View Full Version : Graeme Smith signs

ross1875
31-12-2009, 11:02 AM
Strong Rumour that hibs will complete the signing of ex motherwell goal tender graeme smith tomorrow

31-12-2009, 11:03 AM
Strong Rumour that hibs will complete the singing of ex motherwell goal tender graeme smith tomorrow

Who's he with these day?

Decent back up for Stack if it happens.

ross1875
31-12-2009, 11:05 AM
Who's he with these day?

Decent back up for Stack if it happens.

think its brighton hes with

31-12-2009, 11:06 AM
A Hearts supporting goalkeeper. They tend to be good :rolleyes: so we'll be fine.

31-12-2009, 11:07 AM
think its brighton hes with

31-12-2009, 11:10 AM
mixu tried to sign him a year ago :agree:

31-12-2009, 11:22 AM
I would rather see someone come in on loan until the season end. Hopefully by that time, we can have a long term assesment on Stack. Now that we have a blossoming relationship with Sunderland, we could maybe take their normal keeper who is coming back from injury and needing games.:whistle:

31-12-2009, 11:27 AM
I would rather see someone come in on loan until the season end. Hopefully by that time, we can have a long term assesment on Stack. Now that we have a blossoming relationship with Sunderland, we could maybe take their normal keeper who is coming back from injury and needing games.:whistle:

i know we are better than some of the teams hes played for in the past, do u think he would come to er.

31-12-2009, 11:33 AM

ideally before Sunday :greengrin

Hibs Spain
31-12-2009, 11:34 AM
Strong Rumour that hibs will complete the singing of ex motherwell goal tender graeme smith tomorrow

Have you heard him shout?

hibbie02
31-12-2009, 11:37 AM
No one's asked the question yet!!!

Sauce????:greengrin

31-12-2009, 11:38 AM

Have you written him off yet?

31-12-2009, 11:41 AM

Saucey????:greengrin

ross1875
31-12-2009, 11:43 AM

Sauce????:greengrin

yogi

Twa Cairpets
31-12-2009, 11:44 AM
Strong Rumour that hibs will complete the signing of ex motherwell goal tender graeme smith tomorrow

tender? I'd prefer a keeper.

31-12-2009, 11:45 AM

:agree: Last thing we need is another softie.

31-12-2009, 11:45 AM

No and I havent heard Maka shout in the time he has been at ER either

tooley
31-12-2009, 12:01 PM
A Hearts supporting goalkeeper. They tend to be good :rolleyes: so we'll be fine.

Funny I thought he was a Hibs fan as a boy?:confused:

Hibs Spain
31-12-2009, 12:10 PM
Have you written him off yet?

He's stackish...run of the mill offering nothing extra.That's why he's where he is.Looked really iffy when we put three or four past them a while ago.And above all you can't have a goalie who sounds like someone from primary six when he shouts. Bad fir our street cred!!

rainman
31-12-2009, 12:15 PM
He's stackish...run of the mill offering nothing extra.That's why he's where he is.Looked really iffy when we put three or four past them a while ago.And above all you can't have a goalie who sounds like someone from primary six when he shouts. Bad fir our street cred!!

31-12-2009, 12:23 PM
this could turn into another Maka debate!! :cool2:

31-12-2009, 12:25 PM

And to think that you and your mate slag everyone off for not giving Maka a chance!

31-12-2009, 12:26 PM
anyone seen his website?

31-12-2009, 12:30 PM

Thank god for that then :agree:

No more howlers, clangers or selling the badge every second game now then :notworthy:

31-12-2009, 12:33 PM
Pretty sure Buzz is a Hun.used to live in Bilston/Roslin.

Hibs Spain
31-12-2009, 12:34 PM

And to think that you and your mate slag everyone off for not giving Maka a chance!

Thing is..I've seen Smith play four times a year kfor however long he was at well..I've got him down as Stackish..like hundreds of keepers throughout the country.Wouldn't be a disaster but certainly nothing above the mundane to offer like my boy! :cool2:

31-12-2009, 12:37 PM
Thing is..I've seen Smith play four times a year kfor however long he was at well..I've got him down as Stackish..like hundreds of keepers throughout the country.Wouldn't be a disaster but certainly nothing above the mundane to offer like my boy! :cool2:

And i've seen Maka play a hell of a lot more than that.....unfortunately. And i've got him down as Tom Kite.

31-12-2009, 12:38 PM

I don't think this is the ex-Motherwell one. It's the ex-Killie and Rangers one.

The Sundance Kid
31-12-2009, 12:40 PM
I don't think this is the ex-Motherwell one. It's the ex-Killie and Rangers one.

Definitey the ex well keeper now at Brighton.

31-12-2009, 12:44 PM
There isn't any point in Hibs signing a goalie anyway. The second he loses a goal that is in any way remotely saveable then he's going to be slagged to death.
By the way, anyone see the goal McGregor let in last night? Imagine if that had been Maka...
Ah, but wait. It's only Hibs goalies who have to be perfect.

31-12-2009, 12:48 PM
There isn't any point in Hibs signing a goalie anyway. The second he loses a goal that is in any way remotely saveable then he's going to be slagged to death.
By the way, anyone see the goal McGregor let in last night? Imagine if that had been Maka...

Nonsense. They all get a chance - it's only after the mistakes creep close to double figures that the majority realise they're pish.

Some still won't accept their initial assessment was wrong though.

31-12-2009, 12:49 PM
Lets just wait and see if he signs, and give him our full backing......

31-12-2009, 12:58 PM
that sortof attitude will never catch on:wink:

Perspective
31-12-2009, 12:59 PM
I wouldn't like to think we would touch either Graeme Smith with a barge pole.

The ex-Motherwell man is marginally better but both are rank average and, in my humble opinion, inferior to both Maka and Stack.

31-12-2009, 01:08 PM

Did he ever play against the Burgermeister? :hmmm:

31-12-2009, 01:12 PM

I'll take mundane anyday over panicking everytime Maka goes near the ball

legends of 73
31-12-2009, 01:13 PM

so he'll be pish then just like yer lover boy:greengrin

31-12-2009, 01:21 PM
he's not been getting a game at brighton cause he made a few blunders.

31-12-2009, 01:21 PM
Let's see if we sign before we write him ffs

franco
31-12-2009, 01:38 PM

yeah i noiticed he is even trying to like like bufon but ended up looking like a baffoon:wink:

31-12-2009, 02:06 PM

I think Maka, Brown, and that Pole (I've erased his name from my memory) dropped a lot more than one clanger each. And as far as Maka goes, it's about alot more than obvious mistakes: positioning, temperament, attitude, organization, reliability, jumping for saveable shots...

Whatever new GK that comes in will get good backing from most fans (maybe apart from Maka fans hoping to make a point?) even if he is just plain bog-standard average. In fact, plain bog-standard average sounds bloody good to me.

Hibs Spain
31-12-2009, 02:17 PM
I'll take mundane anyday over panicking everytime Maka goes near the ball
Well good luck to Mundane cos he wouldn't have got near the ball against Falkirk,Killie or Aberdeen.

spudhib
31-12-2009, 02:47 PM

Nah,he's currently between the sticks at St.Johnstone.

31-12-2009, 03:16 PM
Smith's a typical SPL keeper. A decent, sometimes inspired, shotstopper but no real physical presence & doesn't command his area. He's mostly been on bench for Brighton this season but got a run when Kuipers was injured. Brighton now have a new keeper, who virtually threw one into the net on Monday so Kuipers was on bench & no sign of Smith. I think this rumour may be true but may be short term deal only.

Hibs Spain
31-12-2009, 03:26 PM
Smith's a typical SPL keeper. A decent, sometimes inspired, shotstopper but no real physical presence & doesn't command his area. He's mostly been on bench for Brighton this season but got a run when Kuipers was injured. Brighton now have a new keeper, who virtually threw one into the net on Monday so Kuipers was on bench & no sign of Smith. I think this rumour may be true but may be short term deal only.

Amazing how many top keepers throw the ball in the net from time to time. Mcgregor yesterday..Brighton's new boy..Celtics No one Shay Given the other day ......Mcgregor against us to be honest.... No one shouting for their heads though :confused:

31-12-2009, 03:37 PM
A Hearts supporter making a debut in goals in a New Year Derby match at ER............:timebomb:

Dirkster23
31-12-2009, 03:53 PM
Amazing how many top keepers throw the ball in the net from time to time. Mcgregor yesterday..Brighton's new boy..Celtics No one Shay Given the other day ......Mcgregor against us to be honest.... No one shouting for their heads though :confused:

And that's the problem, every keeper makes mistakes- the key is not to make them too often :wink:

31-12-2009, 04:44 PM
forget graeme smith, what about mark Brown?

31-12-2009, 04:47 PM

I'm sure Graeme Smith is a Yam?

spudhib
31-12-2009, 04:51 PM

Graeme Smith having a medical today in the weedge i am told,unveiled tomorrow all being well.:agree:

ouzo
31-12-2009, 04:58 PM
My brother knows him and he has said in the past he would love to play for Hibs. He has never mentioned the Jambo bit but you never know..... He always spoke the cabbage up.......

31-12-2009, 05:08 PM
Graeme Smith having a medical today in the weedge i am told,unveiled tomorrow all being well.:agree:

oh well, supposed i'll get behind him then :wink:

31-12-2009, 05:19 PM
oh well, supposed i'll get behind him then :wink:

That's just hobo gay talk :greengrin

Hibs Spain
31-12-2009, 05:28 PM

Brilliant!Two nothings!Doesn't sound Hibs ethos to me!

31-12-2009, 05:42 PM
Quite an intersting wee article on his Motherwell days, written after he'd gone...

http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/players/player.php?id=37

his best form was during his return as first choice keeper having lost his spot through 'second-season blues'....:cool2:

capitals_finest
31-12-2009, 07:31 PM
I also heard today that Smith will be joining us. From what i heard (earlier today) he has agreed terms and is waiting to do his medical.

I also heard that yes he is a yam but since he was mucked about by them when they were supposed to sign him a wee while ago he has lost a lot of feelings he once had towards the club. i.e. they seriously pissed him off.

mayo hibee
31-12-2009, 07:47 PM
Quite an intersting wee article on his Motherwell days, written after he'd gone...

http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/players/player.php?id=37

his best form was during his return as first choice keeper having lost his spot through 'second-season blues'....:cool2:

That sounds like an encouraging report on the guy overall. Although i see he spent some time in the company of the very much respected Gordon Marshall at Motherwell...:paranoid:

31-12-2009, 07:51 PM
That sounds like an encouraging report on the guy overall. Although i see he spent some time in the company of the very much respected Gordon Marshall at Motherwell...:paranoid:

Aye, but Marsh wasn't coaching then...

BH.

Dalkeith
31-12-2009, 11:03 PM
on club site now

Billy
31-12-2009, 11:05 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/hibernian-make-new-year-signing-20100101_2262950_1920062

31-12-2009, 11:07 PM
That was quick! :dizzy:

Petrie's Tache
31-12-2009, 11:13 PM
Welcome MR Smith.:hnet:

31-12-2009, 11:14 PM
That was quick! :dizzy:

Not at all I telt you lot this morning :greengrin

Petrie's Tache
31-12-2009, 11:14 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Darren-Barr-on-Hibs-radar.5950273.jp

Barr also perhaps?

31-12-2009, 11:22 PM
on club site now

hopefully straight into the team (if stacks still injured) and Maka to 4th choice.

Landells
31-12-2009, 11:24 PM
Brillian news!:thumbsup: might play sunday?

31-12-2009, 11:24 PM
Welcome to the club Graeme!

BH.

31-12-2009, 11:27 PM
Welcome to the world of Hibernian Graeme :thumbsup:

31-12-2009, 11:28 PM

Just had a wee look on jambofc website. They have signed...............

wait for it................................................ .....................................

naebody!!! But there's a fire - woops, winter sale on!! :wink:

Welcome MR Smith.:hnet:

Ta much! a year a bit late though!:greengrin

kano
It seems to have been done very quick. Yogi mustve had that planned before makas nightmare on sunday by the look of it.Good signing proven spl player, hopefully he will have a good winning start on sunday.

31-12-2009, 11:30 PM
Good news happy new year:thumbsup:

James Connolly
31-12-2009, 11:32 PM
Fair play, cannae be any worse than the bombscare that is Maka!!

Hopefully provide decent competition to Stack for the No.1 jersey.

Petrie's Tache
31-12-2009, 11:33 PM
Ta much! a year a bit late though!:greengrin

Better late than never though!:wink:

vincipernoi
31-12-2009, 11:34 PM
well spotted Ross 1875

good sauce

31-12-2009, 11:38 PM
absolutely!

A sign of things to come perhaps?

31-12-2009, 11:39 PM
well spotted Ross 1875

good sauce

:smug::smug::smug: posted on PM board at 1040am by me :smug::smug: :wink:

Jaz
31-12-2009, 11:44 PM
Always rated him and really pleased he is the new Hibs goalie.

31-12-2009, 11:45 PM
:smug::smug::smug: posted on PM board at 1040am by me :smug::smug: :wink:

Enjoy it before TQM tries to claim it :faf:

31-12-2009, 11:49 PM
Always rated him and really pleased he is a new Hibs goalie.
:tsk tsk: Changed that for you! :greengrin

1875godsgift
31-12-2009, 11:52 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/hibernian-make-new-year-signing-20100101_2262950_1920062
He's got big hands hasn't he?

Happy New Year to all!:greengrin

31-12-2009, 11:56 PM
There's our goalie for Sunday..

Happy New Year everybody...

magpie1892
31-12-2009, 11:58 PM
Good news.

Cheerio Maka, it's been fun (in the main).

stubru59
01-01-2010, 12:04 AM
Good news.

Not good news, bloody great news. And what fun there was, I have forgotten about.

Sunday seems a whole lot better now.

01-01-2010, 12:05 AM
Good news.

:devil: TornadoHibby will be after you in the morning for posting that!! :greengrin

magpie1892
01-01-2010, 12:07 AM
Not good news, bloody great news. And what fun there was, I have forgotten about.

Och, I was working at the 1-0 Kerr derby and that was fun..!

magpie1892
:devil: TornadoHibby will be after you in the morning for posting that!! :greengrin

Looks like he'll be outnumbered.

Jaz
:tsk tsk: Changed that for you! :greengrin

I meant what I said.

i refuse to get excited about this till he gets in between the sticks...lets not get overexcited like he's some super top quality keeper...distinctly average from what i can recall. mind you average could be a big improvement..

01-01-2010, 12:09 AM
Good news.:agree:

Welcome to the club Graeme :thumbsup:

01-01-2010, 12:09 AM
He's a plant to get even fr the 7-0! :wink::devil:

HibeeUnderwood
01-01-2010, 12:18 AM
Good signing I think :agree:

We were linked with him last summer and nothing happened, then he went to Brighton and everybody completely forgot about him.

Hopefully he hasn't lost anything though and will turn out to be exactly what we need. :thumbsup:

01-01-2010, 12:24 AM
Excellent news,nice wee lift for the derby..

Welcome to the Hibernian family graeme....:agree:

EH6 Hibby
01-01-2010, 12:31 AM
I've just been told by a Yam that Smith has let in 28 goals in his last 8 games. Surely not. Can anyone confirm that this is Nade?

01-01-2010, 12:32 AM
Great news always liked him and hopefully he can waste his usual half an hour if were winning on sunday.

PC Stamp
01-01-2010, 01:17 AM
I've just been told by a Yam that Smith has let in 28 goals in his last 8 games. Surely not. Can anyone confirm that this is Nade?

'Fraid not. He played 10 games in total for Brighton and lost 30 goals in the process, including a 7-1 drubbing by Huddersfield in his first appearance!

Prof. Shaggy
01-01-2010, 01:23 AM

Its OK, Hearts haven't scored 28 goals in a season and a half.

18Craig75
01-01-2010, 02:18 AM
God help you.

basher88
01-01-2010, 02:31 AM
delighted:top marks

deek68
01-01-2010, 03:08 AM

'Fraid not. He played 10 games in total for Brighton and lost 30 goals in the process, including a 7-1 drubbing by Huddersfield in his first appearance!

Aw well, that's alright then..

Sandy
01-01-2010, 05:00 AM
i refuse to get excited about this till he gets in between the sticks...lets not get overexcited like he's some super top quality keeper...distinctly average from what i can recall. mind you average could be a big improvement..

Aye ****ing happy new year to you an all :greengrin Up and working this morning before anyone accuses me of being peshed (I wish !!!) .

Happy new year everyone.

Seems to be by by Maka then ?

01-01-2010, 07:25 AM

That would only be a problem if the goalie was solely responsible for the amount of goals lost. He's not so it's not necessarily an issue.

A decent SPL-level signing. Let's hope this goalie gets a chance before folk make their mind up about him.

01-01-2010, 07:31 AM
That would only be a problem if the goalie was solely responsible for the amount of goals lost. He's not so it's not necessarily an issue.

A decent SPL-level signing. Let's hope this goalie gets a chance before folk make their mind up about him.

Chris Kirkland conceeded 9 goals earlier this season and Weaver conceeded 7 the other night.

Would we moan and whinge if either of them signed for us. Team game. From what I remember he was pretty consistent at Murderwell before he left.

Give the boy a chance. Welcome to the family.

01-01-2010, 07:37 AM
Smith will be playing with better quality players than he did when he was the Motherwell goalie and will become a better player for it.

Good signing for us :thumbsup:

01-01-2010, 07:40 AM
Smith will be playing with better quality players than he did when he was the Motherwell goalie and will become a better player for it.

Good signing for us :thumbsup:

Defo. Well said that man

01-01-2010, 08:12 AM

Aye, right. Tell that to the Maka haters.

01-01-2010, 08:12 AM
Decent experienced SPL signing of a good age. Will provide good competition to a hopefully fit Stack. Good signing and get him in on Sunday.

01-01-2010, 08:36 AM
Always rated him and really pleased he is the new Hibs goalie.

So have I but things didn't go that well down south for him. Hope his confidence is ok. Jambo as well I believe.

01-01-2010, 08:40 AM
The sun newspaper take on this story, even they say Darren Barr is still a target for Yogi.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/2790634/Hibernian-move-for-keeper-Graeme-Smith.html

01-01-2010, 08:43 AM
Great news.

Welcome to the Hibee family.

A clean sheet on Sunday will do to start with please:thumbsup:

01-01-2010, 08:57 AM
Just the sort of signing we need and fits the bill for Yogi's target market. He's a player who's proved that he's good enough to get into the Scotland squad but has been down on his luck lately.

If he comes back as well as Murray, Riordan, Miller and Stokes we'll have done alright.

01-01-2010, 08:59 AM
Just the sort of signing we need and fits the bill for Yogi's target market. He's a player who's proved that he's good enough to get into the Scotland squad but has been down on his luck lately.

If he comes back as well as Murray, Riordan, Miller and Stokes we'll have done alright.

I have a sneaky feeling there's more to come in this window, too.

What's pleasing about this signing is it proves that Hibs haven't been sitting still on things. Yogi's obviously gone to the board with his targets and they're doing their best to get them signed.

Might turn out that we don't get everyone we want, but that happens to every football club, but it's refreshing and pleasing to see that again the board are backing the manager.

01-01-2010, 09:12 AM
Was always impressed with Smith when he played against us.

Think he will be a good signing for us......

01-01-2010, 09:13 AM
Happy with him signing as we need another keeper cos the big guy is just up to it.:thumbsup:

Pete70
01-01-2010, 09:13 AM
A decent signing with a fairly solid SPL pedigree.

Welcome to the club Graeme.

PS; don't make any mistakes too soon or you'll get slaughtered on here

01-01-2010, 09:25 AM
A decent signing with a fairly solid SPL pedigree.

Welcome to the club Graeme.

PS; don't make any mistakes too soon or you'll get slaughtered on here

This bit's a myth, IMHO.

Maka has been slated recently - some of it over the top IMHO, however he's been here since Collins was in charge, so it's hardly like folk slaughtered him for his first mistake and hung him out to dry.

Neither Stack (bar a couple of bams trying to prove a point about Maka) not Szamo got pelters as soon as they made a mistake. In fact, every keeper since McNeil came into the side in 07 has been given the benefit of the doubt to start of with, with almost everyone (again, bar a couple of bams trying to make a point about Maka) wanting them to do well.

Pete70
01-01-2010, 09:29 AM
Myth my ar$e, have not read any of the threads/posts on Maka. Some of it has been way out of order

01-01-2010, 09:32 AM
Myth my ar$e, have not read any of the threads/posts on Maka. Some of it has been way out of order

Aye, and he's coming into his third year at the club. Hardly getting jumped on the first mistake he's made!

I agree (as I said in my post) that some of it has been way over the top, but nobody's slaughtering a keeper that is just in the door - again, as I said, bar a few nutters who are trying to make a point about Maka.

01-01-2010, 09:32 AM
Good signing IMO. Always looked solid against us, and anytime I've watched Motherwell.

Always shouting at his defenders too and getting them organised, albeit in a ridiculously high pitched voice!

01-01-2010, 10:58 AM
Was he in goals when we humped Motherwell 6-1 at Fir park?

One of the finest Hibs performances in recent years if I recall.

01-01-2010, 10:58 AM
:rolleyes: I wonder if this means Stacks injury is causing more concern than is being let on.

Still think Maka will be in goal..obviously Yogi not keen to have to rely on Flynn as back up, which is a shame as he needs to play / be trusted to improve

emmjayfox
01-01-2010, 11:00 AM
:rolleyes: I wonder if this means Stacks injury is causing more concern than is being let on.

Still think Maka will be in goal..obviously Yogi not keen to have to rely on Flynn as back up, which is a shame as he needs to play / be trusted to improve

ive not seen any improvement in the time hes been here :wink:

01-01-2010, 11:06 AM

Noticed that the Express is saying that Yogi has lost faith in Maka and someone else has said the big guy is at an all time low. Will be interesting to see who plays on Sunday - will Smith play??

01-01-2010, 11:07 AM
Good steady fairly reliable keeper If I remember correctly, nothing spectacular but decent.

As said before, Stack has a lower disc problem and this may be long term rehab if it's as bad as I think it is.

Smith was in the Scotland squad a few years ago, so he'll see this as an opertunity to get back up to those heights.

01-01-2010, 11:12 AM
Noticed that the Express is saying that Yogi has lost faith in Maka and someone else has said the big guy is at an all time low. Will be interesting to see who plays on Sunday - will Smith play??

I'm sure Maka will be aware of what's written about him on the various Hibs sites, he's still fairly young and obviously doesn't take personal critisism very well. Smith will have kept himself in shape whether he's been playing regularly or not, goalkeepers have a different training schedule to outfield players, with ball handling, shotsaving etc taking up a lot of their time.

01-01-2010, 11:12 AM
not hibs class id rather we went for a Zibi and Maka double act in goals:wink:

01-01-2010, 11:14 AM
Good news.

Guys, you really have got me all wrong on this one! :cool2:

I have "supported" Maka on here as I genuinely believe that he is a far better keeper than many of the comments on here warranted and it was the nature and content of some of those comments which became almost incessent that pushed me to comment on a good few of them asking people to "justify" those comments with facts!

That was a big problem for a lot of the guys posting the negative and sometimes downright nasty comments as often there weren't facts to substantiate the negative comments (most recently the Killie goal proven to be a blatent foul on him by Ford and the blaming of him for all four goals in the Huns game when the defence was culpable in all four and it was doubtful if he was culpable in any except maybe the 3rd where he was damned if he tried to stop the near post shot and damned if he didn't as Boyd was on the 6yd line for a tap in then anyway! :agree:)! :cool2:

I have also said recently that he would probably be better off with another team and a fresh start as he is a decent keeper and, in my experience, talented youngsters simply need decent direction in terms of technical coaching and confidence building and maintainance to reach the top of their chosen profession all other things being equal. :agree:

However...........this lad Smith is now suddenly the answer to all our "goalkeeping problems" despite the fact that he seems not to have played many games over the past year or so and has lost a fabulous amount of goals during that time at his last club and found himself relegated to watching from the stand most recently! :confused:

I just don't get how anyone posting on here can come to that conclusion without having seen the guy playing over a decent "trial" period of say 10 or 12 games! Anything less would be foolhardy but it happened with Stack when he signed and although the guy has played a few games, he has been on the treatment table for many more weeks than those when he played! In fact, over his entire playing career, I don't think his games per season average has exceeded 10 games! :cool2:

I have an open mind on Smith and will watch the reaction to him on here with interest! I wish him all the best at Hibs and it goes without saying that he will get my full support if he is selected to play unless and until he shows that he doesn't deserve it! Maka never did that for me and to be honest neither has Stack which is why you won't find me posting negative unsubstantiated things about either of these guys! :cool2:

Happy New Year y'all! :agree:

emmjayfox
01-01-2010, 11:18 AM
lets hope smith has learned to come off his line for crosses :wink:

01-01-2010, 11:23 AM
Great signing maka has shown he's just not good enough. We now have two solid spl keepers.

Simkin911
01-01-2010, 11:33 AM
TornadoHibby wrote:
...and the blaming of him for all four goals in the Huns game when the defence was culpable in all four and it was doubtful if he was culpable in any except maybe the 3rd where he was damned if he tried to stop the near post shot and damned if he didn't as Boyd was on the 6yd line for a tap in then anyway! :agree:)! :cool2:

-
I'm not convinced Smith will be significantly better than Maka but what's needed is a more consistent keeper. A reliable & solid keeper who won't throw the ball in the net or make regular basic errors. If Maka didn't make basic errors then I think his performances would be much more acceptable.

Maka was definitely at fault for the 3rd Gers goal and it was a VERY basic goalkeeping error. Only the player in possession of the ball can actually score. Maka's positioning was SO poor that Novo didn't even have to pass to Boyd. I think a fair number of non-professional keepers could have taken up better positioning - that's how bad it was. :rolleyes:

Newhaven
01-01-2010, 11:33 AM
Great signing maka has shown he's just not good enough. We now have two solid spl keepers.

Maka's had his time (almost 2 and a half seasons at the club) and still he is sadly not the answer. He's given it a good shot but it's time to cut the cord and ditch him.

Thousands of .net fans are ecstatic at this news whilst 2 or 3 are sad. Says it all really.

01-01-2010, 11:36 AM
Smith will play. You dinnae sign someone a minute into a transfer window and keep him on the bench when the alternative is a bombscare. Especially when it'a NY derby against that shower of 5h1te fae Gorgie.

I feel sorry for Maka....taxi fares are extortionate at this time of year.

01-01-2010, 11:38 AM

Maka gets slated cos he's Tom Kite, no other reason!!

I'm happy with this signing, rated him at Motherwell and hopefully he will regain his form with us just like Deek, Murray, Stokesy and Miller has :greengrin

Keep em' coming Yogi :notworthy:

01-01-2010, 11:39 AM
Here he is -

http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10433~7179,00.html

Will he start in the Derby ?

Will it matter that he doesn't know his team mates too well ?

I hope he does as I feel Maka needs to get his head sorted again. Great guy but think his time has sadly come to an end at the club.

01-01-2010, 11:47 AM
TornadoHibby wrote:
...and the blaming of him for all four goals in the Huns game when the defence was culpable in all four and it was doubtful if he was culpable in any except maybe the 3rd where he was damned if he tried to stop the near post shot and damned if he didn't as Boyd was on the 6yd line for a tap in then anyway! :agree:)! :cool2:

-
I'm not convinced Smith will be significantly better than Maka but what's needed is a more consistent keeper. A reliable & solid keeper who won't throw the ball in the net or make regular basic errors. If Maka didn't make basic errors then I think his performances would be much more acceptable.

Maka was definitely at fault for the 3rd Gers goal and it was a VERY basic goalkeeping error. Only the player in possession of the ball can actually score. Maka's positioning was SO poor that Novo didn't even have to pass to Boyd. I think a fair number of non-professional keepers could have taken up better positioning - that's how bad it was. :rolleyes:

Assume you are still intoxicated from last night/early this morning such is the naivity of this statement! :wink:

The careful "drawing" of a player (incl goalkeeper here :wink:) to pass to another to score is a common tactic and would have been used by Novo/Boyd had Maka closed the front post off for Novo IMO! :agree: Maka could only have won had he guessed correctly and he didn't but it wasn't his fault that he was put in the position of having to make that clinical choice which was like flipping a coin in terms of success rate! :cool2:

Our defending was "Tom Kite" to use a term appearing here quite a bit of late for ALL FOUR GOALS and particularly this one if you care to review the "evidence" again! :agree:

If the Maka slating has to continue it would be at least fair to the guy to stick to the facts IMO! :confused: :cool2:

01-01-2010, 11:49 AM
I know this might not get a positive response but this isnt a great signing imo.

Never rated him at motherwell but at least be better than maka. I dont think he will make as many CLEAR mistakes but its the softness of the goals he concedes that worries me e.g when we pumped them at fir park 4-1 under mixu (rankin +riordans goals).

Still happy new year and good luck graeme, shut those ***** up on sunday and keep a clean sheet:agree:

01-01-2010, 12:00 PM
ive not seen any improvement in the time hes been here :wink:

Is everyone still drunk on here today :confused: Just how often have you seen Flynn play ?

Is this based on his warm ups from the bench :yawn:

01-01-2010, 12:03 PM
It says here he has conceded 28 goals in 8 starts.

http://www.theargus.co.uk/sport/albion/4827952.Albion_keeper_goes_back_to_Scotland/

01-01-2010, 12:07 PM
It says here he has conceded 28 goals in 8 starts.

http://www.theargus.co.uk/sport/albion/4827952.Albion_keeper_goes_back_to_Scotland/

Their fans talk highly of him! :faf:

01-01-2010, 12:14 PM
Their fans talk highly of him! :faf:

Aye! :greengrin

Simkin911
01-01-2010, 12:18 PM
Assume you are still intoxicated from last night/early this morning such is the naivity of this statement! :wink:

The careful "drawing" of a player (incl goalkeeper here :wink:) to pass to another to score is a common tactic and would have been used by Novo/Boyd had Maka closed the front post off for Novo IMO! :agree: Maka could only have won had he guessed correctly and he didn't but it wasn't his fault that he was put in the position of having to make that clinical choice which was like flipping a coin in terms of success rate! :cool2:

Our defending was "Tom Kite" to use a term appearing here quite a bit of late for ALL FOUR GOALS and particularly this one if you care to review the "evidence" again! :agree:

If the Maka slating has to continue it would be at least fair to the guy to stick to the facts IMO! :confused: :cool2:

==
I fully understand what you're saying and I certainly agree that the overall defending was v poor and Maka shouldn't have been put in the position that occurred. However, IMHO, I've made a very basic (or naive if you wish :wink: ) statement which I think correlates with the simplicity of the situation.

Maka's positioning meant that Novo didn't have have to make a pass and therefore there was a) no requirement for Boyd to finish, b) no opportunity for a defender to potentially intercept, c) no requirement for Novo to make the appropriate pass to Boyd and d) no requirement of Maka to make a save from Boyd.

Maka should have ensured that Novo needed to produce something pretty special to beat him from the wide position. Instead, it was all pretty straightforward. However, like you imply, poor defending and not Maka was to blame for the defeat.

ps- HNY to you 2! :wink:

Monktonhall 7
01-01-2010, 12:21 PM
Great news and about time we brought in an experienced keeper who, at 26, is a decent age. Hopefully he will prove himself, and we will get a few good years out of him. I can live with the high pitched voice and Jambo links if he does the business, and reduces my blood pressure.

Hibee_Lisa
01-01-2010, 12:24 PM
Was he in goals when we humped Motherwell 6-1 at Fir park?

One of the finest Hibs performances in recent years if I recall.

Meldrum was playing that day.

01-01-2010, 12:31 PM
Great news always liked him and hopefully he can waste his usual half an hour if were winning on sunday.

...I'll never forget at ER when he was with Motherwell and they were leading 1-0 forages. He was wasting time to a scandalous level and getting away with it as the utterly useless Richmond took no action. We equalised near the end and that gave him a fright, then we scored with literally the last kick of the ball. Never laughed so much as he had to pick up his keepers bag and stroll past everone to the tunnel taking massive GIRUY's from almost the entire stadium.

That aside, hope he does the business for us (if selected...:wink: )

as I said, bar a few nutters who are trying to make a point about Maka.

I think you are confusing 'trying to make a point' with opinions Matty - try not to go for the cheap jibes, it's a bit tedious.

Ever thought that Stack, who missed large portions of games at every club he's been with may have a serious back weakness? If so , we would need another solid keeper which may be what Hughes has gone out so quickly to bring in. If Maka is ditched then so be it, if retains the jersey and the out-of-form (when last in goals for the mighty Brighton) Smith is on the bench as back-up some folk on here are going to have made complete twats* of themselves in their craving to have Maka ousted.

*Now that's a solid point scoring jibe...:greengrin

millarco
01-01-2010, 12:31 PM
Pretty disappointed with this signing TBH. Was never impressed with him before-he can pull off some excellent saves, but his distribution is poor and he is terrible at coming for crosses and commanding his area. It's clear to everyone that we needed a new keeper with Stack knackered and Maka finished at Hibs, but I don't think Smith is the answer. Hopefully he'll have everyone behind him though, starting on Sunday.

emmjayfox
01-01-2010, 12:49 PM
Is everyone still drunk on here today :confused: Just how often have you seen Flynn play ?

Is this based on his warm ups from the bench :yawn:

i was referring to Makalamity.:bye:

Littlest Hobo
01-01-2010, 12:57 PM

:devil::wink::thumbsup:

Hibs Spain
01-01-2010, 01:10 PM
...I'll never forget at ER when he was with Motherwell and they were leading 1-0 forages. He was wasting time to a scandalous level and getting away with it as the utterly useless Richmond took no action. We equalised near the end and that gave him a fright, then we scored with literally the last kick of the ball. Never laughed so much as he had to pick up his keepers bag and stroll past everone to the tunnel taking massive GIRUY's from almost the entire stadium.

I think you are confusing 'trying to make a point' with opinions Matty - try not to go for the cheap jibes, it's a bit tedious.

Ever thought that Stack, who missed large portions of games at every club he's been with may have a serious back weakness? If so , we would need another solid keeper which may be what Hughes has gone out so quickly to bring in. If Maka is ditched then so be it, if retains the jersey and the out-of-form (when last in goals for the mighty Brighton) Smith is on the bench as back-up some folk on here are going to have made complete twats* of themselves in their craving to have Maka ousted.

*Now that's a solid point scoring jibe...:greengrinI think you'll find Matty'll be right :wink:

01-01-2010, 01:11 PM
i was referring to Makalamity.:bye:

So you are drunk (or stupid) if you are responding to a comment about Flynn with a comment about Maka

01-01-2010, 01:12 PM
Another clown.

FFS.

Hibs Spain
01-01-2010, 01:19 PM
Pretty disappointed with this signing TBH. Was never impressed with him before-he can pull off some excellent saves, but his distribution is poor and he is terrible at coming for crosses and commanding his area. It's clear to everyone that we needed a new keeper with Stack knackered and Maka finished at Hibs, but I don't think Smith is the answer. Hopefully he'll have everyone behind him though, starting on Sunday.He wasn't even on the bench at Brighton in the end.

01-01-2010, 01:38 PM
Guys, you really have got me all wrong on this one! :cool2:

I have "supported" Maka on here as I genuinely believe that he is a far better keeper than many of the comments on here warranted and it was the nature and content of some of those comments which became almost incessent that pushed me to comment on a good few of them asking people to "justify" those comments with facts!

That was a big problem for a lot of the guys posting the negative and sometimes downright nasty comments as often there weren't facts to substantiate the negative comments (most recently the Killie goal proven to be a blatent foul on him by Ford and the blaming of him for all four goals in the Huns game when the defence was culpable in all four and it was doubtful if he was culpable in any except maybe the 3rd where he was damned if he tried to stop the near post shot and damned if he didn't as Boyd was on the 6yd line for a tap in then anyway!)! :cool2:

I have also said recently that he would probably be better off with another team and a fresh start as he is a decent keeper and, in my experience, talented youngsters simply need decent direction in terms of technical coaching and confidence building and maintainance to reach the top of their chosen profession all other things being equal. :agree:

However...........this lad Smith is now suddenly the answer to all our "goalkeeping problems" despite the fact that he seems not to have played many games over the past year or so and has lost a fabulous amount of goals during that time at his last club and found himself relegated to watching from the stand most recently! :confused:

I just don't get how anyone posting on here can come to that conclusion without having seen the guy playing over a decent "trial" period of say 10 or 12 games! Anything less would be foolhardy but it happened with Stack when he signed and although the guy has played a few games, he has been on the treatment table for many more weeks than those when he played! In fact, over his entire playing career, I don't think his games per season average has exceeded 10 games! :cool2:

I have an open mind on Smith and will watch the reaction to him on here with interest! I wish him all the best at Hibs and it goes without saying that he will get my full support if he is selected to play unless and until he shows that he doesn't deserve it! Maka never did that for me and to be honest neither has Stack which is why you won't find me posting negative unsubstantiated things about either of these guys! :cool2:

Happy New Year y'all! :agree:
Mate, you must take the all-time Hibs.net award for long posts peppered liberally with the [:cool2:] smilie. You must have averaged at least four of these per post in recent weeks!

Actually very 'uncool' when used to excess. :greengrin

Happy New Year and here's to thumping the Yams on Sunday, whoever is in goals. :thumbsup:

01-01-2010, 01:47 PM

*Now that's a solid point scoring jibe...:greengrin

Not sure what Stack's back injury has to do with the point I was making, nor what it has to do with folk revelling in his perceived (in their eyes) weaknesses.

I hope you're right - I hope Maka makes the folk who have gone OTT in slaughtering the guy, eat their words. I hope they do end up looking like twats because he's proved them wrong. Look back through my posts and I'll defy you to find one that's a)been unreasonable about Maka or b)shouting for him to be ousted.

And it's not a cheap jibe. In my opinion, there are a few folk on here hell bent on winding folk up about Maka, on both sides of the argument. The ones most vocal in their support are the ones most critical of Stack. Co-incidence? I don't think so.

The claim that I was countering was that Hibs keepers get slaughtered on here as soon as they make a mistake. I was saying that's nonsense, as all the keepers from McNeill on have been supported and defended very well when they've come into the side, with the exception of Stack, who got it tight from people that didn't want to see Maka replaced. I don't think that point's wrong.

I think you'll find Matty'll be right :wink:

01-01-2010, 02:14 PM
Born in Edinburgh, signed from Brighton but we need to get internatonal clearance for him to play on sunday? :confused:

01-01-2010, 02:17 PM
Not sure what Stack's back injury has to do with the point I was making, nor what it has to do with folk revelling in his perceived (in their eyes) weaknesses.

I hope you're right - I hope Maka makes the folk who have gone OTT in slaughtering the guy, eat their words. I hope they do end up looking like twats because he's proved them wrong. Look back through my posts and I'll defy you to find one that's a)been unreasonable about Maka or b)shouting for him to be ousted.

And it's not a cheap jibe. In my opinion, there are a few folk on here hell bent on winding folk up about Maka, on both sides of the argument. The ones most vocal in their support are the ones most critical of Stack. Co-incidence? I don't think so.

The claim that I was countering was that Hibs keepers get slaughtered on here as soon as they make a mistake. I was saying that's nonsense, as all the keepers from McNeill on have been supported and defended very well when they've come into the side, with the exception of Stack, who got it tight from people that didn't want to see Maka replaced. I don't think that point's wrong.

I said they will have made twats of themselves, not that Maka could/would make twats of them.

I wasn't trying to suggest you wre part of the Stack situation, I did start a new paragraph, perhaps another row may have made that clearer.

As for him getting it tight.........hardly.

He has faults like every other keeper but because the team has been racking up a run of results people become blinkered to deficiencies, but they still exist like it or not.

Including the newly arrived Smith, I'll bet you that come this time, next year we will have the same topics on the board as we have just now, ie this keeper or that keeper as IMHO we are building up a group of keepers who are not at the level I personally prefer us to have. We have seen excellent keepers in the past and demand more of the same form whoever is next to wear the jersey so perhaos we all need to ease of a bit.

nb 'vocal' on a message board...:wink:

01-01-2010, 02:21 PM
Born in Edinburgh, signed from Brighton but we need to get internatonal clearance for him to play on sunday? :confused:

different associations registered within FIFA.

..does sound a bit daft but I think this is the new FIFA initiative of centralised registration, set up as there was so many protracted transfer sagas involving different associations within different regions, like the Zemmama = Africa to EUFA farce.

01-01-2010, 02:23 PM
Good signing, he may not be an outstanding goalie, but i'm sure he'll be an improvement on Maka and at least the players can have a bit of confidence in the position. Good lift for the derby.

Ps Happy new year to all :thumbsup:

01-01-2010, 02:31 PM
I said they will have made twats of themselves, not that Maka could/would make twats of them.

I wasn't trying to suggest you wre part of the Stack situation, I did start a new paragraph, perhaps another row may have made that clearer.

As for him getting it tight.........hardly.

He has faults like every other keeper but because the team has been racking up a run of results people become blinkered to deficiencies, but they still exist like it or not.

Including the newly arrived Smith, I'll bet you that come this time, next year we will have the same topics on the board as we have just now, ie this keeper or that keeper as IMHO we are building up a group of keepers who are not at the level I personally prefer us to have. We have seen excellent keepers in the past and demand more of the same form whoever is next to wear the jersey so perhaos we all need to ease of a bit.

nb 'vocal' on a message board...:wink:

:agree: With nicknames for him and everything.

IMHO, Toaods, there are a few on both sides who just post extreme views to wind up the other side. You maybe don't agree with that, but it's the way I see it. It's why I'll refuse to get drawn into the debate about Maka now, because there's no reasoning with either side - the arguments from both are (IMHO) increasingly banal and blinkered and I genuinely don't believe it's because the folk are of the opinions that they're posting, I think they post for a reaction.

I think we should demand the highest standards from the goalkeepers, as we should across the park. In not doing so, we're never going to reach the levels we should be aspiring to. We should never be reluctant to point out when something or someone isn't good enough, so long as it's done in an appropriate manner.

hibsdaft
01-01-2010, 02:42 PM
decent signing on paper.

we as a support have got to accept that all keepers will make mistakes though. ever since Zibi we've been waiting for our keepers to fail and reacting to every keepers mistake like its the end of the world.

01-01-2010, 02:48 PM
Mate, you must take the all-time Hibs.net award for long posts peppered liberally with the [:cool2:] smilie. You must have averaged at least four of these per post in recent weeks!

Actually very 'uncool' when used to excess. :greengrin

Happy New Year and here's to thumping the Yams on Sunday, whoever is in goals. :thumbsup:

Thanks for pointing out a potential weakness in my posting "style"! :cool2:

However, it is difficult to take anyone who uses the term "uncool" seriously IMO so I'm just gonna carry on doing what I want on here! :faf: :faf:

HNY to you too and I do hope we play as well as we are capable of and compete 100% for every ball on Sunday! That should be enough to beat the Jumbos! :greengrin

01-01-2010, 03:16 PM
Could be interesting to see who gets the nod for the place on sunday seeing as Stack and Maka have meant to be fit for Sunday, according to Sky Sports. http://www.skysports.com/football/match_preview/0,19764,11065_3206540,00.html

01-01-2010, 04:59 PM
Could be interesting to see who gets the nod for the place on sunday seeing as Stack and Maka have meant to be fit for Sunday, according to Sky Sports. http://www.skysports.com/football/match_preview/0,19764,11065_3206540,00.html
If Stack is fit, I expect Yogi will give him the nod.

ancienthibby
01-01-2010, 05:05 PM

Back problems rarely cure overnight, as I well know!

If this is an insurance signing I suspect it will be with the long-term in mind!:greengrin

01-01-2010, 05:46 PM

if fit, stack should get the nod. that would be the right thing to do.

joejoefaemexico
01-01-2010, 05:48 PM
with all this nodding going on are we talking about the yogster or the churchill dug?

Taz_hibee
01-01-2010, 05:57 PM

This is the thing that is really confusing me, personally I have not heard Yogi slate Maka or state that he will never play for Hibs again as claimed in a number of reply's in his post.

I am happy to go with our managers decision over whichever keeper he decides to play

01-01-2010, 06:00 PM
This is the thing that is really confusing me, personally I have not heard Yogi slate Maka or state that he will never play for Hibs again as claimed in a number of reply's in his post.

I am happy to go with our managers decision over whichever keeper he decides to play

I dont think its any secret though that Yogi gets frustrated with maka at times. If you have watched Hughes reaction at maka during the games this season you will have seen this.

01-01-2010, 06:04 PM

I'm the same and tried to explain that on the long running Maka thread.

The vultures have dived in with all these by, bye Maka / Maka GTF type threads and posts, yet he is under contract at the club and may well remian the first choice for the time being at least.

His long term future at ER must be slim the way a lot of the fans react, not too dissimilar to the Gary Megson situation at Bolton really. Still if he plays against Hearts I'm sure the vultures will not join in with a Makalambay chant after his first great save as a matter of principal...:wink:

01-01-2010, 06:20 PM
Thoughts of Well fans.

http://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=6093

Landells
01-01-2010, 06:32 PM
Is he eligible to play Sunday?

01-01-2010, 07:20 PM
welcome to the club graeme smith:thumbsup: you jambo loving bassa:devil:

01-01-2010, 07:40 PM
Decent keeper from what i can remember, another good addition to the squad.

Hibeescott
01-01-2010, 07:54 PM
welcome to the club graeme smith:thumbsup: you jambo loving bassa:devil:

Buzz is a die hard Rangers fan.

IMO If all 3 are fully fit and available, Stack will be No.1, Smith No.2 and Maka No.3............Yogi has had a serious go at Maka in each of the last 3 or 4 games now so I think he has had it with him. Maka might not make the end of the transfer window i dont think.

01-01-2010, 10:21 PM
Its on the fishy site......But absolutely no mention of it on BBC website, which is a bit random considering the first I heard of him signing was on 5Live today.....

Good old BBC eh

01-01-2010, 10:24 PM
Buzz is a die hard Rangers fan.

IMO If all 3 are fully fit and available, Stack will be No.1, Smith No.2 and Maka No.3............Yogi has had a serious go at Maka in each of the last 3 or 4 games now so I think he has had it with him. Maka might not make the end of the transfer window i dont think.

He's a jambo, source - his maw.

Sanger
02-01-2010, 08:50 AM
He is mates with a young guy at work. Told him last year that was signing for Hibs but deal fell through when Mixu went. Gers fan but hates Hearts. Anything better than maka.

Pete70
02-01-2010, 10:03 AM
So at least 6 folk on here are reliably infirmed who smith supports. :greengrin

"A Hearts supporting goalkeeper."

"Funny I thought he was a Hibs fan as a boy"

"Pretty sure Buzz is a Hun."

"Buzz is a die hard Rangers fan"

"He's a jambo, source - his maw. "

"Gers fan but hates Hearts."

(Cliche alert) At the end of the day, does it really matter who he supports as long as he does a good job between the sticks? :greengrin

02-01-2010, 10:04 AM
So at least 6 folk on here are reliably infirmed who smith supports. :greengrin

"A Hearts supporting goalkeeper."

"Funny I thought he was a Hibs fan as a boy"

"Pretty sure Buzz is a Hun."

"Buzz is a die hard Rangers fan"

"He's a jambo, source - his maw. "

"Gers fan but hates Hearts."

(Cliche alert) At the end of the day, does it really matter who he supports as long as he does a good job between the sticks? :greengrin

:tee hee: Reminds me of the Ian Black threads.

02-01-2010, 10:04 AM

Man U fan. FACT. (etc.)

Pete70
02-01-2010, 10:05 AM

Oh aye, who was it he supported again?

02-01-2010, 10:17 AM
Thoughts of Well fans.

http://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=6093

some differing views on smith but one constant..........they think Maka is gash too. could we send them Hibspain to put them right?

02-01-2010, 10:21 AM
Oh aye, who was it he supported again?

Either Man United, Hearts, Hibs or no team at all. All reported at one time or another on here as FACT (usually on the same thread) :agree:

Expecting Rain
02-01-2010, 10:22 AM
Saw a lot of negative comments about McBride before he played for us and he is turning out to be one of our most important players, Smith was a good keeper before he went down south, Maka is erratic,Stack injured and Flynn isn`t ready.

02-01-2010, 10:30 AM
Stack and Smith will fight it oot for no1 shirt. Maka's toast.

Action Jackson
02-01-2010, 11:16 AM
It doesn't really matter who he supports or supported, the main point here is that he now plays for Hibs and will be a very good acquistion to the club.

Good luck to him and I am sure he will give 100% to the team and the fans every week.

:notworthy:

Hibeescott
02-01-2010, 12:19 PM
He's a jambo, source - his maw.

Thats nonsense!!

I know his girlfriend, who is a celtic fan, and I have spoke to him a few times......he is a rangers man.

02-01-2010, 12:20 PM
Thats nonsense!!

I know his girlfriend, who is a celtic fan, and I have spoke to him a few times......he is a rangers man.

1OO% Hun:agree:

02-01-2010, 12:25 PM
Who gives one who he supports? :confused:

KT's a Hibby and was in the paper the other day saying he hopes his cousin (Mclean?) scores a hat trick against us, as long as Hibs still win 4-3.

Still a **** though. :greengrin (IMO of course)

Taz_hibee
02-01-2010, 12:44 PM
As I said in earlier reply I will support who ever Yogi puts in goals tomorrow but I wish I could see the faces of all the posters who are so sure Maka is finished if Yogi goes with him :devil:

I must be missing something at all the games I go to as I can honestly say I have never seen Yogi having a direct rant at Maka as reported by many on here, the mates i go with have said same thing, maybe we are too busy watching the game rather than sitting desperatly waiting for our keeper to make a mistake

02-01-2010, 12:45 PM
As I said in earlier reply I will support who ever Yogi puts in goals tomorrow but I wish I could see the faces of all the posters who are so sure Maka is finished if Yogi goes with him :devil:

I must be missing something at all the games I go to as I can honestly say I have never seen Yogi having a direct rant at Maka as reported by many on here, the mates i go with have said same thing, maybe we are too busy watching the game rather than sitting desperatly waiting for our keeper to make a mistake

Saw and heard it at the Rangers game, not directly at Maka but to the Hibs bench.

Hibeescott
02-01-2010, 12:49 PM

I think many Hibs fans will support whoever is in goals, just many believe that Maka has had too many chances. IMO he has the potential to be a good goalkeeper but I just don't think that will be with us or in the SPL. He has a reputation as being a bombscare now and therefore is under so much pressure everytime he goes onto the pitch, and I dont think he copes well with it. What Maka needs is a clean slate down south were nobody knows of his previous mistakes.

And depends were you sit.....I sit behind the dugouts in the West and have seen a good few rants Yogi has had at Maka....including in the Rangers game were Bamba got involved.

Taz_hibee
02-01-2010, 12:50 PM
Saw and heard it at the Rangers game, not directly at Maka but to the Hibs bench.

I have also seen him have rants at many off the outfield players, or as you say he likes to have a wee discussion with players on the bench when things are not going to plan but no one comments on that

Taz_hibee
02-01-2010, 12:54 PM
....including in the Rangers game were Bamba got involved.[/QUOTE]

and can you confirm 100% that they were both having a go at Maka as I have heard different versions of this event with 1 being Yogi was unhappy with Bamba and defence for letting the ball run through to GK without chasing it back and letting Gers player run rite through them

Hibeescott
02-01-2010, 01:00 PM
....including in the Rangers game were Bamba got involved.

and can you confirm 100% that they were both having a go at Maka as I have heard different versions of this event with 1 being Yogi was unhappy with Bamba and defence for letting the ball run through to GK without chasing it back and letting Gers player run rite through them[/QUOTE]

No thats not what I meant.......Yogi was having a go at Maka over what I dont know, one of his fluffed kicks I think........Bamba was sticking up for Maka.

Was similar rants against Motherwell and Aberdeen......(when maka kicked it to their player and the guy tried to chip him and missed)........but noticed after the motherwell game he went to him after the game and hit him over the head and had a laugh with him so who knows.

As i said I like Maka, he is great with the fans and will be a good keeper, I just dont think he will be with us.

02-01-2010, 01:19 PM
What Maka needs is a clean slate down south were nobody knows of his previous mistakes.

luckily nobody has access to the internet and we all think Smith played every game for Brighton without conceding a goal...:wink:

Brighton Hibee
02-01-2010, 03:32 PM
I interviewed Smith when he signed for Brighton and he seems like a decent bloke. Was keen to make an impression down here but had a pretty bad run of luck to be honest.

Our keeper was sent off early on at Huddersfield and Smith came on for his debut and his first job was to save a penalty!

Unfortunately, he then let in 6 and we lost 7-1!

Our defence has been pretty woeful this season and we've shipped a fair few goals. I've not seen Hibs play in 09/10 but obviously, as a unit, the team seems to be doing well.

Smith needs to rebuild his confidence. Once he has, he'll be fine. He showed some glimpses of quality at the Albion but couldn't rely on the men in front of him.

Great to see Hibs doing well.

Our stadium (http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/StadiumGallery/0,,10433~1845549,00.html) is going up fast now.

Thanks again to all of you that helped with the postcards a couple of years ago.

02-01-2010, 03:40 PM
I interviewed Smith when he signed for Brighton and he seems like a decent bloke. Was keen to make an impression down here but had a pretty bad run of luck to be honest.

Our keeper was sent off early on at Huddersfield and Smith came on for his debut and his first job was to save a penalty!

Our defence has been pretty woeful this season and we've shipped a fair few goals. I've not seen Hibs play in 09/10 but obviously, as a unit, the team seems to be doing well.

Smith needs to rebuild his confidence. Once he has, he'll be fine. He showed some glimpses of quality at the Albion but couldn't rely on the men in front of him.

Our stadium (http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/StadiumGallery/0,,10433~1845549,00.html) is going up fast now.

Thanks again to all of you that helped with the postcards a couple of years ago.

I'm sure he will get all the time he needs at Hibs! :greengrin

02-01-2010, 03:48 PM

Aye but not on Hibs.net unless he plays a flawless (clean sheet) stormer every game! :wink: :greengrin

02-01-2010, 03:52 PM

:agree: I'm sure he will. If he consistently makes mistakes over a period of time he'll get hammered though.

mcfly
02-01-2010, 04:19 PM
anyone heard if smith has been registered in time to play tomorrow??

if not who will play in goals??

02-01-2010, 04:42 PM
anyone heard if smith has been registered in time to play tomorrow??

if not who will play in goals??

Nothing confirmed, but I would have thought that it should all go through in time!!

BH.

02-01-2010, 08:33 PM
An old article from the summer if anyone's interested:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/motherwell/7945230.stm

02-01-2010, 08:38 PM
he seems like a decent bloke.

that will irk a good few on here already, apparently it's someone with the aggression of a Tasmanian Devil we need.

camthebam
02-01-2010, 10:22 PM
Hughes has already said he signed him because he wants four good keepers in the squad. No slur on Maka.

He's already publicly said he's more than happy with Maka and has publicly defended him after all his so called mis-haps.

I, for one, can read between the lines though. :top marksto Yogi for the alacrity of this appointment though. He's not blind.

I seem to recall Smith getting a few favourable reports when with 'well. And hopefully Yogi's picked another gem that really, really needs to get his career back on track (a la Miller). Hardly a Friedel but still.

I couldn't give a f#ck what team he supported. John Robertson was a Hibee, etc, etc.

Think Stack's back for the morn anyway but I for one am sleeping better tonight after reading this.

02-01-2010, 10:58 PM
An old article from the summer if anyone's interested:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/motherwell/7945230.stm

then he signed for Brighton...:faf:

03-01-2010, 10:11 AM
Ultimately I think that, the signing of Smith gives Yogi more options in the goalkeeping department than he would have had, had he not brought another goalkeeper to the club.

03-01-2010, 10:15 AM
Ultimately I think that, the signing of Smith gives Yogi more options in the goalkeeping department than he would have had, had he not brought another goalkeeper to the club.

:agree: If Smith plays today then there more chance that Maka or Stack will be on the subs bench than if Smith doesn't play. :wink:

03-01-2010, 10:31 AM
:agree: If Smith plays today then there more chance that Maka or Stack will be on the subs bench than if Smith doesn't play. :wink:

:agree: If Smith starts he's unlikely to be on the bench. One of injury-prone Maka and Stacka could start and be on the bench though.

03-01-2010, 10:34 AM
:agree: If Smith starts he's unlikely to be on the bench. One of injury-prone Maka and Stacka could start and be on the bench though.

:agree: If we can score more than the Yams then there's a strong possibility that we might take all three points.

03-01-2010, 10:35 AM
:agree: If we can score more than the Yams then there's a strong possibility that we might take all three points.

:agree: Keeping a clean sheet is vital, I think that if we can stop the Yams from scoring then there's an excellent chance we won't lose.

03-01-2010, 10:42 AM

:agree: Keeping a clean sheet is vital, I think that if we can stop the Yams from scoring then there's an excellent chance we won't lose.