View Full Version : Who's going to Aberdeen then?/Travel Updates

16-12-2009, 09:30 PM
Heading up with 7 mates.

Travelling on the Edi West bus, never been on it before, here's hoping for a great day out and three points. Gonna get blitzed me :greengrin

16-12-2009, 09:35 PM
Me and two buddies:D

16-12-2009, 10:00 PM
Heading up with 7 mates.

Travelling on the Edi West bus, never been on it before, here's hoping for a great day out and three points. Gonna get blitzed me :greengrin

You're going to the coldest place on earth in mid December on a ground where we rarely win.

I wouldn't count on either "a great day out" or "three points" :greengrin

Aberdeen seem to be pretty bi-polar of late - either fighting tooth and nail a la Rangers game or limp and spirtless as against Hamilton.

I wouldn't be gutted with a draw tbh.

And no, I'm not going. Family commitments on the day - sadly...................................:greengrin

16-12-2009, 10:17 PM
Yup ah'll be ther as per...full car..designated driver :yawn:
Tickets already purchased :greengrin

16-12-2009, 10:23 PM
yip, i'll be there

weedgiehibbie
16-12-2009, 10:24 PM
me + 10 others have booked apexes from glasgow queen street to aberdeen for a westie "party train" - still a space left for any westie thinking of going - £10.25 train fair - cheap plug :greengrin

16-12-2009, 10:26 PM
I see enough of the bloody place through the week!

I actually would have went, but have a family dinner at the Houston House on Saturday evening :agree:

I'm sure the vast majority of my soul will be there watching though, as it resides in Aberdeen these days, having been sucked out of me (ooer Missus)

16-12-2009, 10:31 PM
Yup, I'll be there! :agree:

Youngest son and his mate also going! :thumbsup:

bigstu
16-12-2009, 11:04 PM
its been my home sweet home for the last 6 years so i'll be there

hail hail

Newhaven
16-12-2009, 11:36 PM
Newhaven +19 on the choo choo :cool2:

16-12-2009, 11:44 PM
Cannae believe is not PATG!!!

I've no organised a ticket!

Kevvy1875
16-12-2009, 11:50 PM
-7 degrees forecast for saturday with windchill of -17. Brrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Newhaven
16-12-2009, 11:50 PM
Cannae believe is not PATG!!!

I've no organised a ticket!

None of us have tickets either. It will be PATG - dont worry :greengrin

16-12-2009, 11:51 PM
I always loved seeing their removal vans

ABERDEEN SHORE PORTERS SOCIETY
1 BALTIC PLACE
ABERDEEN

Never a truer word!!

Used to freeze my bollocks off on the door at Mecca's Aberdeen Ritzy in the 1980's

16-12-2009, 11:53 PM
Weather permitting, I will be there.

I won't be going if there's a chance of heavy snow in the Aberdeen area.

Lmc2105
16-12-2009, 11:56 PM
Heading up with 7 mates.

we have been renamed mate:wink:
Edinburgh & Livingston District S.C:thumbsup:
but yeah unfortunately i will not make the game:boo hoo:
work's night out in the Highlands

but we have nearly a full 49 seater so expect a reasonably big crowd also with the people going by rail so lets get right behind the boys!!

Mon the cabbage!!:thumbsup:

17-12-2009, 01:42 AM
Live right next to it so i will be there. Dont ave a ticket tho so it better be pay at the gate lol:thumbsup:

susieq
17-12-2009, 08:02 AM
Hubby and i are driving up, with another couple,
BUT after looking at the weather forecast, just wondering when pitch inspection is carried out??

M8UDB
17-12-2009, 08:16 AM
Better be pay at the gate!! Im going up in the car, not been to a game up there since i was about 10 or something so should be good. Not expecting 3 points though for some reason, think they will still be slightly pi55ed from the last game :greengrin

17-12-2009, 09:04 AM
I will be there as it is one of the nearer games to me. Have to say that at this time of the year, I don't even go for one pint before the game up there. Bad enough to sit there freezing, but freezing and Lilian Gished? No ta.

17-12-2009, 09:06 AM
Me + some others on the train. Cannae wait! :thumbsup:

17-12-2009, 09:08 AM
I shall be there :greengrin

HibeeMcGinn1
17-12-2009, 09:34 AM
surely it will get changed to PATG???

