View Full Version : Media Pete Doherty

22-12-2009, 12:21 PM
I see this jakeball is on the news and in the papers again today with another drugs related incident to add to his vast collection..

The guy is a complete and utter talentless junkie cretin of the highest order!

How he continually escapes a lengthy jail sentence is unbelievable :bitchy:

If that was some Joe Bloggs from Wester Hailes or Niddrie he'd have been locked up a long, long time ago!

Pity he didn't get a batch of that anthrax laden smack :cool2:

22-12-2009, 12:31 PM
I see this jakeball is on the news and in the papers again today with another drugs related incident to add to his vast collection..

The guy is a complete and utter talentless junkie cretin of the highest order!

How he continually escapes a lengthy jail sentence is unbelievable :bitchy:

If that was some Joe Bloggs from Wester Hailes or Niddrie he'd have been locked up a long, long time ago!

Pity he didn't get a batch of that anthrax laden smack :cool2:

I agree that Doherty achieves headlines way in excess of his talent.

I think he's been embraced by a number of people who see him as the antidote to the bland media corporatism of the music business and the squeaky-clean guff of Pop Idol/X Factor/Britian's Got Talent sort of garbage we're spoon-fed.

It's just pity he isn't all that good (he's not bad, just not all that good) and is only doing what rock n rollers were supposed to do, before they became goody-two shoes christian imperialists stacking up their bank accounts while trying to 'save' the world.

Tinyclothes
22-12-2009, 01:11 PM
Pete Doherty is just a little ****bag and for that I detest him. But for me it's those fawning sychophants from Shoreditch and Camden who have appropriated him as some kind of deity that need a boot up the hole. If it wasn't for them the guy would be nothing but a junky busker with a brilliant white face and black vacant p!ssholes for eyes.

hibbytam
22-12-2009, 01:53 PM
I think I need to quote Bill Hicks here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lv2qLOiioPc

Godsahibby
22-12-2009, 01:59 PM
As much as I detest him as a person, you cannot say he is tallentless, some of his stuff is that of a real music genius, Unfortunately that makes things worse.

Tinyclothes
22-12-2009, 02:41 PM
As much as I detest him as a person, you cannot say he is tallentless, some of his stuff is that of a real music genius, Unfortunately that makes things worse.

I think the word genius is used too easily in situations like this. Just because he enjoys a burn and is one of the most bungling career criminals ever to have walked the streets of Camden doesn't make him a tortured soul and by no means does it make him a genius. It makes him a drug addict just like all the ones who break into people's houses and steal bits of meat from tescos.

22-12-2009, 02:50 PM
He is a genius. End of

22-12-2009, 02:53 PM
He is a genius. End ofHardly ...:faf:

22-12-2009, 02:54 PM
Hardly ...:faf:

Hardly.. have you ever listened to his music ? Just because what you see in the media is Pete's done this Pete's done that doesn't mean he's not a talented musician. In my opinion he is a genius.

Tinyclothes
22-12-2009, 02:56 PM
He is a genius. End of

No he isn't. He's an absolute idiot. I watched that programme he did on MTV and I had to switch over as I couldn't deal with his affected mannerisms and brown nosing celeb hangers on. What a fud.

22-12-2009, 03:00 PM
Hardly.. have you ever listened to his music ? Just because what you see in the media is Pete's done this Pete's done that doesn't mean he's not a talented musician. In my opinion he is a genius.I have unfortunately ..:rolleyes:..however "genius"...laughable ..

22-12-2009, 03:02 PM
No he isn't. He's an absolute idiot. I watched that programme he did on MTV and I had to switch over as I couldn't deal with his affected mannerisms and brown nosing celeb hangers on. What a fud.

Idiot :faf: you have to be kiddin me he's anythin but an idiot. Like I say just because what you see in the media isn't a reflection on him, obviously he's got his problems but I don't think he's really in the right frame of mind to be thinking straight do you?

---------- Post added at 04:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:01 PM ----------

I have unfortunately ..:rolleyes:..however "genius"...laughable ..

Thats your opinion:aok:

22-12-2009, 03:05 PM
Idiot :faf: you have to be kiddin me he's anythin but an idiot. Like I say just because what you see in the media isn't a reflection on him, obviously he's got his problems but I don't think he's really in the right frame of mind to be thinking straight do you?Aye right ..the media just make it all up eh ..?..& the reason he aint the right frame of mind may have something to do wi his heid being bubbled wi drugs etc, what a role model eh ? ...genius !!! :crazy:

22-12-2009, 03:08 PM
Aye right ..the media just make it all up eh ..?..& the reason he aint the right frame of mind may have something to do wi his heid being bubbled wi drugs etc, what a role model eh ? ...genius !!! :crazy:

Did I say the media mate it up ? :crazy: No, I said just because some of the hings he does doesn't mean he's a fanny and doesn't mean he means to do these things. As you said his heid is bubbled wi drugs.. That can influence people's actions.:wink:

Tinyclothes
22-12-2009, 03:10 PM
Idiot :faf: you have to be kiddin me he's anythin but an idiot. Like I say just because what you see in the media isn't a reflection on him, obviously he's got his problems but I don't think he's really in the right frame of mind to be thinking straight do you?

No he is an idiot. An educated one perhaps but an idiot nonetheless. This guy however:

Mozart showed prodigious ability from his earliest childhood in Salzburg (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salzburg). Already competent on keyboard (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_instrument) and violin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Violin), he composed from the age of five and performed before European royalty; at 17 he was engaged as a court musician in Salzburg, but grew restless and traveled in search of a better position, always composing abundantly.

Those are the indications of a genius, child prodigy who at 17 had already achieved what most in his field never would. Can you back up your claims of this so called 'genius'. Because all I can see is a middle of the road musician who has relied on shock tactics (squirting his blood out of a syringe at a journalist to name one) and a general halfwitted approach to life which has rightly landed him in trouble for numerous slimy misdemeanours such as heroine possession and breaking into his MATES house to rob him so as to get money for CRACK. That is not the behaviour of a genius, it's the behaviour of a rat like subhuman.

Godsahibby
22-12-2009, 03:13 PM
I think musicly, what he had done is that of a music genious. Spend any time listening to his music and it would be hard to disagree. However I agree that in his personal life he is a total **** up, a horrible juinkie **** bag who in any other walk of life should be behind bars.

I hate the guy and becuase of that for years wasn;t interested in listening to any Libertines or Babyshambles, it wasn't until I saw him on his own TV a few years ago at Glastonbury playing an acoustic version of ****** Forever that I took any notice, ever since I've loved the music hoever my opnions of the guy still haven't changed.

