View Full Version : ****Weather Update - GAME IS DEFINITELY ON****

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

LHWM
03-01-2010, 09:13 AM
My Dad says football wouldn't have been cancelled back in his day because of snowy pavements. Shocking if it does.

I mean we're off to watch a mans game, we're not a bunch of poofters :devil:

There was only 1 postponement in the first 70 years of Ne'erday Derbies.

Though that game did allow the greatest Hibs player of all time to make his debut.

Postponed Ne'erday Derbies.

1941-04-28 Mon Hearts 3-5 Hibernian L Wartime 3004 Walker;Walker;Walker T(1 pen); [Gordon Smith;Bobby Combe;Tommy Adams;Gordon Smith;Gordon Smith(1 pen);]
link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/194104281.html)

1962-01-17 Wed Hibernian 1-4 Hearts L Div One 15277 Gordon;Wallace;Bauld;Gordon; [David Gibson;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/196201171.html)
1963-05-04 Sat Hearts 3-3 Hibernian L Div One 15538 Paton;Hamilton J;Davidson; [Jim Scott;Jim Scott;John Fraser;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/196305041.html)
1977-03-23 Wed Hibernian 3-1 Hearts L Premier 13625 Gibson; [Ally MacLeod;Bobby Smith;Jim Scott;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197703231.html)
1979-03-28 Wed Hearts 1-2 Hibernian L Premier 16042 Gibson; [Ally MacLeod;Ralph Callachan;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197903281.html)
1989-01-04 Wed Hibernian 1-0 Hearts L Premier 27219 [Eddie May;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/198901041.html)
1994-01-12 Wed Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 24139 Millar; [Keith Wright;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/199401121.html)
1995-01-18 Wed Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L Premier 12630 McPherson;Millar J; link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/199501181.html)

03-01-2010, 09:14 AM
Its off

hibs is life
na just kidding the game will be on am not far and it looks fine the gritters where out all night last night as a was up every hour a think and every time a looked out the gritter was going past

My Dad says football wouldn't have been cancelled back in his day because of snowy pavements. Shocking if it does.

I mean we're off to watch a mans game, we're not a bunch of poofters :devil:

Yikes - cue the avalanche (pardon the pun) of replies from the "politically correct" brigade ! :wink:

Well it can't be me - I'm a lady. :wink:

:faf::faf::faf::devil:

Dutch tram driver told me

Official Disclaimer

If any person falls on their erse (drink induced or otherwise; going/returning from Easter Road on 3rd January 2010), then Hibernian FC, Lothian & Borders Polis or Edinburgh coocil will not be held responsible for their actions.

Sorted.

Let the battle commence.

****** it. Bath is getting run, first tin of tennants getting opened. 'Mon the Hibs :thumbsup:

...Then make the short journey from the Nip to Easter road, via the Albion cafe :wink:

Its off

Where you hearing this?

Sandy
03-01-2010, 09:15 AM
Its off

Sauce ?

EasterRoad4Ever
Is this true?

No, just a stupid statement :grr:

For crying out ****** loud, will some **** just tell us whether it's on or off :grr::grr::grr:

ok its off

Is this true?

Jamsie I reckon the second quote was a reply to the first

:faf::faf::faf::devil:

Shut it Ronnie!! :grr:

Sandy
Dutch tram driver told me

Tosser :faf:

scott7_0(Prague)
Why dosent everyone go ahead with there plans, no news is good news as they say. What did you all do before the world of a refrsh button on a internet forum?

Guys, if anyone going to say that the game is off you have to back it up in some way.

BoozyLynne
Jamsie I reckon the second quote was a reply to the first

My ticker is skipping a beat every time I hit refresh!!! Come on already!

03-01-2010, 09:16 AM
dinnae understand all this fuss, the pavement outside my house are fine.

Shut it Ronnie!! :grr:

:dummytit::dummytit::wink:

****** it. Bath is getting run, first tin of tennants getting opened. 'Mon the Hibs :thumbsup:

Is that the Lidl version of Tennents? :greengrin

I just called the ticket office who said as far as we are aware the game is on

Reg Reagan
03-01-2010, 09:17 AM
why no conformation yet.................................?:confused:

HibeeMcGinn1
Dont say its off if you dont know. Every time I read "its off" I die a little inside

It's definitely on folks. 100%.

Info came from the club.

Hibstrooper
This thread is like waynes World when they are playing street hockey

game on!!!

Car!

Fantic
03-01-2010, 09:18 AM
it's definitely on folks. 100%.

Info came from the club.

yes!

Ok games off and I am backing it with blue tack

bob12345
Hearts site confirms game is on!

Info came from the club.:flag: :flag: :flag: :flag: :flag: :flag: :flag:

Just spoken to Rodders - game is on. :agree:

DistantHibee
im on Dalmeny st and there are no problems, sure the game will go ahead. Dont listen to the jambo **** trying to say the game is off.......... They are just hoping!! Fear is a terrible thing:faf:

Si_17
Offishull site ken:

"Game On
03 Jan 2010

Hibernian can confirm that the Edinburgh Derby this afternoon will go ahead as planned.
Lothian & Borders Police are asking supporters to allow extra time for the journey to the Stadium, and to take particular care with the underfoot and road conditions still affected by snow and ice."

Why don't the police tell Tesco and Sainsbury to close as well? And all the cinemas, Priinces Street, the Zoo, Edinburgh Castle etc etc.

Ach its only fitba fans, whit do thae matter ?

Abso-****in-lutely. Football clubs were told that they had to install (very expensive) undersoil heating or they wouldnt let them play in the top league. Now the Polis are looking at the road/pavement conditions. Its Embra FFS!

When it snows why not impose a curfew and anybody caught outside will be jailed. Its for your own good!

GAME IS ON!!!!!!!!!

http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/game-on-at-easter-road-20100103_2241384_1921482

scott7_0(Prague)
Will all you guys still be sitting in the house hitting refresh at 2.55, get a move on, the game is still on!!!!!

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/game-on-20100103_2262950_1921517

On! :thumbsup:

benlowe
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/game-on-20100103_2262950_1921517

fair play to official site :)

Can anyone that lives down there see any Polis hanging about?

"hanging about" - usually done in shop doorways around Easter Road after the match whilst Rangers fans are attacking the locals and singing illegal songs. Typically done in pairs, at double time and eating fish / white pudding supper.

This is an extract from the L&B handbook so I think the answer to your question is probably no.

Pete70
03-01-2010, 09:19 AM
News now on the the offical site.

Game is ON

EasterRoad4Ever
Ok games off and I am backing it with blue tack

can we get serious here :grr::grr:

Its on official site

yes!

Hibernian can confirm that the Edinburgh Derby this afternoon will go ahead as planned.

Lothian & Borders Police are asking supporters to allow extra time for the journey to the Stadium, and to take particular care with the underfoot and road conditions still affected by snow and ice.

there ya go

Car!

okay, game on.....game on:thumbsup:

****!!! I better leave now. Mon the Hibs :thumbsup::thumbsup::flag::flag::flag::flag:

hibsfan
yahoo!!!!

there goes my free pie though!

AugustaHibs
http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/game-on-at-easter-road-20100103_2241384_1921482 :jamboak:

Why is there not the same fuss about the surrounding areas of Parkhead?

hibeenicol
on the offishul site that game goes ahead as planned.:thumbsup:

db03
GAME ON!!!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

cad
03-01-2010, 09:20 AM
20 pages on whether a games on or of ,deary dear :worried: sorry 21

Baldy
Game definately ON (source Players)

whereswallace?
Lets get into these jambo *******s!!!

EasterRoad4Ever
Now, lets gets stuck intae them :agree:

**** the h****s

hibs is life
03-01-2010, 09:21 AM
come on lets have it :notworthy:

Deek01
Yasssss I can't wait !!!

Mrs Number_10's old man just phoned ER and they said the game is off...

..icially ON!

2nd hand info so don't shoot the messenger!!

Christ, I told you this over a hour ago :thumbsup:

Mon the Hibees :notworthy:

Aubenas
Why don't the police tell Tesco and Sainsbury to close as well? And all the cinemas, Priinces Street, the Zoo, Edinburgh Castle etc etc.

Zoo's been shut for five days!!!!!!!

20 pages on weather a games on or of ,deary dear :worried: sorry 21

changed it for you :wink:

03-01-2010, 09:22 AM
Now let's go rip these Hearts barstewards up for toilet paper!:notworthy:

03-01-2010, 09:23 AM
Come on Hibs, lets get stuck into this mob. 3-1 Hibs.

Woo Hoo.

Get oot that shower wummin:notworthy:

Riordans Boots

Info came from the club.

Cheers Mikey - Am away for my shower now :agree:

weststandhibby
changed it for you :wink:

glad its on.....relieved hibbeee wife nd daughters.....miserable git not hanging about the house......:greengrin

legends of 73
thats been the worst 3.5 hrs of my year to date now to get down and get a parking space.

thats me not working until tonight lol

03-01-2010, 09:24 AM
I'm gutted that the game has been confirmed as being on - I was enjoying the suspense ! :wink:

03-01-2010, 09:24 AM
Don't know whether to laugh or cry..just finished clearing snow again (still to tackle car ) its -10oC here my fingers through ski gloves are heading for frostbite...now find game is on when I don't know if I can get out

03-01-2010, 09:25 AM
Game on!!

03-01-2010, 09:26 AM
Dump this thread an jump on HibbyAndys!

:notworthy:

andyf5
03-01-2010, 09:27 AM
Roads pretty bad round Easter Road but council mini-plough in Albion Road on pavement.

Pleasantly surprised the game is on :thumbsup: - roads were pretty bad when I went down to collect tickets;

http://s276.photobucket.com/albums/kk7/andyf5/

hibbie02
03-01-2010, 09:28 AM
Right where's mah boots. I am off to fight with the National Express East Anglia and London Transport jointly sponsored obstacle course to get to Quinns.

Sandy
Magic :notworthy: Now to see if I can get HI working over here and watch the game after work, lets get into those manky barstewards

Anyone know how good/bad the roads are going into Edin from the West (Livi)?

muz1875
Legendary thread. Think it's now time to crack open the first beer of the day. :thumbsup:

GGTTH.

Just rang my brother in Hawkhill to let him know the game is on...from sunny Sydney.

he's hanging the flags out his windae now:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Gie him a wave as you pass.

03-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Roads pretty bad round Easter Road but council mini-plough in Albion Road on pavement.

Pleasantly surprised the game is on :thumbsup: - roads were pretty bad when I went down to collect tickets;

http://s276.photobucket.com/albums/kk7/andyf5/

That is what has been concerning them?? There's nothing bloody there!!!

deek1875
03-01-2010, 09:30 AM
right that`s me off to the hibs club drink drink drink
gbth

03-01-2010, 09:32 AM
Anyone know how good/bad the roads are going into Edin from the West (Livi)?

My dad said drive with care icey patches but drivable

03-01-2010, 09:33 AM

Agreed - I've sunbathed in worse than that !

03-01-2010, 09:34 AM
Cheers Mikey - Am away for my shower now :agree:

Well it is New Year :wink:

M8UDB
03-01-2010, 09:35 AM
Yaaaaas lets get into these c***s

Cool_Hand_Luke
03-01-2010, 09:35 AM

Here's another couple...Iona Street and Easter Road (at the junction of Iona Street)...its no too bad :greengrin

http://www.flickr.com/photos/46219323@N08/4240420992
http://www.flickr.com/photos/46219323@N08/4239647887

weststandhibby
03-01-2010, 09:39 AM
glad its on.....relieved hibbeee wife nd daughters.....miserable git not hanging about the house......:greengrin

The pearls of leaving laptop on when you head for the shower!!! Wife and daughters hijack the posts!
Bring on the train - next stop boozer and a day oot!!!

03-01-2010, 09:40 AM

Rossco442
03-01-2010, 09:41 AM
Great news! Now let's get the first pint in and get into this manly georgie mob!!! :thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 09:42 AM
Sub zero conditions... Ice and snow all around... Nade starting... Its gonna look like a David Attenborough(sp) documentary from the North Pole. Heard the polis have asked for a team of volunteers to help push him away from the pie stall before the game starts.

03-01-2010, 09:43 AM
Yes!! you absolute dancer!!

Now, shower, *****, shave and then pub.

Lovely jubbly and congrats to L+B Police for allowing - contrary to their normal approach - common sense to prevail!!!

crewetollhibee
03-01-2010, 09:43 AM
right that`s me off to the hibs club drink drink drink
gbth
Will the Hibs' club be members only today ?

03-01-2010, 09:46 AM
Sub zero conditions... Ice and snow all around... Nade starting... Its gonna look like a David Attenborough(sp) documentary from the North Pole. Heard the polis have asked for a team of volunteers to help push him away from the pie stall before the game starts.

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

03-01-2010, 09:47 AM
let's get the first pint in and get into this manly georgie mob

No wonder they think we are gay :wink:

martin63
03-01-2010, 09:50 AM
yahoo!!!!

there goes my free pie though!

:singing: Are you Nade in disguise?:singing:

:offski:

03-01-2010, 10:00 AM
Just been out to get some rolls, it's bloody baltic. :snowman

Though at least I know the 37 buses are running, seen one going up and down the road in Loanhead. Off to the pub in 30 minutes for some pre match beers. :thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 10:01 AM
Classic thread - will be even better if we win - has to go to the vault :agree:

Come on the Hibees :notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

03-01-2010, 10:07 AM
Yes!! you absolute dancer!!

Now, shower, *****, shave and then pub.

Lovely jubbly and congrats to L+B Police for allowing - contrary to their normal approach - common sense to prevail!!!

Shave what like, your heid :cool2:

It's bumfluff Tarquin son, just bumfluff :wink:

03-01-2010, 10:12 AM
Will the Hibs' club be members only today ?

I would imagine so :agree:

03-01-2010, 10:25 AM

first volunteer has arrived now...

Cool_Hand_Luke
03-01-2010, 10:34 AM
They're now gritting the pavements round about Easter Road :agree:

03-01-2010, 10:36 AM
Just rang my brother in Hawkhill to let him know the game is on...from sunny Sydney.

he's hanging the flags out his windae now:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Gie him a wave as you pass.

Will do!

and will be bunging a wee bit extra in the pipers case too.... :snowman

03-01-2010, 10:38 AM
anyone know what the pitch is looking like?

03-01-2010, 10:41 AM
anyone know what the pitch is looking like?

Aye it's green with white lines.

03-01-2010, 10:42 AM
Aye it's green with white lines.

RESULT!

Awwww! yer only jokin :grr:

AllyT
03-01-2010, 11:02 AM
They're now gritting the pavements round about Nade :agree:

Fixed it for you :wink:

03-01-2010, 11:12 AM
Ma mate who does coaching for the yams says their line up looks absolutely awful today, the boy at Right back particulary .. Marius Cinikas ? :confused: Anyway hopefully Deek will give him a tough time down that left side.. just leavin now come on the Hibs :thumbsup:

Landells
03-01-2010, 11:20 AM
Definitely on?

03-01-2010, 11:21 AM
Definitely on?FFS man ..can ye no read !!!!! :confused:.....:greengrin

Landells
03-01-2010, 11:24 AM
FFS man ..can ye no read !!!!! :confused:.....:greengrin

Sadly we don't have the luxury where I come from

:boo hoo:

03-01-2010, 11:26 AM
Sadly we don't have the luxury where I come from

:boo hoo::confused:....anyway ..here is the official line ..

Game on

03 Jan 2010

Lothian & Borders Police are asking supporters to allow extra time for the journey to the Stadium, and to take particular care with the underfoot and road conditions still affected by snow and ice."

Landells
03-01-2010, 11:28 AM
:confused:....anyway ..here is the official line ..

Game on

03 Jan 2010

Available in braille? :rolleyes:

Calvin
03-01-2010, 11:49 AM
A comical scene greeted me as I arrived at the stadium this morning where Tam the kitman was driving the world's smallest tractor with some kind of brush attached to it. The pavements around the ground have all been heavily gritted.