Neil4Hibs
17-12-2009, 09:39 AM
I'll be there, first game of the season for me. Hope and pray it is on!! First chance to see Liam Millar in a Hibs shirt

17-12-2009, 11:06 AM
I'll be there.

Mon the cabbage:hnet:

:notworthy:

banchoryhibs
17-12-2009, 11:52 AM
surely it will get changed to PATG???

I've just checked with the ticket office - whilst he would not confirm that there would be PATG he doubted that I would be disappointed if I turned up on the day :thumbsup:

Good enough for me - I'll be there:greengrin

17-12-2009, 01:20 PM
None of us have tickets either. It will be PATG - dont worry :greengrin

Oh yes we have :wink: :greengrin

17-12-2009, 07:26 PM
Usual crowd of Aberdeen based Hibbies will be nice and warm in our usual hospitality box in the main stand, trying to drink the mini bar dry and take Ladbrokes for a few quid!

Hope you all enjoy the baltic conditions in windiest wee corner in World football! :wink:

17-12-2009, 07:32 PM
It is pay at the gate, turnstiles open at 2pm.:thumbsup:

17-12-2009, 08:19 PM
Will be going and will be taking my fiance along for the first time on the booze cruise up to the north east :greengrin

17-12-2009, 08:26 PM
Who's going to Aberdeen then?

1. The very dedicated
2. Those who have not checked a weather forecast
3. Those avoiding Christmas shopping
4. Those who get pleasure from having their extremities frozen off

17-12-2009, 08:45 PM
Who's going to Aberdeen then?

1. The very dedicated
2. Those who have not checked a weather forecast
3. Those avoiding Christmas shopping
4. Those who get pleasure from having their extremities frozen off

Full respect to those making the trip up there - especially making the journey from Edinburgh or furthur :agree:

I'm sure they will give the team great support :top marks

17-12-2009, 08:46 PM
Newhaven +19 on the choo choo :cool2:

You know fine well there's no chance they'll all make the 8:30 train :greengrin Half of them are out on the Christmas night out on Friday!

Oh yes we have :wink: :greengrin

We've got ours too :agree: Hopefully those who bought in advance will get decent seats!

TheCabbage
17-12-2009, 11:17 PM
Me with another 2 in the car.
1 heading back on the train afterwards.
Me & 1 other have the twin room booked:)

17-12-2009, 11:35 PM
Me and the son will be going, as usual. :notworthy:

17-12-2009, 11:37 PM
We've got ours too :agree: Hopefully those who bought in advance will get decent seats!

you honestly think that people who have bought tickets are going to sit in the seats given?!:greengrin

will be a free for all where you sit. im making sure im no anywhere near the edge, want some protection from the elements:faf:

18-12-2009, 12:40 AM
It is pay at the gate, turnstiles open at 2pm.:thumbsup:

Stunning:thumbsup:, I'm in Aberdeen and cannae wait to see the team for the first time in a while, was a bit worried about this ticket situation, but very good news about PATG:thumbsup:

Baw187
18-12-2009, 12:54 AM
2 of us heading up on the 10.20 (approx.) train. Getting a lift back off work mate so that a bevy can be had. Going to wrap up big style!!!

andrew70
18-12-2009, 09:05 AM
2 of us heading up on the 10.20 (approx.) train. Getting a lift back off work mate so that a bevy can be had. Going to wrap up big style!!!

Is that the 10.27 train from waverly. I am on that train unfortunately on my own as the rest of the usual suspects cant make it. so if you see a lonely hibee give me a shout. :thumbsup:

18-12-2009, 09:34 AM
Me with another 2 in the car.
1 heading back on the train afterwards.
Me & 1 other have the twin room booked:)

Maybe you have the wrong thread, this one might be better? :wink:

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=169197

bigstu
18-12-2009, 10:21 AM
Usual crowd of Aberdeen based Hibbies will be nice and warm in our usual hospitality box in the main stand, trying to drink the mini bar dry and take Ladbrokes for a few quid!

Hope you all enjoy the baltic conditions in windiest wee corner in World football! :wink:

i've done hospitality a couple of times there for the Hibs game, good luck trying to keep your calm & not blow your cover too much. couldn't take it the last couple of times. First time i had to erupt when one of them was saying dig a hole & die you hibee **** when one of our players was down injured. I, the last time i had to be told to sit down after i suggested to a minky sheep fan that he shouldn't be calling Maka a black *******! They'll also no doubt be throwing the usual junky comments at the away section.

18-12-2009, 12:09 PM
i've done hospitality a couple of times there for the Hibs game, good luck trying to keep your calm & not blow your cover too much. couldn't take it the last couple of times. First time i had to erupt when one of them was saying dig a hole & die you hibee **** when one of our players was down injured. I, the last time i had to be told to sit down after i suggested to a minky sheep fan that he shouldn't be calling Maka a black *******! They'll also no doubt be throwing the usual junky comments at the away section.

It's OK mate, we are in one of the boxes at the back of the main stand, right on the half way line. We always sport our Hibs ties and don't hide the fact we are Hibbies. Been there for every game at Todders in the last 5 or 6 years. Everyone knows us now and take take the banter well.

I was once in the corporate seats in the Dick Donald when I did struggle not to bite, especially with some of the bile Deeks was subjected to from those around me. Didn't help that we got humped!

Dalkeith
18-12-2009, 12:11 PM
weather looks not too bad at moment
http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/redcam/0,,10284,00.html

(click on picture to get latest image)

Baw187
18-12-2009, 12:13 PM
Is that the 10.27 train from waverly. I am on that train unfortunately on my own as the rest of the usual suspects cant make it. so if you see a lonely hibee give me a shout. :thumbsup:

That'll be the train !

I'll be sure to ask any solo Hibs fans I see whether they're Andrew70 from Hibs.net !

andrew70
18-12-2009, 12:50 PM

That'll be the train !

I'll be sure to ask any solo Hibs fans I see whether they're Andrew70 from Hibs.net !

Cheers that'll be good lol

Swoosh
18-12-2009, 12:57 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8420303.stm

Looks like Booze may be a problem on the way home :grr:

Think it may need to be a couple cheeky cans in the pocket. Nothing mentioned about the train going there!

18-12-2009, 01:47 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8420303.stm

Looks like Booze may be a problem on the way home :grr:

Think it may need to be a couple cheeky cans in the pocket. Nothing mentioned about the train going there!

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=169369

18-12-2009, 02:47 PM
Just a heads up.

I live in linksField which is just next to pittodrie and its snowing.

Its very light and i cant see it lasting very long but ppl plz check b4 you make the trip ( Most ppl would anyways but its always nice to be nice)

Lets hope its a good fun day for all.

I however will be the only Hibee going that i know as my family live in Fife and wont make it so if anyone is up for a few at the bobbin (pub near pittodrie) Give us a wee email :thumbsup:

:notworthy:

squire
18-12-2009, 03:57 PM
There's a dusting of snow starting to lie now and it feels baltic.

Its most likely that my game in the aberdeenshire amateur league will be off tomorrow so i can go to Todders. Im pretty hopefull anyway!

18-12-2009, 04:22 PM
PATG now confirmed .. Fishul ticket news fae the Hibs (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/ticket-and-travel-update-20091218_2262950_1909432)

18-12-2009, 04:52 PM
So will bevvy be aloud on the trains up? :wink:

18-12-2009, 04:55 PM
PATG now confirmed .. Fishul ticket news fae the Hibs (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/ticket-and-travel-update-20091218_2262950_1909432)

Have you read post 29 on this very thread.:greengrin

18-12-2009, 08:13 PM
Have you read post 29 on this very thread.:greengrin

No - is it interesting? :dunno:

18-12-2009, 08:25 PM

Sorry for the slight hijack but what's a "surfing flag" and why wouldn't they be allowed? :confused:

18-12-2009, 08:27 PM
Sorry for the slight hijack but what's a "surfing flag" and why wouldn't they be allowed? :confused:

Some naughty bhoys set of smokeys under them. (I think)

hibbytam
18-12-2009, 09:07 PM

What are their policies regarding surfin birds?

Fantic
18-12-2009, 10:07 PM

Common at this time of year-

http://www.jrbflags.com/flags/15603_santa_surf.jpg

19-12-2009, 09:34 AM
Just had a message from the advance party on thre train on the way up today - the train is struggling a bit to get there because of the weather, and the ticket collector has suggested there might be problems getting back tonight.

On the plus side, they're getting torn into the lager already :greengrin

M8UDB
19-12-2009, 09:47 AM
Any word on how the roads are on the way up, im goiny leave in about 45 mins?

19-12-2009, 09:49 AM
Sheep friend o mine says, aw the main roads are clear..

Leaving penicuik at 11ish.

19-12-2009, 09:55 AM
traffic scotland cameras currently show the roads to be clear all the way to aberdeen

19-12-2009, 10:08 AM
Scotrail not reporting any problems, everything running on time at the moment.

19-12-2009, 10:22 AM
Snow was pretty bad up here last night but theres been a bit of rain and a thaw this morning. Been out and about already and all the main roads are clear at the moment. Shouldn't be too many problems.

19-12-2009, 11:53 AM
Weather update
Perthshire part of M90 currently blue skies light cloud no sign of snow

19-12-2009, 11:58 AM
Weather update.......

I live at the other end of Aberdeen from the stadium and we are under about 6 inches of snow and it is currently snowing heavily. However, I am told there is very little snow lying down by the beach so hopefully we'll be OK.

19-12-2009, 12:44 PM
Keep your radios on though. I am about an hour South of Aberdeen and it's snowing heavily. No doubt about the game, but getting there may be difficult.:snowman

19-12-2009, 12:50 PM
Right next to the stadium and there is only a little snow. So all is good :thumbsup:

19-12-2009, 12:53 PM
weather looks not too bad at moment
http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/redcam/0,,10284,00.html

(click on picture to get latest image)

Latest from the cam looks interesting....

May watch the 90 mins on the cam :greengrin :wink:

19-12-2009, 01:04 PM
Game now being closely watched as the snow forecast casts doubt for kick off. source - BBC Sportsound

19-12-2009, 01:19 PM
Weather update
Perthshire part of M90 currently blue skies light cloud no sign of snow

Now a complete blizzard with visibility terrible. If you have any mates travelling by car tell them if they are not past Perth already to consider turning back

19-12-2009, 01:20 PM
Once you get into aberdeen its fine. Kingstreet is just all slush

Snow is a bit heavy but its not lying due to the ground being wet with the slush

19-12-2009, 01:26 PM
Now a complete blizzard with visibility terrible. If you have any mates travelling by car tell them if they are not past Perth already to consider turning back

Panic over - visibility improving

19-12-2009, 01:27 PM
Merchiston not bad at all right now, thank you for asking.

19-12-2009, 01:27 PM
I was all set to head off about 12ish and the snow started up quite heavy in Perth so I decided to knock it on the head.

Looking at the LiveView cameras the snow looks to be getting heavier around Aberdeen at the moment (although Laurencekirk doesn't look too bad).

19-12-2009, 01:30 PM
Live on Park Road right next to Pittodrie, still snowing and lying on grass, unused pavements etc but the main roads are all fairly clear and the snow is getting lighter.

19-12-2009, 01:35 PM
Right next to the stadium and there is only a little snow. So all is good :thumbsup:

I wonder if the team travelled up yesterday?

19-12-2009, 01:37 PM
I was all set to head off about 12ish and the snow started up quite heavy in Perth so I decided to knock it on the head.

Looking at the LiveView cameras the snow looks to be getting heavier around Aberdeen at the moment (although Laurencekirk doesn't look too bad).

My brother is on the road to Dundee at the moments saying it's fine. That was a short and very heavy blizzard we had there for 30mins

19-12-2009, 01:42 PM
My bother is on the road to Dundee at the moments saying it's fine.

Are you talking about your missus or your sibling?

That was a short and very heavy blizzard we had there for 30mins

I had just got into the car when it started up. Nipped back in to check the LiveView cameras and saw a lot of snow on the A90 at Dundee and also up at Charlestown. Had been going to meet my cousin up in Aberdeen for the game but decided to err on the side of caution this time.

19-12-2009, 01:57 PM
Just arrived at Pittodrie; pitch is clear although a bit blizzardy on the way in. I don't see this game being called off. Hibs are starting their warm up.

19-12-2009, 02:00 PM
Merchiston not bad at all right now, thank you for asking.

Ice skating on the Canal Robert?

19-12-2009, 02:11 PM
I.m in Livi at the moment and we are in the middle of a white out

Just a wee weather update :greengrin

LamontHFC©
19-12-2009, 02:20 PM
Marchmont is a blanket of white also. :agree: