View Full Version : Player Ratings v Hearts.

Ell_Chrisso
07-11-2009, 01:45 PM
Graham Stack 7 - Never made the looming Tynecastle mistake. Looks as solid as ever. Made great punch at corner in 2nd half

David Wotherspoon 9 - Outstanding. Held Driver in tack all day. Great positive runs, passes and tackles. Soooo Unlucky with shot of the post.

Chris Hogg 9 - Absolutely Brillant. Won every header today that he competed for.

Ian Murray 8 - Solid as ever. Never gives anything less than 100%

Lewis Stevenson 7 - Filled in very well at LB today. was never put under much pressure.

Liam Miller 7 - Struggled to get in the game 1st half, because of the punt malarky. got more involved 2nd half, some neat passes.

Kevin McBride 8 - Fought really hard in the middle of the park. Works v hard, and gave Stewart a hard time.

John Rankin 6 - Is not a wide midfielder. Galbraith should have started.

Benji 5 - CRAP! Nothing much went his way, and never looked interested. Replaced by Riordan.

Anthony Stokes 6 - One of his more quieter games, couldnt get involved enough. Not a winger!

Colin Nish 6 - Doesnt help he was upfront all by himself most of the game. Worked hard, but no help will make him look bad.

Subs:

Derek Riordan 6 - Needs to stop constantly coming infield. he is played out wide, so therefor needs to go down the line more, than doing the obvious cut to the right foot. Still done more than Benji tho, and free kick at the end summed up Hibs day.

07-11-2009, 01:49 PM
Stack - 7
Wotherspoon - 9
Hogg - 8
Murray - 7
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 6
Miller - 6
Rankin - 5
Stokes - 5
Benji - 4
Nish - 4

Sub
Riordan - 5

Darth Hibbie
07-11-2009, 01:49 PM
Would not argue with much of that. The defenders done their jobs brilliantly it was the forward players that let us down today.

shamo9
07-11-2009, 01:50 PM
Derek Riordan 6 - Needs to stop constantly coming infield. he is played out wide, so therefor needs to go down the line more, than doing the obvious cut to the right foot. Still done more than Benji tho, and free kick at the end summed up Hibs day.

He doesn't have the pace for that. Not anymore. He might be playing out wide but Deek will, and always will be, a striker at heart.

07-11-2009, 01:54 PM
He doesn't have the pace for that. Not anymore.

We need to have him as a Striker now I think.
Benji isn't great at the moment, neither is Nish. Should just be playing with Stokes and Deek up front IMO.

Anyway, my ratings.

Stack - 7
Wotherspoon - 9
Hogg - 8
Murray -8
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 6
Miller - 7
Rankin - 5
Stokes - 5
Nish - 4
Benji - 4

Subs

Deek - 6

07-11-2009, 01:55 PM
Stack - 7
Wotherspoon - 8
Hogg - 7
Murray - 7
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 5 (Looked Tired)
Miller - 5 (Looked Tired, Lazy and unsure of what to do)
Rankin - 5 (Lacking sharpness, but definately not the answer)
Stokes - 5 (Played out of position, should have been through the middle)
Benji - 4 (Terrible!)
Nish - 4 (on his backside a lot again, cant bring the ball down and make a pass.)

Sub
Riordan - 6 (Made hibs play better, not sure if it was his play or just that it forced hearts back a bit knowing he was on)

Big90inOz
07-11-2009, 02:18 PM
the glaring reality is we are very one paced, no real pace in the team :agree:

sKipper
07-11-2009, 02:20 PM
Stack - 7
Wotherspoon - 9
Hogg - 8
Murray - 7
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 6
Miller - 6
Rankin - 5
Stokes - 5
Benji - 4
Nish - 4

Sub
Riordan - 5

Agree with most of those but I would give Stokes 6 for his link play and Nish 3 because he did next to nothing.

sparkiehibs
07-11-2009, 02:23 PM
Graham Stack 7 - Never made the looming Tynecastle mistake. Looks as solid as ever. Made great punch at corner in 2nd half

David Wotherspoon 9 - Outstanding. Held Driver in tack all day. Great positive runs, passes and tackles. Soooo Unlucky with shot of the post.

Chris Hogg 9 - Absolutely Brillant. Won every header today that he competed for.

Lewis Stevenson 7 - Filled in very well at LB today. was never put under much pressure.

Liam Miller 7 - Struggled to get in the game 1st half, because of the punt malarky. got more involved 2nd half, some neat passes.

Kevin McBride 8 - Fought really hard in the middle of the park. Works v hard, and gave Stewart a hard time.

Benji 5 - CRAP! Nothing much went his way, and never looked interested. Replaced by Riordan.

Anthony Stokes 6 - One of his more quieter games, couldnt get involved enough. Not a winger!

Colin Nish 6 - Doesnt help he was upfront all by himself most of the game. Worked hard, but no help will make him look bad.

Subs:

How can say that Benji was CRAP when he had to play on the wing when he isnt a winger but u give stokes the benifit of the doubt

Hibs Spain
07-11-2009, 02:25 PM
the glaring reality is we are very one paced, no real pace in the team :agree:Good point....

07-11-2009, 02:25 PM

Subs:

Derek Riordan 6 - Needs to stop constantly coming infield. he is played out wide, so therefor needs to go down the line more, than doing the obvious cut to the right foot. Still done more than Benji tho, and free kick at the end summed up Hibs day.Spoony went from boy to man this game, outstanding performance..solid throughout & if truth be told made Driver look very average today ... :top marks

07-11-2009, 02:27 PM
Due to illness, had to listen to game on Radio Scotland and frankly we sounded pretty poor.

Hearts were there for the taking and couldn't score in a barrell full of fannies yet some folk are happy with a point ?

We have come along way under Yogi but obvioulsy still have a distance to go, as they were more up for the game than we were - as usual, esp at Tynecastle.

Wotherspoon, Hogg and Murray sounded the best of us, while Rankin, Stokes and Benji would have been better off sitting in the stand.

Galbraith should get a chance soon surely ? We need someone to get past players and put the ball accross the face of the goal.

Not a rant, just looking for continued improvement.

Ell_Chrisso
07-11-2009, 02:38 PM
How can say that Benji was CRAP when he had to play on the wing when he isnt a winger but u give stokes the benifit of the doubt

When was Benji ever on the wing ?? :confused::confused:

Doesnt exactly say anywhere that iv "Given Stokes the benefit of the doubt" does it?

think it clearly says that Stokes had by far his quietest game for Hibs. He was the one that was played wide, so by right, hes not going to be involved as much as Benji sould have.

Dont know what game you were watching, if you think Benji played well.

07-11-2009, 02:43 PM
Stack - 6
Wotherspoon - 8
Hogg - 8
Murray - 8
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 6
Miller - 8
Rankin - 6
Stokes - 4
Benji - 4
Nish - 5.5

Sub
Riordan - 5.5

07-11-2009, 02:52 PM
Stack - 7 - did what he had to, not tested

Stevenson - 7 - see above
Hogg - 8 - dominant, answered critics
Murray - 7 - see stack
Wotherspoon - 7 - rather see him further up front, didn't put a foot wrong

Miller - 5 - 80 minutes of anonymity 10 where he played well
Mcbride - 5 - similar to Miller

Benji - 4 - did nout
Rankin - 4 - did nout
Stokes - 4 - did nout

Nish - 4 - Terrible service to him, but has to do better, if he isn't offside, he is on his arse.

Subs
Deeks - 6.5 - looked a threat, but only half fit, wouldn't have risked him personally.

Would have liked to have seen Galbraith get a role.

07-11-2009, 03:02 PM
Stack 6

Wortherspoon 7
Hogg 7
Murray 7
Stevenson 6

McBride 6
Miller 5
Rankin 5
Benji 4

Stokes 3
Nish 4

Subs:
Riordan 5

I honestly thought we were ***** today. First touchs were awful, second to every ball and Hearts outplayed us for most of the game. I'd like to have seen our penalty claims for the handballs - Stokes had a foul against him because he couldn't get his hand out the way, the same happened in the Hearts box but no pen??

The hearts pen claim wasnae a pen, thought that straight away and just saw the replay and the ref got it spot on.

Anthony Stokes needs to get his finger out. That was ****ing awful!

07-11-2009, 03:05 PM
Stack - 6
Wotherspoon - 8
Hogg - 8
Murray - 8
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 6
Miller - 9
Rankin - 6
Stokes - 4
Benji - 4
Nish - 5.5

Sub
Riordan - 5.5You obviously watched a different game from the rest of us then !! Miller was never worth a 9 ..:confused:

07-11-2009, 03:08 PM
You obviously watched a different game from the rest of us then !! Miller was never worth a 9 ..:confused:

Was meant to be 8.

07-11-2009, 03:14 PM
Was meant to be 8.Aye ..

07-11-2009, 03:15 PM
Was meant to be 8.

He wasnae worth an 8 either! :confused:

07-11-2009, 03:15 PM
He wasnae worth an 8 either! :confused:Think he is acting the goat D ...:wink:

07-11-2009, 03:16 PM
Stack - 8 (No mistakes at Tynecastle... thats worth an 8)
Wotherspoon - 9 (What can you say about this man... He's going to be a star)
Hogg - 7 (Been playing very well lately... keep it up Hoggy!)
Murray - 7 (Consistant as always... Nice wee stamp on Black)
Stevenson - 6 (What you would expect from him)
Mcbride - 6 (Average game by his standards)
Miller - 5 (His poorest performance yet)
Rankin - 5 (Not Hibs class, but can deliver a cracking ball on his day)
Stokes - 4 (Did he do anything today?)
Benji - 4 (Didn't contribue much... No surprise he was taken off)
Nish - 3 (Was he even playing?)

Sub
Deeks - 6 (Done more than the other 3 did put together, but no real impact)

07-11-2009, 03:16 PM
Fair enough he didn't have the best first half but second half he came out fighting and was excellent I thought.

07-11-2009, 03:17 PM
You obviously watched a different game from the rest of us then !! Miller was never worth a 9 ..:confused:

Radio Scotland said at half time that he was struggling with a calf injury.

07-11-2009, 03:19 PM
Radio Scotland said at half time that he was struggling with a calf injury.Certainly didnt look the player we have seen recently ...

Ell_Chrisso
07-11-2009, 03:26 PM
Certainly didnt look the player we have seen recently ...

To be fair mate, theres not much you can do as a Midfield player, if the ball is continually getting punted, from one end to the other.
The ball was like a hot tattie for the majority of the game, and the passing was terrible from both sides.
The majority of the Hibs team were poor (not just Miller) apart from the solidness of our defence.

Miller did however come more into his own game when we actually did get the ball down and pass it, for the latter part of the 2nd half

07-11-2009, 03:33 PM
To be fair mate, theres not much you can do as a Midfield player, if the ball is continually getting punted, from one end to the other.
The ball was like a hot tattie for the majority of the game, and the passing was terrible from both sides.
The majority of the Hibs team were poor (not just Miller) apart from the solidness of our defence.

Miller did however come more into his own game when we actually did get the ball down and pass it, for the latter part of the 2nd halfAye there is mate, you chase & harrie ..you fight tooth & nail for the ball ..you stamp your authority on the game & you bring your team mates into it ..if you dont get first ball then you go for second ..Miller & hibs midfield done neither ..

Im not knocking Miller, i know what he can do & likewise Mcbride ..Stewart et-al bossed us ...it was up to us to avoid that happening ..

07-11-2009, 04:14 PM
Miller and Rankin were definitely below par.

Ell_Chrisso
07-11-2009, 04:17 PM
Aye there is mate, you chase & harrie ..you fight tooth & nail for the ball ..you stamp your authority on the game & you bring your team mates into it ..if you dont get first ball then you go for second ..Miller & hibs midfield done neither ..

Im not knocking Miller, i know what he can do & likewise Mcbride ..Stewart et-al bossed us ...it was up to us to avoid that happening ..

Im not arguing with you over it, cos its a pointless topic, as the game is over now. But from what i watched, our defence PUNTED THE BALL everywhere in the first half, and missed out the midfield.. untill the final 1/3 of the game. im just saying that, if u are in centre mid, and the ball is continually getting punted away, and Hearts are doing the exact same, its hard to get on the ball, or bring it down, and make things work

07-11-2009, 04:28 PM
Im not arguing with you over it, cos its a pointless topic, as the game is over now. But from what i watched, our defence PUNTED THE BALL everywhere in the first half, and missed out the midfield.. untill the final 1/3 of the game. im just saying that, if u are in centre mid, and the ball is continually getting punted away, and Hearts are doing the exact same, its hard to get on the ball, or bring it down, and make things workEh..who's arguing mate ..?...:confused:...anyway ..when we have the ball its up to us what we do wi it..when we have the ball its up to the opposition to get it back ..we unfortunately didnt have a player to stamp on the ball ..keep it & build up attacks ..all too often we looked for an option & that was to launch it at Nish who struggled with the high ball ..all we needed was a bit of composure ..play the game at our tempo ..it didnt happen ..

Im not knocking anyone .. i just think we lacked a playmaker today ...we needed to stretch them & as per my thread yest, i felt that Galbraith in place of Zemmama could have done just that ..we lacked an outlet today ..we needed width ..

07-11-2009, 04:33 PM
I think that the entire team (keeper and CH's apart) was poor for the first hour, and we seemed to lack confidence on the ball, which is very unlike us. However, once we adjusted to playing without the influence of Zemmama and started to use Wotherspoon and Miller our superiority was clear IMO.

After the hour mark however, I think every player contributed something - Nish's knockdowns started working better with his strike partners coming more central, Miller saw more of the ball, Rankin got into better positions, Wotherspoon became more daring and our CH's had the confidence to play the ball along the deck.

We'll have learned from today, take the point, take the lesson, and use it to make us a better, more adaptable team.

Barrylavety
07-11-2009, 04:57 PM
Stack - 6
Wotherspoon - 8
Hogg - 8
Murray - 9
Stevenson - 6
McBride - 6
Miller - 6
Rankin - 5
Stokes - 4
Benji - 4
Nish - 6

Riordan - 6

07-11-2009, 04:58 PM
Miller never trained until yesterday if at all.

I thought we played our best stuff in the second half when Miller came onto his game.

07-11-2009, 06:07 PM
Pretty straightforward I thought...

Stack 7

Stevenson 8
Hogg 8
Murray 8
Wotherspoon 8

Miller 6
Mcbride 6
Rankin 6

Benji 5
Stokes 5
Nish 5

Missing Zemmama, Riordan and Bamba from the starting squad it wasn't a bad result at all.

07-11-2009, 06:12 PM
Some of these marks are pretty generous considering the opposition. I'd go for

Stack 7

Wotherspoon 8
Hogg 8
Murray 7
Stevenson 7

Miller 6
Mcbride 6
Rankin 4

Benji 4
Stokes 3
Nish 5

Riordan 5

Bob1875
07-11-2009, 06:43 PM
Stack - 7
Wotherspoon - 9
Hogg - 8
Murray - 7
Stevenson - 7
McBride - 6
Miller - 6
Rankin - 5
Stokes - 5
Benji - 4
Nish - 4

Sub
Riordan - 5

Agree with most of those but I would give Stokes 6 for his link play and Nish 3 because he did next to nothing.

Nish done alot more than Stokes FFS.

07-11-2009, 08:21 PM
Stack - Solid as a rock, and twice as hard. Kicking was acceptable to be honest, couple of strays, but such is the nature of goal kicks. Very comfortable having the ball passed back to him. 7

Wotherspoon - Clearly daunted by the occassion for the first hour, but his shot lifted his confidence and he started to make meaningful runs forward. 6

Hogg - Like everyone his passing was poor in the first hour, but then the team as a whole found thier feet. Solid defensively throughout the match. 7

Murray - Similar to Hogg. To be honest, the two of them had an easy shift, Hearts have no cutting edge. 7

Stevenson - Defensively solid, but offers little going forward from fullback. Capable of better. 5

Miller - Was in the game for 30 minutes at the most, but his class showed for that 30. Rumoured to have missed out on training this week, perhaps explaining early sluggishness. 6

McBride - Excellent when you have 4 out and out attackers in the team, but needs to get forward more when Rankin is in front of him, as he also takes ownership of defensive duties, making McBride less effective. May well have been of more use on the right hand side, with Rankin sitting in his place. 5

Rankin - Too concerned with his defensive duties regarding Wallace. Needs to be more adventurous and attack minded. Would have been better playing on the left to begin with, with Stokes swapping to the right. 5

Benji - Just didn't get going at all today. Likes to play behind the strikers, but he and Stokes left Nish isolated too often. 4

Stokes - Got himself too isolated, and should have done better with one chance. Got more involved when Riordan came on. 5

Nish - Had a tough shift up against the big, strong, athletic Goncalves, and really needed someone to be waiting for his knockdowns and scraps. If one of Stokes and Benji stuck to within 10 yards of Nish, we would have got a lot more chances early on. Linked up better with Riordan. 5

(Sub) Riordan - Came on and looked lively. Stupid freekick at the death, but done what Stokes should have been doing all day. 5

At no time did it even enter my mind that we might lose today. Disappointed not to have won. Poor first hour before we started to show glimpses of our quility.

sKipper
07-11-2009, 10:39 PM
Nish done alot more than Stokes FFS.

No chance. I suggest you watch a rerun.

08-11-2009, 01:13 AM
Very much a game for the defence to take the plaudits today. Hearts confirmed what they will always be and have always been, a team of hoofball merchants, devoid of any technique or skill and lacking in any real drive to play football. The fact that every throw in was a "Delap-esque" set piece showed that they really are the worst football team to watch in the league. At ER we will comfortably beat them, so much so, I am willing to bet another 6-2 type game will be on the cards. We were far too tentative today and second to every ball. At ER, things will be very different. Hats off to Murray and Hogg today who mopped up everything that sloggers had to throw at them. And young Wotherspoon is wasted at RB......what an exceptional talent we have on our hands :agree:

08-11-2009, 01:46 AM
Stack - 7 = Decent
Wotherspoon - 9 = Brilliant today
Hogg - 8 = Best game he's had all season
Murray - 7 = Not his usual self but still good
Stevenson - 7 = had a good game
McBride - 6 = not his usual self
Miller - 6 = see above
Rankin - 4 = Not good at all.
Stokes - 3 = awful. Didn't look like he could be bothered at all.
Benji - 3 = see above.
Nish - 4 = Goncalves kept him at bay at all times, poor.

Sub
Riordan - 7 = Changed the game when he came on.

Expecting Rain
08-11-2009, 09:05 AM
Stack-Apart from spilling one near the end looked confident enough.6
Wotherspoon-Galavanised Hibs into action with his run and shot and in general played really well.7
Hogg-Best performance for a long time.7
Murray-MoM and Mr Reliable.8
Stevenson-Not a left back but played steadily.6
Rankin-No composure on the chance he had and busy doing nothing.4
Benji-Waste of space.2
Miller-Come on to a game when Riordan appeared and when there was a bit of shape to the team.6
McBride-Everywhere as usual, never hides and always tries to play football.7
Stokes-Classy player,still trying to get fit imo, poor game by his standards.5
Nish-Big.......................first touch was as bad as Benji and Stokes.4
Riordan-Made a big difference to the team when he came on.7

DirtyDeeds
08-11-2009, 09:37 AM
Stack 7 - solid as a rock today, no longer have the fear we're going to lose pathetic goals with him in th sticks.

Wotherspoon 8 - Tremendous performance, Driver only got a kick when he moved inside due to the job Spoony did. So calm and confident, and can actually defend a bit! Mannerisms are so reminiscent of Whittaker.

Murray 7 - really solid, good battle with Nade, but would rather see him get the ball out or up the park when under pressure sometimes, couple of scaries and cost a couple of corners when dallying

Hogg 8 - Excellent display, brave and composed, definitely looking like a good leader at the back. Passings never been his strong point but knows hes a defender first and did it so well today. My M.O.M.

Stevenson 7 - Really impressed with the wee man given hes hardly kicked a ball all season. Cant recall them getting anything decent down his end, seemed much more confident with ball at his feet then he did last season. Got a couple of cracking crosses in in those closing stages too. Hard to drop now.

McBride 7 - Mr Dependable, values possession of the ball so much, makes him so important to how we play. Passing is crisp and always takes the sensible option, if it has to go backwards then it does. Mixed it well with that dirty bass Stewart too.

Miller 6 - Completely anonymous first half, rare times he got into possession he seemed to want all the time in the world, doesnt happen on derby day. Came into it in last 20 minutes, really composed on the ball but felt he sometimes slowed our progress down allowing their lads to get back in numbers. Felt he played too deep today, especially without Zouma's magic. Can do much better, but still showed flashes of real class.

Rankin 6 - Played out of position for starters, would have had him beside McBride with Miller pushed further on as hes the guy who sees the passes. Put in a shift as always but just not going to be a regular starter. Felt he gave Spoony great support against Driver and Wallace though, which I reckon was his main responsibility from Yogi.

Benji 4 - Like the whole forward line, his first touch as often pitiful. Unlucky to go off but one of then had to as they were all garbage, must have been the name that came out the hat. Think he would have been more effective wide than Stokes was. Maybe a wee seat on the bench coming up for Benji if Zouma is fit next time out. Think he would be better suited to Nish's role personally.

Stokes 4 - Pathetic display, spent most of the game complaining that he actually had to shift his @rse to chase a pass. His touch was dreadful, and always switched on to his defensive duties too late, meaning Miller or McBride had to come wide to cover and as a result leaving us short in the centre. Seems to think hes a bit of a superstar, Yogi needs to stick a rocket up him sharpish.

Nish 4 - As pathetic as Stokes. It was borderline embarrassing watching him try to position himself to go for any aerial balls, then get nowhere near winning them. Bullied like a wee schoolboy, dived and fell all over the place, unbelievably slow, shocking bringing the ball under control. Even the most basic element, giving 100%, wasnt there. It actually concerns me that he keeps nicking a goal here and there, id rather he was punted as I think his attributes (or lack thereof) deter from the game we're tryin to play, he is possibly the worlds least effective 6'4 target man, cheery bye Colin.

------------

Riordan 6 - Looked lively, i actually agreed with the decision to bench him. All it would have done was to give them a full 90 minutes to try and target his injury, possibly losing him for weeks. Definitely has lost that wee bit of pace, but looked like the only guy who might even have a chance of scoring. Sometimes tried to do too much himself near the end, but then would you have had confidence in exchanging passes with Nish or Stokes?

-----------

Hughes 6 - Starting line-up could be debated over and over, but it was probably the right way to go at the time. Hindsight is great, especially when we saw how inept some of our players were. Think it was smart to play Rankin to help out Wotherspoon, nobody else would have had enough discipline to get back every time. Still not convinced that Benji playing off a striker is working, id have either playing wider with Stokes as the front man. Also felt he could have thrown in Galbraith in towards the end to inject some pace, we had absolutely none on the park. All in all, we played poorly and got a point, extended our unbeaten run agaisnt them, and kept a clean sheet. We're still going in the right direction.

Action Jackson
08-11-2009, 09:42 AM
Not the best derby, but Wotherspoon was the best player and Miller was good for the last 15 minutes or so.

lumbo_hfc
08-11-2009, 10:12 AM
Stack - 6 - Not too much to do but what he done, he done well!

Wotherspoon - 7 - Quiet first half but also kept their main threats quiet, his shot gave him a bit confidence to get forward and had a couple of good runs in the 2nd half, would like to see him in midfield!

Hogg - 8 - My MOTM, best game he has had all season which i was glad to see, won everything in the air and defended well, distribution maybe let him down a few times.

Murray - 7 - Done well moving to centre half for the game but i think we could play him almost anywhere and he would have a good game, Very consistant player.

Stevenson - 6 - Like Stack, not much to do as hearts only attack do their left side but what he did do he done well, could have got forward to support on occasions.

McBride - 6 - What i expected would happen yesterday with him happened bullied in the middle of the park, does work hard to close down but can't tackle, has been the same all season, don't understand people on here raving about his performances this season, he is really starting to annoy me!

Miller - 7 - Quiet first half but the ball was mostly in the air, had a good 15mins spell in the 2nd half when he started to get the ball down and control the game but thats not enough the only reason he got a better mark than KMc is that he actually puts a foot in!!

Rankin - 6 - Very quiet afternoon, was too worried about wallace going forward than actually getting forward hisself, which isnt a bad thing but you need more options coming from the midfield and with a shot like his we could have troubled there goalie a few more times.

Stokes - 5 - Stuck on the left til the 2nd half and not much support from stevenson when he had the ball, not much came off for him and his touch was a bit off at time! pretty poor overall!

Benji - 4 - Never looked interested from the start poorest game i have seen from him for a while, touch was murder, no attacking threat whatsoever from him and didn't link with nish at all. right to get subbed suprised it wasnt at half time.

Nish - 6 - Good battle with who i think is one of their best players on his day (Goncalves) tried his hardest all game but left isolated at times as benji was AWOL, decent shift from the big man and would be in my team for the next game!

Riordan - 6 - when he came on hibs had a 20 min spell when we looked like we might get 3 points, linked up well with players. Poor free kick at the end when he should have floated it in the box to give their defence something to think about in the last minute!

Referee - 4 - Very poor performance, gave us nothing and from where i was sitting im pretty sure we should have had a penalty for the handball but have not seen a replay yet!

overall, how the game panned out and the players we has missing im happy with a draw!

Dirkster23
08-11-2009, 10:33 AM
Stack - 6 - Not too much to do but what he done, he done well!

Wotherspoon - 7 - Quiet first half but also kept their main threats quiet, his shot gave him a bit confidence to get forward and had a couple of good runs in the 2nd half, would like to see him in midfield!

Hogg - 8 - My MOTM, best game he has had all season which i was glad to see, won everything in the air and defended well, distribution maybe let him down a few times.

Murray - 7 - Done well moving to centre half for the game but i think we could play him almost anywhere and he would have a good game, Very consistant player.

Stevenson - 6 - Like Stack, not much to do as hearts only attack do their left side but what he did do he done well, could have got forward to support on occasions.

McBride - 6 - What i expected would happen yesterday with him happened bullied in the middle of the park, does work hard to close down but can't tackle, has been the same all season, don't understand people on here raving about his performances this season, he is really starting to annoy me!

Miller - 7 - Quiet first half but the ball was mostly in the air, had a good 15mins spell in the 2nd half when he started to get the ball down and control the game but thats not enough the only reason he got a better mark than KMc is that he actually puts a foot in!!

Rankin - 6 - Very quiet afternoon, was too worried about wallace going forward than actually getting forward hisself, which isnt a bad thing but you need more options coming from the midfield and with a shot like his we could have troubled there goalie a few more times.

Stokes - 5 - Stuck on the left til the 2nd half and not much support from stevenson when he had the ball, not much came off for him and his touch was a bit off at time! pretty poor overall!

Benji - 4 - Never looked interested from the start poorest game i have seen from him for a while, touch was murder, no attacking threat whatsoever from him and didn't link with nish at all. right to get subbed suprised it wasnt at half time.

Nish - 6 - Good battle with who i think is one of their best players on his day (Goncalves) tried his hardest all game but left isolated at times as benji was AWOL, decent shift from the big man and would be in my team for the next game!

Riordan - 6 - when he came on hibs had a 20 min spell when we looked like we might get 3 points, linked up well with players. Poor free kick at the end when he should have floated it in the box to give their defence something to think about in the last minute!

Referee - 4 - Very poor performance, gave us nothing and from where i was sitting im pretty sure we should have had a penalty for the handball but have not seen a replay yet!

overall, how the game panned out and the players we has missing im happy with a draw!

I'm not sure what you've been watching this season if you can't see what McBride has brought to the team. He's always looking to take the ball from the defence, covers the defence when they get caught out of position, isn't a bad tackler at all, organizes the players around him and puts in a shift every game!:bitchy:

lumbo_hfc
08-11-2009, 10:50 AM
I'm not sure what you've been watching this season if you can't see what McBride has brought to the team. He's always looking to take the ball from the defence, covers the defence when they get caught out of position, isn't a bad tackler at all, organizes the players around him and puts in a shift every game!:bitchy:

Im not saying he has been bad, he does the simple thing really well which is obviously a good thing im just saying that its blatantly obvious he doesn't like a physical battle and anyone who can't see that he can't tackle should really watch him in game and see how many time he actaully wins the balls from opponents, u would then see my point!!

Dirkster23
08-11-2009, 11:04 AM
Im not saying he has been bad, he does the simple thing really well which is obviously a good thing im just saying that its blatantly obvious he doesn't like a physical battle and anyone who can't see that he can't tackle should really watch him in game and see how many time he actaully wins the balls from opponents, u would then see my point!!

Have to disagree, he gets stuck in and from what i've seen of him this year and holds his own in physical battles. I've seen every home game and not seen one problem with his tackling tbh, opinions eh!

Cabbage1875
08-11-2009, 11:08 AM
Stack 6 - Becoming more convinced with him every week that passes, punches good and distribution was fine.

Wotherspoon 8 - thought the wee man was excellent, defended stoutly and used the ball well. Unlucky not to score.

Murray 9 - Superb performance, dealt with everything thrown at him. Our POTY so far for me.

Hogg 8 - Im a fan of Hogg's, and I'm glad he put in a performance like that yesterday. Ran Murray close for motm.

Stevenson 7 - did really well I thought, distribution a bit off at times.

Miller 7 - was very quiet in the first half when we couldnt get to grips with the game, but when he started to get involved in the second half there was a distinct improvement in our play. Key player.

McBride 6 - worked very hard but wasnt involved as much as he would've liked. Has been a tremendous signing by Yogi and Im very impressed with him so far.

Stokes 4 - Needs a rocket up his arse. Touch all over the place, use of the ball poor. It looks to me as if he was slightly disinterested/in the huff yesterday as he was being asked to play an unfamiliar role. Must do better, not just yesterday but the whole season for me. (minus his goal at Ibrox of course ;) )

Benji 4 - Same as Stokes, I think the pace of games like that are too much for Benji. Always looking for extra touches and time on the ball. Cracking option for us though.

Rankin 6 - Thought he was one of our better players yesterday, worked hard and used the ball decently well. Shame he lacked composure when the ball fell to him at the edge of the box.

Nish 5 - The big lad works hard but his touch and speed of thought werent good enough yesterday.

Riordan 5 - Made a difference when he came on, gave the fans a lift if anything.

The big thing that struck me yesterday was a lack of pace all over the park. Playing big Nish up front on his own needs quick support in and around him or it results in the big man being isolated and unable to retain the ball. This was the case yesterday, with the gap between the midfield and the forwards absolutely massive.

Having wee Zemmama in the team helps tremendously as he is great at linking things in that area and getting up to the final third. Shame we were missing him yesterday as I think he wouldve been the key.

Overall, a point there isnt the worst result, but I did feel slightly disappointed in the performance we gave particularly in attacking areas.

08-11-2009, 12:46 PM
Stack-Apart from spilling one near the end looked confident enough.6
Wotherspoon-Galavanised Hibs into action with his run and shot and in general played really well.7
Hogg-Best performance for a long time.7
Murray-MoM and Mr Reliable.8
Stevenson-Not a left back but played steadily.6
Rankin-No composure on the chance he had and busy doing nothing.4
Benji-Waste of space.2
Miller-Come on to a game when Riordan appeared and when there was a bit of shape to the team.6
McBride-Everywhere as usual, never hides and always tries to play football.7
Stokes-Classy player,still trying to get fit imo, poor game by his standards.5
Nish-Big.......................first touch was as bad as Benji and Stokes.4
Riordan-Made a big difference to the team when he came on.7

Sorry but you give Benji a 2 and Nish a 4. WTF Benji was asked to play a different role and it didnt come off. Nish was woeful. he made Nade look excellent.

Hogg and Murray were excellent and played very well together. may of found our new CH partnership when Big Sol is away. We did however miss him at LB but thought Lewis and David had excellent games.

lumbo_hfc
08-11-2009, 12:53 PM
Sorry but you give Benji a 2 and Nish a 4. WTF Benji was asked to play a different role and it didnt come off. Nish was woeful. he made Nade look excellent.

Hogg and Murray were excellent and played very well together. may of found our new CH partnership when Big Sol is away. We did however miss him at LB but thought Lewis and David had excellent games.

:confused::confused::confused:

so did we miss him at left back or no? because as u said our left back had an excellent game

Cabbage1875
08-11-2009, 01:28 PM

Benji played the same role he has done for weeks... He was just miles off the pace.

08-11-2009, 01:54 PM
Benji played the same role he has done for weeks... He was just miles off the pace.

Crowded out IMO, not enough movement from him and always wanted the ball in the same area.

08-11-2009, 04:13 PM
Stack - 8

Hogg - 8

Murray - 8

Wotherspoon - 8

Stevenson - 8

McBride - 6
Miller - 6
Benji - 2
Rankin - 4
Stokes - 4

Nish - 4

Deek - 6

Yogi's formation, tactics and subbies - 5

Expecting Rain
09-11-2009, 09:58 AM

Ok, i`ll give them both 2.5, sorry about that!