View Full Version : For fans that don't go as it's to expensive...

02-12-2009, 10:28 PM
First things first, this ain't another part-timer/uber fan thread. Generally interested in this one

For those that don't attend Hibs matches any more as the costs are to much, at what price would it have to be for you to go on a regular basis? What's it to get into ER now? £22? Would a £2 reduction get you back? Or would it have to be more, say down to £15?

Also while we are at it, for the other end, for those who go on a regular basis, what price would it have to be for you to say 'enough is enough'? £30? more perhaps?

Was talking about this at work today, a Jambo who gave up about 5 years ago said if football was on average £15 per week (home and away) he'd go everyweek, I said its only an extra £6 odd, but he replied principles, can't justify the £21-£26 asking price these days, another lad (A hibby) said £30 is his top end, when it comes to that, he'll bail out, can't justify four hours work for 90mins of so called entertainment.

What about you..?

Darth Hibbie
02-12-2009, 10:32 PM
Thats a pretty good question. If I was paying at the gate for games i would suggest I would go if I felt I could afford it. The higher the price the more games I am likely to miss. Don't know if there is a top price I would refuse to pay but at £35-£40 it would be something I would have to start considering depending on the game.

02-12-2009, 10:33 PM
Are we also going to have a thread called "For players who won't sign for Hibs because we can't pay enough" :wink:

Rory89
02-12-2009, 10:38 PM
Used to pay £22 when I was working full time after I left school which didn't bother because I had a bit of cash, even though I thought in principal it's a rip off.

Now I'm a student living in Glasgow and if I had to pay a tenner to get through for every game plus £22 it wouldn't even be a question of whether or not I wanted to pay it, I simply wouldn't be able to, and would have to go every now and again rather than every week.

So to answer the question, I wouldn't pay more than £15 a week for the football.

02-12-2009, 10:52 PM
Used to pay £22 when I was working full time after I left school which didn't bother because I had a bit of cash, even though I thought in principal it's a rip off.

Now I'm a student living in Glasgow and if I had to pay a tenner to get through for every game plus £22 it wouldn't even be a question of whether or not I wanted to pay it, I simply wouldn't be able to, and would have to go every now and again rather than every week.

So to answer the question, I wouldn't pay more than £15 a week for the football.

But you can use your student card and get in for roughly half price! :greengrin

Rory89
02-12-2009, 11:01 PM
But you can use your student card and get in for roughly half price! :greengrin

Yeah that's what I'm saying, I couldn't afford to go every week if I needed to pay the full £22, which I don't.

If student concession was higher than £15 I'd probably have to pick and choose my games, at £12 I can go (some would say foolishly) to every game home and away. It's usually the same kind of price for students at every ground.

The Cabbage
02-12-2009, 11:04 PM
I take myself and 2 boys along to ER and for the last few seasons we have
had season tickets. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to buy them this season, and due to the cost of "walk up" prices we have only attended 2 home matches.

However due to a very nice letter to Santa, I think the half seasons are on there way:thumbsup:

Both Edinburgh clubs are at home to Motherwell in December and a price comparison for advance tickets is.

Hibernian v Motherwell, total for me and the boys £44.50
Yams v Motherwell, total for me and the boys £24.00

That is a huge price difference for a Parent, however I at least know
that my team will still be here next season.

Sorry to answer the question, to afford football I need season tickets, to go regular at walk uo prices, I would pay some somewhere in the middle of the above.

Perspective
02-12-2009, 11:07 PM
I've had this discussion with friends and work-mates on numerous occasions.

For the people that say they can't afford to go to the football, I'm always interested to find out how many have a mobile phone, place regular bets at the bookies, hit the pub frequently, have Sky television etc. I find it hard to sympathise with them.

I do feel for parents with kids as it's clearly over-priced to take a family to the games.

02-12-2009, 11:07 PM
A lot of people who post don't seem to find the cost of a ST or individual games a problem. I've been criticized on here when I've merely pointed out that my first ST in season 86/87 was £50 which if it had increased in line with inflation equates to £111.50 today. My ST this season was £380.00

I would suggest that it is the less fanatical fan who finds it easier not to go when the price is high. There have been a number of occasions when my sons' friends parents, who themselves have no or little interest in football, have asked me the price of a ticket and baulked at the cost. £11.50 at ER for Saturday's game. I know Junior ST's are well priced but I don't believe a child under 16 should pay more than £5 at the gate.

£5 at Killie I believe. They should be applauded.

TheEastTerrace
02-12-2009, 11:13 PM
First things first, this ain't another part-timer/uber fan thread. Generally interested in this one

For those that don't attend Hibs matches any more as the costs are to much, at what price would it have to be for you to go on a regular basis? What's it to get into ER now? £22? Would a £2 reduction get you back? Or would it have to be more, say down to £15?

Also while we are at it, for the other end, for those who go on a regular basis, what price would it have to be for you to say 'enough is enough'? £30? more perhaps?

Was talking about this at work today, a Jambo who gave up about 5 years ago said if football was on average £15 per week (home and away) he'd go everyweek, I said its only an extra £6 odd, but he replied principles, can't justify the £21-£26 asking price these days, another lad (A hibby) said £30 is his top end, when it comes to that, he'll bail out, can't justify four hours work for 90mins of so called entertainment.

What about you..?

For me, it's more about choice. For example, if Hibs are at home two-three times in a month, that's roughly £60-£90 (once you've factored in booking fees, travel to and from ER, programme, etc) out of my monthly disposable income. At this moment in time, that's a good wedge out of the money I have available to spend each month on leisure, socialising, and treats (for want of a better term!).

I hate to say it, but I just don't see the value for money in watching Scottish football anymore and I choose to subscribe to Sky Sports to watch football. I'll always support Hibs and I genuinely care about the fortunes of the club, but the days of spending £400-£500 per season on them have gone for me. The SPL is drab, dull and uninteresting. The OF dominate and suck the life out of football in this country, the SFA are run by amateur self-interested half-wits, and the standard of football is frankly not worthy of the support it gets.

Pelters I may get, but this is how I honestly feel.

02-12-2009, 11:26 PM
Real issue for me is time - not cost - it is easier for me to get to Eberdeen, Perth and Dundee so I'll be at these games in the next few weeks. That said, when it gets to £30 I would be thinking twice ..

Baw187
02-12-2009, 11:33 PM
For me, it's more about choice. For example, if Hibs are at home two-three times in a month, that's roughly £60-£90 (once you've factored in booking fees, travel to and from ER, programme, etc) out of my monthly disposable income. At this moment in time, that's a good wedge out of the money I have available to spend each month on leisure, socialising, and treats (for want of a better term!).

I hate to say it, but I just don't see the value for money in watching Scottish football anymore and I choose to subscribe to Sky Sports to watch football. I'll always support Hibs and I genuinely care about the fortunes of the club, but the days of spending £400-£500 per season on them have gone for me. The SPL is drab, dull and uninteresting. The OF dominate and suck the life out of football in this country, the SFA are run by amateur self-interested half-wits, and the standard of football is frankly not worthy of the support it gets.

I don't really dissagree with anything you say about the scottish game. Having said that, I still get a ST every year and couldn't imagine not getting one.

There have been seasons where, disspite having a ST, I've not bothered going to games as they have been too painful to watch i.e. last year and Blobby years ! If I hadn't had a ST, I'd probably have went to less games.

Back to the OP. I don't really have a cut off as such, as I will probably always buy a ST. I go to the games with my dad and best mate, have good seats and good characters around us and couldn't imagine not getting one. I haven't been to many away games over the last few years for a number of reasons but this year, I've managed to go to all but 2. I have significantly noticed the how costly this is ! I can afford it so I do it, but I wouldn't rule out a time this season when I maybe can't afford to go to an away game or think ***** that, I'm not spending that on a ticket. That would depend on the game and the price !

hibee-shtuggie
02-12-2009, 11:35 PM
i am a third year student at st andrews. i had a season ticket last year and it soon became apparent that i couldnt really afford it. i was travelling down on my own as there arent many hibs fans in st andrews and the travel cost began to add up. this season however i am working saturdays and i miss it a lot. i have to work though to pay for my studies. i get to the sunday games occasionally though and student prices are ok. depending on the job i get after uni i would have to decide. 22 pound i quite expensive and its not just that, its travel, booze and grub as well. id say 15 quid is top end for an spl game.

Riordans Boots
02-12-2009, 11:41 PM

For the people that say they can't afford to go to the football, I'm always interested to find out how many have a mobile phone, place regular bets at the bookies, hit the pub frequently, have Sky television etc. I find it hard to sympathise with them.:thumbsup:

I do feel for parents with kids as it's clearly over-priced to take a family to the games.

On that note ... We have 2 kids and we,as a couple never get out very much together - though the bar is frequently open here at home :agree:

I go to the footie as hubby works weekends :boo hoo:

Hope that helps to answers your question :wink:

That said, wouldny like to put a price on what we actually spend on Hibs

libernian
02-12-2009, 11:49 PM
not a question of not being able to afford it, its just a rip off i think. will pay a lot for the likes of tynecastle but other than that, i find the whole experience these days quite boring a lot of the time. obviously some games are class but been out the habit since we got beat off hearts at easter road in the cup last year.

as well as this, i'd rather sit in the pub or go to a junior game where its a fiver with a much warmer/relaxed atmosphere. another reason is with junior teams i dont grudge paying for it and always buy a programme not to read it but for the reason that they dont intentionally rip folk off and are happy for your custom. spl teams just fleece you whatever way they can, if they could get away with charging £50, they would.

still go sometimes although i have found myself going to away games then just staying in the pub. should also add that i dont actually go for football, more the whole pub-footy-pub thing.

libernian
02-12-2009, 11:54 PM

yer. summed up by celtic ironically:

http://www.ultras-celtic.com/gallery/d/2814-4/1.jpg

02-12-2009, 11:57 PM
if its to go to ER i dont usually patg i use a season ticket and last years prices were at the top end of what i could afford

i go to the odd away game, usually at the start and ends of the season i wouldnt pay any more than £22 for an away game it would need to be about £15 for me to go every week

03-12-2009, 12:01 AM

What about you..?

If i didn't have a season ticket i wouldn't/couldn't pay £22 for me , then pay for my son (what is it ? £10ish?) and other associated costs.

That money would have been earmarked for the matches but would have been used for something/someone more important.

I think £15 max for an adult and £5 for a child is the most i would pay for a walk up match.

03-12-2009, 12:12 AM

For the people that say they can't afford to go to the football, I'm always interested to find out how many have a mobile phone, place regular bets at the bookies, hit the pub frequently, have Sky television etc. I find it hard to sympathise with them.

The fact I don't have the time due to work is the real reason I drifted away over the last season or so. However, even if I have a (rare) weekend day off, I refuse to pay the prices now.

I have a mobile phone, which I've had for as long as I've been paying to go to football without my folks help. I do bet now and again, I don't spend much on alcohol at all, and I have sky. I enjoy the fact I can sit before I head to work at the weekend and see a game or two, I can watch two or three games over the weekend and still get about 25 hours in Friday and Sat nights at work, i also have the option of game on a Sunday, as well as other sports I enjoy.

I enjoy the fact I can watch a far higher standard of league at the touch of a button, and whatever game takes my fancy at the time. Hibs are still my team and I listen to us on the radio or watch us if we're on, but I won't pay £20 odd quid for one game of, usually when it's a piss poor standard.

I also have a morgage, a car to run and bills to pay. At this time of year I also have Christmas. I don't have Kids, but I admire anyone who has my commitments with Kids thrown in, regardless of their attendance at Hibs matches.

When I was 15/16 I used to think that I'd follow Hibs home and away everyweek but as I get older, it's not that important. It still consumes me between 3 and 4.45 on a Saturday, just not at Easter Road.

I don't expect sympathy, I've chosen my lifestyle and I'm happy, realistically it's my work commitments that rule out football, but if it was £10-£15 quid a pop, I'd maybe make a greater effort without feeling I had to keep my wallet in my pocket for the rest of the week.

03-12-2009, 12:15 AM

Spelling is better I suppose :wink:

Makes a valid point though.

scott7_0(Prague)
03-12-2009, 12:16 AM
Once my Sparta season ticket goes above 35quid they can forget it, but in all honesty anything over 20quid is day light robbery for a football match!

03-12-2009, 12:50 AM
Once my Sparta season ticket goes above 35quid they can forget it, but in all honesty anything over 20quid is day light robbery for a football match!

Where do Sparta get their income to make up for such low prices?

broonie27
03-12-2009, 12:57 AM
I stopped going a couple of seasons ago when it went over £25 for a category A game. I just thought there was a point when I had to say 'no' to the constant price hikes.

As one of the previous posters mentioned, the increase in ticket price has been way beyond inflation over the last 20 years but having said that the amount of money the players get these days is way beyond what they got 20 years ago too.

Mind you, my 6-2 ticket cost me £18 in 2000 and we were probably paying way more money to players back then so go figure.

Deep down I just know the club are trying to squeeze every single penny they can get out of the punter and they know there will just enough turning up to make it cost effective.

_hucks_
03-12-2009, 01:05 AM

Pretty much carbon copy situationfor me, except I'm living in Liverpool and can't afford the 40 quid round journey!

broonie27
03-12-2009, 02:19 AM
Pretty much carbon copy situationfor me, except I'm living in Liverpool and can't afford the 40 quid round journey!

I live in Wellington now so the £1025 round trip is a bit of a stretch for me too :wink:

Stonewall
03-12-2009, 06:57 AM
I stopped going a couple of seasons ago when it went over £25 for a category A game. I just thought there was a point when I had to say 'no' to the constant price hikes.

As one of the previous posters mentioned, the increase in ticket price has been way beyond inflation over the last 20 years but having said that the amount of money the players get these days is way beyond what they got 20 years ago too.

Mind you, my 6-2 ticket cost me £18 in 2000 and we were probably paying way more money to players back then so go figure.

Deep down I just know the club are trying to squeeze every single penny they can get out of the punter and they know there will just enough turning up to make it cost effective.

I'm not sure what your point is about paying higher wages in 2000 and charging lower prices but I do figure we ended up £16 million in debt.

I agree that ticket prices are outrageous in this country but surely the board are trying to maximise income to put the best team possible on the park. They will therefore charge as much as they can get away with.

Unless a decent television deal is secured or people are prepared to accept a further decline in playing standards I can't see it changing.

Perhaps the issue is unrealistic expectations! Should we should stop trying to compete with the wages on offer in the lower leagues down south, accept even mediocre players will follow the money and concentrate on player developement, pricing the product accordingly.

killiedow
03-12-2009, 07:22 AM

totally agree here with you mate,i gave up on senior football for these very reasons! i've been following junior football now for nigh on 30 yrs first as a neutral then after about 10 yr i found myself going more and more to watch one particular team,it costs £5 to get in(less for the lower leagues) boys usually don't pay,if my team are not playing i'll cherry pick another game,in 30 yrs i've only ever seen 2 0-0 draws,granted the standard can be rank sometimes but what you do get is 22 players giving there all for not much financial reward,also there's very little OF bile in the juniors too,so for £6.50 you get in,a pie and bovril,a few goals and usually a pretty decent game,also no damned stewards/police telling you where to sit etc!

03-12-2009, 07:31 AM
$28 (around 12-13 quid) for games here...14 game season ticket is about 100 quid.

As I've said before, A-League is not as good as SPL, but it's also not so wildly different that SPL games should cost 10 quid more.

25 quid is about my breaking point. Anything over that and I am saying "WTF?!", although I have paid it grudgingly in the past.

The problem is players wages though. Bams who are not long out of school and not bad at fitba swanning about on 2k a week and even then some of them ain't happy :grr:

03-12-2009, 08:08 AM

Funny how they don't unfurl banners about the shocking high price of "restricted view" tickets at their own ground, whilst happy to complain bout the prices of others...

03-12-2009, 08:22 AM
This is a very good question as the price of football in Scotland is way over the top as it is.
It's a lot to do with trying to stay competitive with the English leagues in terms of players wages etc. And the stringent stadium regulations in place since the Taylor Report was put in place in the early 90's are also responsible in terms of the massive debt that Scottish clubs had to take on in order to comply, despite having far less income to pay for it.

I'm not sure if there's any top ceiling price which would stop me going ever ever - but as stated, pricing is ALREADY through the roof and, if anything should be getting reduced. £15 to £20 would be a reasonable price IMO. If the prices were to go to £25 to £30 I would have to start picking and choosing my games.

I know it's a difficult one for football club directors to get right - the obscene amounts of money getting paid to players in our next door neighbours in the EPL & Championship together with the colapse of the TV income available to the SPL make it very difficult to be able to recruit good players without having high ticket prices.

But the facts are that there is a recession on and many fans have had to deal with redundancy or at least the loss of bonuses etc. and the result is that crowds are down and will continue to go down if prices remain at an exorbitant level and will accelerate into freefall if they are pushed much higher.

Expecting Rain
03-12-2009, 08:59 AM
£15 would be a fair price for a football match, i`ve ruled out the matches against Celtic,Rangers and Hearts if they`re shown on tv, £27 is a scandal.

03-12-2009, 09:26 AM
Hibs are missing a massive opportunity to bring young supporters along to Easter Road

Family packages and group discounts for teenagers is the way forward to build our support

Everywhere else I go - Historic Houses, Countryside attractions, Other sports, Cinema you can get a family package or a group discount

Why are Hibs so backward?

Ell_Chrisso
03-12-2009, 09:40 AM
:top marks For the post!
Definatly a topic that is much talked about.

I would say that Footy prices are through the roof at the moment.

Im travelling down from Perth every week we are at home, with no season ticket, so im spending atleast £35 each journey, and thats without having a bovril, a burger or whatever!

So every saturday, im spending alot of cash following the Hibees.

People who don't like the £22 price, and who live very close by, have it lucky.

I wish it was costing me that to travel, and to get in!

talking_wiss
03-12-2009, 09:46 AM
Football is damn expensive to go to these days, however I'm not convinced lowering the prices is going to make that much of a difference to the numbers through the turnstyle. The quality of football is often the driver for making fans turn up in numbers and lowering prices may lower income and subsequently lower the quality on show.

