View Full Version : Alex Edwards

goosano
12-12-2009, 03:08 AM
Some good stories (http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport/39Tunnel-fracas-Players-now-are.5906481.jp)

Hibs07p
12-12-2009, 05:43 AM
Aye, definitely a great player for the Hibs, as were all of the Tornadoes.
I liked this quote.

"Eddie was the exact opposite. His huffs were legendary. Even when we beat Hearts 7-0 (New Year's Day, 1973] he was angry at us for going easy on them in the second half. 'You should have scored ten,' he said. Someone dared to s****** – Paddy Stanton, I think. 'They would have done that to you.'

Classic.

Zimmy
12-12-2009, 06:24 AM
What a good article, Mickey was one of my all time favourite players at a time when every team in Scotland had some good footballers, he would walk into any team in the EPL today no bother, all the best Mickey.:thumbsup:

12-12-2009, 06:45 AM
Good stories.

Always remember Alex running round the pitch on his "tippie toes", and he could put a ball on your big toe from 70:thumbsup: yards.

12-12-2009, 06:57 AM
Great read :thumbsup:

12-12-2009, 07:16 AM
One of my all time fav players was wee Mickey.....pure class, and only cost £13,000 :dizzy:

12-12-2009, 08:22 AM
Brilliant stuff, one of the best players I've ever seen.

franks
12-12-2009, 08:41 AM
Great player and linked so well with Brownlie. Both are in my all time top Hibs team.

Hibs07p
12-12-2009, 08:43 AM
I'm sure Mickey scored the equaliser against Liverpool at the Kop end with a header, but unfortunately, I think Toshack scored 3. Great days.

stubru59
12-12-2009, 09:16 AM
Great stuff from a genuinely talented player.

12-12-2009, 09:22 AM
I'm sure Mickey scored the equaliser against Liverpool at the Kop end with a header, but unfortunately, I think Toshack scored 3. Great days.

I'm pretty sure that goal was to put us 1 goal up on the night, 2 up on aggregate and, with that away goal, Liverpool needed 3, which Toshack eventually got.

Remebering that Brownlie had missed a last minure penalty in the first leg, Mickey's goal should have taken the tie out of Liverpool's reach.

franks
12-12-2009, 09:27 AM
Yeah Mickey's goal put us 1 up on the night right enough.

12-12-2009, 09:32 AM
So here's a wee question...Alex Edwards (in his prime) vs Zemmama...who would you choose??

Hibs07p
12-12-2009, 09:40 AM
I'm pretty sure that goal was to put us 1 goal up on the night, 2 up on aggregate and, with that away goal, Liverpool needed 3, which Toshack eventually got.

Remebering that Brownlie had missed a last minure penalty in the first leg, Mickey's goal should have taken the tie out of Liverpool's reach.

I thought it was the equaliser, but I stand corrected. I think it was 1-1 at half time, is that correct?

12-12-2009, 10:09 AM
So here's a wee question...Alex Edwards (in his prime) vs Zemmama...who would you choose??

No Contest...Mickey wins it every time.

12-12-2009, 10:09 AM
Mickey must be a contender for the title of "Scotland's best ever uncapped player."

A true genius in fact.

12-12-2009, 10:10 AM

The state of the pitches alone would've done for Zemmama!

Mickey every time.

12-12-2009, 10:40 AM

Alex Edwards every time, but Zoomer would get plenty match time during Alex Edwards frequent and lengthy suspensions!

Franck is God
12-12-2009, 11:10 AM
what a great article.

It was football from a different time though and the stories he tells underlines the changes that have occurred in the game since.

stubru59
12-12-2009, 11:17 AM

No contest. Alex. when he played, was in a different league.

12-12-2009, 11:24 AM
Alex Edwards every time, but Zoomer would get plenty match time during Alex Edwards frequent and lengthy suspensions!

Was only about 7 at the time of this team. Always thought the best starting 11 was all we had. Was never really aware of anyone else in that squad!

Who usually took Edwards place on the right?

12-12-2009, 11:32 AM
Was only about 7 at the time of this team. Always thought the best starting 11 was all we had. Was never really aware of anyone else in that squad!

Who usually took Edwards place on the right?

