View Full Version : David Haye

02-11-2009, 07:31 PM
Anyone any idea what time the fight is on, on Sat?

02-11-2009, 09:07 PM
Anyone any idea what time the fight is on, on Sat?

8pm programme start...so probably between half 9 and 10 is my guess

02-11-2009, 09:17 PM
SSN mentioned they are expected in the ring between 2100 and 2130

02-11-2009, 10:00 PM
SSN mentioned they are expected in the ring between 2100 and 2130

A no bad guess from me then :greengrin

02-11-2009, 11:08 PM
Cheers, I'll be at work but should hopefully catch the fight on my lap top

anon1
03-11-2009, 09:37 AM
More to the point.. How do y'all think he'll fare against that beast?

03-11-2009, 11:06 AM

Hopefully picking his teeth up of the canvas :agree:

03-11-2009, 11:50 AM

Valuev is a MONSTER! :dizzy: But I think (and hope) Haye can out box him personally!

Marabou Stork
03-11-2009, 12:40 PM
If Holyfield can outbox him like he did, Haye should deal with him pretty comfortably.

For a big guy, Valuev hasn't particularly got a devastating punch either, so Haye has more chance of doing damage inside.

Hank Schrader
03-11-2009, 02:25 PM
If Holyfield can outbox him like he did, Haye should deal with him pretty comfortably.

For a big guy, Valuev hasn't particularly got a devastating punch either, so Haye has more chance of doing damage inside.

Agree with all of that :agree:

04-11-2009, 04:51 PM
anybody know of any pubs that'll be showing it ?

Landells
04-11-2009, 06:17 PM
Anyone know any pubs showing the fight in Edinburgh city centre?

04-11-2009, 08:46 PM
Anyone know any pubs showing the fight in Edinburgh city centre?

3 Sisters is showing it :agree:

Landells
05-11-2009, 07:47 AM

Wheres that? :rolleyes:

05-11-2009, 11:08 AM
Wheres that? :rolleyes:

down on the cowgate. Watched a fight few years back there which was beamed onto the wall at the side of the hotel. Loadsa folk in street watching it too

05-11-2009, 03:23 PM

is that the same place as the 6 tits ?

RoslinInstHibby
06-11-2009, 02:42 PM
just watched the weigh in. haye looks huge, put on more than a stone in muscle for the fight, at the 15.8 stone mark......then the gaint walked in, **** me he's a beast over the 22.7 stone and that's light for him:dizzy:

dunno why, but i think haye can knock him on his erse:thumbsup:

Delboy*
06-11-2009, 04:42 PM
Haye seemingly got the fight put back an hour so it didnt clash with the x factor, (honest!)

reported that Haye makes his ring entrance at 10:30 our time tho Ladbrokes has the fight starting at 10:00

Tune in early just incase!

Haye will be too quick n strong i think, the big guy is too cumbersome.

:take that

06-11-2009, 05:30 PM
I think Haye will win, I dont think the guy is a big puncher. I know that sounds daft as he is huge but I cant see him knocking Haye out and with him being so big he is bound to tire pretty quick

thekaratekid
06-11-2009, 06:37 PM
I think Haye will win, I dont think the guy is a big puncher. I know that sounds daft as he is huge but I cant see him knocking Haye out and with him being so big he is bound to tire pretty quick

Apparently he doesn't punch his weight

That coupled with Haye's hand speed and power should see a Haye victory IMO

Looking forward to it :agree:

McHibby
06-11-2009, 07:07 PM
To be honest, I think Haye has acted like a t*at in the build-up to this fight. Some of the things he's said about the big guy are a bit OTT. I think no matter what sport you're in you should show your opponent(s) some respect.

06-11-2009, 07:50 PM
To be honest, I think Haye has acted like a t*at in the build-up to this fight. Some of the things he's said about the big guy are a bit OTT. I think no matter what sport you're in you should show your opponent(s) some respect.

06-11-2009, 08:07 PM

He will respect him all he's trying to do is knock the guy off his stride. He wants the big guy to go out trying to knock his head off instead of thinking and jabbing his way to a points win.

If anything all the jibes show Haye does respect him and sees him as a genuine threat.

06-11-2009, 08:17 PM
anybody know of any pubs that'll be showing it ?

gladstones on junction st

07-11-2009, 01:13 AM
is that the same place as the 6 tits ?

naw that's the Hearts boardroom your thinking of.

07-11-2009, 01:20 AM
Ricky Hatton (good friend of Haye's) made an interesting comment on Soccer Am the other week:

"When 16 odd stone upwards hits you, you stay hit. Doesn;t matter about any more weight than that."

That gave me the impression the Haye camp obviously believe he has the power to KO this huge man.

I only see it going a few rounds...wither Haye can hit him clean through speed or he himself will wilt when clattered. Monty Barratt hit him hard and he ain't the biggest. The French guy before that had him in allsorts of bother before getting KO'd himself.

Very interesting fight though..:cool2:

07-11-2009, 05:20 AM

He's been trying to raise awareness of the fight and its worked.

He'll be on between 10 and 10.30pm, they tried to get him to come out earlier as it clashes with xfactor but he says that if they try it he'll lock himself in the dressing room till after 10 as thats what his contract stated he should fight.

So he was saying in the press during the week anyway, sure if he's offered a few quid for coming out a bit earlier he'll be oot.

bobbyhibs1983
07-11-2009, 10:51 AM
He's been trying to raise awareness of the fight and its worked.

He'll be on between 10 and 10.30pm, they tried to get him to come out earlier as it clashes with xfactor but he says that if they try it he'll lock himself in the dressing room till after 10 as thats what his contract stated he should fight.

as a poster above has said i think its due to the x factor witch finishes at 9 35pm, and i think the ringwalks will take place anytime between 945pm and as you say 10pm,
Im one of these people who thinks the ringwalks and the national athems and this and that and that and that sorta intro's take ages.lol

anyhow between 10pm and 10.30pm is what i reckon

07-11-2009, 02:34 PM
Does anyone know of a bar thats showing the Haye fight tonight?

Any hints found be great!!!!:thumbsup:

cammy1969
07-11-2009, 02:37 PM
not sure but think the footlights on corner of bread st

07-11-2009, 02:51 PM
Is the Haye Fight on tonight? Thought there might have been more threads on here about it aswell:confused:

David_D
07-11-2009, 02:54 PM
Im sure i heard the Albion Bar is showing the fight tonight

MontrealHibs
07-11-2009, 02:55 PM
The Casino at Leith... (I'm pretty certain)

Delboy4
07-11-2009, 03:00 PM
You can go on iraqgoals.net where the fight is being shown live.

I'm watching the Man City v Burnley game at the moment on the website... :greengrin

GB6
07-11-2009, 04:51 PM
does anybody know if the new yorker at meadowbank is showing it?

07-11-2009, 09:20 PM
Is he dead yet?

thekaratekid
07-11-2009, 09:23 PM
It's just starting to warm up. Pretty even after 5 rounds

07-11-2009, 09:23 PM
Is he dead yet?

Round 6 just starting hardly a blow been struck.

07-11-2009, 09:25 PM
I am the same height as Haye and he looks like a dwarf :greengrin

He's trying to take the piss now, would like to see him knock the big guy down

Makaveli
07-11-2009, 09:26 PM
Interesting betting patterns, Valuev fairly strong favourite now but I really wouldn't like to call it.

07-11-2009, 09:31 PM
What's happening Justins in the huff?

Makaveli
07-11-2009, 09:32 PM
Iraq struggling too. http://isportslink.blogspot.com/2009/11/david-haye-vs-nikolay-valuev.html holding the fort

07-11-2009, 09:34 PM
What's happening Justins in the huff?

:agree: :grr:

I'm trying to persuade him to join me again

---------- Post added at 10:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:33 PM ----------

Iraq struggling too. http://isportslink.blogspot.com/2009/11/david-haye-vs-nikolay-valuev.html holding the fort

I get lots of clicking noise on that - you too?

Pic ok though :thumbsup:

Edit - just noticed its the chat thing

Makaveli
07-11-2009, 09:36 PM
:agree: :grr:

I'm trying to persuade him to join me again

---------- Post added at 10:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:33 PM ----------

I get lots of clicking noise on that - you too?

Pic ok though :thumbsup:

There's a wee mute button at the bottom of comment box, beside number of people online :thumbsup:

07-11-2009, 09:38 PM
There's a wee mute button at the bottom of comment box, beside number of people online :thumbsup:

:thumbsup: Much better now, that was driving me mental, ta

07-11-2009, 09:43 PM

Better picture as well. cheers

07-11-2009, 09:45 PM
Better picture as well. cheers

Anyone speak german :greengrin

07-11-2009, 09:46 PM
Why is haye barely throwing any punches??

07-11-2009, 09:49 PM
Why is haye barely throwing any punches??

As soon as he punches, he opens himself up, and Valuev probably has enough of a reach to land one on him, thus ending it in a heartbeat!

07-11-2009, 09:50 PM
He's going for it now Valuev rocking for a moment there

07-11-2009, 09:50 PM
just about knocked him on his ass there!!

07-11-2009, 09:54 PM
Haye won! And rightly so .. class :thumbsup:

One judge had it a draw! At least the other 2 saw sense.

WTF the connection has stopped!

Aaargh! Who won?

07-11-2009, 09:55 PM
WTF the connection has stopped!

Aaargh! Who won?

Haye 116 -112 / 116-112 / 114 - 114 :thumbsup:

JoeT
07-11-2009, 09:55 PM
well done Haye, I lost £20 on the Russian....

07-11-2009, 09:57 PM

woodyhfc4892
07-11-2009, 09:58 PM
One David Haye :thumbsup:

07-11-2009, 09:59 PM
In case you're wondering why this is posted here, I heard that he's a Hibby. :wink:

Supraninja
07-11-2009, 10:00 PM
shame he didnt put that big idiot on the floor in the last round!! it's very well deserved for Haye :thumbsup:

07-11-2009, 10:00 PM
Hibby Haye takes the majority decision, the first judge scores it 114-114, with the other two scoring it 116-112. Wild scenes in Germany, the Nuremberg Arena is going mental. Haye is overcome with emotion as he is in embraced by his trainer Adam Booth. Amazing scenes.

07-11-2009, 10:03 PM
Hibby Haye takes the majority decision, the first judge scores it 114-114, with the other two scoring it 116-112. Wild scenes in Germany, the Nuremberg Arena is going mental. Haye is overcome with emotion as he is in embraced by his trainer Adam Booth. Amazing scenes.

Thoroughly deserved too .. class act! :thumbsup: Margo will be upset :greengrin

07-11-2009, 10:05 PM
Haye deserves a title just for getting into the ring with that hulk. :wink:

07-11-2009, 10:07 PM
I didn't see or hear the fight but I hope that Haye was humble and respectful in the post-match interview.

It doesn't matter if he's promoting a fight or not, some of the things he said were disgusting. Real champions don't do that without retracting it.

I have to say Haye looked in fantastic shape physically leading up to the fight. I don't think I've ever seen a heavyweight boxer look that good...pure muscle and power...and not an inch of fat! Awesome physique!!

07-11-2009, 10:09 PM
Yeeeeeess well in haye

07-11-2009, 10:10 PM
I didn't see or hear the fight but I hope that Haye was humble and respectful in the post-match interview.

It doesn't matter if he's promoting a fight or not, some of the things he said were disgusting. Real champions don't do that without retracting it.

I have to say Haye looked in fantastic shape physically leading up to the fight. I don't think I've ever seen a heavyweight boxer look that good...pure muscle and power...and not an inch of fat! Awesome physique!!

Haye's really a cruiserweight but he's bulked up to the money league :wink:

Hank Schrader
07-11-2009, 10:12 PM
Thoroughly deserved too .. class act! :thumbsup: Margo will be upset :greengrin

Was expecting to see Haye "picking his teeth up off the canvas" :rolleyes:

Well done David Haye. Hope he goes on to clean up the division. Those Klitschko brothers will be tough to overcome but can see Haye beating them both.

07-11-2009, 10:16 PM

He was respectful to the big guy :agree:

07-11-2009, 10:17 PM
Haye fought, and won, with a broken bone in his hand!

Awesome.

"I think I've almost certainly broken my hand but it's a small price to pay. I caught him with a right in the second or third and let me tell you his head is solid, it felt like a brick. I just couldn't use it from there on in. Here I am, heavyweight champion of the world and I'm loving it."

07-11-2009, 10:21 PM
Haye fought, and won, with a broken bone in his hand!

Awesome.

"I think I've almost certainly broken my hand but it's a small price to pay. I caught him with a right in the second or third and let me tell you his head is solid, it felt like a brick. I just couldn't use it from there on in. Here I am, heavyweight champion of the world and I'm loving it."

07-11-2009, 10:32 PM
He deserved it, won very easily in the end. I dont think Valuev won one round.:thumbsup:

Mag7
07-11-2009, 10:38 PM
Any evidence he's a Hibs fan?

07-11-2009, 10:39 PM
Haye's really a cruiserweight but he's bulked up to the money league :wink:

Regardless he is one of the fittest looking heavyweights I have seen. Again...awesome phyique and his arms look about twice the size of Valuevs.

07-11-2009, 10:41 PM

Plenty. :agree:

Tomsk
07-11-2009, 10:43 PM

He showed me his season ticket book last week after the game in Tamsons. And he's got a Nade is Pish" tatoo on his left tit.

Do you want any more?

07-11-2009, 10:43 PM
Regardless he is one of the fittest looking heavyweights I have seen. Again...awesome phyique and his arms look about twice the size of Valuevs.

