View Full Version : Arthur Milne....

02-01-2010, 11:40 AM
I found out yesterday that I'm a distant relation to Arthur Milne who played for Hibs some time ago!

Anyone got any information about him? I think he played in the 40's so it may be pushing even the elders of .net this one :wink:

Could an admin change the title of the thread to Arthur Milne!!

hibbybrian
02-01-2010, 12:55 PM
I found out yesterday that I'm a distant relation to Arthur Milne who played for Hibs some time ago!

Anyone got any information about him? I think he played in the 40's so it may be pushing even the elders of .net this one :wink:

Could an admin change the title of the thread to Arthur Milne!!

Arthur signed for Hibs on 13th May 1937 and he scored on his League debut in a 1-1 draw with Queens Park on 14th August 1937.

He scored more than 60 goals (probably way more) including:

1940: 3 goals v Hearts at Tynie in a 5-2 win (Rosebery Cup Final)
1941: 3 goals v Celtc in Glasgow in a 5-2 win (Summer Cup)
1942: 2 goals v Celtc in Glasgow in a 3-0 win (Southern League)
1944: 2 goals v Rangers in a 4-2 home win

1944: Played for Scotland at Wembley

1st January 1946 scored in 1-0 win v Hearts

He went on to play for St Mirren (6 seasons), Colraine and Cowdenbeath before retiring in April 1953.

02-01-2010, 01:48 PM
Nice one, thanks very much :thumbsup:

PC Stamp
02-01-2010, 01:53 PM
Affectionately known as 'Lil Arthur Milne.

I suspect he may have played in the infamous Scottish Cup game against Edinburgh City in 1938 where we didn't win .... or draw!! :greengrin

Edit - http://www.hibs.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=733&Itemid=1&limit=1&limitstart=1

He did .... and it doesn't make good reading!!!

02-01-2010, 02:34 PM
Affectionately known as 'Lil Arthur Milne.

I suspect he may have played in the infamous Scottish Cup game against Edinburgh City in 1938 where we didn't win .... or draw!! :greengrin

Edit - http://www.hibs.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=733&Itemid=1&limit=1&limitstart=1

He did .... and it doesn't make good reading!!!

late penalty to Hibs offered a lifeline but Arthur Milne, who had been guilty throughout of missing chances, struck the crossbar with his kick and though he followed up the rebound to shoot home it was of course disallowed. It was a stunning defeat and the home fans were far from happy, calling for action to be taken to strengthen the side.

ooops :dizzy:

Thanks though, very interesting to hear any wee snippets like that which I'll happily pass on to other family members :hnet:

davebt
02-01-2010, 03:16 PM
There is a match report for the game here (http://www.hibsprogrammes.co.uk/380122.html). Arthur Milne gets a few mentions.

02-01-2010, 05:17 PM
He played for Hibs for many years throughout the 40s and 50s, a sturdy hard tackling RB (I think) and his son is married to my cousin

hibbybrian
02-01-2010, 05:34 PM
He played for Hibs for many years throughout the 40s and 50s, a sturdy hard tackling RB (I think) and his son is married to my cousin

Arthur played throughout the late 30's to mid 40's and was a centre forward :devil:

He played for United from 1934 and is still Dundee United's record percentage scorer with over a goal a game in around 80 games.

He left United for a trial at Liverpool in 1937 and Hibs stepped in to sign him after the trial. He also played for United during the early years of the war 39-40 but was back at Hibs by late 1940. :cool2:

Purple & Green
02-01-2010, 09:50 PM
The P & G Records says in addition to above,

Arthur Milne played 186 games, scoring 106 goals in competitive games for Hibs in wartime & peacetime. His final appearance came in a 1-0 defeat v Hearts on 7th September 1946. He then went onto play for St Mirren, before becoming player coach at Coleraine in Northern Ireland. He then went onto play for Cowdenbeath.

I have him being born in Brechin in 1915, and his death being in Edinburgh 1997.

02-01-2010, 10:05 PM
I remember his name as my mum's old boss who took me to my first games back in the mid 60s used to go on about how 'Lil Arthur was his favourite player as a laddie....and he kept saying to his pals "but dinnae mention Edinburgh City tae him".