I think I recall Johnny Hamilton was his understudy.....maybe someone will confirm??

hibbie02
12-12-2009, 11:51 AM
'kin Hell.... He's 62 now and a grampy. Talk about feeling auld. It's bad enough when the Polis look like schoolkids but when your footy heroes are in their 60s.......... :bitchy:

EskbankHibby
12-12-2009, 12:07 PM
Some good stories (http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport/39Tunnel-fracas-Players-now-are.5906481.jp)

Met Alex when i was working in Fife about 10 years ago, got blethering and i mentioned that i was a Hibby and he was one of my dads favourite players.

Next time he came in he had brought me an engraved Hibs tankard and invited me and my dad out for a few beers with him and his pals.

Absolute gentleman.

goosano
12-12-2009, 01:10 PM
The memories I have of that time were the crossfield pinpoint balls that he could hit with his right peg and that Cropley could hit with his left-things of great beauty

Mickey Edwards
12-12-2009, 08:37 PM
funnily enough..........my fave player

12-12-2009, 08:56 PM
No contest. Alex. when he played, was in a different league.

And Mickey had an"edge" to his game in the physical sense which meant he could look after himself pretty well! :wink: :agree:

12-12-2009, 08:59 PM
I think I recall Johnny Hamilton was his understudy.....maybe someone will confirm??

Couldnae lace Mickey's drinks though :wink:

woody47
12-12-2009, 10:16 PM
What I used to love about Edwards was when he used to take the hump he took his false front teeth out then smiled - just two fangs! You just knew he was getting ready for another booking :greengrin

12-12-2009, 11:26 PM
One phrase from the article caught my eye:

"Having scored 100 goals before Christmas"

This refers to the 1972/73 season (I think) when Brownlie broke his leg.

ONE HUNDRED GOALS BEFORE CHRISTMAS!!!! :shocked::shocked:

Surely a misprint???

13-12-2009, 07:36 AM

Surely a misprint???

Maybe not. Dryburgh cup, League cup, Scottish cup, European football and the league itself.

13-12-2009, 08:16 AM
Maybe not. Dryburgh cup, League cup, Scottish cup, European football and the league itself.

8 against Ayr, 7 against Besa, 6 against Sporting, 5 against United, 6,5 & 4 against Airdrie, etc.

13-12-2009, 09:24 AM

Surely a misprint???

By my reckoning we'd actually scored 100 by 30 Dec.

30 games played in SL, SLC, Uefa Cup.

13-12-2009, 09:34 AM

And 107 by the 1st of January.:wink:

13-12-2009, 09:38 AM
And 107 by the 1st of January.:wink:

I'd forgotten about that BH.

:fibber:

13-12-2009, 02:53 PM

We scored our hundredth goal at number five of the eight we scored against Ayr Utd the week after we won the League Cup. One week after that we did the business against hahahearts taking us to 110 goals in all competitions to first january season 72/73. Great days indeed :notworthy:

13-12-2009, 03:05 PM
Jimmy O'Rourke scored SIX hatricks before that Christmas

Happy Days.

13-12-2009, 04:13 PM
Edwards was in an era of great wingers or he would have played at international level for sure. Of course his temperament was suspect a la Bud Johnston but that just added to his fascination. Cocky was the word. You don't see many like that now.

Wull
13-12-2009, 04:36 PM
ah never saw the famous 5 but the tornadoes were a team an a half, brilliant, a team that had everything, proffesionalism and fantastic entertainment. fair brings a tear te ma eye:thumbsup:

13-12-2009, 06:44 PM
We scored our hundredth goal at number five of the eight we scored against Ayr Utd the week after we won the League Cup. One week after that we did the business against hahahearts taking us to 110 goals in all competitions to first january season 72/73. Great days indeed :notworthy:

Only if you include the Dryburgh Cup.:cool2:

Three weeks after because we played Celtic and Aberdeen between Ayr and Hertz.:cool2:

13-12-2009, 09:30 PM
Excuse the ignorance lads, but why does he get called Mickey :confused:

green.oracle
14-12-2009, 07:25 AM
For the record, his goal at anfield just before half time at the kop end was the EQUALISER!!!!

Toshack header put liverpool one up around 20 minute mark then came mickey's goal.

Toshack score 2 further headers early in second half to win the game.

Irony was Pat Stanton was dropped by Turnbull after Hibs were dumped out of league cup the week before at Montrose. Had the King played he would have taken care of Toshack no probs.

:thumbsup::notworthy:

14-12-2009, 08:09 AM

Only for a couple of years, although including the famous 72/3, he was given a free after the end of that season & he joined the Huns. Willie Murray, Greme Fyfe & Des Bremner are among others that filled in the right wing position.