View Full Version : 27th Dec - Pre-match pints!!!

23-12-2009, 10:19 AM
Can anyone supply me (via PM obviously!) :wink: with any details of any hostelries in the Leith area that will be open early on Sunday for some light refreshments? I could only think of The Bank Hotel, but, that is crap & expensive!!

23-12-2009, 10:30 AM
PM me too :hnet:

23-12-2009, 10:32 AM
Haven't the laws have been changed so we can have a bevvy on a Sunday morning at 11am.. :confused::confused::confused::confused:

Darth Hibbie
23-12-2009, 10:35 AM
Haven't the laws have been changed so we can have a bevvy on a Sunday morning at 11am.. :confused::confused::confused::confused:

They allow for a ten o'clock opening however its up to individual licensing boards to decide opening hours. Most have resisted early opening on a sunday.

23-12-2009, 10:36 AM

Nope. When the new licensing laws came in pubs got the same hours as they always had i.e. 12.30 on a Sunday.

Unless they previously had a hotel license that allowed them to open before that, or have applied for a one off extension then it'll still be 12.30

23-12-2009, 10:41 AM
is it a 12 or 12.30 KO??

23-12-2009, 10:43 AM
is it a 12 or 12.30 KO??

Kevvy1875
23-12-2009, 10:44 AM
Hibs Club or Behind the goals no open?

23-12-2009, 10:50 AM
*** unbelievable that that pubs can't open before 12.30 on a sunday due to some outdated religious crap.

I'll just be having a few bloody marys with my fry-up then bussing it into Leith.

23-12-2009, 10:51 AM
*** unbelievable that that pubs can't open before 12.30 on a sunday due to some outdated religious crap.

I'll just be having a few bloody marys with my fry-up then bussing it into Leith.

It's a lot of ***** I agree....

23-12-2009, 10:52 AM

Indeed. Especially when off licenses can punt bevvy from 10 on a Sunday now.

23-12-2009, 10:53 AM
Sunday fitba :bitchy: & Sunday opening hours :bitchy:

Load of bull**** :grr:

23-12-2009, 10:55 AM
Hibs are not that bad that you have to, have had a drink to watch us :wink:

In the past yes but not at the moment :greengrin

23-12-2009, 11:21 AM
Hibs Club will be open early, normally does for Sunday games (pretty sure it opens at 11am)

Think they might have applied for a 10am license for this game, dunno what the outcome was though. Cannae see the police allowing it.

hibeerobbo
23-12-2009, 11:31 AM
The new yorker is open at 10 and you can drink in there from 10 aswell...

23-12-2009, 11:34 AM
the new yorker is open at 10 and you can drink in there from 10 aswell...

result !!!!!!!!!!!!!

23-12-2009, 01:04 PM

easter road will be full of dirty huns drinking in the street as normal,. but now some hibees to:greengrin

23-12-2009, 01:18 PM

While the differences between Sunday drinking hours and those during the rest of the week are historically to do with Presbyterianism, I doubt the Church of Scotland holds much sway on the matter now. Mind you, some posters on Hibs.net would blame religion for the footpaths not being clear of snow.

As stated in earlier posts, if you're gasping on a pint there are licenced premises open, you can drink at home or bevvy in the street. Give the poor bar staff a long lie on a Sunday. Stuff the bosses and their profit :wink:

23-12-2009, 01:18 PM

Sauce?

23-12-2009, 01:19 PM
While the differences between Sunday drinking hours and those during the rest of the week are historically to do with Presbyterianism, I doubt the Church of Scotland holds much sway on the matter now. Mind you, some posters on Hibs.net would blame religion for the footpaths not being clear of snow.

As stated in earlier posts, if you're gasping on a pint there are licenced premises open, you can drink at home or bevvy in the street. Give the poor bar staff a long lie on a Sunday. Stuff the bosses and their profit :wink:

Yes. And they would be absolutely correct.

23-12-2009, 01:21 PM
Yes. And you would be absolutely correct.

Sorted.

23-12-2009, 01:36 PM

Sauce?

well why else would you be going there :greengrin

4crichards
23-12-2009, 04:05 PM
:wink:Try the Albion Bar. That's usually open

23-12-2009, 04:16 PM
:wink:Try the Albion Bar. That's usually open

I phoned there earlier and they aren't opening till 1230.. The guy on the phone said that the polis had been into see them and told them not to open...

invisible man
23-12-2009, 05:11 PM
Hibs Club will be open early, normally does for Sunday games (pretty sure it opens at 11am)

Think they might have applied for a 10am license for this game, dunno what the outcome was though. Cannae see the police allowing it.

The Hibs Club will be open from 11.00am for members and their guests only, we have applied for a 10.00am but are still waiting to hear back from the licensing board.

23-12-2009, 06:32 PM
easter road will be full of dirty huns drinking in the street as normal,. but now some hibees to:greengrin

Know what you mean. You get off the bus and walk down Easter Road... literally swerving to avoid empty Buckie bottles :grr:

Polis let them drink, so they're ****ed if they try and take my 'juice' bottle off me :wink:

23-12-2009, 08:42 PM

is that the old JP's?

23-12-2009, 10:23 PM
is that the old JP's?

Aye - its had a bit of a face lift though.

I can't see myself being tempted by a 10 am pint on Sunday though, especially not as Boxing Day is a traditional booze fest with my mates.

invisible man
24-12-2009, 02:25 PM
The Hibs Club will be open from 11.00am for members and their guests only, we have applied for a 10.00am but are still waiting to hear back from the licensing board.

We've been knocked back :boo hoo:

The club will open at 10.30am for breakfast rolls, however no alcohol will be served until 11.00am

24-12-2009, 02:46 PM
We've been knocked back :boo hoo:

The club will open at 10.30am for breakfast rolls, however no alcohol will be served until 11.00am

I wonder if it dawns on those uptight, fascist idiots at the local constabulary that if anybody wants to drink at this time of the year, they can and will as their homes are all stocked to the rafters with cheap supermarket booze?

I'm planning to have some friends round for an early drink before the game, and there's no doubt that we'll all consume more in the house than we would have had we been able to go to the pub beforehand for a civilised few beers.

As it, with our minds poisoned by alcohol, the temptation to get tooled up and plan full-scale terrorist operations will be almost irresistible.

But resist we shall, in the name of democracy, public safety and festive cheer!

invisible man
24-12-2009, 02:56 PM
I wonder if it dawns on those uptight, fascist idiots at the local constabulary that if anybody wants to drink at this time of the year, they can and will as their homes are all stocked to the rafters with cheap supermarket booze?

I'm planning to have some friends round for an early drink before the game, and there's no doubt that we'll all consume more in the house than we would have had we been able to go to the pub beforehand for a civilised few beers.

As it, with our minds poisoned by alcohol, the temptation to get tooled up and plan full-scale terrorist operations will be almost irresistible.

But resist we shall, in the name of democracy, public safety and festive cheer!

Nah don't resist, go for it, and with Edinburgh's finest otherwise engaged at your place we can open early :wink:

24-12-2009, 06:41 PM
Nah don't resist, go for it, and with Edinburgh's finest otherwise engaged at your place we can open early :wink:

Who were the clowns that put the opening times on the notice board as 10am???:confused::confused:

Jamie
25-12-2009, 11:34 AM
same "debate" on the bounce (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?t=92146) :grr::grr::grr::grr: