View Full Version : Naming rights to Easter Road

10-11-2009, 03:07 PM
Just noticed that the Dunbar end (away end) is now called the Whyte and Mackay stand. When did that happen? also is this the start of selling the naming rights to ER?

Can't say I'm very happy about this, I hope the tache is not trying to change the ground's name by stealth.

10-11-2009, 03:07 PM
Just noticed that the Dunbar end (away end) is now called the Whyte and Mackay stand. When did that happen? also is this the start of selling the naming rights to ER?

Can't say I'm very happy about this, I hope the tache is not trying to change the ground's name by stealth.

Only about 4 or 5 years ago :faf:

10-11-2009, 03:12 PM
Only about 4 or 5 years ago :faf:

Never noticed it before. always sit in the west stand, Hope thats its name:greengrin

10-11-2009, 03:17 PM

I would sell the naming rights if there was big money involved. Chelsea are looking to sell theirs for over 100 million. I know we could not get anything like that as they are a global brand but if we got say 10 million upfront to sell the naming rights for upto 15 years I think I would consider it. Lets face it everyone would still call it Easter Road as Chelsea will still call their ground Stamford Bridge, and everyone will still refer to St James's park as St James's park. I think you will find over the next few years everyone will be jumping on this bandwagon. Lets face it, its money for nothing.

10-11-2009, 03:20 PM
Just don't think we should sell our heritage. Also Hibs would get nothing like £10m even with Rodders negotiating it

10-11-2009, 03:32 PM
If we finish nearer the top end this season with a gd scottish cup run, whilst improving our squad in the transfer windows then the most we'd likely see would be around £5mil for an 8-10 year contract with various clauses.

I'm not one for changing the name of the whole stadium, but i'm all for letting the highest bidder sponsor the dunbar end, and also the new East stand whenever it gets built.

Does any1 know how long the dunbar stand is contracted to be named the Whyte & Mackay stand?

FRes Hibbie
10-11-2009, 03:45 PM
I reckon we should make an offer for the naming rights for Tynecastle. How funny would it be if it was actually called, "the pink bus shelter" and given their sorry financial state, it shouldn't cost more than a tenner. :greengrin

hibbybrian
10-11-2009, 03:55 PM
The original land was part of Drum Farm and was used as a cricket field / shooting range before Hibs moved over the railway line, and the Football Ground was then named Hibernian Park, Easter Road :wink:

10-11-2009, 03:57 PM
I did a poll on the selling of rights recently and here are the results with people's thoughts:

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=163386

Hibs On Tour
10-11-2009, 04:04 PM
We got offered them a few years ago for both the new East stand and the [at that time, as yet un-opened] Training Centre. Club then retracted both about a week or two later on.

10-11-2009, 04:06 PM
Why is/wiz the Dunbar end called the Dunbar end? :devil:

Personally I dont care what its called - its where the Hibees play and as others have said will always be Easter Road.

Hibernian FC digging up cricket pitches since circa 1890 :greengrin

10-11-2009, 04:12 PM
The original land was part of Drum Farm and was used as a cricket field / shooting range before Hibs moved over the railway line, and the Football Ground was then named Hibernian Park, Easter Road :wink:

Is that a copy of Jonnyboy's ST? :wink:

hibbybrian
10-11-2009, 04:19 PM

Dunbar's soft drinks factory - this may result in a thread hijack with posts about bottles of Skoosh, thrupenny jubblies :shocked: etc :greengrin

SolentHibee
10-11-2009, 04:19 PM

When I was a boy in Albion Terrace there used to be a juice factory at that end of the ground. The name of the juice company was Dunbar's. We were occasionally known to pinch their wooden juice crates for our bonfire.

hibbybrian
10-11-2009, 04:20 PM
Is that a copy of Jonnyboy's ST? :wink:

I believe it was his youngest's ST - Johnnyboy had an OAP concession by that time :greengrin

10-11-2009, 04:26 PM

Watching Hibs in the 1890s / early 1900s?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/52/Hibs_1903.jpg

Gloryhunters.

:devil:

10-11-2009, 04:31 PM
I reckon we should make an offer for the naming rights for Tynecastle. How funny would it be if it was actually called, "the pink bus shelter" and given their sorry financial state, it shouldn't cost more than a tenner. :greengrin
Lothian Transport may be persuaded to cough up £50!

10-11-2009, 04:32 PM
Some cracking mousers in that pic.

The guy 2nd from right, back row has a cracker :greengrin

10-11-2009, 04:34 PM

http://www.iffhs.de/?06fe3803e23c0ba76055a42a06fe3611e23504f83d17f7370 eff3702bb1c2bbb6d28fb3c0ce52d00e42a16

Hibernian FC Edinburgh: At the top - only officials; Back, f. l. t. r. James Buchan, James Hogg, "Archie" Gray, Robert Glen, Hamilton Handling, John Divers; Middle, f. l. t. r. George Stewart, "Pat" Breslin, James Harrower, "Bob" Atherton, "Sandy" Robertson, J. McCall, "Harry" Rennie; Front, f. l. t. r. "Paddy" Callaghan, "Bill" McCartney.

The_Sauz
10-11-2009, 04:35 PM
What's that cup second from the left......never seen that one before :confused:

:boo hoo:

10-11-2009, 04:36 PM

The guy 2nd from right, back row has a cracker :greengrinWas just gonna say that ..what was it about moustaches in those days ..?...every one o they guys top row have a tache ..i would be odd one out nae bother ..at 42 i still cannae grow one !!! Susan Boyle has a better growth than me...:embarrass

The_Sauz
10-11-2009, 04:38 PM

All Petrie wannabes :greengrin

10-11-2009, 04:41 PM

:agree: He's like that wee Scots actor guy that was in all the Laurel & Hardy films

http://www.laurelandhardy.org/images/Fin2.jpg

I'm not sure but I think thats where the "DOH" in the Simpsons came from

10-11-2009, 04:42 PM
Dunbar's soft drinks factory - this may result in a thread hijack with posts about bottles of Skoosh, thrupenny jubblies :shocked: etc :greengrin

My favourite was always their nice red Kola. You could have a right good day out if you found half-a-dozen empties when I was a kid.

hibbybrian
10-11-2009, 04:52 PM
http://www.iffhs.de/?06fe3803e23c0ba76055a42a06fe3611e23504f83d17f7370 eff3702bb1c2bbb6d28fb3c0ce52d00e42a16

The Manager is wrongly stated as being John McCartney - I presume that's the John McCartney who was playing for Barnsley at that time and later went on to manage St Mirren then Hearts. He was succeeded at Hearts in 1919 by his son Willie McCartney who later went on to manage Hibs :greengrin

As for the Taches ...

10-11-2009, 04:57 PM
I'd be happy to sell the rights, since we'd always call it Easter Road.

10-11-2009, 05:04 PM
Watching Hibs in the 1890s / early 1900s?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/52/Hibs_1903.jpg

Gloryhunters.

:devil:

Seated in the front row, furthest to the right.......what a wholly unfortunate face :faf::faf:

That's a cartoon mouth if ever I saw one.

hibbybrian
10-11-2009, 05:14 PM
Seated in the front row, furthest to the right.......what a wholly unfortunate face :faf::faf:

Harry Rennie had a facial deformity and was usually photographed from the left - so maybe you could reconsider your appraisal of his "cartoon" mouth. :rolleyes:

He was with Hearts and was supposed to sign for ra Celtc however the transfer stalled and Hibs stepped in to sign him - after many good years of service - including a league championship winners medal and Scottish Cup winners medal for Hibernian and several Scottish caps :not worth , he later signed for the huns.

Minder
10-11-2009, 05:46 PM

Check out second row far left, it is Caldwell's double.

10-11-2009, 05:55 PM

I genuinely "lawled" at that :greengrin

10-11-2009, 05:56 PM
Harry Rennie had a facial deformity and was usually photographed from the left - so maybe you could reconsider your appraisal of his "cartoon" mouth. :rolleyes:

He was with Hearts and was supposed to sign for ra Celtc however the transfer stalled and Hibs stepped in to sign him - after many good years of service - including a league championship winners medal and Scottish Cup winners medal for Hibernian and several Scottish caps :not worth , he later signed for the huns.

Thanks for going ahead full throttle and spoiling my fun, making me feel guilty in the process. I hate you :grr::grr:

10-11-2009, 05:57 PM

The guy on the same row, furthest to the right, is surely wearing a mask?

As for the chap standing up with the ill-fitting jumper, that's yon bent weegie lad from the X-Factor. Stonewaller.

RigRoars
10-11-2009, 05:57 PM
Back row far left - Daniel Day Lewis fi Gangs Of New York.

mickey 4 eyes
10-11-2009, 07:11 PM
[QUOTE=poolman;2237761]:agree: He's like that wee Scots actor guy that was in all the Laurel & Hardy films

James Finlayson, originally from Larbert! :thumbsup:

Glorious
10-11-2009, 07:12 PM
I'd just be happy to see the words "Easter Road Stadium" on the front of the West.

10-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Front row left - Freddie Mercury! We are the champions!

10-11-2009, 09:31 PM
Never noticed it before. always sit in the west stand, Hope thats its name:greengrin

Brilliant :faf:

10-11-2009, 09:45 PM
[QUOTE=poolman;2237761]:agree: He's like that wee Scots actor guy that was in all the Laurel & Hardy films

James Finlayson, originally from Larbert! :thumbsup:

And who's catchphrase was ' Doh! ' a long time before Homer Simpson.

10-11-2009, 11:33 PM
My favourite was always their nice red Kola. You could have a right good day out if you found half-a-dozen empties when I was a kid.

As kids we'd go round the back of the Co-op (Colinton Mains) and take empties from the crates , then go round the front, cash them in, buy sweets or maybe broken biscuits, oh and Juice.

:faf::faf:

Endless fun.

11-11-2009, 06:10 AM
The "aids ridden hobo junkie" stand. :agree:

:duck:

Green_one
11-11-2009, 12:05 PM
The "aids ridden hobo junkie" stand. :agree:

:duck:

You forgot - gay

Back to my peg making.

hibbybrian
11-11-2009, 03:09 PM
Thanks for going ahead full throttle and spoiling my fun, making me feel guilty in the process. I hate you :grr::grr:

Nae need to feel guilty - unless you need to be pedantic about it :greengrin

Harry apparently didn't have a problem with his appearance as he appeared on stage giving a series of talks about Hibernian during his career. :thumbsup:

The guy on the same row, furthest to the right, is surely wearing a mask?

That's Johnny Divers - the gloryhunter

played for the Celtc

having starred regularly for his team for over 7 years, he deserted them and moved along (the future) M8 to win a Scottish Cup winners medal and League Championship winners medal

playing for Hibernian :thumbsup:

11-11-2009, 03:17 PM

You mean the Wispa stand. Where have you been!! :dizzy: