View Full Version : What's the biggest Hibs win you've been at?

Mag7
22-11-2009, 11:20 PM
Spurs' 9-1 win got me thinking about how many really big scores Hibs have racked up. I've been at a few, especially in the Mowbray/Collins years (7-0 v Livvy, 6-0 v Gretna, 6-1 away at Motherwell) plus I recall watching us win 9-0 under Blobby against Montrose in the League Cup.

I also remember way back about 1982 when we beat Kilmarnock 8-1 at Easter Road. We were a pretty poor team, but things just clicked that day.

Of course there's also that game on 1/1/73 but sadly I was too wee to be taken along with my dad and uncles :boo hoo:

22-11-2009, 11:23 PM
The 9-0 vs Montrose was the biggest win I have seen.

7-0 vs Livingston was the biggest league win that I have been at.

22-11-2009, 11:23 PM
Spurs' 9-1 win got me thinking about how many really big scores Hibs have racked up. I've been at a few, especially in the Mowbray/Collins years (7-0 v Livvy, 6-0 v Gretna, 6-1 away at Motherwell) plus I recall watching us win 9-0 under Blobby against Montrose in the League Cup.

I also remember way back about 1982 when we beat Kilmarnock 8-1 at Easter Road. We were a pretty poor team, but things just clicked that day.

Of course there's also that game on 1/1/73 but sadly I was too wee to be taken along with my dad and uncles :boo hoo:

Was at that game, Dobbie had a good game that day

steviedonx
22-11-2009, 11:27 PM
The 7-0 Livi game was the biggest one I was at. Sitting in the west stand and by the time we scored the 7th, I actually didn't want to clap, because I just felt sorry for them!

22-11-2009, 11:32 PM
7-0 Livi game.

We had to leave at 5-0 because my daft mate never wore anthing over his t-shirt and was freezing his balls off :bitchy:

shamo9
22-11-2009, 11:39 PM
9-0 against Montrose. I remember almost falling to a premature demise as Dobbie rudely opened his account in the first 30 seconds before I had even taken my seat.

22-11-2009, 11:43 PM
I saw Hibs beat Hamilton 11-1 back in 1965. It was a very boring game as I recall but it's now a record I think.

23-11-2009, 12:05 AM
I saw Hibs beat Hamilton 11-1 back in 1965. It was a very boring game as I recall
:agree: And 11-2 v Alloa same year.

23-11-2009, 12:25 AM
8-1 v Killie. It was 1-1 at half time.

A few years later we put a barrowload past the Pars at ER but I can't remember how many - but again I think they were all scored in a short period of an otherwise uneventful game.

23-11-2009, 01:06 AM
I saw Hibs beat Hamilton 11-1 back in 1965. It was a very boring game as I recall but it's now a record I think.

It was the very first game I went to.

That was never bettered regarding the amount of goals, however scoring five against Celtic, at the time, seemed far more important than the seven we scored against Hearts, as that was just three months after we had frooze and lost six against them in the cup final, this was further vindicated by the league cup win. That same season we also scored 5 at Dundee Hibs & 6 at Airdrie, 6 against Sporting, 7 against Besa and 8 against Ally MacLeod's Ayr United.

23-11-2009, 01:25 AM

I was at that game

Couldny call it boring tho :confused:

23-11-2009, 02:03 AM
beating FC Besa 7-1 in the cup winners cup 1972

also a league game in 1972 against ayr united 8-1 just a few weeks before THAT new years day game 7-0 at tincastle :cool2:

also handed out a few heavy beatings to st.johnstone over the years including a 7-1 league game and a 9-2 league cup game(wasn't at that one tho :boo hoo:)

then a 9-1 win over rosenborg in the 1974 uefa cup

23-11-2009, 04:49 AM
Rosenborg and St Johnstone game are the first two that spring to mind. I still seem to recall Jimmy O'Rourke scored the first for the saintees. Also wish we had the Europen record of Rosenborg now, they seem to be in Champions League virtually every year.

23-11-2009, 05:12 AM
9-0 vs Montrose
7-0 vs Livingston

Seem to remember a couple of 6-0 home wins against teams like Gretna and Elgin, or similar scorelines...

23-11-2009, 05:19 AM

Same :agree:

Can't think of any other huge wins...off the top of my head, 6-2 obviously and a couple of 5-1 wins v Raith and Partick Thistle.

Away from home...er, 3-0 v Rangers maybe?! Can't think of any really big away wins I have been at, and I've been to loads of away games over the years!

McSwanky
23-11-2009, 07:42 AM
8-1 v Killie. It was 1-1 at half time.

A few years later we put a barrowload past the Pars at ER but I can't remember how many - but again I think they were all scored in a short period of an otherwise uneventful game.

Maybe my memory is going, but I was sure it was 2-1 to us at half time???

8-1 v Killie and 9-0 v Montrose are the two biggest wins I've seen.

I think my biggest away win was at Kilbowie in the cup where we won (IIRC) 5-1.

23-11-2009, 07:46 AM
Hibs record win was against Peebles Rovers, in the SC, I thnk.

We won 15 - 1 and Joe Baker scored 9.

Unfortunately, that was in 1961 so I wasn't there.

Apart from Montrose 9 - 0, beating Rosenborg 9 - 1 is the biggest win I've personally witnessed. We were 3 - 2 up from the first leg and Rosenborg scored first. I remember they were right pleased about it too.

Little did they know. :greengrin

Iirc, no-one got a hat-trick that day. Or was that FC Besa (7 - 1)

NB Hibby
23-11-2009, 08:00 AM
Hibs record win was against Peebles Rovers, in the SC, I thnk.

The game was played at Love Street and we won 15 - 1. Joe Baker scored 9 and his brother Gerry bagged 4.

Unfortunately, that was in 1961 so I wasn't there.

Apart from Montrose 9 - 0, beating Rosenborg 9 - 1 is the biggest win I've personally witnessed. We were 3 - 2 up from the first leg and Rosenborg scored first. I remember they were right pleased about it too.

Little did they know. :greengrin

Iirc, no-one got a hat-trick that day. Or was that FC Besa (7 - 1)

A bit of confusion here I think. Surely game was at ER and Joe and Gerry Baker didn't feature in the same Hibs team?
GB had recently scored 9 or 10 against Glasgow Uni and Hibs fans were exhorting JB to go one better.
Peebles goal was scored by (memory blank,but his nickname was Timber from his W. Lothian juvenile days with Livingston Station). Apologies if MY memories are wrong.

23-11-2009, 08:05 AM
A bit of confusion here I think. Surely game was at ER and Joe and Gerry Baker didn't feature in the same Hibs team?
GB had recently scored 9 or 10 against Glasgow Uni and Hibs fans were exhorting JB to go one better.
Peebles goal was scored by (memory blank,but his nickname was Timber from his W. Lothian juvenile days with Livingston Station). Apologies if MY memories are wrong.

Peebles Rovers goal was scored by a guy called McWilliams.

I dare say the game would have been a good bit tighter but Hibs were indeed fortunate in getting the home draw.

23-11-2009, 08:07 AM

You are right. :agree:

Joe scored 9 at ER. Gerry scored 4 for St Mirren in a 10 - 0 win at Love Street.

Post amended. Thanks.

23-11-2009, 08:07 AM
I don't really like those one-sided games, but i'll never forget that seven goal derby thriller back in '73.

23-11-2009, 08:09 AM
8-1 Kille. Killie's goal came from a rare mistake by McNamara - he tripped over the ball when there was no danger, though he made up for it with a 30 yard screamer.

What made the whole thing even more surreal is that we were pretty mince at the time.

TheMentalHibees
23-11-2009, 08:17 AM
Biggest I've seen was Hibs winning 6-1 against Motherwell at Fir Park under Collins. Could have been more had we not passed up a good few chances.

davemcbain
23-11-2009, 08:41 AM
9-0 vs Montrose

I remember coming out of that game feeling slightly cheated. They were just awful and Hibs stopped trying. It just became embarrassing in the end.

Having said that - could do with another similar result just to see if it was a one off.

23-11-2009, 08:56 AM
9-1 vs Rosenburg. Thier opener was a screamer, diect free kick bent the "wrong" way round the wall, as a previous poster stated they were well pleased with themselves. Iain Munro helping himself to two in the first half rederessing the balance.

Also at the Ayr game and seen a few 7's but was deemed too young to go to Tynie in 73 on my own :grr:

Never seen Hibs lose too badly till Barcelona last year.

23-11-2009, 09:00 AM
I was at the 15-1 game against Peebles Rovers. :agree:
I believe the lad that scored for Peebles had been on Hibs books at one time.
Joe Baker's 9 goals in that game fell short of Gerry Baker's exploits in a previous round, when he scored 10 for St Mirren against Glasgow University.

23-11-2009, 09:02 AM
I was at the Livi game but missed out on the Montrose game grrr.
I remember the 6-1 game V Motherwell.

What's our biggest win against Falkirk?

Whats the changes of a repeat at the weekend?

Blatent plug: And who are you taking along?

:notworthy:

23-11-2009, 09:09 AM
I was at the 15-1 game against Peebles Rovers. :agree:
I believe the lad that scored for Peebles had been on Hibs books at one time.
Joe Baker's 9 goals in that game fell short of Gerry Baker's exploits in a previous round, when he scored 10 for St Mirren against Glasgow University.

I've just checked and the Peebles player was Walter Mcwilliams, who Hibs had signed from Livingston. He left Hibs for Cowdenbeath, before signing for Peebles.

He played twice for Hibs, scoring once.

23-11-2009, 09:10 AM
15–1 vs Peebles Rovers, 11 February 1961. Scottish Cup

Can't remember exactly how many Joe Baker scored - was it a triple hat trick?

23-11-2009, 09:20 AM
Was at the 8-1 Killie game, and also remember a 9-2 v St Johnstone

23-11-2009, 09:34 AM
My biggest victory was the 7-0 at home against Livingston on 8th February 2006. Followed jointly by the CIS cup Final 2007 5-1 and a boxing day game at ER circa 1991/2 against Partick where we won 5-1. Also if you count goal difference I saw a 4-0 against Killy about August 1997 at ER.

23-11-2009, 09:34 AM
beating FC Besa 7-1 in the cup winners cup 1972

also a league game in 1972 against ayr united 8-1 just a few weeks before THAT new years day game 7-0 at tincastle :cool2:

also handed out a few heavy beatings to st.johnstone over the years including a 7-1 league game and a 9-2 league cup game(wasn't at that one tho :boo hoo:)

then a 9-1 win over rosenborg in the 1974 uefa cup

Recall them all very clearly...I also recall a wee win against the Celtic in the league cup final, that season!..:wink:

23-11-2009, 09:36 AM
15–1 vs Peebles Rovers, 11 February 1961. Scottish Cup

Can't remember exactly how many Joe Baker scored - was it a triple hat trick?

Not so sure, but he did score 9 goals that day..:greengrin

23-11-2009, 09:54 AM

:agree: And 11-2 v Alloa same year.

It was the very first game I went to.

That was never bettered regarding the amount of goals, however scoring five against Celtic, at the time, seemed far more important than the seven we scored against Hearts, as that was just three months after we had frooze and lost six against them in the cup final, this was further vindicated by the league cup win. That same season we also scored 5 at Dundee Hibs & 6 at Airdrie, 6 against Sporting, 7 against Besa and 8 against Ally MacLeod's Ayr United.

I remember the Alloa and Hamilton games - can't remember finding them boring, though I do remember my dad asking me how Alloa and Accies had managed to score if we were that much on top. Jim Scott, Jim O'Rourke, Neil Martin, Peter Cormack and Eric Stevenson, (among others) IIRC?

The 5 in the Drybrough Final against Celtic was special, although IIRC there were special rules about offside that day that made it a little easier to score. Did we not beat Aberdeen 4-0 and Rangers 3-0 at ER on the way to the Final?

The Ayr United game 8-1 was the game after the League Cup Final, wasn't it? Ony a couple of weeks before the 7-0 at Tynie? From the Final to the derby that season must qualify as the best 6 weeks to be a Hibs supporters since the demise of the Famous Five.

The Airdrie 6-2 was a cracking performance - Airdrie were a tough team to beat at Broomfield in those days - and that set us up to qualify for the later stages of the League Cup?

And the Sporting and Besa games were almost surreal - Hibs didn't do that sort of thing in Europe. :greengrin

Aberdeen, Rangers, and Celtic in the Drybrough, Airdrie, Sporting, Besa, Ayr and the 7-0 all came inside the same 6 months leading up to NYD 1973. It makes me wonder what that team would have done if Turnbull had had the sense to leave well alone after the derby and just let them play, instead of upping the training....

I've just checked and the Peebles player was Walter Mcwilliams, who Hibs had signed from Livingston. He left Hibs for Cowdenbeath, before signing for Peebles.

Which makes him a much better striker than a certain rotund Jambo.... :devil:

23-11-2009, 09:59 AM
Recall them all very clearly...I also recall a wee win against the Celtic in the league cup final, that season!..:wink:

indeed, just a pity we cant erase from the record books the SC final result against the same team several months earlier :grr::greengrin

23-11-2009, 10:04 AM
The 5 in the Drybrough Final against Celtic was special, although IIRC there were special rules about offside that day that made it a little easier to score.

I think that rule (no offside outside the 18 yard line) was implemented the following year, when we only managed to gub Celtic 1-0 in the final with an Alan Gordon goal. :wink:

23-11-2009, 10:08 AM
I think it was a 6-1 win at home vs Arbroath in the Scottish Cup a few years back for me!

Purple & Green
23-11-2009, 10:17 AM
Here's a list of all the games in the last 50ish years where Hibs have scored 6 or more in competitive games.

9 1 1960 Scottish League H Third Lanark W 6 0
20 8 1960 League Cup H Airdrieonians W 6 1
24 12 1960 Scottish League H Third Lanark W 8 4
11 2 1961 Scottish Cup H Peebles Rovers W 15 1
2 1 1965 Scottish League H Falkirk W 6 0
22 9 1965 League Cup H Alloa Athletic W 11 2
6 11 1965 Scottish League H Hamilton Acad. W 11 1
17 9 1966 Scottish League A Dunfermline Athletic W 6 5
24 9 1966 Scottish League H Partick Thistle W 7 0
3 12 1966 Scottish League H Stirling Albion W 6 0
5 7 1967 North American League N Shamrock Rovers W 6 1
7 12 1968 Scottish League A Aberdeen W 6 2
16 9 1970 Europe H Malmo W 6 0
23 1 1971 Scottish Cup H Forfar Athletic W 8 1
23 10 1971 Scottish League H Falkirk W 6 0
8 4 1972 Scottish League H St Johnstone W 7 1
27 9 1972 Europe H Sporting Lisbon W 6 1
11 10 1972 League Cup A Airdrieonians W 6 2
25 10 1972 Europe H Besa W 7 1
16 12 1972 Scottish League H Ayr United W 8 1
1 1 1973 Scottish League A Heart of Midlothian W 7 0
2 10 1974 Europe H Rosenborg W 9 1
12 10 1974 Scottish League H Motherwell W 6 2
12 4 1975 Scottish League H Airdrieonians W 6 1
28 8 1976 League Cup H St Johnstone W 9 2
21 2 1979 Scottish Cup A Meadowbank Thistle W 6 0
2 4 1983 Scottish League H Kilmarnock W 8 1
21 8 1985 League Cup H Cowdenbeath W 6 0
28 8 1985 League Cup H Motherwell W 6 1
22 10 2000 Scottish League H Heart of Midlothian W 6 2
27 1 2001 Scottish Cup H Clyde W 6 1
23 9 2003 League Cup H Montrose W 9 0
7 1 2006 Scottish Cup H Arbroath W 6 0
8 2 2006 Scottish League H Livingston W 7 0
20 9 2006 League Cup H Gretna W 6 0
18 11 2006 Scottish League A Motherwell W 6 1

23-11-2009, 10:44 AM
I think that rule (no offside outside the 18 yard line) was implemented the following year, when we only managed to gub Celtic 1-0 in the final with an Alan Gordon goal. :wink:

You may well be right, Mike. I have this mental picture of Hampden, Hibs, Celtic, us winning the Drybrough, and the 18-yard lines extended out to the touchlines (looked really queer), but I can't remember whether it was the first or second year we won it.

AG didnae half sicken them with that last-minute goal. Well into added-on time, IIRC. The sort of thing they used to do to us. :devil:

What did Ned think he was doing messing around with that team? :grr:

Owain_1987
23-11-2009, 11:13 AM
9-0 against Montrose and 6-1 against Motherwell biggest away win I have seen.

Russian Hibs Fan
23-11-2009, 11:15 AM
I was lucky to be at the Motherwell 1-6 Hibs game.

23-11-2009, 11:17 AM
Here's a list of all the games in the last 50ish years where Hibs have scored 6 or more in competitive games.

That was some game. :wink:

Hibs keeper Ronnie Simpson saved 2 penalties that day, or the score would have been even more amazing.

I just about managed to see most of the game through a heavy fog.

1959 Hibby
23-11-2009, 11:18 AM
9-2 v St Johnstone was (I think) Pat Stanton's last game for Hibs. Next game was a dire 0-0 v Montrose, and I still remember the dismay spreading round the terrace as word spread that the great man had been sold

23-11-2009, 12:42 PM
You may well be right, Mike. I have this mental picture of Hampden, Hibs, Celtic, us winning the Drybrough, and the 18-yard lines extended out to the touchlines (looked really queer), but I can't remember whether it was the first or second year we won it.

AG didnae half sicken them with that last-minute goal. Well into added-on time, IIRC. The sort of thing they used to do to us. :devil:

What did Ned think he was doing messing around with that team? :grr:

The offside experiment was definitely in effect in 5-3 game, not sure about following year. Did the greatest supporters in the world not come on park when we were 3-0 up & basically cause us to lose our concentration for a period?

23-11-2009, 12:50 PM
I was lucky enough to be a youngster when Joe Baker was around & it seemed as if we scored 5 or more goals nearly every week, as well as conceding loads. I rember an 8-4 & a 7-4 against Thirds & Dunfermline respectively as well as a 6-6 vs Middlesborough & a 5-5 versus Clyde. I've been lucky enough to witness a 15-1, an 11-1 & a 11-2 as well of course as a certain 0-7. I also clearly remember us winning 11-1 at Airdrie & 10-2 at Partick but was too young to travel in those days.
We actually lost a record last year when Bayern pulverised Sporting Lisbon in Europe. Until that time our 6-1 victory was Sporting's biggest ever European defeat & I believe we still hold the record against Napoli & Rosenborg.
PS, I can't remember what I had for my tea last night! :greengrin

23-11-2009, 12:50 PM
7-0 Livi game.

We had to leave at 5-0 because my daft mate never wore anthing over his t-shirt and was freezing his balls off :bitchy:

:confused: :greengrin

7-0 v Livi for me as well and although I was freezing I stayed until the end. :cool2:

23-11-2009, 01:01 PM
The 7-0 Livi game was the biggest one I was at. Sitting in the west stand and by the time we scored the 7th, I actually didn't want to clap, because I just felt sorry for them!
was in the east and had a couple of pound on us to win 5 nil and 6 nil[50/1 and 66/1] was holding my head when fletcher scored the seventh .
but then its always nice to score seven:greengrin

CapitalHibs
23-11-2009, 01:32 PM
Not so sure, but he did score 9 goals that day..:greengrin

Joe also missed a penalty...saved by the Peebles goalie.

BenjiOscar
23-11-2009, 01:32 PM
I was at the 9-0 v Montrose, the 7-0 v Livingston and 8-1 v Kilmarnock. Was just an eleven year old laddie back in 1983 so missed the big European wins in the Turnbull's Tornadoes era like the 6-1 v Lisbon, 7-1 v FC Besa and 9-1 v Rosenberg

NB Hibby
23-11-2009, 02:17 PM

Peebles Rovers goal was scored by a guy called McWilliams.

I dare say the game would have been a good bit tighter but Hibs were indeed fortunate in getting the home draw.

Thanks for reminding me. I now recall that his nickname was "Gunner" because of his powerful shot--not Timber(a differemt memory!)

23-11-2009, 02:30 PM
The 6-0 game against Arbroath?

I think.... :confused:

23-11-2009, 02:35 PM
Also the 6-1 against Motherwell. I remember, perversely, being gutted when they scored.

Even though I'd followed the team through thin and thinner in the early 80's and was at almost every game, I didn't go to ER the day they put 8 goals past Killie. After all I'd suffered and I had to miss that game.

:boo hoo:

NB Hibby
23-11-2009, 02:35 PM

Thanks Mike. See my reply to Golden Bear. Amazing how the memory comes back when reminded! I do recall that he played for the team from Livingston Station before joining Hibs, and was that the same team that we signed Davie Gibson from, who went on to win caps for Scotland with Leicester City? This is real anorak stuff now!

PS Gunner as a nickname sounds more threatening than Walter!

Finally(?) Livingston Station is where the great Tommy Walker came from, but unfortunately HE didn't sign for Hibs!:greengrin

Exiled Hibby
23-11-2009, 02:48 PM
The 0-7 game at *********** was biggest margin win I was at. Also at the F C Besa 7-1 game, but guess which one I remember clearest !

Wasn't at the 8-1 win against Killie as was still playing every Saturday at that time, but I do remember watching the results come in by teleprinter on the TV in the pub after our game. At that time I think we were in the process of setting a record of some sort fot number of draws in a seaon, and as the words came up "Hibernian 8" I remember one of my team-mates (a jambo) shouting out "chr*st!! an 8 all draw"
I also believe that the same jambos dad was in goals for Peebles Rovers the day we gubbed them but dont have any info - his surname was Lucas

23-11-2009, 03:08 PM

9 1 1960 Scottish League H Third Lanark W 6 0
20 8 1960 League Cup H Airdrieonians W 6 1
11 2 1961 Scottish Cup H Peebles Rovers W 15 1
2 1 1965 Scottish League H Falkirk W 6 0
22 9 1965 League Cup H Alloa Athletic W 11 2
6 11 1965 Scottish League H Hamilton Acad. W 11 1
17 9 1966 Scottish League A Dunfermline Athletic W 6 5
24 9 1966 Scottish League H Partick Thistle W 7 0
3 12 1966 Scottish League H Stirling Albion W 6 0
5 7 1967 North American League N Shamrock Rovers W 6 1
7 12 1968 Scottish League A Aberdeen W 6 2
16 9 1970 Europe H Malmo W 6 0
23 1 1971 Scottish Cup H Forfar Athletic W 8 1
23 10 1971 Scottish League H Falkirk W 6 0
8 4 1972 Scottish League H St Johnstone W 7 1
27 9 1972 Europe H Sporting Lisbon W 6 1
11 10 1972 League Cup A Airdrieonians W 6 2
25 10 1972 Europe H Besa W 7 1
16 12 1972 Scottish League H Ayr United W 8 1
1 1 1973 Scottish League A Heart of Midlothian W 7 0
2 10 1974 Europe H Rosenborg W 9 1
12 10 1974 Scottish League H Motherwell W 6 2
12 4 1975 Scottish League H Airdrieonians W 6 1
28 8 1976 League Cup H St Johnstone W 9 2
21 2 1979 Scottish Cup A Meadowbank Thistle W 6 0
2 4 1983 Scottish League H Kilmarnock W 8 1
21 8 1985 League Cup H Cowdenbeath W 6 0
28 8 1985 League Cup H Motherwell W 6 1
22 10 2000 Scottish League H Heart of Midlothian W 6 2
27 1 2001 Scottish Cup H Clyde W 6 1
23 9 2003 League Cup H Montrose W 9 0
7 1 2006 Scottish Cup H Arbroath W 6 0
8 2 2006 Scottish League H Livingston W 7 0
20 9 2006 League Cup H Gretna W 6 0
18 11 2006 Scottish League A Motherwell W 6 1

I think that was Aberdeen's biggest domestic defeat for >20 years at one point (until St. Johnstone beat them 5-0 in Perth in 1990). Obviously they have taken bigger tankings since then (eg two different 7-0s by Celtic), but that result stood up for a long time due to their success in the 70s and 80s.

My answer is the Montrose 9-0. To be honest, most times you get a result like that it is usually a result of the receiving team giving up completely. It isn't always that the best team hands out the absolute doings. I think we saw that a few seasons ago (the Mowbray / Collins season) when Hibs won games 4-0, 5-1, 6-1 but struggled to win games consistently.

The biggest gubbing my team received was a 7-0 by the Huns at Perth. Saints also lost 5-0 at Parkheid yet finished 3rd and did well in both the cups. I doubt that whoever finishes third this year will take such tankings off those two, thankfully.

Aubenas
23-11-2009, 03:11 PM
and I still remember the dismay spreading round the terrace as word spread that the great man had been sold

I remember that night too :boo hoo:
Just shows how much things have changed. What with the net and messageboards and 'I can exclusively reveal', imagine a major event like losing Paddy 'filtering out' round the terracing after it had happened!!!!

there would have been rumours on here for weeks from people who had heard it from the fishmonger's dog's vet!

23-11-2009, 03:11 PM
The 0-7 game at *********** was biggest margin win I was at. Also at the F C Besa 7-1 game, but guess which one I remember clearest !

Wasn't at the 8-1 win against Killie as was still playing every Saturday at that time, but I do remember watching the results come in by teleprinter on the TV in the pub after our game. At that time I think we were in the process of setting a record of some sort fot number of draws in a seaon, and as the words came up "Hibernian 8" I remember one of my team-mates (a jambo) shouting out "chr*st!! an 8 all draw"
I also believe that the same jambos dad was in goals for Peebles Rovers the day we gubbed them but dont have any info - his surname was Lucas

I think I know him.

Did he used to drink in the Roseburn?

Was it Billy Lucas?

Exiled Hibby
23-11-2009, 03:16 PM
I think I know him.

Did he used to drink in the Roseburn?

Was it Billy Lucas?

It was Billy, yes.
Havent seen him for a couple of years and thought he still did drink in the Roseburn

23-11-2009, 03:20 PM
It was Billy, yes.
Havent seen him for a couple of years and thought he still did drink in the Roseburn

Maybe he does. I go in there occasionally, but haven't seen him for many years.

I remember him telling me about Hibs sticking 15 past his dad.

I thought his dad might have been a Hibby, but I could have got that mixed up.

Exiled Hibby
23-11-2009, 03:44 PM
Maybe he does. I go in there occasionally, but haven't seen him for many years.

I remember him telling me about Hibs sticking 15 past his dad.

I thought his dad might have been a Hibby, but I could have got that mixed up.

dunno about his dad, but billy defo a jambo. we used to call billy "lumbering lucas" but given he was twice as fast (or less slow) than me it would be a pot/kettle thing

23-11-2009, 04:01 PM
The 7-0 Livi game, 6-0 Gretna game, 6-1 at Fir Park, 9-0 Montrose, I was at them all.

Best "big win" (apart from a certain derby game in 73 :wink:) must be the Killie Final. To win a Cup any time is a tremendous achievement but winning the Final 5-1 was just something special.

Not many teams win by 4 in a Final!

CapitalHibs
23-11-2009, 04:18 PM

That reminds of the times when we used to get the results off the BBC (Grandstand?) teleprinter usually starting around 20 to five. IIRC they used to come in a totally random order and some announcer used to read them off.

"Scottish League Division 1 - Airdrieonians 1 Hibernian 1..Wait a minute.. that's ELEVEN!! My goodness - Airdrieonians 1 Hibernian 11"

The largest number of goals in an away victory in the Scottish League Div.1 although celtc also won 11-0 at Dundee.

23-11-2009, 04:22 PM
Joe also missed a penalty...saved by the Peebles goalie.

Remember Joe telling me about the game and saying that the big CH was always asking him "you no think you've scored enough" to which Joe replyed....."Naw" with a BIG smile on his face..Pricless :wink:

23-11-2009, 04:52 PM
9 - 0 against rosenborg trondheim, I think Harper scored a few and I think I remember Ally Scott knocking one in with his knee, which if I recall correctly was his most potent weapon.:greengrin

23-11-2009, 04:58 PM
Been at a few games we've scored 6. Went home before 8-1 against Killie kicked off as I was ill, felt even worse when I heard the score.

23-11-2009, 04:59 PM
Montrose 9-0 at ER.

ginger_rice
23-11-2009, 05:04 PM
It was the Rosenborg and St Johnston 9-1 and St Johnston 9-2 games for me, I was home on leave for both so that made it even more satisfying :thumbsup:

CapitalHibs
23-11-2009, 05:15 PM
I've always wondered if Hibs hold some unofficial, modern day record, (if you can refer the modern day to include the 50 odd years I've watched fitba) for being involved in high scoring games, at least at Scottish senior professional level.

I cannae remember Rantic, hertz, sheep or Arabs ever being involved in that many high scoring games much less going into double figures.

Hibs have done 15 once, 11 three times, 10 once, 9 three times, an 8 four times, and defeated a few minor teams by 7 goals:greengrin since I've been following them.

Wher's that statisical London hertz man when you need him?:thumbsup:

23-11-2009, 05:44 PM
Thanks Mike. See my reply to Golden Bear. Amazing how the memory comes back when reminded! I do recall that he played for the team from Livingston Station before joining Hibs, and was that the same team that we signed Davie Gibson from, who went on to win caps for Scotland with Leicester City? This is real anorak stuff now!

PS Gunner as a nickname sounds more threatening than Walter!

Finally(?) Livingston Station is where the great Tommy Walker came from, but unfortunately HE didn't sign for Hibs!:greengrin

Yup, both were signed from Livingston United mid-fifties. :thumbsup:

See here for lots of good stuff. (http://www.neilbrown.newcastlefans.com/hibernian/hibernian.htm) :wink:

23-11-2009, 06:47 PM
Prior to the Peebles Rovers game Renwick Sanderson,the Peebles player manager,announced he had a plan to shackle Baker-just as well-goodness knows how many Joe would have scored otherwise.I think the penalty would have been number 10 but I'm not definite about that.The game was also remarkable for the rare sighting of a right foot volley into the net from Willie Ormond.

At the Airdrie 11-1 game Joe was booked for putting Doug Baillie up in the air which took some strength as well as considerable bravery.

CapitalHibs
23-11-2009, 07:32 PM
Prior to the Peebles Rovers game Renwick Sanderson,the Peebles player manager,announced he had a plan to shackle Baker-just as well-goodness knows how many Joe would have scored otherwise.I think the penalty would have been number 10 but I'm not definite about that.The game was also remarkable for the rare sighting of a right foot volley into the net from Willie Ormond.
At the Airdrie 11-1 game Joe was booked for putting Doug Baillie up in the air which took some strength as well as considerable bravery.

Remember that well! - sent a buzz round the whole stadium:greengrin Oh if only Fletcher had seen that!

Think Joe's penalty miss was somewhere between his 5th and 8th goal. Hibs were shooting down the slope second half and that's where he missed it. Was 7-1 at HT iirc.

23-11-2009, 07:32 PM

Hi Mike, I think it was in in 72, I seem to remember the lines on the pitch when we beat Rankers 3-0 [Colin Stein going flying past John Brownlie & off the pitch, in an attempted tackle, after Onion had totally done him, by pulling the ball back, was always a great memory].

23-11-2009, 07:46 PM
The 5 in the Drybrough Final against Celtic was special, although IIRC there were special rules about offside that day that made it a little easier to score. Did we not beat Aberdeen 4-0 and Rangers 3-0 at ER on the way to the Final?

The Ayr United game 8-1 was the game after the League Cup Final, wasn't it? Ony a couple of weeks before the 7-0 at Tynie? From the Final to the derby that season must qualify as the best 6 weeks to be a Hibs supporters since the demise of the Famous Five.

What also made it that extra bit special was after they had invaded the pitch with Hibs 3-0 up, they then scored three to take the game to extra time & for Hibs to recover and score two more to win the game, made it exceptional. One of the Sunday's reporter stated " I never thought there was any team in the World capable of taking five off the Scottish Champions". It was special & after the hammering of the Cup Winners Cup holders, in the semi, the start of a special four months.

I'm might be getting the games mixed up with league cup games of that time, but I think it was Montrose we beat 4-0 in the first round [there was also a 4-2 result then, pos league cup, Queens Park].

The League Cup groups back then consisted of two 2nd division teams & two 1st division. In the Dryborough Cup, it was the four top scoring teams in the first division & the top four in the second, with first division teams being drawn against second in the first leg.

23-11-2009, 08:41 PM
9-0 vs Montrose
7-0 vs Livingston

Seem to remember a couple of 6-0 home wins against teams like Gretna and Elgin, or similar scorelines...

Yeah, same here!

BH.

hibernian36
23-11-2009, 09:05 PM
8-1 v Killie. It was a Hibs kids game (early 80s I think) and I was in the main stand. Kept having to ask the person next to me the score !

23-11-2009, 11:08 PM

I missed this game with a hangover, got home about 9 in the morning and was in bed. Got woken up about half one but I was wrecked and would have spewed if I moved. :boo hoo:

Calvin
24-11-2009, 05:11 AM
The Arbroath and Gretna 6-0 cup games. Was at gigs for the 9-0 and 7-0, typically! The 7-0 was the only home game I missed that season.

24-11-2009, 07:19 PM
What also made it that extra bit special was after they had invaded the pitch with Hibs 3-0 up, they then scored three to take the game to extra time & for Hibs to recover and score two more to win the game, made it exceptional. One of the Sunday's reporter stated " I never thought there was any team in the World capable of taking five off the Scottish Champions". It was special & after the hammering of the Cup Winners Cup holders, in the semi, the start of a special four months.

I'm might be getting the games mixed up with league cup games of that time, but I think it was Montrose we beat 4-0 in the first round [there was also a 4-2 result then, pos league cup, Queens Park].

The League Cup groups back then consisted of two 2nd division teams & two 1st division. In the Dryborough Cup, it was the four top scoring teams in the first division & the top four in the second, with first division teams being drawn against second in the first leg.

Beat me to it Definately Montrose. I remember Ally Graham scoring direct from a cross at the Dunbar end. Semi final v Rangers and Brownlie taking the pee out of Stein in front of the enclose at the Dunbar End again. 5-3 after XT in the final. The offside line was on 20 yards not the 18 yd box.

24-11-2009, 07:47 PM
Beat me to it Definately Montrose. I remember Ally Graham scoring direct from a cross at the Dunbar end. Semi final v Rangers and Brownlie taking the pee out of Stein in front of the enclose at the Dunbar End again. 5-3 after XT in the final. The offside line was on 20 yards not the 18 yd box.

You've lost me with Ally Graham, I know we had a Johnny Graham but I thought he had joined Eric Stevenson at Ayr United during 71/2 season.