View Full Version : Republic of Ireland flag

07-11-2009, 04:25 PM
I know that this gets done to death here, but who was waving the R of I flag today? We really need to leave that sort of p - - h to the Bigot Bhoys.
I.
m.
o.
Of course.

Danny_Hibee
07-11-2009, 04:30 PM
Firstly, I'm gonna predict at least 8 pages

Secondly, why exactly do we need to forget about our origins, the meaning of our club name and not show support of 4 of the players in the first team squad?

Nothing wrong with it IMO

07-11-2009, 04:33 PM
Hibs have a right to wave Irish flags... We are of Irish origin.

Hearts on the other hand are a "Scottish" team, not a "British" team.

They're just trying to follow in the foot steps of their big brothers. :yawn:

07-11-2009, 04:40 PM
Technically they are British

07-11-2009, 04:44 PM
Technically they are British

Republic of Ireland are not technically British.

07-11-2009, 04:45 PM
Firstly, I'm gonna predict at least 8 pages

Secondly, why exactly do we need to forget about our origins, the meaning of our club name and not show support of 4 of the players in the first team squad?

Nothing wrong with it IMO

We actually have 5,

Stack, Miller, Cregg, Stokes and Byrne.

AllyF
07-11-2009, 04:49 PM
Had to laugh at the two Red Hands of Ulster flying amongst the jungle of neds to the left. Absolutely ridiculous. Foolish fans who probably don't even know the first thing about religion.

07-11-2009, 04:51 PM
Had to laugh at the two Red Hands of Ulster flying amongst the jungle of neds to the left. Absolutely ridiculous. Foolish fans who probably don't even know the first thing about religion.

...or politics, for that matter.

wpj
07-11-2009, 04:55 PM
...or politics, for that matter.

or anything at all

Cool_Hand_Luke
07-11-2009, 04:56 PM
I know that this gets done to death here, but who was waving the R of I flag today? We really need to leave that sort of p - - h to the Bigot Bhoys.
I.
m.
o.
Of course.

Possibly one of our supporters from the Republic of Ireland :dunno:

Maybe a relative/friend of one of our Republic of Ireland players :dunno:

07-11-2009, 04:57 PM

I think he means Hearts are technically British.

07-11-2009, 04:59 PM
Possibly one of our supporters from the Republic of Ireland :dunno:

Maybe a relative/friend of one of our Republic of Ireland players :dunno:

I'd be surprised. My guess is it was there to wind-up the Hearts fans that are bothered by the ROI v Britain, protestant v catholic thing.

Austinho
07-11-2009, 05:00 PM
Hibs have a right to wave Irish flags... We are of Irish origin.

Hearts on the other hand are a "Scottish" team, not a "British" team.

They're just trying to follow in the foot steps of their big brothers. :yawn:Hearts are a British team, as are Hibs.

07-11-2009, 05:06 PM

I was referring to the post above mine where it says "hearts are Scottish not British"

07-11-2009, 05:17 PM
I was referring to the post above mine where it says "hearts are Scottish not British"

Gotcha now Vini.

Goes without saying I thought you meant ROI were British.

07-11-2009, 05:18 PM
Hearts are a British team, as are Hibs.

Hibernian are a SCOTTISH club big difference, to me anyway.

Never taken to this being British crap...it's a sorta plastic country with no soul.

07-11-2009, 05:31 PM
This thread & like many before have went down the same route ..& all end up in a political/religeous stand off ..tit for tat & hand bags at dawn ..

Im moving this to the holy ground as i feel it is a destraction to the decent football threads on the go ..

Austinho
07-11-2009, 05:31 PM
Hibernian are a SCOTTISH club big difference, to me anyway.

Never taken to this being British crap...it's a sorta plastic country with no soul.Yup you're correct — we are also a Scottish club.

GreenBlade
07-11-2009, 05:55 PM
I.
m.
o.
Of course.

ONLY in Scotland could you debate a flag being flown at the fitba!! An Irish flag? Who really gives a monkies other than sad little bigots. Maybe, just maybe it was one of our very welcome Irish fans.

07-11-2009, 07:59 PM
ONLY in Scotland could you debate a flag being flown at the fitba!! An Irish flag? Who really gives a monkies other than sad little bigots. Maybe, just maybe it was one of our very welcome Irish fans.

