View Full Version : Scottish Cup Draw - Hibs v Irvine Meadow

crash
29-11-2009, 10:28 AM
A non-leaguer at ER please, Edinburgh City if poss:wink:

29-11-2009, 10:31 AM
Kenning our luck it will be the uglys away whilst the pubteamers get some dross at hame, like they did all the way to the final when the won it in 98.

29-11-2009, 10:46 AM

Edinburgh City away would be better

Although be careful what you wish for...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7449665.stm

EDINBURGH CITY

Who are they? Semi-professional Edinburgh-based club, founded in 1928. Joined the SFL in 1931, but went out of business in 1955. Were eventually re-formed from Postal United in 1986.

Where do they play? Currently in the East of Scotland Football League (finished fourth last season). Their home ground is Meadowbank Stadium, built for the 1970 Commonwealth Games and the former home of Meadowbank Thistle.

Home colours: White shirts, black shorts, white socks.

Claim to fame: Edinburgh City beat Hibernian 3-2 at Easter Road in the first round of the Scottish Cup on 22 January 1938.

29-11-2009, 10:49 AM
The easiest team in the draw at home please. And the same all the way to the Final.

None of the Rangers/Celtc/Hearts at home nonsense for me.

I'd be happy to win this by playing
4th round: Edinburgh City,
5th round: Burntisland Shipyards,
QF: Livingston,
SF:Ayr,
F:Dundee

hibsfan7
29-11-2009, 11:02 AM
DISAGREE

I WANT HEARTS
ABERDEEN
DUNDEE UTD
RANGERS
CELTIC IN THE FINAL

:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

.SeventyFive
29-11-2009, 11:23 AM
Edinburgh City away would be better

Although be careful what you wish for...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7449665.stm

Totally. I'd love the Hibees to pack Meadowbank!

29-11-2009, 11:29 AM
The easiest team in the draw at home please. And the same all the way to the Final.

:bitchy: Not after last time.

Sloppy
29-11-2009, 11:30 AM
what times the draw? what channel?

the_ginger_hibee
29-11-2009, 12:29 PM
Anyone. But does it really matter?

hibbie02
29-11-2009, 12:45 PM

Why do you want us out at the QF stage??? :confused: :greengrin

JoJo_07
29-11-2009, 12:47 PM
what times the draw? what channel?

Monday 1430 Sky Sports News

29-11-2009, 01:07 PM
Rangers at Ibrox or Celtic at Parkhead with a ref that gives ever decision to the home side, please. Let's get out of this diddy cup as soon as possible and concentrate on the league.

CalgaryHibs
29-11-2009, 01:39 PM

O come on mate city!!!

We want to meet city in the final:wink:

GC
29-11-2009, 03:49 PM
Irvine Meadow at Easter Road would be fine by me:greengrin

Hopefully we avoid any of the SPL sides and can try and get an easy a path through the opening rounds as possible.

Might be our year this year:thumbsup:

29-11-2009, 03:53 PM
Rangers or Celtic at ER please :cool2:

GC
29-11-2009, 03:55 PM

You are a braver man than me.

Stirling Albion at home.

2nd division or lower team at home please, then another in the round after that, and another in the quarter finals, and another in the semi before facing Edinburgh City in the final.

Then, just then, we may have a shot at winning.

29-11-2009, 03:57 PM
Anyone at ER please.

KanyeWestLower
29-11-2009, 03:58 PM
Wick Accadamy away please! :thumbsup:

29-11-2009, 04:00 PM
Would like - any lower league team at home

Will get - Dundee Utd or Aberdeen away

GC
29-11-2009, 04:04 PM
Would like - any lower league team at home

Will get - Dundee Utd or Aberdeen away

See that's my fear, had this horrible feeling all weekend that it's likely to be us that gets the hardest tie of the round.

Rangers, Celtic or Hearts away will be our luck.

Please let it be for once that we can get some junior side or 3rd division team at ER.

See if we got Edinburgh City away, surely the game would be moved or would they play the game at Meadowbank?

29-11-2009, 04:11 PM
Anyone got a list of who is in the draw?

GC
29-11-2009, 04:15 PM
Anyone got a list of who is in the draw?

Rangers
Celtic
Hibs
Hearts
Aberdeen
Dundee Utd
Killie
Motherwell
Hamilton
St Johnstone
Falkirk
St Mirren
Dundee
Dunfy
ICT
Airdrie
Partick
Ross Co
Albion Rovers
Clyde or Livi
COwdenbeath or Alloa
Ayr
Edinburgh City
Irvine Meadow
Montrose
Morton or Dumbarton
Raith or Peterhead
Forfar
Stenhousemuir or Cove Rangers
Stirling Albion
Inverurie Loco's
Wick or Brechin

Think that's it, maybe missed someone.

bigstu
29-11-2009, 05:07 PM
inverurie Locos away would be perfect!!

29-11-2009, 05:08 PM
Albion Rovers at home.

29-11-2009, 05:12 PM
St Johnstone away, I fear

29-11-2009, 09:36 PM
Would not mind who we get drawn against (Would like it to be a home game), as long as we go through and end this embarrasment.

James.
29-11-2009, 09:47 PM
Away to Irvine Meadow would be handy for me, it'd actually be a bit of a dream come true as well.

Calvin
29-11-2009, 09:48 PM

Any low level team would be good though!

Ideal fixtures:

Rangers v Celtic
Hearts v Dundee United
Aberdeen v Motherwell
Hibs v Inverurie Locos
Irvine v Edinburgh (So we can play the winners in the next round)

I would settle for that :greengrin

29-11-2009, 10:18 PM

Bollox......Yams at home GRITT

29-11-2009, 10:26 PM
Ah, the Scottish cup...

The pain of the season, where we never get the rub of the green. :boo hoo:

29-11-2009, 10:30 PM
we'll get Ross County away...

then if we win we'll draw one of the ugly sisters away

O'Brien[11]
29-11-2009, 10:40 PM
Livi away:thumbsup:.
Hearts at Home
or any other team at home, even rangers and celtic someone has to knock them out:agree:.

29-11-2009, 10:47 PM
Got a bad feeling about the draw:boo hoo:Hopefully it's all just nerves.

Don't even know why I am getting excited about the draw, I know what's going to happen anyway:boo hoo:

I'll take Edinburgh City at home though.

29-11-2009, 10:51 PM
Hearts please.............at Easter Road, Tynecastle, The Meadows, anywhere ! Have to avenge the last two cup games v them so would love to get them in the draw early doors :agree:

29-11-2009, 11:11 PM
I want Ross County away or Ayr at home.

29-11-2009, 11:38 PM

Can i stay at yours for that one? :greengrin

30-11-2009, 11:10 AM
what time is the draw??

30-11-2009, 11:14 AM
what time is the draw??

2.30pm

30-11-2009, 11:17 AM
It makes nae odds who we get.

We are winning the Scottish Cup this year. Fact.

Not up for debate.

Top 6 finish guaranteed tae.

Also, not up for debate.

We'll also make some big **** ups and loose games we should have won.

This is also guaranteed.

