View Full Version : Bobby Smith

If Only
13-11-2009, 02:17 PM
For all you older hibbys who remember Bobby. I was talking to George Stewart last night he told me that Bobby has cancer. 55YEARS old what a waste. Bound to be some memories of him.

hibbie02
13-11-2009, 02:21 PM
For all you older hibbys who remember Bobby. I was talking to George Stewart last night he told me that Bobby has cancer. 55YEARS old what a waste. Bound to be some memories of him.

Very sorry to hear that.

13-11-2009, 02:24 PM
Aye heard about this a few days ago...........sad news.

plhibs
13-11-2009, 02:24 PM
Heard that from my brother last weekend, he works out at the airport. Remember Bobby very well from school days and playing footie with him, used to have a few pints in his pub on my trips home. Very sorry to hear this,too young.

MUSSI LEE
13-11-2009, 02:31 PM
one of my favourite players when growing up.hated when he got sold to leicester.however bobby came back on loan to hibs im sure 1982 season and scored in a 2 all draw v killie maybe im wrong but im sure he did score in that game.sorry to hear that

13-11-2009, 02:31 PM
Is he an ex player?

Very Sad news to hear about anyone.

If Only
13-11-2009, 02:35 PM
Is he an ex player?

Bobby Smith (Scottish footballer)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)#column-one), search (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)#searchInput)
Bobby SmithPersonal informationDate of birth21 December 1953 (1953-12-21) (age 55)Place of birth Dalkeith (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalkeith), Scotland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland)Playing positionLeft back (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_(football))
Midfielder (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder)Youth careerMusselburgh Windsor (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Musselburgh_Windsor&action=edit&redlink=1)Senior career1YearsClubApp (Gls)*1972–1978
1978–1986
1986–1987
1987–1989
1989–1990
1990–1991Hibernian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.)
Leicester City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leicester_City_F.C.)
→ Peterborough United (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peterborough_United_F.C.) (loan)
→ Hibernian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.) (loan)
Hibernian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.)
Dunfermline Athletic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunfermline_Athletic_F.C.)
Partick Thistle (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Partick_Thistle_F.C.)
Berwick Rangers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berwick_Rangers_F.C.)152 (19)
181 (21)
005 0(0)
005 0(0)
010 0(0)
066 0(1)
030 0(1)
026 0(0) 1 Senior club appearances and goals
counted for the domestic league only.
* Appearances (Goals)
Bobby Smith (born 21 December 1953 in Dalkeith (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalkeith)) is a Scottish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_people) former association football (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football) player, who played most prominently for Hibernian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.) and Leicester City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leicester_City_F.C.).
He later played for a Dunfermline (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunfermline_Athletic_F.C.) side that gained promotion to the Premier Division (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Premier_League), but was released (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_transfer_(football)) at the end of that season (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1988-89_in_Scottish_football).[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)#cite_note-st-0) After ending his career with spells at Partick Thistle (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Partick_Thistle_F.C.) and Berwick Rangers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berwick_Rangers_F.C.), Smith became a taxi (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taxicab) driver. [1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)#cite_note-st-0) Later he ran a pub in Dalkeith called Smith's Bar.
[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)&action=edit&section=1)] References

^ a (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)#cite_ref-st_0-0) b (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Smith_(Scottish_footballer)#cite_ref-st_0-1) Caught in Time: Dunfermline win the First Division, 1989 (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/article717317.ece), The Sunday Times (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sunday_Times), 22 January 2006.

Jeffrey, Jim (2005). The Men Who Made

Groathillgrump
13-11-2009, 02:39 PM
Is he an ex player?

Here's Bobby (on the right of the picture) with trademark perm and tache.

maturehibby
13-11-2009, 02:42 PM
Would use Ian Murray as a similar status as to how Bobby was regarded by Hibs fans when at ER not as going away coming back thing but in regard a to how his esteem was as a Hibs player

Stonewall
13-11-2009, 02:46 PM
Is he an ex player?

A very good player in an era when we had few.

Very sad to hear this.

13-11-2009, 02:47 PM

Earning him the MHHM nickname of "The Perminator"

Great wee player and so very sad to hear this news

13-11-2009, 02:54 PM
I remember him and liked him as a player, sad news.

I’m sure though the guy that was always just behind me must have been his biggest fan BAWLING in my ear ‘Cummoan Boaby fae Dalkeith’ every two minutes!

And he tried to chat up my wee sister, more than once, in the D.I.S.C.O. that’s now been rebuilt as the Broo up Tollcross/Bread Street way (Elephant & Castle???).

Oh aye, and his hair!!!

capi
13-11-2009, 03:06 PM
Seen him a few times this season at Spartans matches. Last time he was chatting to Derek Rodier and I must say I'm surprised at this sad news as he looked well.

Green_one
13-11-2009, 03:10 PM
For all you older hibbys who remember Bobby. I was talking to George Stewart last night he told me that Bobb has cancer. 55YEARS old what a waste. Bound to be some memories of him.

Did he not run rings around anderson one wet new years day game? Win for the Hibees.

I saw him play for Leicester City one time too.

Real shame

13-11-2009, 03:14 PM
I remember him from his second spell at Hibs. There was a real buzz around the ground whenever he got the ball.

Sad news indeed.

13-11-2009, 03:27 PM
I was absolutely gutted when he left for Leicester City FC, but no half a gutted to hear this terrible news..ffs...it's no right.

Got lots of good memories, he was such a good footballer and a great Hibs player.:greengrin

Best wishes to you, BS

13-11-2009, 03:28 PM

That was taken early in his Hibs career I'd say as that must be late 70's IMO but it was some hairdo he had for sure! :agree: :greengrin

I'm sure that's Ally Scott, a Hun who came to Hibs rather than the other way around, beside him! :wink:

Used to know a few Hibs players back in the 70's (:wink:) and often "bumped" into them when cutting about town usually in Aquarius which was in Grindlay Street, now the Citrus Club I think, or Walkers, now the lap dancing bar in Shandwick Place! Bobby was always good company! :agree:

Sorry to hear about Bobby's illness and I wish him the best in his fight against it! :agree: :thumbsup:

13-11-2009, 03:35 PM
That was taken early in his Hibs career I'd say as that must be late 70's IMO but it was some hairdo he had for sure! :agree: :greengrin

I'm sure that's Ally Scott, a Hun who came to Hibs rather than the other way around, beside him! :wink:

Used to know a few Hibs players back in the 70's (:wink:) and often "bumped" into them when cutting about town usually in Aquarius which was in Grindlay Street, now the Citrus Club I think, or Walkers, now the lap dancing bar in Shandwick Place! Bobby was always good company! :agree:

Sorry to hear about Bobby's illness and I wish him the best in his fight against it! :agree: :thumbsup:

I was never out of this place in the mid/late 70's, loved the place. Always got a nice class o'burd. :greengrin Memories.....:rolleyes:

ANDY McGEECHAN
13-11-2009, 03:38 PM
Very Very sad. Hang on in there Bobby

13-11-2009, 03:54 PM
Shocked by this!,he was a decent player for us and my thoughts are with him and his family at this time, stick in Boabby!

13-11-2009, 03:56 PM
rebuilt as the Broo up Tollcross/Bread Street way (Elephant & Castle???).

The White Elephant

13-11-2009, 04:00 PM
very sad news. One of my first heroes and had met him a few times in later years in the local pub.

McHibby
13-11-2009, 04:03 PM
What a shame, that is sad. I used to drink in his pub in Dalkeith, and was always grateful that he turned a bling eye to my youthful looks and lack of ID :wink:

13-11-2009, 04:13 PM
It is indeed sad new about Bobby. He was a great servant to the Hibs and gave his all in the green and white.

I know him qite well and was only speaking with him recently. My best wishes go to him and his family and hope he gets the strength to fight this horrible illness.

Best wishes to you.

13-11-2009, 04:24 PM
Absolutely terrible news. I know from a Leicester City supporting friend that Bobby was as popular there as he was at ER.

cappoquinboy
13-11-2009, 04:33 PM
Heard this the other day and was absolutely shocked.
Remember watching Bobby in his first spell at Hibs and then had the pleasure of playing in the same Berwick Rangers side as him for a season or so.
Smashing guy and a great footballer, if he can fight his illness with the same spirit he showed on the park he will have a good chance of beating it.