22-12-2009, 03:14 PM
Im gonna back off now ..just in case i get a car load o Doherty teenybobbers roond ma hoose scolding me for saying he aint a genius !!! :greengrin

22-12-2009, 03:21 PM
Genius:faf::faf::faf::faf:

.net can always be guaranteed to provide the jokes:faf::faf:

22-12-2009, 03:21 PM
I think musicly, what he had done is that of a music genious. Spend any time listening to his music and it would be hard to disagree. However I agree that in his personal life he is a total **** up, a horrible juinkie **** bag who in any other walk of life should be behind bars.

I hate the guy and becuase of that for years wasn;t interested in listening to any Libertines or Babyshambles, it wasn't until I saw him on his own TV a few years ago at Glastonbury playing an acoustic version of ****** Forever that I took any notice, ever since I've loved the music hoever my opnions of the guy still haven't changed.

The music of the Libertines and Babyshambles is good, but it falls well short of genius, IMHO.

These bands did nothing groundbreaking or innovative with their sound - they didn't progress music or even define a generation in the way that the likes of Blur, Oasis, or Nirvana did.

22-12-2009, 03:27 PM

.net can always be guaranteed to provide the jokes:faf::faf:

Genius:faf::faf::faf

Thats your opinion:aok:

New Corrie
22-12-2009, 03:34 PM
The bloody youth of today, I mean, what ever happened to all these really good old Pop Bands llike the New Seekers, Tavares, Shakatak etc....jolly nice people making lovely LP's.

I really despair, we all have had that rebellious stage, even I bought a Lawnmower Death album once and grew my hair long...my parents were horrified! I once placed a Police cone on top of a MK 3 Cortina outside Tiffanys after a Siouxsie And The Banshees Gig!

Now, that's Rock n roll Doherty yah muppet!

22-12-2009, 04:22 PM

.net can always be guaranteed to provide the jokes:faf:

Genius:faf::faf::faf:

Pïsh stained jakeball crowned genius via internet forum :faf:

22-12-2009, 04:35 PM
He is a genius. End of

Replace the word genius with cr@ckhead and I agree with your reply :greengrin

22-12-2009, 04:44 PM

Were you round his house or did you pick up the set he sold to Cash Converters? :wink:

Hank Schrader
22-12-2009, 04:53 PM
The music of the Libertines and Babyshambles is good, but it falls well short of genius, IMHO.

What he said.

22-12-2009, 05:31 PM
Replace the word genius with smackhead and I agree with your reply :greengrin

Storar
22-12-2009, 06:15 PM

These bands did nothing groundbreaking or innovative with their sound - they didn't progress music or even define a generation in the way that the likes of Blur, Oasis, or Nirvana did.

Think your wrong here. It's become a cliched thing to say now but the Libertines 'brought back' proper guitar music at a time when the charts were dominated by rancid boybands and girlbands (spice girls, steps, westlife etc). Of course there's still acts like this about but not nearly as much as there was 10 years ago. If it wasn't for The Libertines there would be no Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian, Franz Ferdinand etc. Even Oasis would have struggled to make a comeback in 2002.

As for Doherty himself, he's a very clever man (academically), a very good song writer and a very good lyricist.
He's also a drug addict who's let himself, his friends, family and fans down too many times and probably should be running out of chances.

At the same time I know of people near where I live who have been involved in drugs, stabbings, muggings etc who are still walking the streets after getting caution after caution so the agument that he's not been locked up for life because he's famous isn't really a good one. If anything he's been treaded more harsh than common criminals so he can be made an example of.

Also remember, just because someone gets arrested doesn't make them guilty, something that people are very quick to point out whn it comes to the time of the month when Derek Riordan spends a night in the cells (another man who's targetted because of his profile who is maybe wrongly labelled a 'genius').

In any case, whether he's this or that doesn't bother me. I'm a huge fan of his music and I'll happily continue paying £20 a go to see him live until he ends up locked up for good, or worse

22-12-2009, 07:20 PM
Think your wrong here. It's become a cliched thing to say now but the Libertines 'brought back' proper guitar music at a time when the charts were dominated by rancid boybands and girlbands (spice girls, steps, westlife etc). Of course there's still acts like this about but not nearly as much as there was 10 years ago. If it wasn't for The Libertines there would be no Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian, Franz Ferdinand etc. Even Oasis would have struggled to make a comeback in 2002.

As for Doherty himself, he's a very clever man (academically), a very good song writer and a very good lyricist.
He's also a drug addict who's let himself, his friends, family and fans down too many times and probably should be running out of chances.

At the same time I know of people near where I live who have been involved in drugs, stabbings, muggings etc who are still walking the streets after getting caution after caution so the agument that he's not been locked up for life because he's famous isn't really a good one. If anything he's been treaded more harsh than common criminals so he can be made an example of.

Also remember, just because someone gets arrested doesn't make them guilty, something that people are very quick to point out whn it comes to the time of the month when Derek Riordan spends a night in the cells (another man who's targetted because of his profile who is maybe wrongly labelled a 'genius').

In any case, whether he's this or that doesn't bother me. I'm a huge fan of his music and I'll happily continue paying £20 a go to see him live until he ends up locked up for good, or worse

Good post.

Still think he's a dick though.

22-12-2009, 08:03 PM
I agree he is a junkie. Just like that band from liverpool who spent most of the 60s pissing about doing drugs... the beatles.

22-12-2009, 09:08 PM
I agree he is a junkie. Just like that band from liverpool who spent most of the 60s pissing about doing drugs... the beatles.

Imagine quoting them in the same thread as that fud. Shame on you! :bitchy:

khib70
22-12-2009, 09:13 PM

Ithink Doherty is a boring, self-obsessed junkie who has become a Guardianista pin-up boy.

However, his music has some originality, and it's a bit off to compare him with Kinks, Beatles and Zeppelin tribute bands!

22-12-2009, 09:13 PM
A decent enough talent, but to call him a genius - well, in art terms, more Rolf Harris than Rembrandt.

GC
22-12-2009, 09:19 PM
If you judge him solely on his music then he is a very talented musician who either with his bands or on solo projects has created some really good music.

Seems a bit of a waster in his private life though from what I can tell who never seems to want to get his act together completely.

22-12-2009, 09:27 PM

Not a Libertines fan and cannae stand Doherty but...Bloody good post :agree:

22-12-2009, 09:35 PM
If you judge him solely on his music then he is a very talented musician who either with his bands or on solo projects has created some really good music.

Seems a bit of a waster in his private life though from what I can tell who never seems to want to get his act together completely.

A bit easier said than done no?

22-12-2009, 09:45 PM
A bit easier said than done no?

Seems to play on it quite a bit though, no?

22-12-2009, 09:49 PM
His music with Libertines was class IMO, his first album with the Babyshambles was good, his last effort with the Babyshambles was just a rip off from The Kinks etc. But the guy is obviously a bit daft, but he knows he is going to get away with it, so he is just taking the piss out the system really.

As for being a junkie, what rock stars are not. Bands like The Who, The Beatles, Oasis, Stone Roses and The Stones and so on can all be classed as junkies when they were in the peak.

As for taking drugs into a court thats just publicity IMO as he must have knew he was going to get searched.

duffers
22-12-2009, 10:00 PM
Everyone on this thread who is slating Pete Docherty is making there opinion on his personal life alone. Yeah he is a complete junkie, but musically, he is not far off being a genius. His stuff with the Libertines and babyshambles is awsome andyou cant doubt the boy has talent.

22-12-2009, 10:17 PM
Everyone on this thread who is slating Pete Docherty is making there opinion on his personal life alone. Yeah he is a complete junkie, but musically, he is not far off being a genius. His stuff with the Libertines and babyshambles is awsome andyou cant doubt the boy has talent.

He is no genious, his last album was a rip off from what we have heard before. His next album is also going to be rip off, he has admited it himself that its going to be riffs from This Charming Man ska'd up. I know its hard to be different these days but still. Anyway am not slagging him as I love watching The Shambles live and I love The Libertines.

23-12-2009, 03:17 AM

Although he is a 'complete junkie'.. he's actually a nice guy and a musical genius.:agree:

23-12-2009, 07:08 AM
Although he is a 'complete junkie'.. he's actually a nice guy and a musical genius.:agree:

He is also a roll model for young kids and lets be honest if you had a daughter and she brought this guy home to meet you the alarm bells would start ringing very quickly.

I'm not sure what the last hit he had was- that didn't come from a needle.

23-12-2009, 08:33 AM
I'm not sure what the last hit he had was- that didn't come from a needle.

Has he had any :confused:

Tinyclothes
23-12-2009, 09:01 AM
Charlie Brooker describing Pete Doherty showing MTV round his house:

"He looks like a corpse showing us round the scene of his own murder"

23-12-2009, 09:04 AM
Charlie Brooker describing Pete Doherty showing MTV round his house:

"He looks like a corpse showing us round the scene of his own murder"

:faf::faf:

23-12-2009, 10:43 AM
I seriously think that if Doherty wasn't 'troubled' nobody would even think of labelling him a genius.

Tinyclothes
23-12-2009, 11:21 AM

Don't get me started on Paul McCartney. I think I dislike the guy more than that ghoul Doherty.

23-12-2009, 12:10 PM
Don't get me started on Paul McCartney. I think I dislike the guy more than that ghoul Doherty.

Yes, isn't 'Simply having A Wonderful Christmas Time' the most odious and obnoxious song ever?

Marabou Stork
23-12-2009, 12:36 PM
Musician in taking drugs shocker!:shocked:

The vast majority of good music has been created whilst 'enhanced'. That said, I can't be arsed with Doherty though, as I find his pseudointellectualism and desperate need for profundity as tedious as his music.

23-12-2009, 12:41 PM
Yes, isn't 'Simply having A Wonderful Christmas Time' the most odious and obnoxious song ever?

The "Frog Chorus" (McCartney) is a hanging offence in most tasteful company.

Tinyclothes
23-12-2009, 12:49 PM

Heather Mills is my hero.

New Corrie
23-12-2009, 01:02 PM

That was written about him getting Heather a Plane for Christmas. Typical Pop star extravagance, given that a Philips Ladyshave would have done a similar job!

23-12-2009, 01:03 PM
That was written about him getting Heather a Plane for Christmas. Typical Pop star extravagance, given that a Philips Ladyshave would have done a similar job!

23-12-2009, 03:19 PM
McCartney with Lennon was pure genius. Neither of them was a particularly "nice guy" but so what?

I got Sgt Pepper again recently and it's just incredible.

23-12-2009, 03:32 PM
:faf::faf::dizzy:

Tinyclothes
23-12-2009, 03:33 PM
McCartney with Lennon was pure genius. Neither of them was a particularly "nice guy" but so what?

I got Sgt Pepper again recently and it's just incredible.

I'm honestly not having a dig at you here but can we have less of the genius please. It seems that as long as you wrote catchy pop tunes and were extremely difficult to get along with on a personal level then you qualify. Let's just refresh our memories as to what this word actually means:

.an exceptional natural capacity of intellect, especially as shown in creative and original work in science, art, music, etc.: the genius of Mozart. 2.a person having such capacity.3.a person having an extraordinarily high intelligence rating on a psychological test, as an IQ above 140.4.natural ability or capacity; strong inclination: a special genius for leadership. 5.distinctive character or spirit, as of a nation, period, or language.6.the guardian spirit of a place, institution, etc.7.either of two mutually opposed spirits, one good and the other evil, supposed to attend a person throughout life.8.a person who strongly influences for good or ill the character, conduct, or destiny of a person, place, or thing: Rasputin, the evil genius of Russian politics. 9.genie (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=genie&db=luna) (defs. 1, 3).

23-12-2009, 03:48 PM
I'm honestly not having a dig at you here but can we have less of the genius please. It seems that as long as you wrote catchy pop tunes and were extremely difficult to get along with on a personal level then you qualify. Let's just refresh our memories as to what this word actually means:

.an exceptional natural capacity of intellect, especially as shown in creative and original work in science, art, music, etc.: the genius of Mozart. 2.a person having such capacity.3.a person having an extraordinarily high intelligence rating on a psychological test, as an IQ above 140.4.natural ability or capacity; strong inclination: a special genius for leadership. 5.distinctive character or spirit, as of a nation, period, or language.6.the guardian spirit of a place, institution, etc.7.either of two mutually opposed spirits, one good and the other evil, supposed to attend a person throughout life.8.a person who strongly influences for good or ill the character, conduct, or destiny of a person, place, or thing: Rasputin, the evil genius of Russian politics. 9.genie (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=genie&db=luna) (defs. 1, 3).
Okay, sorry! Call it magic then.

Tinyclothes
23-12-2009, 03:54 PM
Okay, sorry! Call it magic then.

Or we could just say they're good at what they do?

Twa Cairpets
23-12-2009, 04:21 PM

Whether not he is a junkie, nice guy, jakey or born-again christian, it doesn't affect his musical ability.

His public persona and lifestyle is utterly repugnant, but it doesnt mean he cant write decent bit of music.

For what its worth, to me it's very average and very, very far from genius. I suppose we'll know in ten years time if anyone is still listening to it or buying it.

lEXO
23-12-2009, 05:41 PM
I think the guy has talent,and seems to be a nice guy.Saw him at T in the park this year and really enjoyed his set.I dont think he is a genius by any means, but he is definately not an idiot.He,s just an ordinary guy with an addiction he is struggling to overcome.Is he treated better than your average male by the courts?Dunno about that, you just have to read the papers daily to see stories of some seriously nasty people getting light sentences etc that are a joke.He does,nt hurt anyone apart from himself and i hope he gets it together and turns his life around.

24-12-2009, 10:45 AM
Or we could just say they're good at what they do?

All depends on your opinion, old chap! End of story.

24-12-2009, 11:03 AM
I don't actually know any of Doherty's music so whether he's a genius or not I can't even hazard a guess. Brian Wilson however, could be said (IMO) to be a musical genius, although he certainly preferred to be known simply as a hard-working guy. His music was amazing, maybe that's why so many of us forget his drug-induced lifestyle, which almost blew his mind completely (sandbox anyone?). Doherty's problems with drugs are not anything new really, are they? Do attitudes change? Of course Wilson had some fantastic tunes and people were rightly pleased to hail his return a few years back from oblivion. Will the same happen when Doherty's "been away" for a while? :confused:

gorgie_harp
25-12-2009, 12:11 AM

:agree: I like a lot of his music (Not all ), but as a person he does seem like a total cock.:dunno:

25-12-2009, 03:25 AM
In my opinion, on behalf of the young music fans on this board that I know. I am Libertines daft and I am a big fan of Babyshambles, but to say Pete is a genious is embarresing I think. I love music from alot of era's, favourite 60s bands are Small Faces, The Who, favourite 70s bands are The Specials, The Jam or The Clash. Now ill stop my chat there without getting involved in the later decades of my life which sounds daft because am only 23 but my knowledge within the industry is very good. You see The Libertines, who were a great band in the British Music Indusrty, but it was nothing new. The Libertines only got created because of the scene that The Strokes created in the USA, which was what the Punk scene already done 20 years on. Believe it or no thats the truth.

In my own opinion, in the last 5 years, a proper musical genious is Alex Turner. The first album was one of the best this deacade, his second (I was not a big fan off) was a great Pop album and his latest album was really amazing, and pretty Phsycodelic. I have not even mentioned The Last Shaddow Puppets yet, which I think is the best Sunday morning album ever in my life time (mind am only 23).

Now am going to condradict myself now, and say Docherty will go down as a musical genious because in 20 years time, whether we like it or no, if he is still doing this today the media will lap it up, and he will go down is a genious e.g. Ronnie Wood etc. It may be sound pathetic but its true.

Anyway am pretty drunk now, so have a good xmas (excuse the spelling)
xxxx

26-12-2009, 01:42 AM
The guys a junkie and a complete tosser of a man. He should be locked up for life along with the rest of the junkies that walk the streets.

Oh, and his music is complete balls.

Hank Schrader
26-12-2009, 09:15 AM
He should be locked up for life along with the rest of the junkies that walk the streets.

You talk an incredible amount of **** don't you? :rolleyes:

03-01-2010, 08:57 AM
The guys a junkie and a complete tosser of a man. He should be locked up for life along with the rest of the junkies that walk the streets.

Oh, and his music is complete balls.

Oh, I see drug abuse has now been added to the ever-growing list of offences that warrant life imprisonment now! :rolleyes:

We'll all need to leave the UK and just make the whole place a massive prison if you lot get your way :blah:

04-01-2010, 05:28 PM

Considering Leith was flooded with Heroin, not all that long ago, that made it's way into the country through the docks, that's a pretty bold statement to make on a Hibs website. It's also stupid, insensitive, and the sort of "It doesn't effect me, so punish them all" false sense of superiority that is rampant in ****-rags like the Daily Mail. Maybe a little bit of thought the next time you condemn hundreds, thousands and even millions of people?

28-01-2010, 11:43 AM
Back in the papers today, after he was caught in court with 13 wraps of heroin the jakebag escapes with just a FINE :bitchy:

Ridiculous :grr:

lEXO
28-01-2010, 12:12 PM
Pete Doherty has already been jailed for this kind of stuff.It did,nt work.He needs to want to help himself.He will end up dead unfortunately, and then you can start a thread about how the jakeball deserved it.
As for him not being jailed again, i would rather the jails were full of criminals rather than heroin addicts who get caught with gear.It would be better if the real **** who import and deal smack are the ones in jail.

Storar
28-01-2010, 02:10 PM
Back in the papers today, after he was caught in court with 13 wraps of heroin the jakebag escapes with just a FINE :bitchy:

To be fair this is the exact same incident that you referred to in the original post :cool2:

28-01-2010, 02:42 PM

To be fair the Gallagher brothers have been guilty of taking their fair share of coke etc.

28-01-2010, 10:45 PM
To be fair this is the exact same incident that you referred to in the original post :cool2:

The original post was the story that he'd been caught, todays post was about the "punishment" he has received for being caught with 13 wraps of heroin..

So to be fair, I'd say it's following up on the incident not just repeating it :cool2:

Chuckie
29-01-2010, 10:58 AM

:spammy:

Bingo - Class A

Brown - Class A

29-01-2010, 03:30 PM
I've heard today that the reason he had 13 wraps of heroin about himself in court was because he thought he was gonna get sent to prison so wanted to make sure he had some gear with him for his stay at Her Majesty's pleasure.

:wtf:

03-12-2010, 03:58 PM
http://www.nme.com/news/pete-doherty/54097

More drug offences :rolleyes:

When's this horrible little rat going to be dealt with properly..

03-12-2010, 04:00 PM

They should just leave him alone - he's a poor, misunderstood musical "genius" didn't you know?! :rotflmao:

He keeps going, and his death will eventually be a headline - waste of news really.

03-12-2010, 05:34 PM

Ooooh cocaine possession....big deal.

What would you consider a 'proper' dealing for 'rats' that are charged with possession?

03-12-2010, 05:46 PM
Ooooh cocaine possession....big deal.

What would you consider a 'proper' dealing for 'rats' that are charged with possession?

Cocaine - No big deal?!

You partial to powdering yer beak tae like?!

Repeated offences, not just this one..

"Proper" dealing with would equate to how any non celebrity, allbeit Z list, would be treated..

03-12-2010, 05:57 PM
Lock him up and lose the key :agree:

Time tae put an end tae the shenanigans of this piece of jakeball trash :agree:

03-12-2010, 06:58 PM
Cocaine - No big deal?!

You partial to powdering yer beak tae like?!

Repeated offences, not just this one..

"Proper" dealing with would equate to how any non celebrity, allbeit Z list, would be treated..

My personal preferences have nothing to do with the fact that I think the state prosecuting people for possession of cocaine is a significant waste of time and money.

As a guide as to how the law would normally deal with cocaine possession; despite the rather grand maximum of 7 years incarceration for merely possesing a class A over 70% of possession of cases result in a simple fine of a caution and only about 5% go straight to jail.

So as I said, big deal.

04-12-2010, 02:48 AM
To be fair the Gallagher brothers have been guilty of taking their fair share of coke etc.

Can they really be described as 'guilty' if it was just their fair share? Surely it would have to be MORE than their fair share.

04-12-2010, 05:54 PM
Any chance to put Pete down eh! Whatever you say/think about him at the end of the day he is a genius.:agree:

04-12-2010, 05:55 PM
They should just leave him alone - he's a poor, misunderstood musical "genius" didn't you know?! :rotflmao:

He keeps going, and his death will eventually be a headline - waste of news really.

Stop talking about it then.

04-12-2010, 05:58 PM

Stop talking about it then.

Sorry my liege, I meant no offense to your dear Lord Pete.

p.s. - considering the many people who have been described as musical geniuses over the years (Bowie, Mercury, Hendrix, Clapton, Marley, Cobain...), under what criteria does this junkie piece of trash deserve a place amongst them?

04-12-2010, 06:03 PM

p.s. - considering the many people who have been described as musical geniuses over the years (Bowie, Mercury, Hendrix, Clapton, Marley, Cobain...), under what criteria does this junkie piece of trash deserve a place amongst them?

Yes very good. Have you ever actually took out time to listen or watch videos documentaries about Peter Doherty? If not I suggest you do

04-12-2010, 06:07 PM
Yes very good. Have you ever actually took out time to listen or watch videos documentaries about Peter Doherty? If not I suggest you do

I used to quite like the Libertines actually - seen them live a couple of times too, both with and without him as a front man. However, their material is eventually tired, with dull lyrical content and monotonous musical progression.

However, Pete Doherty as a genius? Nah

04-12-2010, 06:22 PM
I used to quite like the Libertines actually - seen them live a couple of times too, both with and without him as a front man. However, their material is eventually tired, with dull lyrical content and monotonous musical progression.

Your opinion mate, I disagree fully.

04-12-2010, 06:25 PM
Your opinion mate, I disagree fully.

You've yet to address my question as to why he's a genius?

05-12-2010, 09:49 AM

every one of your examples had a history of heavy drug use/addiction, well except marley who just smoked weed.

is it just because you don't like his music that you label him a junkie whereas you describe the others are musical geniuses.

05-12-2010, 10:51 AM
every one of your examples had a history of heavy drug use/addiction, well except marley who just smoked weed.

is it just because you don't like his music that you label him a junkie whereas you describe the others are musical geniuses.

Nothing to do with my personal dislike of his music - if you note further up, I'm sure I pointed out I did used to quite like the Libertines.

Well aware of the widespread narcotic use in my above named examples, but it didn't stop/interfere with their musical careers - they still produced platinum selling albums, created timeless songs which are still played today and are remembered for their musical legacy rather than their drug-use (with perhaps the exception of Hendrix and Marley, who smoked weed as part of a religious culture).

I'll concede musical genius is a subjective notion, but I'm still waiting to hear what makes Pete Doherty a genius.

05-12-2010, 10:54 AM
Nothing to do with my personal dislike of his music - if you note further up, I'm sure I pointed out I did used to quite like the Libertines.

Well aware of the widespread narcotic use in my above named examples, but it didn't stop/interfere with their musical careers - they still produced platinum selling albums, created timeless songs which are still played today and are remembered for their musical legacy rather than their drug-use (with perhaps the exception of Hendrix and Marley, who smoked weed as part of a religious culture).

I'll concede musical genius is a subjective notion, but I'm still waiting to hear what makes Pete Doherty a genius.

as you said it's a subjective notion. i don't particularly like the libertines nor do i think that doherty is a musical genius. but on the same note i don't think that any of those you cited as examples are musical geniuses either for that matter :greengrin

05-12-2010, 10:59 AM
as you said it's a subjective notion. i don't particularly like the libertines nor do i think that doherty is a musical genius. but on the same note i don't think that any of those you cited as examples are musical geniuses either for that matter :greengrin

Other than Marley, I'm not a fan of any of those I cited, but their reputation as global musical household names can't be denied.

They've each made millions in sales from their records, with many of them having platinum selling albums - everyone knows the likes of Mercury and Clapton in terms of their musical careers. I doubt anyone will look back on Doherty and be able to discuss him without making reference to his hopeless addiction.

Storar
05-12-2010, 06:31 PM

Say what you want about Doherty; he's a junkie, he's a waster, his songs are crap or whatever, the one thing you can't say that his material has dull lyrical content. To be fair, in the second Babyshambles album there's quite a bit of lazy lyrical content but nobodys perfect.

I'm Libs daft. I spent just under £200 and 28 excruciating hours on public transport and in train/bus stations just to go and see their reunion show at Leeds in August and I'll also try and fight their corner when these predicatble and repetitive posts surface every few months.

05-12-2010, 08:34 PM
Say what you want about Doherty; he's a junkie, he's a waster, his songs are crap or whatever, the one thing you can't say that his material has dull lyrical content. To be fair, in the second Babyshambles album there's quite a bit of lazy lyrical content but nobodys perfect.

I'm Libs daft. I spent just under £200 and 28 excruciating hours on public transport and in train/bus stations just to go and see their reunion show at Leeds in August and I'll also try and fight their corner when these predicatble and repetitive posts surface every few months.

I didn't, I said The Libertines had lazy lyrical content (which he is only partially responsible for writing) - this was more a justification for why I stopped paying attention to them more than a slating of him, as some of the stuff in the Albion Sessions is pretty good.

I'm glad someone rational (yet still a fan) can concede the word genius is an overstatement.

Number69
06-12-2010, 12:37 PM
How many people who have posted in this thread have written their own music?

How many people can even play a guitar?

How many people on here get ****in smashed at the weekends on alcohol?

How many get smashed on cocaine,swedge,speed?

How many of you take a toke of a joint?

Hypocritical *******s in here then I see? Its the people in this thread calling him a junkie, waster ****bag etc etc etc that make me laugh.

Get your own house in order before slating someone you've never even met and probably would never have heard of if you didnt spend your time staring at the pictures in The Sun :wink:

06-12-2010, 12:43 PM

Hypocritical *******s in here then I see? Its the people in this thread calling him a junkie, waster ****bag etc etc etc that make me laugh.

Get your own house in order before slating someone you've never even met and probably would never have heard of if you didnt spend your time staring at the pictures in The Sun :wink:

Guilty of the first 2 questions, but a resounding "no" to the other 3.

What rights have I unlocked?

06-12-2010, 12:55 PM

So because some people enjoy a drink at the weekend they can't criticise Pete Doherty? And because he has writen his own music that makes his lifestyle ok?

I've been there, done it and bought the T shirt many times over with addiction and since i got myself sorted i've spent a lot of the last couple of years of my life working with addicts and young offenders. No one is making excuses for them, and neither they should be they have made their lifestyle choice and have to deal with the consequences. However it seems to me that because Pete Doherty is, in some peoples eyes, a talented musician that excuse after excuse should be made for him. A jail sentence won't do him any good, neither will all the fines in the world. Until he accepts he has a problem and truly wants to get clean no ammount of lecturing will do any good, but constant excuses and attempts to rationalise his behaviour aren't doing any good either.

I've never written my own music, i can't play a guitar, i enjoy a drink now and then, i've taken all the drugs you mention and then some so maybe in your eyes i'm not entitled to an opinion without being a hypocrite. Or maybe you could consider that i, and countless others, live with the after effects of my addictions everyday, i understand very personally the emotions and mental and physical strains addiction places upon a person so maybe i'm in a position were i'm entitled to comment, hypocrite or not. The constant excuses people are making for Pete Doherty are doing him far more harm than good.

06-12-2010, 12:59 PM

Get your own house in order before slating someone you've never even met and probably would never have heard of if you didnt spend your time staring at the pictures in The Sun :wink:No tae the first two (though I have made electronic music)

Guilty of the other three :greengrin but only the drink now :cheers:

Never bought and dinnae read the Sun though, wouldnae use it tae wipe ***** of ma shoes. :bitchy:

Then again I only posted on this thread tae see if I could get a reaction :fishin: from a certain poster :greengrin but never :grr:

Personally I couldnae give a tinkers curse what he gets up tae

06-12-2010, 03:17 PM
Guilty of the first 2 questions, but a resounding "no" to the other 3.

What rights have I unlocked?

perhaps you should have tried the other 3 and then instead of being a mere critic on here you too could have been in a fairly successful band with a number 1 album and have spent a not inconsiderable amount of time hanging out the back of kate moss :devil:

Number69
06-12-2010, 03:32 PM
Not going to quote any posts, but it seems as though its one rule for someone who is in the media spotlight and another for joe public, will this ever change? Will it

06-12-2010, 03:34 PM
perhaps you should have tried the other 3 and then instead of being a mere critic on here you too could have been in a fairly successful band with a number 1 album and have spent a not inconsiderable amount of time hanging out the back of kate moss :devil:

I'll settle for a soundtrack recording and 3 support slots to a decent sized Scottish band, whilst maintaining a healthy lifestyle :wink:

06-12-2010, 03:42 PM

I'll settle for a soundtrack recording and 3 support slots to a decent sized Scottish band, whilst maintaining a healthy lifestyle :wink:I can fart Flower of Scotland whilst in the bath after an abundance of cabbage ...im not in a band either but in that instance i reckon i still have more talent than Doherty ..

Trying tae learn Sunshine on Leith but thats a bit tricky ..:greengrin

06-12-2010, 04:35 PM

My house is well in order, dinnae you worry about that..

He's a junkie, lowest of the low, who somehow manages to escape a jail sentence time and time again..

His music is ***** IMO but that wasn't the point of this thread..

Lock him up and let big bubba and the boys rattle the smack out of him..

hibbytam
06-12-2010, 04:45 PM
Not going to quote any posts, but it seems as though its one rule for someone who is in the media spotlight and another for joe public, will this ever change? Will it

Ah but because he's in the public spotlight, he's more likely to be arrested, and people are more likely to notice him getting arrested, and then complain that he's getting a better deal than 'joe public', without actually knowing what joe public would actually get for the crime. And never mind the 'innocent until proven guilty' idea, and that more often than not he gets out of court without a guilty verdict.

And to quote a more amusing man than myself, if you want to take a moral high ground with drugs in music, throw away half your music collection. Start with the beatles and work your way through.

Twa Cairpets
06-12-2010, 09:12 PM

I've not met lots of people of whom I have a low opinion, as I'm sure you do. This would appear to include the majority of people on this thread, which would make you rather hypocritical as well by your own definition.

Doherty may or may not be a great musician, but I'm guessing the Libertines will be a very minor footnote in the history of music. My personal objection to him is that for whatever reason, his lifestyle is, like Amy Winehouse, seen to be aspirational.

Number69
07-12-2010, 11:52 AM
I've not met lots of people of whom I have a low opinion, as I'm sure you do. This would appear to include the majority of people on this thread, which would make you rather hypocritical as well by your own definition.

Doherty may or may not be a great musician, but I'm guessing the Libertines will be a very minor footnote in the history of music. My personal objection to him is that for whatever reason, his lifestyle is, like Amy Winehouse, seen to be aspirational.

I am one of the biggest hypocrites you'll ever meet and I've no problem admitting that lol.

When its all said and done though I can also admit that I'm not a corporate puppet who believes what they read in the press, I go out and buy books written by real people who do real investigation and who put time and effort into finding the real person.

This guy is someones son, brother, uncle,grandson, drugs were not always a part of the life they chose but only when they were was he detailed in the press as a ****bag and everyone takes notice of "the real" Peter Doherty, or more so the Peter Doherty the press want you to know so you will buy their papers.

Who likes Hendrix? The Stones? The Beatles? Pink Floyd? Nirvana?

I could write a list of musicians who were drug infested throughout their careers and most people would overlook the fact they took drugs because their music was something that inspired them!!

Well i am not as shallow as those people and I dont care if Doherty is a junkie a murderer or a granny basher, he's done no harm to me and his music **** ROCKS!

07-12-2010, 11:58 AM
Did anyone else notice the irony that Cher Lloyd, was given prescription drugs for her nerves before her first X Factor performance? Doctor gives you a drug, that's OK, buy the same drug on the street that's not.

Anybody who criticises artists for taking drugs doesn't uderstand art, and would be better off sticking to sport or some other hobby.

Number69
07-12-2010, 12:04 PM
Did anyone else notice the irony that Cher Lloyd, was given prescription drugs for her nerves before her first X Factor performance? Doctor gives you a drug, that's OK, buy the same drug on the street that's not.

Anybody who criticises artists for taking drugs doesn't uderstand art, and would be better off sticking to sport or some other hobby.

It IS illegal to be in possession of controlled drugs unless prescribed by a medical practitioner there is no doubt about that, but again the coroprate strings come into play and THE MAN wins the battle.

Number69
07-12-2010, 12:58 PM

Na let the laddie be, he'd rather sit an dream about a man being raped by his own admition:wink:

08-12-2010, 06:05 PM

I'm officially auld :greengrin Had to google it !!

Has anyone asked Doherty what he thinks about his drug use ?

I'd bet he enjoys it !!

Whats the problem ?

08-12-2010, 07:33 PM
I'm officially auld :greengrin Had to google it !!

Has anyone asked Doherty what he thinks about his drug use ?

I'd bet he enjoys it !!

Whats the problem ?

I'd be surprised if there were many drug users who didn't say they enjoyed their drug use (at least when supplies are plentiful).

That doesn't mean that as a lifestyle choice it should be condoned or defended, especially when it impacts on the life of others in a detrimental manner.

08-12-2010, 07:48 PM
I'd be surprised if there were many drug users who didn't say they enjoyed their drug use (at least when supplies are plentiful).

That doesn't mean that as a lifestyle choice it should be condoned or defended, especially when it impacts on the life of others in a detrimental manner.

I am unaware of the detrimental affects that his drug use has on others.

I'm not defending him. Its his choice.

08-12-2010, 07:59 PM
I am unaware of the detrimental affects that his drug use has on others.

I'm not defending him. Its his choice.

You don't believe that his drug use is having a detrimental effect on the health and well being of his close and extended family?

It's easy to argue that drug use is a purely personal choice, i convinced myself the same for a long time, but the wider consequences are pretty disturbing.

08-12-2010, 08:34 PM
You don't believe that his drug use is having a detrimental effect on the health and well being of his close and extended family?

It's easy to argue that drug use is a purely personal choice, i convinced myself the same for a long time, but the wider consequences are pretty disturbing.

Not to mention his continued abuse of substances in a public spotlight, thus introducing (glamourising?) to people who want to emulate him, and the impact this then has on THEIR families and friends.

It's a vicious cycle when someone "famous" leads such a bad example, as some sad cases will want to be just like them - it's a bit like watching an advert for a car - nobody is naive enough to think that everyone who watches the ad will go out and buy the car, but some will.

As long as he is continually hounded, and existing with his habit in a media spotlight, he creates a dangerous role model.

08-12-2010, 08:47 PM

Sometimes the hardest thing is facing up to the mess you were in when you were doing it. I can understand why so many people relapse to a place where they don't have to face themselves.

Not to mention his continued abuse of substances in a public spotlight, thus introducing (glamourising?) to people who want to emulate him, and the impact this then has on THEIR families and friends.

It's a vicious cycle when someone "famous" leads such a bad example, as some sad cases will want to be just like them - it's a bit like watching an advert for a car - nobody is naive enough to think that everyone who watches the ad will go out and buy the car, but some will.

As long as he is continually hounded, and existing with his habit in a media spotlight, he creates a dangerous role model.

I've never been convinced about the role model thing. When I was a kid, I knew Bowie took drugs, I thought he was the business in every other aspect of what he did, but I could never see the glamour in his narcotics use.

Again, whilst loving the psychadelic music of the Beatles or The Pink Floyd, I could also see the mess of the likes of Syd Barrett. Rather than making me want to take drugs, their examples were enough to make me think twice.

I'm not saying this is necessarily true for eveyone, but I sometimes think kids aren't given enough credit for/understanding of the choices they make.

Any kid seeing Pete Docherty and wanting to be like him might well have demons to deal with themselves IMO.

08-12-2010, 09:48 PM
Sometimes the hardest thing is facing up to the mess you were in when you were doing it. I can understand why so many people relapse to a place where they don't have to face themselves.

I wouldn't argue with this for a second and as i have said earlier in the thread i have 1st hand experience of the situation myself.

However for the poster i quoted to simpy write it off as a personal choice and contend they can see no detrimental effects on others through drug use is, IMO, a bit naive.

08-12-2010, 11:05 PM
I wouldn't argue with this for a second and as i have said earlier in the thread i have 1st hand experience of the situation myself.

However for the poster i quoted to simpy write it off as a personal choice and contend they can see no detrimental effects on others through drug use is, IMO, a bit naive.

:agree: I actually think it's a monumentally stupid suggestion that Doherty's drug use will have had no detrimental effect on others. For a start his drug use funds dealers, who fund suppliers, who generally are not particularly nice people, by all accounts.

There's the cost to the tax-payer for dealing with him - whatever our own personal opinions on drug use are, at the end of the day what he's doing is illegal and when he gets caught it costs us money to deal with it.

My recollections of his charge sheet are hazy (short term memory isn't what it once was, for some reason...:whistle:) but have his arrests and prosecutions been solely for drug taking/possession, or have there been other acts committed whilst under the influence?

As for Filled Rolls' suggestion that "Anybody who criticises artists for taking drugs doesn't uderstand art" is absolute guff as well (nae offence! :greengrin). The drug taking artist is a total cliche and in many cases the drug taking comes to the fore once the artist has already enjoyed success, and for every artist that has gone on to produce better work on drugs, there's a heap more who have ******ed everything right up by taking them.

09-12-2010, 05:45 AM

Agreed. :agree:

:agree: I actually think it's a monumentally stupid suggestion that Doherty's drug use will have had no detrimental effect on others. For a start his drug use funds dealers, who fund suppliers, who generally are not particularly nice people, by all accounts.

There's the cost to the tax-payer for dealing with him - whatever our own personal opinions on drug use are, at the end of the day what he's doing is illegal and when he gets caught it costs us money to deal with it.

My recollections of his charge sheet are hazy (short term memory isn't what it once was, for some reason...:whistle:) but have his arrests and prosecutions been solely for drug taking/possession, or have there been other acts committed whilst under the influence?

As for Filled Rolls' suggestion that "Anybody who criticises artists for taking drugs doesn't uderstand art" is absolute guff as well (nae offence! :greengrin). The drug taking artist is a total cliche and in many cases the drug taking comes to the fore once the artist has already enjoyed success, and for every artist that has gone on to produce better work on drugs, there's a heap more who have ******ed everything right up by taking them.

Fair comment, but may I produce exhibit A, this is a drum solo from Mr. Ginger Baker, sometime of the beat combo "The Cream".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSZgFYy5eLI

I put it to you that such a performance would not have been possible without the aid of amphetamine sulphate, which I believe is known amongst hippies, beatniks and the like as "speed".

If m'learned friend desires, further examples such as Mr Gene Krupa, or indeed Buddy Rich can be produced. Whilst I might also point to some of the seminal works by the likes of Mr "Dizzy" Gillespie, to demonstrate the effects of Marijuana.

Actually, Ginger Baker apart, I agree that drugs do get in the way of real talent. There is nothing more embarrassing to me than Neil Young's cocaine fuelled version of "Helpless" in the Last Waltz. I don't think Neil's that proud of it either.

09-12-2010, 06:44 AM

He's also been done for driving under the influence, car theft, driving with a suspended license and burglary among other things.

Number69
09-12-2010, 12:06 PM
Can anyone else fell this thread going on forever?:yawn:

This is the life we chose, we will either be on one side of the fence or the other, the life he chose is on the other side too and so it shall continue!:wink:

09-12-2010, 01:31 PM
He's also been done for driving under the influence, car theft, driving with a suspended license and burglary among other things.

It wasn't burglary.

09-12-2010, 02:07 PM
Doherty has been repeatedly arrested for drug offences and those arising from drug use, such as driving under the influence, car theft,[47] and driving with a suspended licence.[48][49] He has pled guilty to possession of crack cocaine, heroin, cannabis and ketamine.[48] His addictions have resulted in jail time and multiple trips to rehabilitation facilities.[49] The influence of drugs on his life had already reached such an intensity at times, that in his younger days, Doherty worked as a drug dealer to pay for his drug habit, as he stated to author Peter Welsh in his biography.[50] Doherty stated that he has been a rent boy, and that during that time he robbed one of his male clients.[51]

In 2003, while Doherty's first band The Libertines was performing in Japan, he broke into Carl Barât's flat and stole various items, including an old guitar and a laptop computer. On 7 September Doherty was sentenced by Judge Roger Davies to 6 months in prison, however the sentence was eventually shortened to two months on appeal with the judge commenting, "We feel that a custodial sentence was justified in this case but sufficient credit was not given for his timely plea of guilty which it should have been. We have reduced his sentence to two months which will allow for his almost immediate release." Doherty was released from jail on 8 October.[52][53][54][55]

On 2 February 2005, Doherty was arrested after an altercation with documentary filmaker Max Carlish, who was making a rockumentary about the singer and sold photos of a heroin smoking Doherty to the tabloids. Doherty and his friend Alan Wass had been charged with robbery and blackmail. On 7 February Doherty was released on bail after his record company Rough Trade put up £150,000 in bonds.[56][57] All charges against him were later dropped by the Crown Prosecution Service due to a lack of evidence.[58]

In late 2007, a photo was published in several newspapers of Doherty allegedly forcing his pet cat to inhale from a crack pipe.[59][60][61]

On 8 April 2008, Doherty was jailed for 14 weeks by a court for breaching a probation order after a string of brushes with the law for drugs and driving offenses. On the 18 April 2008, he was moved to a private area of Wormwood Scrubs prison after learning that fellow inmates were planning to attack him, therefore making it safer for the singer. On 6 May 2008, he was released after his sentence was cut in half and further 18 days were remitted due to a government plan to reduce overcrowding. He also had another 2 days off for being in police custody (after serving just over 4 weeks of a 14-week sentence). He described prison life as "a lot of gangsters and Radio 4" and showed a certificate confirming he had passed a drugs test while inside.[62]

Doherty made another attempt to fight his drug addiction in September 2007, when he underwent rehab for six weeks at Clouds House.[63] However, Doherty relapsed in November 2007 following his appearance at the MTV Europe Music Awards 2007 in Munich.[64] In September 2008 Andy Boyd, Doherty's manager, claimed in an interview with the Daily Mail that Doherty did not get off heroin. Boyd stated: "The only time I can be sure he’s not doing heroin or crack is when he’s in rehab or prison or asleep." and implied that when Doherty had an implant fitted, which blocks the body’s opiate receptors, he replaced heroin with another drug.[65]

In June 2009, Doherty was arrested in Gloucester and charged with driving dangerously, while drunk, and being in possession of heroin. He was released on a £50,000 bail[66] and after 'guilty' pleas were entered, was asked to return to court on 21 December for sentencing.[67] On this date, Doherty was spared jail but was ordered to pay £2,050 in fines, and was banned from driving for 18 months, despite the court hearing Doherty had 21 previous drug offences and six motoring offences. Following his release from court, he was escorted by officers to the nearest police station and re-arrested for possession of a controlled substance,[68] later revealed to be heroin.[69] The following day, 22 December, it emerged that Doherty could be charged with offences linked to a hit-and-run incident, which left a pedestrian in a critical condition. Doherty's manager, Andrew Boyd, has already appeared in court charged with a number of offences relating to the incident.[69] Whilst Doherty was in Gloucester court on 21 December, heroin fell out of his coat pocket. He was arrested for possession and was convicted for this offence at the same court on 27 January 2010. He was fined £750 and ordered to pay £85 court costs.[70] On 11 March 2010, Lowestoft magistrates fined Doherty £500 and banned him from driving for 12 months for allowing his Daimler car to be used uninsured by his manager.[71]

On 19 March 2010, Doherty was arrested on suspicion of supplying controlled drugs. He was reported to be bail until April 2010.[72]

In June 2010 Doherty was, after spending 10 hours in detention in JFK Airport, refused entry into the United States - despite having a visa.[73][74]

On October 18, 2010, Doherty was summoned to court under the charge of Cocaine Possession. It is unknown of his conviction as yet.[75]

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a waste of skin...

09-12-2010, 02:10 PM
It wasn't burglary.

A pop singer who admitted burgling a former band mate's home after being kicked out of the group, was yesterday sentenced to six months in prison. Pete Doherty, 24, formerly singer and guitarist with The Libertines, who has had a £200-a-day heroin and crack addiction for five years, broke into a flat belonging to his friend and fellow front man Carl Barat.
In a revenge attack, after being asked to leave the group because of his drug habit, Doherty stole items including an antique guitar, laptop computer, video recorder, CD player, mouth organ and books.
The court was told that Doherty[...]kicked down the door to Barat's basement flat in central London on July 25 while the band were on tour in Japan.
Doherty plead guilty to burglary at the at Horseferry Road magistrates court in London.

Storar
09-12-2010, 02:37 PM
It wasn't burglary.

yes it was

09-12-2010, 03:13 PM
It wasn't burglary.

I think you'll find it was......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/3142801.stm

http://www.nme.com/news/libertines/15033

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/music/3149610.stm

Number69
09-12-2010, 03:22 PM
He broke into Carl's flat and nicked a guitar, think it was quite valuable if IIRC

Like all junkies, you dont nail it down they'll steal it!!!

Has no one pondered why Kate Moss would be interested in going out with a junkie? Obviously cleaned up his act........

09-12-2010, 03:28 PM
Has no one pondered why Kate Moss would be interested in going out with a junkie? Obviously cleaned up his act........

Maybe because she had drug problems at the same time?

Storar
09-12-2010, 03:45 PM
He broke into Carl's flat and nicked a guitar, think it was quite valuable if IIRC

Like all junkies, you dont nail it down they'll steal it!!!

Did it not turn out that it was all or at least mostly all his own stuff that he took though? That rings a bell

ChooseLife
09-12-2010, 07:23 PM
Doherty > Lennon

09-12-2010, 07:48 PM
Doherty > Lennon

I can only hope you mean Neil Lennon :bitchy:

09-12-2010, 09:02 PM
Doherty > Lennon

:top marks for the fishing attempt, doubt anyone will bite though.

10-12-2010, 11:29 AM
My mistake. In all honesty I thought he only broke into Carl's flat not actually took/nicked anything.