View Full Version : Media arabs move quick to replace Harry Potter

23-12-2009, 09:27 AM
Amazing (http://www.whyzippyisorange.com/mourinho.jpg) :greengrin

Hibtastic
23-12-2009, 09:41 AM

I had a wee chuckle when I read the names in line to replace Harry Potter! One of them was none other than Mixu Paatelainen!

23-12-2009, 09:43 AM
If he gets the job then we won't have to worry abotut United challenging us for 3rd place will we ??

23-12-2009, 09:46 AM
i heard that they want Collins! cant see it myself but you never know!

GreenPJ
23-12-2009, 10:21 AM
i heard that they want Collins! cant see it myself but you never know!

One of Levein's legacies at Utd is he has seemingly put in place a very strong youth set-up. That is Collins forte. I also think that with Utd's current financial situation they won't want to pay compensation for a manager and have to give money to a new manager for players so I can see them looking at someone who is good with youth, currently out of work and in addition the media like Collins so the club get a little higher profile out of it as well.

Makes sense to me why they would look at him, whether he wants to go is another matter.

23-12-2009, 10:26 AM
One of Levein's legacies at Utd is he has seemingly put in place a very strong youth set-up. That is Collins forte. I also think that with Utd's current financial situation they won't want to pay compensation for a manager and have to give money to a new manager for players so I can see them looking at someone who is good with youth, currently out of work and in addition the media like Collins so the club get a little higher profile out of it as well.

Makes sense to me why they would look at him, whether he wants to go is another matter.

He went to a diddy Belgian team after Hibs and I think he would jump at the chance to get a higher level UK club..........OK, I'm talking up SPL but he'll definitely be in for it.

23-12-2009, 10:26 AM

Why do you say that?

23-12-2009, 10:28 AM
Collins ? Nae chance.

He bottled the job at ER because he squandered the money he got on duds and wasn't getting anymore. His budget will be even less at Tannadice.....,

Besides, can you see the sophisticated, man about town, debonair Mr Collins, living in Dundee ?

:bitchy:

No. Thought not.

GreenPJ
23-12-2009, 10:29 AM
Why do you say that?

The players that flourished under Collins and players who talked highly of him were the younger ones (McCann, Hanlon, McCormack, Stevenson). Collins man management problems come when he deals with players with ego's. Normally youngsters have not had the chance to obtain a big enough ego that can conflict with JC.

GreenPJ
23-12-2009, 10:31 AM
Collins ? Nae chance.

He bottled the job at ER because he squandered the money he got on duds and wasn't getting anymore. His budget will be even less at Tannadice.....,

Besides, can you see the sophisticated, man about town, debonair Mr Collins, living in Dundee ?

:bitchy:

No. Thought not.

Have you been to Broughty Ferry?

23-12-2009, 10:32 AM
I Reckon it will be 'The Pool Attendant'.

He has had quite a good relationship with Levein/Dundee united whilst he's been at Raith.

He's taken a few United players on loan at Raith.

Got Raith promoted back to 1st Div last season, made a really good start to the season but have slipped down the league over last few weeks.

23-12-2009, 10:36 AM
Collins was in his first job as manager and acted like he had been a manager for years.

The man was arrogant and didnt like it when Big Rod told him to bolt and going to the papers re the money issues showed his lack of respect for the club.

If we didnt have any money where did RP find the money to give to Hughes to bring in Stokes, Miller etc. Collins man management skills were mince. He blamed the board and the players when really it was him.

They can have him.

EskbankHibby
23-12-2009, 10:42 AM
I Reckon it will be 'The Pool Attendant'.

He has had quite a good relationship with Levein/Dundee united whilst he's been at Raith.

He's taken a few United players on loan at Raith.

Got Raith promoted back to 1st Div last season, made a really good start to the season but have slipped down the league over last few weeks.

Almost agree.

I think it will be McGlynn to St. Johnstone following McInnes to the Arabs.

New Corrie
23-12-2009, 10:42 AM
I love these BBC pages, if I wasn't so rubbish with computers, I would attempt one myself. I don't suppose anyone saved the "Man City snap up Amadou Konte" BBC page?

23-12-2009, 10:47 AM
Have you been to Broughty Ferry?

Yes, and your'e right of course.

Compares mosr favourably with Monaco, Dubai or the New Town........,

GreenPJ
23-12-2009, 11:49 AM
Yes, and your'e right of course.

Compares mosr favourably with Monaco, Dubai or the New Town........,

He's done Monaco, bled the casino's dry and it is the most populated country in the world (I think).
Dubai is so last year, his millions will disappear there quicker than a MacDonalds in the hands of Nade.

New Town, the state of Edinburgh these days in terms of traffic would almost make any normal person consider Dundee as an alternative and no doubt he can get his yacht parked up closer at Broughty Ferry than he could at the New Town. :wink:

23-12-2009, 12:16 PM
Hope they hire Sturrock. He's done a smashing job at Plymouth. :wink:

vanNISHtelroy
23-12-2009, 12:52 PM
Hopefully they will move for JJ but doubt it :boo hoo:

23-12-2009, 02:06 PM
could be a well liked former player who has experience managing in the SPL and is currently out of work...:wink:

23-12-2009, 02:06 PM
If they try and get a manager that is already in a job, then you can bet that the 250K that they will get from the SFA, will be in on one hand and then out with the other. Billy Reid or Jim Gannon from the SPL would seem to be decent shouts. I think that Gannon has realised at Motherwell that he cannot take them much further than they already are, and all the referee pysh is just setting up smoke to work his ticket somewhere else.

4crichards
23-12-2009, 03:02 PM
Got a funny feeling a certain Mr sturrock might be back at Tannadice:agree:

23-12-2009, 03:09 PM
Collins was in his first job as manager and acted like he had been a manager for years.

The man was arrogant and didnt like it when Big Rod told him to bolt and going to the papers re the money issues showed his lack of respect for the club.

If we didnt have any money where did RP find the money to give to Hughes to bring in Stokes, Miller etc. Collins man management skills were mince. He blamed the board and the players when really it was him.

They can have him.

Harsh, very harsh.

But we've already had this debate so we'll not bother again -------- since its Xmas.

:snowman

23-12-2009, 03:41 PM
Sturrock is ill with Parkinson's disease and will not be managing any club in the future,

If he gets the job then we won't have to worry abotut United challenging us for 3rd place will we ??

The Yams, Killie and Well will be bricking themselves though - another rival for the coveted 6th slot.

does luggy not have some disease? thought thats why he got moved upstairs?

sixtwo
23-12-2009, 03:54 PM
I hope they get anybody apart from collins. I like collins as a manager. He is a winner and he is capable of improving on what levein has started. He has his doubters but I admired him. He has the mindset to win things!

They can take mixu or Sturrock. Both a negative and would pose no threat to our ambitions of finishing 3rd or higher!:wink:

23-12-2009, 04:23 PM
The players that flourished under Collins and players who talked highly of him were the younger ones (McCann, Hanlon, McCormack, Stevenson). Collins man management problems come when he deals with players with ego's. Normally youngsters have not had the chance to obtain a big enough ego that can conflict with JC.

Quite right with your highlighted point .
His problem with the senior players was , for whatever reason, that he had difficulty in treating them as mature men .
You may say this is due to their "ego's" but my info is that it was across the board regardless who they were .
A good man manager can quickly sus out how different attitudes , personalities et al can/need to be handled .
Collins appears to have failed that test miserably.
Anyway as far as Hibs are concerned he is "yesterday's man" and if he ends up at DUtd it will be their problem !!! :greengrin

23-12-2009, 04:54 PM
Michael O'Neill? Isn't he Hibs next manager?

vanNISHtelroy
23-12-2009, 05:02 PM
The Yams, Killie and Well will be bricking themselves though - another rival for the coveted 6th slot.

We'll be no where near sixth place so just the Yams and Well :grr:

If I was offered 11th today I'd take it

23-12-2009, 05:59 PM
Gary Bollan - ex United player who is currently doing well with Livingston in the 3rd division.

Heard this from a few people in the last day or so, so wouldn't surprise me if he at least makes the shortlist.

23-12-2009, 07:04 PM

i heard that mark hughes was approached but he said he had had enough of arabs !!:greengrin

23-12-2009, 07:11 PM
could be a well liked former player who has experience managing in the SPL and is currently out of work...:wink:

Mr Brewster?

23-12-2009, 07:14 PM
i heard that mark hughes was approached but he said he had had enough of arabs !!:greengrin

Top class.

23-12-2009, 08:38 PM
Mr Brewster?

Mr Paateleinen?

23-12-2009, 08:49 PM
Gary Bollan - ex United player who is currently doing well with Livingston in the 3rd division.

Heard this from a few people in the last day or so, so wouldn't surprise me if he at least makes the shortlist.

Cannae see it S

24-12-2009, 06:22 AM
jim jeffries :wink:

24-12-2009, 09:12 AM
Sturrock is ill with Parkinson's disease and will not be managing any club in the future,

Not nice. My father suffered from this.