View Full Version : Greggs Premier League Manager caught in a brothel

ivan03
23-12-2009, 08:37 PM
did anyone buy a Sun newspaper today? front page article about how an english premier league manager was caught in a brothel!

but they couldnt reveal who it was yet? any body got more info??

23-12-2009, 08:43 PM
did anyone buy a Sun newspaper today? front page article about how an english premier league manager was caught in a brothel!

No but I do know of a current SPL manager who used to frequent a certain London Street establishment! :wink:

23-12-2009, 08:44 PM
Think we've got to be careful about naming names....

I have a rough idea though :agree:

ivan03
23-12-2009, 08:47 PM
thought it was quite strange that the sun had so much info on it but couldnt tell us which one of the 20 it was!

a scottish manager anyone think??

23-12-2009, 08:52 PM
I have a feeling..its no your Wengers or Sir Alex.. but i got a feeling who it is.

23-12-2009, 08:52 PM
Come on who do you think it was?

GC
23-12-2009, 08:54 PM
Rafa!

His defence was poor though.

23-12-2009, 08:54 PM
Ay wonder oo it could be. dead intiest'n.

23-12-2009, 09:07 PM
It's not illegal, so why the big deal?

Or is it the super-sanctimonious Sun making moral judgements again?

NB Hibby
23-12-2009, 09:27 PM
I heard it was really Nade---but he couldnae score in a brothel.:greengrin

aberhibsfc
24-12-2009, 08:11 AM
Nade would only go to one if someone told him there was Tarts with Pies.

24-12-2009, 08:16 AM
Yeah, good move, the Sun won't name him for fear of legal action but let's plaster his name all over here so that the admin team can get 20 years hard labour in Siberia.

:whistle:

24-12-2009, 08:17 AM
Yeah, good move, the Sun won't name him for fear of legal action but let's plaster his name all over here so that the admin team can get 20 years hard labour in Siberia.

:violin:

24-12-2009, 08:21 AM

Interesting point. Is it defamatory to print a story about someone doing something that's not against the law, but is against some people's morals?

24-12-2009, 08:22 AM
Front page news eh?

I hate the moral high ground papers like that take, then they have a picture of a 19 year old wi her tits oot on the next page (I'm not against page 3 but given that they have it seems a bit rich to make a big deal of something that has gone on for years)

norhfc
24-12-2009, 08:26 AM
has anyone a link,I cant see it on their site.

hibee
24-12-2009, 08:37 AM
has anyone a link,I cant see it on their site.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2782226/Married-Premier-League-boss-caught-in-a-brothel.html

24-12-2009, 08:40 AM
:violin:

Interesting point. Is it defamatory to print a story about someone doing something that's not against the law, but is against some people's morals?

Dunno, but the Sun is keeping the name quiet for a reason. Until it's common knowledge we're probably best to do the same :wink:

24-12-2009, 09:17 AM

Dunno, but the Sun is keeping the name quiet for a reason. Until it's common knowledge we're probably best to do the same :wink:

On Human Rights grounds, it seems.

I don't often quote the Daily Ma*l, but here is their take on it.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1238017/Premier-League-manager-caught-visiting-prostitutes-brothel.htm

24-12-2009, 09:18 AM
It's not illegal, so why the big deal?

Or is it the super-sanctimonious Sun making moral judgements again?

I thought that prostitution was illegal but tolerated in 'saunas'.

24-12-2009, 09:26 AM
I thought that prostitution was illegal but tolerated in 'saunas'.

Not so, Woody. The purchase and sale of sex is not illegal in the UK, although there are some who would make it so.

There are, however, some illegal acts surrounding the industry, eg:-

1. sex with minors, obviously.

2. soliciting (which, in Scotland, is a civil offence, not a criminal one)

3. kerb-crawling (no convictions thus far in Scotland).

4. brothel keeping, which is notoriously difficult to prove.

I am not sure if it is law yet, but the plan in England is to make it illegal to buy sex from trafficked men and women. Very laudable, but again I think probably very difficult to prove.

The toleration of saunas that you mention is widespread. Edinburgh's model, which has been operated for over 20 years, has been copied throughout the UK. It licences saunas as places of entertainment, with all the legal requirements thereof.

24-12-2009, 09:52 AM
I would put money on that when the 'manager' saw the Sun reporter he would fill his pants with the brown stuff. :wink:

24-12-2009, 09:55 AM
Think we've got to be careful about naming names....

I have a rough idea though :agree:

They've got plenty to say about who it could be over on FollowFollow (http://forum.followfollow.com/showthread.php?t=612936)

24-12-2009, 09:57 AM
They've got plenty to say about who it could be over on FollowFollow (http://forum.followfollow.com/showthread.php?t=612936)

I've not got a sign-on so I can't view but my guess is they think it was a catholic?

24-12-2009, 09:57 AM
It licences saunas as places of entertainment, with all the legal requirements thereof.[/QUOTE]

I take it that this means that tynecastle can never be classed as a sauna then :thumbsup:

24-12-2009, 10:03 AM
I've not got a sign-on so I can't view but my guess is they think it was a catholic?

They're all over the place (Brown, Allardyce, Redknapp most mentioned). Their inherent bias makes them wish it was McCarthy, or that Roy Keane was still a PL manager.

Petrie's Tache
24-12-2009, 10:12 AM
Front page news eh?

I hate the moral high ground papers like that take, then they have a picture of a 19 year old wi her tits oot on the next page (I'm not against page 3 but given that they have it seems a bit rich to make a big deal of something that has gone on for years)

You watching Russell Howard last night Woody?:wink:

24-12-2009, 10:16 AM

I couldnae find it, I once registered on that site for work purposes and have just been on a thread about the HIVs - poofs, whores and junkies - do they mean us? :greengrin

Never again, I'm going for a good bath now

24-12-2009, 10:30 AM
Not so, Woody. The purchase and sale of sex is not illegal in the UK, although there are some who would make it so.

There are, however, some illegal acts surrounding the industry, eg:-

1. sex with minors, obviously.

2. soliciting (which, in Scotland, is a civil offence, not a criminal one)

3. kerb-crawling (no convictions thus far in Scotland).

4. brothel keeping, which is notoriously difficult to prove.

I am not sure if it is law yet, but the plan in England is to make it illegal to buy sex from trafficked men and women. Very laudable, but again I think probably very difficult to prove.

The toleration of saunas that you mention is widespread. Edinburgh's model, which has been operated for over 20 years, has been copied throughout the UK. It licences saunas as places of entertainment, with all the legal requirements thereof.

You learn something new everyday eh!

Interestingly, I had read about the prossies in the EEN when the festival was on.

They were renting flats in the town centre and it wasn't illegal for them to sell sex in their own 'home' as the transaction is between the 2 individuals.

magpie1892
24-12-2009, 10:35 AM
The industrial estate is near Hull.

24-12-2009, 10:36 AM

Interestingly, I had read about the prossies in the EEN when the festival was on.

They were renting flats in the town centre and it wasn't illegal for them to sell sex in their own 'home' as the transaction is between the 2 individuals.

It should be legal but there should be measures to restrict people trafficking as that is the unacceptable bit.

Anyway, I think Phil Brown has to be one of the front runners, seems a bit of a lad :greengrin

24-12-2009, 10:37 AM
It should be legal but there should be measures to restrict people trafficking as that is the unacceptable bit.

Anyway, I think Phil Brown has to be one of the front runners, seems a bit of a lad :greengrin

BTW that was a guess at first....

24-12-2009, 10:40 AM
Sundays NOTW should be interesting :greengrin

magpie1892
24-12-2009, 10:46 AM
Sundays NOTW should be interesting :greengrin

It's not beyond the realms of possibility that they will run a similar story on Sunday but it will be pretty old by then and The Sun and NoTW are generally reluctant to run stories that the other has broken. There isn't actually much co-operation between the two titles, despite them being from the same stable.

I know this because, er, I used to work there.

24-12-2009, 10:49 AM

It is, and there are.

24-12-2009, 10:51 AM

Glad to be of service :wink:

The law gets a bit weird in the renting flats bit. It's legal for one person to operate as a sex worker out of their own home. However, if it's two or more in the same place... that counts as a brothel. :rolleyes:

24-12-2009, 10:52 AM
It licences saunas as places of entertainment, with all the legal requirements thereof.

I take it that this means that tynecastle can never be classed as a sauna then :thumbsup:[/QUOTE]

Even as a football ground, the Trades Descriptions Act must have some relevance. :greengrin

24-12-2009, 11:10 AM

:bitchy:

No self respecting Hibby should admit to that..

24-12-2009, 11:14 AM
:bitchy:

No self respecting Hibby should admit to that..

Indeed... :greengrin

We should start a thread, "Hibs supporter caught buying the Sun"... but, of course, we couldn't name him or her, for fear of being sued for breaching their human rights. :wink:

24-12-2009, 11:17 AM
"Ahd rather see ma sister in a brothel than ma brother in a Herts scarf"

24-12-2009, 11:21 AM
"Ahd rather see ma sister in a brothel than ma brother in a Herts scarf"

Kinky!!!! Surely incest, whether with a sister or a brother is illegal though? Cropley!!!!!!(you seem to know a lot about sex laws!)

24-12-2009, 11:26 AM
Kinky!!!! Surely incest, whether with a sister or a brother is illegal though? Cropley!!!!!!(you seem to know a lot about sex laws!)

It's from an Irvine Welsh book, cannae mind which though..

Petrie's Tache
24-12-2009, 01:06 PM

Porno perhaps, sounds like a sick boy quote.

Storar
24-12-2009, 01:20 PM
I think it was Phil Brown:agree:

Brummie_Hibs
24-12-2009, 01:31 PM
I'm led to believe that he used to be caretaker manager of one of the biggest sides in the EPL, but now he manages one struggling with relegation. :wink:

24-12-2009, 01:35 PM

I knew that actually, was just trying to see if Cropley's knowledge of sex laws extended to incest.:greengrin

24-12-2009, 01:37 PM
I knew that actually, was just trying to see if Cropley's knowledge of sex laws extended to incest.:greengrin

Not a scoobie, mammy..... darling.