin

Prof. Shaggy
03-01-2010, 12:05 AM
I'm another auld JohnnyBoy.
'67

wazoo1875
03-01-2010, 12:08 AM
4 so far for me , tomorrow will be the start of my fifth :dizzy:

camhibby1
03-01-2010, 12:10 AM
Moved to Edinburgh in May '93 and went to my first match in August - bought an ST the following week and have done so every season since.

03-01-2010, 12:27 AM
My Dad's 64 so the next game we go to he will have been watching hibs over seven decades!

I'll just need to shut up and listen to him...because that's frightening!

03-01-2010, 12:42 AM
Where's the 'ten' option?

Bobo
03-01-2010, 12:49 AM
My 1st season was 1967-68 so that makes it 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's, 00's & 10's (If the game goes ahead tomorrow) so I guess it will be my 6th decade.

Monktonhall 7
03-01-2010, 12:52 AM
Feeling like an auld bar steward now, but first game was 68, so guess thats 6th decade. A win today will make it all worth while.

03-01-2010, 12:54 AM
5 decades for me!

70's, 80's, 90's, 00's and now 2010 onward! Hopefully I'll see a lot more.

03-01-2010, 01:05 AM
No sure I like this thread, makes me seem rather auld :grr: no as auld as some mind you :greengrin

70's, 80's, 90's, 00's,

and 10's tomorrow :pray:

03-01-2010, 01:11 AM
4 decades:bitchy: well really 3, this year doesn't count yet, late 80's/90's/00's and soon to be 10's, where did the time go:grr: Petrie!!

03-01-2010, 09:37 AM
4 .... Will be 5 after today if game is on.

If I had saved all that money I would own my own house and have a Jag.

Ah what the hell, loved every minute of it ( well nearly )

BenjiOscar
03-01-2010, 09:55 AM
If the game goes ahead today then that will be my 5th decade. First game back in 1978.

03-01-2010, 09:58 AM
Where's the 'ten' option?

It only FEELS like ten, Jonnyboy! :wink:

03-01-2010, 10:02 AM
2005 to now.

Took me a while to think football was anything but a bunch of men running around kicking a ball. :wink:

03-01-2010, 10:45 AM
I voted 4th ( although if you include 1 reserve game against aberdeen in the late 70's, then its the 5th). and i'm 'only' 38!

03-01-2010, 10:46 AM
I must be forgetful. I stuck down 4 then realised to my horror, or delight depending on how you look at it, I have actually supported Hibees through 6 decades. First game v Kilmarnock in 1966. In those days some of the players came out in the second half with freshly laundered strips on and creases down the front. Of course there were no subs. I remember Alan Cousins sitting on the bench as a sub the following season and that was a new thing in the game. It took us a bit by surprise and nobody stayed on the ground unless they were really injured (Bobby Duncan anyone?). My cousin took us to the games and my brother and I took up our regular position at the pitch side wall on the centre line, hence the .net name.
Songs at the time were "We'll support you ever more", "When the Hibs go marching in" and "Walk a Million Miles For One Of Your Goals". We used to buy a rosette and proudly stick it on out jackets and we shared the terracing with pals and supporters of the other team. The only place there was occasional conflict was in the shed. That was not all that serious although it could involve a number of beer cans over the top of the police cordon down the middle. For the most part crowds were swelled by the neutral supporters and it was a better time with nobody out for trouble. I do wish we could get back to that situation.
Happy days!!!

03-01-2010, 10:49 AM
Jeez Im 4 decades!

As if the big 30 coming this year wasnt depressing enough :boo hoo:

Still.....at least I'm not a yam or an OF goat :greengrin

Edit: Just realised my dad is now into his 7th decade!!!!!!!!!!!!

03-01-2010, 10:51 AM
1990 - 2010.

2 Decades. :agree:

Some people are counting the 10 as a decade, even although we are only the 3rd day into it. :wink:

DL1960
03-01-2010, 10:53 AM
My first game was in 1967 v Hearts East of Scotland tie. So 6 decades for me, not bad for a 49 year old. :greengrin

03-01-2010, 11:13 AM
1990 - 2010.

2 Decades. :agree:

Some people are counting the 10 as a decade, even although we are only the 3rd day into it. :wink:But that's what the question asked :greengrin

If I'm counting the number of actual years it's 3 decades for me and it tae the 4th, I prefer that disnae make me seem as auld :greengrin

howdenthehibby
03-01-2010, 11:47 AM
Started going in the late sixties so i guess that makes 2010 the start of my sixth decade. Holy ferk.

Zimmy
03-01-2010, 11:51 AM
6 decades now, I'm hoping this might be the best yet.:thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 12:00 PM
This is the start of my 6th decade of watching the Hibees and I'm hoping for many more! :wink:

I couldn't vote in the poll though! :boo hoo:

A nice committed performance of the team today playing to their capabilities will get the newly started decade off to a great start for the Hibees and this one in particular! :agree:

I'll be at the game today with my two sons and some friends as my Dad, who is in his 9th decade of watching the Hibees :cool2:, and has a seat right next to me, is not well enough to come out in the cold weather today but will be watching the game on tv! :agree:

Let's hope we match the Jumbos for effort, commitment and will to win and our superior abilities will prevail!

03-01-2010, 12:04 PM
Five for me ..

70s (the best),
80s (the ugly),
90s (the ups and downs),
00s (the should've been more);
and

10s (the era of the SC :pray:)

03-01-2010, 12:07 PM
Since 2006 for me, so 0 I guess!

03-01-2010, 12:12 PM
This is the 4th decade.

First game very late 80s as a 2/3 year old. Season ticket holder through all of the 90s and early 00s. Then work, uni and football commitments made me a sporadic attender from about 03/04 onwards, probably making about 10-20 games a season.

03-01-2010, 12:40 PM
1970 0-0 vs Hearts 5 decades, gosh.

03-01-2010, 01:03 PM
Saw my first game in 1940 aged eight so that is
EIGHT for me

:greengrin:dizzy:

03-01-2010, 01:08 PM
Since 2006 for me, so 0 I guess!

Thats 2 decades mate, at least by the stipulations of the poll :thumbsup:

confused
03-01-2010, 02:59 PM
Started in the 50's, i've filled some pants since then !!!!!

tony higgins
03-01-2010, 05:45 PM
Vaguely remember the 60,s.
Always had a slightly strange family life, long story.
So age 12, bolted out the door and off by public transport to Hampden for a Scottish Cup final semi final replay, 1972, we won 2-0.
Got back home just before midnight.
"We,re making french toast, would you like some ?"
Okay and oh, i,ve just been to Hampden, Hibs took Rangers apart and won 2-0.
There was 75000 people there and a big rammy behind the goal.
" Thats good, the toast is ready ".
Hey, life was different back then.