Yes I saw a party of Dublin Hibs fans in the Hibs club last week. They are very passionate in their support of the club. :agree:

08-11-2009, 05:22 PM
Why does anyone want to take a national flag to a football match?

Exhibitionism?

lEXO
08-11-2009, 08:27 PM
We have ROI players at Hibs.See a Morrocan flag at ER regularly, as we have Morrocan players.Should we stop these guys from taking that to games?French flags when we had them as well.As for the Red Hand flags, at least the Huns have an excuse for waving it now, as they have some NI players eh.Unlike the yambo plastic Huns.:wink:

hibee_boy
08-11-2009, 08:42 PM
lets be honest, the people waving tri-colours dont do it because we have ROI players in our team. If we are celebrating our origins, then fine. Hearts have every right to wave a Union Flag, as should anyone who is British.

Personally I dont agree with flying flags at football as I believe the reason people choose to do so is political, however they have every right to.

08-11-2009, 08:42 PM
**** ROI, NI or British flags.

I support Hibs because my granda got me into them. He comes from Leith and is a Roman Catholic.

I don't even know what a RC is. To me it's just a bunch of made up religious pish which causes division.

I support Hibs and that's all that matters to me.

hibee_boy
08-11-2009, 08:46 PM
We have ROI players at Hibs.See a Morrocan flag at ER regularly, as we have Morrocan players.Should we stop these guys from taking that to games?French flags when we had them as well.As for the Red Hand flags, at least the Huns have an excuse for waving it now, as they have some NI players eh.Unlike the yambo plastic Huns.:wink:

youll probably find that hearts fans waving red hands are ill-educated neds who dont really have a grasp on politics. They just choose to do it to "noise us up", and im sure thats the intentions of many hibs fans with tri-colours.

to sum up...

Tri colours in Hibs end - I dont like it, but on the other hand we should celebrate our roots.

Union flag - dont like it, but no British person should every be stopped from waving their national flag.

Red Hand - no place for it, unless using it to support an NI player.

09-11-2009, 08:33 AM
The Tricolour flag had not been invented when Hibs were formed. If we want to respect our irish origins, then do what the club do and use the harp as the symbol.

This is flag that we should be using http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Flag_of_Leinster.svg

Keep the tricolour for the plastic paddys and keep our identity separate from theirs!!!

09-11-2009, 09:44 AM
The Tricolour flag had not been invented when Hibs were formed. If we want to respect our irish origins, then do what the club do and use the harp as the symbol.

This is flag that we should be using http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Flag_of_Leinster.svg

Keep the tricolour for the plastic paddys and keep our identity separate from theirs!!!

The plastic paddies need a history lesson, too. The Tricolour is as it is because Green=Catholic, Orange=the other lot, White=Peace.

Not that they would let real history get in the way of their own version. :greengrin

09-11-2009, 10:41 AM
This is a trip down memory lane! Been a while since we had a decent flag debate.

LiverpoolHibs
09-11-2009, 11:04 AM

Yeah, it had.

09-11-2009, 11:55 AM
I couldn't care less if anyone takes an Irish flag to a match. I also couldn't care less if another team takes a Union Jack flag. I don't see a problem either way.

Why do people care?

09-11-2009, 08:41 PM
This is a trip down memory lane! Been a while since we had a decent flag debate.
Don't think this debate is up to standard.

10-11-2009, 12:16 AM
lets be honest, the people waving tri-colours dont do it because we have ROI players in our team. If we are celebrating our origins, then fine. Hearts have every right to wave a Union Flag, as should anyone who is British.

Personally I dont agree with flying flags at football as I believe the reason people choose to do so is political, however they have every right to.

In the same way those waving Moroccan flags are nothing to do with showing support for Zouma and Benji? Less of the faux-omniscient crap mate, you can't say for sure what people's motives are for flag waving.

Whereas I'm sure some people bring tri-colours specifically to games against Rangers and Hertz, I've seen tri-colours at a lot of games. Hard to see how waving a tri-colour at a Hibs vs Dundee Utd game could cause issues really - surely the intention is there to either support our roots, or our Irish players rather than to antagonize the Dundee Utd fans?

ginger_rice
14-11-2009, 03:23 PM
To me a flag is just a flag, they add colour to our games so what does it matter who brings what?

I once read the the only country in the World where the Irish are not allowed to be Irish is Scotland, I think that's a damning indictment of our reputation for being a tolerant modern nation.

Rossco1875
14-11-2009, 03:30 PM
we are a club of irish origins and are based in scotland.

dont like the word being british as im not british im scottish:agree:

Leicester Fan
14-11-2009, 03:51 PM
We had a similar debate on our forum when an Algerian lad asked if it would be alright to bring his flag.
At the end of the day who gives a ****?
I'd never wave any flag personally but others want to what's the harm?

14-11-2009, 03:54 PM

Actually, no, if we're being pedantic it should be this one:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Flag_of_Munster.svg

As we were formed by a Limerick priest, that city being in the province of Munster.

14-11-2009, 04:39 PM
we are a club of irish origins and are based in scotland.

dont like the word being british as im not british im scottish:agree:

Based in Scotland? :wtf:

Have a word with yourself.

(((Fergus)))
14-11-2009, 04:45 PM
Don't think this debate is up to standard.

boom tish :thumbsup:

14-11-2009, 04:53 PM
In football there is no Britain. Hibs are a Scottish club.

Couldn't really give two monkeys what flags people wave, but Union Flags just make me boak, but people are free to wave it if they want.

15-11-2009, 11:03 AM
I was watching QPR play someone last week, the team escapes me at the moment. In their support was 2 Irish tri colours. These nasty IRA sympathizers get everywhere.:devil:

15-11-2009, 11:06 AM
I was watching QPR play someone last week, the team escapes me at the moment. In their support was 2 Irish tri colours. These nasty IRA sympathizers get everywhere.:devil:Aye..some folk just like tae get their knickers in a twist over F all imo ...:agree:

15-11-2009, 11:29 AM

Exhibit A) How to sum up 15 pages, mostly of dim-witted slavering in 1 post!!

Who gives a flying f***?? When folk bring Morocco flags along to support Zemmamma, is their uproar about the possibilty of offending and Tunisians or Algerians in the crowd??

Granted, the flag may have been flown by some pished up daftie just to wind up the corresponding pished up UJ waving jakies in the Hearts support, but then again maybe it wasn't.

I'll only start taking the occassional presence of a tricolor or 2 in the Hibs away support as a problem if it comes accompanied with pro-IRA "folk songs" a la Celtic, or if we started doing it en masse like their support does (but then again, maybe a lot of their support comes from Ireland, so are therefore just waving the flag of their nation of birth??)

It's a minefield of a topic if you take life so seriously as to give a f***, so everyone's a winner if you don't :agree::greengrin

15-11-2009, 11:32 AM
Aye..some folk just like tae get their knickers in a twist over F all imo ...:agree:

It shows how pathetically sectarian this country is. In England, a team called Rangers, who play in red-white and blue have their fans happily fly an Irish flag, in acknowledgement that QPR is supported by a lot of west Londoners with Irish roots.

In Scotland, there are moans and grumbles when a team called Hibernian, founded by Irishmen and with five Irish players in the first team squad, fly an Irish flag.

We need to forget about all this weegie-driven nonsense and do what we damn well please.

15-11-2009, 12:04 PM
We actually have 5,

Stack, Miller, Cregg, Stokes and Byrne.

We're absolutely certain they're Irish flags?

Not someone sporting an Ivory Coast flag in honour of Sol Bamba?

And if I brought along the flag of the Ivory Coast would i be guilty of sectarianism? And how would anyone know?

http://www.reimerseeds.com/images/Country/IvoryCoastFlag.gif

Bob is right - we should do as we damn well please. We ain't Weegies.

15-11-2009, 01:04 PM
We're absolutely certain they're Irish flags?

Not someone sporting an Ivory Coast flag in honour of Sol Bamba?

And if I brought along the flag of the Ivory Coast would i be guilty of sectarianism? And how would anyone know?

http://www.reimerseeds.com/images/Country/IvoryCoastFlag.gif

Bob is right - we should do as we damn well please. We ain't Weegies.
I'd be black affronted........oops.

As long as nobody with a flag spoils my view.