View Full Version : Killie and A'deen (A) - Big Games

07-12-2009, 06:56 PM
It would be great to see us take the attitude and performance levels shown at Motherwell on the road, but these will very different games.

Wins at Rugby Park and Pittodrie have never been frequent experiences for Hibs.

Two defeats would be horrible, a couple of wins would have us going into a difficult festive period with St Johnstone (A) sandwiched in between the visits of the Creambos and Jambos.

These five games will tell us a lot about this Hibs side.

07-12-2009, 07:02 PM
It would be great to see us take the attitude and performance levels shown at Motherwell on the road, but these will very different games.

Two defeats would be horrible, a couple of wins would have us going into a difficult festive period with St Johnstone (A) sandwiched in between the visits of the Creambos and Jambos.

Hope for atleast 4 points from next 2 games but would take 2 points now. 2 tough away games. :duck:

07-12-2009, 07:04 PM
We need to be beating Killie, draw at Aberdeen would be a good result.

07-12-2009, 07:10 PM
The next two games are massive for us.

Win them both and I think we can be very positive about what we could achieve this season.

Lose them both and, although I wouldn't say it would be a disaster that will lead to us plummeting down the table, it could be quite damaging to our hopes of challenging for a European place.

I think anything between 2-4 points from those two matches will be OK but to be honest, despite our poor record at Rugby Park, we really shouldn't be fearing playing a side that has won just three matches this season and who sit just four points from the bottom of the table.

If we have any kind of aspiration at all this season then these are the types of games where we should be looking to take maximum points.

07-12-2009, 07:12 PM
Exactly FH, and Yogi won't let them put in another performance like Hamilton. Everyone saw the wonders he worked with Nish at halftime against Falkirk!

07-12-2009, 07:21 PM
I think that we are overdue a win at Kilmarnock. Not so sure about Pittodrie though. A defeat up there would not be the end of the world. Any better than two points from the two games would be fine.

07-12-2009, 07:25 PM
If we don't lose between now and 3rd Jan and are beating Hearts late in the 2nd half, are we allowed to sing "We are unbeatable"? :greengrin

07-12-2009, 07:31 PM
We must go into the Kilmarnock game with the right attitude. It is a very winable game. If we are serious, we must go there for the win.

Aberdeen. Now that will be some game. They will pull every dirty trick in the book. They are smarting from the defeat at ER:agree: We have wo be very careful at Pittodrie. Keeping our discipline is a must.

However, there really is no reason why we cant get maximum points. Stokesy and Deeks will take care of the huns and the yams.

In yogi we trust.

We own the Capital.

pentlando
07-12-2009, 07:31 PM
The spl is one of those leagues where anyone can beat anyone, including rangers and celtic these days. As long as we go compete i'll have no complaints, the home games are where 3rd place will get sewn up this season. I agree though that if we have any ambition to split the OF 3 or 4 points is probably needed

07-12-2009, 07:40 PM
We must go into the Kilmarnock game with the right attitude. It is a very winable game. If we are serious, we must go there for the win.

Aberdeen. Now that will be some game. They will pull every dirty trick in the book. They are smarting from the defeat at ER:agree: We have wo be very careful at Pittodrie. Keeping our discipline is a must.

However, there really is no reason why we cant get maximum points. Stokesy and Deeks will take care of the huns and the yams.

In yogi we trust.

We own the Capital.

Will be tough at Sheepshoggers as they'll be gunning for us! I'll be there :thumbsup: cannae wait!

07-12-2009, 07:44 PM
Agreed these two games are again big.

I think I would take a win at Killie and a point / loss up in Aberdeen if offered. = 3 or 4 points

Rather than 2 draws and keeping our unbeaten run going :agree: = 2 points.

Looking at the fixtures - Dec and Jan are going to be very interesting months to see where we will end up :agree:

Saturday, 12 December 2009
Clydesdale Bank Premier League
Kilmarnock (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/k/kilmarnock/default.stm) v Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm), 15:00
Saturday, 19 December 2009
Aberdeen (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/aberdeen/default.stm) v Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm), 15:00
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm) v Rangers (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/rangers/default.stm), 12:00
Wednesday, 30 December 2009
St Johnstone (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/st_johnstone/default.stm) v Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm), 19:45
Sunday, 3 January 2010
Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm) v Hearts (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/default.stm), 15:00

07-12-2009, 07:49 PM
I think that we are overdue a win at Kilmarnock. Not so sure about Pittodrie though. A defeat up there would not be the end of the world. Any better than two points from the two games would be fine.

we are not due anything. everything we get is through hard work and the team are starting to see this for themselves. IMO 4 points is the least we should take. :thumbsup:

hibsfootballer
07-12-2009, 08:00 PM

I think I would take a win at Killie and a point / loss up in Aberdeen if offered. = 3 or 4 points

Looking at the fixtures - Dec and Jan are going to be very interesting months to see where we will end up :agree:

Kilmarnock (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/k/kilmarnock/default.stm) v Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm), 15:00
Aberdeen (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/aberdeen/default.stm) v Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm), 15:00
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm) v Rangers (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/rangers/default.stm), 12:00
St Johnstone (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/st_johnstone/default.stm) v Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm), 19:45
Sunday, 3 January 2010
Hibernian (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/default.stm) v Hearts (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/default.stm), 15:00

Out of that id take a win at killie, a point away at aberdeen, draw/win at rangers, 3 points at st johnstone and 3 at hearts or is that just being a bit optimistic??:wink:

07-12-2009, 08:08 PM
We should beat killie - they rarely score, we rarely concede goals. So hopefully we will pick three points up there. If we can get anything above 0 points in Aberdeen then we are doing very well. Especially seeing as Rangers were beaten up there.

07-12-2009, 08:27 PM
If we don't lose between now and 3rd Jan and are beating Hearts late in the 2nd half, are we allowed to sing "We are unbeatable"? :greengrin

We know what happens after that song is sung...

07-12-2009, 08:31 PM
I think we'll take 3 points from the next two games... though I aint sure which of the two will beat us.

4 points would be fantastic :agree:

07-12-2009, 09:25 PM

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 3 January 2010

That's a tough set of fixtures - I think Killie away is our best chance of a win - I'd frankly take 5 points from that lot - provided one of them is on the 3rd of January!

Suspect we'll slip up with Rangers and St Johnstone and anything from Pittodrie is a bonus.

Think Killie away is very much of must win to keep the momentum into the festive period. Without it we could be struggling to play catch up with Utd.

07-12-2009, 09:27 PM
i want 15 points from these games!!!

If we have no injuries and we keep playing like we are there are no reasons why we can't win all the games. We have probably the best strike force in the league and our defence has hardly conceded a goal. We are playing 2 of the bottom 6 teams away from home, Gers and Yams at ER where it's now a fortress, our toughest game could be the sheep away, mind you they can't keep 11 players on the park as thre a bunch oh hacket men....

Have no fear Hibees, in Yogi we trust. If is a big word but these teams hold no fear for a fully fit and focused Hibs team.

The only bad news is i'm up for 4 ot of the next 5 games and my win rate over the past 5 years is pretty poor.... but i'm confident this is due a change:notworthy:

Newhaven
07-12-2009, 09:34 PM
The next two games are massive for us.

EVERY game between now and the end of season is going to be massive for us. We are right up there with the Arabs breathing in our pants.

Bring it on :agree:

Hibs Spain
07-12-2009, 09:46 PM

These five games will tell us a lot about this Hibs side.Killie away just seems to be jinxed. I used to go to all the away games but haven't been to Killie for two years. I can't actually remember being there and winning more than twice although I'm sure we have. Was at the game when Boozy got crocked too! Bad vibes :boo hoo:

07-12-2009, 09:53 PM
I think these games will be tough, but then most games are! If we take the desire, application, and skill that we showed on Saturday into any of these games, I'd be confident of a win. Anything less than that and we're liable to drop points.

6 points would be an unbelievable boost to take into the Rangers and Hearts games.:agree:

07-12-2009, 09:55 PM
Id take a draw in both, being 12 games undefeated going into Christmas would be fantastic.

vahibbie
07-12-2009, 10:02 PM
4 points. A win at Killie and a draw v the Sheep.
I'd love to take all three at Aberdeen but would swap them for a win against the HUNS:thumbsup:

07-12-2009, 11:26 PM
EVERY game between now and the end of season is going to be massive for us. We are right up there with the Arabs breathing in our pants.

Bring it on :agree:

Of course, I completely agree. I didn't mean to come across as if I was saying that other games this season are any less important than the next two.

All I meant was that the next two games, because they're away and because we don't have a particularly good record at either ground, are absolutely massive for us if we are going to be serious about finishing in 3rd place (or even better).

They're just the types of games that Rangers and Celtic would not get 0 points from in successive weeks.

I would actually say that December is a huge month for us. We have four games coming up in the rest of this month, three of them are away and the other at home to one of only two teams that are currently above us.

December's historically not really a great month for us. Since 2000/01, this is our points per game average for each month;

October-1.86 ppg
September-1.83 ppg
August-1.56 ppg
November-1.38 ppg
April-1.27 ppg
March-1.26 ppg
December-1.25 ppg
January-1.24 ppg
February-1.14 ppg
May-1.03 ppg
July-1 ppg

I would say that if we can bring in 2010 still within touching distance of the top of the league, then it would be quite significant for the remainder of the season.

07-12-2009, 11:29 PM

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 3 January 2010

Indeed these are the months where in the past our form has been dented...i'd take 4pts out the next 6 tbh...

08-12-2009, 01:23 AM
We should looking to win the next five games. Whether we will is another question. But I hate it when its talked about splitting the ugly sisters, if we can beat one of them why not the pair of them. As a fan I go to games hoping Hibs win them all. So let be positive its only Killie away. They are second bottom of the league. We are on a roll.

In Yogi we trust

08-12-2009, 02:31 AM
i would be happy with 4 points but i fear that we will lose to aberdeen. in reality we must be beating kilmarnock even if they are at home, if we are to achieve 3rd or better this season, we really should be beating aberdeen but they can raise their game on any given day so it really comes down to which aberdeen team turns up.

next 5 games

kilmarnock - win - 2 -0
aberdeen - lose - 2 - 1
rangers - lose 1 -0
st johnstone - win - 3- 0
hearts - win - 1 - 0

we 'll see how wrong i am come jan!

NaeTechnoHibby
08-12-2009, 02:42 AM
Wednesday night in Perth* disnae fill me with cheer :bitchy:

That's the banana skin fixture IMO :boo hoo:

Would be more than happy to be proved wrong :agree:

*Nae offence to Perth, as it's a lovely place :greengrin

08-12-2009, 07:04 AM
Wednesday night in Perth* disnae fill me with cheer :bitchy:

That's the banana skin fixture IMO :boo hoo:

Would be more than happy to be proved wrong :agree:

*Nae offence to Perth, as it's a lovely place :greengrin

I'm going to Eberdeen, Perth and Tannadeechee in the next few weeks and tbh I think its quite possible I won't see the Hibs win! Defo 3 toughies! :agree:

Baw187
08-12-2009, 11:43 AM
I think, as Hibs fans, we're blinded by the past pish performances that we've seen away from home. Granted, we've only won 2 away games this year but we're more than capable of winning more. Out of the 4 we haven't won, 2 (Huns and Hertz) were good draws. Might have expected more in Paisly and defo more at Hamilton.

If the Hibs that turned up at Fir Park come back out to play in our next 2 fixtures, it's 6 points. If it's the Hibs that turned up at Hamilton, then we're goosed.

FWIW, I can't see another Hamilton performance but I think there may be a Saints performance, which was well below par. That may see us past Killie but would set us up for a defeat against the Dons.

I guess what I'm trying to get at is that we are capable of surprises and dion't think I can call these games as easily as I may have been able to in the past.

08-12-2009, 12:03 PM
This is the defining moment. If we come through this Christmas period still within touching distance of the Old Firm then I'll finally say we're 100% top 6 certs and looking very good for third. To do that we have to sweep aside Killie and beat Aberdeen. Can the players do it? We know the quality is there, but is the application and attitude?

I'll never admit we're in the hunt for second unless we're still in contention with 90 minutes of the season to go.

hibbie02
08-12-2009, 12:28 PM
Of course, I completely agree. I didn't mean to come across as if I was saying that other games this season are any less important than the next two.

All I meant was that the next two games, because they're away and because we don't have a particularly good record at either ground, are absolutely massive for us if we are going to be serious about finishing in 3rd place (or even better).

They're just the types of games that Rangers and Celtic would not get 0 points from in successive weeks.

I would actually say that December is a huge month for us. We have four games coming up in the rest of this month, three of them are away and the other at home to one of only two teams that are currently above us.

December's historically not really a great month for us. Since 2000/01, this is our points per game average for each month;

October-1.86 ppg
September-1.83 ppg
August-1.56 ppg
November-1.38 ppg
April-1.27 ppg
March-1.26 ppg
December-1.25 ppg
January-1.24 ppg
February-1.14 ppg
May-1.03 ppg
July-1 ppg

I would say that if we can bring in 2010 still within touching distance of the top of the league, then it would be quite significant for the remainder of the season.

TBH that table of stats is only meaningful if we play the same teams in the same month each year, which we don't. It is also meaningless as the Team are doing better than all of those stats currently at 2 points per game for the season, and the team has seen many year on year changes. So it is no indication of what we will do this time around.

However in saying that, those July figures are shocking......... Petrie get it sorted!!! :greengrin

For the record I am going for a win in Killie and a draw in Sheepieworld.

08-12-2009, 12:38 PM
I'm going to Eberdeen, Perth and Tannadeechee in the next few weeks and tbh I think its quite possible I won't see the Hibs win! Defo 3 toughies! :agree:

Ye ken Hibs play at Easter Road eh?! :greengrin :wink:

If we're only 2 points behind after those 5 games then Rod better find his chequebook (Cheque is so yesterday, BACS? :greengrin) for the transfer window! Or ask STF for a no interest loan! :thumbsup:

08-12-2009, 12:39 PM
Kilmarnock, away win banker for me.

Aberdeen - Unless Mulgrew hits a wonder free kick or Miller cheats then we'll be physically too strong for them and at worst draw.

08-12-2009, 12:49 PM
The auld firm should be winning theres and huns/arabs a draw probably best. Think we should be looking for 3-6 points. We SHOULD beat Killie but it is a hoodoo for us. But I think we're in the mood to be beating them.

Was our last win there the McManus header in the cup?

08-12-2009, 12:49 PM
It would be amazing going into the Rangers game with a chance of being 1st/2nd over New Year.

08-12-2009, 12:56 PM

NO! Because we're not. :grr:

And because we're not Yams. :wink:

Now stop messing around. :devil:

Out of that id take a win at killie, a point away at aberdeen, draw/win at rangers, 3 points at st johnstone and 3 at hearts or is that just being a bit optimistic??:wink:

I'd say optimistic. Fat Georgie Foul-kiss makes this sort of long-range prediction - "five games from which we'll certainly take a goodly harvest of points" or some crud like that - and it always comes back to smack him in his ugly drink-bloated chops.

One game at a time, mate. PLEASE can we have 3 points at Killie? PLEASE?

That's all I ask for, for now. :devil:

Ell_Chrisso
08-12-2009, 01:51 PM
Last season, or even the few previous, i'd not be looking forward to these next two away fixtures..
But for some reason, i am not scared of either.
We have the best team/squad, we have had since early Mowbary.
I think the reason why we are doing soo well this year, is due to how well the defence is playing. We have it settled, with Wotherspoon, Hogg, Bamba & Murray, and that is the key to a sucessfull team, a settled back four.
Attack & Midfield is where you create from...
I feel that we should really be beating Killie next week, so i would hate to see anythin less than a point. On the other hand, the fixture after is going to be tough.
We are more than capable of beating them both.. But id be happy with 3/4 points.

HOPEFULLY 6! :thumbsup:

08-12-2009, 02:16 PM
Last season, or even the few previous, i'd not be looking forward to these next two away fixtures..
But for some reason, i am not scared of either.
We have the best team/squad, we have had since early Mowbary.
I think the reason why we are doing soo well this year, is due to how well the defence is playing. We have it settled, with Wotherspoon, Hogg, Bamba & Murray, and that is the key to a sucessfull team, a settled back four.
Attack & Midfield is where you create from...
I feel that we should really be beating Killie next week, so i would hate to see anythin less than a point. On the other hand, the fixture after is going to be tough.
We are more than capable of beating them both.. But id be happy with 3/4 points.

HOPEFULLY 6! :thumbsup:

The management and players certainly are taking things just 1 game at a time, and not looking too far ahead. Quite right too.

There's no reason why we can't go and win on Sat.
I mean Hearts have won there.............:eek:

Yogi goes on about the fundamentals and working hard......and he's so right.... IF we work damn hard, like they have been, no reason why we can't go and win any match.
We're hardly losing goals, and week by week look like we're starting to create a bit more and have so many players that are capable of scoring.

We've lost 1 goal in the 2nd half, in the last 10? or all season??
:smug:

Absolutely superb :thumbsup:

08-12-2009, 02:25 PM
Ye ken Hibs play at Easter Road eh?! :greengrin :wink:

Aye - but can it no be nearer ma hoose! PETRIE! :grr:

08-12-2009, 02:56 PM

:agree: These'll be tough games indeed and if Yogi can maintain the recent fine form going into Jan then it will start to get very exciting.

I could see us getting a win at Rugby Park and a draw at 'Todders.

I could see a similar return of 4 points from the Huns/Jambolinos fixtures (although obviously I'll be hoping for six :pray:) - the one that I find most worrying is away vs St Js - they really didn't deserve to lose to us in the league earlier this season and got the win they deserved inthe LC - they're a good attacking side and from those two games they seem to like playing against Hibs this season so away at McDairmid Park is as big a hurdle as any of these fixtures IMO.

08-12-2009, 07:39 PM
I think, as Hibs fans, we're blinded by the past pish performances that we've seen away from home. Granted, we've only won 2 away games this year but we're more than capable of winning more. Out of the 4 we haven't won, 2 (Huns and Hertz) were good draws. Might have expected more in Paisly and defo more at Hamilton.

If the Hibs that turned up at Fir Park come back out to play in our next 2 fixtures, it's 6 points. If it's the Hibs that turned up at Hamilton, then we're goosed.

FWIW, I can't see another Hamilton performance but I think there may be a Saints performance, which was well below par. That may see us past Killie but would set us up for a defeat against the Dons.

I guess what I'm trying to get at is that we are capable of surprises and dion't think I can call these games as easily as I may have been able to in the past.

Fair summary. To be honest, if we could maintain Saturday's form all season, the flag and the Scotish Cup would probably be in the boardroom this summer, but obviously it ain't gonna happen. Injuries, suspensions, loss of form, transfers, international duites etc will mean that consistency might be elusive. I think the best we can expect is a steady stream of winning ugly, the odd scintilating performance, and the odd disappointment, where we don't really get going.

Hopefully though, the trajectory is up.