View Full Version : Sol Bamba

Harpandcastle
14-11-2009, 07:59 PM
Looks like he played 90 mins today in a 3 nil victory. Team line up at FIFA.com

http://www.fifa.com/Live/Competitions/worldcup/preliminaries/matchday=14/index.html

14-11-2009, 08:01 PM

http://www.fifa.com/Live/Competitions/worldcup/preliminaries/matchday=14/index.html

Sol is a good player and with any luck at all he'll have a very good WC and bring in a LOVELY BIG FEE in the summer. :devil:

14-11-2009, 08:08 PM
Sol is a good player and with any luck at all he'll have a very good WC and bring in a LOVELY BIG FEE in the summer. :devil:

We should resist any temptation to sell him in January... unless his fee can be used to get someone more 'long term in' (and not Barr as he's out of contract next summer!!!).

BH.

14-11-2009, 09:08 PM

Quick 'recovery' fae his 'injured knee' then :cool2:

:devil:

14-11-2009, 09:42 PM

7 or 8 days could be enough to recover - depends on how bad the injury was.

14-11-2009, 09:48 PM
Bamba should be here for the derby at New Year but will be away for the rest January. Hopefully that should at least see him remain a Hibs player until the end of the season, but a good WC and he'll be off, but hopefully then we'll receive for a good fee for him.

How long is Bambas contract for? :dunno:

14-11-2009, 10:30 PM
Remember, Bamba had over a week to recover so it's not exactly a miracle cure.

The thing is, Bamba has his eyes on much bigger things than just another game against Kaunas reserves.

He may never again get a chance to play in a World Cup, let alone one in Africa.

He will want to keep playing for his country to keep his name in the frame.

If he misses any IC game because of injury, he might lose his place so he won't want to risk that, particularly if he has a niggle before a game like the derby.

Sure, that's disappointing for us, but I can understand his priorities.

He'll be back next week and I'm sure he'll give his all. If he's fit.

glenn6270
14-11-2009, 10:31 PM
injured knee my erky more like a wee spat with stokes and
eh dummy oot

15-11-2009, 06:28 AM
injured knee my erky more like a wee spat with stokes and
eh dummy oot

So, reading between the lines, he got sold a dummy and spat the Stokes out?

I hate early mornings :boo hoo:

15-11-2009, 06:37 AM
If he was injured last week I'll eat my hat.

15-11-2009, 07:07 AM

He was injured the week before but took an injection to play.

15-11-2009, 08:33 AM
according to yogi, hes been carrying the knee injury all season.:agree:

15-11-2009, 08:48 AM
I see that the Ivory Coast have a friendly fixture against Germany on Wednesday.

If the big yin plays in that game then I suspect he'll not feature for us against St Mirren.

15-11-2009, 10:06 AM
I see that the Ivory Coast have a friendly fixture against Germany on Wednesday.

If the big yin plays in that game then I suspect he'll not feature for us against St Mirren.

Is that game still on, after the keepers suicide?

15-11-2009, 10:19 AM
Is that game still on, after the keepers suicide?

Good question - I forgot about that.

15-11-2009, 10:22 AM

The thing is, Bamba has his eyes on much bigger things than just another game against Kaunas reserves.

He may never again get a chance to play in a World Cup, let alone one in Africa.

If he misses any IC game because of injury, he might lose his place so he won't want to risk that, particularly if he has a niggle before a game like the derby.

We pay his wages week in week out, not the IC :bitchy:

15-11-2009, 10:22 AM
Ivory Coast v Germany

Looks like the game is scheduled to go ahead.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/8356600.stm

15-11-2009, 10:35 AM

Obviously, but surely you can understand any player would want to play in the world cup finals.

We're always quick to critisise Rantic players for withdrawing from Scotland squads. Folk on another thread are arguing that Derek Riordan should pull out of the Scotland team cos he's bei ng asked to wait for a start.
Here is a player desparate to represent his country, regardless of what he's asked to do.

I'm not saying I condone what he did (aledgedly), I don't, but I do understand why.

It's what happens now that matters.

15-11-2009, 11:13 AM

If he plays in major tournaments and attracts the interest of a club in one of the big leagues, I think Hibs may just about get over the fact that he didn't risk further injury in a derby match.

15-11-2009, 11:35 AM

Suggest when you get the chance speak to anyone close to the club and they will tell you he was only doing the lightest of training all that week
Charity shops sell cheap hats :wink:

15-11-2009, 11:37 AM

Oh you cynic you.Was a quick recovery right enough though. :greengrin

15-11-2009, 05:37 PM
Oh you cynic you.Was a quick recovery right enough though. :greengrin

:cool2:

15-11-2009, 05:49 PM
Suggest when you get the chance speak to anyone close to the club and they will tell you he was only doing the lightest of training all that week
Charity shops sell cheap hats :wink:

Suggest if you get the chance to speak to the physio at the club ask if Bamba went near him all week including the fateful Friday.

15-11-2009, 05:50 PM

I can't. Hopefully he'll be good enough to hand back his wages:cool2:

15-11-2009, 06:34 PM
Suggest if you get the chance to speak to the physio at the club ask if Bamba went near him all week including the fateful Friday.

Haven't spoken with the physio but two players told me, on Saturday, that for the previous two days , at least , he had been with the physio's as soon as he arrived at EM and had only taken part in jogging and light training .
They certainly didn't think there was anything "sinister " going on .

A case pf who do you believe :greengrin

15-11-2009, 06:37 PM
Haven't spoken with the physio but two players told me, on Saturday, that for the previous two days , at least , he had been with the physio's as soon as he arrived at EM and had only taken part in jogging and light training .
They certainly didn't think there was anything "sinister " going on .

A case pf who do you believe :greengrin

Indeed.

15-11-2009, 06:39 PM

Nowhere to be seen last week at Swiney either :cool2: