View Full Version : Paying to use the toilets

11-11-2009, 11:03 AM
It's now 30p to use the loos in Waverly Station...

Paying to basically do something thats natural? Whats all that about?

11-11-2009, 11:05 AM

You've always had to pay for the toilets there.

Jay
11-11-2009, 11:05 AM

Its been 30p for about a year! Well worth it for the cleanliness etx. The hand dryers are worth it alone!:greengrin

11-11-2009, 11:10 AM
You've always had to pay for the toilets there.

Aye but why should it be a paying service to go to the loo

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:09 PM ----------

Its been 30p for about a year! Well worth it for the cleanliness etx. The hand dryers are worth it alone!:greengrin

The hand dryers are brilliant....:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Jay
11-11-2009, 11:15 AM
Aye but why should it be a paying service to go to the loo

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:09 PM ----------

The hand dryers are brilliant....:thumbsup::thumbsup:

gramo your paying for quality, without the charges it would be like any other bog. I'll pay my 30p any day - kids go free :greengrin

Marabou Stork
11-11-2009, 11:20 AM
You pay that little premium to keep the junkies out.

It doesn't matter for me, I always vault the barrier anyway.

11-11-2009, 11:32 AM

While you're hitting that particular campaign trail, can you fix it for me to get free food from Tesco? :dunno:

11-11-2009, 11:36 AM
While you're hitting that particular campaign trail, can you fix it for me to get free food from Tesco? :dunno:

Aye, meet me round at the bins where they throw away food that's just passed it's Best Before Date :greengrin

Getting back to toilets...

Wonder how would Waverly react to a passenger who had no spare change walking about with keeked pants because they couldn't use the loo :cool2:

11-11-2009, 11:41 AM
Welcome to Britain.

Dog's can piss where they like, but if a human is caught pissing against a tree they get charged!

BravestHibs
11-11-2009, 11:42 AM

I'd pay 30p for the privelage of having somewhere to publicly ****.

11-11-2009, 11:43 AM

I think all of our activities of daily living should be free.

Jay
11-11-2009, 11:55 AM
Welcome to Britain.

Dog's can piss where they like, but if a human is caught pissing against a tree they get charged!

Does that only happen in Britain :confused:

McSwanky
11-11-2009, 12:01 PM

This begs the question: If it's 30p to get in, is it really public?

11-11-2009, 12:33 PM
Welcome to Britain.

Scandalous. I demand to be allowed to act like a dog if I want.

I'm off to lick my nuts on Princes Street. Let's see what the Law say to that.

11-11-2009, 12:52 PM
Does that only happen in Britain :confused:

Don't know, just think it's crazy that people can get charged for doing something as natural as taking a pee!

11-11-2009, 12:53 PM
Scandalous. I demand to be allowed to act like a dog if I want.

I'm off to lick my nuts on Princes Street. Let's see what the Law say to that.

Are you a squirrel or a dog?

14-11-2009, 05:10 PM
I think that's a male attitude - moaning about having to pay to pee.

As the lads can stand and more or less do it anywhere, it annoys them that they have to pay for the privilege.

Whereas, most ladies are happy to pay for the cleanliness and being able to park your bot on a seat that's not covered in piss and fag burns and there is loo roll.

14-11-2009, 05:18 PM

As the lads can stand and more or less do it anywhere, it annoys them that they have to pay for the privilege.

Whereas, most ladies are happy to pay for the cleanliness and being able to park your bot on a seat that's not covered in piss and fag burns and there is loo roll.

Very good point

Jay
14-11-2009, 05:22 PM
Don't know, just think it's crazy that people can get charged for doing something as natural as taking a pee!

You are not getting charged to pee, you are getting charged to use clean facilities (with amazing hand dryers :greengrin) If you want to pee for free wait til you are on the train and use their mingers.

The money you pay is used solely on the upkeep of the facilities in the train station.

14-11-2009, 05:34 PM
I was in St Andrews a few months ago and it was 40p, and the toilets were honking :grr:

The alternative is not nice though. I was in the main station in Delhi a few years ago and a woman squatted down on the opposite platform, did a number 2, then just walked away. And nobody batted an eyelid.

In India for a bloke it's barry though, you can pretty much pish where you want, would happily pay if I wanted a ***** though.

14-11-2009, 09:07 PM
I was in St Andrews a few months ago and it was 40p, and the toilets were honking :grr:

The alternative is not nice though. I was in the main station in Delhi a few years ago and a woman squatted down on the opposite platform, did a number 2, then just walked away. And nobody batted an eyelid.

In India for a bloke it's barry though, you can pretty much pish where you want, would happily pay if I wanted a ***** though.

Next time you're in St Andrews, pop into the union and use the (relatively pleasant) toilets for free. If it's during the day there's no-one on the door checking student status, and besides, everyone's welcome to come in.

14-11-2009, 09:25 PM
The last time I was in the toilets in waverly they were minging and they're always chock-a-block. If I'm paying 30p I sure as hell don't want to wait on a cubicle.

Every time a cubicle is available it seems to be the one that previously had the guy who had vindaloo the night before ar the guy who manages to slash or dump all over the seat.

Why don't they just siphon a little bit off the price of the ticket to pay for the upkeep instead of ripping us off again?

14-11-2009, 09:32 PM
Next time you're in St Andrews, pop into the union and use the (relatively pleasant) toilets for free. If it's during the day there's no-one on the door checking student status, and besides, everyone's welcome to come in.

Bloody students!! :grr:

14-11-2009, 09:46 PM
Bloody students!! :grr:

:soapbox:

14-11-2009, 09:49 PM

true....the PBS has been done twice (right on the badge at the old stand) :wink:

14-11-2009, 09:57 PM
What sort of season ticket do you have at ER, Arab?

Care to share?

:cool2:

14-11-2009, 10:35 PM
I was charged 1 Euro to get in the tiolets in Burger King in Amsterdam even though i was a paying customer.

The bogs were minging. Blocked urinals and really stinking.
This wee old woman sitting at a fold up table just outside the door.

If i hadn't been paranoid about being slightly melted , i might have questioned it !

14-11-2009, 10:37 PM
What sort of season ticket do you have at ER, Arab?

Care to share?

The sort that would get me free entry into the loo's at Easter Road.

And also the sort where I can produce a certain type of card and get into your establishment with no problems whatsoever. :cool2:

And no, I'm not sharing with you, you'll have to pay like everyone else. :greengrin

14-11-2009, 10:43 PM
The sort that would get me free entry into the loo's at Easter Road.

And also the sort where I can produce a certain type of card and get into your establishment with no problems whatsoever. :cool2:

And no, I'm not sharing with you, you'll have to pay like everyone else. :greengrin

Surely not a student's season ticket?

My, how the tables have turned.

Bloody students indeed...

14-11-2009, 11:03 PM
Surely not a student's season ticket?

My, how the tables have turned.

Bloody students indeed...

I've been outed by a bloody student! :shhhsh!:

Damn those pesky students! :grr:

I'll go and hang my head in shame! :blushie:

:tee hee: :smug:

14-11-2009, 11:36 PM
I've been outed by a bloody student! :shhhsh!:

Damn those pesky students! :grr:

I'll go and hang my head in shame! :blushie:

:tee hee: :smug:

15-11-2009, 02:37 AM
The last time I went to the toilet at ER was around 1976.

15-11-2009, 03:08 AM
The bogs at Waverley are pretty rank IIRC considering everyone pays 30p to go.

15-11-2009, 07:25 AM

I used to always just go into the bar and use the bogs in there. Is that no longer possible?

Jay
15-11-2009, 08:56 AM
The ladies toilets in Waverley are immaculate.

15-11-2009, 08:59 AM

I was charged 1 Euro to get in the tiolets in Burger King in Amsterdam even though i was a paying customer.

The bogs were minging. Blocked urinals and really stinking.
This wee old woman sitting at a fold up table just outside the door.

If i hadn't been paranoid about being slightly melted , i might have questioned it !

See this wee woman sitting beside the door, was it in a toilet cubicle with curtains and some subtle red lighting? It's possible that in your confused state you mixed up a burger from Burger King with another kind of burger

15-11-2009, 01:44 PM
The last time I went to the toilet at ER was around 1976.

I will say one good thing about the ladies toilets at Swynie. At least they have hot water taps on the sinks, more than can be said for ER ladies toilets.

Marabou Stork
15-11-2009, 11:08 PM
I used to always just go into the bar and use the bogs in there. Is that no longer possible?

I don't know about Waverley, but a fair few other railway station bars only let paying customers use the lavs. They've got a code to open the door which you need to get from the staff that changes a couple of times a week I think.

edit: I'd like to stress that I don't spend time hanging round in and around public toilets.

16-11-2009, 12:34 PM
I don't know about Waverley, but a fair few other railway station bars only let paying customers use the lavs. They've got a code to open the door which you need to get from the staff that changes a couple of times a week I think.

edit: I'd like to stress that I don't spend time hanging round in and around public toilets.

Aye right!!
:cool2::asshole::bandit::panic::slipper::whistle:

16-11-2009, 07:22 PM
same price as it is to "spend a penny" in London - I was caught short in Kings X and Paddington - kerching!!!

Worth the admission in Kings X as a guy (clearly bevvied up - altho' it was 2pm on a Sunday) vented his frustrations...

This is England for effs sake. Whats the world come to bloody hell effing disgrace 30p for a **ss for effs sake this is England [repeated ad infinitum].

Didn't add as a Scotsman it was a right and a privilege to **ss in England and perhaps 30p well spent...

17-11-2009, 02:02 PM
Totally agree :agree:

Waverly Station = Cretins!!

They've ruined a once great tradition :bitchy:

18-11-2009, 11:26 AM
They are providing a service - you are making use of that service - whats the problem again.....:confused:

At least we are being given the option to pay 30p (or whatever) to use half decent toilets that presumably do get cleaned now and again. As oppossed to using the 24hr public toilets for fek all and having to manouvre yourself around the **** that is on the floor and up the walls.

I'll pay the 30p any day - or find a quiet alleyway if it's a night up the town. :devil:

18-11-2009, 09:22 PM
They are providing a service - you are making use of that service - whats the problem again.....:confused:

At least we are being given the option to pay 30p (or whatever) to use half decent toilets that presumably do get cleaned now and again. As oppossed to using the 24hr public toilets for fek all and having to manouvre yourself around the **** that is on the floor and up the walls.

I'll pay the 30p any day - or find a quiet alleyway if it's a night up the town. :devil:

When ya have to go...ya have to go :greengrin

18-11-2009, 11:25 PM

When ya have to go...ya have to go :greengrin

Make sure it IS a quiet alleyway though, or you may end up with a £40 fine. :grr:

Where else was i mean to go at 4 in the morning whilst queuing for T in the park tickets? :grr:

19-11-2009, 11:41 AM
Make sure it IS a quiet alleyway though, or you may end up with a £40 fine. :grr:

Where else was i mean to go at 4 in the morning whilst queuing for T in the park tickets? :grr:

Me and one of my mates were sloshed one night about to head back home. Stumbled out of the pub (drinks still in hand!), we walked for a few minutes before we both decided to take a leak in the alleyway just off the white sands. So, I walked on a bit once done. Arsed the end of my drink and neatly sat the glass down. "C'mon tae fek mun, how much did you drink ffs" and all the rest of it......

I turn around and their he is, just zipping himself up and the police appear right behinde him, booked him for drinking in a public place and for taking a slash in public.

I couldn't control myself and nearly got done for breach of the peace for laughing..:rolleyes: (what peace am was I actually breaching, sorry, thats another arguement)

Anyway, a week later he gets a £40 fine for taking a slash and a £60 for drinking through the post!

I can just remember waking up in the morning and getting a phone call off him, first thing the git says is "You're a jammy barsteward!"

You win some you lose some - on another night I'd have been fined and arrested for swearing or somethnig stupid like that :faf:

19-11-2009, 11:47 AM
Me and one of my mates were sloshed one night about to head back home. Stumbled out of the pub (drinks still in hand!), we walked for a few minutes before we both decided to take a leak in the alleyway just off the white sands. So, I walked on a bit once done. Arsed the end of my drink and neatly sat the glass down. "C'mon tae fek mun, how much did you drink ffs" and all the rest of it......

I turn around and their he is, just zipping himself up and the police appear right behinde him, booked him for drinking in a public place and for taking a slash in public.

I couldn't control myself and nearly got done for breach of the peace for laughing..:rolleyes: (what peace am was I actually breaching, sorry, thats another arguement)

Anyway, a week later he gets a £40 fine for taking a slash and a £60 for drinking through the post!

I can just remember waking up in the morning and getting a phone call off him, first thing the git says is "You're a jammy barsteward!"

You win some you lose some - on another night I'd have been fined and arrested for swearing or somethnig stupid like that :faf:

Anyone who can drink by post is surely worth their own series, or at least a spot on Britain's Got Talent.

19-11-2009, 09:07 PM
Anyone who can drink by post is surely worth their own series, or at least a spot on Britain's Got Talent.

19-11-2009, 09:09 PM
Is there any man on this board who will say that have not had a slash outside when out on the razzle ?

Is there anyman on here who can say that they dont know a woman who has went for a slash outside ?:greengrin

19-11-2009, 09:11 PM
Is there any man on this board who will say that have not had a slash outside when out on the razzle ?

Is there anyman on here who can say that they dont know a woman who has went for a slash outside ?:greengrin

No and no. Even my mother has done it :faf:

20-11-2009, 11:18 AM

You've been on top form recently!

HibsMax
20-11-2009, 06:52 PM

There is NOTHING natural about cleaning up after someone else has taken a pee or a poo. I have no problem paying to use a toilet IF the facilities are:
1. well maintained, and
2. operational when I need them to be.

22-11-2009, 10:48 AM
If the toilets are clean I don't mind paying.

22-11-2009, 08:26 PM
Just go to princes mall food court and jump the barrier there, no staff to catch you :agree:

22-11-2009, 10:09 PM
Good tip Sean! I'm heading there now. And I don't even need a piss!

23-11-2009, 02:08 PM
Pity Wee Airdrie Jambo is otherwise engaged. I'd love to hear his input into this debate.