You wait and see. Fire yer money to Mr Hill and make some easy bunts.

ENDOF

30-11-2009, 11:18 AM
An away draw at New Bayview would be perfect - not that I'm a selfish bar steward or anything. :wink:

30-11-2009, 11:19 AM

Bollox......Yams at home GRITT

Hearts please.............at Easter Road, Tynecastle, The Meadows, anywhere ! Have to avenge the last two cup games v them so would love to get them in the draw early doors :agree:

I must have a longer memory than you 3.

30-11-2009, 11:46 AM

We are winning the Scottish Cup this year. Fact.

Not up for debate.

Also, not up for debate.

This is also guaranteed.

ENDOF

I am pleased to say that I share your optimism about our chances this year Mr Martini. I have a feeling...

30-11-2009, 12:26 PM
Hearts at Easter Rd for me.

M8UDB
30-11-2009, 12:42 PM
ICT away :devil:

hibee1ryan
30-11-2009, 12:43 PM
Trust me edinburgh city away is a tough tough game:wink:

30-11-2009, 12:50 PM
i assume that everybody who wants an away tie didnt buy the cup top up

30-11-2009, 12:52 PM

Yes, plus why walk 20 minutes to the ground when you can get there in 5?

And that those that want Rangers/Celtic/Hearts aren't fussy about winning it.

I am pleased to say that I share your optimism about our chances this year Mr Martini. I have a feeling...

You really should consult your doctor about that sort of thing.

Isaac_Refvik
30-11-2009, 12:59 PM
Any way to get it on a pc to watch the draw?

30-11-2009, 01:01 PM
I want whoever we drew in 1902.

Totally believe in good omens.

Scottish cup and Hibs :faf:

The players and management should give it their best shot, but I've already written off never seeing Hibs win it, and I turned 29 this year.

'mon the league, and europa league next year :thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 01:01 PM
An away draw at New Bayview would be perfect - not that I'm a selfish bar steward or anything. :wink:

I'd be happy with that, it would mean that my 2nd team have somehow had their result against Montrose at the weekend overturned:wink:.

30-11-2009, 01:05 PM
Wick Accadamy away please! :thumbsup:

They've got to replay against brechin first

30-11-2009, 01:06 PM
Any way to get it on a pc to watch the draw?

Try http://www.tvcatchup.com/

I can't check if it works due to restrictions at work. :grr:

30-11-2009, 01:08 PM
What time is the draw?

I can't watch the above site due to not having a TV licence, but I might just pop over to the gym and watch the draw on the TV there. :greengrin

30-11-2009, 01:10 PM
anywhere i can watch a live "Vidiprinter" of the draw? cant watch it online at work :boo hoo:

_hucks_
30-11-2009, 01:21 PM
Try http://www.tvcatchup.com/

I can't check if it works due to restrictions at work. :grr:

yup, thats doing the trick nicely

30-11-2009, 01:27 PM
please keep those of us that are unfortunate enough to have websites blocked by our "webmasters" up to date or provide us with a vidiprinter site that might work :hnet:

30-11-2009, 01:29 PM

We've a far better chance of winning the league. It would be boring if we won the cup, we have a great jinx going, and it would make us a low rent Hearts/St Mirren/Killie buggins turn club.

davym7062
30-11-2009, 01:29 PM

We are winning the Scottish Cup this year. Fact.Not up for debate.

Also, not up for debate.

This is also guaranteed.

ENDOF

if you backed a horse 108 times and it never
won why in gods name would you back it again??:boo hoo:

its a gypsy curse im telling you:greengrin

HIBERNIALEITH
30-11-2009, 01:34 PM
Ict v motherwell
hamilton v rangers
morton or dumbarton v celtic
hibs v irvine meadow

irvine meadow at home

Irvine Meadow yasssss:greengrin

David_D
Irvine Meadow at home :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Makaveli
Dreamland

Hibs v Irvine Meadow :thumbsup:

Hanny
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup:

What a draw!!!!!

:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb

RoscoHibby
30-11-2009, 01:35 PM
Cannae grumble there! :thumbsup:

lumbo_hfc
30-11-2009, 01:35 PM
haha maybe this could be our year then!

30-11-2009, 01:36 PM
Hibs v Irvine Meadow :aok:

If we can scrape past this one it might be our year. :wink:

Sheep v Hearts

whats the rest of the draw???

Superb.

Hanny
Aberdeen vs Yams

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Sheepies v Yams :greengrin

Aberdeen v Hearts:thumbsup:

Calvin
Aberdeen v Hearts is a belter for us.

Edinburgh v Montrose leaves them with a decent chance of going through too!

McHibby
30-11-2009, 01:37 PM
Nice one!!! :thumbsup:

But, can anyone tell me WTF is going on with Gough's hair? :tee hee:

crewetollhibee
Wee team away to the sheep !! :bye:

Hopefully the OF get eachother - that would top it off!

30-11-2009, 01:38 PM
ict v motherwell
hamilton v rangers
morton/dumbarton v celtic
hibs v irvine meadow :thumbsup:
st.mirren v cowdenbeath/alloa
raith rovers/peterhead v airdrie utd
dunfermline v stenhousemuir/cove rangers
forfar v st.johnstone
clyde/livingston v dundee
albion rovers v stirling albion
aberdeen v hertz mon the dons :thumbsup:
edinburgh city v montrose
partick thistle v dundee utd
ross county v inverurie loco's
ayr utd v wick academy/brechin city
kilmarnock v falkirk

bringbackjoeT!!
30-11-2009, 01:38 PM
Rangers away to Hamilton wont be easy too

Partick will be tough for Dundee u

Falkirk and Killie together

30-11-2009, 01:39 PM
would love to see the game reach double figures

30-11-2009, 01:39 PM
Have the yams started whining about it being a fix yet? :greengrin

30-11-2009, 01:40 PM

Surely we'll get a bigger crowd than that? :confused:

Dont worry, i'm sure there will be a few thousand attend.:wink:

Its about time we had some luck in this draw, been getting spl teams the past few years.

I'd take a 1-0 as long as we won the bloody thing

ffs

1-0 is as good as 20-0 in a cup tie

But if the players go in to the game with such an attitude then they will no doubt find things won't go their own way. I'm hoping we'll be comfortable winners by 4/5 goals, but Meadow deserve respect for getting so far in the competition.

30-11-2009, 01:41 PM

Obviously there's a conspiracy afoot to stop them winning the treble

Imagine the ridder if we got knocked out by them! :embarrass

Full team please, Yogi. Let the lads bag a few confidence boosting goals.

Irvine are hun loving bassas by the way and we better prepare ourselves for a kicking match, the yams??

:lolyam:

Stenny
All round great draw. Few all SPL ties, hertz, rangers, celtic, motherwell away and a nice home draw for us too :thumbsup:

Hibs v Irvine Meadow
Aberdeen v Hearts

If Carlseberg did Scottish Cup draws. :faf:

:jamboak:

Lets not get carried away and disrespecting any team Hibs play in the SC

Teo10
30-11-2009, 01:43 PM

The second I announced it!

Petrie will be hoping we can hold out for a draw so we can get a money-spinning replay in front of the Sky cameras :agree:

crewetollhibee
Yeah Mikey. Quotes - 'makes you sick' and 'they are obviously the favoured team this year'. More to come no doubt !!!

30-11-2009, 01:44 PM
Clearly Hibs are the favoured team this year

Nae luck ya yam :trumpet:

30-11-2009, 01:44 PM
Obviously there's a conspiracy afoot to stop them winning the treble

A conspiracy of financial incompetence at boardroom level, lack of ability on the playing field, and deluded nonsense from the stands.

Keep it up, Johnny Yam!

30-11-2009, 01:45 PM

Eh, they are a junior team, nothing was said about being disrespectful but a team like hibs should be looking to get double figures against these teams

What dates to be played?

Let's not make Irvine's big day out too enjoyable. Strong team, please (if not full strength - we'll still need to keep some in reserve for our fight to finish 3rd in the league after all).

Irvine are hun loving bassas by the way

Looking at their kit, you're not wrong there.

http://www.medda.co.uk/brfiles/Kochice%20-%20Celebration.jpg

Eh, they are a junior team, nothing was said about being disrespectful but a team like hibs should be looking to get double figures against these teams

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 01:46 PM
Hibs v Irvine Meadow
Aberdeen v Hearts

If Carlseberg did Scottish Cup draws. :faf:

:jamboak:
:top marksLMAO

They're likely to be as good as any side from the 2nd/3rd Division. We've not taken double figures off any of them recently.

Inverness CT vs Motherwell
Hamilton vs Rangers
Morton / Dumbarton vs Celtic
Hibernian vs Irvine Meadow
St Mirren vs Cowdenbeath/Alloa
Raith/Peterhead vs Airdrie
Dunfermline vs Stenhousemuir/Cove Rangers
Forfar vs St Johnstone
Clyde / Livi vs Dundee
Albion Rovers v Stirling Albion
Aberdeen vs Hearts
Edinburgh City vs Montrose
Patrick vs Dundee Utd
Ross County vs Inverurie Locos
Ayr Utd vs Wick / Brechin
Kilmarnock vs Falkirk

30-11-2009, 01:47 PM
They're likely to be as good as any side from the 2nd/3rd Division. We've not taken double figures off any of them recently.

I'm sorry but cant agree, if hibs get less than 7 or 8 then there is something wrong

30-11-2009, 01:48 PM
When is the game due to be played?

It'll definitely be shown on TV, so I guess it'll be moved to suit the BBC.

Great draw for us, and for them financially.

I'm sorry but cant agree, if hibs get less than 7 or 8 then there is something wrong

Start your complaint thread now then!

Last time I checked, 7 or 8 weren't double figures :wink:

30-11-2009, 01:49 PM

If they were even a senior side I'd say that... but they're junior. Show them respect by all means, but let's not pretend they're better than they are.

Hope they enjoy their trip to an SPL ground but barring a catastrophe it should be a fright-free game.

30-11-2009, 01:50 PM
Start your complaint thread now then!

Im not going to complain, ive never once said i would, all i said was id love to see us get into double figures. Sorry if id love to see the other team getting a gubbing

bringbackjoeT!!
wont be on TV-

Hamilton vs Rangers
Aberdeen vs Hearts are the TV games

7th /8th January isn't it?

I just wonder if a certain Mr Bamba will be playin:greengrin

Absolutely correct. With our record we are the last team that can do that.

All depends on the players attitude. Hope Yogi has them well warned.

30-11-2009, 01:51 PM

I'd expect Hamilton v Rangers and Aberdeen v Hearts to be on the telly.

30-11-2009, 01:51 PM

If we play a full strength team and fire on all cylinders, then yes. Otherwise it'll be like the Brechin game in the CIS cup earlier in the season, do just about enough to cruise to victory and no more.

By this stage we should still be in the hunt for a Europa league spot so shouldn't jepordise that by going all out against a junior league team.

Calvin
30-11-2009, 01:54 PM
7th /8th January isn't it?

I just wonder if a certain Mr Bamba will be playin:greengrin

9th/10th it is.

30-11-2009, 01:54 PM

:agree: as someone else has said 1-0 or 10-0 makes no difference in the Cup

30-11-2009, 01:55 PM
9th/10th it is.

My mistake:greengrin

30-11-2009, 01:56 PM
hibs and aberdeen both get lucky drawing junior teams

30-11-2009, 01:56 PM
:agree: as someone else has said 1-0 or 10-0 makes no difference in the Cup

Or they could go out and score a barell load and let others know that they are up for it this year and want to win it at all costs

30-11-2009, 01:59 PM
hibs and aberdeen both get lucky drawing junior teams

30-11-2009, 01:59 PM

Having been involved with a 'wee totty team' when I was younger I know something like this could help Irvine Meadow be financially secure for a good few years.

I hope we get a good crowd.

30-11-2009, 02:00 PM
West Premer Super League Champions last Season but not doing too well this year!

http://www.medda.co.uk/pmain.asp?s=7

I'm sure they will bring a big support!

30-11-2009, 02:01 PM
I'd expect Hamilton v Rangers and Aberdeen v Hearts to be on the telly.

TV just doesn't get it do they. Nobody wants to see all SPL games on the TV. What they want to see is a lower league side trying to knock out an SPL side.

So the games should be:-

Partick v D Utd
Morton/Dumbarton v Celtic

I remember a couple of years ago Spartans were playing St Mirren or Livi at home in the QF and they showed Killie v Rangers! :rolleyes:

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 02:01 PM
Anyone hoping we don't get complacent?

Can see already too many thinking this team will let us score 10+

Calvin
30-11-2009, 02:03 PM
West Premer Sper League Champions last Season but not doing too well this year!

http://www.medda.co.uk/pmain.asp?s=7

I'm sure they will bring a big support!

They have a bigger record attendance than us!

30-11-2009, 02:03 PM
If they were even a senior side I'd say that... but they're junior. Show them respect by all means, but let's not pretend they're better than they are.

Hope they enjoy their trip to an SPL ground but barring a catastrophe it should be a fright-free game.

Junior sides are usually better than their equivalent senior side. I don’t know much about them like.

Still think they’ll be decent but we should win comfortably but to expect double figures is a nonsense.

30-11-2009, 02:05 PM
Junior sides are usually better than their equivalent senior side. I don’t know much about them like.

Still think they’ll be decent but we should win comfortably but to expect double figures is a nonsense.

why is it nonsense?

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 02:06 PM
They boys knocked out Arbroath in the last round.
They are also probably on the same, if not more money than the Arbroath players.
Junior clubs are getting alot of good funders these days. Its no suprise really that a few of them have crept through to this round.

30-11-2009, 02:08 PM
why is it nonsense?

When did we last beat anyone by double figures?

30-11-2009, 02:09 PM
They boys knocked out Arbroath in the last round.
They are also probably on the same, if not more money than the Arbroath players.
Junior clubs are getting alot of good funders these days. Its no suprise really that a few of them have crept through to this round.

I played Junior up until the end of last season and if hibs dont score a whack against them then they have issues. Irvine are not that good this year and should hopefully not pose any problems with a team joint 2nd in the top league in the country

30-11-2009, 02:10 PM
I played Junior up until the end of last season and if hibs dont score a whack against them then they have issues. Irvine are not that good this year and should hopefully not pose any problems with a team joint 2nd in the top league in the country

But there's a bit of difference between scoring double figures and "posing problems", don't you think?

I'm not sure about that.

Irvine Meadow are the first Junior side to beat a league team in the Scottish Cup, ever.

Rory89
I'm always slagging off my Celtic supporting mate for being a gloryhunter, well I was born and raised (for a few years anyway) in Irvine so I think it's only right that I support them against us. Naaaaat. :wink:

I know one of Edinburgh City's players and my brother and good friend support Raith so either of them in the last 16 then whichever side of the old firm hasn't knocked themself out by then in the quarter final at home please. This is our year.

Again, naaaaat.

30-11-2009, 02:11 PM
I'm not sure about that.

Irvine Meadow are the first Junior side to beat a league team in the Scottish Cup, ever.

When I said Senior v Junior, I meant Spartans v Linlithgow Rose, or Whitehill Welfare v Bonnyrigg Rose

30-11-2009, 02:11 PM
When did we last beat anyone by double figures?

So because of that then hibs shouldnt be able to go out and beat a junior team( and not one of the top junior teams) by at least 10 goals. Sorry but i just expect more than a run of the mill win. Hoping that we do get the win mind you

30-11-2009, 02:13 PM
But there's a bit of difference between scoring double figures and "posing problems", don't you think?

I really dont understand the negativity because i said i expect a big win. The difference in class between hibs and irvine is massive and the scoreline should reflect this

When I said Senior v Junior, I meant Spartans v Linlithgow Rose, or Whitehill Welfare v Bonnyrigg Rose

Gotcha.

So because of that then hibs shouldnt be able to go out and beat a junior team( and not one of the top junior teams) by at least 10 goals. Sorry but i just expect more than a run of the mill win. Hoping that we do get the win mind you

Of course not but history shows that it doesn't happen. We've had a few 5s and 6s and even a 9 in the last few seasons against teams lower in the league but when you get a few ahead you tend to switch off.

I think to expect double figures is setting your expectations too high.

Ell_Chrisso

Iv also played juniors, and im not dis-agreeing with the fact that Hibs should prevail easy winners..
But you forget, We have alot of young lads in our team.. and also a few people, the likes of Riordan, Zemmama etc, who don't like tackles, and hussle.
These guys will give it there Heart and sole on the day, and unless Hibs are 100% up for it, they may just cause em a few problems.

if you say 2-0 Hibs now, id take it, and look forward to the next draw...

30-11-2009, 02:15 PM
Of course not but history shows that it doesn't happen. We've had a few 5s and 6s and even a 9 in the last few seasons against teams lower in the league but when you get a few ahead you tend to switch off.

I think to expect double figures is setting your expectations too high.

yip maybe they are

sam armstrong
30-11-2009, 02:24 PM

Well Celtic didn't manage it when they played Whitehill in 1996 at Easter Road. Both John Collins and Yogi played for Celtic that day in a 3-0 win.You are being a bit disrespecful to Meadow who pay decent wages and have many ex seniors in their team. This will be their big day and you can expect them to put in a good performance on this one off occasion.Hibs should win of course you must be forgetting some disastrous Scottish Cup performances from us in the past.

30-11-2009, 02:34 PM
Iv also played juniors, and im not dis-agreeing with the fact that Hibs should prevail easy winners..
But you forget, We have alot of young lads in our team.. and also a few people, the likes of Riordan, Zemmama etc, who don't like tackles, and hussle.
These guys will give it there Heart and sole on the day, and unless Hibs are 100% up for it, they may just cause em a few problems.

if you say 2-0 Hibs now, id take it, and look forward to the next draw...

If you think Hibs players old, young or foreign have got where they are by not being able to handle a bit of a tackle or hussle from junior standard players then you are kidding yourself!

I wouldn't take 2-0 at all.

There's nothing disrespectful about looking for a few goals when you are talking about joint 2nd top of the SPL with several international players against a junior team.

James.
30-11-2009, 02:35 PM
Hibs should comprehensivley beat Irvine Meadow but I'd be really suprised if we get into double figures. Irvine Meadow's budget for their playing squad is significantly better than most teams in the SFL second division - there are quite a few players such as Brian McGinty, Emilio Jaconelli and a certain Paul Hilland that have played for SPL sides not that long ago. I'm absolutely delighted with this draw, as Irvine Meadow are my second team; we've just lost our main financial backer and so the money from this tie will be a massive help over the next season or two. League form hasn't been great this year but we're begining to find form beating Petershill 4-1 away (who are no mugs) and of course the Arbroath win. Hope a lot of Hibees turn up for this game!

30-11-2009, 02:37 PM
With this being Hibs and the Scottish Cup, I'll take a 1-0 win with a 93rd minute deflected goal.

But possibly the best tie we have ever been given:greengrin

And Aberdeen vs Hearts, fantastic:thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 02:37 PM
Whilst this could be a nasty banana skin game for us I think it's fair to say that ultimately I think, that whoever wins the tie stands a great chance of booking their place in the next round.

30-11-2009, 02:39 PM
Well Celtic didn't manage it when they played Whitehill in 1996 at Easter Road. Both John Collins and Yogi played for Celtic that day in a 3-0 win.You are being a bit disrespecful to Meadow who pay decent wages and have many ex seniors in their team. This will be their big day and you can expect them to put in a good performance on this one off occasion.Hibs should win of course you must be forgetting some disastrous Scottish Cup performances from us in the past.

For a start that was celtic, and they werent playing a junior side, plus i may be wrong but i dont think they have that many ex senior players in their side, and this hibs side have arguably the best attacking players in the country playing for them that should easily score goals against a junior side.

30-11-2009, 02:40 PM
It's a great draw for us. Coming after a heavy Xmas period with 3 games on the road and home games with Rangers and Hearts. Will give Yogi the chance to rest a few for some big games in January:thumbsup:

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 02:41 PM
If you think Hibs players old, young or foreign have got where they are by not being able to handle a bit of a tackle or hussle from junior standard players then you are kidding yourself!

I wouldn't take 2-0 at all.

There's nothing disrespectful about looking for a few goals when you are talking about joint 2nd top of the SPL with several international players against a junior team.

When has Zemmama or Riordan ever went in for a 50-50? The two of them are Sh*tbags.

Im not kidding myself, i see it every week. If you actually read my post, i did say that i agree we SHOULD WIN very convincingly, and i hope we don't get complacent.

Just don't be suprised if a few of our players don't like the pressure, or graft from the Juniors. They will run there hearts out, and put in a good few meaty challenges.

EskbankHibby
30-11-2009, 02:47 PM
Hopefully a comfortable win for us and should be a wee money spinner for them.

As a matter of interest how does the cup top-up affect the visitors take home money?

I always thought that gate receipts were split 50/50 for cup games but for those of us with cup top-ups (including me :thumbsup:) this will be our 3rd game.

Does that mean that Hibs gambled that we wouldn't have as many home games and might have to take a wee financial hit?

I may of course be missing something obvious.

30-11-2009, 02:49 PM
Hopefully a comfortable win for us and should be a wee money spinner for them.

As a matter of interest how does the cup top-up affect the visitors take home money?

I always thought that gate receipts were split 50/50 for cup games but for those of us with cup top-ups (including me :thumbsup:) this will be our 3rd game.

Does that mean that Hibs gambled that we wouldn't have as many home games and might have to take a wee financial hit?

I may of course be missing something obvious.

I'd imagine its money taken at the gate and not how many are in the crowd, might be wrong though

30-11-2009, 02:50 PM
When has Zemmama or Riordan ever went in for a 50-50? The two of them are Sh*tbags.

Im not kidding myself, i see it every week. If you actually read my post, i did say that i agree we SHOULD WIN very convincingly, and i hope we don't get complacent.

Just don't be suprised if a few of our players don't like the pressure, or graft from the Juniors. They will run there hearts out, and put in a good few meaty challenges.

Aye, they'll never have come up against that before.

They play every week against players that run their hearts out, put in meaty challenges, pressure and graft, but that also have a far higher level of ability, fitness and game awareness.

You might think they are sh***bags but I'm pretty sure they would make you look a right idiot if you ever tried to act the hard man if playing them.

If you got within ten yards of them of course.

James.
30-11-2009, 02:54 PM
Irvine are hun loving bassas by the way

Actually have a decent support, not too bad when compared to local rivals Kilwinning Rangers - hunnish team in the most hunnish town there is.

30-11-2009, 02:59 PM
We should rest some of our key players for this game. I'd still be looking for our 'second string' to win by four or five goals to nil.

30-11-2009, 03:00 PM
Actually have a decent support, not too bad when compared to local rivals Kilwinning Rangers - hunnish team in the most hunnish town there is.

If there was a replay where would they play it. Somerset Park? Or would the police let them play at home?

James.
30-11-2009, 03:09 PM
If there was a replay where would they play it. Somerset Park? Or would the police let them play at home?

I'd take a guess a replay would be played at Rugby Park if it came to that.

30-11-2009, 03:11 PM

Their ground is almost on a par with Somerset. If they managed a draw I would imagine Rugby Park would be the venue, can't see it being needed though.

30-11-2009, 03:15 PM
Ok ta to both.

Would certainly hope not, but it is Hibs and the SC and they go together like
chalk and cheese.

30-11-2009, 03:16 PM
Listen, if we want to win the Cup, we've got to beat the Irvine Meadows of the world some time. We're as well getting them now at ER, rather than having to play them through in the West in the final. :rolleyes:

:duck: :greengrin

Ell_Chrisso
Aye, they'll never have come up against that before.

They play every week against players that run their hearts out, put in meaty challenges, pressure and graft, but that also have a far higher level of ability, fitness and game awareness.

You might think they are sh***bags but I'm pretty sure they would make you look a right idiot if you ever tried to act the hard man if playing them.

If you got within ten yards of them of course.

LMAO! i'd be ashamed of myself if i couldn't out run Deek.

The boy has class, but ZERO pace.

Il look to you the next time we need an experts opinion! :yawn:

libernian
yeah would have thought they'd bring a decent support. better than a lot of sfl teams would anyway.

i think its great that juniors are allowed in the big cup. brings real romance to the cup i feel, pity there arent more allowed because it makes non league in scotland look crap when its only east of scotland / highland league teams in it considering all the weegie/fife and others are junior.

remember juniors have only been allowed to play in the big scottish cup for a few years now. and its only like four of them (north, west, east and junior cup winners) so still a bit of an unknown entity although would expect hibs to win, but shouldnt be complacent.

as for the wage bill, i'd expect they have players on a £200 a week. not entirely sure but seen as they are a big west coast team then it will be around there maybe more.

good tie for both!

p.s. does their stadium have floodlights if theres a replay?

sam armstrong
30-11-2009, 03:23 PM
For a start that was celtic, and they werent playing a junior side, plus i may be wrong but i dont think they have that many ex senior players in their side, and this hibs side have arguably the best attacking players in the country playing for them that should easily score goals against a junior side.

whitehill play east of scotland which is not nearly as strong a league as the west region junior super league where meadow play and you are wrong they do have a good number of ex seniors some of whom played at a high level.

30-11-2009, 03:25 PM
yeah would have thought they'd bring a decent support. better than a lot of sfl teams would anyway.

i think its great that juniors are allowed in the big cup. brings real romance to the cup i feel, pity there arent more allowed because it makes non league in scotland look crap when its only east of scotland / highland league teams in it considering all the weegie/fife and others are junior.

remember juniors have only been allowed to play in the big scottish cup for a few years now. and its only like four of them (north, west, east and junior cup winners) so still a bit of an unknown entity although would expect hibs to win, but shouldnt be complacent.

as for the wage bill, i'd expect they have players on a £200 a week. not entirely sure but seen as they are a big west coast team then it will be around there maybe more.

good tie for both!

p.s. does their stadium have floodlights if theres a replay?

Scottish Cup Round 1 - Ties Played on the weekend of 26th September 2009

Selkirk v Preston
Clachnacuddin v Wick Academy
Auchinleck Talbot v Fort William
Nairn County v Golspie Sutherland
Edinburgh Uni v Vale of Leithen
Inverurie Locos v St Cuthbert Wndrs
Edinburgh City v Coldstream
Irvine Meadow v Brora
Whitehill Welfare v Wigtown & Bladnoch
Fraserburgh v Bonnyrigg Rose
Glasgow Uni v Girvan
Lossiemouth v Newton Stewart
Rothes v Banks O'Dee
Dalbeattie Star v Keith

thats a fair few more than your 4 or 5 :wink:

30-11-2009, 03:26 PM
whitehill play east of scotland which is not nearly as strong a league as the west region junior super league where meadow play and you are wrong they do have a good number of ex seniors some of whom played at a high level.

you wont get me to change my mind, compared to hibs irvine are no where near the same class and hibs should be looking to get into double fugures IMO

30-11-2009, 03:30 PM
If we were rank enough to lose to a team like Irvine Meadow at ER I think we should be eliminated from the SC for the next fifty years.

30-11-2009, 03:33 PM
Scottish Cup Round 1 - Ties Played on the weekend of 26th September 2009

Selkirk v Preston
Clachnacuddin v Wick Academy
Auchinleck Talbot v Fort William
Nairn County v Golspie Sutherland
Edinburgh Uni v Vale of Leithen
Inverurie Locos v St Cuthbert Wndrs
Edinburgh City v Coldstream
Irvine Meadow v Brora
Whitehill Welfare v Wigtown & Bladnoch
Fraserburgh v Bonnyrigg Rose
Glasgow Uni v Girvan
Lossiemouth v Newton Stewart
Rothes v Banks O'Dee
Dalbeattie Star v Keith

thats a fair few more than your 4 or 5 :wink:

The juniors in that draw are Auchinleck, Irvine, Bonnyrigg, Girvan and Banks o'Dee. They've only been eligible in the last few (3?) seasons. The others are non-league senior clubs who've always played in the Scottish Cup.

30-11-2009, 03:35 PM
These Ayrshire junior clubs can take the whole town or village to the Junior Cup Final. Especially when it was at Hampden, it wasn't unusual to have 10,000 turning up for the game.

Now, I'm not suggesting that an early round of the Scottish Cup is the equivalent to the Junior Cup Final, but Irvine may take a really big crowd to this game, just because it's a piece of history.

30-11-2009, 03:36 PM
The juniors in that draw are Auchinleck, Irvine, Bonnyrigg, Girvan and Banks o'Dee. They've only been eligible in the last few (3?) seasons. The others are non-league senior clubs who've always played in the Scottish Cup.

my lack of knowledge and ability to distinquish between senior and junior teams has obviously shot me in the foot!

thanks for making me aware! :top marks

AllyF
30-11-2009, 03:37 PM
:grr::grr::grr:

Away in France skiing from the 2nd till the 9th. Miss the derby at ER and now this!

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 03:45 PM
my lack of knowledge and ability to distinquish between senior and junior teams has obviously shot me in the foot!

thanks for making me aware! :top marks

Always having to be pointed in the right direction eh ... :cool2:

30-11-2009, 03:52 PM
Always having to be pointed in the right direction eh ... :cool2:

Nade needs no directions! he can smell it!

CapitalHibs
30-11-2009, 03:54 PM
If we were rank enough to lose to a team like Irvine Meadow at ER I think we should be eliminated from the SC for the next fifty years.

Yes. I think Yogi should start with an ultra defensive formation and hope we can sneak a goal on the break second half.:panic:

30-11-2009, 03:55 PM
Just flicking through this thread very quickly...are some people really contemplating a replay or have I misread some posts???

30-11-2009, 03:56 PM
i take it the hamilton v rangers game has already been picked for the tellybox ?

from the BBC page http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_cups/8386302.stm

Ties to be played Saturday 9 January 2010, except Hamilton v Rangers, which has a 1215 GMT kick-off on Sunday 10 January.

30-11-2009, 03:56 PM
:grr::grr::grr:

Away in France skiing from the 2nd till the 9th. Miss the derby at ER and now this!

It's on the 10th:wink:

Ell_Chrisso
30-11-2009, 03:59 PM
Nade needs no directions! he can smell it!

And there was me thinking you weren't into the kinky stuff :wink:

30-11-2009, 04:02 PM
There starting 11 on Saturday had an average age of almost 30.

Only two or three of them have played for a non-Ayrshire club.

Brian McGinty, the assist on Saturday, age 32, was on Rankers books and is a product of their [non-existent] youth system. Has also been with Hull, St Midden, Airdrie, Dundee, Scarborough and a few others.

30-11-2009, 04:04 PM
I only hope we show up in numbers for the tie, and in voice. It's a strange one for the town of Irvine, they might ignore it, but if, as has been said, they do see it as a historic days out, they could fill the south stand with a vociferous crowd an embarrass us greatly.

Let's get behind Hibs in the cup and enjoy a great day out. Fortunately, from the number of posts on this matter (most of them, it has to be said by obvious racists) the cup under Yogi and this particular tie already seems to have captured the imagination.

gilliecabbage
30-11-2009, 04:22 PM
really good draw for us. if we get beat ill no be seen for a year!!!

sum crackin games.glad the old firm are away!!!

ict v motherwell
hamilton v rangers
morton/dumbarton v celtic
hibs v irvine meadow :thumbsup:
st.mirren v cowdenbeath/alloa
raith rovers/peterhead v airdrie utd
dunfermline v stenhousemuir/cove rangers
forfar v st.johnstone
clyde/livingston v dundee
albion rovers v stirling albion
aberdeen v hertz mon the dons :thumbsup:
edinburgh city v montrose
partick thistle v dundee utd
ross county v inverurie loco's
kilmarnock v falkirk

is it our year???:offski:

30-11-2009, 04:25 PM
Whilst this could be a nasty banana skin game for us I think it's fair to say that ultimately I think, that whoever wins the tie stands a great chance of booking their place in the next round.

Speedway kens the score!

30-11-2009, 04:30 PM
irvine meadow fc (http://www.medda.co.uk/index.asp)

hope their fans enjoy a day out at ER, i hope they bring a few busses through to make an atmosphere as well.

30-11-2009, 04:34 PM
LMAO! i'd be ashamed of myself if i couldn't out run Deek.

The boy has class, but ZERO pace.

Il look to you the next time we need an experts opinion! :yawn:

Who said you'd get close to him by outrunning him?

dennykillie
30-11-2009, 04:35 PM
You should win this one easily, even though if you read the press reports the Medda played Arbroath off the park.

BUT, you are Hibs and this could be a unique way for you NOT to win the Cup since 1902.

All I can say is that, considering the way Killie are playing, I'm glad we didn't get them at Medda Park.

(I'm from Irvine and was raised within 100 yards of Medda Park and saw their last Junior Cup triumph of 1973.)

30-11-2009, 04:45 PM
You should win this one easily, even though if you read the press reports the Medda played Arbroath off the park.

BUT, you are Hibs and this could be a unique way for you NOT to win the Cup since 1902.

All I can say is that, considering the way Killie are playing, I'm glad we didn't get them at Medda Park.

(I'm from Irvine and was raised within 100 yards of Medda Park and saw their last Junior Cup triumph of 1973.)

No wonder you moved.:greengrin

30-11-2009, 04:57 PM
I only hope we show up in numbers for the tie, and in voice. It's a strange one for the town of Irvine, they might ignore it, but if, as has been said, they do see it as a historic days out, they could fill the south stand with a vociferous crowd an embarrass us greatly.

Let's get behind Hibs in the cup and enjoy a great day out. Fortunately, from the number of posts on this matter (most of them, it has to be said by obvious racists) the cup under Yogi and this particular tie already seems to have captured the imagination.

I could see that happening if the Huns game is on a different day.

30-11-2009, 06:01 PM
With insight like this, you should be a BBC Scotland football pundit.

Or maybe you are?!!!!! :eek:

30-11-2009, 06:09 PM
I could see that happening if the Huns game is on a different day.

Huns game is the Sunday apparently, so it might well happen. Although I don't think Irvine will be quite up to the same standard, I remember Yeovil taking 3,000 to the Reebok the other year and scaring the crap out of everyone by going in front and only losing to an injury time Michael Ricketts (remember him, anyone?) goal when they were still in the Conference.

libernian
30-11-2009, 06:18 PM
Huns game is the Sunday apparently, so it might well happen. Although I don't think Irvine will be quite up to the same standard, I remember Yeovil taking 3,000 to the Reebok the other year and scaring the crap out of everyone by going in front and only losing to an injury time Michael Ricketts (remember him, anyone?) goal when they were still in the Conference.

the irvine meadow chairman seems to think they'll take "several thousand" - i'm assuming he meant several hundred!!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8387279.stm (around the 55 second mark)

30-11-2009, 06:19 PM
Anything can happen in a one off game. Obviously Hibs should be too strong for them, but with a big vocal support behind them (they could bring a bigger support outwith the OF and Yams) we still have to be careful not to be too complacent and play a strong team.

Remember this game?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/fa_cup/4139315.stm,

I'm sure Liam Miller who played that day will remind his fellow Hibs players about it.

30-11-2009, 06:20 PM
the irvine meadow chairman seems to think they'll take "several thousand" - i'm assuming he meant several hundred!!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8387279.stm (around the 55 second mark)

Quick Google search suggests that Irvine has a population of 22,000, so it certainly wouldn't unusual for even 5% of the town to travel and therefore a following of above 1,000.

30-11-2009, 06:26 PM
Nae *****ing luck you Harts ****s!.

Thats what yous get for drawing 1st division teams all the way to the final in 98.

GIFRU the Pubteam.

30-11-2009, 06:30 PM
They got a crowd of 1150 for their home game against Arbroath on Saturday, that was more than 1st division Airdrie got at home to QoS who are top of Div 1.

It's quite conceivable they could bring a crowd in excess of 2,000 for this game.

30-11-2009, 06:33 PM

It's quite conceivable they could bring a crowd in excess of 2,000 for this game.

Ayrshire Juniors quite often get good sized crowds, for some of the bigger derby games they run into several thousands, and as AFKA points out they are better attended than many senior games.

They'll bring at least 2000 IMO, and will probably bring the biggest away support we'll see at ER this season outside of the Yams and the OF.

30-11-2009, 06:36 PM

Several is probably an exaggeration, in my book 'several' means 5,000 at the very least. I'd expect them to bring a minimum of 1-2K though, especially if Rangers game is on a different day. From what I'm told about Irvine Meadow we should expect to see a few Union Jacks in the away end that day.

KanyeWestLower
30-11-2009, 06:40 PM
They've got to replay against brechin first

Theyl get through it trust me!

libernian
30-11-2009, 06:41 PM
Several is probably an exaggeration, in my book 'several' means 5,000 at the very least. I'd expect them to bring a minimum of 1-2K though, especially if Rangers game is on a different day. From what I'm told about Irvine Meadow we should expect to see a few Union Jacks in the away end that day.

yeah thats what i thougt! hope they do bring a good support, should be a great game. and fair play to them by the way for supporting their junior clubs in good numbers! (i realise a lot will be neatral / big team fans (huns/killie wotever) too but still).

if there was a team who i wouldnt mind getting beat off, it would be them, but dunno if a could take the slaggin!

CallumHibs07
30-11-2009, 06:41 PM

"It will be virtually a full house I would imagine" :faf:

We'd be doing well to get 7,000.

30-11-2009, 06:42 PM
Nae *****ing luck you Harts ****s!.

Thats what yous get for drawing 1st division teams all the way to the final in 98.

GIFRU the Pubteam.

You really shouldn't be so bitter, Andy.

They've just won their 1st away league match since February and deserve a little bit of respect.

30-11-2009, 06:45 PM
You really shouldn't be so bitter, Andy.

They've just won their 1st away league match since February and deserve a little bit of respect.

And it will maybe be next February till they win there next away game.

Chuffed to bits they smelly tramps are heading out the cup! delerious!

30-11-2009, 06:49 PM
Chuffed to bits they smelly tramps are heading out the cup! delerious!

It would be better for us if they put Eberdeen out. Better with the easy teams still in the competition and all that.

(And then get pumped by Edinburgh City in the next round :greengrin)

wazoo1875
30-11-2009, 06:49 PM
Ayrshire Juniors quite often get good sized crowds, for some of the bigger derby games they run into several thousands, and as AFKA points out they are better attended than many senior games.

They'll bring at least 2000 IMO, and will probably bring the biggest away support we'll see at ER this season outside of the Yams and the OF.

Thats my thinking to Shug , they will probably bring more than 2000 through .

An inspiration for most SPL clubs , some junior games through there draw a bigger attendance than was at McDiarmid park on saturday :agree:

deek68
30-11-2009, 06:51 PM
Just flicking through this thread very quickly...are some people really contemplating a replay or have I misread some posts???

I've been through it a bit more..

20-0 was mentioned
we should score at least ten
We should settle for 6 or 7
4 or 5 is more realistic
2-0 will do
1-0 with a deflected goal in the 93rd minute is ok
Where will the replay be played?
If we lose to this lot i'm stayin in for a year
If we lose to this lot we should be eliminated from the SC for 50 years

nobody (i don't think) has mentioned IM scoring so i'm going for 3-1 Hibs (Hogg o.g)

Dk.

30-11-2009, 06:53 PM

English conference = Scottish first division. That's being slightly (but not unduly) harsh on SFL1.

Irvine Meadow play in the equivalent of a good county or regional league (say eighth or ninth tier in the English structure).

I've been through it a bit more..

20-0 was mentioned
we should score at least ten
We should settle for 6 or 7
4 or 5 is more realistic
2-0 will do
1-0 with a deflected goal in the 93rd minute is ok
Where will the replay be played?
If we lose to this lot i'm stayin in for a year
If we lose to this lot we should be eliminated from the SC for 50 years

nobody (i don't think) has mentioned IM scoring so i'm going for 3-1 Hibs (Hogg o.g)

Dk.

Makalambay trying to dribble round a forward and getting caught in posession, surely?

:fishin:

30-11-2009, 06:53 PM
It would be rather amusing if Irvine Meadow brought a larger support than the Yams take to Aberdeen.

deek68
30-11-2009, 06:55 PM
Makalambay trying to dribble round a forward and getting caught in posession, surely?

:fishin:

I was gonna say Makalambay...:greengrin

30-11-2009, 06:57 PM
It would be rather amusing if Irvine Meadow brought a larger support than the Yams take to Aberdeen.

I'm pretty sure they will, given that it's being reported that the Huns are on a different day. Hearts won't take a big support to Aberdeen if their form doesn't improve significantly in the next month.

30-11-2009, 07:01 PM
My old mate Iain Fitzpatrick used to play up front for Irvine Meadow in the early 90s and he sent me a message saying: "The Medda are goany get you"... about 10 seconds after the draw was made.
They should bring around 1500 punters and they are aye fond of a strong tackle in yon Ayrshire leagues. It might be a day to rest some of our lightweights.

Van Nasten 34
30-11-2009, 07:10 PM
Saw Irvine 'Medda' in the 1st Round when they played Brora Rangers and won 2-0 with goals just before and after half time.They seemed a decent outfit although Brora were nowhere near their best and Dave Ross (ex Caley) and Gary Farquhar (ex St.Johnstone) were making their 2nd debut for Brora that day and weren't match fit.That aside not a bad side and tried to play the ball and were'nt over physical.
Probably be the one and only day I'll see a Union Jack at a Highland League ground though!!!

HibeeMcGinn1
30-11-2009, 07:14 PM
Not that I think we'll beat it but it came up in the convo at work today after the draw. Cheers HM

30-11-2009, 07:15 PM
Not that I think we'll beat it but it came up in the convo at work today after the draw. Cheers HM

For us, 15-1 against Peebles Rovers.

Overall, Arbroath 36 Bon Accord 0.

30-11-2009, 07:16 PM

Would that not be Arbroath 36(?) - Bon Accord 0 ?

30-11-2009, 07:16 PM

dearie me

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arbroath_36%E2%80%930_Bon_Accord

deek68
30-11-2009, 07:18 PM

And the 2nd highest anybody?

30-11-2009, 07:19 PM
And the 2nd highest anybody?

Dundee Harp 35 Aberdeen Rovers 0

On the same day as the Arbroath v Bon Accord game :wink:

deek68
30-11-2009, 07:21 PM

I knew it wouldn't take long :wink:

wazoo1875
30-11-2009, 07:22 PM

Asides the 36-0 thrashing handed out to the soft drinks giants , i'm sure Stirling Albion dished out a 20 goal shooing to Selkirk in the mid 80's .

30-11-2009, 07:25 PM

Irvine Meadow will almost certainly bring a larger support to Easter Road than WE will take to Aberdeen in a couple of weeks time...

30-11-2009, 07:26 PM

Bon Accord were a cricket club who happened to receive the invitation in error. WTF is Aberdeen Rovers' excuse.

Also what are the odds against you collecting your winnings if you predicted both those scores correctly?

30-11-2009, 07:27 PM
Irvine Meadow will almost certainly bring a larger support to Easter Road than WE will take to Aberdeen in a couple of weeks time...

Yes, they will make a lot of noise and make a day of it. Been here before and unless we score early, it could go pear shaped.

vanNISHtelroy
30-11-2009, 07:30 PM
kilmarnock v falkirk

Came down to the last 4 in, chance of a derby :top marks, home or away to wick/brechin :wink: and we get Falkirk...the glamour :rolleyes:

HibeeMcGinn1
30-11-2009, 07:32 PM
Yes, they will make a lot of noise and make a day of it. Been here before and unless we score early, it could go pear shaped.
honestly cant see it but you just never know. other than matches against 1st or 2nd division teams, where upsets can be quite normal. this game should not have an upset, and we should win comfortably.

30-11-2009, 07:37 PM
Overall, Arbroath 36 Bon Accord 0.

Do you have the goal scorers?:wink:

number 27
30-11-2009, 07:43 PM
I reckon they will be approaching the same standard as Brechin and I would expect something quite similar to the league cup game.

They will bring a large support and will be really fired up so there will probably be the odd anxious moment before a reasonably comfortable win.

Nowhere near double figures though.

HibeeMcGinn1
30-11-2009, 07:43 PM

13 goals were scored by John Petrie:thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 07:44 PM

C. Nade got the other 23

wazoo1875
30-11-2009, 07:44 PM
Bon Accord were a cricket club who happened to receive the invitation in error. WTF is Aberdeen Rovers' excuse.

Also what are the odds against you collecting your winnings if you predicted both those scores correctly?

I have to say mate , that this is one of the funniest posts i have ever read on here :faf:

I really did laugh out loud , it might be the bud though :dunno:

deek68
30-11-2009, 07:49 PM

I have to say mate , that this is one of the funniest posts i have ever read on here :faf:

I really did laugh out loud , it might be the bud though :dunno:

Somebody did actually predict the scores - they're still trying to sort it out..

Although the referee in the Harp-Aberdeen Rovers game had noted 37 goals, Harp's secretary suggested a miscount must have occurred as he had recorded ‘only’ 35. The match official, acknowledging that it was difficult for him to keep accurate details during such a deluge of goals, accepted the lower tally and wired the official score of 35-0 to SFA (http://www.hibs.net/en/SFA) headquarters. [1]

30-11-2009, 08:05 PM
"The record for highest victory in a senior football competition was set on October 31, 2002 when the Malagasy club AS Adema beat SOE Antananarivo 149-0 in the national championship. SOE scored own goals throughout the match as a protest to a referee decision in a prior match."

30-11-2009, 08:12 PM
Probably be the one and only day I'll see a Union Jack at a Highland League ground though!!!

was it this one http://www.medda.co.uk/pmain.asp?s=431 :devil:

30-11-2009, 08:20 PM
Looking at their kit, you're not wrong there.

http://www.medda.co.uk/brfiles/Kochice%20-%20Celebration.jpg

:jamboak::jamboak::jamboak::jamboak:
Hope we anihilate them - junior huns :bye:

30-11-2009, 08:21 PM
was it this one http://www.medda.co.uk/pmain.asp?s=431 :devil:

They cannae be huns then, there's a Scottish flag in the background

30-11-2009, 08:27 PM
C. Nade got the other 23
Good old Colin.

smack
30-11-2009, 08:35 PM

That does not make sense. How can they be better than a team they are equivalent to?

30-11-2009, 08:39 PM
That does not make sense. How can they be better than a team they are equivalent to?

Makes sense in Dunderhall :wink: :greengrin

30-11-2009, 08:41 PM

It does make sense. What I mean is the team top of the Junior league vs the team top of the Senior league, eg Spartans v Linlithgow Rose. They're equivalent in that they're the best teams in their respective leagues or the biggest club in each division.

30-11-2009, 08:43 PM
Makes sense in Dunderhall :wink: :greengrin

Do you think Rangers and Celtic are equivalent?

30-11-2009, 08:49 PM

In loathing stakes - aye :greengrin

smack
30-11-2009, 08:50 PM
Yep. Both soap dodging weegie ****

30-11-2009, 09:21 PM
good draw for both clubs, 7-0 for me:thumbsup:

30-11-2009, 09:21 PM
Loving the pessimism popping up across this thread :hilarious

Reckon Hibs could have the shortest odds I'll ever see them have in my life for this one, 1/25?

30-11-2009, 09:37 PM
Is anyone else sad like me and want us to obliterate them now I see they're Hun lovers?

30-11-2009, 09:41 PM
Is anyone else sad like me and want us to obliterate them now I see they're Hun lovers?

I'm guilty:agree:.

Before it was a feeling of "what a tie, romance of the cup, great for both teams".

Now it's a feeling of "I hope Yogi puts out a full team and we completely annihilates these Hun ********s"

Sad I know, but I can't help it :agree:

30-11-2009, 09:42 PM

Dodgin again instead o workin McGinn, yer worse than yer old man.

30-11-2009, 09:49 PM
You really should consult your doctor about that sort of thing.

Would you care to revisit your prognostication Monsieur Supporter? My 'feeling' is getting stronger now that we have seen the draw...

James.
30-11-2009, 10:00 PM

Meadow are not a Hun loving team as you put it, there's never any sectarian singing or abuse at Meadow park. Don't let one union jack or the clubs colours fool you. It's a shame that a good junior club with a decent supporters are being branded as bigots when before today you probably knew nothing about them.