I think it was Motherwell a few years ago who reduced their prices of entry to £5 in the hope of drawing a far bigger attendence, the increase, year on year, turned out to be a rather measly 11.

03-12-2009, 10:15 AM

I'm happily involved with all of the above and I've been going to games for as long as I can remember, but, believe it or not there is more to life than football. :tin hat:

Not after any sympathy, but, there are often better things to do with your dough as has been highlighted by numerous previous posts.

As I've mentioned on a previous thread I'm going down to London at New Year and was hoping to go to West Ham's FA Cup game if they were drawn at home, they got Arsenal and the cheapest ticket is £35 risng to £51, not for me thanks I think I'll just watch it in the boozer!

scott7_0(Prague)
03-12-2009, 10:23 AM
Where do Sparta get their income to make up for such low prices?

Champions league or UEFA cup (now Europa League), also they sell there decent players to other European leagues for decent money.

But you have to bear in mind that the average salary in Prague is much lower than that in the UK, so the staffing around the ground will be much cheaper.

davemcbain
03-12-2009, 10:59 AM
Used to go to every home game - travelling from south of London.

Now, got 2 kids and fuel has almost doubled in price. What used to cost around £100 a game (including beer money) if I stopped with a mate is now going to cost £60 for tickets, £120 for fuel, a lesser amount for beer but compensated in pies and coke and as my mate doesn't have a massive place, accommodation would also come into the equation.

Sadly the bi-weekly trip is no longer an option due to a near trebling of costs and a missus who's not to keen on the entire weekend with the kids in the car.

We're down to 2 or three games a season. :boo hoo:

If anyone needs a software training manager in or around Edinburgh...I'll be first in the queue for the interview and in the queue for next seasons family ticket.

03-12-2009, 11:26 AM

On a wee side note .....£63 last year for a bairns (8 year old) full Goalkeepers strip from the club shop.
That is disgusting !!

03-12-2009, 11:36 AM
Hibs are missing a massive opportunity to bring young supporters along to Easter Road

Family packages and group discounts for teenagers is the way forward to build our support

Everywhere else I go - Historic Houses, Countryside attractions, Other sports, Cinema you can get a family package or a group discount

Family group season tickets were a good deal IMHO.
Hibs Kids includes free entry to four games.
Students get massively discounted season tickets and are eligible for concessions on walk ups.
Yes, Hibs could perhaps do more but I don't think they are backward.

03-12-2009, 11:52 AM
Personally I would pay whatever the price is. however I am not at home most of the time and miss my Hibby fix. Fortunatley I can also afford it and no longer have to worry how much it is costing as it just, usually anyway, me. I have had my time when I had the kids and the missus and had to count the pennies to see if I could afford it.

I don't know what the answer is though. I can certainly sympathise as to why people think it is expensive, but what is the alternative? Other clubs have proven you do not get much bigger gates when you cut the prices. If we don't have the money we cannot pay the wages, ergo the standard of football would drop significantly, or would it? Would it take us back to the old days of no TV, no sponsorship etc etc and but we had a geat team? I don't know.

03-12-2009, 12:04 PM
Family group season tickets were a good deal IMHO.
Hibs Kids includes free entry to four games.
Students get massively discounted season tickets and are eligible for concessions on walk ups.

Something that annoys me about Hibs is just the lack of range of prices. We have a flat rate of £22 or £12, so a 3 year old will be paying the same as a 17 year old. Something that alot of clubs down south are doing is having a range of prices, i.e 5 and under £5, 6 - 16 year olds £10, 16 - 21 £14, 22 and over, £22.

Here we just have a flat rate, regardless of age and regardless of where you sit. Something that should be changed IMO.

duncs
03-12-2009, 12:08 PM
Personally I would pay whatever the price is. however I am not at home most of the time and miss my Hibby fix. Fortunatley I can also afford it and no longer have to worry how much it is costing as it just, usually anyway, me. I have had my time when I had the kids and the missus and had to count the pennies to see if I could afford it.

I don't know what the answer is though. I can certainly sympathise as to why people think it is expensive, but what is the alternative? Other clubs have proven you do not get much bigger gates when you cut the prices. If we don't have the money we cannot pay the wages, ergo the standard of football would drop significantly, or would it? Would it take us back to the old days of no TV, no sponsorship etc etc and but we had a geat team? I don't know.

But those other clubs have never had a massive support base. I mean Motherwell, really. Even if I lived in Motherwell I'd find it hard to get excited about watching the Steelmen.

Unfortunately at the moment I'm unemployed, so that has restricted watching Hibs this season - unless I go to a game with my Dad! But seeing as I get £50 dole money, going to a game is just a no-go. However, last year when I was working I paid £46 to watch Arsenal play Burnley in the FA Cup, and admittedly compared to watching Hibs, it was worth it. But compared to having £46 in your pocket, probably not.

I think Partick Thistle are doing some good work at the moment - if you're under 16 and turn up wearing PTFC merchandise you get in for free and this weekend they've given a shed load of tickets to students at RSAMD (probably not the 'normal' football-going punters). Whereas, price cutting hasn't worked in places such as Motherwell, I think it would work in Edinburgh, where there is a big population of people that are put off by the prices. Whenever I played rugby and had an off-weekend there was a bunch of lads who had come from down south who were always keen to go to Easter Road but most of them said they couldn't justify paying £20+ for it.

It would be very interesting to see if there was an actual 'community club' instead of clubs paying lipservice to it - I agree with the statement earlier about clubs trying to fleece their supporters at every opportunity (booking fees especially!), for example at the game against Aberdeen I bought a pie and tea for my old man and a coke for myself and it was over a fiver! At Cliftonhill last weekend I did exactly the same at it cost me £2. I think it illustrates a lot to be honest. I'd be perfectly happy if the club made a concerted effort to be a 'community club' - cheaper season tickets for families, free tickets to groups in the community who don't normally attend football matches (some of them will come back). I don't understand why the upper tier of the South Stand for the smaller games isn't just made free for Hibs Kids or selected primary schools - I don't think it would be terribly difficult to organise.

Football in Britain is in a dangerous state of almost eating itself. I really can't imagine what's going to happen when Sky no longer want to pay what it does for Premiership rights. But in Scotland, we should focus on still being an affordable activity for all sectors of society, not just the die-hards and the hospitality mob.

03-12-2009, 12:10 PM
Something that annoys me about Hibs is just the lack of range of prices. We have a flat rate of £22 or £12, so a 3 year old will be paying the same as a 17 year old. Something that alot of clubs down south are doing is having a range of prices, i.e 5 and under £5, 6 - 16 year olds £10, 16 - 21 £14, 22 and over, £22.

Here we just have a flat rate, regardless of age and regardless of where you sit. Something that should be changed IMO.

:agree: Agreed - small kids (eg 8 and under???) should be a fiver tops IMO.

03-12-2009, 12:14 PM
I take myself and 2 boys along to ER and for the last few seasons we have
had season tickets. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to buy them this season, and due to the cost of "walk up" prices we have only attended 2 home matches.

However due to a very nice letter to Santa, I think the half seasons are on there way:thumbsup:

Both Edinburgh clubs are at home to Motherwell in December and a price comparison for advance tickets is.

Hibernian v Motherwell, total for me and the boys £44.50
Yams v Motherwell, total for me and the boys £24.00
That is a huge price difference for a Parent, however I at least know
that my team will still be here next season.

Sorry to answer the question, to afford football I need season tickets, to go regular at walk uo prices, I would pay some somewhere in the middle of the above.

Surpised nobody else has picked up on your post mate. The bit in bold came as a real shock to me. All jokes about quality of product aside, £20 more to watch Hibs han Hearts against the same oppostion, at the same time of year for your family is huge! What is the breakdown of ticket prices? Are they running some sort of promotion for their game?

03-12-2009, 12:26 PM
Fore the sake of argument, imagine Hibs had a policy of keeping gate prices low, eg. £15 for adults and £8 for kids, but to accommodate this the wage budget was cut by 40% meaning that we'd be competing with teams from England's bottom leagues to sign players.

I'm pretty sure there would be threads on here asking if people would be willing to pay more to see a better team.

As someone said before, it must be an extremely difficult decision for the directors of most SPL clubs.

Someone also mentioned Killie for £5 - that's great but they're in the keech big style financially.

As for HoMoFC, they're operating at a vast loss and will do anything to bring in cash just to meet their monthly commitments.

03-12-2009, 12:29 PM
Surpised nobody else has picked up on your post mate. The bit in bold came as a real shock to me. All jokes about quality of product aside, £20 more to watch Hibs han Hearts against the same oppostion, at the same time of year for your family is huge! What is the breakdown of ticket prices? Are they running some sort of promotion for their game?

They are selling adult tickets at £10 a head. Lunacy.

03-12-2009, 12:32 PM

I do agree with you about the age range thing. For administration probably two age bands would be preferable but where to make the split? (I would obviously choose to have my lad constantly in the lower band.:greengrin)

03-12-2009, 12:32 PM

I done a comparison for both Edinburgh clubs for season ticket either this season or last and Hearts came out cheaper everytime, well for some sections (Gorgie stand compared to FF, Main Stand compared to terracing etc)

Wee comparison

Hibs v Falkirk, Famous Five lower.
2 adults @ £22.00 = £44.00
One 17 year old @ £12.00
One 11 year old @ £12.00
Total = £68.00.

Hearts v Falkirk, Gorgie 'Lower'
2 adults @ £16 = £32 (Can't grumble at that TBH)
One 17 year old @ £9
One 11 year old @ £7
Total = £48

Thats a £20 difference!!!

Baw187
03-12-2009, 12:46 PM
I done a comparison for both Edinburgh clubs for season ticket either this season or last and Hearts came out cheaper everytime, well for some sections (Gorgie stand compared to FF, Main Stand compared to terracing etc)

Wee comparison

One 17 year old @ £12.00
One 11 year old @ £12.00
Total = £68.00.

One 17 year old @ £9
One 11 year old @ £7
Total = £48

Aye, but they watched their team grind out a horrendous 0-0 draw. We watched our team rattle them 2-0 (granted we were keek in 2nd half !).

I'd rather dip ma baws in acid than watch the Yams week in week out, which makes the difference negligable !

On a more serious note, as Peevmore suggests, they're up the swanny and desperate for folk through the gate. Remember when they were flying high under Romanov? They had the most expensive tickets in the league and were being slated for it !

duncs
03-12-2009, 12:46 PM

Wee comparison

One 17 year old @ £12.00
One 11 year old @ £12.00
Total = £68.00.

One 17 year old @ £9
One 11 year old @ £7
Total = £48

Aye, but they're crap and we're no

03-12-2009, 12:57 PM

Wee comparison

One 17 year old @ £12.00
One 11 year old @ £12.00
Total = £68.00.

One 17 year old @ £9
One 11 year old @ £7
Total = £48

Adukt tickets at £16? Do they do that every game? It amazes me that they can still pay sky high wages AND live within their means.:greengrin Are they selling out every week?

03-12-2009, 01:07 PM
Having said what I did above I am now raging!!!! :grr::grr::grr:

Ordered my yam ticket, plus booking fee, plus postage, more than £33!!!!!!!!!

Better be worth it!

03-12-2009, 01:13 PM

Better be worth it!

Oh no, I was in a pretty mellow mood. Now you have reminded me about booking fees and postage.:grr::grr:

03-12-2009, 02:44 PM

Better be worth it!
Know how you feel, I gave up on the postage when I realised how much it costs and just collect on the day instead. Even then, £28 is pricy enough.

03-12-2009, 03:01 PM
Know how you feel, I gave up on the postage when I realised how much it costs and just collect on the day instead. Even then, £28 is pricy enough.

And I should have added, that price is NOT to Nigeria.:grr:

03-12-2009, 03:09 PM
Not sure football is 'that' expensive.
I mean, 20 odd quid, is just given up 6 pints in your week.

psh heeds :greengrin

TheEastTerrace
03-12-2009, 03:10 PM

Better be worth it!

And to think we gave the Yams pelters for charging this a couple of seasons ago :wink:

I really do hope it's better than the derby played out at Tynie a few weeks ago. My eyes were bleeding, it was that bad. The irony was that I was sitting in the pub watching it with two Aberdeen fans, a Celtic fan and two Hibbies who all used to be regulars at their clubs' games. Perhaps that sums up the current apathy amongst fans towards Scottish football, who knows.

03-12-2009, 03:54 PM
Hibs are missing a massive opportunity to bring young supporters along to Easter Road.

Family group season tickets were a good deal IMHO. Hibs Kids includes free entry to four games. Students get massively discounted season tickets and are eligible for concessions on walk ups.

Maybe, like the Hibs Board you are viewing ticket prices from the inside out, instead of the outside in?

Sure if you are a regular Hibby you should be aware of membership opportunities. However these punters are reasonably captive i.e. we know they are willing to pay.

However there are a large number of floating fans and it's them and the 'not yet but could be' fans that we need to target.

Family life these days is very varied and recreation opportunities abound. Realistically most families won't want to pursue the same hobby all year. However if there is a family or group deal for non-ST's and better kids prices we may convert the '2 to 3 times a year' punters to 'once a month'.

Our marketing outside the Hibernian family is very backward and is the biggest single missed opportunity for the club at the moment IMO. We need a medium to long-term strategy to build our support - not just offer deals for the regular fans we already have.

03-12-2009, 04:04 PM
Maybe, like the Hibs Board you are viewing ticket prices from the inside out, instead of the outside in?

Sure if you are a regular Hibby you should be aware of membership opportunities. However these punters are reasonably captive i.e. we know they are willing to pay.

However there are a large number of floating fans and it's them and the 'not yet but could be' fans that we need to target.

Family life these days is very varied and recreation opportunities abound. Realistically most families won't want to pursue the same hobby all year. However if there is a family or group deal for non-ST's and better kids prices we may convert the '2 to 3 times a year' punters to 'once a month'.

Our marketing outside the Hibernian family is very backward and is the biggest single missed opportunity for the club at the moment IMO. We need a medium to long-term strategy to build our support - not just offer deals for the regular fans we already have.

I am not saying you are wrong but how do you make season tickets attractive if there are regular deals offered to walk up punters? If you work out the cost of attending each match when you purchase a regular season ticket it ain't that much of a bargain. Yes, the club may get away with doing once a season specials but to do it on a regular basis? I don't think it would be practical or economically viable.

Baw187
03-12-2009, 04:05 PM

We'll have to address this when we build this East Stand cause a 24k stadium will look gash with just 13k in it. I'd like to see Hibs get inventive with their plans to fill seats.... something they've failed to do so far with the 1.5k - 2k extras seats in the south stand almost every week.

Hibbie_Cameron
03-12-2009, 04:34 PM
The last time i went to see Newcastle play it was against Arsenal at St James. I cant remember the exact price of the ticket but i clearly remember it only being 8 quid or so more expensive than admission to tannadice a few weeks previous

Although im a Newcastle fan, it was fantastic seeing the likes of Van Persie, Fabregas etc run rings round my team, whilst at tannadice i was paying only slighlty less to watch the likes of Darren Dods and Craig Brewster.

The difference in class was huge but the price was not and its something that needs to be looked at not just by Hibs but by most Spl teams (I know the EPL has much more money than the Spl) I do have every sympathy with fans who cant go to games as imo its just not value for money, unless you have a season ticket

03-12-2009, 04:56 PM
Just a quick calculation for everyone.

If we dropped the ticket prices by an average of £5 a head (and assumed that we had to drop season ticket prices by the same equivalent per game to keep them attractive) then we'd take £65,000 less in gate receipts per game, assuming an average attendance of 13,000.

We'd have to get 3823 more people per match to get that £65,000 back again at £17 a head.

So unless we were getting average crowds of 16,823 then we'd have less money coming in and the player budget would suffer.

andyf5
03-12-2009, 05:55 PM
Just a quick calculation for everyone.

If we dropped the ticket prices by an average of £5 a head (and assumed that we had to drop season ticket prices by the same equivalent per game to keep them attractive) then we'd take £65,000 less in gate receipts per game, assuming an average attendance of 13,000.

We'd have to get 3823 more people per match to get that £65,000 back again at £17 a head.

So unless we were getting average crowds of 16,823 then we'd have less money coming in and the player budget would suffer.

Alternatively - if you offered 2000 tickets for £10 a head in, say, the south stand you would have £20,000 extra. Tourists, students, nurses - there are various groups who might be worth targeting and who may buy programmes, pies etc. or even decide to come back.

I know a crowd of Werder Bremen supporters are coming over in March on Ryanair. They were able to buy home tickets now for the Derby game at Tynecastle ( told them not to wear their green strips!) There was no option to attend Easter Road for any games as we do not sell tickets that far in advance.

03-12-2009, 06:04 PM
Alternatively - if you offered 2000 tickets for £10 a head in, say, the south stand you would have £20,000 extra. Tourists, students, nurses - there are various groups who might be worth targeting and who may buy programmes, pies etc. or even decide to come back.

I know a crowd of Werder Bremen supporters are coming over in March on Ryanair. They were able to buy home tickets now for the Derby game at Tynecastle ( told them not to wear their green strips!) There was no option to attend Easter Road for any games as we do not sell tickets that far in advance.

Where would you put the Away fans? Or those who have Cat B season tickets (and have already paid more than that per game? )

wee 162
03-12-2009, 06:36 PM

If you offered 2000 tickets at £10 a head they'd be sold to those currently paying full price.

03-12-2009, 06:37 PM
Whilst I think anything over £20 for an SPL game is too expensive, there have been quite a few instances of clubs dropping their price and not picking up the required increased number of fans. Motherwell are the best example of this. Killie have done it and we regularly do it for cup games.

What I do think we should do is cut the price for kids. £5 for all under 16's, £10 for all under 18's, students, auld yins etc.

And the booking fees can GTF. I just bought 7 tickets for the NY Derby. £10.50 in booking fees for one transaction is a joke. It will have cost about 20p in charges for using my card. Who do they think they are......Ryan Air?