View Full Version : Media Postal thefts
20-12-2009, 11:04 AM
25 postal workers in the Bathgate sorting office have been sacked for stealing ipods and mobile phones.
The items were pilfered by temporary staff-part of a drive by Royal Mail bosses to save cash by employing more casual and less full time staff.
The level of thefts stunned the under cover reporter and after 45 minutes training he witnessed greedy staff ripping through parcels and nick valuable items.
In today's NOTW
20-12-2009, 11:10 AM
Can you link this article because I work in the bathgate delivery office and have heard bugger all about this. I assume this is the old motorola depot that royal mail are using to store packets.
Edit found the article http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/scottish/scottish_news/647695/Probe-reveals-the-depths-to-which-postal-service-has-fallen.html
20-12-2009, 11:23 AM
This a shocking story and again all down to cost cutting and bringing in Temp staff.
There will be a lot of kids who will miss out this Xmas because of these thieving ****s :grr:
20-12-2009, 12:24 PM
This a shocking story and again all down to cost cutting and bringing in Temp staff.
There will be a lot of kids who will miss out this Xmas because of these thieving ****s :grr:
Isn't it down to needing to bring in temporary staff for the Christmas rush?
20-12-2009, 12:36 PM
Isn't it down to needing to bring in temporary staff for the Christmas rush?
temporary staff have always been used over the festive period but the fact are temporary staff are being used more and more instead of employing full time staff.
The checks that are supposed to be done before anyone is recruited by Royal mail are clearly not being done correctly.
Some of these guys have criminal records so someone is not doing there job properly.
20-12-2009, 06:28 PM
Bill Knox writes:
So beware if you are offered any back door bargains, the Neds don't care who they hurt.
24-12-2009, 09:00 PM
And to think i almost got Work for Royal Mail, thank god i got a temp job in Next on Princes Street, posters in the bogs about what you risk if you nick either cash or stock, even tiny amounts, safe to say that those who have been dismissed will never get a job again as long as they live, won't even be able to go on the dole, at least i don't think so. Cannae wait for Boxing Day, i've got a bloody 12pm - 8pm shift :bitchy: i'm gonna be Knackered
24-12-2009, 10:27 PM
And to think i almost got Work for Royal Mail, thank god i got a temp job in Next on Princes Street, posters in the bogs about what you risk if you nick either cash or stock, even tiny amounts, safe to say that those who have been dismissed will never get a job again as long as they live, won't even be able to go on the dole, at least i don't think so. Cannae wait for Boxing Day, i've got a bloody 12pm - 8pm shift :bitchy: i'm gonna be Knackered
8 hours? Knackered? Pfft.... the youth of today :wink:
I'd love a 12-8 shift in my job, easy short shift.
Calvin
24-12-2009, 10:32 PM
Cannae wait for Boxing Day, i've got a bloody 12pm - 8pm shift :bitchy: i'm gonna be Knackered
Wee shame..
I'm working twelve hours tomorrow. Twelve hours on Christmas Day.
Still, beats working 45 hours over last Friday-Sunday.
24-12-2009, 10:34 PM
I don't think so.
24-12-2009, 10:58 PM
I don't think so.
They should be OK for a job with Royal Mail. Apparently.:greengrin
24-12-2009, 11:02 PM
They should be OK for a job with Royal Mail. Apparently.:greengrin
I used to know quite a few people that worked in Next, some of the scams that went on in there were unbelievable. No company is theft-free.