View Full Version : Absolutely, it's a random no brainer....

New Corrie
17-11-2009, 11:11 AM
WTF is going on? Why is everyone using these words all the time....random this, random that, etc

I was in Comet...ask the man..... is that Sony LCD TV wall mountable?....Absolutely! comes the answer. Next question, what are these TV's over there?...Oh! they are just random LCD's, he says. Finally I asked....what would be better, The Sony or the Toshiba? well according to the man, that was a No Brainer apparrantly!!!!!

Would you all please stop doing it, it's really starting to annoy me.

Thankyou

My next rant is about Commercial Radio Station DJ's pretending to be American. Stop calling people "Dude" and saying things like "cranking up and kicking in"...you're from Falkirk and not Detroit....Central FM and Forth are not "WYKO Minnesota", so please stop it!!!! You are just one up from being the DJ at Bilston Miners Club......stop it now please.

Thankyou

17-11-2009, 11:29 AM
Other words that really get my goat are "communities" (business community, internet community etc) and solutions. Such as "personal beverage solutions" (public house). Private Eye run columns for both of these on a regualr basis.

Marabou Stork
17-11-2009, 11:57 AM
The word 'random' completely infuriates me.

Also infuriating me this week are:
'Should of'
People taking photos in the pub
'I've only had one hour of sleep in the last....'
The number 11.

17-11-2009, 12:04 PM
WTF is going on? Why is everyone using these words all the time....random this, random that, etc

I was in Comet...ask the man..... is that Sony LCD TV wall mountable?....Absolutely! comes the answer. Next question, what are these TV's over there?...Oh! they are just random LCD's, he says. Finally I asked....what would be better, The Sony or the Toshiba? well according to the man, that was a No Brainer apparrantly!!!!!

Thankyou

My next rant is about Commercial Radio Station DJ's pretending to be American. Stop calling people "Dude" and saying things like "cranking up and kicking in"...you're from Falkirk and not Detroit....Central FM and Forth are not "WYKO Minnesota", so please stop it!!!! You are just one up from being the DJ at Bilston Miners Club......stop it now please.

Thankyou

Absol... erm

Indubitably. :agree:

17-11-2009, 12:17 PM
God, how I hate those irritating trends where people sheepishly adopt the current (usually transatlantic) orthodoxy, thinking it makes them sound 'cool'. The kids have started adopting that dreadful Americanism "awesome" to describe almost anything that meets their approval. It's like fingernails running down a blackboard to me.

At least that odious practice of turning a statement? into a question? and pausing inappropriately? usually accompanied? with a slight cock of the head? seems to be on the wane?

If those who deployed this knew how ridiculous they appeared, they would stop. Perhaps someone has thankfully told them, as I haven't been subjected to that tosh for some time.

17-11-2009, 12:20 PM
The word "dude" really gets on my nerves, mostly heard when I'm walking around University and a group of clowns carrying man bags, getting their coffees from Costa and wearing stupid hats start and end each sentence with Dude. Should be shot.

17-11-2009, 12:28 PM
Dudes who want to shoot other dudes really bug me. :greengrin

17-11-2009, 12:34 PM
The word "dude" really gets on my nerves, mostly heard when I'm walking around University and a group of clowns carrying man bags, getting their coffees from Costa and wearing stupid hats start and end each sentence with Dude. Should be shot.

Dude, nothing wrong with coffee from Costa dude.

17-11-2009, 12:35 PM

Man bags should be banned. :jamboak:

17-11-2009, 12:36 PM
Agenda for meeting AM- Brainstorming :faf:

17-11-2009, 12:36 PM
Dudes who want to shoot other dudes really bug me. :greengrin

Dude, nothing wrong with coffee from Costa dude.

:grr::grr::grr::greengrin

17-11-2009, 12:48 PM
Hee hee languages evolve, that's their beauty so you are much better joining in than standing moaning about something you can't stop....

Personally I find it very random that some dude would get upset about the word random and think it is defo a no brainer to use the word awesome when something is pretty, urm well awesome!!

17-11-2009, 01:54 PM

Thankyou

Thankyou

You're soooooooo last century?

17-11-2009, 02:03 PM

Thankyou

Thankyou

whaaaatever:rolleyes: Thats soooooo random.

Tinyclothes
17-11-2009, 02:17 PM
My biggest hate is when adverts, usually for sofas or TVs say the individual numbers instead of the whole number in a lame attempt to make it sound cheap. 'This 3 piece leather sofa, now only six nine nine' It's six hundred and ninety nine you fud!

When people ask how old they are do they say 'I'm three one' No? Well don;t say it now then!!!!!

17-11-2009, 02:20 PM
My biggest hate is when adverts, usually for sofas or TVs say the individual numbers instead of the whole number in a lame attempt to make it sound cheap. 'This 3 piece leather sofa, now only six nine nine' It's six hundered and ninety nine you fud!

Maybe it's because they're not sure how to spell the word hundred.

Tinyclothes
17-11-2009, 02:23 PM
Maybe it's because they're not sure how to spell the word hundred.

noted

17-11-2009, 02:26 PM
noted

:paranoid:

17-11-2009, 02:26 PM
Totally.

RoslinInstHibby
17-11-2009, 02:27 PM
Man bags should be banned. :jamboak:
:grr::bitchy:

Tinyclothes
17-11-2009, 02:29 PM
:paranoid:

? Just meant I'd edited the spelling mistake.

17-11-2009, 02:34 PM
? Just meant I'd edited the spelling mistake.

Nae probs dude. :greengrin

17-11-2009, 02:47 PM
God, how I hate those irritating trends where people sheepishly adopt the current (usually transatlantic) orthodoxy, thinking it makes them sound 'cool'. The kids have started adopting that dreadful Americanism "awesome" to describe almost anything that meets their approval. It's like fingernails running down a blackboard to me.

At least that odious practice of turning a statement? into a question? and pausing inappropriately? usually accompanied? with a slight cock of the head? seems to be on the wane?

If those who deployed this knew how ridiculous they appeared, they would stop. Perhaps someone has thankfully told them, as I haven't been subjected to that tosh for some time.

And the word "awesome" - also one of my pet hates!

BravestHibs
17-11-2009, 02:56 PM
'SIMPLES'

Makes me want to hunt and kill.

LiverpoolHibs
17-11-2009, 03:02 PM
'SIMPLES'

Likewise.

I'll add people who say 'ass' instead of 'arse' to the ever growing list of annoyances.

17-11-2009, 03:05 PM
"Let's do lunch" :grr:

chorley_fm
17-11-2009, 03:22 PM
'SIMPLES'

nice one

Tinyclothes
17-11-2009, 03:28 PM
'SIMPLES'

I hate it when girls say no.

New Corrie
17-11-2009, 03:31 PM
You're soooooooo last century?

Funnily enough, that's what my son says to me...which results in him getting a dam good smacked bottom and despatched to his room without supper, then one is left in peace to listen to ones wireless.

BravestHibs
17-11-2009, 03:33 PM
People who call bands like the killers, razorlight, the view, oasis, U2, Muse, Kasabian, Calvin Harris, Coldplay, Florence and the Machine, the enemy, Green Day, Pete Docherty, Amy Winehouse, Babyshambles, Franz Ferdinand, the kooks and the klaxons, 'GENIUS'.

In an ideal world I'd concrete their ***** into the ground and watch them die from needing a toaley.

17-11-2009, 03:37 PM
Funnily enough, that's what my son says to me...which results in him getting a dam good smacked bottom and despatched to his room without supper, then one is left in peace to listen to ones wireless.Good idea with the supper - not so much as punishment, more for ensuring easy passage up and down the chimbleys.

17-11-2009, 04:04 PM
Not 'yoof speak' at all, but three bits of politician-speak are yanking my chain at the moment...

1. 'Hard working families'...this is referred to at least three times in every political speech at the moment. I'm desperate for someone to launch a policy for 'bone idle layabout families' but its not happened yet.
2.'Going forward' in place of 'in the future'.
3. 'Enter the world of work' in place of 'get a job'

All three, total nonsense:grr:

17-11-2009, 04:25 PM
Not 'yoof speak' at all, but three bits of politician-speak are yanking my chain at the moment...

1. 'Hard working families'...this is referred to at least three times in every political speech at the moment. I'm desperate for someone to launch a policy for 'bone idle layabout families' but its not happened yet.

Sure I read somewhere that Bleasdale considered, then rejected, "Giz access to the world of work" as Yosser's line.

17-11-2009, 04:57 PM
That fud Craig Burley always refers to "PEN"

Drives me nuts, why cant the tube just say penalty:grr:

17-11-2009, 05:06 PM
That fud Craig Burley always refers to "PEN"

Drives me nuts, why cant the tube just say penalty:grr:

I'm good with "Pen".

Marabou Stork
17-11-2009, 05:49 PM
People who call bands like the killers, razorlight, the view, oasis, U2, Muse, Kasabian, Calvin Harris, Coldplay, Florence and the Machine, the enemy, Green Day, Pete Docherty, Amy Winehouse, Babyshambles, Franz Ferdinand, the kooks and the klaxons, 'GENIUS'.

In an ideal world I'd concrete their ***** into the ground and watch them die from needing a toaley.

Agreed with this.

In a similar vein, the Arctic Monkeys, Kings of Leon, Killers, Razorlight etc. are most definitely not indie music. I'd suggest reading up on the term before using it.

Yes. I'm looking at you Jo Whiley. You witch-faced harridan.

17-11-2009, 07:03 PM
This thread is so totally right.

I wish I had of thought of it 1st.

17-11-2009, 07:08 PM

What about Gordon Brown and his 'Afghaniisation'? :grr:

17-11-2009, 07:17 PM
Brilliant thread Duncan...:thumbsup:

I usually walk Wee Toaods up the road en-route to her school before I head off to work and only this morning told her off... "Too much American crap when you are talking".:slipper:

don't forget the new opening line to most 15 yo lassies next sentence: "OHHHHHHHHH . MYYYYYY . god" :grr:

BMTTVE (best mates til the very end) - usually they've fallen out a couple of days later and stopped speaking...:faf:

another from the Gracemount school playground.. someone's giving it the big interesting story. The listeners loose interest and wander off...you've been DINGY-ed (?):titanic:

17-11-2009, 07:20 PM
don't forget the new opening line to most 15 yo lassies next sentence: "OHHHHHHHHH . MYYYYYY . god" :grr:

I blame Friends then the thick****s off of Big Brother for bringing that phrase into every sentence.

It nips ma heid.

17-11-2009, 07:24 PM
I blame Friends then the thick****s off of Big Brother for bringing that phrase into every sentence.

It nips ma heid.

:agree:.......it's like three different sentences.

17-11-2009, 07:30 PM
:agree:.......it's like three different sentences.Wot like this you mean?

. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfBh8rthdL0)

17-11-2009, 07:56 PM
"Its all good " - :grr:

"Sweet" - might sound "cool" when uttered by the "dudes" on Entourage but when uttered by the whiney ned on the bus :grr:

17-11-2009, 08:25 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showpost.php?p=2244623&postcount=53

17-11-2009, 08:42 PM
"Awesome"....when I see people using that word on here it reminds me of Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles. Maybe that's what they want though.

17-11-2009, 08:52 PM
I thought the poster 'In terms of',would have been on this thread. :greengrin

17-11-2009, 08:58 PM
another from the Gracemount school playground.. someone's giving it the big interesting story. The listeners loose interest and wander off...you've been DINGY-ed (?):titanic:

:faf: We used to say that when I was at school!!

17-11-2009, 09:00 PM
"Awesome"....when I see people using that word on here it reminds me of Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles. Maybe that's what they want though.

Excellent:thumbsup:

http://www.canadianshakespeares.ca/essays/images/BillTed3.jpg

also, dinghied is an ancient word, for someone who has been abandoned or left alone.

rainman
18-11-2009, 07:20 AM
I work in sales and have a f@nny from Crystal Palace sitting next to me who "Litterally is calling to purely see if the they are basically interested in our product.

Does my f***ing head in. That said, it probably wouldn't be a problem if he wasn't a tw@t.

18-11-2009, 08:23 AM

Thankyou

Thankyou

Wicked post.

18-11-2009, 06:38 PM
"you shoulda seen him, he was CHEESING." :confused:

18-11-2009, 06:43 PM

Thats wrong, its always 'pure cheesin like':confused::confused::confused:

vincipernoi
19-11-2009, 10:17 AM
the insertion of 'just' into every sentence

'thats just a great song' , 'it means everything to me, I just want to be on the show next week' etc etc

nae need.

the use of 'issue' instead of problem, matter, concern, item or 3 or 4 other more appropriate words

even more nae need.

19-11-2009, 10:53 AM
Common one doing my head in here at the minute is downloading!!! As in Gordon, are you in your office? We need to download.

Not what I want to dowload you stupid yank!!!!

19-11-2009, 11:05 AM
Common one doing my head in here at the minute is downloading!!! As in Gordon, are you in your office? We need to download.

Not what I want to dowload you stupid yank!!!!

Does downloading involve more or less than touching base? :dunno:

I don't like "How the hell are you?" instead of "How d'you do?" (said in a Paul Merton mock-toff accent).

Hank Schrader
19-11-2009, 11:27 AM
Anyone who uses the phrases "FAIL" or "EPIC FAIL" should be horse whipped in my opinion.

Also anyone who makes a statement about whats happening in their life followed by "good times" or "bad times" should also be subjected to brutal punishment.

And "simples" also gets my goat, I seem to in the minority when it comes to hating that wee meerkat ****.

That is all :greengrin

Danny_Hibee
19-11-2009, 11:54 AM
Wow, you would all hate me :greengrin

New Corrie
19-11-2009, 12:59 PM
"just as it says on the tin":grr:

"lets cut to the chase":grr:

Tinyclothes
19-11-2009, 01:58 PM
I don't understand when people add 'again' when saying the 'the next day'. As in, 'when you going to Malta to buy that faberge egg Duncan?' Not tomorrow but the next again day'

19-11-2009, 02:03 PM
"It's PC gone mad", or on here, " here come the PC brigade". :blah:

19-11-2009, 02:05 PM
Does downloading involve more or less than touching base? :dunno:

QUOTE]

Much much more than touching base:boo hoo:

[QUOTE=Tinyclothes;2246604]I don't understand when people add 'again' when saying the 'the next day'. As in, 'when you going to Malta to buy that faberge egg Duncan?' Not tomorrow but the next again day'

That would be next tomorrow in Nigeria.:greengrin

New Corrie
19-11-2009, 03:47 PM
I don't understand when people add 'again' when saying the 'the next day'. As in, 'when you going to Malta to buy that faberge egg Duncan?' Not tomorrow but the next again day'

19-11-2009, 07:55 PM
Anyone who uses the phrases "FAIL" or "EPIC FAIL" should be horse whipped in my opinion.

I agree.:agree:

19-11-2009, 08:03 PM
I agree.:agree:

:agree: "Fail" should only be used in jocular combination with "Stevie".

McHibby
19-11-2009, 09:27 PM

:hilarious I've not heard that word in years! Oh, that made me laugh - which brings me nicely to the thing which causes me such distress as to be practically ruining my life. These people are ruining my life. The ones who start and end every written utterance with "lol". I think I have a lolometer in my brain, which has a number that must not be passed. I don't know what this number is but once it has been breeched and I have seen too many ******ing "lol"s I will go berserk. Suicidally or homicidally - it could go either way really.

My other hate is of people who say, "I just wanted to speak to yourself...." :grr::grr::grr:

19-11-2009, 09:34 PM
:hilarious I've not heard that word in years! Oh, that made me laugh - which brings me nicely to the thing which causes me such distress as to be practically ruining my life. These people are ruining my life. The ones who start and end every written utterance with "lol". I think I have a lolometer in my brain, which has a number that must not be passed. I don't know what this number is but once it has been breeched and I have seen to many ******ing "lol"s I will go berserk. Suicidally or homocidally - it could go either way really.

My other hate is of people who say, "I just wanted to speak to yourself...." :grr::grr::grr:

LOL
:duck:
FAF

Marabou Stork
19-11-2009, 09:34 PM
:hilarious I've not heard that word in years! Oh, that made me laugh - which brings me nicely to the thing which causes me such distress as to be practically ruining my life. These people are ruining my life. The ones who start and end every written utterance with "lol". I think I have a lolometer in my brain, which has a number that must not be passed. I don't know what this number is but once it has been breeched and I have seen to many ******ing "lol"s I will go berserk. Suicidally or homocidally - it could go either way really.

Are you going to carry out a lolocaust?

< moonwalks out of thread >

19-11-2009, 09:35 PM

No, it would be called a loll instead of a poll.

19-11-2009, 09:38 PM
These people are ruining my life. The ones who start and end every written utterance with "lol". I think I have a lolometer in my brain, which has a number that must not be passed. I don't know what this number is but once it has been breeched and I have seen to many ******ing "lol"s I will go berserk. Suicidally or homocidally - it could go either way really.

You're going to kill yourself or a gay person because randoms write "lol" in their e-mails? :confused:

19-11-2009, 09:42 PM
You're going to kill yourself or a gay person because randoms write "lol" in their e-mails? :confused:

Oh. My. God. That'd be totally random.

McHibby
19-11-2009, 11:59 PM

:tee hee: I didn't even notice that. I have invented a new word!

Hom-o-cide [hom-oh-seyed]
From Latin. homicidium, from homo "man" + -cidium "act of killing."

Meaning: The killing of gays. Historically, this term would only be applied if a gay had been unlawfully killed by a crazed "lol" hater. In recent times this has been widened to include any such unlawful killing of a homosexual person.

20-11-2009, 12:10 AM
Lol/lmao/rofl/lol'd/any variation.
Random
Cheesin'.
Pure.
Like.
Totally.
OhEmGee.
WTF.
Fail/epic fail.
Epic. (that party was EPIC).
Hot. (e.g. That would be so hot, let's do that!:confused:)
Lush. (words cannot describe how grating this is).
Legendary. (only acceptable when said by Barney Stinson. Not to describe that game of FIFA you won on your XBox last night).
Actually. (I was ACTUALLY so excited. You mean she ACTUALLY said that?)

20-11-2009, 12:14 AM
Hows you. :grr::grr::grr:

I've been on the verge of telling people to **** off when they've said this to me. Does my **** in.

20-11-2009, 07:22 AM
Someone mentioned it earlier but 'would of' really is a shocker. How have people even come up with this?! I didn't actually see this outrage until a couple of years back when a girl at work said it in e-mails a lot, now it seems loads of people do it!

People on Facebook status saying they are doing something exciting and following it up with "woop woop!" - :grr: 100 times worse when it's a male as well.

BravestHibs
20-11-2009, 08:06 AM

Super.

20-11-2009, 08:40 AM
Someone mentioned it earlier but 'would of' really is a shocker. How have people even come up with this?! I didn't actually see this outrage until a couple of years back when a girl at work said it in e-mails a lot, now it seems loads of people do it!

People on Facebook status saying they are doing something exciting and following it up with "woop woop!" - :grr: 100 times worse when it's a male as well.

I had a disagreement with a guy at work a couple of years back when I told him to change his letter. He was adamant that “should of” was correct.

Of course I won the argument :greengrin but he’s probably out there somewhere still convinced that he’s right.

Where / Were is another recent one that’s appearing more and more – how did that come about??!

20-11-2009, 08:46 AM
I had a disagreement with a guy at work a couple of years back when I told him to change his letter. He was adamant that “should of” was correct.

Of course I won the argument :greengrin but he’s probably out there somewhere still convinced that he’s right.

Where / Were is another recent one that’s appearing more and more – how did that come about??!

How can you POSSIBLY think that is correct? It makes no sense!

I just love arguments where you know you are right, my favourites :greengrin

Hank Schrader
20-11-2009, 08:56 AM

How can you POSSIBLY think that is correct? It makes no sense!

I just love arguments where you know you are right, my favourites :greengrin

And it is damn frustrating when they won't listen to you and still think they are right!!! :grr: :greengrin

stu in nottingham
20-11-2009, 11:02 AM
Agree with all the examples on this thread. This one brings out the mass murderer in me though. You know, that thing where people instead of saying 'yes' go 'yeh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah..'

I've noticed it seems to be catching when some people are in company with other people joining in a 'yeh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah..' chorus of sorts.

Edit: 'Woot'. Can anyone explain what that means exactly?

Rory89
20-11-2009, 02:52 PM

My brother (lived most of his life in Edinburgh like me) was saying how when he stayed in student accomodation people from different parts of Scotland all kind of took on eachothers phrases to an extent. Apparently when his flatmate from Prestwick was back home for the holidays he was having a meal with his family and without thinking said "I was cheesing" whilst telling a story.

His whole family looked round at him with a look of confusion before all pissing themself laughing. :greengrin

Anyway, the worst phrase in the world is "for the banter", hate it. "Do you want to go to the pub for the banter?". I suppose good banter is part of going to the pub, so yes. "Do you want to make pasta for the banter"?

No, I want to see you die a slow, humiliating and painful death, for the banter.

20-11-2009, 04:17 PM
its idea not ****ing idear :grr::grr::grr:

20-11-2009, 06:29 PM

I believe it's a noise used to indicate delight or extreme excitement, especially immediately prior to an event planned that involves getting ratted with friends in bars.
:cool2:

HibsMax
20-11-2009, 06:50 PM
The word 'random' completely infuriates me.

Also infuriating me this week are:
'Should of'
People taking photos in the pub
'I've only had one hour of sleep in the last....'
The number 11.

Infuriating me this week are people who say, "Should of" instead of "Should have".

20-11-2009, 07:28 PM
:hilarious I've not heard that word in years! Oh, that made me laugh - which brings me nicely to the thing which causes me such distress as to be practically ruining my life. These people are ruining my life. The ones who start and end every written utterance with "lol". I think I have a lolometer in my brain, which has a number that must not be passed. I don't know what this number is but once it has been breeched and I have seen too many ******ing "lol"s I will go berserk. Suicidally or homicidally - it could go either way really.

It gets worse; my daughter's friend at school actually says 'lol' (instead of taking the trouble to laugh) in conversation:grr: not 'el-oh-el', mind, just 'lol'.

Twa Cairpets
20-11-2009, 08:22 PM
People doing the little "raise the roof" upwards hands movements. First time I ever saw it was Richard Gough (C**** M*******) when he came back to the Huns.

Therefore anyone doing it is a follower of that particularly vile example of hunnery, and will be first against the wall come the Carpet revolution!

20-11-2009, 08:35 PM
People doing the little "raise the roof" upwards hands movements. First time I ever saw it was Richard Gough (C**** M*******) when he came back to the Huns.

Therefore anyone doing it is a follower of that particularly vile example of hunnery, and will be first against the wall come the Carpet revolution!

Can 't wait for it, laminate flooring is so last year :wink:

20-11-2009, 10:14 PM
Lets meet up and get our heads together :grr:
To be spasifick

And the one that i cannot fathom is when people close their eyes when talking to you. WTF ?
My Boss does it and i just want to run away and hide so he'll wonder where i am when he opens them again:greengrin

Folk that do this tend to raise their eyebrows at the same time which gives the impression that their eyelids are glued together.
Its weird ! Grow up man:grr:

21-11-2009, 01:16 AM
EPIC FAIL:grr:

just why?:bitchy:

Also when people add "much" to the end of their sentence e.g. bothered much:confused:

21-11-2009, 01:58 PM
Chillax

21-11-2009, 10:25 PM
The letter 'k' used to represent "Okay."

e.g. I'll phone you tomorrow, k?

That really gets my goat.

21-11-2009, 10:36 PM
oh, and people who abbreviate things.
I've had to google the following:

DILLIGAF
DIAF
NEGL
JFGI

I found out what they are, anyone care to hazard a guess at what they may mean?

New Corrie
22-11-2009, 06:00 AM
oh, and people who abbreviate things.

DILLIGAF
DIAF
NEGL
JFGI

Totally out of order, just a harmless thread, yet you use the DIAF (Duncan is a Fud) abbreviation!!!

The only other one I know is JFGI which obviously is "Jambo Fanny Gorgie Inbreds"

22-11-2009, 09:44 AM

JFGI

22-11-2009, 11:20 AM
Brangelina
Brandelson
Jedward...

Its like, y'know, literally just sortae totally random.

22-11-2009, 08:37 PM

Yep. Felt right ridiculous.

22-11-2009, 09:38 PM

Do I look like I give a ****?...:rolleyes:

22-11-2009, 10:01 PM
Do I look like I give a ****?...:rolleyes:

The worst part is someone actually said to me "Dilly Gaff,' which had me stumped.

What's the world coming to etc. :grr:

23-11-2009, 04:43 AM
Got the dreaded "elephant in the room" comment yesterday:boo hoo:

23-11-2009, 09:39 AM
You've opened a real can of worms here, Duncan.

I have a good Hibby friend who hails from one of the less salubrious parts of our city, and he has this irritating habit of saying 'dinny go there' or 'you dinny want tae go there.'

Apart from the fact that the hybrid of this bland 80's New York yuppie phrase and his unreconstructed Edinburgh scheme vowels are a true marriage made in hell, he insists on slavish deploying this annoying term at any given opportunity. Like at the game on Saturday.

ME: We're being overrun in the middle. I'd be tempted to put Bamba in the holding role and move the central partnership of Hogg and Murray, with Spoony moving to full-back.

HIM: Ye dinny want tae go there. No enough height. We got away with it against Hertz but let's no push our luck.

ME: Galbraith on. Good to see Yogi's trying to win the game.

HIM (loud to the direction of the bench) : Dinny ******in well go there, Hughes!

I counted four on Saturday. Not a lot, but now that this thread's got me thinking about it, I anxiously anticipate the next one. I'm considering about confronting him with this, for my own mental health's sake.

23-11-2009, 09:44 AM
I'm considering about confronting him with this, for my own mental health's sake.

Dinnae go there unless at the end of the day it's a win-win situation.

New Corrie
23-11-2009, 09:58 AM
You've opened a real can of worms here, Duncan.

I have a good Hibby friend who hails from one of the less salubrious parts of our city, and he has this irritating habit of saying 'dinny go there' or 'you dinny want tae go there.'

Apart from the fact that the hybrid of this bland 80's New York yuppie phrase and his unreconstructed Edinburgh scheme vowels are a true marriage made in hell, he insists on slavish deploying this annoying term at any given opportunity. Like at the game on Saturday.

ME: We're being overrun in the middle. I'd be tempted to put Bamba in the holding role and move the central partnership of Hogg and Murray, with Spoony moving to full-back.

HIM: Ye dinny want tae go there. No enough height. We got away with it against Hertz but let's no push our luck.

ME: Galbraith on. Good to see Yogi's trying to win the game.

HIM (loud to the direction of the bench) : Dinny ******in well go there, Hughes!

I counted four on Saturday. Not a lot, but now that this thread's got me thinking about it, I anxiously anticipate the next one. I'm considering about confronting him with this, for my own mental health's sake.

I can relate to that Bob, a pal of mine has managed to slip the words Basically and Actually into his Sighthill dialect.....

Me...That wasn't the worse result today

Him..Basically we were pash, but actually it wisnae a bad result

Me..These are games we would have lost in the past

Him..Basically Mixu didnae have a clue, but actually we're still rank

Me..Good reult for St Johnstone though

Him..Basically I coudnae gie a pheck aboot Hertz, I actually want them tae be like total phecked.

Me.. You wont get any argument from me on that last point.

23-11-2009, 12:25 PM
Ha ha some good examples on this thread but I'm clearly in the minority as I positively enjoy spreading daft words and new phrases.....chillax is a great example of daft wordiness that should be positively encouraged but my fav this year was staycation.

I do however agree with the poster who posted 'banter'...I frequently find this annoying, mainly because it's often used retrospectively as an excuse "relax it was only meant to be a bit of banter"...you mean it was offensive but was somehow meant to be funny but wasn't....another is crac or however it is meant to be written.

23-11-2009, 02:12 PM
To be spasifick

And the one that i cannot fathom is when people close their eyes when talking to you. WTF ?
My Boss does it and i just want to run away and hide so he'll wonder where i am when he opens them again:greengrin

Folk that do this tend to raise their eyebrows at the same time which gives the impression that their eyelids are glued together.

I think it's been said but the 'Yeah, yeah... yeah, yep, yeah, yep, yep' when you are telling someone something or giving them an overview. STFU!!! (has anyone pointed that one out? :greengrin

23-11-2009, 02:16 PM
Ha ha some good examples on this thread but I'm clearly in the minority as I positively enjoy spreading daft words and new phrases.....chillax is a great example of daft wordiness that should be positively encouraged but my fav this year was staycation.

I do however agree with the poster who posted 'banter'...I frequently find this annoying, mainly because it's often used retrospectively as an excuse "relax it was only meant to be a bit of banter"...you mean it was offensive but was somehow meant to be funny but wasn't....another is crac or however it is meant to be written.

I find that people use 'for the banter' when they've run out of stuff to say, sort of like a gap filler until they can think of something else. People who speak to fast for their own brain. I'd agree that it is used as an excuse as well.

24-11-2009, 05:59 PM
To be spasifick

OMG...........you must be really ugly !

football people using the word "relish" get my goat.(and WTF does "get my goat" mean anyway :grr:)

25-11-2009, 10:32 AM
I have to add in some from using facebook.

Girls who murder words, for example "meeting up with the girlees" or "drinkees tonight?" should be given a boot up the arse.

There's nae need:grr:.

25-11-2009, 11:08 AM
Jeezo, it's like an episode of 'Grumpy Old Men' in here :wink:

*Think you all need to take a chill pill....:greengrin

Simples!

*very rich coming from me lol

Twa Cairpets
25-11-2009, 12:32 PM

I think it's been said but the 'Yeah, yeah... yeah, yep, yeah, yep, yep' when you are telling someone something or giving them an overview. STFU!!! (has anyone pointed that one out? :greengrin

Similar, but an even worse subset is when people - usually salesmen - use you name far, far too often. "Well Mr Carpets, we think that our proposal is good for you Mr Carpets, and to be honest Mr Carpets, its a no-brainer option for you Mr Carpets. Well Mr Carpets, what do you think of the "future-state" we have described Mr Carpets?"

I know my name. Gie it a rest!

25-11-2009, 01:41 PM

Thankyou

Thankyou

Remember when you point a finger..there are 3 pointing back at you

11-12-2009, 03:37 PM
Having been out for a Christmas drink last night with some old pals, another thing that realy is getting on my nerves is people's tendency to describe any slightly off-beat situation as 'surreal'.

I had it all last night; from mundane TV to Christmas decorations, one friend felt the need to prefix everything with this term.

Surreal.

11-12-2009, 04:26 PM
Having been out for a Christmas drink last night with some old pals, another thing that realy is getting on my nerves is people's tendency to describe any slightly off-beat situation as 'surreal'.

I had it all last night; from mundane TV to Christmas decorations, one friend felt the need to prefix everything with this term.

Surreal.

Best not to dally in company like that.

12-12-2009, 12:14 AM
what gives?

That`s one of my pet hates. More to follow...:greengrin

20-12-2009, 09:10 PM

Thankyou

Thankyou

This is that true rarity, a Corrie Greens post that I whole heartedly agree with.:thumbsup:

northseahibby
21-12-2009, 09:19 PM
My 2 faves........I DONT WANT TO BE CHEEKY BUT.........and the journey one........its been some journey....

TariqE
22-12-2009, 06:27 PM
Agree with all the examples on this thread. This one brings out the mass murderer in me though. You know, that thing where people instead of saying 'yes' go 'yeh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah..'

I've noticed it seems to be catching when some people are in company with other people joining in a 'yeh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah..' chorus of sorts.

Woot started off in reference to objects or items of desire- Want One Of Those.

You got a new i-pod? Woot!

Now though, I think it's become some kind of general yelp of delight.