How far is he away from being fit?

27-12-2009, 04:47 PM

Even if he needs assistance standing he's a better option than Maka :agree:

27-12-2009, 04:59 PM

hughes says on his post match interview that stack "believe it or not has had an EPIDURAL to calm his back" must be in some pain!

27-12-2009, 05:00 PM
hughes says on his post match interview that stack "believe it or not has had an EPIDURAL to calm his back" must be in some pain!

Also said there was a chance he'd be back for Wednesday.

27-12-2009, 05:05 PM
What about Flynn ?

Sink or swin I would guess ?

Also McBride - must have been a bad injury as he's been out for ages :grr:

27-12-2009, 05:07 PM
Also said there was a chance he'd be back for Wednesday.

And he also said he wants to bring 3 or 4 goalies to the club.

27-12-2009, 05:08 PM
What about Flynn ?

Sink or swin I would guess ?

Could ruin him though - look at what happened to McNeil.

27-12-2009, 05:13 PM

Flynn I agree with to a certain extent - Yogi never brought him to the club but various teams have had to play a younger keeper in a big match to see how they react.

Grof / McNeil didn't swim - and look where we are now.

If he is at the club Yogi must think he has a future so when do you give him a run ? Scottish Cup home game ? :confused:

Will Maka be even fit to play on Wednesday ??

27-12-2009, 05:23 PM
Scoopyboy understands Stack wasn't far away from being ready for today.

Hopefully he will be ok for the games on Wednesday and Sunday for without him I fear the worst.

I am now going on to the Maka thread to tell them what I think so this may well be my last sensible post tonight.

27-12-2009, 05:24 PM
Scoopyboy understands Stack wasn't far away from being ready for today.

Hopefully he will be ok for the games on Wednesday and Sunday for without him I fear the worst.

I am now going on to the Maka thread to tell them what I think so this may well be my last sensible post tonight.

:faf::faf::thumbsup:

27-12-2009, 05:34 PM

3 or 4 players, perhaps. Not 3 or 4 goalies! That cannae be right....

27-12-2009, 05:40 PM

That's what he said - 3 or 4 keepers.:agree:

27-12-2009, 06:00 PM
I think you are wrong in that assessment.
If Stack were to require assistance standing up it would take one , possibly two outfield players to do this.
Having so many players in front of the goal area would seriously hamper Stack's ability to communicate his movements which would be required regularly due the reduced number of outfield players for our team.

With that in mind I disagree with your suggestion

We coud use a zimmer frame, a couple of walking sticks or crutches..

Or just give Chris Hogg and John Rankin the task to hold up Stack..

It's not like they'll be missed elsewhere :cool2:

27-12-2009, 06:03 PM

It's what he said. :agree: Must be one to replace Maka, one to be 3rd choice and one or 2 youngsters?

He was talking about the goalie situation at the time so I don't think he meant 3 or 4 players.

AndyM_1875
27-12-2009, 06:13 PM

Never ever thought McNeil was a bad keeper. He was a good shot stopper and was brave. That save he made in the LC Final was stunning. He played behind a back 4 that was at times was a shambles and because of Hibs reputations with keepers he got a bad rep whenever we lost a game. He made a few mistakes, he was 21 FFS but was he really worse than what we have now? Doubt it.

The pressure put on McNeil was huge and Mixu managed to break his confidence completely. ******in great one fatso.:grr:

27-12-2009, 06:15 PM
I might give Davie Grof a phone, see what he's doing on Wednesday..

27-12-2009, 06:19 PM
I might give Davie Grof a phone, see what he's doing on Wednesday..

Getting pished and boasting about the good old days when he was Hibs number 1 and Celtic were chasing him. :agree:

27-12-2009, 06:19 PM
Never ever thought McNeil was a bad keeper. He was a good shot stopper and was brave. That save he made in the LC Final was stunning. He played behind a back 4 that was at times was a shambles and because of Hibs reputations with keepers he got a bad rep whenever we lost a game. He made a few mistakes, he was 21 FFS but was he really worse than what we have now? Doubt it.

The pressure put on McNeil was huge and Mixu managed to break his confidence completely. ******in great one fatso.:grr:

Naw it wisnae, it was a basic save any keeper should make. A keeper that was never good enough for Hibs. FFS we dont half think players get better when they have gone.

AndyM_1875
27-12-2009, 06:28 PM
Naw it wisnae, it was a basic save any keeper should make. A keeper that was never good enough for Hibs. FFS we dont half think players get better when they have gone.

McNeil was a young keeper playing behind a back 4 in which Murphy was the only one worth a toss (with a brain) with Captain Jones consistently causing mayhem in his own back 4, Hogg not having the cojones to tell Jones to sort his appalling positioning out, a right back who thought he was a midfielder and has been shown up at Rangers as he's sure as hell not a right back. Add to that a manager at the time who was to tactical awarenes what Jambos are to clear headed thinking.

So McNeil was crap and these other 3 were utterly blameless for Hibs losing cheap goals. Right.:rolleyes:

27-12-2009, 06:33 PM
McNeil was a young keeper playing behind a back 4 in which Murphy was the only one worth a toss (with a brain) with Captain Jones consistently causing mayhem in his own back 4, Hogg not having the cojones to tell Jones to sort his appalling positioning out, a right back who thought he was a midfielder and has been shown up at Rangers as he's sure as hell not a right back.

So McNeil was crap and these other 3 were utterly blameless for Hibs losing cheap goals. Right.:rolleyes:

:faf: Keep taking the tablets. Whittaker £2m Murphy £1.7m Jones £500k, and hoggs still here. McNeil is where?:faf::faf:

PC Stamp
27-12-2009, 06:41 PM
Hughes said he'd like to have 3 or 4 (experienced) keepers in his squad. Reason being that with Stack completely injured and Ma-Kalambay carrying a hamstring strain he only has young Thomas Flynn left fully fit who is untried at 1st team level.

AndyM_1875
27-12-2009, 06:49 PM
:faf: Keep taking the tablets. Whittaker £2m Murphy £1.7m Jones £500k, and hoggs still here. McNeil is where?:faf::faf:

Think you need the tablets if you think that's an answer.:wink:
The residual values taken from the maket by our excellent board of directors for 3 players should be applauded considering we could get done under the Trades Descriptions Act for one of them.

Where have I criticised Murphy? The best left back we have had at this club since Erich Schaedler. But Jones and Hogg together consistenly made bad calls. When we sold Whittaker we won a watch.

Jones was our very own Captain Clanger in his last 18 months.
If you think playing behind a bombscare like him whilst your specialist coach is an idiot like Gordon Marshall and your manager is a tactical pygmy like Mixu doesn't affect you then all I can say to that is :faf::faf:

Never mind perhaps Yogi will pull a keeper from the hat in January

27-12-2009, 06:56 PM
Think you need the tablets if you think that's an answer.:wink:
The residual values taken from the maket by our excellent board of directors for 3 players should be applauded considering we could get done under the Trades Descriptions Act for one of them.

Where have I criticised Murphy? The best left back we have had at this club since Erich Schaedler. But Jones and Hogg together consistenly made bad calls. When we sold Whittaker we won a watch.

Jones was our very own Captain Clanger in his last 18 months.
If you think playing behind a bombscare like him whilst your specialist coach is an idiot like Gordon Marshall and your manager is a tactical pygmy like Mixu doesn't affect you then all I can say to that is :faf::faf:

Never mind perhaps Yogi will pull a keeper from the hat in January

So many holes to pick, but i'm going out now to get hammered. Perhaps when i get in, your post will start to make sence. Still i'm sure Mcneil is happy playing for , is it brechin, and at night when reflecting on how well he's done with his career, he can look back at the highlights of playing behind those players you mention. As there is nothing more sure, than they are as good as it was ever going to get for him.

weedgiehibbie
27-12-2009, 07:04 PM

Christ is the Hibs keeper rep that bad where now we're now gonna look at playing 3 or 4 in goals :faf:

Hibs On Tour
27-12-2009, 08:52 PM

Exactly. I think that as Hibs fans we have to take one on the chins ourselves. Managed to ruin a good goalkeeper through nothing more than our own bile. Well done us!

27-12-2009, 09:03 PM
How far is he away from being fit?Hopefully no far away so we can get rid of that clown or get the laddie in.

27-12-2009, 09:07 PM
Exactly. I think that as Hibs fans we have to take one on the chins ourselves. Managed to ruin a good goalkeeper through nothing more than our own bile. Well done us!

Sorry, but that's total nonsense. We have had a string of keepers who for want of a better expression, have turned to sh~te before our very eyes. Malkowski, Makalambay, McNeil. I think we should ensure our next keeper's name doesn't begin with the letter "M". Clearly, that is where the problem lies. That and the coaching that they had been getting from Marshall.

27-12-2009, 09:09 PM
I think we should ensure our next keeper's name doesn't begin with the letter "M". Clearly, that is where the problem lies. That and the coaching that they had been getting from Marshall.

Interesting theory. :greengrin Having said that Thompson's not improved Maka very much so it kind of puts a spanner in the works.

27-12-2009, 09:11 PM
Interesting theory. :greengrin Having said that Thompson's not improved Maka very much so it kind of puts a spanner in the works.

Well, some things you just can't fix. Even all the king's horses and all the king's men couldn't put humpty together again. Humpty was the architect of his own downfall long before the cavalry pitched up. He cannae blame them or indeed the wall...

27-12-2009, 09:18 PM

It's what he said. :agree: Must be one to replace Maka, one to be 3rd choice and one or 2 youngsters?

He was talking about the goalie situation at the time so I don't think he meant 3 or 4 players.

Hughes said he'd like to have 3 or 4 (experienced) keepers in his squad. Reason being that with Stack completely injured and Ma-Kalambay carrying a hamstring strain he only has young Thomas Flynn left fully fit who is untried at 1st team level.
OK, then.

Sounds like curtains for Maka and Flynn, then. Maybe Stack as well.

PC Stamp
27-12-2009, 10:15 PM
OK, then.

Sounds like curtains for Maka and Flynn, then. Maybe Stack as well.

Flynn is very highly rated but has only just turned 19. Not sure how you work out it's curtains for him? He'd possibly be away on loan right now to gain some experience if we had another more experienced back up to Stack & MaKalambay.

And I'm pretty sure he didn't say he wanted to bring in 3 or 4 keepers. He said he'd like to have 3 or 4 keepers. On that basis he presently has 3 but only 2 with any sort of experience.

27-12-2009, 10:25 PM
Flynn is very highly rated but has only just turned 19. Not sure how you work out it's curtains for him? He'd possibly be away on loan right now to gain some experience if we had another more experienced back up to Stack & MaKalambay.

And I'm pretty sure he didn't say he wanted to bring in 3 or 4 keepers. He said he'd like to have 3 or 4 keepers. On that basis he presently has 3 but only 2 with any sort of experience.

Saw a lot of Flynn last season in the 19s and liked him. Looked a fair height.

Today when he was warming up he didn't look very tall.

What height is he?

28-12-2009, 01:04 AM

I was basing my comments on an earlier post which inferred that Hughes had stated he would want to 'bring' 3 or 4 experienced goalies in.

davym7062
28-12-2009, 01:15 AM
id rather have benji in goal

28-12-2009, 02:58 AM
IMO if Stack is able to stand up for 90 minutes he is a far better option in goals than that imposter today.

YetholmHibee
28-12-2009, 03:04 AM
Stack was missed today!!

Please make a quick recovery!!

Maka is finished.

28-12-2009, 12:16 PM

Quite different then from "bringing 3 or 4 (new) keepers in" as has been posted elsewhere on the board since 2pm yesterday (earlier for those not actually at the game)! :wink: :cool2:

28-12-2009, 12:31 PM

As said, it was the sort of save I would expect our keeper to make as a matter of course. It looked more spectacular than it was because McNeil (how shall I put this?) not as tall as most keepers are in the modern game. If the ball had been 6-8 inches closer to the crossbar, it would have been a goal.

Get used to it. McNeil simply wasn't up to it.

And while Mixu was probably the least successful manager of Hibernian in my lifetime (with the exception of one Dave Ewing), "******in great one fatso..." says a lot more about the person YOU are than it does about him.

:agree: We could do with another keeper with first-team experience. That's what Yogi said, I'm sure. Which means he may sign another senior keeper in the window. I'm sure he doesn't want to have to throw Flynn in at the deep end at this stage of his career.

Flynn IMO is a MUCH better keeper in the making than McNeil ever was.

28-12-2009, 12:53 PM

I was listening to BBC radio on the way home and am pretty sure that's what he said. What you're saying makes more sense though - I assume I've misheard him or he's not worded it as he intended.

PC Stamp
28-12-2009, 01:31 PM
I was listening to BBC radio on the way home and am pretty sure that's what he said. What you're saying makes more sense though - I assume I've misheard him or he's not worded it as he intended.

Comment made clearer here (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/now-we-look-for-answers-20091228_2262950_1916380)

2nd last para.