View Full Version : World Cup draw (merged)

SidBurns
30-11-2009, 02:37 PM
Assuming the draw is based on seedings and World Cup performances over the years it looks like the E**lish could get:-

Brazil
Serbia
Slovakia

On the other hand they could get:-

Portugal
Algeria
Honduras

Here's hoping for a group like the first one! :wink:

30-11-2009, 02:38 PM
When is the draw?

30-11-2009, 02:40 PM
When is the draw?

Its on Friday Bill

Gus
30-11-2009, 02:42 PM
I dont care who we get. I will get pelters anyway :boo hoo:

But it is nice to be in the draw :devil:

Oranje39
30-11-2009, 02:42 PM
They can't be drawn against two other European teams in the Group stages, as FIFA makes sure of that in the way the draw takes place.

SidBurns
30-11-2009, 02:46 PM
They can't be drawn against two other European teams in the Group stages, as FIFA makes sure of that in the way the draw takes place.

Well fire Ghana in instead then :thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 02:46 PM
I hope they get Mexico and Ivory Coast.

They are my two teams to cause a few upsets next year. sorry Gus :wink:

wazoo1875
30-11-2009, 02:48 PM
England will be in the top pot so they can't get Brazil , they could get Holland , Usa and The Ivory Coast :devil:

30-11-2009, 02:51 PM
I have never understood the England hate and I don't think I ever will.

I don't mind them.

30-11-2009, 02:54 PM

I don't mind them.

Think its more TV commentators that bug me, they always seem to think its their god given right to win at everything and that they are better than everyone else, when they clearly aren't

30-11-2009, 02:58 PM

I don't mind them.

Do you like Hearts?

30-11-2009, 03:01 PM
Do you like Hearts?

Why, are they English?

30-11-2009, 03:05 PM
Why, are they English?

Nope, the rather mysterious point I was trying to make was that I dislike the English National team as I see them as our rivals in a Derby ala the Yams :wink:

30-11-2009, 03:05 PM
Do you like Hearts?

What has that got to do with hating England?

30-11-2009, 03:06 PM
Think its more TV commentators that bug me, they always seem to think its their god given right to win at everything and that they are better than everyone else, when they clearly aren't

i agree exactly.

I like a hell of a lot of english people, i have english family and some of my close friends are english. I have no problem with the nationality at all, however when the comentators go on about it and how bad our nation is portrayed/ignored by english media it gets on my t!tties!

30-11-2009, 03:09 PM

I just think they come across as confident that they can win things. Nothing wrong with believing in your team.

30-11-2009, 03:10 PM
What has that got to do with hating England?

See my other post, I dont like the English National Team as it is like a Derby, the same way I never want Hearts to win anything :agree:

30-11-2009, 03:15 PM
I just think they come across as confident that they can win things. Nothing wrong with believing in your team.

but they rarely win anything, surely they aren't that biased that they cant see that. 1966 was a long time ago, the rugby world cup not so long ago but still not winning that every time it happens

Gus
30-11-2009, 03:18 PM
Nope, the rather mysterious point I was trying to make was that I dislike the English National team as I see them as our rivals in a Derby ala the Yams :wink:

Hibs play in the same league/city as Hearts so yes I can see your point geographically. But I wonder if you would say the same about ROI/Wales/Northern Ireland?

When on playing terms Scotlands nearest rivals are
45http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/lva.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=lva/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Latvia (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=lva/ranking/gender=m/index.html)-46http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/sco.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=sco/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Scotland (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=sco/ranking/gender=m/index.html)47http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/mli.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=mli/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Mali (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=mli/ranking/gender=m/index.html)48http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/gab.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=gab/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Gabon (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=gab/ranking/gender=m/index.html)49http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/bfa.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=bfa/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Burkina Faso (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=bfa/ranking/gender=m/index.html)
:devil::devil::devil:

30-11-2009, 03:26 PM
Hibs play in the same league/city as Hearts so yes I can see your point geographically. But I wonder if you would say the same about ROI/Wales/Northern Ireland?

45http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/lva.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=lva/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Latvia (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=lva/ranking/gender=m/index.html)-46http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/sco.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=sco/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Scotland (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=sco/ranking/gender=m/index.html)47http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/mli.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=mli/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Mali (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=mli/ranking/gender=m/index.html)48http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/gab.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=gab/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Gabon (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=gab/ranking/gender=m/index.html)49http://www.fifa.com/imgml/flags/s/bfa.gif (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=bfa/ranking/gender=m/index.html) Burkina Faso (http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=bfa/ranking/gender=m/index.html)

How dare you, Mali are much better than Scotland, they actually have a decent striker in Konte instead of Miller :agree:

30-11-2009, 03:32 PM
So we have to cheer on England now?:grr: Its all this political correctness gone mad again.

North Korea and Iran for me.

30-11-2009, 03:35 PM
So we have to cheer on England now?:grr: Its all this political correctness gone mad again.

North Korea and Iran for me.

Think I will support the Swiss :faf:

30-11-2009, 03:37 PM
Think I will support the Swiss :faf:

Never:grr: Cuckoo-clock loving ****s. You are right about mali BTW, they have players scotland would die for; Keita from Barca, Freddy Kanoute at Seville and some of the best players in the French league...Konte cant even make the squad:grr:

30-11-2009, 03:40 PM
Never:grr: Cuckoo-clock loving ****s. You are right about mali BTW, they have players scotland would die for; Keita from Barca, Freddy Kanoute at Seville and some of the best players in the French league...Konte cant even make the squad:grr:

Shocker, Amadou and Mariam had the World Cup song planned as well, Konte was going to do a rap in the middle :boo hoo:

30-11-2009, 03:45 PM
I'll be adopting my "anyone against England" mindset and in Kevin Keegan style I WILL LOVE IT when they get humped once again at the QF stages in a penalty shoot out.

30-11-2009, 03:50 PM
well?

you can vote for more than one team.

30-11-2009, 03:55 PM
Honduras :agree:

30-11-2009, 03:55 PM

you cant even spell it:faf:

...sly editing

james62
30-11-2009, 03:56 PM
Slovenia :agree:

30-11-2009, 03:56 PM
you cant even spell it:faf:

:faf::faf:Aye but I still want them to win it

30-11-2009, 03:58 PM
Must be a government or hearts accounting system it adds up to 175%

I bet the 'PC Brigade' all vote for England :grr::faf:

Rossco1875
big sol to inspire the ivory coast to the cup :thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 03:59 PM
I'll be adopting my "anyone against England" mindset and in Kevin Keegan style I WILL LOVE IT when they get humped once again at the QF stages in a penalty shoot out.

I think you forgot "By Portugal"

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 04:00 PM
Rep. Ireland :greengrin

30-11-2009, 04:05 PM
The 'Coasties' pour moi, and a nice fat fee for Sol.

Gus
30-11-2009, 04:08 PM

:grr: - poor show

30-11-2009, 04:10 PM
Anyone but england. Sod the pc brigade.

Lmc2105
30-11-2009, 04:13 PM
Germany :duck:

30-11-2009, 04:14 PM
I think you forgot "By Portugal"

Aye, with Ronaldo causing outrage with a moment of controversy:greengrin

:grr: - poor show

Gus
30-11-2009, 04:14 PM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:hsQFP__x_SSALM:http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/europe/uk/images/england-flag.jpg (http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/europe/uk/images/england-flag.jpg&imgrefurl=http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/europe/uk/flag.htm&usg=__xCQNOG19oP71_0J7D0W2LTCXpws=&h=287&w=480&sz=10&hl=en&start=1&itbs=1&tbnid=hsQFP__x_SSALM:&tbnh=77&tbnw=129&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dengland%2Bflag%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den) :greengrin

I'm not going to shy away, I want England to win, but I am English. Although I expect "friendly pelters" from my scottish chums - but not from fellow Hibs family, thats hard to take :wink:

LamontHFC©
30-11-2009, 04:15 PM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:hsQFP__x_SSALM:http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/europe/uk/images/england-flag.jpg (http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/europe/uk/images/england-flag.jpg&imgrefurl=http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/europe/uk/flag.htm&usg=__xCQNOG19oP71_0J7D0W2LTCXpws=&h=287&w=480&sz=10&hl=en&start=1&itbs=1&tbnid=hsQFP__x_SSALM:&tbnh=77&tbnw=129&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dengland%2Bflag%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den) :greengrin

I'm not going to shy away, I want England to win, but I am English. Although I expect "friendly pelters" from my scottish chums - but not from fellow Hibs family, thats hard to take :wink:

Better get used to it then buddy. :wink:

30-11-2009, 04:16 PM

I hope its anyone but england, :wink: the stick i would take would be unbearable.:boo hoo:

Gus
30-11-2009, 04:18 PM
2010 is gonna be huge

England to win the world cup
Hibs to split the old firm if not **** them over totally
Hearts to go bust (how long can they really go on for)

No more X factor

im nursing a semi at the thought

North Korea:thumbsup::greengrin.

I read that news and viewing of the WC have been banned in North Korea, unless they win, fantastic stuff:greengrin.

I'll be as usual going for "anyone but England" too.

PiemanP
Anyone European apart from the Frogs and the English!

gilliecabbage
30-11-2009, 04:28 PM
any african nation!
ivory coast probly have the best shout. spain even tho they won the euros, i still dini fancy them to do well, brazil huge favourites 4 me but wi the right draw ivory coast could go really far! so im gona have a wee punt on them to reach the final:wink:

30-11-2009, 04:30 PM
No question.

After a simply fantastic Confederations Cup, I'm quietly confident the USA will go far and upset a lot of people.

Come on Sams Army! :thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 04:36 PM
Holland and Ivory Coast:greengrin

30-11-2009, 04:36 PM
Anybody but England..

30-11-2009, 04:38 PM
Anybody but England..

Thats just racist. :devil:

hibztilltheend
30-11-2009, 04:39 PM
ireland :agree:

30-11-2009, 04:40 PM
Thats just racist. :devil:

Honestly mate , if England were to win , I would get rid of my TV and wear a black armband to work... The thought of the English press makes me want to stick pins in my eyes.. We are still hearing about 1966 FFS...

If I am being honest , with Capello at the helm , they have the best chance in years....

30-11-2009, 04:46 PM
i think Ghana will do well. Paraguay as an outsider. Supporting any non-fancied side.

Honestly mate , if England were to win , I would get rid of my TV and wear a black armband to work... The thought of the English press makes me want to stick pins in my eyes.. We are still hearing about 1966 FFS...

If I am being honest , with Capello at the helm , they have the best chance in years....

I know what you mean. Its frightening how well they have come on with capello. I just hope Spain or Brazil play to their potential, as apart from them, England will fancy their chances against any of the others.

Either that, or they capitulate as usual on penalties against the germans,:wink:

Agree it would be ***** but cant see it happening, they aren't as good as they believe they are

30-11-2009, 04:48 PM
Agree it would be ***** but cant see it happening, they aren't as good as they believe they are

With Capello , it could.. He has no favourites and gets instant respect which has been lacking with other managers. If it was to happen , I think it would the end of the world......

30-11-2009, 04:49 PM
I know what you mean. Its frightening how well they have come on with capello. I just hope Spain or Brazil play to their potential, as apart from them, England will fancy their chances against any of the others.

Either that, or they capitulate as usual on penalties against the germans,:wink:

They do look a differant side and they seem to grind out results even when they are playing crap.....

30-11-2009, 04:52 PM
Anyone but england. Sod the pc brigade.

Me too:thumbsup::thumbsup:

euro Hibby
30-11-2009, 04:58 PM
Hopefully an African team or Spain. I voted Ivory coast for obvious reasons but would like to see Spain do it as they are good and have never won it before.

England under Capello are actually OK but probably come WC they will be the last team I'll want to win for good sporting reasons.

I should probably want Italy to win it as I live there but they have done it before and its time for someone else.

30-11-2009, 05:00 PM

Thats the 'anti-PC brigade' choice, they've just had a rightwing miltary coup:gun:

ChrissyG1875
30-11-2009, 05:16 PM
Allez les Bleus! Allez les Bleus! Allez!
:sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee:

30-11-2009, 05:18 PM
Spain

_hucks_
30-11-2009, 06:01 PM
Ivory Coast for big Sol, and Greece, as I've got greek famlee

30-11-2009, 06:05 PM
Ivory Coast or Ghana.

Always took an interest in some of the African teams since the ACN in 2003, prior to the WC when Senegal beat France 1-0. I said to my mate prior to the game that Senegal would beat them and got laughed at.

Ivory Coast purely because they're a good team. Always liked them pre Bamba.

Ghana - Just because I went to ER to watch them vs South Korea before the last WC.

Had a bet on both of them at the last WC, think I'll do the same again with IC.

SidBurns
30-11-2009, 06:31 PM
England will be in the top pot so they can't get Brazil , they could get Holland , Usa and The Ivory Coast :devil:

Goes by FIFA Ranking & previous WC performances so they'll be in Pot 2

deek68
30-11-2009, 07:09 PM
Paraguay. Always liked them for scaring the s&%t out of France in '98. Nowt against the French like, just remember being glued to that game (France took 107 minutes to score, golden goal).

30-11-2009, 07:11 PM
Holland or Denmark - good countries, good people

England is a good country with good people too but still our rivals historically so will never want them to win anything

wazoo1875
30-11-2009, 07:15 PM
I've went for North Korea , they are such a fun loving democratic country that i fail to see why anyone would want them to flounder on the big stage .

Kim Jong Ill is also just misunderstood :thumbsup:

sixtwo
30-11-2009, 07:16 PM
Ivory Coast. :agree:Imagine how good it would be to have a world cup winner in your team.....and he isn't even the best player:wink:

Go on big Sol:thumbsup:

Hakim Sar
30-11-2009, 07:23 PM
france for me. Theyl either win it or go out in groups without scoring a single goal. Expected more people to jump on the Spain bandwagon (or armada)

30-11-2009, 09:08 PM
GERMANY. I don't really like them but it will p##h off the English commentators big stile. :greengrin

CheesyHibby
01-12-2009, 11:20 AM
Every time a major tournament comes up, there is always a debate about why we should or shouldn't support England. Sadly, all this seems to do is highlight our own ineptitude in qualifying for major tournaments. What we really want is a Scottish team to support in the group stages...and if not, then England to get pumped by everyone and anyone. I think the real fear many Scots have is the media thing. If (God forbid) England did win the world cup next year, the newspapers and tv would still be talking about it well into the next century. And I, for one, don't want to hear it.

01-12-2009, 11:41 AM

I must be anti-everycant...I indeed, dont give a rats ass about Ireland, Wales or Northern Ireland.

When Scotland exit the competition, it's over. Thus, England and all the rest mean nothing to me.

In fact, due to all their pish lately, I hope Ireland get beaten next time they play anaw, by a dubious hand ball the whinging bassas...and I hope the Welsh get horsed as well given they horsed us :greengrin

All bassas equally - will that dae ye matey :thumbsup:

01-12-2009, 12:20 PM
Was Argentina or Italy for me, opted for Italy though ..

01-12-2009, 12:30 PM
Erin go Bragh - looking at your votes, I guess you just voted for EVERYONE except England?

Hibs On Tour
01-12-2009, 01:04 PM
Can I be the first?

ENG. ER. LUND!

01-12-2009, 01:28 PM
Has to be England for me: they're representing the UK as far as I'm concerned. Back in 66 I was ten and me and all my mates in Edinburgh (Craigmillar) went crazy with joy when England won the World Cup, seemed the natural thing to do at that age, see no reason to change now :na na:
I can still "almost" rattle off the England team straight of the top of my head - "Banks Cohen-Wilson-Stiles-Charlton-Moore-Hunt-Ball-Hurst-Peters-Charlton" - is that right?

Anyway, I'd rather be part of the "PC brigade" as alluded to elsewhere in this post than part of some childish, inferiority-complex group who can only justify its very Scottish existence through vociferous "hatred" of all things English. :sofa:

C'mon England!:greengrin

01-12-2009, 01:38 PM
England give away too many goals from set plays. They will get to the knock out stages but they will lose via-freekick or corner goal (but hopefully on penalties as its just so fun). You cannot give away set pieces and defend badly at them at this level and EVERY team will know Glen Johnson is the bombscare and best option at getting said free kicks in dangerous areas.

For me, spain have no weaknesses really except themselves. Tournament mentality counts for alot and they know they under achieved before. If they get that sorted then its all spain.

Brazil also look brilliant and have the mental strength to win and look a far better balanced team than recently.

I hope the Coast can do well, they have a very strong team!

SmithyHibee
01-12-2009, 01:51 PM
Anyone but England, or France:grr:

(((Fergus)))
01-12-2009, 01:52 PM
North Korea, Ivory Coast or Algeria with big Zarabi the Mummy tripping over his bandages to nod the winner

hibsfan7
01-12-2009, 01:58 PM
Ivory coast

BravestHibs
01-12-2009, 02:14 PM
France for me. Being half French it's a no brainer. However I'll be putting £20 on England in order to temper the bitter disappointment if they do win. Living in Sheffield, every time I'm in the pub when there's an England game on it's like Dantes inferno for me. Although without the poetic justice.

*Brass band playing the great escape emoticon*

01-12-2009, 02:22 PM
North Korea, Ivory Coast or Algeria with big Zarabi the Mummy tripping over his bandages to nod the winner

I like the idea of wearing an obscure team's shirt during the world cup, but North Korea has this manky hummel number:bitchy:
http://shop.subsidesports.com/uk/a-72057594037949982/North+Korea+Shirt/Jersey+2008/2009

Colonel_HFC
01-12-2009, 04:38 PM
[QUOTE=joe breezy;2259387]Holland or Denmark - good countries, good people

I can't speak about Denmark (other than a trip to Legoland at the age of 4, and that was pretty amazing - you've not lived until you've seen a minature version of Big Ben made out of lego) but I live in The Netherlands at the moment. Can you please introduce me to some of these 'good people'. The majority really are not. I think I'll be upsetting a few people in the pubs over here when I celebrate the opposing teams' goals.

01-12-2009, 04:40 PM
We should all lose the pettyness and get behind team England for the big win:agree:

01-12-2009, 04:51 PM
I like the idea of wearing an obscure team's shirt during the world cup, but North Korea has this manky hummel number:bitchy:
http://shop.subsidesports.com/uk/a-72057594037949982/North+Korea+Shirt/Jersey+2008/2009

Jesus F'ing Christ:jamboak:

01-12-2009, 05:07 PM
Would have been the Republic of Ireland, but since they were cheated out, I will go for the Ivory Coast for Big Sol Bamba.

01-12-2009, 05:11 PM
Holland, Spain, Brazil, Argentina.

01-12-2009, 05:37 PM
Don't care who they get, as long as they don't win it.

01-12-2009, 05:53 PM
**** them!, the players, the commentators and the hoards of erseholes who walk around with mingland strips and don't even bother to watch them, and they always spoil my holiday with whole families decked out (WTF is all that about!)

Come on anybody bar mingland!

:bye: :agree:

01-12-2009, 05:54 PM
Holland, Spain, Brazil, Argentina.

Rooting for the underdog then :greengrin

Minder
01-12-2009, 06:03 PM
Ivory Coast, may benefit us when Bamba moves.

jackieboy
01-12-2009, 06:05 PM
Anybody bar England i was about in 1966 and when we beat them at Wembley in 1967 that made us World Champions for a day. The team is still fresh in my mind.
Simpson, Gemmel, McCreadie Greig McKinnon Baxter Wallace Bremner McCalliog Law and Lennox

01-12-2009, 06:40 PM

I don't mind them.

People always bang on about the commentators but as I've got older I've become pretty convinced it's either diminished from what it was, or (more likely) it never existed to the extent that people make out. Maybe a bit of both :greengrin

I certainly can't recall anything that ever made me burn with righteous self-indignation :greengrin

I don't have an issue with any Englishman, commentator or otherwise, revelling in 1966. They won the World Cup FFS!!! (Albeit with a lorra lorra 'home advantage' :agree:). If it was me I'd be harking back to it as well. We're certainly not shy of harking back to our exploits on 1/1/1973 or our tremendous European performances of the sixties and seventies or our halcyon days in the late forties/early fifties and rightly so.

01-12-2009, 06:45 PM

I don't have an issue with any Englishman, commentator or otherwise, revelling in 1966. They won the World Cup FFS!!! (Albeit with a lorra lorra 'home advantage' :agree:). If it was me I'd be harking back to it as well. We're certainly not shy of harking back to our exploits on 1/1/1973 or our tremendous European performances of the sixties and seventies or our halcyon days in the late forties/early fifties and rightly so.

It's got nothing to do with how bad we are, we already know that, have done since Roxburgh messed up any chance of us having a good team, they are and always will be the ultimate enemy to me, I want them beat at everything including tiddlywinks, nothing wrong with that is there?

01-12-2009, 06:49 PM
Has to be England for me: they're representing the UK as far as I'm concerned. Back in 66 I was ten and me and all my mates in Edinburgh (Craigmillar) went crazy with joy when England won the World Cup, seemed the natural thing to do at that age, see no reason to change now :na na:
I can still "almost" rattle off the England team straight of the top of my head - "Banks Cohen-Wilson-Stiles-Charlton-Moore-Hunt-Ball-Hurst-Peters-Charlton" - is that right?

Anyway, I'd rather be part of the "PC brigade" as alluded to elsewhere in this post than part of some childish, inferiority-complex group who can only justify its very Scottish existence through vociferous "hatred" of all things English. :sofa:

C'mon England!:greengrin

Away and play wi yirsel pal eh

01-12-2009, 06:58 PM
Ivory Coast please. :thumbsup:

01-12-2009, 07:07 PM
England. I never tire of hearing about 1966, when it's rarely mentioned. :devil:

01-12-2009, 09:14 PM
France or North korea please

01-12-2009, 09:33 PM
Italy. Preferably beating Brazil 4 - 1 in the final.

Failing that, England and sod the consequences. Show we're the bigger man and all that eh?

01-12-2009, 09:39 PM
An African country, Spain or France.

England will come close but lack the cigar to go the whole 9 yards.

Damn those penalty shoot-outs eh???? :devil:

Munson7
01-12-2009, 11:01 PM
Spain for me.

In my opinion they play the best football on the planet and would be deserving winners, being a big Barca fan (The Hibs of the South) i'd like it for their players too.

Apart from them i hope Ivory Coast do well for obvious reasons, and i think the Italians will be there or thereabouts..

02-12-2009, 09:20 AM
England just been announced as one of the 8 seeded teams...Hoping they get Ivory Coast, Portugal and Mexico :agree:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/8390084.stm

Pots for Friday's draw: eight groups of four countries to be drawn, each group containing one country from each pot.
Pot 1 (seeds): South Africa, Brazil, Spain, Holland, Italy, Germany, Argentina, England
Pot 2 (Asia, Oceania and North/Central America): Japan, South Korea, North Korea, Australia, New Zealand, USA, Mexico, Honduras
Pot 3 (Africa and South America): Ivory Coast, Ghana, Cameroon, Nigeria, Algeria, Paraguay, Chile, Uruguay
Pot 4 (Europe): France, Portugal, Slovenia, Switzerland, Greece, Serbia, Denmark, Slovakia

02-12-2009, 09:24 AM

Verran, you take pelters from fellow Hibs family on a weekly basis.

02-12-2009, 09:30 AM
I've gone for Italy as I lived there for a while and still have a lot of Italian friends and the Ivory Coast.

hibbie02
02-12-2009, 09:50 AM
I feel a McGlashan moment coming on.

England have managed to pick up a top seeding for the WC after all!!! Despite being seeded 9th in the rankings and not qualifying for the last Euro Championships. Well I hope they get Portugal in their Group!!! :grr:

khib70
02-12-2009, 09:55 AM
I feel a McGlashan moment coming on.

England have managed to pick up a top seeding for the WC after all!!! Despite being seeded 9th in the rankings and not qualifying for the last Euro Championships. Well I hope they get Portugal in their Group!!! :grr:
So who out of the top 8 nations has been unseeded to make way for Engerland? Genuine inquiry. Can't be bothered looking it up.

Either way another signature piece of FIFA goalpost-moving, by the sound of it.

2belhaven
02-12-2009, 09:55 AM
Usual hang ups about England bore me. They have qualified unlike all other British Nations. I would like to see them win it. Absolutley no problem with that if they do. Get over it !

02-12-2009, 09:59 AM
Usual hang ups about England bore me. They have qualified unlike all other British Nations. I would like to see them win it. Absolutley no problem with that if they do. Get over it !

:sick:

Most people want them pumped!!

Get over it.

JE89
02-12-2009, 09:59 AM
So who out of the top 8 nations has been unseeded to make way for Engerland? Genuine inquiry. Can't be bothered looking it up.

Either way another signature piece of FIFA goalpost-moving, by the sound of it.

France and Portugal - South Africa also seeded as they host it.

I think its fair to be honest. England had a very impressive qualifying campaign - Portugal and France both struggled. France shouldn't even be there so IMO FIFA have made the right choice.

02-12-2009, 10:01 AM

I think its fair to be honest. England had a very impressive qualifying campaign - Portugal and France both struggled. France shouldn't even be there so IMO FIFA have made the right choice.

How should France not have made it?

they were on track for the very worse, a penalty shoot out at home.

they won the WC in 1998, won the Euro's in 2000, lost in the WC final in 2006, and often reach latter stages.

What the hell have England done to beat all the above :confused:

02-12-2009, 10:04 AM

Yet Portugal are still seeded 5th in the World & England are 9th.

I will never work out how FIFA/UEFA make all these mental decisions :bitchy:

khib70
02-12-2009, 10:05 AM

they won the WC in 1998, won the Euro's in 2000, lost in the WC final in 2006, and often reach latter stages.

:agree:Exactly. Some of us have been living for 43 years with them blowing off about their last win (gained in circumstances everyone but them regards as highly dubious). I wouldn't inflict that on another generation.

I look forward to seeing Lineker's cheeky wee face crumble as they miss the crucial penalty in yet another shootout. Preferably against the Ivory Coast.

02-12-2009, 10:06 AM

I don't know if I want them to win it, because I haven't decided who to bet on yet.

However, your point about the usual hang ups about England is spot on. I don't buy "they go on about 1966 too much". If Scotland had ever won a world cup, everyone in this country would be just as bad.

JE89
02-12-2009, 10:10 AM

The Handball was a joke. Ireland were completely cheated.

All the things you have mentioned are great achievements no doubt but I think it should be judged on world ranking (which is based on recent achievements) as well as how they progressed to this world cup.

Lets say a team who say won the WC in 2002, but got through to the play offs by goal difference, then went through on penalties, but were ranked 7th in world because of the 2002 WC - does this team deserve to be seeded ahead of a team ranked 9th in the world who won all their games in the qualification stages for this world cup? IMO - No.

Don't get me wrong, I want England to crash and burn but why would FIFA favour England ahead of France or Portugal?

02-12-2009, 10:13 AM

If you really want to be bored, now is the time to move south of the border and listen to the unremitting supremacist guff spouted out by the English media, slowly but surely whipping the country into hysteria before the inevitable failure and inquests.

And I speak as someone who has no real issues (other than that) with England winning the WC.

02-12-2009, 10:19 AM
Watching Match of the Day is enough reason for not wanting them to win the World Cup.

Never seen a bigger collection of tosspots in my life.

hibbie02
02-12-2009, 10:19 AM
If you really want to be bored, now is the time to move south of the border and listen to the unremitting supremacist guff spouted out by the English media, slowly but surely whipping the country into hysteria before the inevitable failure and inquests.

And I speak as someone who has no real issues (other than that) with England winning the WC.

And I agree with DBS totally. I live down here, my other half is English and my wee Bugger is half English. I don't hate England, I just hate the English meedja and their tub thumping. All it does is turn normally sane rational people into xenophobic basket cases who are either manically patriotic and will fight anyone or are suicidally depressed and will fight anyone. :grr:

Sergio sledge
02-12-2009, 10:24 AM
The seedings were based on the October rankings which were:

1. Brazil, 2. Spain, 3. The Netherlands, 4. Italy, 5. Germany, 6. Argentina, 7. England, 8. Croatia, 9. France, 10. Portugal.

France and Portugal both played competitive matches (the playoffs) before the latest rankings, and so got more ranking points than the teams who had already qualified, who only played friendlies. If the seedings were based on November rankings, then England would have been effectively punished for qualifying directly, which hardly seems fair. Fifa has got it right on this occasion IMHO.

hibbie02
02-12-2009, 10:28 AM

1. Brazil, 2. Spain, 3. The Netherlands, 4. Italy, 5. Germany, 6. Argentina, 7. England, 8. Croatia, 9. France, 10. Portugal.

France and Portugal both played competitive matches (the playoffs) before the latest rankings, and so got more ranking points than the teams who had already qualified, who only played friendlies. If the seedings were based on November rankings, then England would have been effectively punished for qualifying directly, which hardly seems fair. Fifa has got it right on this occasion IMHO.

And since when have seedings been the sole decider on WC seedings? They change the rules as they go along depending on how they want the Groups to look. As I say I hope England get Portugal again. Not France as when they beat England in 2004, the local supporters wrecked the High Street and Railway Station...............

Austinho
02-12-2009, 10:31 AM
The entire draw process seems completely mind boggling — they have decided to separate the pots by continents, rather than seeding.

Meaning you could have a group consisting of:

South Africa, Honduras, Paraguay and Slovakia

And one consisting of:

Brazil, USA, Ivory Coast and France

Seems completely ridiculous, and another shocking decision from FIFA.

HenryMonk
02-12-2009, 10:32 AM
The Handball was a joke. Ireland were completely cheated.

ok on that token do you agree that maradonas handball was a joke? and england were cheated back then tae!

JE89
02-12-2009, 10:35 AM
ok on that token do you agree that maradonas handball was a joke? and england were cheated back then tae!

Absolutely. I don't think anybody can argue that they weren't cheated.

02-12-2009, 10:43 AM

In a pish group.

Sergio sledge
02-12-2009, 10:45 AM
And since when have seedings been the sole decider on WC seedings? They change the rules as they go along depending on how they want the Groups to look. As I say I hope England get Portugal again. Not France as when they beat England in 2004, the local supporters wrecked the High Street and Railway Station...............

And why shouldn't it be? What other criteria should it be based on? The "as long as you're not England seedings system?"

England qualified directly, and easily, and are in and around the top 8 teams in the world, so deserve their seeding, France and Portugal struggled to qualify and up were down in the rankings, (up until October Portugal were 17th!) so they don't deserve to be seeded. Seems fair to me, but then I'm not particularly bothered whether England do well or not. Fair play to them if they do.

02-12-2009, 10:48 AM
And why shouldn't it be? What other criteria should it be based on? The "as long as you're not England seedings system?"

England qualified directly, and easily, and are in and around the top 8 teams in the world, so deserve their seeding, France and Portugal struggled to qualify and up were down in the rankings, (up until October Portugal were 17th!) so they don't deserve to be seeded. Seems fair to me, but then I'm not particularly bothered whether England do well or not. Fair play to them if they do.

How about the last three major tournaments:

Portugal: final, semi final, quarter final
France: quarter final, final, group
England: quarter final, quarter final, didn't even qualify

JE89
02-12-2009, 10:54 AM
In a pish group.

They didn't chose it. We will never know if they would have been as impressive in a much harder group (obviously they wouldn't) but they were drawn in that group and did very well - nothing else they could have done really.

Bohemian_Hibee
02-12-2009, 10:56 AM
So close and yet so far...

As an Irishman, this will be very hard to watch. Yep, I know as a nation we need to move on etc, but with the country in the depths of depression, recession and even floods, this has been one bitter pill to swallow. I still remember the excitement watching the world cup draw in Dec 1989 after we qualified for the first time.

Once again, FIFA seem to be using a strange seeding/pot system, but hey it's not like them to move the goalposts so suit themselves, eh?

I've actually already put a few quid on Ingurland, I see it as one of those can't-lose bets :greengrin

Now, did someone mention Charlize Theron....Mmmmmmm

02-12-2009, 10:57 AM
They didn't chose it. We will never know if they would have been as impressive in a much harder group (obviously they wouldn't) but they were drawn in that group and did very well - nothing else they could have done really.

It's not a fair basis for determining seedings though. Only in South American or CONCACAF could you say their qualifying system is a fair way of saying which is the best team in that area.

Rory89
02-12-2009, 10:58 AM
Everything we complain about England applies to us, only worse.

They still bang on about 66 - We bang on about winning the curling ffs, if Scotland had won the world cup it would still be bloody front page news.

They overhype themselves - When Scotland were doing well in the qualifiers under Smith and also McLeish they were photoshopping Faddy to look like Braveheart.

They act like it's their right to win - Scotland are absolute pish and commentators still come out with statements like "we shouldn't be losing to teams like Norway".

hibbie02
02-12-2009, 11:06 AM

Because it never has been before and will probably change again next time. No one appeared to know how they were going to fiddle it this time round until about 10am this morning. A bit like when they suddenly decided to seed the playoffs. These decisions need to be transparent at the outset, not decided once they see who qualifies. The formula to be used should be published in advance. :agree:

JE89
02-12-2009, 11:07 AM
It's not a fair basis for determining seedings though. Only in South American or CONCACAF could you say their qualifying system is a fair way of saying which is the best team in that area.

How do they seed it in South America - genuine curiosity as I always assumed that it was the same for all competitions.

hibbie02
02-12-2009, 11:10 AM
Everything we complain about England applies to us, only worse.

They still bang on about 66 - We bang on about winning the curling ffs, if Scotland had won the world cup it would still be bloody front page news.

They overhype themselves - When Scotland were doing well in the qualifiers under Smith and also McLeish they were photoshopping Faddy to look like Braveheart.

They act like it's their right to win - Scotland are absolute pish and commentators still come out with statements like "we shouldn't be losing to teams like Norway".

No the difference is that when we were doing well in the qualifiers, we were a bit shocked. Scotland are pish and we all know it. Engerlund are average to good but not world beaters. Have you seen some of the teams they have sent out recently? Once you take away a 2 or 3 key players, you are left with dross.

02-12-2009, 11:33 AM
The entire draw process seems completely mind boggling — they have decided to separate the pots by continents, rather than seeding.

Meaning you could have a group consisting of:

South Africa, Honduras, Paraguay and Slovakia

And one consisting of:

Brazil, USA, Ivory Coast and France

Seems completely ridiculous, and another shocking decision from FIFA.

And puts the stop to any dreams of a South Korean capitalism v North Korean communism mental derby of all derbies in the group stage:grr:
(Although to be fair I think they've split by geographies in the last few world cups)

Posh Swanny
02-12-2009, 11:52 AM
No the difference is that when we were doing well in the qualifiers, we were a bit shocked. Scotland are pish and we all know it. Engerlund are average to good but not world beaters. Have you seen some of the teams they have sent out recently? Once you take away a 2 or 3 key players, you are left with dross.

And we all know that too (well... most of us!). :agree:

And you shouldn't concern yourselves so much with the press. They laugh at themselves with how over the top they go. Its all part of the roller coaster ride that is an England World Cup campaign!

God help you all if we do manage to win it though! If I had the choice of being a Jambo if Hibs won the Scottish Cup, or a Scot if England won the World Cup... I think I'd probably become a monk.

02-12-2009, 12:09 PM
And puts the stop to any dreams of a South Korean capitalism v North Korean communism mental derby of all derbies in the group stage:grr:
(Although to be fair I think they've split by geographies in the last few world cups)

North Korea v USA

Gus
02-12-2009, 12:20 PM
In a pish group.

aye because out with Holland, Scotland faired so much better

No matter, some Scottish people will not want England to win the wc, fair enough imo, doesnt mean I like it.

lets jump on the anti england football team, pundits, newspapers to make up for there own shortfalls.....thats what I hate.

Scotland would be EXACTLY the same, blowing their own trumpet. Same with the smeltic fans going on about the Lisbon lions. (they are morons)

02-12-2009, 12:48 PM
Sean Bartlett Speaking on Ivory Coast:

If you look at the way they play, the quality of their squad and the teams their stars play for, it's clear the Ivory Cost could do the unthinkable by winning the World Cup

Big Sol!! go on son making a name of the Hibees on an international stage like the WC!!:top marks

02-12-2009, 12:54 PM
Yet Portugal are still seeded 5th in the World & England are 9th.

I will never work out how FIFA/UEFA make all these mental decisions :bitchy:

they were in the playoffs - thats their excuse. France Didn't exaclty shine in 2008 either!

Sergio sledge
02-12-2009, 01:02 PM
How about the last three major tournaments:

Portugal: final, semi final, quarter final
France: quarter final, final, group
England: quarter final, quarter final, didn't even qualify

What about the African cup of nations? Surely if you are including the European Championships, then this needs to be included? In this case, Ghana have a case to be seeded, or Cameroon. Or maybe we should include the Copa America? And also the Asian Cup. If we were to go on last few major tournament records, there would be a few more teams with claims to be seeded.

World rankings are a reasonably fair indicator of a teams standing in world football, especially in the top 20 or so, so it seems fair that teams are seeded on current standings rather than what they have done in tournaments 2, 4 and 6 years ago.

I cannot see another fairer way to do it.

Would there be this much fuss if it had been anyone else other than England supposedly benefitting?

02-12-2009, 01:04 PM
What about the African cup of nations? Surely if you are including the European Championships, then this needs to be included? In this case, Ghana have a case to be seeded, or Cameroon. Or maybe we should include the Copa America? And also the Asian Cup. If we were to go on last few major tournament records, there would be a few more teams with claims to be seeded.

World rankings are a reasonably fair indicator of a teams standing in world football, especially in the top 20 or so, so it seems fair that teams are seeded on current standings rather than what they have done in tournaments 2, 4 and 6 years ago.

I cannot see another fairer way to do it.

Would there be this much fuss if it had been anyone else other than England supposedly benefitting?

In which England are ninth (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_World_Rankings) (Portugal and France have been bumped to make way for them)

Sergio sledge
02-12-2009, 01:10 PM
In which England are ninth (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_World_Rankings) (Portugal and France have been bumped to make way for them)

I've already explained that earlier....:rolleyes:

02-12-2009, 01:23 PM
2010 is gonna be huge

England to win the world cup
Hibs to split the old firm if not **** them over totally
Hearts to go bust (how long can they really go on for)

No more X factor

im nursing a semi at the thought

If you can chuck in the absolute non-returnable demise of Big Brother in any guise then I could probably live with that! (Well maybe not the semi bit...)

Gus
02-12-2009, 02:44 PM

Portugal & France have been bumped for England.......aye good one

02-12-2009, 03:34 PM
I've already explained that earlier....:rolleyes:

And conveniently before England were horsed by Brazil in a friendly

Sergio sledge
02-12-2009, 04:15 PM
And conveniently before England were horsed by Brazil in a friendly

:greengrin Aye, But that's kind of the point though, it was a friendly!

Anyway, I can't believe I'm:

a) defending Fifa,

and

b) sticking up for England.....

:slipper:

02-12-2009, 04:31 PM
Portugal & France have been bumped for England.......aye good one

:fishin:

04-12-2009, 04:07 PM
I hope england get this group.

England
Mexico
Ivory Cost
Portugal

04-12-2009, 04:13 PM

England
Mexico
Ivory Cost
Portugal

I'd rather they got the USA than Mexico, but Ivory Coast and Portugal/France would be excellent :greengrin

04-12-2009, 04:14 PM

England
Mexico
Ivory Cost
Portugal

Unfortunately that won't happen. They will get the weakest teams from the other pots.

Which pot are Hearts in?

Hibbie_Cameron
04-12-2009, 04:16 PM
You can just tell Fifa will dilly dally with the draw. The procedure should take about 15 mins but with Blatter and co it will probably take about 2 hours with several intervals for entertainment

Storar
04-12-2009, 04:17 PM
Hope South Africa win it but would be happy enough with Big Sol bringing a World Cup medal back to Easter Road too:thumbsup:

04-12-2009, 04:20 PM
I'd rather they got the USA than Mexico, but Ivory Coast and Portugal/France would be excellent :greengrin

If FIFA rig the draw as per usual, then England and Holland should get one of Portugal or France, to make up for the seeding arrangement.

:fishin:

04-12-2009, 04:21 PM
WTF is Lineker's top lip all about?

That's the worst attempt at a moustache for ages :tee hee:

BTW, Engerlund will get Honduras, Algeria and Switzerland

04-12-2009, 04:23 PM
Watching the draw, Sepp Blatter is such an egotistical attention seeking ******.... :bitchy:

Leicester Fan
04-12-2009, 04:23 PM

England
Mexico
Ivory Cost
Portugal
Me too. Knock out Portugal and Mexico in the group stages.

04-12-2009, 04:30 PM
I bet they get;

Honduras
Uruguay
Slovenia

:bitchy:

04-12-2009, 04:33 PM
FFS can they just draw the bloody balls out the hat and stop all this rubbish dancing... :grr:

Oh wait it's ok, Charlize Theron has just turned up, forget the draw... ;)

bathhibby
04-12-2009, 04:34 PM
I am already ****ed of with the BBC Fuds and it is only December.
Lets hope they get Portugal, Ivoru Coast & Australia.

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 04:35 PM
why cant they just get on with the f*****g thing :grr::grr::grr::grr:

04-12-2009, 04:37 PM
FFS just get on with the draw. :grr:

04-12-2009, 04:39 PM
Excuse my ignorance but what part is David Beckham doing in the draw?

FFS just get on with the draw. :grr:

SHUT UP AND DRAW THE BALLS OUT THE SODDING HAT :grr:

(I bet there are 1) No Balls and 2) No sodding hat)

TheBall'sRound
I am already ****ed of with the BBC Fuds and it is only December.
Lets hope they get Portugal, Ivoru Coast & Australia.

I think I saw that rankings wise the group of death would be France, Ivory Coast and USA.

That might shut them up for a few months. Though probably not...

04-12-2009, 04:40 PM

He's there as part of Engerlund's 2018 bid

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 04:40 PM

He's playing the role of sucking up to the continental CEO'S of FIFA.

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 04:44 PM
This is brilliant they started off saying we don't to play Portugal, France, Ivory Coast etc etc then next breath we are going to have to sort out our penalty taking if we are going to win it!!! Now big lugs and Shearer and co are onto where they don't want to play, tell you what dinnae bother going if your scared of all the teams and the stadiums/cities!

04-12-2009, 04:44 PM
Is there some company somewhere called **** Productions that puts all of these opening ceremony draw type things together, managing to prolong the agony of all interested parties and suck every last ounce of fun out of the occassion??? :yawn:

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 04:45 PM
what time was it scheduled to take place? 1250? :grr:

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 04:49 PM
Ivory Coast for me cos of Bamba then Spain cos ...... was in Majorca when they won the Euoropean Championships and loved the way they celebrated but all in all anyone bar England they are annoying me already and the draw hasn't even started yet!

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 04:51 PM
tell you what lets forget about the football and just have this singing all night I'm off for a lie down for a few hours hopefully when I wake up the draw will be done!!

04-12-2009, 04:52 PM
Wake up - You're going to miss it. :greengrin

04-12-2009, 04:55 PM
tell you what lets forget about the football and just have this singing all night I'm off for a lie down for a few hours hopefully when I wake up the draw will be done!!

Charlize Theron has just fallen out of her dress!!!

Aww you went to bed and missed it :wink:

04-12-2009, 04:56 PM
This boy is doing my nut in.. Get the camera off him and onto Charlize Theron. She's gorgeous........

04-12-2009, 05:00 PM
:blah::blah::blah::blah::blah::blah: :hnet:

Get on with it - Baffoons. :agree:

04-12-2009, 05:01 PM

It's murder isn't it?? Do they think we have never seen anything like this before ???

04-12-2009, 05:02 PM

Could have had another hour in me bed....

GET ON WITH IT!!! :grr:

04-12-2009, 05:05 PM
Strange decision David Beckham being involved in the draw. Should this be allowed? :bitchy:

bathhibby
04-12-2009, 05:06 PM
England cannot meet Argentina till the Final - give me a break

That's it sorted, England are not seeing Argentina until the final and Germany until later on in the finals according to the commentator:bitchy::grr:.

Hope the other teams in group C stuff them.

Strange decision David Beckham being involved in the draw. Should this be allowed? :bitchy:

And Matt Booth too!!

WTF has Beckham done to his hair this time?? :confused:

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 05:08 PM
That's it sorted, England are not seeing Argentina until the final and Germany until later on in the finals according to the commentator:bitchy::grr:.

Hope the other teams in group C stuff them.
Woke up ! Can't believe that goat has just said that England can't play Argentina until the Final what a tube :faf:

04-12-2009, 05:09 PM
England get USA in their group:thumbsup:

04-12-2009, 05:09 PM
England get USA.

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 05:10 PM
England get USA in their group:thumbsup:

easy :thumbsup:

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 05:16 PM
and algeria

04-12-2009, 05:17 PM
Algeria for England

Bamba vs North Korea and Brazil :wink:

04-12-2009, 05:17 PM
and algeria

It's a fix. :grr:

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 05:20 PM
Portugal or Greece please for England :cool2:

04-12-2009, 05:21 PM
England will be playing France in the QF by the way, only if France make it that is :bitchy::grr:

04-12-2009, 05:22 PM
Tough opposition for South Africa.

Richard Scott
and slovenia - easy

England get Slovenia:boo hoo:

Baws.

Slovenia.

04-12-2009, 05:23 PM
It's a fix. :grr:

Well you couldn't have made it up. One of the weakest groups England could be in.

Linekar and co will be planning for the final now.

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 05:23 PM
England are out Germany or Serbia or Ghana in the next round they've no chance :greengrin

04-12-2009, 05:24 PM
Portugal or Greece please for England :cool2:

Greece would've been a better draw than Slovenia.

The draw's went their way - it could well be their year.

Can anyone explain how the country names can be heard in the background before the gadgy has unfurled the piece of paper?

England are out Germany or Serbia or Ghana in the next round they've no chance :greengrin

We can only hope and pray........

KingFranck
04-12-2009, 05:25 PM
Well you couldn't have made it up. One of the weakest groups England could be in.

Linekar and co will be planning for the final now.

Weakest first group but it means harder 2nd game Group G is brilliant!!

Big Sol v Cry Baby Ronaldo.

Hope the big man bursts him :greengrin

Talk about a group of death. Group G:thumbsup:

Can anyone explain how the country names can be heard in the background before the gadgy has unfurled the piece of paper?

I'm watching SSN - the draw's not live so I don't know but is it maybe a satellite delay?

04-12-2009, 05:26 PM
Greece would've been a better draw than Slovenia.

The draw's went their way - it could well be their year.

They were alway going to get out of any group they were drawn in imho. When the going gets tougher, hopefully thats when their bottle crashes.:pray:

04-12-2009, 05:26 PM

Absolute stinker.

BTW if Brazil come 2nd in their group they're likely to pay Spain in the 2nd round!

Leaving the patch clear for Engerland. :wink:

04-12-2009, 05:27 PM
Monster Group for big sol. good luck bigman!

brazil
north korea
ivory coast
portugal

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 05:27 PM
Group H: Spain, Switzerland, Honduras, Chile

Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal

Group F: Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia

Group E: Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon

Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana

Group C: ENGLAND, United States, Algeria, Slovenia

Group B: Argentina, Nigeria, South Korea, Greece

Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France

lumbo_hfc
04-12-2009, 05:28 PM

Group D is a hard one aswell, Germany, Serbia, Ghana and Australia and one of them get England (if they go through :yawn:)

04-12-2009, 05:28 PM

Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal (New Group of Death)

Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia Ghana (Group of Death?)

Group G is the group of death...

04-12-2009, 05:29 PM
Has one of Bekhams kids been let loose with the scissors, while his dad was sleeping?:faf:

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
04-12-2009, 05:29 PM
Quite an easy group for Ingerlun. altho the easiest group is Italy's.

PiemanP
04-12-2009, 05:31 PM
Mickey mouse cup :agree:

04-12-2009, 05:33 PM
All of a sudden I want Bougherra to do well at the World Cup

04-12-2009, 05:33 PM
All of a sudden I want Bougherra to do well at the World Cup

:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks

04-12-2009, 05:34 PM
England will meet France in the Quarter Finals.

But as the commentator pointed out, only if they make it....

France that is:grr:

GhostofBolivar
04-12-2009, 05:38 PM
Shut the hell up about '66 you senile £(%(&^)£"_%&*@@

04-12-2009, 05:39 PM
I hope France get beat 6-0 in every game. Le Crook Sportif!:grr:

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 05:39 PM
Shut the hell up about '66 you senile £(%(&^)£"_%&*@@

:applause:

I'm English, and can't stand the stuck-up, good-for nothing tit :agree:

04-12-2009, 05:45 PM
I think they could win it - especially if Spain meet Brazil in the 2nd round.

Get yourself down to the bookies for a double on Hibs for the Cup and England WC - it would ease the pain that some of you seem to be anticipating.

BTW if Hibs win the Cup will anyone be sober enough to even realise the WC's on?

Leicester Fan
04-12-2009, 05:47 PM
This is quite a long thread, I didn't think that you lads would be interested.:na na:.

Quite pleased with that draw. Should get through to the next round.

Richard Scott
04-12-2009, 05:50 PM
This is quite a long thread, I didn't think that you lads would be interested.:na na:.

Quite pleased with that draw. Should get through to the next round.

no "should" about it :wink:

04-12-2009, 05:50 PM
The poor North Koreans:boo hoo:Thats the toughest group by a long way.

Rossco1875
04-12-2009, 05:52 PM
wont be watching the final anyway ill be at t in the park:D I dont think england will win it. I think a african country may step up to it and win the thing

GhostofBolivar
04-12-2009, 05:54 PM
The poor North Koreans:boo hoo:Thats the toughest group by a long way.

They're totally getting executed when they get home.

04-12-2009, 05:55 PM
wont be watching the final anyway ill be at t in the park:D I dont think england will win it. I think a african country may step up to it and win the thing

Don't see it. I think Spain could be the side if Torres can get through the whole tourney.

04-12-2009, 05:55 PM
They're totally getting executed when they get home.

I'm sure there will be a few defections:faf:

GhostofBolivar
04-12-2009, 06:06 PM
I'm sure there will be a few defections:faf:

I'm also sure that every match report in North Korea will describe how they gloriously defeated their imperalist opponents 10-0 while carrying portraits of the Great Leader on their backs.

04-12-2009, 06:09 PM
Looking forward to big Sol halfing Christiano Ronaldo...

04-12-2009, 06:28 PM
A good World Cup for Sol and we really are in the money after that draw :thumbsup:

Still fancy Ivory Coast to do some damage, although they need to win that group to avoid Spain in the 2nd round, back up to 33/1 after the draw.

04-12-2009, 07:25 PM

Get yourself down to the bookies for a double on Hibs for the Cup and England WC - it would ease the pain that some of you seem to be anticipating.

BTW if Hibs win the Cup will anyone be sober enough to even realise the WC's on?

04-12-2009, 07:29 PM
Their bottle will crash, such as the demands of the media and the fans the further they go the worse it will get for them, they have NO CHANCE of winning it, too many egos and too much rivalry in the bedroom...sorry dressing room for them to have the mental bottle to take it all the way,and by the way that ****ing tit Motson should be our number one hate figure as I think Jimmy Hill should be put to bed now, a man I would punch in the street if he walked past me, is there something not right with him?

04-12-2009, 07:32 PM
Good luck to them, got a lot of mates who are English and don't have any particular grievance if they were to win it. The media are annoying but thats life.

I just wish Scotland had enough talent to be considered a realistic outside bet for the World Cup.

04-12-2009, 07:34 PM
John Motson is a big massive brown stain on the boxer shorts of humanity.

sadtom
04-12-2009, 07:39 PM
Anybody remember the sketch from 'Absolutely' where McGlashan is on the phone having a rant about world cup groups? (unfortunately it was on youtube but has been removed)
The rant goes allong the lines of "Scotlands group - Brazil, italy, germany, argentina, brazil, germany, brazil, italy, brazil, germany.
Englands group - England, isle of man, lapland, me and my nan!!"

He's not fekkin' wrong!

sunshine1875
04-12-2009, 07:41 PM
England will meet France in the Quarter Finals.

But as the commentator pointed out, only if they make it....

France that is:grr:

I can see Larry Kingston scoring the goal to knock them out in the last 16. What a legend he is becoming!

wee 162
04-12-2009, 07:41 PM
Don't see it. I think Spain could be the side if Torres can get through the whole tourney.

Why would the second choice (and that's what he is) striker for Spain be the difference between them winning it or not?

NYHibby
04-12-2009, 07:43 PM
All of this is a mute discussion. England will lose to the US and then lose to Germany in the round of 16.

04-12-2009, 07:48 PM
All of this is a mute discussion. England will lose to the US and then lose to Germany in the round of 16.

I actually agree with you. USA will surprise a few folk.

Leicester Fan
04-12-2009, 07:55 PM
Their bottle will crash, such as the demands of the media and the fans the further they go the worse it will get for them, they have NO CHANCE of winning it, too many egos and too much rivalry in the bedroom...sorry dressing room for them to have the mental bottle to take it all the way,and by the way that ****ing tit Motson should be our number one hate figure as I think Jimmy Hill should be put to bed now, a man I would punch in the street if he walked past me, is there something not right with him?

But apart from that you hope we do well?

04-12-2009, 07:56 PM
As it says on the tin.

04-12-2009, 07:56 PM
Group F should be an easy stroll for the All Whites, can leave Ryan Nelson relaxing on the bench til the semi finals :wink::greengrin

04-12-2009, 07:58 PM
England don't have a goalie-they'll struggle.

04-12-2009, 08:01 PM
But apart from that you hope we do well?

I shall be at the Walkers on Tuesday to see Ivan again :thumbsup:

Be warned the only other time I've been since moving here was the 2-1 defeat to Preston in September.

dennykillie
04-12-2009, 08:01 PM

No need to worry about that, the Mighty Medda will sort that out!

04-12-2009, 08:03 PM
I dont care who we get. I will get pelters anyway :boo hoo:

But it is nice to be in the draw :devil:

I want you lot to win it :agree:

I can't stand the GFA that much :devil:

sadtom
04-12-2009, 08:26 PM
Found it.
Funny as
http://spikedhumor.com/articles/60149/McGlashan-on-the-World-Cup-Draw-Absolutely.html

crewetollhibee
04-12-2009, 08:30 PM

If Hibs win the Scottish, I might sober up in time for Engurland defending the World Cup. :devil:

04-12-2009, 08:33 PM
If Hibs win the Scottish, I might sober up in time for Engurland defending the World Cup. :devil:

:thumbsup: It wouldn't take the gloss of my summer at all.

Ants
04-12-2009, 08:35 PM
Group I: Wales, Ireland, Scotland, The Numpties

Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal

Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana

For the love of me, I just cannot see anyone from group I qualifying....