Best of luck Smudger

Big_D
13-11-2009, 04:58 PM
I think he scored twice in my first ever Hibs game v St Johnstone , very sad

13-11-2009, 05:16 PM
Shocked by this news, I can remember when he came into the first team as a youngster. Although he started as a full-back I seem to recall him playing up front as well.

13-11-2009, 05:19 PM
Very sad news indeed.

As others have already said, as well as being a good player Bobby will always be remembered for his zany hair style.

13-11-2009, 05:23 PM
Shocked by this news, I can remember when he came into the first team as a youngster. Although he started as a full-back I seem to recall him playing up front as well.

You're right - I forgot about that.

He was very good in the air for a relatively small guy. He had the ability to jump and "hang" which allowed him to win many headers which he'd no right to win. (a la Peter Cormack)

13-11-2009, 05:24 PM
That's terrible news.

Growing up in Stockbridge, I was in my element on a Sunday in Inverleith Park when a large group of lads had a mass kickabout. Against their employer's knowledge were Bobby, Willie Murray and Arthur/Owen Hand(?) who were on Hibs books, Jimmy Cant who was with Hearts andbig Alkan Holt who had just signed for Falkirk having failed to crack the first team at Man Utd.

Great memories and was good to spook 'Willie, Oh Willie Murray, Oh Willie Murray on the wing...!!!" one Saturday a few years ago in The Four In Hand after a Derby game with my over-excited memories of what is was like to play aginst your heroes.

Warmest Regards to Bobby if he's on here, be strong and look after yourself the best you can...:not worth:not worth

Rossco1875
13-11-2009, 05:27 PM
sad news and i wish him the best in his fight.

13-11-2009, 06:52 PM
He did well down in England. A very useful player, he was a left-back for a while I think.

WHUHibs
13-11-2009, 06:57 PM
He is the reason I support hibs.

My first game at ER was against rangers,,,I supported or liked Rangers and went with a hibby mate,,,I stood on the old terracing beside a hun with a flute and a strapped bag over his shoulder,,,rangers were one nil up and then Bobby scored afrom about 30 yards towards the Dunbar end...I went and told the rangers boy to stuck his flute and the rest is history...he was a great player...left back!!!

13-11-2009, 07:12 PM
He is the reason I support hibs.

My first game at ER was against rangers,,,I supported or liked Rangers and went with a hibby mate,,,I stood on the old terracing beside a hun with a flute and a strapped bag over his shoulder,,,rangers were one nil up and then Bobby scored afrom about 30 yards towards the Dunbar end...I went and told the rangers boy to stuck his flute and the rest is history...he was a great player...left back!!!

I remember that goal as if it was yesterday. Think the game ended in a draw, was it 2-2?

A very good player for Hibs and very sad news indeed. All the best Bobby.

Aubenas
13-11-2009, 07:15 PM
Good mate of my brother in law and a smashing guy, all the best Bobby

WHUHibs
13-11-2009, 07:21 PM
I remember that goal as if it was yesterday. Think the game ended in a draw, was it 2-2?

A very good player for Hibs and very sad news indeed. All the best Bobby.

You are right it was 2-2 and thinking about it he could have been from half way line ....

iainm
13-11-2009, 07:59 PM
This is extremely bad news

Bobby Smith is a huge hero of mine. I have so many memories of watching him play for us. Remember him at left back and also centre-forward in the
70's. Him and Best are the only two players of whom I bought the large metal cartoon pin badges! Anyone remember those type of badges?

I was devastated when he was sold to Leicester and he was one of the very few ex-Hibs players who I really tried hard to keep an eye on to see how he was playing when down there. He just looked so wrong in that Blue shirt tho!

I remember him in his second stint at Hibs and although he was at the tail end of his career he was still a useful player in a team that was going through difficult times

I also had a great blether with him one night in the Ship Inn in Dalkeith about 10+ years ago when he came along with his pub's pool team (Smiths) to play a match. I probably bored him with all my memories but he seemed to enjoy the reminicing!!

Best Wishes in your fight Bobby and thanks for being a Hibby

And just as a footnote to that night in the Ship. Another great player from the 70's was in the bar that night - Bobby Prentice. OK, a jambo but another who will talk all night about football and seems to remember every goal he scored - especially against us!

Two great players in one wee bar in Dalkeith!! And how much would they be worth today

13-11-2009, 08:46 PM
Terrible news, never knew. Bobby was in and around some of the great Hibs teams I have seen, can easily recall highlights, great wee player and king of the perm - there were a few about at the time! Be lucky Bobby. Glory Glory.

13-11-2009, 08:49 PM
Afraid he was before my time.

But never great news to hear about anyone.

I really pray for a miracle to be on his side.

13-11-2009, 08:58 PM
Absolutely terrible news. I know from a Leicester City supporting friend that Bobby was as popular there as he was at ER.

Lived in Leicester at the time and seen Bobby a couple of times in their colours, 100%er and he was popular, not dipped into their website yet but sure there will be similar posts there.

13-11-2009, 09:16 PM
One of my first Hibs heros when I started going to ER, great wee player.

Good luck in your fight Bobby

son of haggart
13-11-2009, 09:46 PM
That's terrible news.

Growing up in Stockbridge, I was in my element on a Sunday in Inverleith Park when a large group of lads had a mass kickabout. Against their employer's knowledge were Bobby, Willie Murray and Arthur/Owen Hand(?) who were on Hibs books, Jimmy Cant who was with Hearts andbig Alkan Holt who had just signed for Falkirk having failed to crack the first team at Man Utd.

Great memories and was good to spook 'Willie, Oh Willie Murray, Oh Willie Murray on the wing...!!!" one Saturday a few years ago in The Four In Hand after a Derby game with my over-excited memories of what is was like to play aginst your heroes.

Warmest Regards to Bobby if he's on here, be strong and look after yourself the best you can...:not worth:not worth

Bizarrely enough I used to play in those games down Inverleith, which were a regular event for a couple of years (my older brother, a better player was more regular than me and a mate of Alan Holt, and is the same age as Bobby Smith). I think Alan nearly went to Everton but Falkirk blocked the transfer. One of the best players was a little guy called shell and there was also an older guy who had played in Italy who controlled most games.

I think my brother played played fives with Bobby too. Really sorry to hear this news.

13-11-2009, 10:25 PM
Sad news. Good luck Bobby.

gringojoe
13-11-2009, 10:38 PM
This is extremely bad news

Bobby Smith is a huge hero of mine. I have so many memories of watching him play for us. Remember him at left back and also centre-forward in the
70's. Him and Best are the only two players of whom I bought the large metal cartoon pin badges! Anyone remember those type of badges?

Badges from the Gilzean shop at the Scotsman steps.
Bobby was one of my favourite players along with Des Bremner when I first started going to the games.
All the best Bobby.

13-11-2009, 10:54 PM
You are right it was 2-2 and thinking about it he could have been from half way line ....

One of my all time favourite goals. I think Peter McCloy is still looking for it. Bobby is very modest about that strike afterRalph Callahan asked him about it as I called it one of of my best ever goals describing it as a half way line effort. Bobby said " no more than 25yards". Hang on in there fellae.

Capt Mainwaring
13-11-2009, 10:55 PM
This is really sad news. One of the players I admired as I first went to Hibs games in the mid 70's . A great wee full back who would give you 100% ever single minute of every single game.

Best wishes Bobby.

Sadly my most vivid memory was when Bobby returned with Leicester City to play Hearts at Tynecastle in the early 80's. Was in the Main Stand with a girl friend at the time and there was an incident right in front of us where Willie Johnston was tackled by Bobby ( hard but fair - Ian Murray style - v Aberdeen) but Johnston turned and stamped on Bobby's leg. I went bananas giving Johnston full blast of abuse. Upset the natives and was asked to leave by a Steward. Much to the shame of the girl friend but you can't let these matters go without comment - can you!

Si_17
13-11-2009, 11:27 PM
No one deserves that absolute ******* of a disease. Way before my time, but he has my best wishes.

Big90inOz
14-11-2009, 12:45 AM
Remember Bobby well ( who could forget the perm) good player who gave 110% every time, sure he started out as a striker before being converted into a full back.
Hope he wins the biggest battle.

PedroEdin84
14-11-2009, 01:53 AM
Sad news wish him all the best. Be with us for a good St Mirren game on Saturday! :top marks

14-11-2009, 07:13 AM
Always liked Bobby. Symapthized with the hair as mine was the same then (without a perm by the way).

Keep fighting Bobby.

14-11-2009, 07:40 AM
Bizarrely enough I used to play in those games down Inverleith, which were a regular event for a couple of years (my older brother, a better player was more regular than me and a mate of Alan Holt, and is the same age as Bobby Smith). I think Alan nearly went to Everton but Falkirk blocked the transfer. One of the best players was a little guy called shell and there was also an older guy who had played in Italy who controlled most games.

I think my brother played played fives with Bobby too. Really sorry to hear this news. I do recall the name Shell right enough. Think the older guy you mentioned was called Glenn a sort of Beckenbauer type.

14-11-2009, 08:42 AM
He was a cracking player.

Keep up the fight Bobby.

14-11-2009, 08:55 AM
I was never out of this place in the mid/late 70's, loved the place. Always got a nice class o'burd. :greengrin Memories.....:rolleyes:

I was a regular too, even proposed to my wife there. :drunk:

Keep on fighting Bobby.

Argylehibby
14-11-2009, 09:23 AM
Really sad news.

I met Bobby at Newtongrange swimming pool when he played for Partick. I had taken my daughter there (she was about 3 at the time) and Bobby was sitting in the kids pool. He had been kicked off the park the previous night and was in there easing the pain from the kicking he had taken. Had a long chat about all things football especially his time with the Hibees. When he got out the pool to leave he could hardly walk and his legs were a mess. Probably the only way they could have stopped him.

14-11-2009, 10:14 AM
Grew up with Bobby in the team good player and very well respected Hibby

very very sad news

14-11-2009, 10:37 AM
very wery sad news,,,,,,,,,,
keep battling bobby
hb
ps has bobby got a pub in bonnyrigg,or is that someone else

14-11-2009, 11:51 AM

Very sorry to hear this news. :agree:

14-11-2009, 11:59 AM
Sad news, best wishes for the future Bobby.

14-11-2009, 12:15 PM
Lived in Leicester at the time and seen Bobby a couple of times in their colours, 100%er and he was popular, not dipped into their website yet but sure there will be similar posts there.

Awful news...I remember Bobby well...he was a very good player for us...not fair...as others have said, be lucky Bobby.

14-11-2009, 12:18 PM

I think my brother played played fives with Bobby too. Really sorry to hear this news. SOH, Toaods, I used to watch these games as the guys looked too big for me !....my cousin played in them (Alex Porteous - very good player BTW)...it was quite a crew that used to play @ inverlieth...wish I knew then what I know now and I'd have asked to play too.

Leicester Fan
14-11-2009, 01:01 PM
I've joined up to say how sad all us Leicester fans (those of us who can remember) are saddened by this news.
One of the stalwarts of Jock Wallace's promotion winning side.A true 100%er who was loved by all.
Best wishes to Bobby and his family.

New Corrie
14-11-2009, 01:23 PM
I've joined up to say how sad all us Leicester fans (those of us who can remember) are saddened by this news.
One of the stalwarts of Jock Wallace's promotion winning side.A true 100%er who was loved by all.

That's nice of you to post that. I have known Bobby for many years and had some good laughs with him along the way. I was always picking his brains about old Hibs games etc. I could almost see him thinking "Christ, here's Duncan going to ask me about some obscure reserve game from the 70's, but to his credit he loved chatting about football and had some great stories about Hibs, Leicester, Jock Wallace etc. Bobby is a lovely bloke, and these are very very sad times, my thoughts are with him and his family just now, and I hope he can keep battling away.

plhibs
14-11-2009, 02:26 PM
I was home for a visit in Dec. /Jan. 1994 i think it was, the derby game had been called off a couple of times due to the weather. I was having a pint in Smiths and Bobby found out that i couldn't get a ticket for the game, he said come with me i'll get you in. Went in with him and sure enough no problem getting me a ticket.
Walking to Tynecastle from the car he was getting dogs abuse from the yam fans, he just smiled at them and said at least they remember me, lol, he is a good guy i hope he keeps strong.

ginger_rice
14-11-2009, 02:53 PM
Really sad news I loved watching Bobby play especially in his first stint at ER, always gave 100%, keep fighting mate.

14-11-2009, 04:19 PM
SOH, Toaods, I used to watch these games as the guys looked too big for me !....my cousin played in them (Alex Porteous - very good player BTW)...it was quite a crew that used to play @ inverlieth...wish I knew then what I know now and I'd have asked to play too.

did your cousin go to Flora's?

I was only a kid but a myself and a couple of the pals used to play '3 and your-in(goals)' against the mesh fence for the tennis courts and all these guys were running about playing this mega-game. We ended up stopping watching when we recognised Bobby and Willie Murray then after a few weeks, being a bit pushy as usual.. I asked the guy picking the teams if there was any chance we could play. Not a problem.

These days such things happened have gone now for kids sadly.

Gala Foxes
14-11-2009, 04:43 PM
I met Bobby Smith on the 2nd of February 1980 at Filbert Street about half an hour after the full time whistle - the Foxes had beaten Newcastle United 1-0 with a penalty converted by Bobby. City went top of the old Division 2 that night and stayed there til the end of the season when they won the league and got promoted to Div 1. I was also at the 2nd last game that season when they clinched promotion beating Charlton 2-1, again Bobby Smith scoring for City.

He captained City in Division 1 (now the Premiership) - captaining a team that included Gary McAllister, Gary Lineker and Alan Smith.

Met him several years later in The Granary pub at the West End & again at half time at a Airdrie-Hibs game

A LEICESTER CITY & HIBS LEGEND - highly respected at both clubs

15-11-2009, 11:07 AM
SOH, Toaods, I used to watch these games as the guys looked too big for me !....my cousin played in them (Alex Porteous - very good player BTW)...it was quite a crew that used to play @ inverlieth...wish I knew then what I know now and I'd have asked to play too.

I played with Alex in the u/21 league for a while before going to Uni and then playing for the Uni in the East of Scotland League! Alex was a very physical, hard tackling midfielder who could play a bit too! :agree:

Always surprised me that he never made it to the professional grade! :cool2:

Nice guy too! :agree:

16-11-2009, 12:26 PM
I do recall the name Shell right enough. Think the older guy you mentioned was called Glenn a sort of Beckenbauer type.

The guys you mention were good lads. Glenn is Glenn Ross, a well kent Hibee and a guy who was very active in the Hands on Hibs. Glenn was a quality footballer who played with me at the mighty Inverleith Forest. Shell was a pal of Glenn's and was another fantastic player.

16-11-2009, 12:28 PM
The guys you mention were good lads. Glenn is Glenn Ross, a well kent Hibee and a guy who was very active in the Hands on Hibs. Glenn was a quality footballer who played with me at the mighty Inverleith Forest. Shell was a pal of Glen's and was another fantastic player.

Hands OFF Hibs...:devil: :wink:

16-11-2009, 01:10 PM
Hands OFF Hibs...:devil: :wink:

Nay, Hands on Hibs, THis was a pressure group concerned at plans to shunt us off tae Straiton and worried about the then lack of investment in the team. about ten years after the original "Hands on Hibs"

Glenn was behind the scenes but did a lot of work to "persuade" our leader that the football team should be reunited with the ownership of the stadium. If I recall corectly another one of the Inverleith Forest Hibees, Simon Pia, had a big role in this as well, penning some significant articles in the Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday. Not all of which were exactly glowing in terms of their analysis of the financial shenanigans of the time.

16-11-2009, 01:44 PM
Nay, Hands on Hibs, THis was a pressure group concerned at plans to shunt us off tae Straiton and worried about the then lack of investment in the team. about ten years after the original "Hands on Hibs"

Glenn was behind the scenes but did a lot of work to "persuade" our leader that the football team should be reunited with the ownership of the stadium. If I recall corectly another one of the Inverleith Forest Hibees, Simon Pia, had a big role in this as well, penning some significant articles in the Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday. Not all of which were exactly glowing in terms of their analysis of the financial shenanigans of the time.

Man alive, I have no recollection of the group "hands on hibs" and what is more worrying, I should.....I stand corrected..:notworthy:

16-11-2009, 04:41 PM

Thanks for posting that up mate, but please...change your avitar, it's just put me off my tea!

16-11-2009, 07:05 PM
I suppose a lot of the younger fans might only know Bobby Smith from all time tache's or perm top tens but he was a decent player and harks back to a distant time when scottish boys could flit between the top leagues without neccesary being eye-catching stick out players and not look out of place. Like all Hibbies I wish him all the best.:agree:

Gala Foxes
16-11-2009, 08:43 PM
I too have a Gilzean "Bobby Smith" badge late 70's style from his shop in Fleshmarket Close off Cockburn Street

Mary Hinge
17-11-2009, 06:30 AM
I've visited Bobby a couple of times in the last week or so and have to say that his spirits are good. He's had a lot of visitors from the footballing world which shows the high regard that he commands. On Sunday past, Brownlie and Blackley from the Tornadoes were heading to Bobby's house.

He starts chemotherapy today and he is very well aware of the good wishes and support that he has, and will continue to have, in his fight to overcome this devastating hurdle.

Stick in Bob :thumbsup:

17-11-2009, 08:00 AM
I've visited Bobby a couple of times in the last week or so and have to say that his spirits are good. He's had a lot of visitors from the footballing world which shows the high regard that he commands. On Sunday past, Brownlie and Blackley from the Tornadoes were heading to Bobby's house.

He starts chemotherapy today and he is very well aware of the good wishes and support that he has, and will continue to have, in his fight to overcome this devastating hurdle.

Stick in Bob :thumbsup:

Good to hear that.

sadtom
17-11-2009, 09:00 AM
Keep fighting the good fight Bobby.
Our thoughts are with you.

Dav1986
17-11-2009, 11:18 AM
Hi guys, I'm mates with both of bobby's sons and his oldest son Murray has asked me to post the following....

'On behalf of my dad and the whole family, I'd like to thank everyone for their kind words, wishes and fond memories. It's been a shock for all of us but we are thinking positive and fighting this as a family. My dad has NOT been given a 'timescale' therefore we will wait and see how the treatment goes and as I said earlier, fight this with a positive attitude while remaining aware of the situation. Anyone who knows my dad would know that he would have wanted to write this himself but computers are not his strong point. Thank you all again. It is greatly appreciated by my dad, my mum, my brother, myself and the rest of the Smith family.'

MUSSI LEE
17-11-2009, 12:01 PM
Hi guys, I'm mates with both of bobby's sons and his oldest son Murray has asked me to post the following....

'On behalf of my dad and the whole family, I'd like to thank everyone for their kind words, wishes and fond memories. It's been a shock for all of us but we are thinking positive and fighting this as a family. My dad has NOT been given a 'timescale' therefore we will wait and see how the treatment goes and as I said earlier, fight this with a positive attitude while remaining aware of the situation. Anyone who knows my dad would know that he would have wanted to write this himself but computers are not his strong point. Thank you all again. It is greatly appreciated by my dad, my mum, my brother, myself and the rest of the Smith family.'good to hear that m8 :wink:

17-11-2009, 12:10 PM

'On behalf of my dad and the whole family, I'd like to thank everyone for their kind words, wishes and fond memories. It's been a shock for all of us but we are thinking positive and fighting this as a family. My dad has NOT been given a 'timescale' therefore we will wait and see how the treatment goes and as I said earlier, fight this with a positive attitude while remaining aware of the situation. Anyone who knows my dad would know that he would have wanted to write this himself but computers are not his strong point. Thank you all again. It is greatly appreciated by my dad, my mum, my brother, myself and the rest of the Smith family.'

That's brilliant that is!, keep your Hibee spirit up mate!

Isaac_Refvik
17-11-2009, 12:36 PM
Very sad news....knew Bobby well when he worked in Skipper's for Jackie and Ralph.A gentleman. Stick in wee man.

17-11-2009, 12:42 PM
We are all rootin for ye Bobby!!! :thumbsup:

G15 Hibs
17-11-2009, 08:44 PM
What a shame, that is sad. I used to drink in his pub in Dalkeith, and was always grateful that he turned a bling eye to my youthful looks and lack of ID :wink:

Likewise. Used to hang out in the pool room when I was 16, sipping pints of Tennants.
All the best Bobby.

DoonTheSlope
17-11-2009, 09:09 PM
I was diagnosed with cancer in February 2006 and I am happy to say I have pulled through after, it has to be said, some heavy treatment.

I have met Bobby on many occasions and played golf with him often at former Hibs Golf Days, the man is top class.

He will I am sure be able to fight this and the support and good wishes he has received from the Hibs family will go a long way to help.

hibs7062footbal
19-11-2009, 03:12 PM
Good luck smudger, if anyone can beat it you will .

19-11-2009, 03:46 PM
I was diagnosed with cancer in February 2006 and I am happy to say I have pulled through after, it has to be said, some heavy treatment.

I have met Bobby on many occasions and played golf with him often at former Hibs Golf Days, the man is top class.

He will I am sure be able to fight this and the support and good wishes he has received from the Hibs family will go a long way to help.

I'll echo these sentiments.

antscully
20-11-2009, 05:48 PM
i remember bobby well with his time at lcfc and he was one of my fav players,i wish him a speedy recovery and i,ll be praying for him..at leicester bobby gave 110% and im sure he,ll fight this with the same true scottish grit and determination,bobby was part of a team that was loved here south of the boarder and i know every one in leicester sends their best wishes...1 thing i realy remember about bobby he was given a car in leicester but it was pure yellow with bobbys name all over it lol it was a sight this yellow motor with bobbys tache blowing out the window...all the best bobby,and good luck hibs for this weeks game lets give bobby a leicester and hibs win double........ant scully:thumbsup:

BLUE ARMY BOY
20-11-2009, 08:02 PM
Just read about Bobbys fight in the Leicester Mercury with a half page devoted to the man, still remembered fondly by many Leicester fans he was one of the legendary players of the 80's at Leicester, when you think of Leicester City in the 80's Bobby in the Ind Coope No3 shirt and curly perm and moustache are one of the images that come to mind. Best of luck to you and your family Bobby and come and see us soon !!

hibs7062footbal
20-11-2009, 08:10 PM
great to see support for bobby coming from the leicester boys :applause: im sure this will help him in his battle .

son of haggart
20-11-2009, 08:39 PM
The guys you mention were good lads. Glenn is Glenn Ross, a well kent Hibee and a guy who was very active in the Hands on Hibs. Glenn was a quality footballer who played with me at the mighty Inverleith Forest. Shell was a pal of Glenn's and was another fantastic player.

Yes, that's them.

Shell and Glenn were class players and I can remember getting very frustrated trying to get near them, or the ball, during these games.

best of luck to Bobby

hibeeleicester
20-11-2009, 08:47 PM
great to see support for bobby coming from the leicester boys :applause: im sure this will help him in his battle .

He was very popular here :agree:

some top comments from foxes here... http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/news/Gary-Silke-column-Best-wishes-Bobby/article-1527124-detail/article.html

lets get some hibby messages on it :agree:

hibeeleicester
28-01-2010, 11:09 PM
Any news on how bobby is doing? A leicester mate of mine was talking about him and it reminded me :agree:

Gala Foxes
29-01-2010, 05:02 AM
Like Ant Scully I followed Bobby at Filbert Street where he made a massive impact from his first game (scoring debut vs Oldham).

Outstanding servant to Hibs & City and a tenacious committed fighter

I can still see the 1980 promotion clinching goal against Charlton hitting the net at the Double Decker end & remember the pitch invasion after

29-01-2010, 08:33 AM
As I have already stated, remember so many wonderful times watching Bobby in a Hibs jersey and have posted the link on my FB.

:notworthy:

Mary Hinge
29-01-2010, 10:50 AM
A mate has just spoken to Bobby in the last 10 minutes.

He's not out of the woods yet but he's coping as well as can be expected.

We'll be visiting him at home again on Sunday and will post an update after that :thumbsup:

29-01-2010, 11:08 AM
A mate has just spoken to Bobby in the last 10 minutes.

He's not out of the woods yet but he's coping as well as can be expected.

We'll be visiting him at home again on Sunday and will post an update after that :thumbsup:Cheers Kenny ...:aok:

hibeeleicester
29-01-2010, 11:20 AM
Heard hes in a bad way, keep fighting bobby!

hibeeleicester
29-01-2010, 11:24 AM
Also just came across this, http://www.lcfc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10274~1892098,00.html

would be nice of hibs to do something similar.

Leicester Fan
29-01-2010, 11:56 AM
Just read the latest on Foxestalk.All our thoughts are with you Bobby.