Sure - he's in amazing nick :agree:

07-11-2009, 10:44 PM
brilliant fight by david, he got his "tactics" (if you can call them that) right. :thumbsup:

07-11-2009, 10:45 PM
Isn't Apollo meant to lose to Drago? :confused:

Sorry, couldn't help myself. :wink:

Mon the wee man! :thumbsup:

HibeeUnderwood
07-11-2009, 10:46 PM
Well Done Dave!!! :thumbsup:

Deserves it and gives a message to wee boys getting bullied by bigger guys, stand up for yerself! :agree:

Congrats again to David Haye! :greengrin

07-11-2009, 10:47 PM
He showed me his season ticket book last week after the game in Tamsons. And he's got a Nade is Pish" tatoo on his left tit.

Do you want any more?

07-11-2009, 10:47 PM
He was respectful to the big guy :agree:

The he is a true champion. It was all to big up the fight but it went too far i my opinion.

I'd like to see a rematch...but with a leaner and meaner Valuev. I know he has a disability but I'm kind of dissapointed that a heavyweight can't get down to a lower body fat percentage than valuev did....and surely his stamina can improve.

Maybe I'm being ignorant to his situation and glandular abnormality but is there a medical reason why Valuev can't bulk up and slim down or does he simply feel he doesn't have to due to his size?

07-11-2009, 10:50 PM
Its a great win for David, nearly 60 and only one eye, only goes to prove anythings possible.:thumbsup:

07-11-2009, 10:58 PM
Plenty. :agree:

Yup. He got his photo taken with Riordan when they met down in Southampton recently :greengrin

07-11-2009, 11:02 PM
Yup. He got his photo taken with Riordan when they met down in Southampton recently :greengrin

And Bamba.

07-11-2009, 11:03 PM
I liked the series 'Trial and Retribution' as well :greengrin

08-11-2009, 02:10 AM
Had to stand ootside in the freezing cold to watch it through a boozers window as they couldnt allow anymore inside and the only other place was charging at the door to get in and was a long walk.

Great fight and Haye boxed clever and didnt let up. Maybe should have gone for it in the 10th but still... he won and won clever. Beating a monster 7st heavier than you is not easy... He seems to have his head on straight and he will beat the brothers.

08-11-2009, 08:11 AM
Haye vs Tua = blockbuster...if it ever happens.

08-11-2009, 03:56 PM
Was anyone else surprised that Haye won? I really wasn't expecting it because Jim Watt had Valuev winning. I missed the first 6 rounds though.

08-11-2009, 06:00 PM
Great to see him back in the limelight after the Livingston debacle.

08-11-2009, 07:01 PM
Was anyone else surprised that Haye won? I really wasn't expecting it because Jim Watt had Valuev winning. I missed the first 6 rounds though.

I always thought he was ahead but "the expert" Jim Watt was so negative about his performance and was convinced that he hadn't done enough!!!

---------- Post added at 08:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:59 PM ----------

Great to see him back in the limelight after the Livingston debacle.

So that's where I've seen him before!!

.Louise.
08-11-2009, 08:06 PM
This is the first fight I've ever watched beginning to end!
Although it wasn't a great fight Haye done what he had to! Just wished he had got him down in the final round when his legs went!

Think I may have found a new sport to watch :thumbsup:

09-11-2009, 08:56 PM
This is the first fight I've ever watched beginning to end!
Although it wasn't a great fight Haye done what he had to! Just wished he had got him down in the final round when his legs went!

Think I may have found a new sport to watch :thumbsup:

i love boxing its just a pity most of the big fights are at 4AM :yawn:

you got the odd cracker on a friday night and the odd hibby fighting as well :casper:

11-11-2009, 07:38 AM
i love boxing its just a pity most of the big fights are at 4AM :yawn:

you got the odd cracker on a friday night and the odd hibby fighting as well :casper:

I take it the Pacquiao Cotto will be about that time this weekend?

I don't have sky so always go to a mates about 6ish the night before so by the time the fight starts everyone is wrecked and start cheering etc. Glad I'm not his neighbour on fight nights! Still, the big fights aren't that often.

11-11-2009, 11:13 AM
I take it the Pacquiao Cotto will be about that time this weekend?

I don't have sky so always go to a mates about 6ish the night before so by the time the fight starts everyone is wrecked and start cheering etc. Glad I'm not his neighbour on fight nights! Still, the big fights aren't that often.

Programme starts at 2am on SS1 - probably a 4 or 5 am start. I'll just sky+ it and watch it when I get up.

12-11-2009, 07:05 PM
Programme starts at 2am on SS1 - probably a 4 or 5 am start. I'll just sky+ it and watch it when I get up.

:grr: :greengrin

12-11-2009, 07:47 PM

Good idea

15-11-2009, 12:09 AM
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/3064426/Tua-camp-keen-on-fight-with-new-champ

Tua is keen for the fight :agree: