View Full Version : Ireland v France

14-11-2009, 07:09 PM
Anyone ken if Miller is still doubtfull for tonight? and is Stokes likely to start?.

Cheers.

14-11-2009, 07:10 PM
I think Miller's out the squad altogether. I doubt Stokes will start.

14-11-2009, 07:10 PM
Anyone ken if Miller is still doubtfull for tonight? and is Stokes likely to start?.

Cheers.

Miller came back from ROI squad injured....

14-11-2009, 07:12 PM
They'll most likely start Keane and Doyle up front.

Miller's back in Edinburgh

14-11-2009, 07:13 PM
I think Miller's out the squad altogether. I doubt Stokes will start.

Miller is out :agree:

He came back early to receive treatment at our training centre..

14-11-2009, 07:17 PM
Cheers guys.

Lets hope Stokesy gets a wee game and has a positive outcome on the match.

Good luck ROI but ive got France in my treble :greengrin

'Mon the Hibs
14-11-2009, 07:25 PM
From Beeb....

Republic of Ireland team to play France: Given, O'Shea, St Ledger, Dunne, Kilbane, Duff, Andrews, Whelan, Lawrence, Doyle, Keane

14-11-2009, 07:40 PM
From Beeb....

Republic of Ireland team to play France: Given, O'Shea, St Ledger, Dunne, Kilbane, Duff, Andrews, Whelan, Lawrence, Doyle, Keane

Stokesy on the bench???

14-11-2009, 07:41 PM
Stokesy on the bench???

Pretty sure he will be aye :agree:

14-11-2009, 07:45 PM
Stokesy on the bench???

Nope

14-11-2009, 07:45 PM
Looking at the SSN team he isnt on the bench.

14-11-2009, 07:47 PM
Looking at the SSN team he isnt on the bench.

What :boo hoo:

14-11-2009, 07:48 PM
Nope

Thats a bit gash.

14-11-2009, 07:51 PM
What :boo hoo:

The team list that Sky Sports news put out on their score updater.

14-11-2009, 07:53 PM
Thats a bit gash.

Aye, but at least he's got less chance of coming back injured like Mr Miller did :wink:

14-11-2009, 07:54 PM
Aye, but at least he's got less chance of coming back injured like Mr Miller did :wink:

Suppose thats true to be honest.

14-11-2009, 07:54 PM
Stokes isn't worthy of a place up front for the Republic..too slow and overweight IMHO.

I've done a 2-2 double on ROI v France and Portugal(no Ronaldo) v Bosnia.

Odds of 389/1 seemed worth a quid.

FRes Hibbie
14-11-2009, 08:07 PM
What has Stokes done to deserve a place in the Ireland team? Not much. Goal at Rangers was good but apart from that...

14-11-2009, 08:51 PM
What has Stokes done to deserve a place in the Ireland team? Not much. Goal at Rangers was good but apart from that...

Anyone from the Republic who scores against Rangers at Ibrox which means they don't win is given cult status immeadiately, whether they merit it or not is an entirely different matter.

FRes Hibbie
14-11-2009, 09:31 PM
Anyone from the Republic who scores against Rangers at Ibrox which means they don't win is given cult status immeadiately, whether they merit it or not is an entirely different matter.

Cult status in the eyes of Hibs fans or Ireland fans?

blueisthecolour
14-11-2009, 09:32 PM
1:sauzee:-0 to the Blues

Hibbie_Cameron
14-11-2009, 09:33 PM
Ireland are awful, even we beat this mob twice:greengrin

CyberSauzee
14-11-2009, 09:38 PM
Ireland are awful, even we beat this mob twice:greengrin

Caldwell's shinned goal - who could forget! A very rare highlight - indeed the only highlight I can think of - in the career of an overpaid carthorse.

14-11-2009, 09:40 PM
Caldwell's shinned goal - who could forget! A very rare highlight - indeed the only highlight I can think of - in the career of an overpaid carthorse.

He also "scored" with a bird at Ibrox:wink:

14-11-2009, 10:09 PM
Cult status in the eyes of Hibs fans or Ireland fans?

I meant Ireland.

15-11-2009, 12:42 AM
Did `Trap' really expect to subdue France using garbage like McGeady and carthorses like Hunt?

It needed some Stokes style to make the breakthrough.

15-11-2009, 12:43 AM
He should boycott the ROI team, until that jakey manager is sacked.:devil:

blueisthecolour
15-11-2009, 12:44 AM
Did `Trap' really expect to subdue France using garbage like McGeady and carthorses like Hunt?

never did I think I would stick up for this player, but he was a sub and only played about 20 mins:confused:

Edinburgh Green
15-11-2009, 12:48 AM
never did I think I would stick up for this player, but he was a sub and only played about 20 mins:confused:

Because the Trap realised that he is a useless twat who has no end product :dunno:

blueisthecolour
15-11-2009, 12:50 AM
Because the Trap realised that he is a useless twat who has no end product :dunno:

Yes I agree, but the op seems to be putting some blame on mcgeadys

15-11-2009, 12:51 AM

He flounced around for those twenty minutes, twice passing a ball to a player who was in a worse position than him, just because a French defender came within a few feet of him. Nonentity at international level, who looks good against SPL dross protected by OF orientated referees.

Trap went with Lawrence instead of him as Ireland would have punished down that flank had McGeady been given a start.

15-11-2009, 12:54 AM
Yes I agree, but the op seems to be putting some blame on mcgeadys

Bluenose sticking up for Ireland AND a Celtc player?!
In the same post?!
:faint:

Jack? Is that you under all that blue?
:devil:

blueisthecolour
15-11-2009, 12:58 AM
He flounced around for those twenty minutes, twice passing a ball to a player who was in a worse position than him, just because a French defender came within a few feet of him. Nonentity at international level, who looks good against SPL dross protected by OF orientated referees.

Trap went with Lawrence instead of him as Ireland would have punished down that flank had McGeady been given a start.

I can't say I disagree with what you say, but you can't blame a guy who got 20 mins, when the rest of the team couldn't do the business, The manager obviously though Mcgeady would be a better option than stokes, and was he not unlucky not to put the ball in the net denied by a good stop from the keeper.

blueisthecolour
15-11-2009, 01:01 AM
Bluenose sticking up for Ireland AND a Celtc player?!
In the same post?!
:faint:

Jack? Is that you under all that blue?
:devil:

:grr::grr::grr:

15-11-2009, 01:01 AM
I can't say I disagree with what you say, but you can't blame a guy who got 20 mins, when the rest of the team couldn't do the business, The manager obviously though Mcgeady would be a better option than stokes, and was he not unlucky not to put the ball in the net denied by a good stop from the keeper.

Not blaming McGreedy, blaming Trap for being so negative. The game was crying out for a striker with just one thing on his mind.

blueisthecolour
15-11-2009, 01:05 AM
Not blaming McGreedy, blaming Trap for being so negative. The game was crying out for a striker with just one thing on his mind.

Fair enough, I can get back to hating the wee ........ that he is.

15-11-2009, 01:26 AM

Maybe he didn't think he was up to scratch fitness wise?