View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee Utd v Celtic (merged)

22-11-2009, 11:38 AM
Barry Robson has just demonstrated why this country is so crap at football. Unwilling to practice on his right foot weakness. Attitude and commitment to learn so you can take advantage of opportunities when they arise. Pathetic really.

22-11-2009, 11:53 AM
The second one was a lot better. :faf::faf:

bathhibby
22-11-2009, 12:02 PM
Can't remember his name but he was going on that Utd were the only serious contenders to challenge the OF.
What a Tube - check out the League Table

22-11-2009, 12:21 PM
This game is highlighting everything I hate about Celtic.

When they are on the back foot, they will do anything, legal or otherwise, to try and gain any advantage.

Fortune is a f***ing fairy, and Caldwell/Loovens are nought but thugs.

I was hoping for a draw, to benefit our league position, but to hell with that. I despise Celtic far too much to possibly hope they achieve anything this afternoon, other than a new record for injuries and suspensions.

22-11-2009, 12:45 PM
Realistically our battle is against D Utd. and, much as I would enjoy seeing Celtic struggle, I don't want to see D Utd. pick up points.

22-11-2009, 12:57 PM
Realistically our battle is against D Utd. and, much as I would enjoy seeing Celtic struggle, I don't want to see D Utd. pick up points.

Time to put our sensible caps on and realise we are far from ready to seriously challenge the OF.

22-11-2009, 01:00 PM
Penalty to Celtic.. Stonewaller...

22-11-2009, 01:00 PM

Time to put our sensible caps on and realise we are far from ready to seriously challenge the OF.

:agree: Unfortunately the likelyhood is a point or two will be important at season's end. We need a tinks' win. Penalty for them.

22-11-2009, 01:12 PM
1-1!

22-11-2009, 01:13 PM
Baws! Good goal

22-11-2009, 01:15 PM
1-1.

Daly

I'm almost pleased after listening to their bile for the last 83 minutes. :bitchy:

As long as they don't win.

22-11-2009, 01:18 PM
My mind tells me that I want Celtic to win this one.

My heart tells me that I hope Celtic get humiliated into oblivion. :agree:

22-11-2009, 01:19 PM
2-1 United

Darren Dods. :boo hoo:

22-11-2009, 01:19 PM
Dundee United 2-1 Tims

Carbon copy of the first.

TheMentalHibees
22-11-2009, 01:20 PM
2-1. Bad for us. Funny as **** though :greengrin

GB6
bad result :bitchy:

I don't know whether to laugh or cry. I think I'll laugh and count on us beating them at Tannadice :faf:

:agree: Unfortunately the likelyhood is a point or two will be important at season's end. We need a tinks' win. Penalty for them.
Never mind that get it right up the weegie tramps:faf:

22-11-2009, 01:21 PM
I despise Celtic too much to let this bother me.

22-11-2009, 01:22 PM
Better to have OF reeled in than stretching away. Maybe a change in scottish football's dominance is unfolding this year.

22-11-2009, 01:22 PM
I wonder if Celtc will show Mowbray the same loyalty he's showed all his clubs?

22-11-2009, 01:23 PM

typical Mowbray team - good going forward, soft as marshmallow at the back

22-11-2009, 01:24 PM
As they say in the jungle, Tony, it might be you.:greengrin

Tony, Tony, Tony, where did it all go wrong? :bye:

Maybe not a bad thing...

If Utd's money problems are as serious as are rumoured, I would expect them to be weakened in January!

Still only 3 points off the top...

(would also be funny to see Mowbray get the heave)

BH.

Got to believe. We are now one point closer to the top than we were before this weekend's games.

Fantastic win for Dundee United, and a good weekend for Hibs. :thumbsup:

I didn't hear too much from TGFITW for the last seven minutes. :bye:

22-11-2009, 01:25 PM
not a good result for our league position, but a bloody funny one for Scottish football. Plus it puts Hearts further and further away from the top group of clubs!

Dundee Utd unbeaten in 6
Us unbeaten in 8
Good stuff!!

We are still above Dundee utd according to ESPN, although pts and GD is the same

I wonder if Celtc will show Mowbray the same loyalty he's showed all his clubs?

Shoogly peg time for Mowbray? Celtc fans giving him and the team dog's abuse...

typical Mowbray team - good going forward, soft as marshmallow at the back

Are they though?

22-11-2009, 01:26 PM
Massive result for D Utd. We rarely pick up points against Celtic. The sooner Harry Potter gets the Scotland job the better.:greengrin

22-11-2009, 01:26 PM
not a good result for our league position, but a bloody funny one for Scottish football. Plus it puts Hearts further and further away from the top group of clubs!

Dundee Utd unbeaten in 6
Us unbeaten in 8
Good stuff!!

We are still above Dundee utd according to ESPN, although pts and GD is the same

:agree: We have scored one more goal than them. That's the only difference between us.

22-11-2009, 01:27 PM
Are they though?

I was being charitable there

22-11-2009, 01:28 PM
Are they though?

I don't think so, certainly not away from Parkhead anyway.

I don't remember Weaver having a save to make in the second half.

Tha Cabbage Kid
22-11-2009, 01:29 PM
im over the moon that united won

how tight is the league now! :)

today!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thu mbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thu mbsup::thumbsup:

22-11-2009, 01:29 PM
I was being charitable there

Fortune is a very composed finisher.

Well worth £4m :tee hee:

22-11-2009, 01:30 PM
Mowbray really sold the pies with that weird last sub.

United fans seriously singing "we're gonna win the league" - quite hard to argue!

.Louise.
22-11-2009, 01:31 PM
Utd still have a game in hand too

HibeeMcGinn1
22-11-2009, 01:31 PM
Are they though?

i think they are a good attacking team but they cant finish. plenty of chances without goals obviously dont win games. eg hearts in league cup

22-11-2009, 01:33 PM
2-1. Bad for us. Funny as **** though :greengrin

Why is 2-1 United win bad for us

its points off the old/firm which is a great thing

it means there is now another team chasing the Huns/Tic

great win for Dundee Utd

22-11-2009, 01:34 PM
Utd still have a game in hand too

against the huns tho, who do we want to win that one?

22-11-2009, 01:35 PM
I'd much rather it was more than just us putting the pressure on the OF. Its great for the game. :agree:

22-11-2009, 01:36 PM
They all seem gutted on ESPN. Trumpets!

sixtwo
22-11-2009, 01:36 PM
Tony must stay. He is officially worse than John Barnes.:thumbsup:

With rangers due to have a firesale in January and celtic looking very beatable, now is the time for further investment. If we can bring in a few decent additions in January, there is no reason why we cannot challenge the ugly sisters!

Hopefully levein will get the Scotland job soon. He has made DUFC into a decent outfit and I reckon they'd suffer if he left!

22-11-2009, 01:38 PM
we need another player in the Zouma mould

22-11-2009, 01:41 PM
Mowbray's having another "does not compute" moment on the radio, he can't comprehend why they don't win every game.

news just in - your defence is pish

22-11-2009, 01:44 PM
Mowbray's having another "does not compute" moment on the radio, he can't comprehend why they don't win every game.

Exactly the same problem we had during the Mowbray years.

Mr Monkey called the tims the greatest fans in the world :faf: It's take a lot more than says that to keep your job!

TheMentalHibees
Listening to his post match interview, how he has changed :dummytit:

22-11-2009, 01:48 PM

Like his team, Mowbray is now starting to feel the heat. :thumbsup:

22-11-2009, 01:49 PM
League table at end November last year

1 Celtic 16 25 43
2 Rangers 16 22 36
3 Hearts 16 0 29
4 Dundee Utd 16 5 26
5 Aberdeen 16 -1 21
6 Hibernian 16 -3 20
7 Kilmarnock 16 -8 19
8 Falkirk 16 -3 17
9 Inverness 16 -6 17
10 Motherwell 16 -8 17
11 Hamilton 16 -12 14
12 St Mirren 16 -11 12

Surely this year's situation is much better for all (and particularly us!).

22-11-2009, 01:50 PM

He always had that in him. He gave that kind of interview if/when Hibs got turned over by some bottom six team full of dinosaurs (eg Inverness). He's worse now because the stakes / expectation level are higher.

22-11-2009, 01:50 PM
I said at the time that the Celtic job was to big for Mowbray and nothing has changed he will be lucky to keep his job till summer at this rate.

22-11-2009, 01:52 PM

Aye... But they'll destroy a team one of these days... :rolleyes:

22-11-2009, 01:53 PM
Rangers and Celtic could be bottom of the 3rd Division and I'd still want them to get beat every week.

22-11-2009, 02:02 PM
As much as its a potentially bad result for us (assuming Rangers and Celtic eventually start to pull away) I just cant ever bring myself to want either ofthe bigot brothers to win.

Results like today just show how bad the old firm are and should give confidence to all in the league.

Would you rather see
a) Dundee Utd 1st/2nd and Hibs 4th
b) Hibs 3rd and Dundee Utd 4th

(obviously in the event of Hibs not finishing in the top 2)

euro Hibby
22-11-2009, 02:02 PM
always good when either of the old firm get beat. It does not help their confidence and good for those chasing. I would still say we have to improve 25 % to have a chance of second spot but the more teams beating the old firm the more chance we have.

TheMentalHibees
22-11-2009, 02:05 PM
Aye... But they'll destroy a team one of these days... :rolleyes:

The gulf in quality is there, if they play like that they'll win more than they lose don't you know :agree:

TheMentalHibees
22-11-2009, 02:08 PM

great win for Dundee Utd

A draw would have been a good result. As they have a game in hand, winning today means they are level on points with us with the chance to go ahead. Whenever one of our rivals gains points on us I hardly see how it's a good thing.

22-11-2009, 02:08 PM

great win for Dundee Utd

Because at the end of the season the OF will be 20+ points infront of us and if we are lucky we will be challanging with the likes of utd for 3rd place. The fewer unexpected points utd/hearts/m'well/aberdeen pick up the better for us. :agree:

'Mon the Hibs
22-11-2009, 02:11 PM
QUOTE: Tory Hibby- League table at end November last year

1 Celtic 16 25 43
2 Rangers 16 22 36
3 Hearts 16 0 29
4 Dundee Utd 16 5 26
5 Aberdeen 16 -1 21
6 Hibernian 16 -3 20
7 Kilmarnock 16 -8 19
8 Falkirk 16 -3 17
9 Inverness 16 -6 17
10 Motherwell 16 -8 17
11 Hamilton 16 -12 14
12 St Mirren 16 -11 12

Surely this year's situation is much better for all (and particularly us!).

League table now-

1 Rangers 11 13 25
2 Celtic 12 11 24
3 Hibernian 12 8 22
4 Dundee Utd 11 8 22
5 Motherwell 12 3 19
6 Aberdeen 12 -1 15
7 St Mirren 12 -3 13
8 St Johnstone 12 -5 12
9 Hearts 12 -5 10
10 Kilmarnock 12 -9 9
11 Hamilton 12 -11 9
12 Falkirk 12 -9 8

After 12 games, we have more points :thumbsup:

Celtc have almost half as many :greengrin:faf::bye:

And yams....... :faf::bye::top marks

22-11-2009, 02:12 PM
Because at the end of the season the OF will be 20+ points infront of us and if we are lucky we will be challanging with the likes of utd for 3rd place. The fewer unexpected points utd/hearts/m'well/aberdeen pick up the better for us. :agree:
I'm not so sure they will be this year.

22-11-2009, 02:15 PM
The gulf in quality is there, if they play like that they'll win more than they lose don't you know :agree:

"We are magnificent to watch and great at going forward, we are just very very unlucky". :blah:

I wonder how many times we will here that one from Saint Tony this season...

22-11-2009, 02:17 PM

Hopefully not. :agree:

For just now however, I would prefer to see the teams that we have been competing with for the last few years drop the points.

22-11-2009, 02:26 PM

Me neither and RP will be aware of this aswell.

While the backing he has given Yogi so far has been fantastic, if he can support Yogi again in January to bring in a few more of his "hidden gems", I am really starting to believe we could be there or there abouts come the end of the season. My only worry is that this may be the best opportunity we'll EVER have ie it's now or never.

22-11-2009, 02:27 PM
"We are magnificent to watch and great at going forward, we are just very very unlucky". :blah:

Hopefully lots and lots.:agree:

22-11-2009, 02:30 PM
A draw would have been a good result. As they have a game in hand, winning today means they are level on points with us with the chance to go ahead. Whenever one of our rivals gains points on us I hardly see how it's a good thing.

I must remember that Rangers and Celtic aren't our rivals next time we play them. I'll maybe give them a cheer whilst urging them on to beat us.

TheMentalHibees
22-11-2009, 02:30 PM

If the results keep going the way they are, we won't be hearing from him after Christmas :greengrin

22-11-2009, 02:39 PM
If the results keep going the way they are, we won't be hearing from him after Christmas :greengrin

I'm not sure who to place my money on...

Tony or Shabby... :hmmm:

Maybe we'll see a direct swap?

Imagine the amount of stick Tony would get for accepting the yams job. :devil:

22-11-2009, 03:06 PM
:boo hoo:GIRUY Mowbray!!!! :thumbsup:

TheMentalHibees
22-11-2009, 03:36 PM
I must remember that Rangers and Celtic aren't our rivals next time we play them. I'll maybe give them a cheer whilst urging them on to beat us.

Aye, go an point out where I said I wanted them to win.

22-11-2009, 03:42 PM
We have 2 home games up next, anyone know who the old squirm have in the next 2 ?

cad
22-11-2009, 03:43 PM
Me neither and RP will be aware of this aswell.

While the backing he has given Yogi so far has been fantastic, if he can support Yogi again in January to bring in a few more of his "hidden gems", I am really starting to believe we could be there or there abouts come the end of the season. My only worry is that this may be the best opportunity we'll EVER have ie it's now or never.

Tendy to agree Houchy ,Rangers and Celtic are playing the worst football in 30 years ,and with a bit of investment by RP and a bit of fight from the boys picking up points instead of draws we are very much in it .
The last 2 games at Tynie and Paisley Yogi if hes going to get us challenging has got a few hard situations to sort out

. 1. Stokes no doin heehaw ,Ibrox over a month ago thats it not what your expecting from someone of his calibre , still looks unfit IMO. .
2. Nishy our fall over offside machine maybe he deserves better service from our midfield in quality of balls up to him but you will win F/A on yer arse .
3. Rankin been with Hibs what 2,3 years now seasoned pro still not doing it passing is shocking ,I dont know if Cregg Galbraith, Wotherspoon or even Lewis is a better option, but we need a better option
4. Benji ,I like some dont most skillfull player we have IMO played out of position why to justify Yogis buys time to play hardball with your superstars Yogi ,,Benji will win you more fouls because of his skills and look at the array of players we have to take freekicks from them absolutly stupid to move Benji on
5. Time to buy our full backs and centre half in the Jan window
6. Zouma and Bamba away in the summer, plus the African Nations so if we are going to do anything this season the Jan transfer window is of the utmost importance
I just honestly feel we are not far away and because of the injury to Zemamma the midfield has stopped playing and hoofball has returned ,we need another playmaker Millers doing a grand job with Mc Bride Im not sure if the younger players I mentioned are the answer or we have to buy someone in Jan , I do know that Rankin and Nish are not the answer the last 2 games prove that , why persist with this formation .
I just think Yogi wants to raise the bar a little for our players its there for the taking all youve got to do is believe and grab it ,your not telling me we have anything to be afraid of Dun Utd just took 3 points of them, do you think they were brilliant today I didnt 2 good deliveries beat a terrible Celtic defence .Heid and Hoof were absolutly shocking for Celtic Gary Caldwell, Loovens come on ,ones slow the other canny tackle well he can if he can use his arms .
Great oppertunity for Hibs just now , I hope we dont bottle it :pray:

GGTTH:flag::flag:

22-11-2009, 03:45 PM
We have 2 home games up next, anyone know who the old squirm have in the next 2 ?

Next week

Celtic v St Mirren
Aberdeen v Rangers

Week after

Celtic v Aberdeen
Falkirk v Rangers

Not good for Aberdeen.

22-11-2009, 03:49 PM
Next week

Celtic v St Mirren
Aberdeen v Rangers

Week after

Celtic v Aberdeen
Falkirk v Rangers

Not good for Aberdeen.

Aberdeen pretty decent against the huns at todders, and Falkirk away wont be easy for the huns.

7Hero
22-11-2009, 03:51 PM
2-1 United

Darren Dods. :boo hoo:

how can you cry when the oldfirm get beat ? unless it means we dont win the league or hearts do, you should want them to lose every game, i know id ?

only time i want the oldfirm to win is against hearts...

22-11-2009, 04:07 PM
how can you cry when the oldfirm get beat ? unless it means we dont win the league or hearts do, you should want them to lose every game, i know id ?

only time i want the oldfirm to win is against hearts...

Because, like it or not, by the time we get to the split, Dundee Utd are likely to be our main challengers for 3rd place and Celtic and Rangers will be well clear in 1st and 2nd.

I want Dundee Utd, and probably Motherwell as well, to lose every single game that they play, except when they are playing Hearts.

22-11-2009, 04:14 PM

I made the same prediction myself that the old/firm would be 20+ points clear end of the season but that was based on the the fact that both teams were going through a bad patch.

The fact is the Huns/Tic are not going to get any better because they don't have the players they once had and both don't have the money to strengthen there teams come January.

The old firm look like they could drop points every game they play

22-11-2009, 04:26 PM
I made the same prediction myself that the old/firm would be 20+ points clear end of the season but that was based on the the fact that both teams were going through a bad patch.

The fact is the Huns/Tic are not going to get any better because they don't have the players they once had and both don't have the money to strengthen there teams come January.

:agree: Unfortunately so do we. :boo hoo:

22-11-2009, 04:33 PM

I think that we have shown in the last two matches that we are not capable of finishing in the top two. When we have one or two key players missing, we really struggle to play well and create chances.

If we have our starting XI (Zemmama especially) fit and available for the rest of the season then I might be tempted to agree that first or second is acheivable but I still think we will end up around 20 points behind, whichever half of the OF finishes 2nd, by the end of the season.

Although it's a vast improvement on last season's debacle and I think that Hughes will continue to improve us over time, I don't think that we are anywhere near as good as some Hibs fans like to think that we are.

Not yet anyway, hopefully it will come.

22-11-2009, 04:36 PM
:agree: Unfortunately so do we. :boo hoo:

So does virtually every team in the SPL this season.

A whole lot depends on who we have available for selection next week - we have a wee injury crisis brewing.

22-11-2009, 04:38 PM
So does virtually every team in the SPL this season.

A whole lot depends on who we have available for selection next week - we have a wee injury crisis brewing.
Better believe it Dodster. Without Zemamma and McBride we will struggle big time.

22-11-2009, 05:48 PM
Better believe it Dodster. Without Zemamma and McBride we will struggle big time.

My thoughts exactly - and Falkirk will be feeling good about themselves - first win of the season and all that. :agree:

JCHibby
22-11-2009, 06:07 PM
Good result and keeps this league very interesting for a while longer. Wonder how long Mowbray has left??

Some very interesting fixtures in the coming weeks, we have a number of games we should be aiming to win at home, including the huns. Interesting times.... Oh aye, and Hearts are gash:thumbsup::thumbsup: